Pontins, Hemsby Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
48% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of accommodation

  • Quality of food

  • Staff

  • Children's entertainment

  • Adult entertainment

  • Facilities

  • Proximity to local amenities

  • Proximity to local attractions

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Pontins, Hemsby - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“closed down ”

Written on: 24/01/2014

pontins at hemsby is no longer open is been closed down for ages… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“this was the best place ever, such a shame it shut down!”

Written on: 09/02/2012 by fthehaters (1 review written)

This was brilliant. Childrens entertainment top class. Had some great holidays here, shame Pontins sold this amazing site… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“we have been going to the Pontins elvis week for 3...”

Written on: 01/10/2009

we have been going to the Pontins elvis week for 3 years now, and have had a very nice time, yes it could have done with a make over but found it clean,this year it has moved to seacroft just over the road,hope its as good or better… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“After going to Pontins in Hemsby for Christmas for the...”

Written on: 06/01/2009 by tina1 (1 review written)

After going to Pontins in Hemsby for Christmas for the last 21 years I have just found out that it has closed it door for the last time today. My daughter and the children of my frends have spent all their christmas here. The only bad thing about Christmas at Hembsy was the change in the law that recently happened. This meant there were only a few things to do on Christmas day itself, but apart from this I would like to thank all the staff from the Bluecoats to the cleaning staff who made my… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“Well what can I say !! After reading the reviews we...”

Written on: 07/11/2008

Well what can I say !! After reading the reviews we almost canceled, but decided to brave it. BIG MISTAKE. On arrival we queued for over an hour in a very disorganized reception, in fairness, the staff were working as fast as they could, it comes down to mis-management.
We opened the door of our budget accommodation with great trepidation, it was clean, but so old and tatty, I could see into the rooms opposite, there was no privacy at all.
Did not sleep the first night at all, the bed settee was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“Never again wouldn't recommend Pontins at Hemsby its...”

Written on: 03/11/2008 by Duffz156 (1 review written)

Never again wouldn't recommend Pontins at Hemsby its not very nice! We only managed 3 days and left. It was awful… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“Staff try to do a good job. The chalet was filthy,...”

Written on: 07/10/2008 by avrilrowlett (1 review written)

Staff try to do a good job. The chalet was filthy, mould on tiles in bathroom and shower curtain. Not hoovered, kitchen sink brown, beds springs coming, I would not recommend the fun room it smells, pontins agree that the carpet needs replacing… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Been to Hemsby for the last 3 years, this year I...”

Written on: 22/09/2008 by deanos (3 reviews written)

Been to Hemsby for the last 3 years, this year I noticed a lot of the chalets have been painted inside an out.
We always have a Club chalet and don't have a problem, we pay £60 for a week as there always seem to be excellent offers on in low season.
The entertainment is always excellent, my little one loves the characters and the party games.
Once you book in you are given a discount voucher booklet to use on drinks, food, toys and items from the shop this saves quite a bit of money.
If you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“The shop was well stocked for everyday need. the...”

Written on: 06/09/2008 by heathersheila (1 review written)

The shop was well stocked for everyday need. the drinks in the bar were not overpriced like many campsites. The evening entertainment was rubbish !! The bar area smelt. The chalet had to be cleaned by me as the worktops, bathroom and crockery were filthy. The floors looked as if they hadn't seen a mop for months. I was very disappointed with the state of the chalet as on first approach the site looked very good… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“A good thing was that it was only a 1.5 hours drive...”

Written on: 10/08/2008

A good thing was that it was only a 1.5 hours drive from Mid Suffolk. However the chalet smelt, the chalet was very grubby, the sofa bed was filthy and very uncomfortable and stank, the carpet was heavily worn and stained, there were cigarette burns on the bathroom floor, the main restaurant was too dimly lit, the food was bad and the service was very slow. I would not recommend… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“The worst ever holiday I've had in my life. Will not...”

Written on: 06/08/2008 by kavice (1 review written)

The worst ever holiday I've had in my life. Will not recommend anybody to go to this place at all. Felt misled by the leaflets, brochure and website. The place is so disgusting, bedrooms are filthy, staff not friendly. I requested some cleaning services at 12.00 midday, just to hoover the floor and duty manager assured me that the cleaner will be around shortly. However the cleaner was sent at 2000 hours when my two kids were sleeping. My three year old got hit with a stone on the playfield and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“There was a lot of people to talk to at Pontins...”

Written on: 18/02/2008 by danielle butters (1 review written)

There was a lot of people to talk to at Pontins Hemsby, the blue coats are very friendly.
i would deffo go there again!x I loved it it was really friendly. No bad points - none!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“We went to Pontins in Hemsby and our children 9, 5, 3...”

Written on: 26/08/2007 by simonm1970 (1 review written)

We went to Pontins in Hemsby and our children 9, 5, 3 and 6 months enjoyed our week here immensely. This is definaiely a family holiday resort and the place feels safe for children, with no gangs of teenagers or drunks lads parties. The main plus point is the evening entertainment. Our 3 older children would disappear on to the dance floor from about 6:30 each night to join in the kids club - with games and characters and dancing - only reappearing for the occasional top up of juice or sweets!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“Entertainment wasn't that good but blue coats where...”

Written on: 23/04/2007 by amandab2054 (1 review written)

Entertainment wasn't that good but blue coats where really nice… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Chrissie4's Response to 286585_amandab2054's Review

Written on: 30/06/2007

Hi guys I'm new around here. Gulp, Oh dear! We have one of those free/promotional budget 1 bed apartments for a 4 day mid week so I'm kinda dreading going now, after reading that 7 out of 8 of you had pretty scary experiences in there! Oh well.
I'm determined to enjoy ourselves no matter how naff the resort is.Just praying for decent weather ! We will just have to go out of the resort for it ! We only have 4 days there starting on the 9th July till the 12th. So if anyone out there who either lives in Hemsby or has recently been to the Pontins in Hemsby, would they please get in touch and let me know the latest?? Appreciated.
<br/>We shall love Hemsby beach, I'm sure. Have recently found a lovely photo Forum website with tons of breathtaking pictures of the beach. It looks lovely so we shall just have to concentrate on that!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I just recently came back from Pontins Hemsby and I...”

Written on: 26/02/2007 by kayxx (1 review written)

I just recently came back from Pontins Hemsby and I had the best time ever! The entertainment was fantastic and there's so much more entertainment in the day for the kids and even adults. The only problem I had was that the bar didn't stay open long enough but that's down to the guests! The bluecoats are amazing, so much so I am going to audition for the job next year!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Personally, I think the night time entertainment at...”

Written on: 09/06/2006 by lymarajms (1 review written)

Personally, I think the night time entertainment at Pontins in Hemsby is great! We took our 5 year old son and 3 year old niece, and we didn't see them for the whole night because they were down at the front of the stage (where you could see them) having so much fun, and joining in with the fun and dances. I think the smoking areas in the fun factory are messed up with smokers at the front and non-smokers at the back. Why not split the room in half? It is not a problem if you are a smoker, but… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Foghornleghorn's Response to lymarajms's Review

Written on: 28/10/2006

Pontins, Hemsby! I would never ever return. The entertainment in the Fun Factory would be ideal if you could get a table, especially during half term. People were sat at tables from 4pm onwards and didn't move so as not to lose their table, and by 5:30pm there was not a table in sight, and no entertainment was on in any other part of the complex. This was when the staff opened the Lunar bar. There was a terrible, extremely strong smell in this room, and when asking staff what it was they commented that this room had been shut for that long that no air had gotten in. It smelled like being in a room full of Stilton cheeses. People could not stand the smell for longer than half a lager and came back out to go in the Queen Victoria, which also, like the Lunar bar, had no entertainment on and was absolutely freezing due to it being October, and had two doors leading to outside which were constantly open because of people coming in and out. I asked a member of staff to put the heating on as it was freezing and customers were sat there shivering, but he said he had no authority to put it on!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Pontins needs to come into the 21st Century and spruce...”

Written on: 23/08/2005 by jeca (1 review written)

Pontins needs to come into the 21st Century and spruce the place up a bit. Spend some money and get the parks back on track. Hemsby is the worst Pontins I've been to and won't be going back… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Pontins Hemsby: Bands should be playing to full...”

Written on: 31/07/2005 by alcyace (1 review written)

Pontins Hemsby: Bands should be playing to full audiences but coming on at 11.30pm most people had gone to bed, brochure states that activities are for adults and children but on arrival got told only 16 years and under, a big disappointment for us young at heart, needed cleaners to come and clean what they should of done in the first place, then they only hoovered and left the same cobwebs and dirty cups where they were… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I think the state of the chalet at Pontins Hemsby...”

Written on: 19/07/2005 by lucywil (1 review written)

I think the state of the chalet at Pontins Hemsby ruined it for me. The oven door fell off in my hand. The bed was so uncomfortable we ended up sleeping in the kid's room. I wrote to complain but never heard back from them. I hate to think what the budget accommodation is like!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Blue coats at Pontins are great, accomadation is...”

Written on: 11/07/2005 by Shreeves261066 (1 review written)

Blue coats at Pontins are great, accomadation is acceptable, Great atmosphere good alround holiday highly recommend Hemsby… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kayxx's Response to 201305_Shreeves261066's Review

Written on: 26/02/2007

I came back form Pontins Hemsby on Friday, I had the best holiday ever, the entertainment was fantastic and the bluecoats were great! Real great fun recommend it to all!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview