Ekornes Stressless Recliner Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.3 / 5
21% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Ekornes Stressless Recliner - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Stressless recliner chair”

Written on: 20/07/2014 by Orrmn1959 (1 review written)

I would never recommend one of your chairs to anyone , the seat and arm stretched within two days of purchase,and it has taken numerous phone calls to try and sort the problems out seven months of persistence and it's finally repaired I believe that the product should have been replaced but no such luck, I was looking forward to my new chair and have been very dissappointed. No not happy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Ekorness stressless recliner”

Written on: 16/07/2014 by MaryWalton (1 review written)

Purchased one. It took three weeks for the chair to arrive (apparently the paperwork didn't get to the warehouse. When the chair arrived, it was not the chair I sat in at the store. Supposedly I was buying the floor model and it was the only one on the floor. I went back to the store and sat in another floor model which fit perfectly. The store was going to swap out the old for the new chair. When the new chair arrived, it fit my back perfectly, however the owner said that all they would… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Painful Experience”

Written on: 14/05/2014 by HawaiianWahine (1 review written)

I totally agree, my husband and I purchased two Mayfair stressless chairs and my lower back pain is so great that I've purchase pillows of every size and shape to help my lower back, but to no avail. It makes me sick to have paid so much for these chairs and now I'm stuck with them… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Mayfair Recliners Very Uncomfortable”

Written on: 20/03/2014 by KayMarch2014 (1 review written)

I purchased two Mayfair Stressless armchairs from a local furniture shop in Jersey. The saelman was called Neil. The Mayfair Recliner Armchairs were delivered to me from Stressless (Ekornes) in Jan. 2014. I find both these armchairs cause pressure pains on my behind after using for 3 wks and this has continued and got worse. I contacted Ekornes but they say they have had no complaints about this model. I have previously used Stressless armchairs and they have been wonderfully comfortable. I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Very disappointed”

Written on: 31/01/2014 by darleydame (2 reviews written)

Having just bought the Consul (medium size) recliner for almost £900 I was very disappointed with the size and quality. The stitching was coming loose at the back and the whole thing just seemed too small for my husband. It is the cheaper end of their range and maybe you get what you pay for. My husband is just under 6ft and is not that large but the back was very narrow at shoulder height so it ended up looking more like an office chair than a lounge chair. maybe I am daft but I have sent it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Headrest not fit for resting your head on”

Written on: 09/10/2013

In November 2012 we had a Stressless Magic Batik. Leather recliner chair delivered. We have been out of the country for 3 months so our chair has only been available for use for 8 months. We have a large variety of alternate chairs to sit on. In September we saw a mark/ discolouration on the left hand side of the headrest. We contacted the store where we purchased the chair and an upholsterer came to assess the problem. He said that it was caused by oil from my husband's head, and that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dkhayward's Comment

Written on: 08/11/2013

I concur 100% with the above review. My Stressless chair developed the same problem after 1 years use.
I have had no help from the retailer William Hill of Caterham or Stressless, just receiving a letter stating the deterioration is probably due from natural oils (head & hands) and can not accept any liability for the leather upholstery because it is more than 12 months old.

Therefore please be aware if you intend purchasing these expensive chair as you will probably need to replacing after 1 to 2 years

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“USELESS GUARANTEE ON STRESSLES RECLINER IN UK”

Written on: 19/06/2013 by baldeagle01 (1 review written)

We bought a Stressless 2 seater recliner in the UK costing nearly £3,000 and were given an Ekornes guarantee booklet written in many languages as this item is sold worldwide. BEWARE - the Guarantee is DIFFERENT for USA & Canada than UK. In UK their is NO 5-year guarantee on the wood frame. This is not made clear in the booklet - all you see are little flags at the top of the page. As the first page is in English we assumed this was the Guarantee applicable to English speaking countries. Our… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Swibbob's Response to baldeagle01's Review

Written on: 13/07/2013

Hi, one thought would you not pursue the vendor via the Sale of Good Act which gives you 6 years protection on poor quality & fit for purpose use. I have had success with bed suppliers and a National branded furniture supplier.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Overpriced”

Written on: 25/05/2013 by NOTHAPPYSITTER (1 review written)

THE RECLINER IS VERY OVER PRICED FOR THE COMFORT (OR LACK OF) WHEN SITTING IN THE RECLINER FIRST FEW MINUTES ARE COMFORTABLE. WHEN SITTING IN THE RECLINER FOR THE DURATION OF A DVD MOVIE, OUCH!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“fighting with the Windsor two seater”

Written on: 11/05/2013

Have had my 'dream' sofa for two months, am a tall woman over 65, and the sofa is weirdly uncomfortable, I seem either to sit bolt upright or fight the mechanism to lean back on a too shallow seat.have ceased sitting in it and after feeling very disappointed, decided to point out its faults to the vendor. After reading these reviews I am dismayed. The promises made on the brochure do not equate with the reality… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Good Product Declines Into Expensive Disappointment”

Written on: 05/05/2013 by MALoewenstein (1 review written)

About 13 years ago my husband and I purchased two Ekornes Stressless Recliners. For ten years they were wonderful, comfortable and for me, one of the few places I could actually improve the pain in my sides and back. Two years ago we decided to replace them because the leather was worn. The new recliners are much lighter, far less comfortable and the arm of one has started to come loose. The difference in quality between the two bought years ago and the current models is marked and not in the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Worn leather”

Written on: 24/04/2013

After having our chair one month it looked awful after three years ready to throw it out leather worn off cost a lot of money company not interested where we bought it said it wears like that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Swibbob's Comment

Written on: 13/07/2013

Hi have been thinking about buying a Stressless but the negative reviews regarding wear & tear is worrying. One thought are you not going to pursue the vendor via the Sale of Good Act which gives you 6 years protection on poor quality & fit for purpose use. I have had success with bed suppliers and a National branded furniture supplier.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“stressless atlantic recliner”

Written on: 27/03/2013

i purchased two of these chairs and one of them had staples showing under the arm the leather had been cut short and was poorly finished also the arm are underpadded and you can feel steel as you get out of the chair i rang ekornes and they did not want to know i managed to get a replacement arm after waiting nearly three months in my opinion they are overpriced overrated and give very poor customer service buying stressless was very stressful you have been warned… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tracycooke4283's Comment

Written on: 08/04/2013

We are extremely sorry to hear of your experience and can assure you we pride ourselves on our Customer Service.
The problem with the arm was reported to us on 11th December, ordered on 14th December and delivered after the factory Xmas holidays. We do all possible to arrange replacement parts on a quicker delivery it was just unfortunately that the factory closes for two weeks over Xmas.
Once again please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced. Kind Regards, Customer Service, Ekornes Ltd.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Stressless Magic (M)”

Written on: 08/03/2013

I haven't sat in a more comfortable chair. I tried various Stressless models where I bought my chair from and although most of them were comfortable, I thought this and the Voyager model were the best of the bunch. I think the best feature of the chair is the adjustable headrest. Normally it is in perfect position to use computer, watch TV or read books. However, by pulling the headrest towards you the "sleep" mode activates, the headrest goes down a notch and the chair lets you lean backwards… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Do not buy the Vegsa”

Written on: 20/02/2013 by Manicman (1 review written)

Bought 2 recliners 3 years ago. Since I am tall and big I was convinced that the Vegas was the correct choice for me. My wife got a smaller model. The chair wa initially comfortable with great adjustments that moved well with your sitting movements. However, the chairs biggest fault is that the back is attached with 3 strips of Velcro, can you imagine a $ 3000 plus chair held together with Velcro. Needless to say that after a few months of movement in your chair the back comes off the Velcro… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Ekornes Stressless Aeron fabric Material is terrible, ”

Written on: 11/12/2012

Greetings: For my 60th birthday our family decided to buy me the best best sofa recliner on the market. Or that is what we thought was the best. After visiting many furniture stores we found the Stressless program to be what we thought was tops. We sat in them, asked questions and came up with what was supposed to be a winner. After several months of waiting our new sofa arrived. When installed we noticed that sitting on this unit was like sitting on a steel chair that had absolutely no… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Nagael's Comment

Written on: 29/01/2013

I compleatly agree, I bought the EKORNES STRESSLESS Tampa chair and footstool and just like you found the chair to be so hard and uncomfortable, mine IS leather so I would say to anyone that the fabric types make no difference what so ever. Also when I complained they sent someone from FIRA who told me that EKORNES would be in touch with me. THEY DID NOT! and when I contacted them about this they sent an e-mail reply which said:- "Hi There, Thank you for your e-mail. As the Fira technician concluded there was no fault with your chair it is with regret we must advise that there is nothing that can be done from our side. We are extremely sorry you find the chair uncomfortable however as thre is no manufacturing fault present we could not except its return. Kind Regards. Consumer Team" that was it!! and after paying £1689 including footstool. That is the sum total of EKORNES customer service. So people out there be very careful as it really is BUYER BEWARE and once you pay your money no matter how uncomfortable (both my back and my neck ar killing me trying to get used to this white elephant!) you find their furniture.... well you can see how I faired!
YPC

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Waterside3's Comment

Written on: 18/04/2014

I've read enough. I was seriously going to buy Stressless; the brochure is beside me as I write. However I have changed my mind and would not invest in something with such poor reviews, particularly such technical and factual sounding faults, (I do not count oily hair in this catagory).
My only problem is now to find something with better reviews. JGH

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“In a Word...Comfort”

Written on: 29/10/2012 by Georgetheman (2 reviews written)

It wasn't cheap, but I bought it after being recommended to but one by a friend. I wasn't dis appointed, I bought it from a large furniture store in Manchester called Housing Units, ordered it on line and they delivered it free within a couple of days. Superb… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Just What the Doctor Ordered”

Written on: 25/10/2012 by reclinerreview (1 review written)

I bought one of these chairs after sitting on it a the Grand Design show at the NEC last week, It is the best thing I've ever bought. It means that I can sit in comfort and the company Thomas Hearn of Kenilworth delivered it within a week ....Fantastic. I would have preferred a different colour but this one in burgundy was in stock and on offer so I bought it cheap to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Ekornes Stressless Chair Jazz Model”

Written on: 12/09/2012

Purchased a Stressless Large Jazz chair in August 2008 costing 2000 pounds. Waited 3 months for delivery and was pleased with the chair when it arrived. However 4 years on I am now very disallusioned with Ekornes and the chair. I contacted the firm I purchased the chair from with regard to the back support on the chair as it had become very uncomfortable and was not supporting my back as it should. Their immediate response was that they would contact Ekornes. When they ran me me a couple of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Thecomitments's Comment

Written on: 13/09/2012

Please could you send the details to head of customer services at Ekornes, we will endeavour to sort out an amicable solution, I'm sure that there are not many companies that could replace a part 4 years on.........Stressless have customers who have chairs 20 years and 60% of it's customers are either recommended or repeat purchases......not sure why that would be if the product wasn't "the ultimate recliner"

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Relief”

Written on: 30/12/2011 by BeanerECMO (1 review written)

I've had 3 back operations and cannot sleep in a bed on my back or side. I had a recliner for several years where I tried to sleep; and I couldn't get beyond 1 to 1.5 hours sleep, and it wasn't always restful. I cannot sleep in a bed on my back or side for any length of time. I had heard and tried the Ekornes recliner; and decided to take the plunge. There was a money back guarantee. My recliner was delivered fully assembled and 'free'. I received instructions on its care and was given a 5 year… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Beanerecmo's Response to BeanerECMO's Review

Written on: 01/04/2012

I have to modify my review in that as my back pain became worse and weaker, I found great difficulty getting out of the chair - they are too low for me even with an additional ring that raises the chair a couple of inches. I needed my wife's assistance to get out of it.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview