Penylan Country Lodge, Chepstow Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.2 / 5
25
80% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Penylan Country Lodge, Chepstow - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Penylan Country Lodge, Chepstow

Penylan Country Lodge, Chepstow

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“First kennel experience for my pup!!”

Written on: 22/05/2016

I would highly recommend Penylan for anybody who has got a puppy that hasn't experienced a kennel environment before. My pup spent five days there and has come back home happy and healthy. The kennels are lovely and the staff very welcoming and helpful. It isn't the cheapest kennel around, but if like me you want the best, then this is the place to go. I wouldn't hesitate in going back and I'm sure that my pup wouldn't object either. Thank you Penylan for making out first kennel experience easy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“One Happy Dog!”

Written on: 12/05/2016

My little dog stayed here for the first time in April, he had been for 2 doggy day care days prior to his 4 night stay.I cant speak highly enough of this kennels.I did alot or research and visited a few other establishments before deciding on Penylan. I had also recevied many excellent recommendations. My dog was really happy and settled in quickly it was a joy to see his photo on facebook too. I rang to make sure he was ok after the first day and felt very reassured that he was fine after… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dreadful place”

Written on: 01/04/2016 by PriscillaWhitaker (1 review written)

This kennel I have used a few times. I would have considered myself a valued customer having 3 dogs. The first time everything was very smooth.....now the service is appalling and quite frankly I will be reporting them to the Council. In my opinion, based on my experiences there, they are not the caring kennels they would have you believe.
The last time they said they did not bathe my dogs as they were allergic!!!!!
I have now issued a County Court Summons against the Kennel for breach of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Penylan1's Comment

Written on: 25/04/2016

Hello,
If you have issues you would like to discuss with us please give us a ring.
I'm afraid we don't recognise your name with three dogs as your not in our system under this name. We like to resolve issues with people wherever we can and we'd be more than happy to help.

(The owner and manager of the business are mature ladies and were happy to be called 'young girl's'.)

Many thanks
Penylan

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sue.meechan19's Comment

Written on: 05/05/2016

We are disputing this County Court claim.
The facts behind this claim are that we would not board this ladies dog while it was in whelp, we do not accept pregnant bitches into our care for the welfare of the unborn puppies as pregnancy is a delicate and important time.
The dog was 4 weeks gone after a planned mating and this lady rang us up the day before they were due to come in boarding with us to ask if we would still take the female and we said no due to the fact that we never take Bitches in whelp.
This customer has used our kennels 13 times over the last couple of years with no complaints and yet when we show compassion for her female to stay with her while she is in whelp she is more interested in her holiday.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kirstys345's Comment

Written on: 05/05/2016

I am afraid this is not true. I have not used your kennel 13 times. Also I was rung by your kennel girl on 26th March to confirm the booking. I informed her of the up to date conditions of all dogs. No one said you did not take bitches in whelp. 99% of kennels do. To be told that I had no boarding accommodation on the night before they were due to go in was breach of contract. We could have made alternative arrangements if you had told us. At the time there was nothing on your website. To be prevented from going on holiday for someone who has an incurable illness was devastating. And financially we lost over £1000.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kirstys345's Comment

Written on: 05/05/2016

Also FYI there was only a remote possibility of her being in whelp. The fact that you are a kennel means you are in business largely because people have to go away for a variety of reasons and one of these is a holiday.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★★★★★

“Fun time for dogs ”

Written on: 13/12/2015 by Clark3 (1 review written)

Penylan Country Kennels Rocks! Hector has stayed here on many occasions and loves it! As we draw near he is always desperate to get out of the car. When I book him in, he is up on his back legs with front paws on the desk as if urging me to hurry up so that he can get on with his stay. The fact that he goes off without so much as a backward glance is reassuring and proof that he is delighted to be here.. When I collect him he has been bathed and smells gorgeous. When he stays for longer than… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Clark3's Response to Clark3's Review

Written on: 31/05/2016

I recently collected my boy, Hector after his seven day stay. He greeted me enthusiastically, looking very fluffy after his bath. As we drove away he began whining while looking out of the back window - clearly an indication that he'd had a good time and wasn't ready to leave. When we checked in , the girls were as friendly and welcoming as ever. They always comply with my requests but this time went above and beyond the call of duty - for that I am most grateful. Leaving your pet in kennels is a question of trust. I trust Penylan implicitly to keep Hector safe, happy and provide plenty of cuddles. You go girls - keep doing what you're doing!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Would highly recommend ”

Written on: 14/10/2015 by Camrond236 (1 review written)

Just collected our 2 girls where they were boarded for 16 nights. Not cheap but well worth it! We live at least 40 miles away so it's a far distance to travel each time they are boarded however, we continue to go there due to it being highly recommended by a vet in Cardiff who has since sadly passed away. The girls had had a bath and smelt lovely before being picked up this morning. Shared accommodation and have put on weight!! The staff put photos on Face Book as promised while we were away… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“What a fantastic place!!!!!!”

Written on: 29/09/2015 by Iyana177 (1 review written)

I cannot write a review that does this marvellous place justice! To call it a kennels is wrong when quite clearly it is a hotel for our canine and feline friends! A remarkable place with warm, friendly staff who cannot do enough to help you out, my dogs have never once bothered to say good bye to keep as they charge through the door and off to their room. I've been down to see the facilities and they are top rate, clean and spacious with lovely views into the countryside. They never fail to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Best kennels and grooming”

Written on: 11/08/2015 by Millerdm (1 review written)

I have two large dogs, a Russian black terrier and an Italian spinione and they board at pentlandite a couple of times a year. They absolutely love going there as the staff make such a fuss of them and really go the extra mile. The place is spotlessly clean and my dogs come out healthy, happy and smelling lovely every time. No lingering kennel smell ever. They also have haircuts 3 or 4 times a year and again they love it and the groomers do exactly as you ask. A dog never lies and if they… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“great”

Written on: 14/03/2015 by LuisBuchanan144 (1 review written)

well I work there and from experience I thought that it was the best dog kennels I have been to. very clean great service! care with the dogs… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Dog had bad stomach after stay at Penylan”

Written on: 08/09/2014 by GRACIEF (4 reviews written)

My dog has stayed here twice and appeared to be very happy there. The last time however he had an upset stomach for about 3 days afterwards. I put it down to a change of food but 2 of my neighbours have said their dogs have also been ill after a stay there. I am hoping it was down to the use of disenfectant rather than down to poor hygiene… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Fantastic Grooming Salon”

Written on: 02/06/2014 by RayneWhalen291 (1 review written)

I have had my dog groomed three times before at three different places and every time she has come back shaved off even though I left specific instructions for the style I wanted. I have just taken her to Penylan where the grooming lady listened carefully to my requests. My dog now looks amazing, even better than I imagined. To top it off I even got a 20% discount for being a new customer. Brilliant value… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Dogs don't tell lies.”

Written on: 31/05/2014 by Leilam357 (1 review written)

My dog is obsessed with Penylan Country Lodge. We only have to drive past the entrance on our way to Newport and he starts squeaking excitedly. He actually boards there twice a year and every time he drags me across the car park to get to their door. You could not ask for a better recommendation… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“My dog is never going back!”

Written on: 01/05/2014 by notamoaner80 (1 review written)

I have left my dog there a few times. He was always happy to go back. He just recently spent a week there and came out a different dog. Usually very happy, bouncy and full of energy (like every 1 year old labrador) this time he came back skinny (after only one week!) very sad and scared. Also looks like he'd hurt his back somehow (pulling away when touched). Its been 3 days now and he is getting better (more lively, happier etc.) but can't help but think he was treated very badly. He is never… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dgjfox's Response to notamoaner80's Review

Written on: 01/08/2014

What did the kennels have to say about it ?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Industrial kennels, cold customer service”

Written on: 12/04/2014 by Yummyjaffacaje (1 review written)

Leaving a dog or cat at a kennel is a last resort. My dog was very scared on arrival and whilst i got to see my cats enviroment we were never invited to see where our dog had been taken to. We had no opportunity to say goodbye or review her environment. Very disappointed and now plagued with guilt! There is also a guilt tax if £11.50 for a 45 minute woodland walk. I earn £10 per hour so how a dog walker can charge over £15 an hour is amazing. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“EXCELLENT VALUE”

Written on: 16/02/2014 by JigsC (1 review written)

My cat spent just under five weeks at Penylan Country Lodge while we were away in South Africa. Initially I was apprehensive as she has never been away from me before. I dropped her off & she actually ignored me. During my holiday I was pleasantly surprised to receive pictures of her on Facebook so I was able to see how she was doing. This made me relax more & I was able to really enjoy my holiday. The day I went to pick her up she was fast asleep & I don't think too happy that I woke her up… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“A PROFESSIONAL KENNELS THAT CARES”

Written on: 16/01/2014

I STARTED TAKING MY TWO BORDER COLLIES TO PENYLAN LODGE 10 YEARS AGO IN THE SECOND YEAR WHEN WE WERE ON HOLIDAY MAGGIE DEVELOPED LITTLE MOUNTAINS PUSHING THROUGH THE SKIN ON HER FACE WHICH REQUIRED TREATMENT FROM THE KENNELS VET.WHEN WE WENT TO COLLECT HER THEY OWNER EXPLAINED THAT THE VET COULD NOT BE SURE WHAT CAUSED THIS REACTION GAVE US ALL THE PAPERWORK SHOWING WHAT TREATMENT HAD BEEN GIVEN AND THE NUMBER FOR US TO TAKE MAGGIE BACK IN A WEEK OR SO FOR A CHECK.THEY HAD PAID THE £166 BILL… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“amazing kennels”

Written on: 20/09/2013

Our dog have stayed here 6times now and evertime they come away happy and well look after !!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“BEWARE !!”

Written on: 01/07/2012 by philsuecool (1 review written)

BEWARE !! of seasonal tarriff charges . Were not warned of 5 day min charge over a 2 day weekend stay in High Season, and ended up paying £64:75 instead of £12:95 per day. Good Kennell but not at there rates ! Plenty of other good kennells that wont rip you off !!! (Thought that only travell agents were out to screw you in high season )now we have to put up with obstropolous kennel owner cashing in Recomend: Allt Farm LLantrissant near Usk NP15 1LG Ty- Coch Cwmbran… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jbmeechan's Response to philsuecool's Review

Written on: 06/06/2013

Dear Philsuecool, We have a minimum charge on Friday and Saturday bookings during High Season to discourage weekenders so that the kennels are available for clients who wish to make longer bookings. We always inform customers of the minimum charge at the time of booking. As a result of this misunderstanding we will be happy to credit the difference towards any future booking you make with us.
Brian Meechan.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I have been leaving my Toy Poodle at Penylan Country...”

Written on: 09/05/2011 by pinkpoodle8 (1 review written)

I have been leaving my Toy Poodle at Penylan Country Lodge for 7yrs. I live in Cardiff and am happy to travel the extra distance knowing that my Dog will be happy and well cared for.
Over the years when she has suffered tummy problems during her stay they have cooked her fresh chicken breasts to try and tempt her to eat, nothing is too much trouble for the wonderful staff. She always comes home clean and fluffy and smelling sweet (unlike some other previous experiences with different kennels)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“We left our little cavalier here christmas time, and I...”

Written on: 29/03/2011

We left our little cavalier here christmas time, and I would have no problems leaving him here again, this is a top class place and you will have no worrys about the welfare of your loved one.

The grooming is also very good as well… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“We've been bringing our dogs here for years and...”

Written on: 05/09/2010

We've been bringing our dogs here for years and although we live over the other side of the Severn bridge wouldn't take them anywhere else. Penylan is friendly, clean and the people who work there all genuinely love the animals. Really, this is a very special place!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview