Haven Holidays, Golden Sands Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.4 / 5
42% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of accommodation

  • Quality of food

  • Staff

  • Children's entertainment

  • Adult entertainment

  • Facilities

  • Proximity to local amenities

  • Proximity to local attractions

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Haven Holidays, Golden Sands - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Haven Holidays, Golden Sands

Haven Holidays, Golden Sands
Haven Holidays, Golden Sands
Haven Holidays, Golden Sands
Haven Holidays, Golden Sands

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“worst haven site been too!”

Written on: 21/08/2014 by ceOlson52 (1 review written)

Caravan good, but not enough bedding, when did get more was stained and ripped. Site - overall filthy, rubbish everywhere, rat traps too! Slightly disconcerting.... Amusements, many machines broken, toys not worth money you spend to win them. Staff rude. Restaurant - expensive, dirty,had to wait over an hour on several occasions for food. Entertainment -if that's what it's called! Like bad karaoke. No special cabaret acts like before, now all run by Haven team. No children's cabaret like… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst ever holiday”

Written on: 07/06/2014 by Somervillein189 (1 review written)

My family and I were excited to arrive at the resort. I have 4 children an autistic child, baby and 2 other children. The caravan was dire, the stench was unbearable. The staff quickly moved us to a second caravan. This also smelt like smokers, deep fat fryers and the caravan had never been cleaned. The staff moved us to another caravan. Along side the stench we found pubic hair in all the beds, crisp crumbs and mud! We moved to another caravan. We opened the door and to no surprise we were hit… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Apartment not a caravan Worse holiday we have ever had”

Written on: 25/09/2013

Mr and my husband was looking forward to this holiday as we have enjoyed the previous couple a lot. However I was reading the reviews of this camp site before we went and they were not too good so was slightly worried. Well it seems we had need to be. We were expecting a caravan and we have an apartment in B Block. B stands for Barracks!!! It took us ages to find it partly because we were not expecting to be in a building like this. The place was awful. Tired was not the word for it. The… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“worst holiday ever!!!!!!!!!!!”

Written on: 12/09/2013

what a truly disappointing experience! Arrived Monday and by Wednesday couldn't stand another night. It was my first holiday with my 3 year old son and was totally disgusted with the cleanliness of the food areas food, cutlery and litter on the floor with no staff to be seen. Absolutely horrified how filthy the soft play area was 3" of dust and dirt surrounded it!. Will never visit another Haven site!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not go !!!!”

Written on: 04/09/2013 by Bootys (1 review written)

We booked a 4 night stay at Haven Golden Sands !!! Never again will we be going any where near a Haven site booked a 4 night stay & one was too many one word sums it up DISGUSTING. Came home after the first night… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Brilliant holiday park”

Written on: 26/08/2012 by wymondhamboy (3 reviews written)

Only just got round to writing a review, but we enjoyed a weeks holiday at Haven's Golden Sands in May 2012. Despite other reviews on here, we had a great time. Check-in was handled well and on arrival the caravan was nice & clean and fully equipped. After 10 minutes of being in the caravan, a checker arrived to ensure that everything was ok with the caravan and he checked the smoke alarms, never had that happen before at any other holiday park, but it was a nice touch. I think a better… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Good family holiday”

Written on: 12/07/2012

I have been coming to Golden Sands for years and this will be our fourth year. After reading a lot of negative reviews I can understand why it could drive people away from this site. However if it were as bad as people say it is, me and my family would not be so eager to return. I have found that the people complaining must have been expected to be waited on hand and foot. Somebody should have reminded them that this is Haven not the Hilton. Each year we have been here we have seldom had any… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“my holiday last year was exellent”

Written on: 09/07/2012

hi my name is emma green and i have bin goin to haven golden sands since i was a lil girl and all the features they have there are brilliant, im 24 now and i have a daughter of my own now and she loves going to the fun palace, and the clubs and arcades and she loves the caravans we go in, let me tell u a lil bit about haven, my uncle use to own quad bikes and bumper boats years ago and they were exellent, least everybody went on them, and the staff r well helpfull and the funstars r great with… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible place with terrible 'customer care manager'”

Written on: 11/06/2012 by Ellen-B (1 review written)

My 13 year old daughter went with a friend and her parents to end up being a victim of crime! An adult male put his hand in her bag and stole her brand new ipod which she had got for her birthday 4 days before. The 'customer care manager' Amanda was rubbish. The family she went with had their car reversed into causing significent damage with no details left. I think maybe Haven should invest in CCTV! 5 days there and a victim of crime twice! Stay away from this place… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Fanatastic Holiday To Haven, Golden Sands, Mablethorpe”

Written on: 24/10/2011

We have just got back from a fantastic holiday which was made all the better by one member of staff in particular. If you want to meet a great guy who will make you have a good night, say hi to Barney in the Live Lounge. The entertainment was great for the kids, who enjoyed all the characters and games available. All the adults enjoyed themselves in the evenings at the night disco's, dancing away to all the great music. There is a great range of food available which is cooked to good… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“good all round family holiday”

Written on: 05/07/2011 by craftychickjojo (1 review written)

Had a lovely week at Golden Sands - particularly helped by the good weather! Caravan clean and spacious. Extremely close to the entertainment because we had an accessible caravan due to one member of the party having a disability - both an advantage (2 mins walk and you're in the midst of it all!) and a disadvantage (bit noisy at times!) All facilities were clean and staff generally friendly and welcoming. Travel cot we paid to hire smelt of vomit but a quick call to reception had a new one… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“One of the best Haven Sites I have been to”

Written on: 01/06/2011 by c.eaves (1 review written)

I was very impressed with the quality and quantity of entertainment on this site. The entertainment in the bars was excellent although there were not enough bar staff ad the queues were quite long at times. Also some of the security people were a little over zealous in their approach to customers and most of them did not smile much which made them appear unaproachable and not very friendly. The pool, fair ground and all other activities were excellent. We stayed in a 3 bedroom caravan… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“HAVEN - GOLDEN SANDS ”

Written on: 16/05/2011

HAVEN - GOLDEN SANDS
Caravan/Accommodation
We stayed at Golden sands for 4 nights on 18th April, If you want to avoid the queues come 4pm book a PLATINUM caravan as check in is at 1PM, this is top the range caravan and you shouldn't be disappointed with the quality. On arrival I noticed the latch on the outside of the caravan was broken and when I contacted reception they replaced it within the hour, I also mentioned that there appeared to be 1 or 2 small stains on the lounge carpet which… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Just returned form Golden Sands, we are a family of 4,...”

Written on: 02/05/2011

Just returned form Golden Sands, we are a family of 4, two children 5 & 2
So we always want a good safe clean enviroment. Delux caravan was not good
enough, there wasnt anywhere to hang coats apart from wardrobes in the bed
rooms, no where to hang towels in the shower room, also a self catering hol
iday accomadation should have a toaster not a grill with a four inch gap so
your bread takes 6 minutes to do one side, the carpet was new throughout the van but dirty in the lounge. Also the main… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We are a family with three teenagers, we've been to...”

Written on: 28/10/2010

We are a family with three teenagers, we've been to Golden Sands before and really enjoyed it, but we went in October after not going for about six years. The site had changed which we didn't really like. We stayed for three nights in a three bedroom caravan, it was very cold with only a gas fire in the living room, the oven didn,t have a shelve or any baking trays. The saucepans all had loose handles, it was so unwelcoming it was the worse place I have ever stayed. The caravan was so cold… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Goldensands's Comment

Written on: 28/10/2010

I was very saddened to read your comments, all caravans do come with a gas fire however we only advertise certain grades of accommodation that come with guaranteed heating throughout, which are our Prestige and Platinum range.
<br/>If the issues encountered during your stay were mentioned to us, such as no oven shelf or baking trays we would have rectified this straight away for you.
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Ok well firstly ignore the comments from people who...”

Written on: 24/10/2010 by montydoggy (1 review written)

Ok well firstly ignore the comments from people who have made negative comments about this site, We are a family with 3 small children and first visited this particular haven site in April this year. We were so impressed and had such a good time that we came again in october and we were still if not more pleased with it, both times for 7 nights. To begin with the staff on check in were very helpful and offered us an upgrade to a platinum (the best of the best) van for an extra £20 (online was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Golden Sands Mablethorpe is such a dissappointment....”

Written on: 04/10/2010

Golden Sands Mablethorpe is such a dissappointment. The caravans are filthy. Our caravan had not been cleaned out in ages, there were balls of dog hairs and stains all over the carpets. The microwave we had has thick with rust, a health hazard. The curtains were hanging off and the tv did not work. The cutlery were dirty and the plates had not been washed. The stench of the caravan smelt like nothing on earth. Many people we spoke to were also disgusted. This will be closed down if it carries… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Goldensands's Comment

Written on: 23/10/2010

We would like to apologise for the experience you encountered on your recent holiday at Golden Sands. Whilst reading your comments I noticed you didn't say you reported any of the issues during your stay however if we were notified regarding those issues we would have rectified them immediately.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Couldn't fault the site, facilities or the surrounding...”

Written on: 29/09/2010 by leepylee (1 review written)

Couldn't fault the site, facilities or the surrounding area, all were excellent. We had a budget caravan which was adequate as a base for touring the area. Minor details left a bit to be desired, cleanliness of the caravan was only superficial, debri under bed in main bedroom, food and dust behind cushions in lounge, vent missing from kitchen ceiling exposing cobwebs. Cooker was dirty and frying pan was unusable, a microwave was not expected or provided but we did think a toaster would have… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“When we 1st arrived at the site, the key's for our...”

Written on: 06/09/2010

When we 1st arrived at the site, the key's for our accomodation wasn't avalable, after a 10 minute hold up we arrived at our accomodation

to find one of the doors to the caravan wide open and a key with a green keyring in it. When getting into the caravan and unpacking a cleaner's

manager arrived asking if we had a key. We gave him the key and told him about the curtains in the lounge area hanging of the rails. He did

attempt a repair but wasn't able to repair them.



After the dreadful… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Goldensands's Comment

Written on: 23/10/2010

Having reviewed your comments you mentioned you reported some issues and they were rectified during your stay. However the caravan shouldn't have been passed as ready without the problems rectified before your arrival, please accept our most sincere apologies for this. I do hope this does not deter you from booking again with Golden Sands and hope you can give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“The staff was lovely and friendly but the cleaning...”

Written on: 17/08/2010 by karen1970 (1 review written)

The staff was lovely and friendly but the cleaning contractors were observed to be not very good as they appeared to prefer to watch the tv in the caravans that to clean. Pizza place were very slow on delivery but gave us a full refund when we complained and we got the meal for free. Eldest didn't enjoy it but didn't really want to be with us but the rest of us were so pleased with the holiday that we've booked to go back next year… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview