Mark Group Reviews - www.markgroup.co.uk

★★☆☆☆
2.3 / 5
33.0% of users recommend this

Description (provided by business)

We’re Mark Group and we love saving you money, helping you stay warm and toasty and reducing your carbon footprint all at the same time. As the UK’s leading energy saving experts, we’re great at helping you to take a ‘whole home’ approach to energy efficiency. And we definitely know our stuff; since 1974, we’ve helped over two million homes and businesses lose less (through insulation), use less (through efficient heating systems) and generate more (through renewable technologies).
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Mark Group www.markgroup.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Mark Group www.markgroup.co.uk

Mark Group www.markgroup.co.uk
Mark Group www.markgroup.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Problems with damp ”

Written on: 28/08/2014 by LoganEwing1975 (1 review written)

We went back to this company at the beginning of this year after being advised the cavity wall insulation was causing a damp problem. The frame round the door arch was rusty and corroded and the paint on the wall was blistering and mould had formed in areas. Eventually after having to make several phone calls an engineer was sent out who did his report and took photos, nothing was then heard for a couple of months until we were told another engineer would be out to have another look, it was… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't Use ”

Written on: 24/08/2014 by Caseycc278 (1 review written)

Mark Group sent a representative over in February offering free loft insulation. I mentioned that my loft was fully boarded and that I had been advised by a more reputable company that fully boarded lofts were not being insulated by the government. The Mark Group rep advised that insulation was being provided for fully boarded loft so I went ahead and allowed him to assess my home. The following week, another mark group rep came over to take measurements and to view the loft and he gave a date… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“No Show”

Written on: 16/08/2014

Very pushy door to door salesman and cold callers ignored notes on the door that clearly stated they were not welcome. They then told a neighbour that I was rude and swore at them which was not in any way true as I politely told them I was busy and the notes on the door clearly spelt this out. On the day of the installation between 8 - 12 I took the morning off (self employed single parent) they did not show up or call to say they were not coming. When I called they said the paperwork was… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 21/08/2014

Hello. We are sorry to read of the issues you have encountered during your time with us. Our Customer Care Team will be keen to resolve this for you. We have sent you a direct message should you have anything further you wish to add while investigate. We hope this helps.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“I would love to write a proper review but....”

Written on: 15/08/2014 by TristonCampbell (1 review written)

I have now been speaking with Mark Group for over a year, it's been a year because in 2013 they sold me all the promises that they could fulfil a job only to be told they couldn't. Luckily they were sending out an engineer to find a resolution but, having taken an afternoon off work, they never showed..... But, wait, I got a phone call for them in July this year, full of promises, apologies, couldn't understand why he never showed up, really sorry, never happen again..... So bygones being… Read Full Review

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 18/08/2014

You are right, use them at your peril!!!!!!!!!

Reply to this comment

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 18/08/2014

Hello. We're sorry to read of the problems you have had during your time with us. We understand this is not the first time we have sought to resolve this for you but we would appreciate the opportunity to put this right. We have sent you a message regarding this. We hope to hear from you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“My advice is to never let these people step foot...”

Written on: 14/08/2014

My advice is to never let these people step foot inside your home. Mark Group kindly filled our timber framed house with CWI which it was not suitable for. The house as it stood was not mortgageable or insurable. They then sent an extraction team to remove the insulation causing significant damage to our home. To highlight just how much they really don't care......at the time of extraction, the extraction team tried selling CWI to our neighbours whom also live in a 1980's a Timber Framed… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 15/08/2014

Hello. Retro-fit insulation of cavity walls within timber frame properties is currently undergoing industry review with the potential to be approved in the future. However, in the interim these are not clear to be insulated and in rare instances where the material has been fitted in error this will of course be extracted immediately. Our survey processes are intended to circumvent such occurrences and we look to resolve such issues accordingly. In most cases the installation of a timber-frame property will not lead to damage and the extraction process will make good the exterior.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 18/08/2014

What a load of codswallop!!!!!!

Reply to this comment

Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 19/08/2014

This is the worst load of rubbish I have heard from the MG yet. I really feel for you. I can only encourage you to go to your MP. You and Yours BBC radio 4 14/8/14 ran a programme about CWI . Unfortunately the MG wasn't allowed to be mentioned on air. The programme is asking for people to email them with their experiences. You can certainly mention MG in that. I really hope your house recovers.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 18/08/2014

Join the club, they are the most vile company on the planet earth!!!!!!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely poor service”

Written on: 11/08/2014 by Glazeb (1 review written)

Very Disappointed and frustrated with the service by the Mark Group. It took numerous surveys before my boiler could be replaced, not forgetting the numerous times appointments were cancelled by the Mark Group without any notice, lost surveys. When the boiler was finally replaced, it was not done to standard and corrective works needed to be carried out. Don't even get me started on the cavity wall insulation, again numerous appointments and missed appointments, then on the morning of the works… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to Glazeb's Review

Written on: 12/08/2014

Hello. We were sorry to read of the issues you have experienced and would certainly like to resolve any outstanding concerns you have. We have sent you a private message so that we can both discuss this further should you wish.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Response to Glazeb's Review

Written on: 18/08/2014

I absolutely and categorically agree with every word!!!!!!!!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Nuisance phone calls at it's worst”

Written on: 07/08/2014 by Jacksonwa9 (1 review written)

I have had numerous calls from these people trying to sell insulation to me and the sales people do not seem to understand a simple statement of "I'm not interested" What do they have to gain apart from annoying people who are registered with the TPS. I would never use them on point of principal… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 12/08/2014

Hello. We understand that some people may not wish to receive telemarketing calls. The relevant data provider obtains all numbers through authorised sources where the number holder has given permission for its use. We have sent you a private message to assist with having your details removed. We hope this helps.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 18/08/2014

Trust me - you have had a very lucky escape!!!!!!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Damaged my home.”

Written on: 06/08/2014 by pbSanders1983 (1 review written)

Sadly I did not read these reviews about The Mark Group before I allowed them to install cavity wall installation in my home. I am now regretting the whole sorry process and have an ugly hole in my living room wall where they tried to put in an air vent. In the survey there was no mention of an air vent being required in this room and I was hesitant about it during the installation, though allowed them to go ahead. The result was catastrophic and has caused major damage to my recently… Read Full Review

Rtm89's Comment

Written on: 07/08/2014

Funny, that's the exact situation my mother is in after allowing them to work on her home. I've never seen such shoddy workmanship. I am so upset that they have made such a mess of the house she has worked tirelessly to get into a beatiful home!! Avoid, avoid, avoid!!! Simple as that!!

Reply to this comment

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 07/08/2014

Hello. We're sorry to read of the problems that have been encountered during the installation of Cavity Wall Insulation at your property. As per our processes the scheduled inspection will assess any damage caused and recommend a course of action to resolve. It is of course extremely regrettable when damage occurs however we seek to deal with these concerns swiftly and professionally. Should you have any queries please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Care Team. All contact details are available on our website. We hope this helps.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Mark Group time wasting cost me my Green Deal grant. ”

Written on: 28/07/2014 by RichardKirk (1 review written)

The Mark Group told I had to apply for a green deal survey via a company such as theirs: not true - you could get a Green Deal surveyor to make your application for £170. The person who came to do the survey drilled holes in what I told them was a solid wall trying to find a cavity. The person inspecting the boiler could not understand why my boiler had only two hot water pipes coming out if I had indirect heating - it has a 3-way valve above it. The person who talked about the solar cells… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to RichardKirk's Review

Written on: 29/07/2014

Hello. At Mark Group we are proud to be an approved Green Deal assessor, provider and installer. Our Green Deal credentials and provisions can be found on our website. Your review clearly highlights some aspects we would like to investigate. We have sent you a direct message so that we may discuss this further with you. We hope this helps.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“No organisation, time wasters”

Written on: 28/07/2014 by MadalynMontgomery52 (1 review written)

After several home inspections and holes drilled in the wall, Mark Group can't seem to keep an appointment, the first problem was they spuriously marked my house as being unsuitable due to damp, probably because someone is on commission - there is no damp problem. Then they turned up again and booked in an installation date, by the end of that date no-one arrived so I phoned only to be told it was cancelled because they had the wrong phone number for me. What a crock. I recommend leading… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 29/07/2014

Hello. There have clearly been some issues here that have affected your install and we are sorry that these works have not proceeded. We would certainly wish to look into this. We have sent you a direct message so we may discuss further with you. We hope to hear from you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Unprofessional & Incompetent”

Written on: 23/07/2014 by Powell430 (1 review written)

My dealings with the Mark group go back several weeks. 1st surveyor turns up after appointment was made several days earlier by their instigated phone call - he doesn't have any ladders or the correct paperwork for me to fill in, ladders were supplied by me for him to investigate loft and part of the paperwork was filled in, he then arranges to come back at start of following week for my signature (this did occur) and he confirmed that there would be no issues with having the loft insulated… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 23/07/2014

Hello. We sincerely regret any inconvenience caused by the aborted installation of loft insulation and your not receiving a follow-up call to your complaint as promised. This is certainly something we would like to investigate further. We have sent you a direct message in relation to this. We hope this helps.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Liars!”

Written on: 18/07/2014 by SarahMEssex (2 reviews written)

Had cavity wall insulation booked for 1st July. Installers arrived and called our home "difficult". Refused to do the work blaming garages and cars being in the way (although this was risk assessed TWICE beforehand and all agreed that there were no issues). Local branch gave contradictory reasons for not doing the work, then admitted that they didn't know!!??!! Promised a letter from national office to confirm expectations. Never heard anything so telephoned. Promised a call the next day… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to SarahMEssex's Review

Written on: 21/07/2014

Hello. There have clearly been issues that have arisen during the assessment-to-install process and are sorry to read of this. We would certainly like to investigate further and progress this matter for you. We have sent you a direct message regarding this. We hope to hear from you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Excellent”

Written on: 14/07/2014 by Dartmoorlily (1 review written)

We had loft insulation in our Victorian semi fitted in 2013. The space was non standard yet the job was done efficiently and tidily. At this time the insulation was free. Shortly after this we moved to a modern house and contacted the Mark Group as the insulation was not up to the then current depth. At this time there was a charge of £99.00 which we were happy with as to buy the rolls and fit ourselves would have cost far more. Again the fitters were courteous and tidy. We declined cavity… Read Full Review

Sparkly1's Response to Dartmoorlily's Review

Written on: 15/07/2014

Firstly I'd like to hope that you don't work for the Mark Group. Also problems are not immediate, reserve judgement until two winters have passed. Loft insulation can also cause significant problems. You are correct CWI does cause damp even in previously dry houses. The Mark Group are the worst of the installers and if you do have problems they will not rectify it .

Reply to this comment

Dartmoorlily's reply to Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 15/07/2014

How to insult someone without really trying! No, I do not work for The Mark Group, nor do any of my friends or family. I could ask -but will refrain from doing so if you work for a rival company!
First, the old property, which had no insulation at all. I am in contact with the new owners, one of whom is a buildings engineer and she reports no problems at all.
Secondly, the new property which already had some insulation. After 18 months no problems have manifested themselves.
The old adage "speak as you find " applies here. We had a good experience , you did not. We did however do our research before proceeding.

Reply to this comment

Sparkly1's reply to Dartmoorlily's Comment

Written on: 15/07/2014

We did at the time, could have been us writing that! You're right however we should speak as we find and wish you well. As a group of Mark Group victims we hope you will not need to access our help sheet soon to be published on a well known broad sheet web page. The reason I wrote about who you work for is because several of the 5 stars are from MG employees. However I'm glad your research was so thorough and you have made the right decision to endorse such an efficient company.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's reply to Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 16/07/2014

I endorse every word spoken by Sparkly1 - Mark Group are the most appalling company!!!!!

I suggest you return to this site in 2-3 year and update your comments.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Pathetic company. Avoid avoid avoid!!”

Written on: 11/07/2014 by Smeddaz (1 review written)

1 star is too much for this company, if I could I would give them 0. Was initially told that cavity wall insulation would be free as it was government funded only for them to tell me once the paperwork was almost complete that it would be a £99 contribution. An engineer then failed to keep 2 appointments (which were taken as holidays from work!) without even the courtesy of a telephone call to say they wouldn't be coming. They even had the cheek to write to me alleging I was not in when… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to Smeddaz's Review

Written on: 11/07/2014

Hello. It is clear these works have not proceeded as we would expect and we would certainly intend to investigate your complaint accordingly - we would really like to follow this up with you. We have sent you a direct message so that this can be addressed accordingly.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's reply to Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 16/07/2014

Trust me - you have had a very lucky escape!!!!!

All LIES - the scheme is not government funded, that is just the first one.

Avoid Mark Group at all costs.

TRUST ME - I AM A VICTIM

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Mark Group Damage House and Home”

Written on: 10/07/2014 by gfhandel (1 review written)

Having read the reviews on this site we feel nothing but sympathy for the people who unwittingly got involved with this company,namely The Mark Group.However our sorry tale is a little different as it involves at least £1500 worth of damage to fittings and furnishings,in what used to be our guest bedroom.They managed to drill through a single brick wall,and fill the room with wall insulation.Like me you're probably asking yourself what that time consuming survey was for.If we ever find out… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to gfhandel's Review

Written on: 10/07/2014

Hello. We have sent you a direct message to pick up this matter with you. We hope to hear from you.

Reply to this comment

Sparkly1's Response to gfhandel's Review

Written on: 11/07/2014

Go straight to the BBA they are gaining a very good picture of this company. They will not do anything and CIGA is worthless

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's reply to Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 16/07/2014

I endorse Sparkly1's comments.

The Mark Group are terrified of BBA (British Board of Agrement) and complete the complaints form, they will sort out the issue for you.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's reply to Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 16/07/2014

I endorse Sparkly1's comments.

The Mark Group are terrified of BBA (British Board of Agrement) and complete the complaints form, they will sort out the issue for you.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's reply to Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 16/07/2014

I endorse Sparkly1's comments.

The Mark Group are terrified of BBA (British Board of Agrement) and complete the complaints form, they will sort out the issue for you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 5 Comments
★★★★★

“FREE FREE FREE!!”

Written on: 09/07/2014 by Sadie478 (1 review written)

I can not believe such an amazing service is for free my house is warmer i have started saving money already and everyone who came into my home were amazing and thanks again… Read Full Review

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 09/07/2014

Hello

I hope you did not have cavity wall insulation - If you did, you may in a few years have the same problems as hundreds of other with damp issues.

I promise you, if this happens Mark Group will not want to know, and you will be left with thousands of pounds worth of remedial repairs to carry out.

Reply to this comment

Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 11/07/2014

Problems can be years down the line and the Mark Group won't bother to respond to you. I hope you have struck lucky but it won't be down to them

Reply to this comment

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 09/07/2014

Hello. We are glad to see you are already feeling the benefits of the measures installed. We offer a wide array of energy saving technologies that are helping the nation to reduce its energy bills - details on all of these can be found on our website. Thanks for your feedback.

Reply to this comment

Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 12/07/2014

You are a terrible company and you should not be Green Deal approved. It's a total farce

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 09/07/2014

Hello Sadie

I hope you did not have cavity wall insulation - If you did, you may in a few years have the same problems as hundreds of other with damp issues.

I promise you, if this happens Mark Group will not want to know, and you will be left with thousands of pounds worth of remedial repairs to carry out.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 5 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Very dodgy company !”

Written on: 08/07/2014 by Clark29 (1 review written)

My elderly mother was cold-called by Mark Group in February 2013..two employees came and asked if they could come in and see if she was eligible for free loft insulation. After letting them in and inspecting her loft she was told she was eligible for the work and would be contacted quickly. Seventeen months later and nothing has been heard from them. Her neighbours are in exactly the same situation. My husband phoned them and was told that she wasn't in the chosen area for loft insulation after… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 09/07/2014

Hello. We're sorry to read that your original assessment was not followed up. We would certainly like to look into this for you and establish what funding your Mother may be eligible for. We have sent you a direct message to discuss further should you wish.

Reply to this comment

Scarlett84's Comment

Written on: 10/07/2014

No thanks..having the loft insulation fitted free by British Gas who have been great. No hassle, and turned up when they said they would. Sorry but wouldn't use your company again.

Reply to this comment

Simonsaint's Comment

Written on: 23/07/2014

Mark Group are a nightmare to deal with.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Drilled walls”

Written on: 05/07/2014 by Seans489 (1 review written)

Come to my door when they said need to check my walls I huge drill was produced . I said no way and shut the door continued to drill walls regardless one side and two holes at back and never filled holes. Came knocking again was scared and never opened the door. Prayed on a single parent. Bombarded by telephone calls,letters and card through the door if persists going to ring the police… Read Full Review

Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 05/07/2014

Contact your MP and ask him to contact Southampton Itchen MP. This has to stop

Reply to this comment

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 07/07/2014

Hello. This obviously isn't how we expect any of our assessors to operate. We have sent you a direct message so that we can look into this further for you. We hope to hear from you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Very dissapointed”

Written on: 01/07/2014 by kdisappointed (1 review written)

After a surveyor failed to turn up 6 times, one finally turned up and assessed I was able to have free wall cavity and loft insulation. A couple of weeks later a sales representative visited and sat in my kitchen for an hour punching in numbers to confirm that work could be carried out!! I planned the work to be carried out 2 weeks later which would have been on Monday, but had to cancel and rearrange for 2 weeks time. Then this morning received a phone call o say that a new survey was… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to kdisappointed's Review

Written on: 04/07/2014

Hello. We are sorry to read of the appointment issues you have had, we would certainly like to look into what went wrong here. We have sent you a direct message so we can contact you to discuss further. We hope to hear from you.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's reply to Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 16/07/2014

Run for the hills - avoid Mark Group like the plague.

I was a victim - I KNOW!!!!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID THE MARK GROUP. They lie.”

Written on: 23/06/2014 by AndreQuinlan471 (1 review written)

AVOID THE MARK GROUP. They lie. The Mark Group have consistently lied to me since the moment a very friendly chap came into our home swearing blind that we were eligible for free cavity wall insulation and loft insulation. Appointments were made and not honoured and then we were told we weren't eligible after people had drilled holes in our walls that have still not been filled, Then after giving up and think the Mark Group were a minor irritation they came back and said they'd made a… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 24/06/2014

Hello. We are sorry to read of the issues you have encountered during your time with Mark Group. We would be keen to look into why these problems have occurred. We have sent you a direct message in order to discuss this further with you. We look forward to hearing from you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview