Xtreme Gap Year Reviews - www.xtremegapyear.co.uk

★★★★★
4.6 / 5
38
87% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Xtreme Gap Year www.xtremegapyear.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Xtreme Gap Year www.xtremegapyear.co.uk

Xtreme Gap Year www.xtremegapyear.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“" Great Vietnam Experience "”

Written on: 28/11/2016 by EmmaDavey (1 review written)

Halong Bay is unbelievable; the lanterns in Hoi An at night are beautiful; Hanoi places are so interesting and provide an insight into Vietnam's rich history, whilst a tour guide provides a unique account of their experience in the Vietnam War. Nha trang is so beautiful beach, relaxing....Sai Gon is amazing… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Xtreme rip off”

Written on: 15/11/2016 by Edwards100 (1 review written)

I spent a long time researching which company to use for my trip to Thailand and settled on xtreme gap years 18 day bucket list tour. Throughout the booking process i was emailing them back and forth asking questions regarding flights, itinerary etc and sometimes had to prompt them with a second email to reply which was frustrating. I still booked the trip then after everything was confirmed it became clear this particular trip is advertised as their own on their website, but after booking I… Read Full Review

Kostasmed's Comment

Written on: 23/11/2016

Very well said

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Vietnam experience”

Written on: 20/10/2016 by pascalabels (1 review written)

Amazing experience, couldn't have picked a better tour. truly memorable and unique experience ! Trung, Hop and Nam our tour guides during this adventure ware awesome ! and in every aspect friendly they know how to bring people together and definitely know how to have fun ! The days we have spent together i will never forget. they showed us the Real Vietnam Experience !… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Learn to Dive on the Great Barrier Reef - Xtreme Gap Year”

Written on: 10/10/2016 by LanaConrad265 (1 review written)

The trip was amazing! Nomads was clean and just gorgeous, and the dive school were sensational. I think its become the top trip all of us have ever taken… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Xtreme Mexico Experience”

Written on: 28/07/2016 by allygill (1 review written)

Xtreme gap year were amazing at organising my trip to Mexico, it was my first trip on my own so the team, were so good at answering all my question so i felt confident enough to go. As soon as i got to the airport it was easy to find the bus to transfer me to the hostel, the hostel definitely made my trip - it has such an incredible atmosphere and you will build great relationships with the staff who made my trip as good as it was. The spanish school was very chilled and good fun and the trips… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“Xtreme Gap year Bootcamp”

Written on: 21/04/2016 by BiancaClifford (1 review written)

I required about the bootcamp just a couple of weeks ago, i had a million and one questions and she was always there to help. She replied fast and always gave detailed responses- making me feel at ease with any worries i might have with travelling alone. I have just paid my deposit and booked my flights to fly out in June and stay for 12 weeks in what looks to be like paradise. I am excited to be giving my pre departure pack so i can chat with people who ill be meeting. Thank you for all of… Read Full Review

Dubbads's Comment

Written on: 29/04/2016

Hi Bianca, I'm interested in doing this boot camp in Phuket with xtreme gap. Can you let me know how you've heard of it and if you know of anyone who's done it before? Thanks, it does look great, and is exciting.

Reply to this comment

Xtremegayear's Comment

Written on: 10/10/2016

Hi, please drop me your email address and we can email you more reviews and lots of info.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Africa from every angle”

Written on: 25/03/2016 by Thurston439 (1 review written)

2014-15 I took an amazing trip to Southern Africa where I completed a Divemaster course in Mozambique and then an overland tour which went fro Capetown to Nairobi. It was an incredible experience to see Africa from the sea and then the land in what I can only describe as an adventure of a lifetime. Xtremegap were very helpful in planning the logistics of a trip that would have been impossible (or at least very difficult) to do on my own. I can certainly recommend this to anyone who wants an… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“What an amazing experience!!”

Written on: 25/03/2016 by Corinne_Brownie (1 review written)

The full moon party was my intention, i heard so many good stories from my older brother.. And it was amazing! I booked the Thailand Experience with Xtremegapyear. The people who work there really took the time to inform me about this trip. I was a little nervous because this was my first long holiday without my parents or boyfriend. With Skype we had several calls and they showed me where to look on the website if i was unsure. during my trip i did all i ever wanted.. Party on the beach… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Xtreme Gap”

Written on: 24/03/2016 by C.Duce (1 review written)

 I have always been a keen traveller but in 2013 at the age of 19, before I went to university, I decided to go on my first long travelling trip and see the world so I took a gap year. I went with my boyfriend at the time and we decided to book through Xtreme gap year because their trips and itineraries looked awesome and it's a fantastic way to meet other travellers of both similar and a variety of ages from all different areas of the world. We travelled around South East Asia and South… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“the best experience ever, China Experience”

Written on: 24/03/2016 by BrooklynSalazar (1 review written)

I went for a full month to China, and i really think i experience China as it is. We had an incredible walk after a beautifull sunrise on the great wall, we have seen Panda's, the cutest animals ever! Hongkong, Beijing, Shanghai... We have done crazy things, i can't tell because my Mother could read this some day. We started and ended our tour here. The group of people was amazing, we shared everything and felt like a family (some even more then family ;) ) The best we did was visit the home… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Amazing training in paradise”

Written on: 12/03/2016

Here's a company that takes all the guess work out of your trip planning. I like to say 1 stop shop. Booking was made easy and upon arrival there was my name on a sign board and driver whisked me to my training in Paradise. Let me say this from the Monday induction to the Saturday beach training each day the team made me feel welcome and looked after me as I have a shoulder injury so they knew how to have me train without pain. The food absolutely delicious. There were some things I didn't see… Read Full Review

Harp1234's Comment

Written on: 15/03/2016

was this the bootcamp?

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Round the World trip - AMAZING!”

Written on: 21/01/2016 by Jay12Hadley (1 review written)

We were lucky enough to be able to travel with extreme gap for 7 months! The company were fantastic and made sure everything was perfect and ran smoothly for us. we travelled through Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Bali, Ecuador, Peru and Bolivia on various trips offered by Xtreme Gap, each one somehow managed to be even better than the last one! So our first trip was the Thailand Adventure package - this was split up into four weeks the intro and culture week, perfect for our first week… Read Full Review

Corinne_Brownie's Response to Jay12Hadley's Review

Written on: 25/03/2016

i love this review, and the trip sound great, if i had 7 months to go i might do the same ;)

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Great trip well priced”

Written on: 14/01/2016 by Kennyk87 (1 review written)

I booked to travel with Xtreme Gap Year's "Xtreme Thailand Experience". This was the first time I had been travelling and it seemed like a really safe and fun way to experience Thailand. Really enjoyed the trip and I cannot fault it at all. It went way beyond my expectations. The tour guide was very helpful and friendly. He took us to some really cool places, and really made the experience that much better. Thailand was an incredible country I really enjoyed it and it was great to experience… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Xtreme Gap Thailand Fitness Boot Camp. Exceptional...”

Written on: 05/01/2016 by Mspencer82 (1 review written)

It was a fun trip, thanks. I had a great time at the Thailand boot camp. Definitely would like to visit for longer next time. The bootcamp training was superb. Really felt I came on along way, but could have stayed longer if only I had the time. Really supportive and positive environment. Felt good! Met some nice people at the boot camp: the social side was great. Xtreme organised activites outside of the bootcamp that were very enjoyable. Sunset pool party at kata rocks was a nice touch… Read Full Review

Harp1234's Response to Mspencer82's Review

Written on: 19/02/2016

Hi mate am looking at going in October to the boot camp. Was it a great time. How much weight did you lose? Is the meal you have to buy costly or good value? Would you say you wasted your money?

Reply to this comment

Vincetraveling's reply to Harp1234's Comment

Written on: 06/10/2016

I like to know all these things also! I'm looking for a bootcamp for next year.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“X-tremely helpful”

Written on: 29/09/2015

One week before my trip to Australia I had an accident and broke my foot. I was really upset and saw my trip, my sailing course, my experience, my money going down the drain. To my surprise the Xtreme Gap organisation was really helpful in looking for a solution; Without any extra costs they arranged a new booking for the next course a few weeks later, in November. I'm happy that without any problems they made it possible to postpone my trip… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not book xtreme Gap!!!”

Written on: 06/08/2015 by Ryanwatson88ko (1 review written)

I don't know where to begin to explain how bad this company are and I urge anyone to just forget about booking with Xtreme Gap. Iam a frequent traveller and have never left a bad review until this one. My nightmare began before I even set off for my trip. On my pre departure pack I was advised that I would pick up my Cuba visa at check in. First of many false statements from them that resulted in me missing my flight and having to instead get a flight from Edinburgh to the embassy in London… Read Full Review

Xtreme-Gap's Response to Ryanwatson88ko's Review

Written on: 28/03/2016

Hi, thank you very much for your review above we are sorry to see you have given us a one star rating for value. As we did discuss with you after your trip, we were very sorry you did miss your initial flight due to not securing a Visa prior to going to Cuba, however this was not the fault of Xtreme Gap Year. We did mention to you it is your responsibility to ensure you have the appropriate visa in place prior to travel and because you agreed to this at the time of booking we cannot accept liability, or consider refunds if you cannot travel, because of incomplete, or incorrect documentation. Whilst we appreciate this did cost you extra could you had to organise a new flight, we did not organise your flight and therefore it was not our responsibility to refund you for the extra costs. It really sucks genuinely, it is a gutting feeling to be at the airport and be denied entry onto a flight because you do not have the correct visas. But because of this we do mention in our terms and conditions, and in our predeparture support you must check for the latest Visa advice.

The programme you booked onto the Cuba boxing Champion, was an exceptionally unique experience. You got to train 5 times a week with a two-time Olympic and world champion and live in the old town of Havana. For which you paid less than £250 per week. Cuba is not your average destination and things work a little bit slower out there. Whilst we are disappointed you had to wait at the airport for your airport pickup, you were picked up and we believe describing the trip "as hell" is slightly over the top. We do appreciate you are very disappointed that you had to pay extra because you missed your flight due to not securing your Visa, but please do be objective in your review.

The directors have been to Havana and participated in the program personally so some of the things that you write in your review are simply not true. We have walked and timed the journey from the accommodation to the boxing gym and it does take five minutes on foot. It is possible it would take 10 minutes in a taxi however due to the one-way system, but we do not recommend people take taxis when it is such a short distance on foot.

Our host family in Cuba do speak good English, and they have been exceptionally supportive to many of our clients both on this program and other programmes we have based in Cuba. One of the great aspects of this trip as we have a superb support network based in Havana from a host family looking after you, to a local coordinator accompanying you to the gym. So we are sorry you felt that £970 for one month was not good value for money considering all the ancillary support services and incredible training that you received.

You mention in your review that you were unable to do Spanish classes as well as box at the same time. But you don't mention the fact that classes were also starting in the afternoon enabling you to do both sessions.

We are pleased however that you did find the training positive. We would like to clarify that you should have had 20 boxing training sessions over the course of four weeks, but it would appear you only completed seven sessions due to missing your flight and missing out on half of your holiday. Had you contacted us whilst you are still in country we would have gladly extended your trip for you free of charge, unfortunately you waited until you are back to make us aware of the issues.

Reply to this comment

Ryanwatson88Ko's reply to Xtreme-Gap's Comment

Written on: 30/03/2016

OMG Surprise Surprise. You guys really have no shame whilst trying to get naive backpackers and travellers signed up. Iv managed to put this hurrendous experience behind me. I just wanted to ask you guys why you didn't mention in your reply that you sent me a pre departure pack which clearly said I would collect my visa at check in? Why have you since then changed your pre departure pack and why did you apoligise to me for giving me wrong information, but then play the old "it's not in our terms and conditions" game. Unprofessionalism that I can barely believe it. Just a warning you will thank me for fellow travellers DO NOT BOOK XTREME GAP!!!!!!!

Reply to this comment

Kostasmed's reply to Ryanwatson88Ko's Comment

Written on: 23/11/2016

I have unfortunatelly booked with extreme gap the fitness bootcamp in Thailand where the company expects from the prospective online victims to pay 1746 UK sterlings for 3 weeks and stay in a very basic hotel called Little hill, which costs 300£ , 100 pounds per week. Extreme gap pleads that you will train with elite athletes and celebrities and you will have the attention of leading experts trainers that have competed in international competitions and it wont break the bank ????? The gym that you will train is called the Titan gym based in Chalong and will cost you 1446 £ for 3 weeks.
The gym is outdated, smelly and rusty (antitetanic jab highly recommented ) and is practically unusable , the equipment looks like it was sourced from ebay for free . A similar gym in England wouldn’t sell for more than 20 sterlings per month ( and only if there was a free car wash per week) , but thanks to Extreme Gap you will pay 1446 £ for 3 weeks i.e. 2000 for a month !!!!!!!!!!! Yes 2000 pounds per month you heard well .The gym is appalling and doesn’t worth a fraction of the fortune Xtreme gap is expecting from the online victims to pay . The tiny air condition is never on to save money( iam not sure if it even work) , and the open air mat area where they do circuit classes is as dirty as you can imagine.
The trainers are in their mid-late forties ( one of them actually has bilateral hip replacements ) are doing the same copied routine every day ,they have no qualification and no idea what they are doing and expect more or less the same poor circuit every day
The gym is so bad that i actually left and joined Elite fitness an other gym although i have paid a fortune to Xtremegap
The classes happens Monday to Friday only
Don’t expect any expertise the only thing you will get are some rubbish circuits and spinning classes thats all
Their nutritionist is actually an electrician and has no clue he cant even calculate your caloric needs (a simple equation readily available online)
Of course there are no celebrities and professional athletes as the company claims on their website
The Titan gym is in the middle of nowhere really far from everywhere 40 min drive minimum to the beach or the Bangla road where is all the nightlife , be prepared to be stuck in the middle of the wilderness
Most of the people will feel extremely bored and isolated as there is no life in a radius of 10 Km
If you make the mistake to flight to Phuket for fitness there are really good gyms in the island that cost 40 sterlings per month vs 2000 £ per month if you go with Extreme gap and are open every day like the Elite fitness.
Xtreme gap are bad and are defrauding people via their website , as a rule of thump believe nothing of what you read in their website be extremely cautious the money they ask you to pay doesn’t reflect any service or quality , unfortunately there were no real reviews when i booked with them and i fell in the online trap
Booking with Xtreme gap is a big mistake and you will regret it
Xtreme gap is only 2 people.
It looks like his 2 year old company is planning to take over the global holiday industry with his online traps, hopefully real reviews will emerge to the surface soon so we will mourn less online victims .

Reply to this comment

Kostasmed's Response to Ryanwatson88ko's Review

Written on: 23/11/2016

Very well said

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★★★★★

“Xtreme Gap Vietnam Review. Amazing.”

Written on: 30/07/2015 by AimeeGivan10 (1 review written)

Well that's my 10 week's all finished, although I'm still in Vietnam until tomorrow. Just wanted to give Xtreme Gap a little feedback about the vietnam tour guide - Nam. Right from day 1 he is been fantastic! Straight away he made you feel welcomed and relaxed at the airport. Everyday he went the extra mile to make everybody feel comfortable. His relaxed, funny personally puts everybody at ease and any questions or help you needed he was there - no matter what time it was. I don't think he… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Best experience ever”

Written on: 04/07/2015 by alicewiffen1993 (1 review written)

I had the most incredible time away and I wish I could go back now! I was so worried when I first go there and felt homesick and worried however I know that was probably down to the long journey. It took a good few days to get into it but after a week I was already wishing I could stay forever! it was an amazing experience which has made me more independent, stronger and more confident. I learnt so many new language and did some incredible things that I never thought I would do. I only wish I… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Awesome group but you dont get much for your money”

Written on: 14/05/2015 by Markus1957 (1 review written)

I travelled 4 weeks through Thailand with Extreme Gap. I had a great time because I had an awesome group, but we all agreed that what you get is unfortunately poor. The direct coordinators insulted group members with 'What the xxx speak english' as a response to a normal question did not care when someone was bleeding badly and did not succeed in managing the activities on Koh Tao. The transportaion is extremly unsafe and the cheapest you can get. In the elephant village no one spoke good… Read Full Review

Xtreme-Gap's Comment

Written on: 03/07/2015

Hi.

My name is Oliver Bray I'm the co-founder and director of Xtreme Gap Year and I am very sorry to have just read this review. As the person directly responsible for putting this trip together, and ensuring the satisfaction and happiness of our travellers even though I probably shouldn't I do take your feedback incredibly personally. It makes me very sad to see that you have given us a one star review for value for money and a two star for your experience. I have checked our database but I cannot find anyone with your name who has actually travelled with us, so I'm assuming you have written under a different name, but I encourage you to give me a call personally to discuss how we can improve our trip, and discuss the individual issues that you faced.

With over 2000 previous clients who have travelled on this specific itinerary, the Xtreme Thailand Experience, you are the first client who has written negative review. And I take that seriously because as you have taken the time to write this, albeit without approaching us first, you obviously feel aggrieved in some way. I would like to redress this as soon as possible for you.

Now there are some things I would like to cover, in response to some of your comments above. As I do feel some of the things you have written certainly do not portray Xtreme Gap Year in a very positive light, so I would like to give my side of some of the issues that you faced.

Firstly value for money.

I am very proud to say Xtreme Gap Year has some of the best value trips in the gap year industry. We do this by cutting out unnecessary costs which other big gap year companies face, yet still we do have large overheads which we need to take into account. I'm sorry that you felt a trip consisting of 28 days for less than £1000, or £250 a week was not good value for you. I would like to highlight that for your money you did receive the following (as per our website):

Koh Tao adventure day which includes:

Speed boat around the island (not the longtail boat like other tours)
Abseiling to get the best views of Koh Tao
Snorkeling in crystal clear waters round a tropical paradise island
Lunch the gorgeous beach
Other adrenaline activities like zip lining, rock climbing and off-roading through the jungle.
Koh Tao activity option Week inclusions (pick one option):
Get fit pack: 5 Muay Thai Sessions (5 hours), all equipment (for rent included) and training one on one with a Muay Thai Trainer
Get ripped pack: 4 Crossfit sessions. These 4 classes will teach you all the basic movements and techniques for CrossFit
Full moon party included!
Return Ticket to the amazing Full Moon party in Koh Phangan included! (if dates go inside with trip)
Island introduction: on arrival we will take you out for a gorgeous Thai meal and introduce you to other Xtreme Gappers on the island. In Koh Tao there are plenty of Xtreme Gappers doing other programs as well as the Xtreme Thailand experience
Plenty of beach time on one of the most beautiful tropical paradise islands of the world

ON THE INTRO AND OPTION WEEKS

Excursions as per itinerary
Thai Cooking lesson / Thai Language lessons
Tour of Ayutthaya Thailand historic second city
Dinner in a famous Thai BBQ restaurant
Tours of loads of temples and monuments and museums fully guided.
Visit to a Market, Zoo,
Temple Stay to meet Monks(If doing the cultural week)
Amazing five-day elephant experience (if the elephant option)
Trekking in Phutoei National Park, visits to waterfalls, caves, Hill tribes, (Trekking Week)
1 night in Bangkok luxury hotel before going to Koh Tao with breakfast right next to the Khao San Road

THE ESSENTIALS

Personally met at the airport
All meals for the first two weeks – This will save you approximately £300 from your spending money budget!
Free Extra nights accommodation if arriving one day early (Saturday)
All Accommodation
Transport taking you to 4 different parts of Thailand.
Overnight Transfer to Koh Tao
12 nights accommodation in standard fan room in Koh Tao at our luxury resort
Free Wi-Fi at our basic Koh Tao, and during your stay in the intro week and some option weeks.
Pick up from the boat and transfer to the resort in Koh Tao by taxi
Back up & support second to none. Services of our tour leaders and English-speaking reps who are available and based locally 24/7.

As an example for the same price you could have booked through another company, real Gap and received the following as per their website:


Personally met on arrival
Transfer from Bangkok airport to accommodation
All Accommodation
Bangkok tour
Some breakfasts

While I appreciate £1000 is a lot of money, I also know having personally researched included all of the activities that have gone into the trip you get seriously good value on this program. I'd like to highlight that the three meals per day that you receive alone during the first two weeks has a monetary value of over £300. And you don't get that with other companies.

Now it might feel that you could have gone to Thailand on your own and spend less money, I'm not arguing that you could, although many wouldn't, the fact that you stated yourself you met a great bunch of people was only brought about due to the fact that we have put the trip together, spent considerable time and expense in marketing it and inspiring other travellers just as we did with you to travel on this program.

Unfortunately, as a western company this means we have overheads which we have to cover, although with our very small margins I still find it very surprising that you stated you did not get value for money.

With regards to our local coordinators.

I am very sorry, if this is true that you received this kind of response from our local coordinators when you asked them a simple question. Because I don't know who you are, as you did not call our office, or let us know that you had this issue when you travelled I cannot investigate it. If you did have a problem with the local coordinator, I would be the first person who would want to know about it.

Having interviewed and vetted the local coordinators personally, they do have my 100% confidence in the way they deal with our clients. 2000 clients have passed through their very capable hands and I have never had an issue with them.

Having said that you were provided with a 24-hour emergency phone number, email, and what's app that you could have contacted if you feel dissatisfied. As the director of Xtreme Gap Year I personally would have picked up the phone, and been able to deal with this for you immediately.
I never received the phone call. I know I certainly never missed the phone call because I'm and that number 24 seven. It is my responsibility for you ultimately as our traveller, so I'm and that number personally.

Not being able to speak to you, makes it difficult to assess whether a flippant remark was made with humour, you never know with Thai staff, but it certainly is not grounds to write negative reviews on the Internet without first addressing with us. It's just not fair, . This gives an overly negative impression to people who are considering travelling with xtreme that really doesn't reflect the reality on the ground. Again I encourage you to call me personally, to address to give me details of what actually happened so I can address this with the staff in Thailand.

You also mention the group that one of the participants was bleeding badly and that our local coordinator did not care. Again without speaking to you I find this very hard to comment, all I can say is I find this very unlikely. Our local coordinator on Koh Tao takes her position very seriously, and I can think of numerous times where she has stepped up and gone above and beyond to care for the well-being of our clients. One of the reasons that you pay a very modest Premium to us as a business to help create, coordinate and run the trips is because we have an insurance policy in place that covers you personally as a traveller through xtreme Gap year for up to £12 million of medical expenses. This is not a legal requirement, we do this because we do care, if there is ever an issue, not that there has been in nearly 10 years of running the business: we will go way beyond what is necessary to help you. Had one of our travellers been injured seriously, I would certainly know about it. I never received any reports that this was the case. I will however be following this one up with our representative in Koh Tao.

With regards the transportation being unsafe. I myself have completed the journey in the vehicles that you describe. We are completely transparent as the style of travel that you will be involved in, we do rigourous risk assessment (which is why I personally complete the journey's) and I do not find the vehicles to represent any unnecessary levels of risk. Research our YouTube channel you will find a video of me and the other director of Xtreme Gap Year filming on one of these vehicles, and telling you all about the journey.

You do have to consider that you are travelling abroad, and when backpacking you will be exposed to different environments which won't necessarily measure up to UK safety standards. Whilst we do everything we can to improve our programs, we do not feel the transportation is unsafe. Again I would welcome a phone conversation from yourself personally so we could discuss how we could improve this section of the trip so it is more to your liking.

With regards to expecting warm showers and Wi-Fi. We state very clearly on the website that the showers are "cold".

But this is relative, as in Thailand the temperature is a consistent 28° so the cold showers actually come out lukewarm. No one would actually require a warm shower unless they are visiting during monsoon season, when we don't run the trip. With regards to working Wi-Fi, again untrue, only today I have had contact with 18 of our participants who are based in Thailand who were all using the provided free Wi-Fi. Yes blackouts happen, you are in Thailand on a tropical island after all, but please be fair in your review.

You are welcome to upgrade your room on Koh Tao, as we mention in the predeparture pack that you received, which includes an electric shower and air conditioning. We did not receive any message from you stating this was an issue, or that you required an upgrade so I'm assuming this was not a serious issue for you. Personally having stayed at the very same resort that you stay that, in the same level of room, I personally found the comfort level very good.
You mention that the resort was dirty, if this is true and I have no reason to doubt you, then I am truly sorry. And immediately after writing this, I will be contacting the management at the resort to follow this up, and instruct our local rep to step up her regular accommodation inspections. This happens on a monthly basis, I can only assume the resort let it standards slip temporarily. Again please call me to discuss. If this was the case I'm assuming you are very unlucky, and you have my sincerest apologies if your room was dirty. I would like to point out the rooms are cleaned on a daily basis, and laundry with sheets changed every 48 hours.

With regards to the resort being 10 minutes from the beach, it's more like five minutes from the beach and we do mention this very clearly on our website and predeparture material. A five-minute walk is not a major problem, it means you are away from the noise of the beach bars, and it also means we would not have to double the retail price of the trip, because beachfront resorts sell for upwards of £50 per night.

As you genuinely feel you were treated unfairly, or in an unfriendly manner, if this is the case I truly apologise and I would love for you to give me a call and let me know who you are so I could apologise to you personally. But as I say, 2000 clients on this trip this is the first negative review we have received, and you have not put this to us prior to writing this review, I or given your proper identity, I find it very hard to respond but I really would appreciate getting to the bottom of it.

I want to thank you for taking the time to deliver your feedback on the trip, and I will certainly be taking this on board, and reviewing my staff how we can improve even further. Thank you for travelling with Xtreme Gap, I do hope you are in contact soon.

Best wishes

Oliver Bray

Co-founder

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Dive Master, Mexico, Playa Del Carmen ”

Written on: 28/03/2015 by hamishwatson (1 review written)

I was with Xtreme Gap year in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico, for 2 months as part of my "gap year", between January-March 2015. Here I attended a Dive Master course. I have had an interest in diving for a while now, with the potential aim of working within the industry. I found Xtreme Gap when I was scrolling the internet and was immediately attracted to their genuine enthusiasm for the courses they offer. I had looked at many gap year'ish companies who provide dive master courses before I found… Read Full Review

Report this review
overview