Smiths Glass Limited Reviews - www.smithsltd.co.uk

★★★☆☆
3.2 / 5
123
56% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Smiths Glass Limited - www.smithsltd.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Smiths Glass Limited - www.smithsltd.co.uk

Smiths Glass Limited - www.smithsltd.co.uk
Smiths Glass Limited - www.smithsltd.co.uk
Smiths Glass Limited - www.smithsltd.co.uk
Smiths Glass Limited - www.smithsltd.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Brilliant fitters & customer care”

Written on: 13/05/2015 by Dardar699 (1 review written)

The fitters from smiths were brilliant. They worked hard throughout the day and completed my conservatory in just under 3 weeks from start to finish. I had to call smiths back to adjust the doors but that was done within a fortnight. We couldn't of asked any more. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Good job but poor customer relation”

Written on: 08/05/2015 by Pinky7 (1 review written)

I was asked to write a review and was promised a £10 voucher. I wrote a factual review which obviously was factual and but not what they expected so my review never got published nor did I get the promised voucher. Overall they are not bad, they built my conservatory well 5 years ago but it leaked last year and it took months to get it fixed. To be honest their work is not bad but the customer relations is appalling. There's room to improve. Iam enjoying my conservatory and people comment… Read Full Review

Smithsltd's Response to Pinky7's Review

Written on: 12/05/2015

Thank you for choosing to review our company.

Unfortunately we cannot control what reviews are published by this site and I apologise if you have had issues uploading a review. Please can you contact our customer services department who will look into things further for you.

Many Thanks

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Cheap price, excellent job”

Written on: 07/05/2015 by Marmite843 (1 review written)

Smiths glass were the cheapest quote we got for our conservatory & offered the highest quality. We were very pleased with the finished job and there was nothing at fault. All in all a very high standard of work. I would not hesitate to use smiths again … Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Very hard working guys”

Written on: 27/04/2015 by Zlewis (1 review written)

Smiths glass ltd installed our conservatory at the start of the year & we love it. We have used it everyday since we finished painting the walls. All the guys on the job were very hard working. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to anyone looking for a high quality reasonably priced conservatory… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Good job from start to finish”

Written on: 22/04/2015 by Rhamdeouw (1 review written)

Good job from start to finish. My conservatory is good, I use it all year round & smiths built it quickly for a great price. Would recommend Would use again… Read Full Review

Smithsltd's Response to Rhamdeouw's Review

Written on: 28/04/2015

Thank you very much for your kind words, We are very happy you are still pleased with your purchase. Please do not forget about our friends and family scheme, which will reward you for all recommendations.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Tidy, efficient and hard working”

Written on: 17/04/2015 by Berylsweeper (1 review written)

I recently has some work completed by smith glass of basildon and am very happy with the work they have done for me. The job consisted of a new front door and a side window. The installation crew were very tidy and worked hard today to finish the job and they have finished it to a great standard. I would not hesitate to use smiths again or recommend them should I need to… Read Full Review

Smithsltd's Response to Berylsweeper's Review

Written on: 28/04/2015

Thank you very much for your kind words, we also received the letter you sent us to the same effect. We are always delighted when a customer is satisfied with the work we have carried out for them. Please do not hesitate to contact us again should you need to.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling Service”

Written on: 16/04/2015

Due to impending legal procedures I just want to advise any prospective clients thinking of using Smiths to do the following: 1. Obtain a second quote ( have found by comparison they are expensive) 2. Look at www.checkatrade.com - they're not listed - ask yourself why - use a company that is - there are hundreds of alternative companies! 3. If you decide to go ahead - Do not pay in full until completely satisfied! All sounds like common sense? Exactly right - I unfortunately didn't follow… Read Full Review

Smithsltd's Comment

Written on: 05/05/2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our company however I do have some concerns.

You have not detailed any dealings with ourselves so I cannot comment as to if you are a genuine Smiths customer or a competitor and you have not stated on why you may be unhappy with our service or product. I can however answer your statement points

1 - Obtain a second quote. - We would always recommend customers look around when purchasing new home improvements however we would also recommend that the decision to choose a company not always be driven by price. You are always going to be able to find something cheaper if you look hard enough, if everything was purchased on price many high street names would simply cease to exist. The product that we use is of the highest quality with the most secure locking and also A rated energy efficient and as a company we have been trading nonstop and unblemished for over 47 years. If you are comparing prices please take into account the quality of work, the product used, the guarantees, the company history, the registered bodies that a company is with and the likeliness that should you be unlucky enough for a problem to arise that the company you choose will be around to come and fix it. as the many true sayings go "Buy cheap Buy twice, Pay Peanuts get Monkeys" ect ect.

2- Checkatrade - You correctly state that we do not belong to checkatrade. This is because to be a part of them you have to pay an annual fee and we do not feel that it is right that companies masquerade themselves as checked and viable when there is a fee involved, the site owners only publicise the good reviews to increase revenue for their clients. We are however members of FENSA, the GGF and hold the Trustmark accreditation. I would also like to point out that checkatrade is also a "lead generation" site which charge companies for enquiries you make with them.

3 - Paying on completion. - Our policy is that a customer pay a small deposit at the point of sale, This is seen by many as commitment from a customer as to their intention to have the work completed and secures the company into the contract also. As all products we use are made to measure it would not make business sense to manufacture products for somebody who is not going to ever get them installed so they sit in our factories going to waste. The remaining balance is payable upon completion or in stage payments depending on the size of order. We also offer many finance schemes which allow a customer to pay the balance over a longer period.

If you could actually elaborate on your situation with our company I will be able to look into this further.

Reply to this comment

Keithm18's Comment

Written on: 14/05/2015

I think you will find that Reviewcentre only publish verified customer reviews so rest assured I have satisfied their criteria and that I am an unsatisfied customer of yours

The fact you cannot identify a customer about to go through legal proceedings with your comapny would suggest that I am not alone but will leave that for readers to decide

My understanding is that FENSA is a self regulating body with annual fees so dont see the difference - however they are also involved with our dispute so will wait to see the outcome of their findings based on the evidence presented.

There is cheap and there is total rip off - the latter is what I feel has happened to me with a high price, terrible service and no after sales support.

Reply to this comment

Smithsltd's Comment

Written on: 18/05/2015

Thank you for your further comment. Unfortunately I am still unable to validate you as a customer of ours, again you have not detailed what has actually happened to bring said legal proceedings, Unfortunately I do not run our legal dept so would not know information on pending matters however If I knew more about the issues I might be able to help.

FENSA is a regulating body that is correct and the fee payable by any reputable company is to allow them to vet the company and perform spot checks and to also fund independent adjudication. FENSA registration ensures that the work that is done is fully compliant with all building regulations ect ect.

All homeowners when selling a property will be asked for a FENSA certificate should they have replaced their windows and doors since the legislation came about,

As a member of FENSA we are not provided with outside customer lead generation nor any additional marketing support unlike with checkatrade as you previously mentioned.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“Great from start to finish ”

Written on: 15/04/2015 by Akiltheone (1 review written)

Smiths built my conservatory at the start of the year and I can't complain about anything. The fitters were professional and left my patio and garden clean & tidy… Read Full Review

Smithsltd's Response to Akiltheone's Review

Written on: 28/04/2015

Thank you for choosing to review our company, We are always happy to hear customers feedback and strive to provide the best products, service and prices that we can. Please remember our friends and family scheme.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“After sales service very poor.”

Written on: 13/04/2015 by s.kettle (1 review written)

Have been waiting since July 2013 for my front door to be repaired. Have written to the Managing Director, made several phone calls to the service department only for my calls to be ignored. Have had two service engineers attend my property to take photos of the fault but still no closer getting the repair resolved. You have my phone number why have you not called me back.?… Read Full Review

Smithsltd's Response to s.kettle's Review

Written on: 23/04/2015

It is always disheartening to hear that somebody is not happy with the service or product we have provided.

I have checked your surname against our database and I cannot find anybody with that surname on our records (please note I am searching for the username you have placed on review centre). If your purchase was prior to our computerisation in 2012 this will be why.

If you could perhaps contact our service department again I am sure they will look into this further for you.

Please note that all terms and conditions of your guarantee are on the reverse side of your signed contract. As is standard with all guarantees we do not cover misuse of our products and if any problem has arisen from misuse or from use for other than intended we will be unable to carry out work under your guarantee. As you have failed to indicate what the problem is I cannot comment on this further.

Reply to this comment

Keithm18's Response to s.kettle's Review

Written on: 01/05/2015

I have been waiting since October 2014 to have windows repaired - I guess I am looking at a long wait to get remedy - I have now had to get local council building inspectors and Fensa involved - will update you if this works....

I agree the lack of communication was my biggest issue and still is!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Brilliant after service, quick & good communications ”

Written on: 13/04/2015 by Simonfewings (1 review written)

At the start of 2014 smiths built our conservatory that we were delighted with & stil are. We choose smiths after they gave us a great initial price & designed the job to our spec. 3 months after the job was complete our door handles were a bit stiff so we called the head office & the problem was fixed within a week. … Read Full Review

Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Great product and fitters, Awful Customer service”

Written on: 10/04/2015 by SteveB_M (1 review written)

We had a new window, front door and new bi-folds fitted by Smiths. The fitters were all great, and the quality of the product is excellent. However, after the initial installation, there were a number of things which needed completion. Calling Customer Services is a frustrating experience. There is a front-line team who field all calls, and generally the "Installation" team are unavailable, and a call-back is required. In general, phone calls are not returned. After 3 weeks of being… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Kept waiting for repair, bad customer service”

Written on: 25/03/2015 by Miller326 (1 review written)

On 19th December last year I reported a blown window. Got letter dated 23rd December to say "thank you, we aim to carry out repairs within 28 days" Three months on and still waiting! Called seven times between first week in January and today. Each time told "window is in production and we will call you when ready". On asking why production taking so long, was told "will find out and call you back". Ha ha joke, never got any calls back. Funny that, cos when ordered windows was able to give me an… Read Full Review

Sidedrum's Comment

Written on: 03/04/2015

Finally a date. 10th April. All this time to replace one small window 43 x 19

Reply to this comment

Smithsltd's Comment

Written on: 09/04/2015

Good afternoon

Firstly let me apologise for any delay in dealing with your enquiry however if I can elaborate on company procedures then you may appreciate the delay, however frustrating this may have been for you.

As I am sure you can appreciate after reporting your complaint of a blown window on 19th December we had a 2 week break over the Christmas period, this is standard practice for most companies within the UK due to the way the dates fell. As a company that do not use subcontractors we are legally obliged to provide our staff with paid holidays. The necessary people would not have seen your complaint until their return on Monday 5th January.

Following any complaint we will always conduct a site visit to ensure that the claim under the guarantee is valid. This is to ensure that customers are not abusing our guarantees which further push our costs up which we have to then pass on to the customer, a process that we will only do when we have to.

As a company we install over 50 installations of new windows, doors, porches conservatories and roofline every week and have been continuously trading for over 45 years. All service calls are categorised by way of urgency for example if a customer is locked out of their home due to a faulty lock or if a customer has a security risk these type of complaints will be dealt with first, I understand this may not be of satisfaction to everybody however if the shoe was on the other foot I am sure you would want to be seen before somebody who has an aesthetic issue. We only employ 2 service engineers, again this is to keep our costs down as much as possible so customers are getting the best and most secure product on the market at a highly affordable and competitive price.

As you have also indicated the window is leaded and without lead we are unable to match your existing lead design, as I am sure you can appreciate we will change our suppliers to ensure our prices are kept competitive and the lead used on your job was different to the lead we use from our current supplier. (thickness difference) we had to order the correct lead, ensure the design is correct and will match your other windows.

I apologise that you feel your complaint was not dealt with in a satisfactory manor and apologise that it has taken longer than normal for your issue to be resolved however I would ask that when deciding to leave such a negative review that you take all dealings with our company into consideration, I am sure you were more than satisfied with the product and the representative who came along to you and also as being happy with the price given or you would not have chosen to use us, I am sure that overall you are happy with the installation baring this one minor sealed unit misting or you would have stated this in the review.

I would ask that in future you liase with our dedicated service team for all further issues.

Many Thanks

Reply to this comment

Sidedrum's Comment

Written on: 10/04/2015

Your last paragraph asks me to liaise with your "dedicated service team"? So just who was it I was speaking to every time I called? Father Christmas perhaps. Was it not a member of the service team? If not, then why wasn't I put through to them? And not forgetting the two emails that went unanswered!

The excuse of the Christmas break is unjustified. We are now in April, three months since the necessary people would have first seen my complaint. And if there was a problem with lead, how come the service team member I spoke to every time didn't know? And also failing to call me back with the reason as said they would?

Had your "dedicated service team" kept me informed with progression of repair, the negative comment would not have been made.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful customer backup after they got the money don,t care”

Written on: 23/03/2015 by fordman41 (1 review written)

We had a conservatory built by smiths in November 2012 all seemed fine at first apart from a loose brick which they had to come back to re point to pick up their final payment . All was well until it rained hard and the roof leaked all over the kids toys and sofa ,after a phone call a guy came over and sealed the roof but the next time it rained it leaked further along and ran down the walls damaging the plaster again someone came out and sealed the roof just for it to leak again next time it… Read Full Review

Gandles's Response to fordman41's Review

Written on: 28/03/2015

This matches our experience of Smiths - we have just won our court case against them. Luckily we were covered by our house insurance for legal costs as the solicitor's bill was £9000

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“They settled out of court!”

Written on: 12/03/2015

Five years ago we had a conservatory installed by Smiths. It leaked, and water penetrated the roof panels and turned mouldy. For three and half years they made various attempts to repair it but failed. They then suggested that we negotiate on the basis of a report from the manufacturer, to which we agreed. After the surveyor's visit and report, which we were not allowed to see as it was commissioned by Smiths, they ceased all communication with us. Luckily we were insured for legal cover, and… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Professional, reliable fitters”

Written on: 20/02/2015 by Johnkentblythe (1 review written)

Smiths did a cracking job on my conservatory the price was good for the quality of the product & the fitters were great. Couldn't have ask for more. Mr & Mrs Kent… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Good job would use again”

Written on: 09/02/2015 by Louvaine1966 (1 review written)

My husband & I had our conservatory built by smiths last summer & I couldn't fault them one bit. The job was a reasonable price for the quality we bought & finished as we expected… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Professional outfit”

Written on: 28/01/2015 by Chappers1066 (1 review written)

Smiths glass & conservatories built our conservatory last year and we couldn't be happier. Professional from start to finish. We chose them because they were local & the job went smoothly throughout. Cheers smiths glass… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Good job”

Written on: 23/01/2015 by Akolojones (1 review written)

Last year I had my old conservatory replaced by smiths, they were able to salvage the old wall & base. I now have a great conservatory I can use all year round… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Not Reliable”

Written on: 22/01/2015 by hughk (1 review written)

I had a salesman round mid December 2014 for fascias soffits and gutters and initially got a ridiculous price which I rejected he came back to me later and offered a reasonable price which I accepted once he had confirmed the scope of work to my satisfaction. A surveyor came round and measured up in early January. I then received an e-mail on he 7th January rejecting the contract. I asked for the return of my deposit staight away but despite pe-mails and phone calls when I was tlod it was being… Read Full Review

Smithsltd's Response to hughk's Review

Written on: 23/01/2015

We are sorry you have had this experience. As informed to you all refunds are carried out within 28 days of receiving your written cancellation. All contracts are subject to survey and should the order be different from the survey all additional costs will be provided to the customer to either accept or decline. Providing you have cancelled your order in accordance of the terms and conditions and have still not received your refund please contact our accounts dept on the numbers previously provided to you.

Reply to this comment

Hughk's reply to Smithsltd's Comment

Written on: 27/01/2015

Perhaps if I had been told this I might have not been so worried but I was not despite several e-mails and telephone conversations until my telephone conversation on the 24th January with your accounts when I asked when I would get my deposit back again and I was told you operate month end accounts. Also you rejected the order I did not cancel after your salesman had voluntarily offered a price reduction having seen the job and being fully advised of the scope.

Reply to this comment

Prasadvartak's Response to hughk's Review

Written on: 10/02/2015

Hi, I have a similar experience. Smiths are a bunch of incompetent salespeople! In my case, fortunately I had paid by visa debit card so will be calling my card company first thing tomorrow. I did not even receive an email or letter stating that they cannot do the job.

Reply to this comment

Mandycfinch's Response to hughk's Review

Written on: 25/01/2015

Hi did you pay by credit card as if over 100 they are jointly responsible for cost. DId you get a receipt as not sure they know what one is at Smiths, we didnt receive any for deposit or second and third payments I had to chase. Make sure you document everything as think they respond better to this and will be in your favour for legal purposes should you need to take action

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★★★★★

“Job well done”

Written on: 21/01/2015 by Karenjackson62 (1 review written)

What else can i say apart from smiths were excellent from start to finish. My conservatory took 3 weeks for them to build from start to finish, the fitters were polite, professional & very tidy. The overall price for the job was also considerably cheaper than companies like Everest who were offering exactly the same service. I would recommend smiths to anyone looking for a conservatory… Read Full Review

Report this review
overview