Pontins, Camber Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.6 / 5
24% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of accommodation

  • Quality of food

  • Staff

  • Children's entertainment

  • Adult entertainment

  • Facilities

  • Proximity to local amenities

  • Proximity to local attractions

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Pontins, Camber - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“disgraceful dont go!!!!”

Written on: 23/07/2014 by 58Garrett (1 review written)

We went on the 11th July with my two young children and came back a day early! When we arrived in the apartment it smelt of sweat and cigarettes. The pillows had pubic hairs on them and there were unsavory stains on the mattresses! Lucky enough for us we bought our own lining as it would have cost us £30 to borrow it off pontins. After looking around we found mould on the walls and the place was generally grubby. In the morning our clothes were damp it was like we had been sleeping in a tent… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“disgraceful dont go!!!!”

Written on: 23/07/2014 by 58Garrett (1 review written)

We went on the 11th July with my two young children and came back a day early! When we arrived in the apartment it smelt of sweat and cigarettes. The pillows had pubic hairs on them and there were unsavory stains on the mattresses! Lucky enough for us we bought our own lining as it would have cost us £30 to borrow it off pontins. After looking around we found mould on the walls and the place was generally grubby. In the morning our clothes were damp it was like we had been sleeping in a tent… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting ”

Written on: 10/07/2014 by cbMcClure468 (1 review written)

This place needs knocking down and re built. Terrible place to come un safe and un clean. Came in to a radiator hanging of the wall cigarette burns in the bath tub. Then for the next night to the fridge blowing up. Staff done nothing about the horrible situation that we left. No where to eat only certain time and only set 3 course meal no good for children over prices horrible food. Double sofa bed was dirty had to clean ourselves was not a double more like a single piece of cardboard single… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bbarribal's Comment

Written on: 23/07/2014

We went on the around the same time as you we have complained but they won't give me my money back the place is an absolute joke!! They are trying to give 50% off my next stay and VIP treatment! Never ever returning and am going to write to watchdog about the situation!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Terrible condemned pillow”

Written on: 03/01/2014

Had condemned pillow neighbors that were noisy small always ate away at restuarant next door because it was sickly the pillow in our room had a label marked condemned was bitten to death bye bed bugs… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“filth”

Written on: 15/08/2013 by callery (1 review written)

me and my friend took our children on a day pass to pontins in camber never in my life have i been so disgusted with the conditions. the only good part about this park was the various little play grounds dotted around but other than that the whole place is shambollic. decor falling down, food outlets closed( not that we bothered eating there, too dirty) and the swimming pool and changing rooms were dismal, smelling like a sewer and absolutley filthy. so glad we were only there for a few hours… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely awful”

Written on: 12/08/2013

Took my 2 kids as wanted a break but when arrived was dumb founded the place is dirty everyone is unfriendly and the room absolutely disgusting ants everywhere no pillows or quilts no plug for bath or sink all in all a awful time never again and will be putting in a formal complaint… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful”

Written on: 02/08/2013

Where can I start had a week hear with my husband 3 year old n 7 year old boy n my mum n dad, don't believe the photos this place is dirty n not well looked after as for the chalets like prison camp there not even swept or moped throu toilet was distgusting, don't get me wrong beach is beautiful rye is a stunning place but its completely deceiving n not how it looks on web site , on on top of all this my 3 year old come down with bug then my mum then me not sure weather was from pool or food… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sndeedee's Comment

Written on: 16/08/2013

It was the food as we went from Mon-fri end of July. We ate in the restaurant on Tues but because didn't taste right I didn't eat and took food away from my son but my partner as men do carried on eating. That night was lying on bathroom floor with stomach cramps violent vomiting and loose backside (sorry to be crued). The family in chalet next to us had it on the Mon and after partner having food poisoning we noticed more and more people becoming ill. We didn't step foot near the swimming pool and glad we didn't after reading your comment. Place should be condemned shut down and totally re developed.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“DON'T BOTHER, ESPECIALLY IF DISABLED”

Written on: 12/07/2013 by warf25 (1 review written)

We booked a Mon to Fri mid week break through a coupon offer so it only cost £40 but even at that it was a disappointment. We had booked two chalets together, one for myself and my disabled hubby and one for my sister and children (17, 14 and 9). When I made the booking I was very explicit about my hubbies disabilities and the need for wheelchair access. We were a little late arriving so there weren't many people at reception and we didn't have to long to wait. The receptionist seemed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Flash250473's Response to warf25's Review

Written on: 12/07/2013

As the sister who went along too........... I agree with nearly all of it, but the food....... I would've loved the hospital food instead, it was awful

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Julie72's Response to warf25's Review

Written on: 20/07/2013

me and my family are due to go to cambwer sands next week im dreading it

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Warf25's reply to Julie72's Comment

Written on: 21/07/2013

Go with an open mind, if you have young children they should enjoy it, older ones may get bored. When you get to the gate pull up at the barrier, you will need to show the guard your booking confirmation, follow the one way system around to get to the entertainment centre where you book in, it is a long way round, almost back to where you come in. The pans in the chalets are definitely not non stick, lol. Hope you manage to have a good time.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Julie72's reply to Warf25's Comment

Written on: 21/07/2013

That's what my husband said , he said as long as the aprtment is clean we will make sure the little ones enjoy themselves we are in a classic I have heard so much negativity about the popular and even the club ones. And even about the park and the staff .

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Warf25's reply to Julie72's Comment

Written on: 21/07/2013

We were in the popular so can't comment on the classic apartments. We found the staff to be lovely so no problem there and the beach is apparently only about 5 mins away which the little ones should enjoy. Good luck, hope you have fun.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 5 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Theft by staff !!!!!!!!!”

Written on: 08/04/2013 by simoneon (1 review written)

We have just come back from a weekend away at pontins . We had to leave a day early as , we were broken into and had 2 ipads stolen . There was no sign of force entry so it could only be a staff member . Curtains door and windows were shut and we was only gone for 30 minuites to go carts . Manager was no help and would not except he has theives working for the company . Never will we go again not only is it still run down , they have theives working there with access to your room !!!!!!!!!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Had my daughters Galaxy Tab 2 stolen and it was inside...”

Written on: 31/03/2013 by JimmyMacL (1 review written)

Had my daughters Galaxy Tab 2 stolen and it was inside a drawer, curtains were closed and we left the light on, there was no sign of forced entry and I triple check all the doors and windows were shut when we go out, I also do this at home, the manager, [name removed], was no help what so ever saying there looking into it, even got a crime ref from the police, bet there policy is they'll forget about it when we leave, now afraid to leave the chalet, has someone got a spare key? the staff were… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“refurbishment ? ! stayed in one ! still dirty,...”

Written on: 22/09/2012

we arrived for late break .were told cant get in chalet till 4 ,walked about nothing open apart from the arcade !!!! then we were all told to line up in one of the halls like cattle to collect keys etc .on first view of the chalet we were pleased .it looked nice ,lovely flooring and decoration but on inspecion soon found out this was just a cover up , the chest of drawers was broken and dirty in side , the bedroom window cill was so dirty i wiped it with tissue and got… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“WOULD NEVER GO THERE AGAIN”

Written on: 19/09/2012 by Kayscott1 (1 review written)

We went on Holiday to Pontins and had such a bad experience so we sent them a complaint letter. I waiting over 30 days to receive a letter back from them giving us 10% off our next visit to you. This is not acceptable and we will defiantly not be returning to this holiday park, we wanted a full refund and if you were to read the letter below I feel that our bad experience would defiantly warrant a full refund. I feel that my complaint has not been looked into or taken seriously - Our Letter of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Prison camp Shortest holiday ever”

Written on: 08/08/2012 by S-hard (1 review written)

Do not do it. Immediately as we drive in it felt like a Prison camp. Countless kids unaware of cars in road. Chalets looked like prison camps. Booked in. No queue wonder why!! Took ages to find chalet but when we did, we were horrified. Dirty smelly cramped two beds given for four of us. Electric tokens given £10 worth?? Why, are we not worthy of having electric. We lasted 5 mins we walked out gave keys back to staff. She was a little surprised and asked if we wished to speak to a manager. I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“horrible place”

Written on: 03/08/2012 by bevmum (1 review written)

on arrival was dissapointed, it was not welcoming, just looked tired and drab. the reception eas the same not inviting at all. we were told,' we are here your accomodtion is here ',a circle drawn on a map. ther was no greeting ect. we were supposed to be in top range accomadition, we couldnt bloody find it, the signs and numbers didnt go to 786, we drove round 3 times, in the end had to ask again at the gate. on finding it, there was no numbers on our block as was on all the others. the room… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“never ever again”

Written on: 08/04/2012

Pontins at camber sands was meant to be our first family holiday since our son was born five years ago and what a disappointment it was!! where to start is the question, on arrival the main entrance was closed so we had to drive around trying to find the other entrance . once we eventually found it we then had to drive all around the site to bring us back to reception to check in then when tryin to park outside the room it was terrible having to trek half way across the site with suitcases… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Disgusted”

Written on: 21/09/2011 by strawberry_baby (1 review written)

I used to come to pontins, camber sands, as a child and loved it, it was a fantastic holiday every year. I now have 2 young children (aged 2 and 4) so thought I would take them to my favourite childhood holiday!!! Needless to say I was horrified, I got here Monday (in room 390) and unfortunately don't leave til Friday although if it wasn't for my little ones who seem to be half enjoying themselves I would have left this morning :( I drew the curtains in my childrens bedroom to find the curtains… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Hi my friends and I went to the 48 hour party on the...”

Written on: 28/03/2011 by Danny wallet (1 review written)

Hi my friends and I went to the 48 hour party on the 25th March for 2 nights
All I can say is the accommodation is terrible the music was quite cheesy but what a good weekend we had and would certainly recommend it to groups of friends
Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“We have been going to Pontins Camber Sands for about 9...”

Written on: 14/03/2011

We have been going to Pontins Camber Sands for about 9 years now. We have allways found all of the staff to be polite friendly and very helpfull. We have used Classic accomodation, because i like a shower rather than a bath. The rooms we have had, and we have been in most by now. Have allways been clean, not smelly or dirty, and although basic have been OK. As we dont spend a lot of time in the chalet, as we are out enjoying oursleves. My family love Camber, and we look forward to going each… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“We have been to Camber sands for the last three years...”

Written on: 16/11/2010

We have been to Camber sands for the last three years and booked to go again next year. Yes the place could do with a lick of paint and yes all the rooms could be decorated but touch wood we have always had a good room with no smells no stains and everything working.
The entertainment is good and the childen enjoy it very much. OK to buy food is a little pricey but if you are self catering take your own food with you that way you havent got to pay for much.
But as long as camber is open we… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I was given a holiday at camber sands pontins, for...”

Written on: 15/11/2010

I was given a holiday at camber sands pontins, for respite in oct 2010 as i am a carer for my son. I was looking forward to this break,for me,my mum and my son. When we arrived it was very drab and unwelcoming.Staff friendly and helpful at first. Our chalet was freezing,damp and smelt. The heater packed up the 2nd evening there,we complained and asked for someone to check it, of which no-one turned up,so my mum phoned her husband, of which the NEXT day some-one came and looked at it, and gave… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview