Nuffield Health Reviews - www.nuffieldhealth.com

★★☆☆☆
1.6 / 5
10% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“Nuffield Barrow in Furness”

Written on: 22/10/2014 by Natalee233 (1 review written)

When I cancelled my membership they said they didn't recieve letter and then bullying by threatening with debt collector if I didn't pay for month, Will never go back… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★☆☆☆
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“Nuffield Gym Yeovil”

Written on: 14/09/2014

Used to be with David Lloyd but there aren't any in South Somerset where I recently moved, so joined Nuffield in Yeovil (the alternatives are the local leisure centre or the numerous 'gyms-in-a-shed'). Oh dear! What an eye opener. Oversubscribed with poorly maintained rusty equipment which you often can't get on during peak times. Visit off-peak and it just about works out, but why should I? TV's don't work. Overcrowded pool. Questionable hygiene. Tired changing rooms. However, the staff are… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on: 17/09/2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for the feedback in regards to your experiences at our Yeovil Fitness and Wellbeing centre.

I will be sharing this feedback with the general manager in order to review what can be done to better improve your experience and that of your fellow gym members. I will also be sharing the positive sentiment you have given regarding the team members on site.

We are constantly updating our equipment and facilities and as such feedback like yours helps us identify areas of priorities. Regarding other areas, such as cleanliness, we would recommend that you speak to a member of the duty team who will be more than happy to take action on things that are causing you immediate cause for concern.

On behalf of Nuffield Health thank you for taking the time to feedback your experiences.

Kind Regards,

Ben
Nuffield Health consumer care department

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“Budget at best!”

Written on: 19/08/2014 by LarissaMerritt (1 review written)

What can be said about the Nuffield Wellbeing at Cottingley that is positive? nice grounds? The place is in a constant state of disrepair - leaks at the first sign of rain. Equipment is seriously out dated by modern health club standards - most annoying when the gym is so expensive. People may say leave - but it is the only gym with a family membership and a pool in the area. The fitness staff are essentially a bunch of young boys who assume that being mute is all part of the service -… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on: 10/09/2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this constructive feedback, regarding the Cottingley Fitness and Wellbeing centre. I have spoken to the GM and he would very much like to address you concerns personally, in order to ensure that we don't lose your custom. When you are in the club next please feel free to request to speak to the general manager, or his duty management team, and they can address the issues that you have made light of in your review.

On behalf of Nuffield Health, may I apologise for the fact that on these occasions we have not met the very high standards that we aim for in our Fitness and Wellbeing centres.

With Kind Regards,

Ben
Nuffield Health Consumer Care

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“Cottingley Health and Safety!”

Written on: 29/07/2014 by Philip25 (1 review written)

I now have membership at all of the Nuffield clubs and the safety here is very poor unlike the other pools. The wires from the pedestal lights as you approach the entrance are sticking out of the ground as you approach where they have been knocked over. There are lifeguard(s)but where they sit is behind the line of very thick pillars meaning that areas of the pool are not visible. Neither is much of the spa area and the mirror that covers the plunge pool is missing. No one checks the sauna or… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on: 10/09/2014

Dear Philip25,

We take all matters of health and safety extremely seriously, we have alerted the club to the matters that you have raised and they will be investigating this on an individual basis. If you feel that the matters that you have raised in this review are still outstanding, please feel free to request to speak to a member of the management team to re-raise the concerns you have regarding any of the in-house facilities.

Our facilities are under constant assessment both by ourselves and our cleaning staff and we are constantly improving our facilities based on the feedback of members such as yourself.

On behalf of Nuffield Health, may I apologise for any inconvenience this has caused as well as thank you for bringing these matters to our attention through your constructive feedback.

With kind regards,

Ben
Nuffield Health Customer Care

Reply to this comment

Sirwalterf's Comment

Written on: 02/10/2014

I visited this centre twice last week both during the kids swimming time: Mon pm and Sun am. The wheelchair is secure and the bare wires are now buried. On both occasions though the level of life guards' supervision was still very poor exactly the same issues: two guards chatting together, sat on rescue equipment, right in front of fire exit, behind pillars. Very sloppy indeed. It seems crazy to reduce the level of supervision to such an extent at kids' swim time. the sign in the ladies's changing room says that the pool is supervised at all times: clearly not the case. Mirror for visibility around the corner into another pool area still missing. Still no locks on ladies' toilet. Tried to speak to manager - too busy was offered a comment card instead.

I use several other Nuffield pools in the N of England and David LLoyd too. This problem doesn't happen anywhere else.

Reply to this comment

By Nuffield_Health

Written on: 04/10/2014

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. We do ensure that the pool is supervised at all times. So I am extremely disappointed to hear of these occurrences. I will be feeding this back to the general manager so that he can re-advise as per business guidelines. Regarding speaking to the manager directly please call the centre or our central office and they can put you in touch with the General or Duty manager immediately in order for them to personally address your areas of concern regarding the in-house facilities.

On behalf of Nuffield Health thank you for taking the time to provide this additional feedback regarding the Cottingley fitness and wellbeing centre.

With Kind Regards,

Ben
Nuffield Health consumer care

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments Read Verified Business Response
★☆☆☆☆
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“Lie about allowing guests in”

Written on: 21/07/2014 by Josh_k (1 review written)

When i signed up i was told i could bring guests in as i often have family visiting. I was told all i need is a guest pass which i can get from the desk. Now i am wanting to use it they are trying to make my guest pay £20!! They said i need a guest pass for it to be free. I how to get one, they said i need to get it from the front desk. The desk told me i needed to get it when i signed up and now i have signed up i cannot get any more. Confused?? i am!!!… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on: 04/09/2014

Hi,

We are very sorry to hear about this negative experience that you have had at one of our fitness and wellbeing centres. We try to make our guest pass process as clear as possible during the sign up period and we are sorry that this was not properly communicated at the time of sign off. We will re-communicate this process to our managers to ensure that such an experience is not repeated.

Thank you for taking the time to bring this issue to our attention. If you would like further action taken please contact the site and a member of the management team will look into this further for you.

With Kind Regards,

Benjamin
Customer Care team - Nuffield Health

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“Overpriced, terrible customer service newcastle!”

Written on: 23/06/2014 by zed187 (1 review written)

Who in the right mind would pay £50 per month for this gym!? At first a friend recommended it because its out of the way and less busy gym, first of all it can get full and it's quite annoying because there's only one of everything in the main weight room. The place has dustballs the size of my fist. The staff are rude non sensitive people, honestly I've never been able to have a longer conversation than 2 minutes with any of them. BEWARE! They tricked me into signing a 12 month contract when… Read Full Review

By Nuffield_Health

Written on: 29/09/2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience with the Gosforth Fitness and Wellbeing centre. We are very disappointed to hear of your experiences with the club, including the lack of customer service shown to you.

At Nuffield we aim to be 'top of class' in the Health and Wellbeing business and as such your feedback will be presented to the general manager both for investigation and further improvement in staff training.

I would like to apologise that on a number of occasions you did not receive the exceptional service we expect from our employees and hope that in the future you may re-examine your patronage of our gym network.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide this honest feedback regarding your experiences.

Kind Regards,

Ben
Nuffield Health Consumer Care

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“Absolutely dreadful!”

Written on: 17/06/2014 by ManuelBeck (1 review written)

I have been a member of Cottingley Nuffield Health for a few years, and it is awful! They constantly run out of towels, the whole place is filthy, they do no maintenance on the building and so water often pours in through the leaky roof or windows! The machines seem to be the cast offs from other clubs that have got new ones, so they are hardly good quality! When 3 machines I wanted to use were out of order plus the air conditioning was broken resulting in me nearly fainting because of the… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★☆☆
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“up the game please ”

Written on: 14/06/2014 by Bradshaw93 (1 review written)

I joined bishops Stortford gym because it is convenient and has good facilities ie after work out sauna steam swimming pool etc so those are the good points .The bad points are that cleanliness is an issue ie sauna has chewing gum and rolled up tissue stuck between the wooden seats .I have asked on several occasions for it to be cleaned but to no avail . The muscle posers and the like walk around with there up to date ear phones sit on a machine and stay there fiddling with their ipods as if… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“disappointment,no value for clients”

Written on: 05/06/2014 by Miraclej222 (1 review written)

The nuffield health in wimbledon has a very disappointing service. They only have 4 ladies toilets, of which 2 are always broken. They are continually having breakdowns with this and it takes weeks to fix. In this time complaining to head office made no difference. They've also had a broken down aircon for 2 months. Upon complaining they tried to lie, saying the aircon is not broken. They also removed all thermometers from the walls, which caused gym members not to check the temperature. I've… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“Nuffield Norbury Just Gets Worse”

Written on: 01/06/2014 by RoninHolmes423 (1 review written)

I had been a member of the Nuffield gym in Norbury for nearly 20 years and to be honest just got fed up with the machines not working/being out of order on a regular basis.As well as other things like the toilets forever not being cleaned or blocked up in the changing rooms. It seemed to take forever for anything that was out of order to be fixed.The only money that's been spent on the gym over the last couple of years has been on the reception foyer area.You would think that more up to date… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“No transparency”

Written on: 19/05/2014 by Jaded101 (1 review written)

I don't understand why so many companies are just out there to take advantage of people. Why cant they just make their policies transparent. Signed up for a 3 month contract and obviously assumed it was for 3 months but when I phoned to make sure it was finishing up at the end of this month they said no, that would have to cancel a month in advance. This was not made apparent to me. I didn't even get a copy of my contract. What means more to them, £80 for another month, or a customer that… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“Chingford Gym”

Written on: 07/05/2014 by npMcCormick279 (1 review written)

This gym is awful! It is filthy and the staff are rude and inconsiderate. I wasted my membership here because after a few months I just couldn't put up with it any more. I therefore ended up paying for 2 gyms as I joined a different gym that was further away and a lot less convenient. However, it was worth it to be able to get on to the machines, use the lockers, and not have to ever go to the Chingford Nuffield helth gym again. Be warned… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“Fantastic gym”

Written on: 30/04/2014 by Dippypats (1 review written)

I love this gym, helpful staff who are always happy, even at 06.00 am. Great instructors in the classes. Gym is alway clean and recent refurb means new equipment , sauna and steam room offer the whole package. Affordable Physio who cured me in one session!!! Great value for money. I've been a member for years and been through all the changes . Best gym in Cambridge!!!… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★☆☆☆
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“Chingford gym ”

Written on: 07/04/2014 by GilbertoWeber418 (1 review written)

Have been at the club a year not one member of staff has ever helped or spoke to me, They play Magic on the radio all day how do you lift weights to "dance with my father again" an when asked I was told to put headphones in.. Most of the lockers do not work Mondays & Tuesdays you have to wait for a locker because its so busy people coming in with gym with guest passes everyday can never get on a machine while we pay £68 a month.. There was no induction when I joined this is the 1st iv heard… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“Think before committing to this gym”

Written on: 31/03/2014 by yfCaldwell166 (1 review written)

I have been a member of Nuffield in Croydon (fiveways) for over two years. Recently, an extremely rude receptionist decided to lay down the law. Complaint after complaint to the management team fell on death ears. Not one member of the management team can respond adequatley. The latest information was given to me today (30/03/2014)and this is totally different to previous information. Cancelled my membership as I do not think that paying £51 to be humiliated when visiting the gym is worth it… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“Surbito nuffield is Awfull”

Written on: 27/03/2014 by abAdkins68 (1 review written)

Overated overpriced and the admin manager is rude and should not be in charge of staff, she talks to them like children in front of clients and never smiles. The cost of membership changes everyday when you ring up, classes are held for friends not for customers who are waiting on time, the assistant managers who are supposed to be helpful are just interested in kissing up to the management, when it comes to helping other staff or customers then interest seems to be nill. I am about to cancel… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“No, No, No!”

Written on: 11/03/2014 by Sullivanqm336 (1 review written)

The brief review of 18th December 2013 on reviewcentre.com says it all. To expand my own experience, the management here is appalling. Their interest is simply to get punters to sign a long contract. At the very very end of the priority list is maintenance of gym equipment. Think long and hard before you waste your money here. Don't ignore the other bad reviws - there is a reason for them!… Read Full Review

Gymbunny1's Comment

Written on: 19/03/2014

Don't sign into a contract that you then decide you don't want to see out. No one to blame but yourself but blaming yourself would be admitting you're an idiot so it is easier to blame The gym

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“The reward schemes and policies are a complete joke!”

Written on: 06/03/2014

After reading all the negative reviews on this site I just felt I needed to add my experience to this list. I joined Nuffield in Wandsworth after my daughter died and was determined to turn my life around and was utterly blown away by what a joke all the policies and reward schemes are. To begin with we got none of the promised guest passes and sign up rewards like a free month and were also told we were signing up on a family membership. When we queried all this, we were told the person who'd… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“Really poor service”

Written on: 05/03/2014 by zlBowen288 (1 review written)

Really poor customer service. Refused to give me a cost of members - instead trying to get information about who I worked for (so they can sell corporate solutions to my employer). Off hand staff who don't read emails properly and are worse on the phone… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★
Nuffield Health www.nuffieldhealth.com

“Wandsworth gym have all I need and more!”

Written on: 05/03/2014 by Brynleez397 (1 review written)

I am a Wandsworth member and so far very happy with the gym and what it offers, it was recently refurbished so even better! The health mot is a plus I couldn't find on other gyms. They seem to care more about your overall health not just your fitness. I have a 2 year old who loves swimming and the 'family swim' in the afternoon is perfect to get her extra tired ;) I could do with more classes but in general am a very happy customer :D… Read Full Review

Report this review
overview