Sykes Cottages Reviews - www.sykescottages.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.6 / 5
68% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Sykes Cottages www.sykescottages.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“Lovely cottage but terrible service from Sykes”

Written on: 25/07/2014 by veLockhart376 (1 review written)

I found a holiday let through Sykes Cottages and showed interest on the website. They immediately called me back and were super helpful. Until I paid. Then I couldn't get them to call me or answer my calls. They misled me on a number of occasions and sent confusing contradictory emails. When I finally spoke to a person about this she was stroppy, condescending and unhelpful. The cottage I found was lovely but was also available through other letting agencies. If you want pleasant and helpful… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Be Careful BAD company”

Written on: 15/05/2014 by ksa9022 (2 reviews written)

Hi All I rented a cottage through Sykes last Easter holiday 2014 , it was horrible experience to me and my family . When I checked in , I found the cottage without heating in two bedrooms , we slept in the cold weather in Lake District area. I contacted Sykes Cottages to resolve this issue , but unfortunately they referred me to the land lord who was trying to waste my time until my holiday ended. The PRICE was significantly HIGHER than any other cottage in the area, my friend hired similar… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sykescottages's Response to ksa9022's Review

Written on: 20/05/2014

Dear Customer,

We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay over Easter 2014.

We would like an opportunity to put things right, but from the information provided, we have been unable to locate your customer record. At your earliest convenience, please can you contact out Customer Services team, who will be more than happy to look into the issues that you have raised.

Sykes Cottages

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sykescottages's Response to ksa9022's Review

Written on: 21/05/2014

Dear Customer,

We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay over Easter 2014.

We would like an opportunity to put things right, but from the information provided, we have been unable to locate your customer record. At your earliest convenience, please can you contact out Customer Services team, who will be more than happy to look into the issues that you have raised.

Sykes Cottages

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ksa9022's reply to Sykescottages's Comment

Written on: 21/05/2014

I have contacted your Customer Services team many times , but they couldn't do any thing except offering small amount of money which is completely unacceptable.

My information is here :

Customer Ref: 1552154
Booking Ref: G96PQ-14

Thank you

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ksa9022's reply to Sykescottages's Comment

Written on: 21/05/2014

Customer Ref: 1552154
Booking Ref: G96PQ-14

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Beware! No quality control. No refunds!”

Written on: 05/02/2014

I rented 4 holiday cottages through Sykes in the latter part of 2013. The first was dirty, and had a bare concrete floor in the living room. I informed Sykes, but no goodwill gesture was forthcoming. I then rented a further two cottages, which thankfully were kept in great condition by fastidious owners. For Christmas, I booked another cottage for two weeks. I arrived late on the 23rd, and despite the cottage being advertised with off-street parking, I was asked to park on the road. During… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sykescottages's Comment

Written on: 05/02/2014

Dear Customer,

We regret that your most recent holiday with Sykes was not all that you hoped it would be.

We take the quality of our properties very seriously and measures are in place to ensure properties are kept at a high standard or improved as soon as possible, should any issues arise. The property in question has a history of consistently positive feedback.

We are sorry that you chose to leave the property before we had an opportunity to rectify your concerns but in recognition of your disappointment we offered a refund of £540 (nearly 80% of the total cost) on the 24th of December, the same day your complaint was received.

Further, in January a refund for the full amount was offered in writing. Perhaps you were unaware of this? This option is still open to you, should you wish to take it. Our customer services team are able to action this immediately for you and can be contacted 9am - 9:30pm daily.

Sykes Cottages

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ksa9022's Comment

Written on: 21/05/2014

Customer Ref: 1552154
Booking Ref: G96PQ-14

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“ cottage owner with sykes previously”

Written on: 29/01/2014

they give ecery assistance to ensore you sign up with them if things go wrong you are on your own. The cottages may be called hand picked but basically that means nothing as all that is required to appear under this heading is apply to them. Sykes cottages DO NOT inspect the cottages again not even on an annual basis Hear various report of bad treatment of customers from Sykes cottages I have reported them to trading standards can only recommend that all who have a problem do the samee until… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Excellent pre-sales, poor post-sales support”

Written on: 29/11/2013 by Limbrey (1 review written)

I've got to say, the sales team at Sykes have really got it figured out. They're helpful and flexible, great opening hours, and can get things done very quickly. Post-sales, less so. They don't offer refunds under any circumstances. If you purchase the insurance from them, they offer no assistance in working through the claim (you're on your own mate!). The chief issue with the combination of these policies is, in the event of you needing to cancel, Sykes offer absolutely no help, and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Superb Value For Money”

Written on: 17/11/2013

From the moment we arrived it was clear that this was going to be a very enjoyable holiday. The accommodation was spotless, the facilities were first class, the welcome hamper was better than expected. If we had not travelled so far to see Yorkshire we would have been very happy to stay in the cottage and garden for the whole week… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“House with a view”

Written on: 15/11/2013

The house was immaculate with comfy beds (important) and nothing lacking to make sure we were comfortable. We were fortunate in having a glorious week in June so were able to take advantage of the wonderful coastal walk at the bottom of the field. The sea views were quite wonderful. My friend and I agreed that, given the weather, the situation could not have been bettered. We did have to walk across a shared access path belonging to the neighbours, but we found them all very friendly… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“good value holiday accommodation - easy to use”

Written on: 14/11/2013 by jbdales (1 review written)

Easy to select holiday accommodation, with lots of variety - farms, flats, cottages at the sea or in the heart of our great countryside. Easy to review choices and a price to suit all pockets… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“great cottage”

Written on: 14/11/2013

The cottage was a home from home! there was everything we required and more. The beds were comfortable, the facilities excellent, in a very quiet and secluded spot. Virtually equal distance from Keswick and Cockermouth this was as far north in the Lake district as we would want to be. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Farm Cottage in Rural Dorset ”

Written on: 14/11/2013

Mulberry Cottage is a semi-detached cottage created from a former barn.It was disappointing to discover the farm now consists of a small duckpond and a few geese.For those expecting to feel a farming atmosphere it will not happen. The main access to the property is very close to the other property so that you need to establish good relations with your neighbour as you also need to share the barbecue facilities which are now neglected and only inviting to the dedicated. The backyard of the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“My cottage holiday”

Written on: 14/11/2013

We have had 4 cottages in various locations up to now and am looking forward to the next one. All of them have been clean and well equipped, warm and comfortable. We had no problems in booking, and would certainly recommend Sykes cottages for a relaxing holiday to anyone… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Cottage at Newport Pembrokeshire”

Written on: 14/11/2013

We had a very good holiday. All the arrangements and booking process worked well. The cottage was well located with reasonable space for 2 with all necessary equipment. All in all good value for money… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Spacious Cottage”

Written on: 14/11/2013

Spacious very well equipped cottage, only thing missing was WiFi but this is understandable in this rural location. We were with our daughter son in law and 2 young children, the layout of the cottage was such that our bedroom was at the far end of it whereas the other 2 bedroom were together with a door separating them from the rest of the cottage, we had wonderful undisturbed nights. The location just off the A170 made it easy to visit York, Castle Howard etc Very helpful owner and a real… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Superb holiday hideaway”

Written on: 13/11/2013 by vacs4all (1 review written)

After a career involving a lot of world wide travel, using top hotels, plus many long/short haul holidays & many motorhome miles, cruises & the like,I was,to say the least, apprehensive at the thought of a cottage holiday.I can assure you my concerns were completely groundless.The cottage allows you complete freedom to do what you like,when you like with superb facilities/surroundings/accommodation included.I have been retired 25 years,have booked the same cottage already for June 2014,the 7th… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“great location with great views”

Written on: 13/11/2013

The location and views were perfect for us and overall the cottage had great space and some good facilities ie kitchen and bbq. The dissapointment for us was that it was a little tired and the small downstairs bedroom was damp and smelled musty with the essential use of a dehumidifier provided. Overall this didnt spoil the great holiday we enjoyed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Very easy to deal with and a good website”

Written on: 13/11/2013

Sykes is a good holiday company. The staff deal with any queries and generally phone back when they say they will. I like to book my holiday online normally but when I am travelling to Ireland I need to speak with Sykes directly to book the ferry. I would prefer to be able to do this online but have always found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. When I look to book a holiday they are my first choice as I have never had bad accommodation with them. We travel with dogs so the filter… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Easy,Friendly,Service”

Written on: 13/11/2013

An easy to use site, plenty of information about cottages and local area. Photos give a nice view of each property, have used Sykes on several occasions and each time have been very pleased with the quality. Friendly telephone staff are there to help if you have any problems with a booking. Would recommend Sykes to everyone. Already looking for next years holiday… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Happy Holidays”

Written on: 12/11/2013

Have been completly satisfied with the booking facilities and return emails from Sykes Cottages. The descriptions of property have always been as stated on arrival. Would recommend company and will book with them again, when I need a holiday cottage… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“stress free”

Written on: 12/11/2013

we enjoyed our stay at horseshoe cottage [booked again ] no petite restrictions just common-sense needed left to our own devices but help and advice given if needed. price was right and we prefer Saturday to Saturday bookings… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Irish accommodation”

Written on: 12/11/2013

I began looking for cottages for our visit to Ireland at the beginning of 2013 . I chose to go with Sykes from recommendations of friends. I was not disappointed, the selection was great, prices were fair and the staff were more than helpful. We settled for a lovely cottage just outside Quin in County Clare and on reflection it was a decision that I will never forget or regret. The review I made just after our visit is one that I would still subscribe to now. If you can get the accommodation… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview