Diet Chef Reviews - www.dietchef.co.uk

★★★☆☆
2.8 / 5
49
45% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Diet Chef - www.dietchef.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Diet Chef - www.dietchef.co.uk

Diet Chef - www.dietchef.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★☆☆

“Good but could be a lot better”

Written on: 05/05/2015 by Ernieg687 (1 review written)

I decided to use diet chef as a little experiment to myself. I initially signed up for the 8 week plan and initially was very pleased with the food and the weight loss. However, it was as my order was coming to an end that I started to have problems. I received an email saying my order would be deliveredshortly - odd I thought as I haven't actually signed up for anything more, just the initial 8 weeks. But before I could do anything I received the order, even odder was the fact that the meals… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“Happy bunny!”

Written on: 13/04/2015 by Ambroziah (7 reviews written)

Have used diet chef for a couple of years now and like with all diets, if you stick with it you will lose weight! The meals have come on a LOT since I first had it as a TSV from a shopping channel. I quite like the food but not keen on the snacks, the biscuits are gross, like eating cardboard but they have more savoury snacks now and have done away with the horrible mushroom stroganoff which was GROSS! They have introduced snack pots for lunch rather than just soup which is much better and… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking Customer Service”

Written on: 12/03/2015 by ElianNelson210 (1 review written)

I signed up for an 8 week package and paid my first hamper of £195.00. The next day, I saw an offer on Groupon for 4 weeks food @ £95.00 I havent had the food delivered to me yet and I would like to cancel my order and buy from Groupon (who wouldnt?) I have been advised that if I want to cancel I will be charged £50 even though i have not yet received the items !! Diet Chef will not price match to the groupon deal either … Read Full Review

Dietplanuser's Comment

Written on: 31/03/2015

I disagree. I phoned their customer services and was greeted by a lovely lady on the end of the line. I asked her what she was wearing and she told me she had a nice suit on with matching white undies..lovely.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“My order”

Written on: 06/02/2015 by dfGentry116 (1 review written)

My husband and I spent half an hour each picking exactly what meals we wanted from Diet Chef,but when it arrived,they contained the standard menus that are on the website ,before you choose your meals. When I phoned,I was told the boxes had to be returned by courier at my expense ,I told the girl that we worked not far from their depot, but no,they had to be delivered .I asked if I could claim the cost from them, again the answer was no. I said this was unacceptable ,I was then told that they… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“Easy diet to follow”

Written on: 29/01/2015 by Ariana116 (1 review written)

Have done 3 days, the food is ok, but this diet is Easy! I love the breakfasts and snacks best. Avoid the veg korma.. Yuck! Wish I had ordered more of the pasta lunches… Read Full Review

By Dietchef

Written on: 30/01/2015

Hi, thank you very much for your feedback! Glad to see you are enjoying (most of) the food so far! Remember that you can exchange food items within 21 days of receiving your hamper, if you come across meals you don't like, or if you want more of something like the pasta pots. If you want to exchange any of your food for something else within the same food category, just contact our Customer Services Team and they will be happy to help you. You can also change you food selections for your next hamper, by editing your choices in the 'My account' section of our website. If you are unsure of how to do this, Customer Services can talk you through it. They are available Mon-Fri, 8am-6pm, and you can chat with them live online, using the LiveHelp link in the top right-hand corner of our website, or call them. All the best, Diet Chef

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Not very nice”

Written on: 28/01/2015 by UrijahBlevins (1 review written)

I thought I would give this a try as the tv advert makes it look like it is a complete meal that is provided rather than some of it and you have to provide the rest like carbs and let be honest its the carb side of things most people have issue with anyway. Snacks have been provided but when you actually look at the packaing its not that low in calories. The food is not very pleasant and a couple of times the same meal has tasted different or so bad it has been binned. … Read Full Review

By Dietchef

Written on: 28/01/2015

Hi there, sorry to see that you are not enjoying the Diet Chef experience. We try to make it very clear on our website (see the 'How it works' page / video), blog and in the T&C's that customers are required to add their own fruit, vegetables and dairy - and that if you are allowed more than 1200 calories a day, you should add some 'extra foods', such more veg and dairy, pasta, bread and potato. To make it extra clear exactly what you get with each food item, all meals, drinks and snacks are displayed in the menu section of our website, including a full list of ingredients, nutritional values and common allergens. We would always recommend that anyone considering Diet Chef do a bit of research to start with, to ensure they are happy with the product and plan before committing. We do however realise that not everyone does this, and we also appreciate that some people might just not like the food. That is why we have a 21-day money back guarantee. This means that you can try the meal plan for a couple of weeks and if you don't like it, contact our Customer Services Team and tell them you want to invoke the money back guarantee. If you then send what's left of your first hamper back to us within 21 days of receiving it, as per the team's instructions, we will refund you your subscription cost upon receipt. In this scenario, the only cost you have to cover is the £15-£20 courier charge to send the hamper back to us - so you are effectively getting a 2-3 week trial for around £20. If there is anything we can do to help you at this stage, please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Services Team. All the best, Diet Chef

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Diet Chef Works”

Written on: 17/01/2015 by srapson69 (39 reviews written)

OK so I was a bit unsure about trying this as the site does not show any pictures of the food etc and because you can store everything in a cupboard I was worried it might be a low standard. How wrong was I all of the food is VERY tasty and comes marked breakfast/lunch/dinner/snack its easy to keep separate so you have a great choice. I'm only on the first week so have not tried all the food yet but so far its all great. Preparation is easy as well either microwave or add water/milk. What… Read Full Review

By Dietchef

Written on: 19/01/2015

Hi there, thank you very much for your review and your feedback - we are very pleased to see that you are enjoying the diet and the food! :) Just to let you know - in case you want to look any of the meals up in more detail - that all our food is listed on the Diet Chef website, in the 'menu' section, including photos of each product, an item description, a full list of ingredients, nutritional values and common allergens. Each food item has its own page within the menu section, often with a serving suggestion included as well. The menu section is one of the main tabs in the navigation bar at the top of the website, and is split into breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks sub-sections. Hope this helps and good luck with your weight loss journey! All the best, Diet Chef

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★★

“good diet! nice food!”

Written on: 04/01/2015 by 1978Henry (1 review written)

Diet chef food is great and so is the customer service. i would 100% recommend this and as for people saying that its not made clear for the rolling charge if you dont cancel is ridiculous. This is stated all over the website and clearly people arent reading the info properly!!! … Read Full Review

By Dietchef

Written on: 05/01/2015

Hi, thank you for the awesome review! Really pleased to see that you have enjoyed the Diet Chef experience and taken the time to share your thoughts! That's very much appreciated! :) Hope you have a great year in 2015! All the best, Diet Chef

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“STAY AWAY FROM DIET CHEF ”

Written on: 17/10/2014 by HarrisonLee201 (1 review written)

STAY CLEAR OF DIET CHEF!!!! In tiny faint grey letters you are told you subscribe, there is not warning if you need to cancel your order you have to pay a £50 fee. The worst customer service I have ever experienced! Avoid the advisers in the Customer service team, both are sarcastic, patronizing and disgusting they way they speak to their customers! Very unhelpful and just kept giving ridiculous examples. The food is disgusting and how they would ever expect anyone to subscribe to more than… Read Full Review

By Dietchef

Written on: 24/10/2014

Hi HarrisonLee,

Very sorry to see you are unhappy with our service and food.

The fact that all our meal plans are rolling subscriptions is something we highlight clearly on the 'View our plans' page of our website, as well as in our terms and conditions, the latest offers page terms, and in any marketing comms we issue. We do prompt all customers to confirm that they have read and accepted the T&C's before ordering.

In terms of the food itself, the vast majority of customers tell us they really enjoy it, but we understand that it might not be everyone's cup of tea, which is why we have a 21 day money back guarantee in place, offering a refund to people who do not like the diet.

If more than three weeks have passed since you received your first hamper, and you decide to cancel before your minimum commitment period has ended (4, 8 or 12 weeks, depending on which plan you go for) you may be charged a £50 cancellation fee, as per our T&C's. After your minimum contract period is up, you can cancel free of charge anytime up until a couple of days before your next hamper processing date (available in your Diet Chef account).

We're also very sorry to see that you did not find our Customer Services Team helpful. We know they work really hard to help resolve customer complaints and provide excellent service, and we get lots of positive feedback about the team from customers on a weekly basis. However, we do also appreciate that it can be very frustrating when misunderstandings arise.

If your issue is still ongoing, and there is anything we can do to help you further, please feel free to get in touch again and ask to speak with the team manager. They will be able to look into your account history and any previous communications between yourself and our other customer services colleagues.

All the best,
Diet Chef

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★★

“Best Diet so far and hopefully the last! tasty food”

Written on: 11/10/2014 by arieldiamond (1 review written)

As most people write on her i've been on a few fad diets.. that have made me lose weight, but not in the right way, or not a diet that you can actually stick to. This Diet is great for me as i work shifts. It's so easy to prepare, its fulfilling, and its tatsy too! i admit there are things that i dont like, but those things were meals that i didn't think i would like but i tried anyway, and it definitely teaches you about portion control, you dont need that big portion to make you full, these… Read Full Review

By Dietchef

Written on: 13/10/2014

Hi arieldiamond - thank you for the lovely feedback! Really pleased to see you are enjoying the Diet Chef experience, and a huge well done to you on the 7lbs weight loss in your first week! What a great start! :) All the best, Diet Chef

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★★

“dog food”

Written on: 24/09/2014 by Pollard210 (1 review written)

I havnt currently tired it yet but yesterday morning I ran out of dog good so I gave then tika misala and they loved it and the good thing is im going to have a skinny dog that will not put weight on :)… Read Full Review

By Dietchef

Written on: 24/09/2014

Lol! Well, we're pleased to see that your dog enjoyed the meal. I hope you like the food just as much, yourself. :)

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Diet Chef Buyer BEWARE”

Written on: 29/08/2014 by Taniyaa14 (1 review written)

Watch out very confusing pricing plan, I signed up all in good faith thinking I had a good deal getting 12 week plan half price I read the terms and conditions still thought it was a good deal I seem to have missed the bit where it says the half price is for the first month only. So I went onto the live chat. I explained how I felt I had been duped and mislead and of course they snottily site terms and conditions. So beware read the T&C’s over and over again because if you cancel there is… Read Full Review

By Dietchef

Written on: 01/09/2014

Hi Taniyaa,

We're sorry to see that you feel the special offer pricing was misleading, but we do try to make our promotional copy and T&C's transparent.

As such, our special offer emails and landing pages do mention that the half price deals apply to the first month only, and that the hamper repeats at the normal rate.

We do appreciate that customers occasionally misunderstand the pricing, or decide they want to cancel the diet for some other reason, which is why we offer a 21 day money back guarantee. This allows customers to get a full refund, minus the cost of returning the remaining food to us (£10-£20).

If there is anything we can do to help you at this point, please don't hesitate to get in touch with our Customer Services Team.

All the best,
Diet Chef

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Really awful food”

Written on: 17/08/2014 by McWilliams202 (1 review written)

I found the Diet Chef food to be completely unpalatable, and there were a number of service issues. While these were resolved, they shouldn't have happened in the first place, and I did not receive an apology. I've only been on the diet for three days and I've felt ill the entire time. The food even smells like it's off. Sorry, but I can't really think of anything good to say about Diet Chef… Read Full Review

By Dietchef

Written on: 18/08/2014

Hi there,

Very sorry to see that you have not enjoyed your Diet Chef experience. It's good to know that we were able to help you resolve the issues with your order, but we are of course very sorry for any inconvenience caused.

As you can see from our independent customer reviews on Trustpilot, the vast majority of our customers really enjoy the food, and our Product Development Team works hard to provide a wide range of meals and snacks to suit all tastes. That said, we do appreciate that Diet Chef might not be everyone's cup of tea.

This is why we have a 21 day money back guarantee, which means that if you cancel within three weeks of receiving your first hamper, you will get a full refund, minus the cost of sending the remaining food back to us (usually around £15 by courier).

There is absolutely no reason why the food would make you ill, so it might be worth checking with your GP if you are still feeling unwell, just to make sure there is nothing else going on.

Apologies again for any issues you've had with the order / deliver process, and if there is anything we can do to help at this stage, please don't hesitate to get in touch!

All the best,
Diet Chef Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Watch out when things go wrong”

Written on: 13/08/2014 by 152Sheridan (1 review written)

While the food is ok, be careful when things go wrong. For some reason we don't get a time slot for delivery, so we have to wait in all day, up to 8pm. Our last package was not put on the van for some reason, so we waited in all day for nothing. No compensation offered at all, despite asking. Second delivery attempt was not successful either, despite waiting again. Because we are angry at that, we would like to cancel. There is a £50 cancellation fee with 12 week contracts (this is our second… Read Full Review

By Dietchef

Written on: 15/08/2014

Hi,

Very sorry to hear that you have had problems with your delivery. If you email your contact details and a brief outline of your issue to us, we will follow up with the Customer Services Team and look into what has gone wrong.

All the best,
Diet Chef

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Not that healhy”

Written on: 30/07/2014 by Juliet406 (1 review written)

I've been eating the Diet Chef food for a week now. My main concern is the amount of sugar in the breakfast foods - one of their breakfast options has 30g of sugar in it. They are also not very filling (as a great deal of the calories come from sugar) - a protein based breakfast, such as a poached egg on wholemeal toast, is a much better way to start the day - and is less calories than their packaged cereals. So for my next hamper, I'll just order the plain porridge (which is ok) and eat them… Read Full Review

By Dietchef

Written on: 30/07/2014

Hi Juliet,

Thank you for your feedback, although we're sorry to see that you are not particularly enjoying the Diet Chef experience.

Our product Development Team works hard to provide a range of meals on the menus, so suit all tastes, but of course there are restrictions to the type of food that can be supplied via a meal delivery service like ours.

The vast majority of the feedback we get on the food is very positive, as you can see from our independent customer reviews on Trustpilot, but we do of course appreciate that our meal plan is not necessarily going to be everyone's cup of tea. That is why we offer the 21 day money back guarantee.

If you do decide you do not want to continue the diet, makes sure you contact our Customer Services Team within 21 days of receiving your first hamper. That way, your subscription will be cancelled and you'll be eligible for a full refund on the monthly subscription cost that you have paid. The only cost you will need to cover is the £10-£20 courier charge to send the remaining food back to us.

If you have any questions of we can help you with anything, please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Services Team. You can use the LiveHelp link in the top right-hand corner of our website to chat with them online, or alternatively, you will find more contact details on the Contact us page (link in website footer).

All the best,
Diet Chef

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Processed Food Nightmare”

Written on: 20/07/2014 by KaylenTaylor13 (1 review written)

I thought that I would give diet chef a go but quickly found that I was constantly bloated...oh and no weight lose at all. I followed the plan after a month however after every diet chef meal, I found that I had bowel movements 1 every 2 DAYS! maybe!...which is painful and uncomfortable. This is basically processed food that when eaten over pre-longed periods of time surely cannot be healthy Before diet chef I exercised daily, drank plenty of water, eat lots of fruit and veg, and if I do say… Read Full Review

By Dietchef

Written on: 21/07/2014

Hi Kaylen,

Thank you for your feedback, but we are of course sorry to see that you did not have a good experience with Diet Chef.

There is no reason why the food should make you bloated or ill, and this is not something we hear often from our customers. That said, everyone is different and we do appreciate that our food and diet plan won't necessarily suit everyone, which is why we have a 21 day money back guarantee.

This allows you to cancel your subscription within 21 days of receiving your first hamper, and get a full refund (minus the cost of sending the remaining food back to us - which will normally be £10-£20).

Unfortunately, as per our T&C's, if you wait for more than three weeks before you decide to cancel, you will no longer be eligible for the money back guarantee. In that situation, if you are no longer prepared to stick with the minimum contract period that you agreed to when you signed up, a cancellation fee will apply.

If there is anything we can do to help you at this stage, please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Services Team.

All the best,
Diet Chef

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Surprisingly good. Tasty and convenient.”

Written on: 02/07/2014 by caroloro (1 review written)

Well, I have to say, I am only ten days in, but so far am pleasantly surprised how tasty the food is. Some of it really is lovely, others so-so, but nothing disgusting. Really convenient and easy - I don't have the time or energy to plan my meals well as I work two jobs and have two children, so this is really fitting for my lifestyle. 5lbs down so far. Am using konjac products to bulk out my evening meals. I do think a month will be enough as I could see it getting samey. I used a groupon… Read Full Review

By Dietchef

Written on: 03/07/2014

Glad to see you are enjoying the food and doing well on the diet! Congratulations on your 5 lbs loss to date - a fantastic start! Keep it up! :)

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“AWFUL customer service, APPALLING service in general.”

Written on: 17/06/2014 by emmatlove (1 review written)

More than one issue: -Price - £180 a month if you subscribe to the 3 month plan. Whilst this is not unreasonable, it is VERY misleading that on top of the £180 you then have to purchase dairy, fruit and veg. They do not make this clear until you have rec'd your diet guide (having already subscribed for 3 months!) or alternatively it is hidden away in ridiculous areas on the website. -Availability - having subscribed to the 3 month plan I let my order tick over as I liked everything I had… Read Full Review

By Dietchef

Written on: 02/07/2014

Hi Emma,

Really sorry to hear about all the trouble you have had with your hamper delivery - I have had a chat with our Customer Services Manager, who confirmed that his team contacted you last week and that the issue has now been resolved to your satisfaction.

Apologies again for the inconvenience, but I'm pleased to see we were able to get this sorted for you.

If there is anything else we can do to help, don't hesitate to contact us.

All the best,
Diet Chef

Reply to this comment

Dccsm's Response to emmatlove's Review

Written on: 19/06/2014

Hi,

I am sorry to hear of your experience, I understand that you have been in constant communication with the Customer Service team, who are following up with your issues, and have agreed that on provision of further details relating to your delivery, we will be issued a replacement hamper.

If we can be of any further assistance, please click on LIVE HELP on our website, and we can help

Regards

Paul

Diet Chef Customer Service Manager

Reply to this comment

Dccsm's reply to Dccsm's Comment

Written on: 19/06/2014

Further to my previous Comment,

Emma, we have had direct contact, it is my understanding that I have resolved your issues to your satisfaction.

Please feel free to contact me if you need any further assistance.

Regards

Paul

Reply to this comment

Emmatlove's reply to Dccsm's Comment

Written on: 23/06/2014

Hello -

unable to edit/remove review, the website does not offer this option.

Diet chef have since resolved the issue to a satisfactory standard. I would just like to point out, all of the staff I spoke to at DC were very helpful and assisted to the best of their abilities. The matter has now been resolved and other than the above issues, I would give DC a 4 star review.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“DietChef don't give a **** about Customer Service”

Written on: 01/05/2014 by Sophiatheessene (1 review written)

I don't know if people realise it, but Dietchef sends you one month's food all in one go, so at the end of the month you are already eating month-old food. Plus they won't send it to you when you want it, they choose the dates, and even if you ask plead demand or threaten they won't change those dates. So if, like me, you don't stick to the diet strictly and want to start next month's diet , say, two weeks after they date they've decided to send you the box, you end up with boxes and boxes of… Read Full Review

By Dietchef

Written on: 02/07/2014

Hi,

We're sorry to hear you are not happy with your Diet Chef experience.

As stated on our website, marketing emails and in our T&C's, all Diet Chef meal plans are rolling subscriptions, to make your ongoing weight loss journey as smooth and hassle-free as possible. However, if you do not wish to continue the diet after your initial minimum contract period (which is 4, 8, or 12 weeks, depending on which plan you sign up for), you can cancel your subscription.

In the period between hampers, you have the option to update your food selections if you want to change your meals around (contact our team, or click into MY ACCOUNT) and you can also delay your next hamper if you want to pause the diet.

To delay a hamper (or cancel your subscription), simply contact us at least two days before the processing date of the next hamper, and we can action this for you.

Our food is prepared, heat sealed in a pouch or tray and cooked in a pressure cooker at high temperatures, which is why it has a long shelf life and can be stored in room temperature. The cooking process is completely safe and gives the food longevity without excessive use of preservatives.

Because of the cooking method, you should have no issues whatsoever with the food going off after a few weeks, or even a month.

We do hope this helps you (and others) for the future.

All the best,
Diet Chef

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Great food, great service”

Written on: 29/04/2014 by Flashipants (1 review written)

I am really surprised by all the negative reviews I have read on here so thought I would leave my own comments. I gave Diet Chef a go having come across an Amazon deal. I only have about 8lbs to lose and so didn't want to do a faddy diet, I just needed something to keep me focussed and help me shed a few pounds. I would agree that some of the food is a bit 'samey' but everything is really tasty and edible (I was a bit worried that some of the dishes would go a bit chewy when they were… Read Full Review

Report this review
overview