The Cotswold Company Catalogue Reviews

★★★★☆
4.0 / 5
94
80% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

Comment from Review Centre

The Cotswold Company is under new management since January 2010, and has set about revamping all aspects of its service. A newly designed, feature-packed website has been launched (www.cotswoldco.com), where you will find all of Cotswold Company products alongside some new additions.
Because of the radical new changes, all reviews posted before 1st January 2010 no longer present an accurate representation of the Cotswold Company, but you can still access them by referring to The Cotswold Company (prior to 1st January 2010).


? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Cotswold Company - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for The Cotswold Company

The Cotswold Company
The Cotswold Company

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“Useless delivery dates ”

Written on: 18/03/2017 by guGeorge145 (1 review written)

Order placed in January with the Cotswold company for one Lundy stone grey large tv cabinet and two bedside cabinets .Delivery date first given was 11thApril 2017 which seemed a long time for delivery from order date early in January .Today 15/03/17 received email saying delivery date is now 7/05/17 and may still be adjusted .I have found out recently someone had to wait 6 months for a cabinet to be delivered and was damaged when it arrived .I advise to think seriously before purchasing… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent service and quality furniture ”

Written on: 17/03/2017 by BeckyB79 (1 review written)

Superb customer service! The desk we ordered needed exchanging but everyone at The Cotswold Company that I spoke to or emailed throughout the process was extremely helpful and friendly and we will certainly use them again for future purchases, especially when compared to the awful service we have received from larger chain furniture shops. Quality items at fair prices, highly recommended… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“3/4 drawer oak chest of drawers”

Written on: 09/02/2017 by SteveJ36 (1 review written)

I had a delivery today of an oak chest of drawers and it is superb. It fits in really well with what I expected and I haven't any disappointments. The company kept me informed all the time on the delivery times right up to half an hour before and they arrived exactly as they had said. The item weighed 66 kgs and they humped it up a spiralling staircase with no damage to anything - and glad to say not themselves either ! . My own opinion is that this company has some nice products and I found… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“over the moon”

Written on: 03/10/2016 by Jada426 (1 review written)

I wanted an oak filing cabinet but couldn't get one locally so searched Ebay. Quite a few on there. I was a bit apprehensive about buying furniture without seeing it first but I took the plunge and ordered it from The Cotswold Company. The service was great. Excellent communication and the cabinet was beautifully finished. If I should ever need anything else oak I will look at their company first. Well done The Cotswold Company… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Really Pleased”

Written on: 24/07/2016 by Finnegan235 (1 review written)

Really pleased from order to delivery. Goods arrived really well packaged, delivery guys professional and courteous. Communication and delivery updates made the whole process extremely easy. Would recommend to family and friends. … Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent company to deal with.”

Written on: 22/07/2016 by craftsman2 (1 review written)

We purchased 5 items, 2 bedside cabinets, a chest of drawers, a triple wardrobe and a tall chest. The delivery team phoned and advised their arrival time and they were punctual, and left the items in the spare room. We chose to unpack and assemble the wardrobe etc. Cannot fault anything, the quality of build and finish is excellent the drawers open and close smoothly unlike some we've seen, and the diamond dowel detail is very nice subtle touch. What impressed us also was that the wardrobe is… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“A little disappointed”

Written on: 27/06/2016 by kpStokes1949 (1 review written)

Furniture is fine but so disappointed to read on box " made in China". I thought I was supporting a UK company… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Bourton Painted Bookcase”

Written on: 25/02/2016 by enidflorence (1 review written)

I recently purchased this bookcase and am simply delighted with it. The craftsmanship is superb, rare these days(I once worked with wood). Cotswold Co chosen carrier equally superb, contacting me immediately with confirmation and time window for the day. The driver unpacked and placed in the position requested. The workmanship and thought given for ease of positioning the shelves must simply be unmatched. Everything much recommended to friends, and I'll be back - what a beautiful item to add to… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Useless service”

Written on: 10/01/2016 by Powers361 (1 review written)

Not a chance I would recommend them. I wouldn't touch this business with a barge pole. They were weeks late with the original order, then parts arrived that didn't fit, they even sent damaged parts so we contacted them and they sent damaged parts again and again - this happened on several occasions. But, they took our original money fast as lightning! When you spend hard earned cash on new furniture you want it to be perfect - this company's products were not … Read Full Review

By Cotswoldco

Written on: 15/01/2016

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that you are not happy with the service you have received. I am sorry to hear about the disappointing experience you have had with regards to the quality of the items received. So that I can look into your account and investigate this situation further, please can you let me know your order number. Once I have this I’ll be able to carry out full investigation and ensure that instances such as this do not occur in the future. I look forward to hearing from you shortly. Kind regards Anny Charles Customer Services Team Leader

Reply to this comment

Cotswoldco's Comment

Written on: 15/01/2016

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that you are not happy with the service you have received. I am sorry to hear about the disappointing experience you have had with regards to the quality of the items received. So that I can look into your account and investigate this situation further, please can you let me know your order number. Once I have this I’ll be able to carry out full investigation and ensure that instances such as this do not occur in the future. I look forward to hearing from you shortly. Kind regards Anny Charles Customer Services Team Leader

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Appleby Oak Bedside Cabinet”

Written on: 14/11/2015 by BillyLittle182 (1 review written)

I ordered two of these cabinets on Thursday 12/11/15 . They were delivered - a few 100 miles away - at 11am on Friday 13/11/15 . The cabinets are just perfect - I am really very pleased with them and also the great delivery service. I would have no hesitation in recommending The Cotswold Company… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“AMAZING SERVICE AND FURNITURE”

Written on: 19/07/2015 by pottedpansy (1 review written)

I PURCHASED SOME FURNITURE FROM OUR NORWICH STORE THE STAFF WERE HELPFUL SERVICE WAS BRILLIANT RIGHT THROUGH TO DELIVERY ON TIME UNWRAPPED AND PACKAGING TAKEN AWAY .WILL DEFINATELY RECOMMEND TO FRIENDS AND BUY AGAIN MYSELF MANY THANKS… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“misleading”

Written on: 17/06/2015 by Caseyd396 (1 review written)

I've just had a very bad experience with this company. Don't be taken in by the stylish website. This is why it's misleading: Free delivery. Not so, you are asked to pick a date and a time. That appears to be some sort of 'extra' and you are charged. You have no other option. They offer a tracking service. You enter your order number and up comes a message telling you that your item will be delivered on the day you expect. If you do that on the day in question, when the item is late, it… Read Full Review

By Cotswoldco

Written on: 25/06/2015

Hi,

Thank you for submitting a review, your feedback is very much appreciated.

I am sorry to hear about the delivery problems you have experienced. In order for me to assist you further, please could you let me know what your order reference number is and I will do my very best to investigate the complaints raised and resolve this for in the best way possible?

In the meantime, if you wish to discuss this or I could be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Anny Charles
Customer Services Team Leader

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent service”

Written on: 26/04/2015

I recently purchased an acacia wood tv stand. Whilst it was a lovely piece of furniture it didn't go well with my existing furniture. I had to arrange a collection and a refund. The process couldn't have been more straightforward. The distribution team who delivered and collected the item were courteous and efficient! And their communication by text and phone was exemplary. I would highly recommend the Cotswold company and will shop with them again. Thankyou a very satisfied customer… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Order from The Cotswold Company Oak TV Unit”

Written on: 15/04/2015 by Lamb499 (1 review written)

Ealing oak TV stand. Extremely pleased with item. Packaging was very good and delivery excellent. I could not have asked for better… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Purchase from Cotswold Company”

Written on: 13/03/2015 by Brianae1970 (1 review written)

Just like to thank you for my order of the Richmond oak and glass display cabinet, exceptional product, and exceptional service from your company. Will have no hesitation in recommending you to friends and family. Many thanks, … Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Fantastic service and quality of goods”

Written on: 26/02/2015 by Shirl13 (1 review written)

we were trying to buy a small console table from a local company but when we visited their very sparse showroom the member of staff who we saw was so offhand and rude we decided to look elsewhere. Trawling the internet we found The Cotswold Company. So glad we did. The quality of the goods was excellent as was the price and we were very impressed with the phone call to give us a delivery slot. We liked it so much we ordered another and were thrilled to be offered free express delivery the… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“DISGUSTING CUSTOMER CARE”

Written on: 20/02/2015 by McDonald344 (1 review written)

NEVER EVER EVER AGAIN BE WARNED TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICES, SAVE YOUR TIME AND MONEY AND GO TO A REPUTABLE COMPANY. DAMAGE DONE TO MY PROPERTY WILL NOT TAKE ANY RESPONSIBILITY FOR IT AND OFFERED ME £25 AS A GOOD WILL GESTURE AS IF THEY ARE DOING ME A FAVOUR WHEN THE DAMAGE WOULD NOT HAVE EVER OCCURRED IF I HADNT BEEN FOOLISH ENOUGH TO ORDER FORM THEM. THEY REALLY HAVE NO SCRUPLES CUSTOMER CARE OR CONSCIENCE. OFFER YOU 25 LIKE THEY ARE DOING YOU A MASSIVE FAVOUR NOT BECAUSE ANY OF THE DAMAGE… Read Full Review

By Cotswoldco

Written on: 25/02/2015

Hi, Thank you for getting in touch. First and foremost I’d like to apologise for the length of time we’ve taken to investigate and respond to the concerns that you’ve raised. This really isn’t good enough and regardless of the outcome I would always expect that issues such as this are concluded within a matter of hours or at the worst, days, certainly not weeks. Inevitably needing to wait for driver crews to return and be back on shift to talk to them about what happened takes a couple of days if we are not aware during the delivery - but not the amount of time you were made to wait. Additionally, although this order was delivered through a third party, the responsibility for any issues caused during delivery ultimately rests with us, in light of the comments made above I have reminded my team again this morning that whilst we need to talk to delivery companies as part of the investigation of any complaint - from a customer point of view responsibility is ours and is not to be deflected. On the few occasions it has happened - whenever a customer has suffered damage to their property during their delivery we do whatever we can to help with the repairs, irrelevant of what paperwork our delivery partners may hide behind - our stance is that the paperwork obligates you to move breakable objects out the way and take reasonable responsibility for your property, it definitely does not waiver our responsibility to take reasonable care during delivery. I am surprised my team need reminding of this but have done so again this morning. With regards to your carpet, we are not able to meet the cost of it being cleaned due to the fact that we cannot see how it was damaged as a direct result of our delivery. As this was not reported at the time of the order arriving you can imagine it makes it very difficult for us to say with certainty whether or not our team caused the problems you’ve noticed. We do appreciate that regardless of how this occurred that it must be a frustrating situation for you, in light of that and the delay in reaching a conclusion we made the goodwill gesture you have mentioned. I know this won’t necessarily be the response you were looking for but I do hope this at least shows the logic behind our decision-making. If you would like to discuss the matter further then please do feel free to contact us. Barry Clare Customer Services Manager

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“No quality control”

Written on: 09/02/2015 by Anolis9999 (1 review written)

The first thing I ordered from Cotswolds was OK, but the next two things were of very poor quality. Poor or damaged finishes. They clearly had not been inspected before packaging and delivery. It was made worse by difficult obstructive staff. … Read Full Review

By Cotswoldco

Written on: 12/02/2015

Hi,
Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that you are not happy with the service you have received. As a company we value ourselves on the level of customer service we provide, so it is disappointing to hear of your experience. So as I can look into your account and investigate this situation further, please can you let me know your order number. Once I have this I’ll be able to full investigate this scenario and ensure that instances like this don’t occur in the future. I look forward to hearing from you shortly. Kind regards Anny Charles Customer Services Team Leader

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Very poor quality yet again”

Written on: 07/02/2015 by Mercedes175 (1 review written)

We ordered a set of 3 oak tables. When they came it was clear that the surface of the largest table was damaged. We went through the rigmarole of taking photos and emailing them to Cotswolds and were offered a derisory amount in compensation, our money back or a replacement. We went for the latter and after waiting three months for the replacement the tables arrived. Once again the surface of the larger table was damaged. One corner is bruised, there is a dent in the surface, and another corner… Read Full Review

By Cotswoldco

Written on: 12/02/2015

Hi,
Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that you are not happy with the service you have received. I am sorry to hear about the disappointing experience you have had with regards to the quality of the items received. So as I can look into your account and investigate this situation further, please can you let me know your order number. Once I have this I’ll be able to carry out full investigation and ensure that instances like this don’t occur in the future. I look forward to hearing from you shortly. Kind regards Anny Charles Customer Services Team Leader

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★★

“Very happy customer”

Written on: 05/02/2015 by Maggiolive (1 review written)

Yesterday I took delivery of my Appleby Oak Single storage bench with cushion, the delivery man was very pleasant and the package was in tact. I am absolutely delighted with the quality of both chest and cushion, it is a well made stylish piece of furniture, and looks fantastic in my new kitchen, I have been searching for something like this and am thrilled to have found this little gem, it is strong and sturdy and already housing shoes which normally are left strewn on the floor! I will have… Read Full Review

Report this review
overview