Butlins, Minehead Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.4 / 5
64% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of accommodation

  • Quality of food

  • Staff

  • Children's entertainment

  • Adult entertainment

  • Facilities

  • Proximity to local amenities

  • Proximity to local attractions

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Butlins, Minehead - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“very disappointed ”

Written on: 18/10/2014 by JoyceMoore374 (1 review written)

We stayed for a 4 nights originally and we were very pleased, we had a silver bungalow. We then stayed on for a few more nights and we're moved to a silver twin room. As soon as you walked in there was a ridiculous smell of bleach, the room was freezing to. After the smell had gone then came the damp smell that they attempted to cover up, everything is covered in dust and as an asthmatic I was not pleased. Very disappointed and I will 100% not be returning!!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Stayed at minehead from mon to fri last week very...”

Written on: 07/05/2014 by Gilbertfe11 (1 review written)

Stayed at minehead from mon to fri last week very disappointed the silver bungalow that we stayed in was in very poor condition missing items included cutlery glasses ironing board just to name afew but so called cleaning disgusting .as we arrived there was aerson checking it that it was passed for us to move in so we know that it had been checked . Dust everywhere but what the worst thing found were empty bottles and cans under sofas and dirt down sides of sofas needless to say after being… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“disappointing”

Written on: 18/11/2013

Went to minehead butlins last year to watch wwe after friends kept saying how great it was and raving about the premium dining which was really good.After last year we were really disappointed this time with the new dining The deck the food was terrible the standard of the food has dropped we did not have one hot meal it was constantly running out.frozen bread rolls were on offer at one sitting.The only reason we would go to butlins is to watch wwe for the children. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Great for kids,as long as adults can ignore the poor...”

Written on: 27/10/2013 by barrydavids1 (20 reviews written)

I recently went to Butlins in Minehead with my wife and 6 year old daughter for 4 nights. I have fond memories of Butlins as a child and so was looking forward to revisiting the complex. In terms of activities and inclusive facilities it did not disappoint. Most of the entertainment and activities are included in the price which is a real bonus. Whether it be the fairground, the swimming baths or children's shows, there are plenty of things to keep the kids entertained. That being said, there… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Refund needed”

Written on: 25/07/2013

Firstly on arrival staff at check in great on getting to apartment only way I can describe it was outdated dirty cramp and unsafe rail outside chalet was unsafe towel being only 1in there looked like last guest had wiped feet on it windiws dirty food ok but sloppy rice was so stodgy stuck to spoon foreign workers rude and arrogant entertainment great except mày I suggest air conditioning if not for guests for the poor staff expected to work in conditions to hot swimming pool ok well manned… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Not as good as skegness”

Written on: 20/07/2013 by widowmaker189 (1 review written)

Just returned from a short 4 night stay and have to say was not impressed. Firstly i paid extra for housekeeping mainly to get towels included but when i arrived there was no towels in chalet, i went to accommodation facilities and was told the towels would be there in ten mins waited half an hour still no towels so went back and was told oh OK have these towels then. secondly the chalet it self was in need of some TLC from very dirty windows to marks (no idea what of) on the walls. the shops… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“the best holiday ever kids love it!”

Written on: 09/12/2012 by butlinslover (1 review written)

Myself and wife got married in July 2012 and have two young children aged 1 and 3 we decided to go Butlins for our honeymoon cause we would not want to leave our kids and going abroad to an exotic location is not fun for young kiddies! Upon arrival we couldn't check in to our room for another hour but we knew this so we wandered on site to waste time, the entertainment is excellent for children how ever my daughter didn't have much to do as she's only one oldest daughter loved bob the builder… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“nothing for under 2 year old's”

Written on: 02/11/2012

We just booked a fmaily holiday for 5 with my daughter and her 4 year old son. Also took my 15 month old grandson Very disappointed in entertain,ent for young children. Nothing catered for under 2's. There was Bob the Builder fun fair but he could only go on 3 things and they wouldn't let his 13 year old uncle to take him on so missed out on some rides The skyline stage shows were great for 5 - 9 years old's but under 2 'sget bored and could wander off. Nursery was £6 for 2 hour session so… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“What a Fantastic Break!”

Written on: 22/10/2012

Having read some less than enthusiastic reviews (after having booked!) my husband and I, both in our late 70's, travelled in fear and apprehension. From the time we arrived, all staff were friendly and helpful. Our rooms and bed were spotlessly clean and comfortable, the food was very well prepared, plentiful and with loads of choice. The site itself was well maintained and clean - not once did we see any rubbish lying around. The entertainment looked inviting but we chose to take a walk… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“great staff”

Written on: 11/08/2012

we have just come back from minehead and i and my family would like to say a what a great time we had you have great staff i unfortuatly had to be taken to hosptial and you aranged for me to get back via a member of staff the staff looked after my two grandaughters whilt the paramedic checked me over and nothig was to much trouble word are not enough for your kindness the staff who attended to me were kindness it self words are not enough THANK YOU and we will be back next year… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Butlins Minehead ”

Written on: 30/05/2012

I absolutely love Butlins Minehead. Its got stuff for all ages like rides entertainment and food ect. I would suggest silver accomidation with half board . No cooking or cleaning just having fun on your holiday . For children there are lots of characters , shows and even Bob the Builders yard which is a sheltered place full of rides for children under 6 years old. Also the tent with most activities are in the skyline pavillion . … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“very poor ”

Written on: 20/05/2012

just spent 5 days at butlins minehead and was very disappointed. My daughters aged 4 and 2 loved it. the entertainment was great for them. The silver accomadation however was very bad. we had stains on all of the bedding but i took are own which was lucky. The shower leaked and left the bathroom flooded, the curtains were dirty, the tv would work and we had ANTS. When i complained the staff were very relaxed about it and just sent someone round to spray the room. When i questioned their… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Poor ”

Written on: 18/05/2012 by SianGoss (1 review written)

Myself partner and two children have just had a 5 day break in minehead butlins due to a technical problem after a massive power cut throughout minehead on the last evening the last nights entertainment could not carry on due to the fault my younge nephew had waited all day to watch the lazy town show and when they announced that the show would not be continuing they asked parents if they had a camera they would be able to take pictures so off I went down to the front of the stage to have… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“apartments not that great!!!”

Written on: 22/04/2012

Me and my family have gone to butlins 3 years in a row and twice we have been we have had no problems but the very last time we ending up leaving a day early. We had a silver apartment and realised that we had a old stroller pram under our bed (main bedroom) with a empty box for a new one, in the living room was smashed glass under the sofa, and in the kitchen cupboard was a glass half full of cigarette butts, so the cleaning side of things is definatly not great. the kids on day 4 (there for 7… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“50/50 Opinion”

Written on: 06/04/2012

Good points; - The night time entertainment was very enjoyable - Lots of entertainment for children - Indoor swimming pool had a wide selection of water slides, wave machine and whirlpool. Bad points; -Myself and my friends had booked silver accomodation and we ended up in a shally, the blankets and sheets were filthy. - There was only a bath in my shally and I would rather of had a shower because the bath looked very unhygenic so I had to use the swimming pool showers to wash my hair. -… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“ADULT WEEKENDS”

Written on: 19/03/2012 by SIANHUCKER (1 review written)

WHAT A FAB TIME WE HAD AT MINEHEAD ENTERTAINMENT WAS BRILL FOOD WAS GOOD ... ACCOMADATION WAS EXCELANT ROLL ON THE NEXT TIME WE GO ALREADY BOOKED WOULD DEFINATLY RECOMEND TO OTHERS… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Butlins Minehead WWE Weekend 2011”

Written on: 15/11/2011 by bmrcsr (2 reviews written)

From the very moment we arrived at the resort the whole place was WWE orientated to whip the kids into a frenzy. The WWE weekend break runs from Friday to Monday with the WWE show on the Saturday night but from the minute you walk into Guest Services everything about the place is WWE with it on all the public televisions as well as the DJ in Skyline playing Wrestler entrance themes with interactions from the kids. We stayed in God accommodation which is just fantastic which included premium… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bmrcsr's Response to bmrcsr's Review

Written on: 15/11/2011

Gold Accommodation not God Accommodation

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“butlins at minehead ”

Written on: 14/11/2011 by garypenn (1 review written)

hi just wanted to say we have just come back from a wwe weekend, and we enjoyed our stay, thanks to all envolved keep up the good work see you in the near future… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Minehead - Never again”

Written on: 28/06/2011 by Womble1969 (1 review written)

A quick summary, dirty rooms and we paid for a mid range deal, cold food, ignorant staff, with the exception of a select few, bars and shows so packed you couldn't get a seat and minmimal support for disabled residents. Staff never getting back to you, waiters sneezing in food, no hair nets or hygeine standards being maintained, at resturants that I could see. Couple this with, on day one, being sent to four different "offices", to get vouchers,additional linen, some idea of the resturant, my… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to Womble1969's Review

Written on: 07/07/2011

been reading comments on butlins in minehead, bit worried down for the weekend. wi th children[two] sounds depressing,should i go ,or get my money back. bill from brum

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to Womble1969's Review

Written on: 08/07/2011

Personally I would say, if you avoid the food courts and on site fast food joints, use your chalet as a crash pad only and do not spend more than an hour in it, then it looks like this place is good to go too.
Compare this to Skegness reviews and, you seem to get a different, higher quality, overall service

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't go Butlins. Please don't put your family health...”

Written on: 10/06/2011 by Susssex (2 reviews written)

I'm not new to Butlins but how they treat us this time was terrible. First day, lots of blood stains on beddings and they changed it quickly so we think it's ok you can't expect like hotel here. We never expected would be very good but as long as our little one enjoy it that's most important. Second day, our toilet was blocked so all dirty water with toilet papers flood toilet floor. (you can see attached pictures) They came to unblock it while we out. So, we thought it's all better now… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to Susssex's Review

Written on: 22/07/2011

i just had exactly the same problem with same resort.came back yesterday.felt really ill.but they just wanted us off the site.the worse thing is they say they have a duty of care to carry out. well i dont know where it was when my family were there.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview