Unlimited Web Hosting - www.unlimitedwebhosting.co.uk Reviews

★★★★★
4.9 / 5
28
97% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

Description (provided by business)

The Unlimited Web Hosting Cloud Platform provides a completely Unlimited Web Hosting Account - Reseller Hosting and VPS Hosting, packed with features all with our massive 99.99% Uptime from £2.75 per month.

Summary

Have you used Unlimited Web Hosting before? Please write your web hosting review here at Review Centre, to help others make an informed decision. 

Media Gallery for Unlimited Web Hosting - www.unlimitedwebhosting.co.uk

Unlimited Web Hosting - www.unlimitedwebhosting.co.uk
Unlimited Web Hosting - www.unlimitedwebhosting.co.uk
Unlimited Web Hosting - www.unlimitedwebhosting.co.uk
Unlimited Web Hosting - www.unlimitedwebhosting.co.uk
Unlimited Web Hosting - www.unlimitedwebhosting.co.uk
Unlimited Web Hosting - www.unlimitedwebhosting.co.uk
Unlimited Web Hosting - www.unlimitedwebhosting.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Showing star rating of:

(cancel refinement)
★☆☆☆☆

“What No cPanel Restore ?”

Written on: 02/03/2017 by Harlequn (3 reviews written)

I wanted to kick the wheels and take them for a test drive before plunging in for VPS or anything else so setup a Reseller account. Copied in a cPanel backup and opened up a ticket to restore daid backup only to be told that users have to restore sites themselves. Erm, you provide cPanel but DO NOT provide a cPanel restore service...? OK. Bye. On the positive: Ticket was dealt with quickly but I nearly spat out my tea when I read their response. Quite abrupt it was too. Perhaps they provide… Read Full Review

By Uwhsupport

Written on: 06/03/2017

Hi,

We don't restore third-party cPanel backups for security reasons, and to protect our servers and other customers.
We're sorry this policy didn't match your requirements.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Suspension of accounts and further not paying back money”

Written on: 03/02/2017 by Gabrielle194 (1 review written)

terrible! lots of downtime, lots of miscommuncation, finally ended up suspending my accounts and not re-opening - had to move to other hosting platform and lost money uncompensated for domain hosting. Really hope this company will be closed for terrible customer services and for losses made to my websites due to suspension and losses financially for not compensating for the paid services and further suspension! Terrible!… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Very Slow”

Written on: 27/11/2016 by CorinneMcGuire (1 review written)

Very slow web page loading (if at all). Customer support are quite quick at replying but not very good at resolving any issues. They still use old out dated servers. They are more expensive than others that are far better. Will definetly not use again or recommend to anyone. Truly awful… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely Terrible. Stay Well Clear.”

Written on: 26/07/2016 by g1991 (2 reviews written)

I don't know how on earth UWH have gathered so many 5 star reviews! My only thoughts are that it must be static websites, which don't utilise much in the way of MySQL or database driven services and that the support queries must be as simple as 'How do I logon to my "site"'. Initially used these guys around a year ago for some shared hosting - based on price. Was a massive mistake at the time, found sites freezing up constantly, e-mails getting lost and so on. Poor support back then so moved… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst Phone Support!”

Written on: 10/01/2016 by GustavoRoach (1 review written)

I needed some support immediately. I phoned up support and they said "We will get someone to phone me back in 5 minutes" and they didn't phone me back. I would HIGHLY recommend not using this host, if you need immediate support on your hosting account. … Read Full Review

By Uwhsupport

Written on: 13/01/2016

Dear customer,

We are sorry you feel you did not receive the support you wanted. The reason you did not get a call back is that after calling you also opened a ticket which was replied to by our staff. You then corresponded with our staff member and cancelled your account . At this point, there was no reason to return your call as we believed the matter to be resolved.

We will always give a full refund for the hosting account if it is cancelled within 30 days as we did in your case. However, we cannot refund domain names as they will remain registered and owned by you for the remainder of the registration period. You are free to take the domain you registered elsewhere with you at no cost. With regards the approval of new orders, we manually approve orders from new customers as part of our fraud checking process. This helps us to keep spammers and scammers from signing up to our service and disrupting our other customers. Orders from existing customers are automatically processed.

We would be happy to discuss your issues with you if you get in touch with us via the normal channels.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Unlimited is a lie”

Written on: 18/03/2015 by Flexinoodle (2 reviews written)

"or personal multimedia content such as movies, music, photos or other media." This line is posted in the user agreement as part of what cant be stored on your space, basically you can not store anything at all on your space at their discretion, the 'unlimited' is a total lie and i am considering contacting trading standards about these people, they are actually stopping me from uploading my own products to give away or sell. Avoid this terrible company at all costs !!! They have no idea what… Read Full Review

By Uwhsupport

Written on: 20/03/2015

Dear customer,

I have replied to your ticket on this subject to try to clarify this further with you but have not had a response as yet. We offer an Unlimited Web Hosting service. What this means is that you can host a website of any size within your hosting space and you won’t have any issues with the terms and conditions you list in this review. We have many very large sites hosted without issue. The caveat here is that the content (photos, videos etc) must be part of a website. What we do not allow is the use of the hosting just to store files, for example for personal archives in place of a service such as Dropbox. If you have any questions about this, please get in touch.

Kind regards
Unlimited Web Hosting

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Was great, now terrible”

Written on: 15/03/2015 by dogbert01 (1 review written)

At first (3 years ago) this was an excellent service but now terrible. It's seriously over subscribed to the point where my sites go up and down constantly throughout the day. When I contacting support they merely say they are a budget server and that I should consider upgrading, however they are still keen to sell themselves as "unlimited". Two of my sites also got taken down without any notice due to high CPU usage - again should they be using the term "unlimnited", clearly not… Read Full Review

By Uwhsupport

Written on: 17/03/2015

Dear Customer,

Firstly, we apologise for the bad experience you have had with us. The service is not over subscribed. We monitor the platform closely and add new resource to the servers and new hardware to the cluster on a regular basis to avoid this happening.

If your site is constantly up and down I would urge you to raise a ticket and address it directly to third line. I am certain we can resolve this for you as this is not the norm.

Kind regards
Unlimited Web Hosting

Reply to this comment

Dogbert01's reply to Uwhsupport's Comment

Written on: 25/03/2015

Dear Uwhsupport

Only last week all my sites went down again, however this time they were all replaced by the Plesk holding page. I had to contact support to get the guy to reload the Apache conf file.

I use an external monitoring service to keep track of outages and in a single month 23rd Feb to 23rd March one of my sites was reported un-contactable 18 times! My monitoring service only checks every 30 mins so there's a good chance that the actual number is higher.

You say this isn't the norm but I have 7 sites using your service and they all experience the same amount of downtime.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful service”

Written on: 22/01/2015

Having been with UWH for over a year tonight we have found the support to be the worst when we have needed it the most. It seemed very careless and if the person had no intreast in assiting us in any way. This is not the way to go if you want to retain customers especally when they pay almost £500 a year ex VAT. After 12 hours of being miss informed and spending further money based on the advice of a support assitance to be told after struggling to set it up i cannot be set up on that… Read Full Review

By Uwhsupport

Written on: 26/01/2015

Dear Customer

We trust that you are now happy with the outcome of this support request.

We always strive to do the best by our customers but in this case it does seem the advice you were initially given was not the best approach to your problem and we are sorry if it caused you issues. We do hope you see this as a 'blip' that one evening and not any reflection on our support in general as we do take pride in offering the best support we can.

If you need any further help, please get in touch
Kind regards
Unlimited Web Hosting

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Completely unprofessional”

Written on: 16/01/2015 by UnlimitedRBAD (1 review written)

The support is awful - truly awful, have not answered the phone 10 times in a row. You would think the office is manned by 5 years olds Really lets itself down with this shoddy 2nd rate support My sites have been down since 7 am - it's now 10 am...knocked out my company email too. Not one word of conciliation - let alone an apology the inability to field a phone call really is laughable but in the really not funny kind of way. I disliked everything about my experience this morning in… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE USED”

Written on: 23/10/2014 by christianjohn (1 review written)

I so shocked about UWH The support is terrible i ask a simple and easy question and i don't get a reply that don't even help me. I get the ticket closed a few minutes later. I use to use this company for 2 different sites before i moved them into different accounts. They use to be perfect but not anymore. I really suggest people spend just the little bit more in price and get the support you do deserve. STAY AWAY from them… Read Full Review

By Uwhsupport

Written on: 24/10/2014

Dear customer

Firstly, we are sorry for the bad experience you have had. We have tried to find an account under this name but cannot see one. You do not mention in the review exactly what your problem is but we do want to help you get it resolved if it is still outstanding.

Tickets are typically only ever closed if they are waiting for a response from the customer for 48 hours, at which point the customer is sent a mail and the ticket automatically closed. The ticket then automatically re-opens when a response is added. We cannot think of a scenario whereby a ticket would be closed after only a few minutes.

if you can please get in touch with us via ticket/email/phone we can work on getting it resolved for you as quickly as possible.

Kind regards
Unlimited Web Hosting

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Still unsatisfied customer but hoping for best service.”

Written on: 01/09/2014 by BaileyBoyd112 (1 review written)

Who the hell are you to decide this ticket is completed. This problem is not solved yet and your support is not responding my email. Before I sign up to your account you show live chat on your website after paying and subscribed to your hosting service you disable the live chat support on my computer. I have send you about 10/15 Ticket regrading email problem your support team is pathetic… Read Full Review

By Uwhsupport

Written on: 01/09/2014

Dear Customer

Firstly, with reference to your comment about live chat support. We have never offered this feature. We have certainly not disabled anything on your computer. You may be confusing us with another host with regards this.

With reference to your support ticket 489786, I have reviewed this for you in detail. The reason the ticket closed is that you did not respond to it for 48 hours after our last response. If you respond to it at any point, it will automatically re-open and we can help you get your issue resolved.

However, the last update on the ticket is from us and shows a screenshot logged into your webmail with mails present and a log extract which also shows mail flowing normally on your account so they do seem to be arriving fine. If you can get in touch with us via the ticket we can help you with any remaining issues you may have.

Kind regards
Unlimited Web Hosting

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Completely Useless”

Written on: 24/07/2014 by MPMdude (1 review written)

We were finding our shared hosting to be so sloooooow, that we upgraded to a VPS. Things improved performance wise, but as a company they are without doubt the worst hosting mob I've encountered. We have hosting in the UK, US, NZ and Australia - we are not new to this - but the incompetence of UWHUK is jaw-dropping. I can assume that the positive reviews are from hobbyists or written by themselves. You can do better than this company!… Read Full Review

Jamesmpollard's Response to MPMdude's Review

Written on: 05/08/2014

As a senior website and software developer I would have to disagree. I am now well into my 12th year of development experience and I have used this company for all of my own and my clients hosting needs. I am no hobbyist and in no way am I affiliated with them, my opinion and view is completely unbiased. You just have poor judgement.

Reply to this comment

Mpmdude's reply to Jamesmpollard's Comment

Written on: 06/08/2014

Yeah righteo mate.

"You just have poor judgement."

Strange comment for someone not affiliated with them to make...

I've had the good judgement to move to another host.

The fact remains that their customer service is the worst I have even encountered: inaccessible management who want to remain isolated from customers and tech support staff who are out of their depth the moment a customer strays from the script.

They are not up to the job.

Still, I'm glad I'm not one of your clients :)


Reply to this comment

Stormykeithka's reply to Mpmdude's Comment

Written on: 24/09/2014

Got to say I agree. They were totally incompetent when I used them. Started off Ok but after a year or so, service levels dropped dramatically. Moved elsewhere and it just highlighted how bad they were. Costing me no more either. Glad to see the back of them. Like you, I suspect that most of these positive reviews are from people who know no better.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst customer support on the planet”

Written on: 19/07/2014 by 156Fanning (1 review written)

Lost all my clients email addresses. Cant ever ever get you a log file when needed. Unhelpful surly support with bad attitude Won't let you speak on a manager. Rudely put the phone down. Do not use. Avoid Unlimited Web Hosting at all costs, the service is a bad joke. APPALLING!… Read Full Review

Mpmdude's Comment

Written on: 24/07/2014

I think your review title was a little too generous.

I'll second the refusal to let you speak with a manager.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Taking my money”

Written on: 10/06/2014 by 123455 (4 reviews written)

I signed up with unlimited and the platform is fine as is communication with them. I didn't want the hosting package after a few months though so cancelled. At the end of the year (despite me having cancelled the contract) unlimited took another year's subscription and I had to email back and forth to get it back. I did get my money back. THEN, another year passed, and on the anniversary of the initial contract (despite account being closed for over eighteen months) unlimited invoiced me for a… Read Full Review

By Uwhsupport

Written on: 11/06/2014

Dear Customer

Given the anonymous nature of your review we have had to make some assumptions but the most likely explanation for what you describe is: If you pay via Paypal, a subscription is setup within your Paypal itself for recurring payment. When you submit a cancellation with us, it tells you in the cancellation mail we send to cancel this as we have no direct control of your Paypal account to do it for you. If you do not cancel this, the payment will re-occur indefinitely.

It sounds like you contacted us once you realised, and after checking the facts we immediately returned your money. In this case, what happened was just a case of the Paypal agreement not being terminated form within your Paypal account. A setting over which we have no control.

Unfortunately issues of this nature are out of our control however we are always happy to return the monies if they have been transferred in error.

Kind regards
Unlimited Web Hosting

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Unlimited Downtime”

Written on: 02/04/2014 by 356Wells (1 review written)

We migrated all our sites to them few months ago, no thanks to a friend's recommendation (we're skinning him alive right now). We signed up for the shared hosting. needless to say, first month was fine. and then the downtime started happening (like the beginning of a zombie apocalypse). and then it became more frequent - at least once a week. bear in mind, we are not talking about 1 milisecond of downtime. the downtime could sometimes take hours and even up to a day or two. Oh, and if you… Read Full Review

By Uwhsupport

Written on: 02/04/2014

Dear Customer

We would like to assure you that your experience is not typical. I’m sure that your friend wouldn’t have recommended us to you if he had the same experience as you. And as you point out in your review, there does on the whole seem to be positive feedback. Therefore we are very keen to know what was going on to make sure that other customers do not have a similar time.

Ideally, if you have time we would like to speak to you to get some more information about what was happening with your account for you to have such a poor experience. If you could contact us via email at our support email address we can make every effort to get to the bottom of it.

Kind regards
Unlimited Web Hosting

Reply to this comment

Harty654's Comment

Written on: 13/04/2014

I'm having awful problems with them too, the blame is never with them. They deleted my whole server and refuse to return the files to me. It's now been over two weeks trying to get an educated response from the support and all I get (when I eventually get a message back, which can be well over a day) is a new guy repeating the question the last guy asked me.

Reply to this comment

Benpetben's Comment

Written on: 10/04/2014

I agree, this company is useless! My email forwarding never worked and my websites kept going down all the time. Customer service were useless they never do anything.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst Ever”

Written on: 31/03/2014 by wilczek (1 review written)

Leaving them today after a shocking experience - Site down this morning for over an hour - My issue is not that the site went down but that even after an hour there was no acknowledgement from support - In the dark again with this absolutely shocking service… Read Full Review

Benpetben's Response to wilczek's Review

Written on: 10/04/2014

Did your emails ever work?

Reply to this comment

Wilczek's reply to Benpetben's Comment

Written on: 11/04/2014

Eventually yes but nonetheless I feel much better now having started migration to a new provider

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Very Disappointing”

Written on: 10/03/2014 by gio91 (3 reviews written)

We moved to unlimited web hosting from another web host (that was also terrible) with the promise of unlimited space, good support and a better service. We even registered as a reseller (we have a big business with lots of small sites that need support and care). The sign up was dead easy, but that's about it. Whilst I can't argue with the cPanel access and features the speed of all of our sites is absolutely appalling - we're talking more than 10 seconds for a single Wordpress page to load… Read Full Review

Benpetben's Response to gio91's Review

Written on: 10/04/2014

I agree, this company is useless

Reply to this comment

Gio91's reply to Benpetben's Comment

Written on: 10/04/2014

Now with TSO-Host - fantastic, would well recommend the switch mate.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“wordpress install hopeless”

Written on: 29/01/2014

If you use localhost to design your site then upload to this server then forget it, useless. They install an additional config file for some reason, so you have a brand new wp install that should have 1 config file but you get another one added. If you are using this for your reseller business forget it, they don't bother to answer emails. I have given 1 star, should be no stars but this form won't allow it. Conclusion: very poor. … Read Full Review

By Uwhsupport

Written on: 29/01/2014

Sir/ Madam, due to the anonymous nature of this review, we are unsure who you are and to what issue you refer.

With regards Wordpress, as you know its one of the most popular products for building sites and is used by a large percentage of our customers. There is nothing on our platform that adds additional configuration files to Wordpress, this would be hugely problematic if it were the case. I want to assure that the problems you have experienced are not typical as you can see from the majority of the feedback here on review centre and other sites. If you wish to talk to us further about this please contact us or raise a support ticket via your client login credentials and we can try to get to the bottom of any issues you may have.

With regards support, typically support is via our ticket system rather than email. Can you confirm what address you were mailing with your support requests so we can investigate this?

Reply to this comment

Benpetben's Comment

Written on: 10/04/2014

I think Petleyj' might be another fake user

Reply to this comment

Petleyj's Comment

Written on: 07/03/2014

I have to disagree with your comment Mr / Mrs Anonymous.

I have moved to them from my previous host and I love their support and services.

James Petley @ FMUK Consulting.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Be careful - backup files will be removed”

Written on: 20/01/2014

I uploaded a number of backup files to their platform in November (my previous host was going bust and I needed to mvoe away from them quickly) and came to make changes to them today to switch them on and discovered they had all disappeared. I ask where they have gone and told its against "terms of service" to store backup files on their servers. Be careful they will remove any backup files WITHOUT WARNING and you can't get them back!!! While packages they offer might seem good value for… Read Full Review

By Uwhsupport

Written on: 23/01/2014

Dear customer

Whilst it is against our terms and conditions to use the hosting for storage / archiving purposes we do appreciate that people need to take backups. These are key when upgrading a website or migrating from another host.

In your case, the backup files were from another host, but were in a directory un-used for 2 months. These were picked on our regular server audits and cleaned up.

We hold 5 days backups ourselves so if something is ever removed, it can always be recovered if it requested within 5 days but in this case it was quite some time before you needed the files so this opportunity was lost. This was an unusual scenario in that you were moving from another host urgently, yet didn’t restore the sites for two months so the files will have looked like they were left over from a completed migration.

We regret any inconvenience this has caused you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“REMEMBER THE SAYING " PAY CHEAP- GET CHEAP "”

Written on: 03/01/2014

Well, what can i say. i have only been with unlimited hosting for about two months. and can honestly say they are the worse. If you only have one website that requires no special features, databases, PHP etc then you will be fine here, but don't expect any help if things go wrong. I have several hosting accounts with different companies for fail safe reasons, and a good job i have. The support team ( i laugh as i write that) are terrible and no help at all. They no nothing about hosting… Read Full Review

By Uwhsupport

Written on: 06/01/2014

Sir/ Madam, due to the anonymous nature of this review, we are unsure who you are and to what issue you refer.

The vast majority of our customers are small businesses and almost every website these days requires php/databases etc. I want to assure that the problems you have experienced are not typical as you can see from the majority of the feedback here on review centre and other sites. If you wish to talk to us further about this please contact us or raise a support ticket via your client login credentials and we can try to get to the bottom of any issues you may have.

With regards support, we pride ourselves on responding quickly and being as helpfully as we can. We would be very interested to see the responses that you have received that have caused you to lose confidence in the support in this way so we can ensure this experience is not repeated.

We are keen to work with you to understand exactly what has gone wrong and why we endeavor to keep our customers happy with the service provided, so please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Reply to this comment

Dazzer39's Comment

Written on: 06/01/2014

Sorry for the Rant,
But it took over 4 days to get some PHP config done, And it still doesn't work now.

Hence i have had to move this particular website to another hosting company. so now i pay double.

Ticket #245218

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
overview