Sykes Cottages Reviews - www.sykescottages.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.4 / 5
128
62% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Sykes Cottages www.sykescottages.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

“Howe End Cottage”

Written on: 25/06/2017 by JaneBillington (1 review written)

Wonderful cottage a real gem. Very well equipped and so clean. A real credit to the owner. We found the owner to be very helpful and phoned to check all was ok.i would recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a comfortable break in Kirkbymoorside… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Wonderful cottage”

Written on: 11/05/2017 by dbMcCallum384 (1 review written)

We have stayed in Chimney Cottage, Lingen, twice now and really feel at home there. It is a lovely, relaxing cottage in a beautiful part of the world, and we were made to feel very welcome. Would certainly recommend it to friends and family. It is certainly the best self-catering cottage we have stayed in. Cannot fault it!… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“quirky set in a delightful village”

Written on: 04/05/2017 by Lilianab452 (1 review written)

The Willows is set in a delightful village with lovely views & decent garden The holiday was for a family get together with six adults & three children eldist age five, there was ample room to accommodate us all with three large bedrooms two with both double & single beds ( youngest was in travel cot ).A good sized kitcheen diner . The Willows was ideal for young children as down stairs furnishing was far from precious . Possitives upstairs, Lovely spacious bedrooms with period furnishing &… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“hound dog”

Written on: 31/12/2016 by anitakeane (2 reviews written)

beatiful cottage nice location but certainly not pet freindly cream carpets white bed linen yes we have this at home but its different when its someone elses this was booked as xmas break only five days could not extend into new year but lived on knife edge for whole of five days in case dog got anything dirty thank god he is well behaved but this property should not be advertised as pet freindly plus you are woken at 3 every morning to the sound of a pack of dogs howling out the back every day… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Cottage owners avoid Sykes”

Written on: 20/06/2016 by JovanniTorres427 (1 review written)

We let Sykes market our holiday cottage during our first year of operation. We later realised that they have massively under-valued the property. They have failed to maximise revenue. The number of bookings has been good but that is because they are selling it SO cheap. For example, some weeks you can have our cottage for a week for the same price as a pair of tents in the local camp site! They charge a 39 pound booking fee which means that their commission including VAT is actually 33% of… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Robboh's Comment

Written on: 22/08/2016

I quite agree with this. Being new to the game and not knowing any better my wife and I used Sykes for our first year or so of operation but the tariffs they set were so low we were busy fools. I challenged them on many occasions but with no joy. One of their agents came out to visit the property while it was being refurbished and set the tariffs without coming out to visit the finished product. Yes they were successful in getting bookings but after they took their 20% + VAT commission we were only left an average of £47 per night for a house that sleeps up to eight. Because they were advertising it at such low rates we were hampered in advertising it directly on other sites. Since we left Sykes our average nightly tariff has increased threefold (less bookings but far more income!). It has taken us a while to get where we are as Sykes kept on advertising our property in direct competition with us on Trip Advisor for two years after we left them - at a much lower rate.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Sharp Practice, AVOID!”

Written on: 31/03/2016 by Hickman346 (1 review written)

Firm top heavy and will take much from you. They operate a calendar system that will leave you open to be tricked by them as follows. They use "Sharp practice" and there is no leeway or dispensation: You must inform them when you have a booking not from Sykes. You suddenly receive a last minute Sykes booking on the dates you are full. You call them to say you are full. They say they will incur penalties and relocation charges. You say you told them you were booked, but if you cannot prove… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“totally agree with previous cottage owner ”

Written on: 03/07/2015 by jellybabies (1 review written)

When skyes get it wrong they get it very wrong and their claims of they never forget it is not their cottage is rubbish they make judgements and decisions about your property behind your back On glassdoor it appears they do not treat their staff any better. A great shame it could be a nice company… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bannservices's Response to jellybabies's Review

Written on: 28/10/2015

Unfortunately I let one of my properties through Hogans/Sykes. They impose low rental rates to increase their turnover and cream off 30% of what the holidaymaker actually pays. When you cancel the contract they high jack your property name any any google search of your property name will be directed to their website which will state that you are no longer renting and please look at the other properties they have on their books. I agree the ladies answering the phone are very nice but the owner/ business model is unethical.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“WARNING! Be careful of property description!”

Written on: 10/06/2015

The Isle of Wight property I rented ('Manana', Shanklin) was down a bumpy rutted track with a steep incline to the cottage. Whilst I was prepared to accept this, I was not impressed by the wrecked cars and other assorted junk littering the forecourt. The garage was unusable as it was full of broken kitchen fittings. The surroundings of the cottage were unswept and littered with broken garden furniture, an old and decrepit greenhouse and generally unkempt appearance - not exactly the welcome I… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Recommend only to people you hate!”

Written on: 07/05/2015 by Maldonadoko494 (1 review written)

You arrange a holiday cottage with them, then after you have paid they cancel. They do offer a replacement but nothing like the original. So you can either: * cancel, losing your holiday * pay a premium to "upgrade" * take the rubbish replacement they offer that just happens to be the same cost as your original accommodation but I suspect costs them half as much or earns them three times the commission! So in conclusion, recommend them to people you hate and watch them suffer… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“poor customer service ”

Written on: 28/04/2015

we had confusion over a booking date and basically had to leave a day early. The customer service was appalling. The woman on the phone made us feel stupid. I would never use them again… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Don't trust them - don't use them!”

Written on: 25/04/2015 by Myrickui112 (1 review written)

Booked a cottage 6 months in advance. Fully paid for it, only to be told 6 weeks before that it was "unavailable". Do be fair we were offered a couple of other places, but these were totally unsuitable, nowhere near the booked location and definitely bottom end of the market. I was left with concert tickets I couldn't use or sell, fully paid trains tickets and no where to stay! My recommendation - don't rely on, book a hotel instead… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Tried to charge double rent”

Written on: 16/10/2014 by CayleeKeegan (1 review written)

We have been trying to book a holiday house in the UK with Sykes from Australia. Our time is limited and dates fixed. The property we wanted was not available for the Fri-Sat of the week we wanted but available from the Monday. which was fine for us. So we requested 7 days Monday to Monday. The weekly price for this house is 1717. This is what they tried to charge us for 7 days and their reason "The price for Monday 22nd to Monday 29th June is: Rent: £3335.00 Booking fee: £35.00 Total cost… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Wendyclink's Comment

Written on: 14/11/2014

How much did you pay? You said they tried to charge double

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tlcbd16's Comment

Written on: 28/01/2015

This is a standard policy.. why would the property owner be happy to lose a week revenue because you wanted to stay outside of their standard changeover?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“yr efial, harlech north wales”

Written on: 15/10/2014 by renatemaree (1 review written)

i stayed here with my family for a week in August. the house is lovely and well equipped and quite quirky. there are beautiful views of snowdonia and the beach from the back bedroom . We sat out in the evening and watched the sun setting in the distance. Beautiful. we found it was an ideal for a holiday, with plenty of easy walking only a short drive away, the beach was ideal for an evening stroll and my husband was happy because he manged to play two rounds of golf at St. david's golf club. We… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“SYKES COTTAGES SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN”

Written on: 25/09/2014 by FlackR (1 review written)

We've stayed in two of their properties. The first one was dirty and in a dangerous condition - water leaking from a bath onto electrics, the ceiling under the bath actually sagging. We reported the problems and then went back the following year as it was large enough for our family and in a good location. Nothing fixed - in fact worse - an upstairs window frame was falling out and the highchair collapsed on a 1 year old baby. We reported back and all I got was a response saying they were… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Don't want to know”

Written on: 18/09/2014 by Melaniem354 (1 review written)

Without going into any details, there were so many problems with the cottage we stayed in, though this isn't the basis of my review. My issue with Sykes Cottages is that when it comes to complaining they refer you directly to the cottage owner, stating that Sykes only act as an agent and will not get involved in resolving any issues. As all the cottage owner has to lose is you never retuning, they don't care and therefore don't do anything. If the onus was on Sykes however then they would… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Wendyclink's Comment

Written on: 14/11/2014

It works both ways. As an owner, the Agency does nothing, no backing what so ever from them, even although they sell insurance to the clients. When your lovely property gets destroyed, the cottage goes from a 4 star to almost being vandalised,this is after only 6 bookings at one week each.
The Agent wants big money when the owner tells them to take it off the booking list. They don't care if the property now is NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE
The are still willing to get the money in and my god, it's the lions share, believe me. - COTTAGES 4You are not decent people , not fair, not honest , couldn't care about the owners or the holiday clients

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“shocking holiday accommodation”

Written on: 31/08/2014

Booked a week in cornwall and what a disappointment. Nothing like the description or pictures on sykes website, do they never check these properties? It was dirty,damp,ugly outside,piles of rubbish and old electrical items piled up outside house. Very overpriced and poor quality at half the price. Sykes claim to be very concerned and pursuing the owner but over a week after our return and despite numerous phone calls still no joy. Very very unhappy… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Look out for extortionate charges”

Written on: 30/08/2014 by Morrisonth277 (1 review written)

Have not been on our holiday yet but I am furious at being charged £7.50 x 2 for paying by credit card. I can only say that because of this I will not book another holiday with them. I have never heard of a company charge for using a CC. This is a bad practice, please get rid of it. Going by other reviews their customer service is appalling also, I just hope I do not need to get in touch with them if things go wrong!!!… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Smitherz_Ollerz123's Comment

Written on: 14/10/2014

All holiday companies I have booked with, both abroad and in the UK have a credit card charge - lowcostholidays charge 2.5% per payment which when you are paying for a £1,500 holiday, can work out a far bit more.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bannservices's Comment

Written on: 28/10/2015

They also charge 15% commission to the owner and an enrolment and annual subscription. 30% of what the holidaymaker pays is their whack. When the owner leaves they bushwhacked the property name so if you actually wanted to return that property your google search will redirect you to their site where they will say he property is no longer renting. I cancelled my property with them 2 years ago and still Google refers it to their site. I think that is unethical.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“Customer service questionnaire reply”

Written on: 09/08/2014 by Welshmountaingoat (1 review written)

We stayed at a railway cottage in North Wales in April 2014. The break was quite pleasant but all the pleasantries of the time were broken by- A random fire alarm, A very steep incline to the cottage, covered up to 6 times a day, Could not find a pub or shop within 1 mile, All the recycling bins were overfilled with the trash from previous occupants, I could recount what they ate or drank, down to wine type, And finally we had several visitations from our little furry friends, who had a… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sykescottages's Response to Welshmountaingoat's Review

Written on: 15/08/2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for getting in touch with Sykes Cottages and for providing us with feedback from your recent holiday. We are very sorry to hear that on this occasion, the cottage did not live up to your expectations, especially as other customers’ recent feedback for the property has been positive.

We take feedback from our customers very seriously and whenever possible, we use this feedback to help improve our procedures and the services we offer. We do our upmost to ensure that our cottages are kept to a high standard and match the descriptions provided on our website, and we would like to sincerely apologise if you feel that this hasn’t been the case with this particular cottage.

Please be assured that we have passed on your concerns to the owner of the cottage so that any issues can be rectified for future visitors.

Kind regards,
Sykes Cottages

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Lovely cottage but terrible service from Sykes”

Written on: 25/07/2014 by veLockhart376 (1 review written)

I found a holiday let through Sykes Cottages and showed interest on the website. They immediately called me back and were super helpful. Until I paid. Then I couldn't get them to call me or answer my calls. They misled me on a number of occasions and sent confusing contradictory emails. When I finally spoke to a person about this she was stroppy, condescending and unhelpful. The cottage I found was lovely but was also available through other letting agencies. If you want pleasant and helpful… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Be Careful BAD company”

Written on: 15/05/2014 by ksa9022 (2 reviews written)

Hi All I rented a cottage through Sykes last Easter holiday 2014 , it was horrible experience to me and my family . When I checked in , I found the cottage without heating in two bedrooms , we slept in the cold weather in Lake District area. I contacted Sykes Cottages to resolve this issue , but unfortunately they referred me to the land lord who was trying to waste my time until my holiday ended. The PRICE was significantly HIGHER than any other cottage in the area, my friend hired similar… Read Full Review

Click here to view holiday offers on Expedia
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sykescottages's Response to ksa9022's Review

Written on: 20/05/2014

Dear Customer,

We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay over Easter 2014.

We would like an opportunity to put things right, but from the information provided, we have been unable to locate your customer record. At your earliest convenience, please can you contact out Customer Services team, who will be more than happy to look into the issues that you have raised.

Sykes Cottages

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Wendyclink's Response to ksa9022's Review

Written on: 14/11/2014

Have you considered getting in touch with the BBC1 team for Dom Littlewood

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sykescottages's Response to ksa9022's Review

Written on: 21/05/2014

Dear Customer,

We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay over Easter 2014.

We would like an opportunity to put things right, but from the information provided, we have been unable to locate your customer record. At your earliest convenience, please can you contact out Customer Services team, who will be more than happy to look into the issues that you have raised.

Sykes Cottages

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ksa9022's reply to Sykescottages's Comment

Written on: 21/05/2014

I have contacted your Customer Services team many times , but they couldn't do any thing except offering small amount of money which is completely unacceptable.

My information is here :

Customer Ref: 1552154
Booking Ref: G96PQ-14

Thank you

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ksa9022's reply to Sykescottages's Comment

Written on: 21/05/2014

Customer Ref: 1552154
Booking Ref: G96PQ-14

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 5 Comments
overview
View holidays on Expedia