Carbase Car Supermarket, Weston super Mare, Somerset Reviews - www.carbase.biz

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.6 / 5
42% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Awful customer service”

Written on: 18/08/2014 by Katelynn321 (1 review written)

Went to see a 09 vauxhall zafira but told it was awaiting a part for MOT so couldn't test drive it. Salesperson valued my car and offered a part exchange. Agreed a final price but didn't sign on the dotted line as I wanted to think about it. Went back to agree terms 2 days later but the price had changed to about £400 more! The boss was very rude and said take it or leave it, I should have signed 2 days previously. Asked 3 times what part was to be replaced for the MOT. Salespeople kept… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“really disipointed ”

Written on: 11/08/2014

I and a friend we found BMW. we went to see and take a ride and it was a cool car so we bought it. after 40 miles on the way home car starts making a massive awful smoke from exhaust. I called back and been told that I cannot get the car back as no comeback and warranty????.however the man said technician will have look at it. Never had that you cannot bring the car back. We traveled only 40 miles and the car went wrong ( we dont even make it home). Now waiting for the respond from them with… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Pushy - Rude - Appalling customer service”

Written on: 28/07/2014 by DeaconSomerville (1 review written)

Went to look at a car the other day with good intention to buy. Greeted by a very pushy salesman. He thought he had a sale before we had even seen the car! Took car for a test drive, car fine but bodywork poor - lots of scratches. He assured us this was because it was a used car! - they come as standard do they!? He glossed over of the point that there was many scratches and that they could get rid of them no problem but couldn't promise they wouldn't come back (thanks for the honesty!)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Far Too Pushy”

Written on: 17/07/2014 by Annoyed_and_Frustrated (1 review written)

I am looking for a replacement Audi A4 for my current model which admittedly is looking its age. Test drove a great car which my wife and I both loved, returned to the garage and after being kept waiting for 30 mins we were then told the manager doesn't want your car and then offered us £500 p/x. What a joke for a car that's trade value is between £1250 - £1700. Then the cost of the new car rose from £8400 to £8999 and after discussing with my finance company they valued the car at £7600… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mr.gee's Response to Annoyed_and_Frustrated's Review

Written on: 17/07/2014

Dear Reviewer, I am very suprised at the experience you have posted and with this in mind I would like to discuss this personally with you .Could you please give me a call and ask for Nick Gee ( Sales Manager Weston Branch ) I look forward to hearing from you .

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“dissapointed”

Written on: 26/06/2014 by rtdavies (1 review written)

bought a 2011 passatt at £10500 part ex my insignia 09 plate arranged for refund of new tax disk ,was told by their sales rep to send tax disk to dvla for refund ,did this waited 5 wks only to be told by dvla carbase had already transferred tax back to insignia whilst transferring plates,phoned car base they said they had the tax disk and would forward it to me ,i explained that it was no fault of mine but I now stood to lose 2 months refund,just an apology from carbase,even tho it was clearly… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“car didn't even make it home”

Written on: 19/06/2014

been looking for a vw polo for several months & spotted this 1 overall condition was good for the age of the car and the salesman was pleasant but no conviction when asked about history and was told it had been through there garage for checks to make sure its safe & roadworthy.had a test drive & all seemed fine so bought it. no sooner was i on the M5 and the gear stick kept popping out of 5th had to physically hold it in, in the end gave up & drove the rest in 4th gear. took it to local garage… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Someoss's Comment

Written on: 29/06/2014

FULL RETRACTION
after writing this review i was contacted in the morning by 1 of the managers at carbase who apologised for the inconvenience caused and offered to put right ANYTHING that was wrong with the car and they did !
they fixed the gear box and put in a new clutch kit at the same time to make sure it came back with a 12 month warranty.
i must emphasise that car base did all this as a good will gesture and all at there own expense. how many other car dealers have you heard of doing this !
we'll definitely use carbase again and can't recommend them highly enough specially there aftersales commitment

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Customer Service”

Written on: 03/06/2014 by pathar (1 review written)

I bought a car from Carbase and what a mistake that was. The salesman did not answer my queries truthfully and made me go to them to see the car (190 miles, he did not let me see the logbook as it had a hire company's address. A week later, I sat in the car and just tried to adjust the interior rear view mirror and it came off it mechanism. I called Carbase and was asked to take it to a local VAT registered garage for a quote. They did not want to pay for it. Then we took it to another garage… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Brent knoll branch - won't be buying from there! ”

Written on: 27/05/2014

Went to the Brent Knoll branch to have a look at a few cars I'd seen online, never experienced a more patronising unhelpful salesman. I'm surprised any cars ever get sold! Definitely won't be buying from here. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“money grabbers”

Written on: 14/05/2014 by ReillyLong413 (1 review written)

The whole experience was awful. The car salesmen were arogant and were only interested in taking are money and getting a quick sale out of us. The car we went to view was a mazda 2 2010 plate and the car was lovely to drive and in very good condition but when it came to negotiating a price for are 2007 clio with 45,000 on the clock we were offered 800 pounds. I know as a mechanic myself that are car is worth around 1600 part ex. When we tried to bump up the price he sniggered at us and said… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Above and beyond”

Written on: 28/04/2014 by Ddraigglas (1 review written)

Drove from Cardiff to view car seen in AutoTrader. The salesman agreed to stay on after official closing for us to view the car properly and when we decided to buy it spent ages moving the other cars around for us to take the car with us there and then. Very helpful throughout - shame I'm not allowed to name him but he knows who he is. The car seems to be running well although there is a chip on the windscreen that I am having to repair. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Close shave!”

Written on: 09/04/2014 by Viviang105 (1 review written)

We took a Honda civic out for a test drive on Sunday - really liked the car but had a few concerns which we raised with the sales man on our return. Out of the 4 tyres, there were 3 different makes (told as it was an ex company car, this was not unusual if they had punctures) warning light was on throughout (told that was to do with tyre pressure - even so, why would you allow a car you are trying to sell, out like that) -there was a difference of approx 2k in the mileage between that we were… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Lucky escape”

Written on: 04/04/2014 by Kellenz127 (1 review written)

Been waiting for car to arrive. The only thing they were interested in was getting our money. No customer care at all. Think we have been very lucky in not going through with this purchase… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Mazda 6 Nightmare”

Written on: 20/03/2014 by Gibsonlm327 (1 review written)

Agreed a deal on first visit. Spent the next week organising insurances and emptying trade in car. Arrived to pick up 09 reg Mazda Estate with trip planned to visit friends up country. Kept waiting for hours while guy pretended to do things on his computer. Then accosted by raging, v intimidating man saying deal off unless we accept £500.00 less, because he said brakes were faulty on trade in. Had no option but to pay £500.00 more. Within a month new Mazda needed brakes fixing then a few… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Never again”

Written on: 22/02/2014

The most stressful thing ever ,moving house having kids a walk in the park compared 2 our experience with brent knoll only gave 1 star coz had 2, really need training on customer care… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“No cash - no car/test drive”

Written on: 17/02/2014 by petegilmour (1 review written)

My car has been in an accident and is likely to be written off. I suspect I will know in the next couple of days. I travelled up from Exeter in a hire car to look at 2 potential cars but when the salesman heard my position he refused to let me test drive them. The whole idea of travelling up was to look AND DRIVE them! If this is the company policy it should clearly be stated on their website. I did not like there attitude - more keen to sell my finance/credit than actually selling cars… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid”

Written on: 05/02/2014 by poppyfoxy3 (1 review written)

After 8 months of no car & saving abit 4 deposit. Found a car at brent knoll on arrive we were hounded straight away :( told 2 come in have a chat. Then told didn't do finance have 2 go Lympsham garage .mind u this all before test drive . Did paperwork 2 c if accepted . Told come back 4 test drive so did loved car :) got it home after alot of hiccups. Then has car 17 days 4 thing 2 catch fire… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Pushy car salesman cliché originated here!”

Written on: 27/01/2014 by alixt (1 review written)

They get you in and don't take no for an answer. When I refused a warranty they wouldn't let go, in fact they were downright rude. Also my car has been repaired in its past which they didn't tell me about. Or at the very least neglected to check it thoroughly. So if you have little knowledge of buying a decent car don't expect these guys to help you, they'll probably unload a lemon on to you. AVOID!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Keep well clear of carbase”

Written on: 25/01/2014

Service rating : Won't recognise they have sold faulty car, won't refund and will exchange only at trade value. They are happy to take even more of my money (£3500) cause they failed! Product: Car doesn't meet audi spec for oil consumption. It uses more oil than petrol! Carbase won't accept this or repair it. Fobbed off with a trade botch of using oil additive that doesn't work. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Never never again”

Written on: 18/01/2014

My daughter bought a car from carbase just before xmas next day broke down got rac out they said car had never been serviced which carbase said it had been prior to them getting it MOT ! They had car over xmas to get it sorted got car back 2nd jan car brakes down again they said its battery and they have sorted it you guessed it brakes down again ! It then brakes down again !!! And they came out in 30 mins put new battery in and we are told its fine now ! Week later we ask another garage to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“CHECK THE CAR THOROUGHLY BEFORE YOU DRIVE AWAY!! ”

Written on: 07/12/2013

I went to collect my new car, having signed all the paperwork agreeing the p/ex values etc - after which they decided to take it for a test drive & came back in claiming to have found serious issues with my car, that would cost them hundreds to repair. Fortunately, as I had already signed the paperwork & the contract was now legally binding they were not able to reduce their p/ex offer for my car as they were clearly planning to (when the car had no issues at all!). However after almost an… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview