Smiths Glass Limited Reviews - www.smithsltd.co.uk

★★★☆☆
3.2 / 5
55.1% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Smiths Glass Limited - www.smithsltd.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Smiths Glass Limited - www.smithsltd.co.uk

Smiths Glass Limited - www.smithsltd.co.uk
Smiths Glass Limited - www.smithsltd.co.uk
Smiths Glass Limited - www.smithsltd.co.uk
Smiths Glass Limited - www.smithsltd.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Awful customer backup after they got the money don,t care”

Written on: 23/03/2015 by fordman41 (1 review written)

We had a conservatory built by smiths in November 2012 all seemed fine at first apart from a loose brick which they had to come back to re point to pick up their final payment . All was well until it rained hard and the roof leaked all over the kids toys and sofa ,after a phone call a guy came over and sealed the roof but the next time it rained it leaked further along and ran down the walls damaging the plaster again someone came out and sealed the roof just for it to leak again next time it… Read Full Review

Gandles's Response to fordman41's Review

Written on: 28/03/2015

This matches our experience of Smiths - we have just won our court case against them. Luckily we were covered by our house insurance for legal costs as the solicitor's bill was £9000

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Professional, reliable fitters”

Written on: 20/02/2015 by Johnkentblythe (1 review written)

Smiths did a cracking job on my conservatory the price was good for the quality of the product & the fitters were great. Couldn't have ask for more. Mr & Mrs Kent… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Good job would use again”

Written on: 09/02/2015 by Louvaine1966 (1 review written)

My husband & I had our conservatory built by smiths last summer & I couldn't fault them one bit. The job was a reasonable price for the quality we bought & finished as we expected… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Professional outfit”

Written on: 28/01/2015 by Chappers1066 (1 review written)

Smiths glass & conservatories built our conservatory last year and we couldn't be happier. Professional from start to finish. We chose them because they were local & the job went smoothly throughout. Cheers smiths glass… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Good job”

Written on: 23/01/2015 by Akolojones (1 review written)

Last year I had my old conservatory replaced by smiths, they were able to salvage the old wall & base. I now have a great conservatory I can use all year round… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Not Reliable”

Written on: 22/01/2015 by hughk (1 review written)

I had a salesman round mid December 2014 for fascias soffits and gutters and initially got a ridiculous price which I rejected he came back to me later and offered a reasonable price which I accepted once he had confirmed the scope of work to my satisfaction. A surveyor came round and measured up in early January. I then received an e-mail on he 7th January rejecting the contract. I asked for the return of my deposit staight away but despite pe-mails and phone calls when I was tlod it was being… Read Full Review

Smithsltd's Response to hughk's Review

Written on: 23/01/2015

We are sorry you have had this experience. As informed to you all refunds are carried out within 28 days of receiving your written cancellation. All contracts are subject to survey and should the order be different from the survey all additional costs will be provided to the customer to either accept or decline. Providing you have cancelled your order in accordance of the terms and conditions and have still not received your refund please contact our accounts dept on the numbers previously provided to you.

Reply to this comment

Hughk's reply to Smithsltd's Comment

Written on: 27/01/2015

Perhaps if I had been told this I might have not been so worried but I was not despite several e-mails and telephone conversations until my telephone conversation on the 24th January with your accounts when I asked when I would get my deposit back again and I was told you operate month end accounts. Also you rejected the order I did not cancel after your salesman had voluntarily offered a price reduction having seen the job and being fully advised of the scope.

Reply to this comment

Prasadvartak's Response to hughk's Review

Written on: 10/02/2015

Hi, I have a similar experience. Smiths are a bunch of incompetent salespeople! In my case, fortunately I had paid by visa debit card so will be calling my card company first thing tomorrow. I did not even receive an email or letter stating that they cannot do the job.

Reply to this comment

Mandycfinch's Response to hughk's Review

Written on: 25/01/2015

Hi did you pay by credit card as if over 100 they are jointly responsible for cost. DId you get a receipt as not sure they know what one is at Smiths, we didnt receive any for deposit or second and third payments I had to chase. Make sure you document everything as think they respond better to this and will be in your favour for legal purposes should you need to take action

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★★★★★

“Job well done”

Written on: 21/01/2015 by Karenjackson62 (1 review written)

What else can i say apart from smiths were excellent from start to finish. My conservatory took 3 weeks for them to build from start to finish, the fitters were polite, professional & very tidy. The overall price for the job was also considerably cheaper than companies like Everest who were offering exactly the same service. I would recommend smiths to anyone looking for a conservatory… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Great value”

Written on: 16/01/2015 by Jogger7878 (1 review written)

They built my conservatory for me last year & i can't complain. The price was competitive & the product is great. They even managed to Match the bricks to my house bricks… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Incredible service from start to finish”

Written on: 13/01/2015 by Juliewentworth7 (1 review written)

My husband & I used to have a conservatory on our old house that was poorly designed & fitted. When we moved we took a lot more time in making our decision on who should build our new conservatory & after months of quotes we went with smiths. They were fantastic from design to install & the fitters knew exactly what they were doing. They are a credit to there company… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible Customer Service - Shop Elsewhere”

Written on: 09/01/2015 by kirstywannabe (1 review written)

We had a saleswoman round to talk to us about getting a new uPVC front door covered in foil installed. After believing the salespitch about the company, service and products we decided to put a deposit down. We knew the door was a premium price and hoped for the best. Since our card details were handed over it all went downhill. This was back in very early November. We constantly had to chase to get they survey booked and then subsequently an installation date as Smith's were not proactive or… Read Full Review

Smithsltd's Response to kirstywannabe's Review

Written on: 23/01/2015

I am sorry to hear of your experience. As you are aware the door you ordered was a "special order" with a longer than average delivery date. All products are quality checked at various stages of the process and again prior to loading onto our installation vans. At this point a quality control issue was raised and we contacted our suppliers to rectify the issue.
As your door was a special order we would want to ensure the job was carried out perfectly, I understand that delays can be frustrating however it is better that you are happy with the work that is done for you.
I apologise you were not informed of our installers not arriving for you however the final quality check is done on the day of installation and the delay was caused by us striving to rectify the situation and being in contact with our suppliers to sort out the issues.
I can understand your anger however I would ask you call our service department on the numbers previously given to you to reach an amicable outcome for this situation.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Conservatory job”

Written on: 07/01/2015 by Mitchmitchwilson (1 review written)

Sniths conservatories have finished my Edwardian conservatory, they were professional from start to finish the price was the cheapest I found & the job was done on time. Can't complain… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Great price, excellent service”

Written on: 05/01/2015 by Agjbk (1 review written)

After I had shopped around for a conservatory I was confident in selecting smiths. They did everything for us from surveying, drawings to building the conservatory. I had a problem with one of my windows but the problem was rectified within a couple of weeks. I would use this company again… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Horrendous Service & Faulty Products Still Not Fixed ”

Written on: 29/12/2014 by Reviewer0050 (1 review written)

We have experienced a catalogue of problems with Smiths, firstly the windows we had fitted back in 2013 and also the horrendous service we've recieved since. It is 6 months today since an engineer agreed and identified the problem with window not fully sealing (the call was logged back in June) and we are STILL wanting to get it resolved. Smiths communication is horrendous (well for their existing customers, they are very proactive with sales calls!), and we have had to call for updates as… Read Full Review

Mandycfinch's Response to Reviewer0050's Review

Written on: 06/01/2015

Hi sorry to hear your trouble. We have had similar treatment. Our conservatory was built but had lots of faults then Smiths just disappeared for 6 weeks after not showing up when they were meant to again!. We wrote 2 recorded delivery letters, took advice from a solicitor and were prepared to take legal action. We are still waiting for the very important electrical compliance certificate 6 months on, a date finally agreed now but have no faith in this company and so wished had never touched them with a barge pole. Latest contact was a supposedly customer service manager about last 10 % of our bill which would be paid on completion and without this certificate was not. She screamed at my husband she would be taking him to court before slamming the phone down on him because he would not give part payment of last 10%. Soon received an email giving a date but no apology. Read up on section 75 of consumer credit protection to see if they can help you.

Reply to this comment

Ed11's Response to Reviewer0050's Review

Written on: 17/01/2015

Btw does anyone have a valid email? The old email address doesn't seem to work nor does the other one that their representative on here keeps telling us to write to.

Reply to this comment

Gillianwatts's reply to Ed11's Comment

Written on: 03/02/2015

Don't hold your breath for a reply! I emailed them last week about a door that's sticking and they haven't even acknowledged my e-mail. Customer service is disgusting, I'm so angry, regret using this company

Reply to this comment

Ed11's Response to Reviewer0050's Review

Written on: 17/01/2015

Just come across this site . Had a conservatory fitted four years ago . As you say, their sales service is excellent, however the production department is horrendous. They cancelled at short notice. Although the fitters were good I had numerous problems with the glass cracking . They actually tried to charge me for repairing it!! Everyone is extremely rude and uninterested. Awful experience. I guess the good reviews are for the fitters/sales people. Any interaction with production drives you to despair

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★★★★★

“6 months on stil very happy”

Written on: 18/12/2014 by Ttprior (1 review written)

We needed a new dining room & decided to have a conservatory. After months of shopping around we decided to use smiths & we have not regretted our decision. The blokes worked nonstop throughout the job & left us with a great new addition to our house… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Unreliable - Epic Fail”

Written on: 12/12/2014 by f.giuffrida (1 review written)

Here's my experience. In Sept I have a visit from a  man, who prospect me an interesting solution for building a conservatory for my garden flat in Lewisham. The price is not cheap, but accessible, so I do a visit to the Showroom and decide to go on and leave the deposit. Two weeks after I had the survey. The Outcome of the survey is a sensible increase of the price (+3k), and when the drawings are delivered I discover that the design is quite different from what has been discussed and… Read Full Review

F.giuffrida's Response to f.giuffrida's Review

Written on: 31/12/2014

Update 31/12.
I did not got any reply to my email refund request and tried to speak with the management until dec 22 with no result. Who answer the phone tell me that everyone is out or busy. After I said on the phone 20 mins and told the person on the phone I was waiting until someone was speaking with me, spoke with me promising he was sending me an acknowledge to my email request. This did not happen.
I'm planning now to speak with the Citizen advisory Bureau on the Jan 5th and see what is their advice.

Reply to this comment

Admadmadm's reply to F.giuffrida's Comment

Written on: 24/01/2015

This company should be shut down! They have harrassed me for 11 years - They constantly cold call me even after YEARS of asking them not to. Your experience does not surprise me at all.

Reply to this comment

F.giuffrida's reply to Admadmadm's Comment

Written on: 03/02/2015

I managed to have back my deposit.
At least the issue is closed.
Regards.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“Good job all round”

Written on: 11/12/2014 by Dean.mcguiness (1 review written)

The lads who fitted my conservatory were top notch, they worked right through the day and I couldn't be happier with my conservatory. From design to finish they did everything I asked for & for a very reasonable price… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Strongly suggest you go elsewhere, premium pricing here.”

Written on: 06/12/2014 by Tilley348 (1 review written)

One week before installation the fitter came to review the garage roof to be worked on. Looking at it (the surveyor did not open the garage door on his visit) it was noticed the rafters needed replacing. Later someone rang to say the additional cost was to be X, which was 25% the original quote! I cancelled then as another firm quoted but for a superior roof, this time bonded plastic instead of the ply/felt, which was better than Smiths price. Also removal and disposal of the asbestos… Read Full Review

Admadmadm's Comment

Written on: 24/01/2015

Now they have your details they will HOUND you for YEARS and YEARS - they need to be stopped

Reply to this comment

Rover.p6's Comment

Written on: 26/01/2015

They probably will. But I have found that using old basic Anglo Saxon and questioning their parentage usually stops these type of calls. As they pay for the call anyway, an alternative is to ask them to hang on a minute while I turn the oven down. Then make a very loud noise, let out a piercing scream, run back to the phone saying I need to call an ambulance or fire service. Unless they are very thick and of low intelligence they usually hang up! Others a loud air horn down the phone works wonders.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Fantastic work”

Written on: 16/09/2014 by Johnblake459 (1 review written)

The installers at smiths were excellent at constructing my conservatory & I couldn't have asked for more. Professional, clean and very experienced… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Very tidy”

Written on: 11/09/2014 by Templeman1974 (3 reviews written)

had my Edwardian conservatory fitted from smiths, the job was done to schedule and and my garden left very tidy after each day. Not had a problem with any aspect of the conservatory would recommend to anyone looking for a professional high spec conservatory… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Do use this company”

Written on: 05/09/2014 by Essexboi01 (1 review written)

Basically I've got a style of conservatory I didn't want! I wanted an exposed brick conservatory but the quality of the work was so poor we had to plaster over it. I have so many problems it would take an essay! So I'd simply say don't touch them with a barge pole !!!! Avoid!… Read Full Review

Smithsltd's Response to Essexboi01's Review

Written on: 15/09/2014

Firstly let me apologise if you feel the work that has been conducted for you is not as you required however I am unable to find any customers on our system with the issues that you have stated. I have asked review centre to pass on your details to us so rectify the issues however they have said you are not willing for them to tell us who you are.

With conservatories payments are made in stages and you only pay once you are happy. If you were unhappy with the brickwork at the time I would imagine this was raised by yourselves and the work will not have continued unless you specifically stated you were happy with the work that had been done and wished for us to continue erecting your conservatory.

We do not like to hear bad reports about our company and as a company that has been trading largely on word of mouth for the last 47 years we are always looking for ways to improve our service. We are currently installing over 150 jobs a month and largely these go without a problem.

If you could please contact our service department at your earliest convenience they will assist you in any way they can.

Reply to this comment

Essexboi01's reply to Smithsltd's Comment

Written on: 16/09/2014

When I signed the brick work off it was ok. But when the window fitters came to fit the frames it was them that realised a gap on the internal wall was wrong. The brick work was then removed in part to cover the gap. However in doing so the pointing was a different colour, bricks had some for of dye on them, a brick was chipped and they had used 3/4 brick & 1/2 to get the staggering. I did raise this with your works manager who then agreed to plaster the walls.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
overview