Crown Carveries Reviews - www.crowncarveries.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.8 / 5
48
48% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Crown Carveries - www.crowncarveries.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Poor service”

Written on: 26/08/2015 by KassandraFreeman (1 review written)

Turned up at Princess Alice in Thamesmead for breakfast buffet and had to wait ages for eggs. When I asked for scrambled eggs - kitchen staff laughed in my face. Had to request well cooked eggs which by the time they arrived the tea that we ordered @ £1.69 a pop was freezing cold. PROS: nice atmosphere, cheap food. CONS: poor service, inconsistent breakfast offering, having to keep yelling and waiting for food! Won't be going back… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“worst carvery ever had ”

Written on: 24/08/2015 by 436Andersen (1 review written)

paid for large carvery only to be told when we eventually got food no sausages would be another 15 mins. Waited in long queue for food, table next to us waiting staff cleared drinks thinking they had gone,table was left for so long. when we got meals the veg was luke warm or dried up. Carving chef kept disappearing had to ask for gravy as did several other people. on the plus side I will not be going to this carvery again would be nice to know of non available items felt short changed no… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“POOR QUALITY”

Written on: 31/07/2015 by Campbell310 (1 review written)

YORKSHIRE PUDS WERE HARD ,UNABLE TO CUT WITH KNIFE,PEAS WERE HARD, GAMMON WAS VERY FATTY, A LOT OF TABLES WERE UNCLEARED ,ALSO NOT WIPED… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Really bad at The Gardener Letchworth SG6”

Written on: 08/03/2015 by katysykes (1 review written)

Awful meal days old food bad taste with miserable carvery chef and uneadable food that you could not cut. Staff were falling out with one another so it made for hirrible atmosphere and vibe. No customer service or helpfulness you were left to your own devices. Filthy toilets and a manager in a tracksuit and woolly hat very professional!! Never again will I go avoid it at all cost we left starving… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Went for food but all ended up with food poisoning...”

Written on: 01/12/2014

We had a family gathering so 18 of us went to the carvery at Peacehaven, sussex. Service was very slow and bar staff were non-existent. The poor lad waiting tables was run off his feet due to lack of staff. We finally got some food which seemed ok despite the stuffing being like granite. Then at 7pm they put signs up saying the kitchen was closed... they had run out of meat! how is that possible at a carvery on a Saturday night. Ok their other carvery down the road had shut because of no hot… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“warm food just about”

Written on: 02/11/2014 by JanaeChaney202 (1 review written)

WE visited wistaston manor crown carvery on 30/10/2014.we had our meal about 3pm food was barely warm roast potatoes very hard .the presentation of the carvery was a mess .we realise this is a quieter time of day, but the food should be the same standard what ever time o day. We have had many meals there before and they have been good. Can not believe standards have dropped since a week ago !!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“We regularly go to the Crown Carvery at the Old Quay...”

Written on: 27/08/2014 by ScottTrujillo (1 review written)

We regularly go to the Crown Carvery at the Old Quay in Parkgate, Wirral and have enjoyed the experience. However, recently they have acquired a new carver. Our first introduction to his carving skills was one of horror. The meat was so thin you could see through it like a rizla. Plenty of swarf of the plate and not one slice. Upon complaining, I was told he was in training. Every time we now go, we try to avoid him and his unique carving skills, but unfortunately, on Tuesday 26th August 2014… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“school dinners ”

Written on: 12/08/2014 by eeLockhart68 (1 review written)

if you want to fill like a school kid the barley mow on haylin island is the place you cant sit where you want , staffed by unhelpfull,aragont teenagers ,even on a slow day like to day we waited 29 mins to get to the carvery ,they well may be proud of their meat but the rest was so far below standard it was untrue I will not use this pub again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“kingfisher tavern kirkham”

Written on: 17/07/2014 by ssavage25 (1 review written)

Been coming here for a few months now and found the staff friendly and the food amazing. Sorry to see it go and change hands. Wont be the save again. Sat outside writing this in the lovley sunshine after a great meal. Thank you to all the staff and good luck in future… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Crown Carveries, Haslingden, Lancashire”

Written on: 09/03/2014 by Dashawnb282 (1 review written)

Do not go here as the service is terrible food cold or dry meat which has been out under the lights to long… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Will never go to this branch again!”

Written on: 23/02/2014 by judithcochrane (1 review written)

We have been going to the Wheatsheaf Inn at Mollington Chester for quite a few years Four of us went on Thursday at 6 30 pm there was only gammon left on the carvery,enough for eight people,some of the veg was finished and there wasn't any more there was fish or sausage but not much of that. The meal The gammon was awful and the veg was dry. It was very embarrassing as the people wetook had never been and we had told them it was a great place to eat… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Not on a Sunday”

Written on: 18/02/2014

My husband and I have a carvery during the week,and when we went today (sunday) we found that the veg had not changed from in the week it was the same old same old,nothing is any different from the week and I don't know how on earth they charge more for a Sunday lunch. The tables are not cleared or cleaned,for people to sit down. When handed plates to get your selection they feel like they have been washed in potato water. There is no organisation . NEED I GO ON! Could there be a training… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“village Inn little melton”

Written on: 02/02/2014

Superb for adults and kids… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“slow slow”

Written on: 26/09/2013 by geetees (1 review written)

do not be in a hurry at the bar . young girl serving at bar was totally inefficient.all this while another member of staff was sat in the public area playing with her mobile! The entire premises could do with a good deep clean!Food , however was good and was good value for money… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Worse Day Ever”

Written on: 06/09/2013

Having convinced my Wife and friends that the Carvery in Lee on Solent was better than the Old Ship with it's sizzling steaks, I was to be proved so wrong. Personally I love a good roast dinner, but having turned up yesterday,05/09/13 at 13.30pm, what a shambles. There were not many people sitting down for a meal, but all tables were messy with dishes. My wife cleaned the table that we chose, and I had to ask the chef for some cutlery, because there was nobody else to ask at the time. The… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“absolutely dreedful”

Written on: 29/07/2013 by lee56 (1 review written)

So we turn up at 6 on a monday eveining in the summer hoilday . There was alot of dirty tables as we walk through just put it down to have been busy. We found a table and went to the bar to order were we found out there was only mash potatoes thats was fine but they did not say that they had no stuffing or Yorkshire puddings and not much in the way of vegetables too. The Turkey was so dry . I have never experince this here as only have been on a saturday . Then with two small children to top… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Inn On The Sea Lee On Solent shame about the chef / carver”

Written on: 17/06/2013

We have enjoyed dining at Inn On The Sea several times usually early Saturday evenings, bar and waiting staff are cheerful and welcoming but after being greeted by a very rude impatient and intimidating carver we did not return for several months, we eventually went back, couldn't see him, so ordered food, oh dear, out of the kitchen he came even worse than before ,he must be good at his job but his customer service skills are terrible he speaks in a very abrupt manner even carving the meat is… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“worst meal ever”

Written on: 28/05/2013 by jontree (1 review written)

Called at the Moorlands Pub Owler Bar,Sheffield, for our usual meal when we go and pick my 87 yr old mum up for a trip out. Called 0n the 27th May which is a bank hoiday at about 4 pm we ordered our food We noticed a fresh uncut joint of beef had arrived so we thought could be good choice, The two 8 and 10 year old kids went up first one had turkey the other had the remnants of the previous beef. My wife and I had the first few cuts of the new beef, my mother had Turkey,loads of veg and of we… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“No roast potatoes”

Written on: 20/05/2013 by 2Spangle (1 review written)

Just visited the Crown Carvery pub chain at The Pear Tree Bridge Inn, Milton Keynes. Real Ale is either cloudy or full of bits. A group of 10 walkers left their drinks and went over to Guinness! Having been to their Sister pub, the Radford Bank near Stafford on many occasions, we decided to call in for a Carvery here too. Only to be told - on a Monday afternoon - there were no roast potatoes available. A Carvery without roasties? We didn't even bother.....we will be posting to all other boaters… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Sow far we have tried 11 crown carveries over the...”

Written on: 29/04/2013

Sow far we have tried 11 crown carveries over the country. We have just been to the Walsgrave coventry. And i had fill in this survey to voice my opinion,and that is the staff very friendly,helpful as well as the venue been a great atmosphere. The food was excellant and good service. The Walsgrave also had entainment on of an evening to our suprise. We have now visited the Walsgrave four times over last two weeks and we do wish good luck to manager and his staff, one her name is Lavren G… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview