Nuffield Health Reviews - www.nuffieldhealth.com

★★☆☆☆
1.6 / 5
120
9% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Market Sports - Shoreditch”

Written on: by Rivera480 (1 review written)

We have just been taken over by Nuffield and it's not looking good at all. While they are investing in new machines and decor they are not listening to the members who want to keep their pool chlorine free. Literally no one wants it and still they are insisting on implementing it. So much for listening to feedback. This pool has been chlorine free for many years and is loved by members who travel long distances to 'swim in water like Evion' and also the reason many of us joint this club… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Staff attitude terrible”

Written on: by Murphyxj46 (1 review written)

The first thing I feel I need to say is if you join any Nuffield gym YOU WILL BE STUCK WITH THEM FOR 12 MONTHS! Staff: quite simply they do not care about you being there. This goes from the very top right down to front of house. They are frosty and bored and they will let you know. No hello or goodbyes, grab your own towel, triple check you are booked on to a class because they will not have done it for you. Small things like that really spoil the atmosphere. However they are exceptionally… Read Full Review

Activeingredient's Comment

Written on:

Dear all,

The gym I'm referring to is the Aylesbury gym. Apologies for not mentioning that in the review.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Nuffield Health Cottingley”

Written on: by Octavio365 (1 review written)

I have been using this particular gym on and off for the past few years, and I feel that although it has improved in some areas, the main issues are still not being addressed. Gym: Most of the gym equipment is outdated and needs to be replaced as it looks very tired and worn. I was pleased to see that the centre recently bought a new set of dumbbells for the free weights area, something that has been long overdue and hopefully will be the first of many new investments to come. I also feel… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Hi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to feedback your recent experiences of our Cottingley Health and Wellbeing centre.

This has been sent to the general manager of the site and fed back to the department heads, with particular reference to department heads associated with the areas critiqued.

There should always be a duty manager to give direct feedback regarding concerns over site maintenance. In particular if the changing rooms are messy our team will be at hand to immediately tidy. For reasons of privacy our clean teams limit their times in the changing rooms at peak time, which sometimes inhibits our ability to pick up discarded towels etc.. When possible we do feedback to members, but as you can imagine tidiness/ cleanliness etiquette is generally maintained when a member of staff is around.

In addition to the above I would also like to advise that we welcome your feedback on the general facilities and ask our members to give continual feedback on the standard of services when we send out member satisfaction mail outs. We then identify the next set of upgrades based on the trends identified from our members.

On behalf of the Cottingley team I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback and hope that going forward we better meet your needs as a member.

With kind regards,

Ben
Nuffield health consumer care

Reply to this comment

Trussler's Comment

Written on:

The safety aspects poolside are poor too. I went Sun am and the two lifeguards were together up one end chatting for over 45 mins. The fire exit that is already narrow as it is a single door had the chair in front of it that is always there plus shoes, folders etc blocking the door way. There is also a lightweight storage unit near the exit now that could easily get knocked over if a lot of people headed for hat exit. The end of the hoist was only 2 ft above the kids pool. Tiny safety mirror for jacuzzi and sauna area pointing at the floor. None of this feels very safe.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Norbury gym”

Written on: by Notappyatall (1 review written)

Very dirty and messy Majority of the Staff awful and arrogant Workout machines out of order for ages Missing/ old material causing injuries Call for staff atention on some lacks like no paper towels or plastic cups and no response at all Parking area with high limitation… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Hi,
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you feel that certain aspects of the gym are not to your liking. To confirm, your comments have been shared with the central management and we take all matters of customer experience AND health and safety seriously.
At the next opportunity we would like to, if possible, speak to the general manager or duty manager regarding your concerns, so that they can be addressed directly. Alternatively please speak to a member of our central office staff (details on our main website) and we will raise them to the management on your behalf.
We thank you for your feedback and look forward to having the opportunity to address your concerns.
With kind regards,
Ben
Nuffield Health consumer care

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“very poor”

Written on: by HavenGarza311 (1 review written)

ive been a member of nuffield health Stoke Poges for a few years now and sadly the place is going downhill fast. i pay about £80 per month hoping to get good quality for the price but sadly thats not the case. out of the 10 treadmills, none of them work perfectly. either the heartbeat sensor doesn't work or the incline button or the tv channels or after the workout when you hit the cool down it doesn't work! there is never a member of staff there as there should be for safety reasons. the… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Dear customer,

Thank you for your feedback, which has been shared with the general manager of our Stoke Poge's centre.

We appreciate your opinions with regards to certain aspects of the gym as we are always looking to improve the quality of service we provide our customers. With regards to the cardio equipment we will ensure that the things that you have raised are looked into at the next service inspection.

Additionally with regards to choice of channels on our TV’s, a member of staff should always be available, on the gym floor, to assist with this request. We will be looking to increase our presence on the gym floor in the coming months to better assist with this going forward.

At present we ensure that at least one staff member is on the floor at any time for health and safety/assistance purposes.

Nick, the general manager of the site, is more than happy to speak with you in more detail about the things that you have raised. He and his team of deputy general managers are always looking at ways to improve our customer experience and keep our longer term members happy.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your experience on the reviewcentre website.

With Kind Regards,

Ben
Nuffield Health consumer care

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“overpriced for what you get”

Written on: by YuremGuzman (1 review written)

i waas in the gym today as was thinking of joining with a free day pass i liked and enjoyed it!but found the gym and changing room very unclean for the price of a membership i expected a lot better standards or cheaper mebership… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Dear customer,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that the cleanliness of our gym was not up to standard. Over the last 12 months we have invested significant amounts of money improving the cleanliness of our estate and recruiting 'clean teams' to keep the sites looking good throughout the day.

It appears in this instance that your experiences have not met our high standards and as such we will share this lost opportunity to secure your patronage with the hierarchy within our business.

Thank you once again for taking to time to feedback and we hope that we can secure your business when you next consider your health and wellbeing membership options.

With kind regards,

Ben
Nuffield Health consumer care

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“CANCEL BEFORE THE MEMBERSHIP ENDS”

Written on: by MacGirl2 (1 review written)

I wish I had read these reviews before signing up for a 3 month (taster) at £66 with these people at Wimbledon. I didn't use the membership more than 3 or 4 times because there was no parking. The nice man who signed me up with words of "Of course the 3 months will end and you can then go on to a 12 month membership if you wish" clearly lulling me into a false sense of security. After the 3 month taster membership ended another £66 was taken. No literature about signing up for 12 months by… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Dear Customer,

I am sorry that you feel that in this instance we were not clear in the terms and conditions of our contract. As with contracts across sectors, the membership will continue until cancelled by the signatory. The reason for this is that the majority of members prefer to continue their contract without interruption as opposed to having the membership suspended at the end of the initial term.

Your feedback regarding the selling of this membership will be shared with the senior management of the centre in order to improve the customer experience.

If you are unhappy with what has happened in this instance you are also more than welcome to speak to the general manager, whom is always available for feedback regarding the services sold and practiced on the site.

With kind regards,

Ben
Nuffield Health consumer care

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Unprofessional”

Written on: by ColtonMcLaughlin246 (1 review written)

Nuffield health in ABERDEEN never succeed to send back a receipt concerning some physiotherapy sessions… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on the Review Centre website. I am sorry that our Aberdeen site did not fulfill your admin request.

Our central bookings team should be able to assist with your request. Their number can be found on the central website or at your local fitness and wellbeing centre.

I am very sorry that in this instance your customer experience has not been to the standard we expect. Upon completing the necessary data protection checks we hope to facilitate your administration request at the earliest convenience.

With Kind Regards,

Ben
Nuffield Health consumer care

Reply to this comment

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on the Review Centre website. I am sorry that our Aberdeen site did not fulfill your admin request.

Our central bookings team should be able to assist with your request. Their number can be found on the central website or at your local fitness and wellbeing centre.

I am very sorry that in this instance your customer experience has not been to the standard we expect. Upon completing the necessary data protection checks we hope to facilitate your administration request at the earliest convenience.

With Kind Regards,

Ben
Nuffield Health consumer care

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Nuffield Norbury”

Written on: by uxCarson29 (1 review written)

norbury nuffield (-) not worth the 50ish pounds i pay a month changing rooms are always filthy with used towels lying everywhere from talking to people it seems like it is consistently abused by free pass people who come in daily, a lot of the time no one at reception so people fan walk in for free water fountains in the work out area rarely properly work which has been an issue for the last 2+ years fitness equipment repairs take an eternity (3weeks minimum) not enough benches in the free… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Dear Member,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to review your experience on the Nuffield Health website.

We take all feedback seriously and as such your highlighted points have been raised to the general manager.

With regards to the general cleanliness of the gym we have invested significant sums into creating clean teams to improve the standards across the network and as such they will be advised to pay specific attention to the areas which you have advised are below standard.

The Reception should be manned at all times and this will be addressed by the general manager, as you say the club is for paying patrons only and we have a strict free pass usage system in place to ensure that people do not abuse this privilege and/or impede the experience of our existing members.

Regarding the equipment, we undertake checks on our equipment on a daily basis and should you see anything that is cause for concern please escalate this to a member of staff on the floor or reception for immediate action.

I am sorry that the club has not given you the chance to feedback either. We always try to enable practical two way feedback between the management and members, so when I feed this back to the general manager I will advise him to make sure that feedback forms are available either at the reception or a visible place where members can feedback freely and anonymously. Additionally, as with the equipment feedback, the duty and General Manager should be available to speak to at your convenience.

With kind regards,

Ben
Nuffield Health Consumer Care

Reply to this comment

Colt1969's Comment

Written on:

you inspect equipment daily??? either you are ignorant or a liar as the equipment in stoke poges has not been working for coming on a year!

Reply to this comment

Colt1969's Comment

Written on:

same sort of situation here in stoke poges. very poor

Reply to this comment

Colt1969's Comment

Written on:

same sort of situation here in stoke poges. very poor

Reply to this comment

Colt1969's Comment

Written on:

same sort of situation here in stoke poges. very poor

Reply to this comment

Colt1969's Comment

Written on:

same sort of situation here in stoke poges. very poor

Reply to this comment

Colt1969's Comment

Written on:

same sort of situation here i n stoke poges. very poor

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 7 Comments
★★★☆☆

“bad organisation”

Written on: by luDugan214 (1 review written)

at mout st marys college new nuffield health club club is nice looking but they keep u locked out until 6pm and some staff members from the club stare at u through windows there are classes before 6pm so it is stupid to have the doors shut at that time and there is no cafe near that venue… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Dear customer,

Thank you for this feedback. I am sorry that the present situation with classes and gym operating hours is not to your satisfaction. I have forwarded your concerns to the local gym manager, to see how this can best be remedied. Equally I would like to thank you for the positive sentiment with regards to the facilities that we have recently launched.

Thank you for bringing this feedback to our attention and for reviewing your experience with us on the Reviewcentre website.

With Kind Regards,

Ben
Nuffield Health consumer care

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Wolverhampton”

Written on: by MohammedMyrick50 (1 review written)

Ive been a member here for many years now and this branch of Nuffield was previously a Virgin Active. I can't really say much about the brand however the gym its self is in some need of repair, The mens changing area is really outdated tiles loose/cracked, tvs in there are extremelly old and rarely get a picture on them. Parking its self is an absalute nightmare at peak times, people park all over the grass verges and foot paths, it really isn't ideal. They seem to be introducing more members… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Dear Customer,

Thank you for feeding back your experiences at the Nuffield Health Wolverhampton gym.
Your comments have been shared with the general manager of the centre so that he is aware of the positive and negative aspects of your membership.

As you are aware we have only recently taken over the club from the previous owners and we have been reviewing all aspects of the club to identify ways in which to improve it.

As part of the continued development of our brand we are refurbishing a number of our sites to reflect the latest trends in fitness and wellbeing. Over the next 12 months you will hopefully notice many positive changes to the Wolverhampton site.

Thank you once again for your critical feedback and for taking the time to review your experience on the Review Centre website.

With kind regards,

Ben
Nuffield Health consumer care

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Service”

Written on: by EliasFanning458 (1 review written)

Please do not join once you join afterwards they say to cancel you have to make them aware a month in writing in advance .Initially you are told to cancel at any time after your membership period they take another month. Although a gym the personnel trainers are never there to advise you unless you pay seperatly for their service although they advertise please ask for guidance THe gym is not clean and very old… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Dear Customer,

I am sorry to hear that you have not been happy with your recent dealings with Nuffield Health. As part of our on boarding contract we make sure that all customers have the opportunity to fully read the contract before signing. Additionally, as with all contracts, we have a cooling off period where the customer can cancel before committing to the 12 months.

We pride ourselves on having one of the fairest contracts in the industry, this allows our customers to cancel should they lose their job through redundancy or freeze the contract due to illness. If you feel that the cancellation of your contract was not handled correctly please feel free to escalate the matter with your local general manager.

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on the Review Centre website and I am sorry that in this instance you have not been happy with your experiences with us.

With kind regards
Ben
Nuffield Health consumer care

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Not good staff at all”

Written on: by dqSkinner391 (1 review written)

Receptionists they look bored, when ask question they seems not know what is happening in their work place and they are unpleasant. If I wouldn't pay on advance for classes wouldn't come back there again… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience on the review centre website.

I am sorry that you have had what appears to be a number of sub-par experiences at your local Nuffield Health site. The receptionists at our sites are the face of the company and I apologise that you have not received the high quality service that we expect from our front of house team.

If you would like to have this investigated in further detail please feel free to speak to the general manager at your local Nuffield Health site or alternatively contact us via our main website via the supplied forms. Once we have identified where this has occurred we will ensure the team are re-trained in order to meet our expectations and high standards of customer service.

With kind regards,
Ben
Nuffield Health consumer care

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible Gym!”

Written on: by Kameronk417 (1 review written)

The gym itself has loads of equipment which is great but at the price, i'd say go to a different gym. Value for money is awful. Totally not worth half the price let along the actual price. If you're unfortunate enough to join this gym, good luck getting out of it. I was made redundant meaning i couldn't pay for it anymore. I emailed them with evidence and a month later they're asking me for payment... Apparently my evidence wasn't sufficient enough, you would think that they would tell you this… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Dear customer,
Thank you for taking the time to review Nuffield Health.

We are sorry that you feel that you have not had value for money during the time you were a member of our clubs. When customers are unhappy with their general experience we recommend that you speak to the management who can identify ways to improve your experience through immediate action.

Regarding the contract, we believe that we have one of the fairest and most transparent contract policies in the industry. With sufficient proof we will terminate a contract for reasons of redundancies and illness with sufficient proof. If you feel that the contract notice that you gave was not correctly handled we would like to invite you to feedback via the main Nuffield Health contact portal. We can then investigate this further on your behalf to determine what went wrong.

We would like to apologise that you feel that your experience has not met our high standards and welcome your further comments so that we can hopefully determine how we can improve in this instance.

With Kind Regards,
Ben
Nuffield Health consumer care

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Nuffield Nottingham”

Written on: by MikePowis (1 review written)

A small health and fitness centre with helpful staff and good relaxation facilities, it is badly let down by under-investment on the gym floor and being over-subscribed. The staff and management do their best but seem hamstrung by head office who want the centre to be all things to all people.. yet seem reluctant to put any money in. As a consequence the staff are excellent, customer service is good but the product offer itself is very disappointing. Popular with women, older people and… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review you experiences of the Nuffield Health Nottingham Fitness and Wellbeing centre.

I am sorry to hear that on the whole you have been disappointed with your overall experience of our facilities. You are clearly a loyal and frequent customer and as such we take this feedback extremely seriously.

All the points that you have made (both Negative and positive) will be fed back to the general manager of the site, as well as the central operations team. You are more than welcome to speak to general manager directly if you would like clarification on what future plans for the site are.

Our portfolio in general is undergoing refurbishment to better equip our centres to meet the needs of a continually changing fitness industry and constructive feedback like your own will help us determine what areas of development the Nottingham centre needs to keep our membership happy.

Once again on behalf of Nuffield Health I would like to thank you for taking the time to critique the Nottingham Nuffield Health and Wellbeing centre.

With Kind Regards,

Ben
Nuffield Health consumer care team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rip off ”

Written on: by Clarkin8 (1 review written)

My advise don't join here!!! My twin daughters joined, then my one daughter went to uni she was told to send proof of new address which she did, in September they claimed they never received it. So she emailed them waited again paid another month, phoned up they hadn't received it so sent it again payed another month said they would phone her back, no phone call, eventually I told her to cancel D/D then they get in touch. Nasty letter arrives so I take the proof of moving to uni in myself, they… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review for our Birmingham Broadway Plaza Site. I apologise not only on Birmingham’s behalf but also Nuffield Health as a whole, about the lack of customer service and communication you had to deal with while being loyal members of our gym. We are consistently trying to improve our services, making the Nuffield Journey as a member as joyful and uncomplicated as possible, and with feedback such as yours, we are able to amend on areas which need prompt attention and improvement.

If you would like take further action, please can I advise speaking to the General Manager of the Birmingham site who will be able to investigate this for you. We are sorry to hear we have lost members as a result of this and thank you again for offering your feedback on the Review Centre.

Kindest Regards,
Jessica Nuffield Health Consumer Care department

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Abysmal”

Written on: by MalikChilders478 (1 review written)

Joined Greens and Nuffield took over a couple of years ago. Steady decline in quality instructors classes and general gym management at Gosforth Newcastle gym. Where do I start? Gym manager anonymous has no profile on the floor. Staff avoid eye contact and I Have to repeatedly give my name to book classes after 8years membership. Gym business plan seems to run it for worried well Mon-Fri 9-1then do the minimum. WhenGreens ran the gym there were classes for all. Terrible gym!… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Dear Member,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experiences at the Gosforth fitness and wellbeing club. I am very sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the facilities and the way that the gym is being run in general.

I will be feeding back your experiences to the central operations team whom will investigate and take appropriate action where necessary. I am more than happy to also answer some of the points that you have mentioned. With regards to session booking we do indeed operate a first come/first serve basis and we cannot unfortunately offer preference to certain members. This decision has been made based upon situations where members have pre-booked classes long in advance to then non-attend, therefore stopping another member from taking their place and enjoying our more popular class offerings.

We would like to offer you the chance to speak to the general manager next time you’re in (with whom we have also shared your feedback). He will also be more than happy to speak to you with regards to the points you have raised.

We are sorry that you are not happy with your membership at present and will be feeding back all points you have raised to better improve our service delivery. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback via the review centre website.

Regards,

Ben
Nuffield Health Consumer Care

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Hate them”

Written on: by AlijahMcCabe1988 (1 review written)

The management are the worse we have seen. Do yourself a favour , avoid these scumbags… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Hi,

We are sorry to hear that you are currently unhappy with the service we have provided. If possible we would invite you to raise you concerns with your local site's General Manager the next time you visit us. Alternatively please contact us via our website where we will be more than happy to investigate your concerns in more detail.

We apologise that you have had a bad experience with us and would like to thank you for taking the time to address your concerns via the Review Centre Website.

Kind Regards,

Ben
Nuffield Health Consumer Care

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely shocking service-no loyalty shown”

Written on: by EvelinStokes (1 review written)

Shocking service and tretment of exising members, better deals given to new joiners (as you can imagine) They will eek evry last penny out of you and tie you in to a confusing contract. I enjoyed paying a premium but when a new gym opned at £45 cheaper a month it was a no brainer to leave. I got an offer from Nufield to reduce my membership by £1-cheers then! No thanks… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Dear Ms Stokes,

We are sorry to hear that you are leaving our chain, additionally I would like to apologise for the fact that you felt that you were receiving an inferior service compared to our new members. I would like to confirm that any pricing offered to new members is then replicated when existing members contracts are renewed. We value our long term members and I am sorry that in this instance you felt that your long-term advocacy of the brand was not sufficiently honoured.

We take all feedback such as this very seriously and would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. All feedback both negative and positive is shared with our senior management to determine ways of better ensuring customer retention.

If you have any further feedback to give you are welcome to speak to the local general manager. Alternatively please feel free to contact our team via the Nuffield Health website.

With Kind Regards,

Ben
Nuffield Health Consumer Care department

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“My wife was treated in Essex Nuffield Hospital,...”

Written on: by maxim.yanvarev (3 reviews written)

My wife was treated in Essex Nuffield Hospital, Brentwood. That was just terrible!!  To have a tea of food I had to go and keep asking them as nobody was care. They couldn't take a blood properly, they didn't know how to make IV! When she was back from the theater there were numbers of air bubbles and nurse can't see a problem. When I pointed, she started making a backflush buy pushing bubbles back with the blood from vein! However, when anesthesiologist (he was the only one who comming to us)… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on:

Dear Mr Yanvarev,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent experiences at the Nuffield Hospital, Brentwood. We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your wife's recent treatment and would like to invite you to contact us via the feedback portal on out Nuffield Health website.

Once we have received your details via our feedback form we will then immediately escalate your experience to the hospital director, so that he could undertake a full and thorough review of what happened. On behalf of Nuffield Health I would like to apologise for any upset and anxiety that your recent experience has caused.

Kind Regards,

Ben
Nuffield Health Consumer Care

Reply to this comment
Report this review
overview