Smyths Toys Reviews - www.smythstoys.com

★★☆☆☆
2.1 / 5
28% of users recommend this
  • Quality of service

  • Layout of shop

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Smyths Toys - www.smythstoys.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Smyths Toys - www.smythstoys.com

Smyths Toys - www.smythstoys.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

“Product never arrived”

Written on: 20/08/2014 by VJDJ (1 review written)

Placed order, told order successful,money taken, delivery in 2-3 days. On day of supposed delivery told by delivery company order delayed as not received it from Smyths. Then no word. No email, message, nothing. I emailed customer service three days later, apparently they aim to respond in 24 hours, 5 days later no response. No goods received and money still out of account. Emailed again, no response in 24 hours. Messaged on Facebook and finally a reply. Apparently order had been canceled as… Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com
Report this review

“Poor customer service...Coventry store”

Written on: 15/08/2014

I have spent over an hour trying to sort out a bike that I had purchased 3 weeks before. Unhelpful and unfriendly staff. Managers to busy trying to sort their lunch from Asda. No customer care especially from the manager. Will never go to Smyths again , very bad experience… Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com
Report this review

“They cancelled my order! ”

Written on: 06/08/2014 by jqMcCollum189 (1 review written)

Smyths "Computer Says No!". You may not get what you ordered. In fact, you may get nothing at all. I bought a Nintendo 3DS from Smyths online. Their system announced they had it in stock. The money left my acount. I awaited delivery. When the product did not arrive I checked my emails, only to find that they had changed their minds. The computer decided that in fact they had 'No Stock' and my order had been cancelled. And I'll be repaid in around 5 days, or so. I'm left with a significant… Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com
Report this review

“Disgraceful staff”

Written on: 29/07/2014

I wanted to buy a bike for my daughter and the sales assistant disallowed me from letting my daughter check if the bike was her size. He was impolite and impertinent. I said 'how can I buy the bike without checking if the bike is my daughters size'. His reply was you are free to buy from elsewhere. I could not digest that I was being spoken to in such a rude and disgraceful manner. I shall never never enter a Smyth store again. The name on the badge of the sales assistant was Ritesh. My… Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com
Report this review

“Do not use!,,,,,,,”

Written on: 23/07/2014 by Holderbf460 (1 review written)

I bought a trike bike latest edition chic boutique which arrived promptly. After spending an afternoon putting it together we both agreed that it wasn't as sturdy as described & also steered badly. This item was no way as good as reviewed so we dismantled ASAP to return. That's when we found out that once the wheels are locked into place you cannot remove!!!! This was confirmed by Smyths toy customer services by email. I called Smyths customer service department the next day after telling them… Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com
Report this review

“Great Online Service!”

Written on: 08/07/2014

I needed an above ground pool quickly (to take abroad). Smyths had just the one at a good price and next day delivery. After I placed the order I read some of the reviews on here and felt a bit uneasy, especially as my card was declined by my bank (being overly cautious, not a bad thing). I tried phoning Customer Service, but it was a Monday morning so was unable to get through. I filled out the web form and was pleased to receive a reply by lunchtime and was assured that the order was… Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com

Smyths_Toys_Superstores's Comment

Written on: 11/07/2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to hear of your online order experience with Smyths Toys. We really appreciate the feedback

Kind Regards

Bridie
Customer Services Dept
Smyths Toys Superstores.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Cheer up!”

Written on: 02/07/2014 by Cristinag276 (1 review written)

Visited the new store in Slough on its first day of opening, never seen such miserable and unapproachable looking staff, one male staff told my 3 year not to touch a boxed toy as he was making the shelf look untidy! I will definately not be returning to Smyths again, very dissappointing… Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com

Smyths_Toys_Superstores's Comment

Written on: 11/07/2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we really appreciate the feedback

I am sorry to hear of your less than pleasant first visit to our Slough Store. I have highlighted your comments to Store Management who have apologized profusely and advised that things were a bit manic on Opening Day. They have asked that you return to store again and assured me you will be pleasantly surprised.

Regards

Bridie
Manager
Customer Services Dept
Smyths Toys Superstores.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Bad service - would not refund faulty product”

Written on: 17/06/2014 by BevHealy (1 review written)

I purchased a 3SI XT Stunt scooter for my sons birthday, after a few hours use I noticed the rear wheel was eroding where the break made contact. I returned it to the Bury store 2 days after purchase. The assistant said he would have to speak to his manager, he went away and was gone ten minutes and returned to tell me that I could not have a refund or exchange and they would only replace the wheel with one that didn't match. I advised I did not want this and I would except a exchange for a… Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com

Smyths_Toys_Superstores's Response to BevHealy's Review

Written on: 11/07/2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we really appreciate it.

I have reviewed this case with Bury Store Management who have advised the offer of a replacement wheel still stands in order to rectify this matter. As the item was not confirmed to be faulty we could not offer a refund.

Regards

Bridie

Manager
Customer Services Dept
Smyths Toys Superstores.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“very good service”

Written on: 06/06/2014 by 305Goode (1 review written)

went to the Bolton store to buy two guns for my grandsons, but I couldn,t find the items I wanted. one staff member went on the website so I could show him which ones I wanted ,then found the toys and bought them to the checkout for me. very good service and very good value as the guns were half price. … Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com

Smyths_Toys_Superstores's Comment

Written on: 16/06/2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to hear of your experience in our Bolton Store. We really appreciate the feedback

Kind Regards

Bridie
Customer Services Dept
Smyths Toys Superstores.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Great service, in Reading, Berkshire ”

Written on: 01/06/2014 by Rayxd182 (1 review written)

We had superb service in the Reading store today, bubble machine going when we arrived - kids loved it! Each aisle was armed with at least 2 members if staff to help - no station was left unattended, so you didn't have to walk idly around the store looking for help. We purchased a toy gun, and a trike ... We were helped by staff for each item. Very friendly, we will be going back. Can't talk for other stores, but this one is certainly working well. … Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com

Smyths_Toys_Superstores's Comment

Written on: 16/06/2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We really appreciate the feedback. I am delighted to hear of your experience in our Reading Branch.

Regards

Bridie
Manager
Customer Services Dept
Smyths Toys Superstores

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“terrible online customer service Order No: WSU1411099”

Written on: 01/06/2014 by Stoneby70 (1 review written)

customer service is virtually nil...have to wait a day to get a reply via email and its basically wait and see if it comes...cant phone up as it cuts you off everytime...disgraceful for a large company… Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com

Smyths_Toys_Superstores's Comment

Written on: 16/06/2014

Dear Customer,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with our Customer Services Dept and sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I have sent you a follow up email in relation to your order.

Regards

Bridie
Manager
Customer Services Dept
Smyths Toys Superstores

Bridie

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Bad Customer Service!!”

Written on: 30/04/2014 by Cunninghampl487 (1 review written)

I went into Smyths to purchase a pink horse rocker for my nieces birthday. As i went over to ask for some assistance at the till (as there was no staff visible on the shop floor) the manager and the one of the staff behind the tills were both having their own conversation and not paying attention to me. When they had finished talking i payed for an item and asked about the rocker and wanted to know if there were any in a box as there was only one on display that was already out. I got told that… Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com

Smyths_Toys_Superstores's Comment

Written on: 02/05/2014

Dear Customer.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with our Leeds Store.

If possible please contact our Customer Services Dept on our site.

We will then investigate this matter for you.

Manager
Customer Services Dept
Smyths Toys Superstores

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Fantastic customer service from Durham, Arnison...”

Written on: 30/04/2014

Absolutely fantastic service from the store manager and the member of staff in charge of the outdoor equipment! I recently purchased a 10ft metal slide for my daughter's 4th birthday she was ecstatic. When the weather improved we decided to make it up in the garden. Once made my daughter loved it! Three weeks later however I noticed rust patches had formed, worrying I would be stuck with slide which was starting to rust I phoned symths at Durham, Arnison shopping park. I Was told to take some… Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com

Smyths_Toys_Superstores's Comment

Written on: 15/05/2014

Dear Customer.

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to hear of your experience in our Durham Store and I hope the new slide is providing hours of fun.

Thanks again for the feedback, we really appreciate it.

Regards

Manager
Customer Services Dept
Smyths Toys Superstores

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Worst customer service”

Written on: 27/04/2014 by qaHewitt207 (1 review written)

Worst customer service & online shopping experience ever! I recently tried to return an item to smyths, but was told I could not have a refund as the item had been opened. When I called to explain than none of the packaging (pieces were in plastic bags) had been opened, just the box so that I could place the returns slip inside I was told (numerous times by a very rude, robotic lady) that it didn't matter - I should have phoned to ask what to do with the slip! I was charged fully (£50!) for… Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com

Smyths_Toys_Superstores's Comment

Written on: 01/05/2014

Dear Customer.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am sorry to hear of the issues you have experienced with Smyths Toys.

If possible can you confirm your order number and I will look in to this matter for you.

Regards

Manager
Customer Services Dept
Smyths Toys Superstores.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“disgusting go toys r us”

Written on: 21/02/2014 by simbacat (1 review written)

I bought my daughter a innotab 2 baby for her first birthday from Smyths in chadwell heath from the minute she opened it had problems with it just thought it was a bad toy my child was having another tantrum because the touch screen wasn't working properly and was turning off every time she dropped it from sitting height. I had had enough and I rang vtech they told me it was faulty and to return it to Smyths. This is is where the fun begun. The women at customer service tried the innotab and… Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com

Smyths_Toys_Superstores's Response to simbacat's Review

Written on: 26/02/2014

Dear Customer.

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with our Chadwell Heath branch and sincere apologies for any upset or disappointment caused.

We would like to further investigate this matter for you and request that you submit your complaint via our Online Help Centre.

One of our Customer Services Represenatives will then be in touch.

Regards

Bridie
Customer Services Dept
Smyths Toys Superstores

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“fantastic toy store”

Written on: 06/02/2014

I for one are extremely pleased with the service from smyths. I have ordered quite a few things online never had an issue and the delivery was extremely quick. The closest store to us is stockton and the customer service is outstanding and they stock all of our 2 sons favourite toys/characters. I have never once had a problem with this store and since it has opened we have stopped using toys r us. I can not recommend it more highly… Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com

Smyths_Toys_Superstores's Comment

Written on: 06/02/2014

Dear Customer.

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to hear of your positive experiences ordering online and instore with Smyths Toys.

We really appreciate the feedback.

Thanks again.

Bridie
Customer Services Dept
Smyths Toys

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Disgusting customer service ”

Written on: 04/02/2014 by Strat1 (1 review written)

Our closest store is over an hour away. At the weekend whilst visiting Kidderminster my 3 year old spent some birthday money on a toy story car for £30. By Monday the car had fallen apart much to my boys distress! I contacted customer services and explained that we live an hour away could I forward a picture and deal with it all via post. They refused point blank! AVOID PURCHASES FROM THIS COMPANY. In future I will stick with the likes of Amazon and Argos who not only sell the products… Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com

Smyths_Toys_Superstores's Response to Strat1's Review

Written on: 05/02/2014

Dear Customer.

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

I am sorry to hear of this issue with your purchase and apologies for any upset it has caused.

Our Returns Policy states that items purchased in store must be returned to a store for inspection and the appropriate form of redress.

I appreciate this is not ideal as you live a distance away from store and would like to remind you that you have up to 12 months to return any items which you believe to be faulty.

I hope this helps.

Regards

Bridie
Customer Services Dept
Smyths Toys Superstores

Reply to this comment

Strat1's reply to Smyths_Toys_Superstores's Comment

Written on: 05/02/2014

For a company as large as yours this just isn't good enough!! I've learned a valuable lesson though so don't worry, such a shame a 3 year old had to learn this lesson too!!!!

Reply to this comment

Smythstoysvictim's Response to Strat1's Review

Written on: 19/02/2014

I have had the same experience. Smyths Toys. They want to make their returns policy as difficult and inconvenient as possible, in the hope that the customer will let matters drop. Think about it ........ what difference does it make whether the item is returned by post, or in person ?

I will never ever use Smyths Toys again, and I speak to a lot of people !

Smyths Toys need to understand that it is the customer who pays all the wages, and createsall the profit. Without loyal satisfied customers they will all be picking turnips for a living !

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments

“Disgraceful!!!!”

Written on: 02/02/2014 by Upsetmum34 (1 review written)

My son got birthday money to spend an wanted a leap tag pen and map! I purchased it in St. Helens store. However when trying to download it wouldn't complete! I tried it anyway but it kept stuttering an freezing on words an saying wrong things! I out it back in the box an thought nothing of it to take it back and get his money returned! he was upset as it wasn't working however I explained he could choose something else! This was not the case at all! I took the item to the customer service… Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com

Smyths_Toys_Superstores's Response to Upsetmum34's Review

Written on: 04/02/2014

Dear Customer.

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review.

I am sorry to hear of the issues you have experienced trying to return a faulty item to our St. Helens Store.

Can you advise if you have contacted our Customer Services Dept in relation to this matter. If so please confirm your SMUK reference number and I can further investigate.

If you have not contacted our Customer Services Dept please do so.

We hope to get this matter resolved as promptly as possible.

Kind Regards,
Bridie

Customer Service Dept.
Smyths Toys Superstores
SmythsToys.com

Reply to this comment

Upsetmum34's reply to Smyths_Toys_Superstores's Comment

Written on: 04/02/2014

Hi bride
I have since had emails from the customer service department! With nothing but to contact the manufacturer! Which I have done!! The products still lie in the St. Helens store! I would never set foot again in there! The emails state that they back the managers decision! I just wanted to state it was a duty manager whom dealt with us not a general manager! As a general manager would not have let the situation escalate to what it has!! From your company's previous responses I don't expect anything from them!!! But the appalling service I have had!!
Kind regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE”

Written on: 23/01/2014 by furzie (1 review written)

I bought a fliker scooter for Christmas for my daughter. She opened it on Christmas Day to find that there was a bolt missing. A month later I am still awaiting. I have rang numerous times. All I seem to get is emails. No form of direct contact. They sent a new bolt to the wrong address. Eventually I recieved the bolt and it's the wrong one. Therefore my daughter can still not use her scooter. It would be nice to at least have a phone call to sort this… Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com

Smyths_Toys_Superstores's Response to furzie's Review

Written on: 27/01/2014

Dear Customer.

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review.

I am sorry to hear of the issues experienced when ordering with us.

I have looked into your order details and can see that our Customer Services Dept have since been in touch and resolved this matter.

If there is anything further we can do to assist please get in touch.

Kind Regards,
Bridie

Customer Service Dept.
Smyths Toys Superstores
SmythsToys.com

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Struggling to return my faulty item ! Poor Customer...”

Written on: 11/01/2014

My sons scooter is faulty when he opened it Christmas morning. Had to fill in contact form; I was sent an email stating I could return it via post or return it to any store. I sent an email back stating the item had to be returned via post or collection courier as the stores are over one and half hours away. I then received in an email the returns label but also had dimensions of the parcel it had to be and if it was larger than this I had to contact them to arrange a collection. Oh surprise… Read Full Review

Visit smythstoys.com

Smyths_Toys_Superstores's Comment

Written on: 27/01/2014

Dear Customer.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am sorry to hear of these issues experienced with your order and sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.


Please confirm your order number ( begins with WSU) and I will ensure this matter is resolved as promptly as possible.

I await your reply.

Regards
Bridie
Customer Services Dept.
Smyths Toys Superstores.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview
smythstoys.com