Trailfinders Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.5 / 5
34% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Trailfinders - Ask a question now

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Disgraceful service”

Written on: 07/03/2014 by 155Kenney (1 review written)

My partner had a health problem, and we had to postpone the date of our trip to India. The cancellation and rebooking fees the agency charged have been ridiculous but fortunately refunded by our insurance. In the second booking, the agent made the booking in different hotels but she assured they were the same standard of the previous ones. Well, we paid for 5 stars hotels ( as Taj, Hyatt etc.), and we ended in dirty and scruffy places. In one of them, there were even rats! Despite our… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Unhelpful if you are ill”

Written on: 18/10/2013

This was our first time of booking with Trailfinders. We had booked with them as our usual company didn't do this type of holiday (Amtrak train from chicago to San Francisco). Unfortunately my husband became ill once in Chicago and we thought we may have to stay there and miss the rest of our holiday so I rang Trailfinders and found they were not very helpful. I wanted advice on our options but was basically told to let them know what we wanted and they'd book it. No more, or less. Our… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Honey Moon let down”

Written on: 14/10/2013 by EMMAH83 (1 review written)

Booked our Honeymoon using the wedding gift list that they offered. friends and family put money on the card and then we booked our holiday to Antigua. When we got to the hotel we spoke to other honeymoon guests who said that they had been room upgraded and given a bottle of champagne. When we spoke to the hotel they said that Trailfinders had never even told them it was our honeymoon! Honeymoons are supposed to be special and i can't help think that we missed out. It was something so small… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Luketr81's Response to EMMAH83's Review

Written on: 13/12/2013

What did Trailfinders say when you told them about it ?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Brilliant in every way”

Written on: 06/09/2013 by Tony49 (1 review written)

Went to Canada for 3 weeks as two couples in June 2013 staying in 6 hotels and using 3 means of travel. Trailfinders in Birmingham were simply brilliant. They helped design the tour and found great deals on transport and hotels. Nothing was too much trouble. I couldn't get the deals they got (saved us about £1000). Every time I rang them whoever I spoke to couldn't have been more helpful & friendly. Any changes were made without fuss. Wouldn't hesitate to use them again (NZ next!) and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“a decline in service”

Written on: 03/09/2013 by capataz (1 review written)

There was a time when it didn't matter who you got on the phone at trailfinders, they were all, always great. I have been using them for 30 years. But recently the service has really dipped. to the point where i had to hang up on one sales person because they were so rude and useless! I am traveling tomorrow and all of their phone lines seem to be out of order! Worried that their decline has come to a conclusion… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“The Best Advisor”

Written on: 26/08/2013 by Susananderton (1 review written)

This is the seccond flight I have booked with Trailfinders. He couldnt have been more patient, tolerant and helpful to an elderly lady travelling to Melbourne to visit my daughter. He chose the best option and chose my flights explaing everything and answering my 'old lady' questions clealy. Sadly another operative actually booked the flight - who wasnt very patient. If you need to book a flight without much knowledge of the systems - Ask for him! Dont just righ and hope for the best - You… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“A fantastic stress-free holiday!”

Written on: 20/08/2013

We have just returned from a brilliant road trip down the West coast of the USA. With lots of different hotels and car bookings all well organised and flawless. Staff were friendly and professional throughout. Would recommend highly!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“La Jaime, Refugio Marnes, Benissa, Alicante, Spain”

Written on: 14/07/2013 by AfterSybil (1 review written)

My Family and I are always on the look out for alternative and off-the -beaten track type holidays, well we struck gold this time. La Jaime is an authentic Beduin tent fully serviced to provide full elctricity, hot water, toileting, bath/shower and cooking facilities without compromising the tent and the rural tranquility of the spectacular mountaineous surroundings. It was trully fantastic, waking up in the morning , opening up the tent , breakfast outside and off-course the ritual swim… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellant Service, Thank You”

Written on: 22/06/2013

We have just returned from our honeymoon to Bali which we booked through Trailfinders. We mainly dealt with the Cambridge branch and they were fantastic. With the organising and lead up to the honeymoon they were great in answering all our queries and were very friendly. They were also true to their word with regards to all the extras which were included in our package, which overall made it a very enjoyable and memorable honeymoon… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Look elsewhere!”

Written on: 12/06/2013 by Eirestar3 (1 review written)

Did not have any problems with Trailfinders at first. Everything went smoothly with the first part of our trip. When booking the trip we were told we could change our flights free of charge once. When we rang to give our preferred date we were told it had already been changed and booked by them without contacting us. Now wanting us to fork out more money to change it again when it's not our fault. Have been dealing with numerous staff and being honest only two have been anyways helpful. Steer… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“MD can't even be bothered to reply to a complaint letter!”

Written on: 11/06/2013

Recently booked flights to JFK over the phone as part of a bigger group. Adviser never bothered to explain any of the booking Terms & Conditions, so when I was unable to travel for health reasons I discovers I'd forfeited my right to the virtually all the cost. Taxes are refundable but what they had specifically chosen to hide was that Air Fuel Supplement forms the biggest proportion if tax payable when you book and then when you get the paperwork it is explicitly excluded from the definition… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Starscream's Comment

Written on: 27/10/2013

I take it you never considered reading the conditions of your ticket, or getting travel insurance. Nice one.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Luketr81's Comment

Written on: 13/12/2013

Agree with Starcreams, it seems the above didn't check the paperwork or have his own insurance

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Used them repeatedly because they are great!”

Written on: 09/06/2013 by Anniehen (3 reviews written)

I'm genuinely surprised that so many reviewers have had bad experiences with this Company. I have used them regularly for about 20 years and have always and great service from friendly, knowledgable staff! I have always used the Newcastle-upon-Tyne Centre, with the exception of one occasion booking a cruise through their Cruise Centre. I knew nothing about cruising and was given detailed information about various things to consider, right down to which part of which deck I should consider for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Self interested, thoughtless staff ”

Written on: 19/05/2013 by Hubhopper (1 review written)

Booked travel and hotels with Trailfinders Bristol (c.£6k), balance not due for another 3 months but paid up just so I don't have to deal with their self interested, thoughtless staff anymore. Prior to booking I asked for an email address as I can't always work by phone during their opening hours. I was told ths would be possible after booking via their 'viewtrail' facility. This turned out not to be true and, further, staff do not have email addresses to give. I was also told I could… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Lack of knowledge of Trailfinder staff in Manchester”

Written on: 05/04/2013 by Prakashsharma (1 review written)

I booked a cruise through ( pain full mount in advance ) waited to get document .but when it did not arrive for 10 15 days .then phone to them on phone number given to me. I was ttold to get phone call from Manchester . Later on I got phone call . And I was told that document will be sent later on . I asked what is my cabin deck. ( I had booked Balcony cabin ) she was unable to tell me about cabin details . I asked timeing of check in and embarkation time and departure time from Southampton… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Lack of knowledge, terrible insurance”

Written on: 18/03/2013

Late 2012, booked a trip with Trailfinders to Cuba -Agents knowledge was very poor of the destination and they very heavily over charged for tours etc. Most of the on the ground information turned out to be incorrect, actually you are better off compiling a holiday agenda via Tripadvisor and just looking for the cheapest flights. Travel insurance they sell is appalling, promises total cover, but delivers zero when you need to make a claim, better to buy through an independent insurance… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“well organised”

Written on: 21/02/2013

Brilliant service! booked a 3 week holiday to Sydney Australia via Darwin, Singapore and San Francisco with the Birmingham Branch. Staff were very helpful and knowledgable. with 6 flights altogether, everything went to plan with no disruptions. Your itinary is online to view with travel advice. Would recommend and use again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Trip of a lifetime”

Written on: 17/02/2013

We've just come back from the trip of a lifetime, taking in Singapore, Australia and New Zealand. Trailfinders (Dublin & Cork) did all the early legwork. They organised ten flights, a ferry crossing and two rentals of motorhomes. They also amended some dates as we fine-tuned our itinerary. They were effecient, courteous and extremely helpful. Everything worked swimmingly. Thank you to all the staff who dealt with us - especially Martin Deakins… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Argentinian trip organised by Trailfinders”

Written on: 22/11/2012

Susan, my wife, and I had to attend a wedding in Buenos Aires, so decided to take a lightning tour of Argentina at the same time. Our experience of Trailfinders has been excellent (or I should say that Susan's has, since she did the spade work!), as every aspect of the trip met our expectations. We gave Abe, at Edinburgh Trailfinders, a list of the things that we wanted to do (Buenos Aires, Iguazu,Mendoza, Patagonia, and back to Buenos Aires) and asked him if he could contribute any ideas. We… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Steer clear!”

Written on: 30/08/2012 by Sunshinelollipop (1 review written)

I contacted Trailfinders by email and phone from France to book a £24000 tour of Asia. I was very specific about my requirements and things progressed well. After a few days of tooing and froing, The girl handling the booking suddenly said she was going on holiday the next day and had everything reserved waiting for the final bit to be confirmed. I had to press her to give me the name of a contact. The next day I heard nothing. In the afternoon I finally called the man to find out what was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Delboyginger's Response to Sunshinelollipop's Review

Written on: 19/08/2013

hi, can you say who the other agent was who was cheaper please? cheers, derek

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Very poor service”

Written on: 30/07/2012

Trailfinders are generally very poor in the service offered. Long waits, rude salespersons who apply unnecessary pressure (if the customer is present in person), poor knowledge regarding destinations and uncompetitive pricing. I have often tried to contact them on the phone and waited twenty or on one occasion a full thirty minutes. On that occasion, when I finally got through to the salesperson, she was utterly clueless, and in addition the price she was quoting was a full sixty-five euros… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Luketr81's Comment

Written on: 13/12/2013

what airline was it that failed ?....they would have known about your insurance, they have to check you have insurance before hand, it's a legal requirement, so insurance must have been discussed

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview