Mark Group Reviews - www.markgroup.co.uk

★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
32% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Mark Group www.markgroup.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Mark Group www.markgroup.co.uk

Mark Group www.markgroup.co.uk
Mark Group www.markgroup.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“No Customer Service”

Written on: 21/12/2014 by Jadeni132 (1 review written)

The sales and installation process was great, however the whole experience was ruined when I had to start dealing with the client service team. There was an issue with my transfer to my new energy provider, which they were responsible for. However, after I raised this with them and they never addressed it. I found that they generally never return phone calls. I ended up having to look into the whole issue myself, and fixing it. It ended up costing me more money. I would't use them again… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Had mine taken out”

Written on: 18/12/2014 by Dexterg1986 (1 review written)

Had FREE Cavity Insulation eight years ago in my pre 1900 terrace. One problem after another. Outside walls were wet through and had efflorescence Internal wall plaster crumbling which has been knocked back to brick and re plastered and its crumbled again. Windows full of condensation Walls were freezing even the south facing ones although in the summer they were warm on the outside When I took the carpets up downstairs the floors were wet Hinges in kitchen cupboard and fitted wardrobes… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Total rubbish ”

Written on: 16/12/2014 by Mummyt12 (1 review written)

I rang to confirm my appointment in the morning & was told someone would be out before 12. 12.30 arrived & no one arrived so I rang & was told the appointment was cancelled! I wasted my whole morning & then told they will come out in January! I then sent a complaint by email & someone rang to re arrange for the Tuesday morning. I received a text message on the Sunday to say they would be out on Monday morning! I text back saying it should be Tuesday then a text message came back saying sorry I… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to Mummyt12's Review

Written on: 17/12/2014

Hello. That certainly does not sound like the customer experience we expect. We would appreciate the opportunity to review what went wrong here. We have sent you a direct message to get in touch. We hope to hear from you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor customer care....”

Written on: 07/12/2014 by Robb178 (1 review written)

I never got to the work point! Twice they arranged appointments and twice these were cancelled at 7pm the evening before they were due to come. This was after I had called the relevant phone number to check whether the surveyor would be coming the next day. Not good customer care at all! When I received the last call about the cancellation, I expressed my displeasure and that I would write to the head office and the relevant government departments. I then received another call offering me an… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 08/12/2014

Hello. We were disappointed to read of the cancellations you have endured. We have sent you a direct message as we would be keen to get in touch. Many thanks.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT LET MARK GROUP NEAR YOUR PROPERTY”

Written on: 04/12/2014 by JoaquinSilva (1 review written)

Mark group have ruined my property. There work is a complete shambles. I have cracks in my new render from all the holes in the side of my bungalow. The holes were filled with a rubbish product and smoothed of with there fingers!! Not smooth at all! Now i have a lot of mould in my newly decorated bungalow as they filled the air bricks with cavity wall insulation and instead of replacing like they said they would they blew them! I will do what I can to make people realise this company are a… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 04/12/2014

Hello. We're sorry to read of your dissatisfaction with our works. We would certainly like to discuss this with you. We have sent you a direct message if you would like to get in touch. We hope this helps.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE MARK INSULATION GROUP!!!!!”

Written on: 01/12/2014 by Wheelertc20 (1 review written)

I wish I had never heard of this company, let alone had any work done. My cavity wall insulation has left the exterior of my property badly damaged. The work should have been carried out internally but we were assured the work would not affect the aesthetics of the house. The workman had to clamber over our conservatory (with no scaffolding) to try and do the job. To make matters worse when we had an extension built, the builder found our walls had been drilled but NOT insulated correctly. So… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 02/12/2014

Hello. We are sorry you feel negatively regarding your experience with us. We investigate all complaints thoroughly and should you have any further points to raise regarding your concerns please do not hesitate to respond to the direct message we have sent to you. We hope this helps.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Mrs. Brown loft insulation ref. 2803217”

Written on: 01/12/2014 by maggie106maggie (1 review written)

The surveyor visited my property for 2 hours and assessed for entitlement to free loft insulation. An installation appointment was arranged for the morning of 13/11/2014 I waited in until 12.30 by which time no one had arrived so I telephoned the company only to be told that I was not entitled to it after all, something they should have been aware of from the outset. I e mailed Mark Group's complaints department but they did not bother to reply. Afternoon waisted with surveyor,3 weeks missed… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to maggie106maggie's Review

Written on: 02/12/2014

Hello. We were sorry to read that you were not informed of the cancellation of your appointment. We would be keen to discuss the circumstances surrounding this. If you are able to respond to our direct message we would be happy to get in touch.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Good and Bad”

Written on: 19/11/2014

Boiler salesman was excellent, very professional and a true expert. Just wish the back office was the same. Due to a pricing error on their part they have asked me for extra money!!! I understand the salesman missed a £150 part and that the company normally swallows this but the are wanting more money simply because they have put their prices up!!! I am liaising with my solicitor as under sale of goods act we may have a claim. Their manager is pathetic and not man enough to admit when they are… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 20/11/2014

Hello. We are pleased to read your positive comments regarding our assessor. However we also note your dissatisfaction with subsequent events and would be happy to review this with you. We have sent you a direct message in order to get in touch. Thank you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Keep up the good work”

Written on: 17/11/2014 by HuggyTheBear (1 review written)

I had some remedial work done for cavity wall insulation over a conservatory on the 6th November 2014, It was not the easiest of tasks as it had to be tackled from the inside. It required planning and attention to detail. I’m very pleased with the professional manner in which they carried out the work, There were dust sheets covering the floors and stairs, any mess was taken away leaving a very neat and tidy finish. Far too often people are ready to complain, but when you receive good… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to HuggyTheBear's Review

Written on: 17/11/2014

Hello and thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to see that you are pleased with the work completed. We are certain that in the coming winter months you will see and feel the benefits of the energy saving measures installed.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Numerous problems, poor attitude towards customers”

Written on: 14/11/2014 by Brayan322 (1 review written)

I was taken in by some really professional sales and went ahead with ordering a boiler replacement. The salesman explained he was ex British Gas and knew all their tricks and he could do everything to the same standards and also fit the Gas piping under my stairs and not outside my house like a British Gas salesman had said we needed to do. This was the first of many ongoing lies and poor effort on the Mark Groups behalf. When the surveyor arrived he also said that the piping would be sorted… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 17/11/2014

Hello. You have clearly encountered some issues during your time with us and we would really appreciate the opportunity to address these for you. We have sent you a direct message so that we can get in touch. We hope this helps.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES HAVE ANYTHING TO DO...”

Written on: 09/11/2014 by 12Bates (1 review written)

Very unreliable, rude!!! untrusworthy, unprofessional !!!!Bad company to do any bussiness with. Stay clear from this company , they should not be in bussiness  and very, very unreliable!!!!!! There are no words to describe them, my only advice is keep well clear from them… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 10/11/2014

Hello. If your concerns are based on a specific experience with us we would be keen to investigate. We have sent you a direct message to get in touch. We hope this helps.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 15/11/2014

I can endorse every word uttered by the person - stay well clear is my advice to everyone - you could end up like me with damp and mould and a 8 month horrible battle to have my home returned to its original condition.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“shoddy”

Written on: 06/11/2014 by Zimmerman317 (1 review written)

Looks like a blind man on a galloping horse has drilled the holes. Was told side of house could not be done but still 3 holes drilled into it. Loft insulated or should i say only half has well that should save half the money a fully insulated loft would. Stay away from them and maybe paying someone too do a proper job instead of a company which gets paid by goverment and has no follow up to see what kind of job they have done… Read Full Review

Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 09/11/2014

Make sure you take lots of photos with dates especially if you have had cavity wall insulation. Regulation is virtually non existent.

Reply to this comment

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 10/11/2014

Hello. We would be keen to investigate the issues you have raised regarding the drill holes into your property wall and the specification of the loft insulation. We have sent you a direct message regarding this.

We must state that Mark Group does not receive Government funding. Many customers are eligible for insulation schemes that secure funding through the Energy Company Obligation (ECO) which is devised and backed by the Government, overseen by Ofgem and exacted (as per the obligation imposed) by the major energy suppliers.

Our installations are quality checked through both internal and external inspections.

Reply to this comment

Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 11/11/2014

Under CERT and CESP no records were routinely kept by Ofgem on a property by property basis. You also knocked on people's doors telling them it was Govt funded at that time with a Govt backed guarantee. CIGA is neither Govt backed nor independent. In fact your very own Michael Cottingham of Mark Group 'fame' was one of CIGA's Directors between 2008 and 2009. Is it any wonder consumers don't have any redress? No Govt research into quality or technical monitoring has taken place since 1994 as far as I can see.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 15/11/2014

I agree with all Sparkly1's comments - absolutely the truth!!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★★★★★

“BRILLIANT. WHATS MORE IT WAS FREE.....”

Written on: 05/11/2014 by GerryJoseph (3 reviews written)

My wife and I purchased a 1920's house in a village in Norfolk, to say the least it was a little run down. So I had many projects I was committed to, I tried to organise cavity wall insulation with British Gas and was told that I would have to pay around £2000 to have just the cavity wall insulation as it had some 4" loft insulation, that was something that would have to wait then. a month or so later I received a card from Marks Group about cavity Wall Insulation, I phoned them and was told… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to GerryJoseph's Review

Written on: 06/11/2014

Hello and thank you for your feedback. It is certainly true that finding out whether you are entitled to home insulation at a reduced cost or even no cost at all is an endeavour that can prove greatly rewarding! We are pleased to see that you are happy with your experience and can look forward to the benefits of your home insulation, especially in the coming winter months.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's reply to Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 15/11/2014

What a joke!!!!!

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Response to GerryJoseph's Review

Written on: 15/11/2014

I genuinely hope that you have not problems with cavity wall insulation - however be very aware that there is a very high failure rate. Trust me I am one of the unlucky ones.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Response to GerryJoseph's Review

Written on: 15/11/2014

I genuinely hope that you have not problems with cavity wall insulation - however be very aware that there is a very high failure rate. Trust me I am one of the unlucky ones.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“MARK GROUP. A company to steer clear of”

Written on: 04/11/2014 by Shepherdla247 (1 review written)

Mark Group quoted to change my boiler, it was all going well untill the first tradesman turned up to start the work. He asked where the boiler was going, so I showed him. It cant go in there he replied, but dont worry I will speak to the supervisor when he gets here. After about a 1hr discussion after The supervisor turned up, they decided to put the boiler in a totally different place to where it was planned to go. They are now telling me that although they used less materials, it still… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 05/11/2014

Hello. We can see you have already raised these concerns with our Customer Care Team. Should you wish to discuss this further we have sent you a direct message to get in touch.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Damage and damp”

Written on: 04/11/2014 by hayleyml (1 review written)

A few weeks ago the mark group came and allegedly installed cwi. The house seems colder than before.There were hundreds of those silver balls EVERYWHERE, they left a terrible mess on my husbands motorbike which was on the drive and caused scratches to it. The biggest problem is my conservatory. Even though it only has a small rad it has always been comfortably warm. However, we now have a problem. The conservatory is now full of condensation, this has never happened before. You can see… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to hayleyml's Review

Written on: 05/11/2014

Hello. We would certainly be keen to arrange an inspection with you to find out what has happened here. We have sent you a direct message accordingly. We hope this helps.

Reply to this comment

Hayleyml's reply to Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 09/11/2014

I have emailed you back with all my details, still not heard a word. If I could upload the pics of my ruined furniture and the state of my walls here, I would. I've been having lots of work done to my lovely bungalow and i'm not letting you ruin it. There is just 6 weeks to christmas when my conservatory was supposed to be turned into a dining room before then. I will take this all the way if this is not resolved and I will contact my MP. I'm not having this. You've totally RUINED my conservatory

Reply to this comment

Sparkly1's reply to Hayleyml's Comment

Written on: 11/11/2014

Please find CWIVA cavity wall victims alliance on Twitter . Website coming soon

Reply to this comment

Hayleyml's reply to Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 15/11/2014

thanks for this. i spoke to a manager yesterday who first of all tried to tell me i couldn't have damp coming through my walls as all the balls they install..................are dry ones.
I told him not to try and palm me off with rubbish. I may be a woman but i'm far from stupid. I sent him the pics I have and n ow they are apparently coming out next wednesday. Out of the 5 walls in the conservatory, i only have a problem with 2. The 2 they touched!!!!

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's reply to Hayleyml's Comment

Written on: 15/11/2014

I am also a founder member of CWIVA please, please do as Sparky1 had advised.

Reply to this comment

Hayleyml's reply to Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 26/11/2014

well an inspector came out from the mark group last week. on the day totally agreed that it was the insulation that had caused the problem as he could clearly see there was nothing causing the problems. Now i've received a letter from them saying the conservatory has an excess moisture production or an inadequate provision of ventilation (never had a problem in the 9 years since i've had the conservatory mind) and it's not caused by the wall insulation. The man who came clearly confirmed the only 2 walls that were affected were the ones that had the insulation, seems now they are backtracking. After ruined binds/furniture etc, I will take this all the way, just wondering if trading standards should be my first port of call, or I may even try and find out exactly who is dealing with the government funding, so they can see what is happening to people's homes with this 'funding'.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's reply to Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 15/11/2014

Yes, do as Sparkly1 says - you will get help!!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 7 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS TERRIBLE COMPANY!!!!”

Written on: 27/10/2014

We had the Mark Group come out to our house the end of July to quote us for external wall insulation, we were given the beginning of September as a start date, a few days before this they called to say there had been a mix up in the paperwork and it would have to go back to the beginning of October, after weeks of phoning them and being fobbed off we still have no idea when they are coming, no one called us to tell us they couldn't meet the beginning of October, we have now had a few other… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 29/10/2014

Hello. We would like to address the concerns you have raised - clearly something isn't right here. We have sent you a direct message so we can investigate further. Thank you for your feed back.

Reply to this comment

Clairb1973's Comment

Written on: 10/11/2014

Well I had a message nearly 2 weeks ago to say someone would contact me, surprise surprise, nothing!!! It's shocking, can't believe you are aloud to get away with it, don't bother as I've now got a company that's cares and know what they are doing to do the job

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 15/11/2014

The understatement of the century

Reply to this comment

Jy2973's Comment

Written on: 18/12/2014

I am also in exactly the same situation. Even on the day of installation at the start of october they said they were coming and didn't show up. Their customer advisors repeatably lie rather than say 'i don't know'. I 'm always promised a high priority call back but it never happens. My voucher also runs out in february. They said if it does go past the expiry date, then mark group will lie on the voucher and still submit it. Ie submit a fraudulent claim to the government! I was told this by the manager!

Reply to this comment

Normanh176's Comment

Written on: 10/12/2014

Snap! We had a surveyor come out to around the 26th or 27th August, he worked the price out there and then and we accepted his quote, we even agreed to take advantage of their 0% finance deal. there was no comunication from them what so ever, it was always me chasing them. I finally got a start date from them, the 1st December. I phoned them 2 weeks before they were due to start to make sure it was still going ahead, thay told me it was but it didn't. When I phoned they told me they would phone me back but never did, this went on for 5 days then I put a posting on their facebook page, along with a lot of other unhappy people. Within an an hour or so the had phoned me and that is how it carried on for another 4working days when they told me they could no longer the work for the quoted price and they now wamted another £2,554:00 to do the same work. I won't go into what happened next only to say Iam expecting a chap round tomorrow from another company.
What I can't understand is how they can get away with treating people like rubbish and how they are still on the Green Deal scheme, I just don't know who they are answerable to. I too am at risk of loosing £6,000 as my voucher expires in February. Maybe they should be reported to Watchdog or some such body, as for me I am hoping to report them to Trading Standards and to their registration company.

Reply to this comment

Emyrt's Comment

Written on: 14/11/2014

I am in exactly the same position. I've spoken to 4 members of staff who have promised to call back but never have......3 of these have been managers. This is the worst company that I have ever dealt with.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 15/11/2014

Do not deal with this company - do not under any circumstances touch them with a long barge pole!!!

Reply to this comment

Clairb1973's Comment

Written on: 15/11/2014

Think we've had a lucky escape, we are ow using a company called SERS Energy, they have been really helpful.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 8 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Usuall mark group no show. Utter time wasters”

Written on: 27/10/2014 by Skinnyvinny68 (1 review written)

booked a cavity and loft survey with this outit had seen the awfull reviews about this company but booked them anyway. Big mistake waited in all morning for an am appointment but no show just as a lot of reviews state. Phoned customer service to be told I was left a voicemail stating the call had been cancelled with no reason given why they couldn't attend. Please avoid these time wasters and book with a reputable company like British Gas unless you like waiting around for no reason that is… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to Skinnyvinny68's Review

Written on: 29/10/2014

Hello. We would be keen to look into what has gone wrong here and respond to your concerns. We have sent you a direct message to get in touch. We hope this helps.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Response to Skinnyvinny68's Review

Written on: 15/11/2014

My advice is to be very, very careful and do a thorough research, there is a huge influx of cavity wall insulation failures.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Agressive doorstepping”

Written on: 24/10/2014 by 385McKinley (1 review written)

A salesman came to the door yesterday and spoke to my female tenant. He was very aggressive demanding to enter the house to evaluate the need for insulation. She told him that he could not come in but he had his foot inside the the doorway. Eventually she threatened to call the police and he left. This behaviour is not acceptable and is intimidating… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 29/10/2014

Hello. This is obviously very concerning to hear and we would be keen to investigate this. If you have any further information please do respond to our direct message so that we may discuss. Thank you for your feedback.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 15/11/2014

I should jolly well thinks so - your company is totally dreadful.

Reply to this comment

123Leah's Comment

Written on: 29/11/2014

I have just had the exact same experience myself, last night my partner had mark group knock on our door demanding to come in. And the now today the same man has been round. While I am in on my own 8 months pregnant, and demanded to come in, got his foot in the door, and spoke to me in quite a rude manor. I told him no thank you numerous times, and managed to shut the door on his foot that he moved it. I think this is disgusting and scary for a girl on her own. You obviously need to choose you staff better.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 15/11/2014

Do not, I repeat not have anything to do with this company.

There is a huge failure rate of CWI causing damp - 4 immediate neighbour and myself included.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Cavity wall insulation us everywhere on my home”

Written on: 21/10/2014 by angelhp24 (1 review written)

The woman came to the door told her it was rented and has to speak to landlord, she was a bit odd looking at the front of the house for ages before knocking, landlord agreed it so she came back booked in for a appointment, The guys came polite friendly on time no problems until after they have gone, loft insulation is fine but the cavity wall insulation in come through my fuse box and my electricity box outside its such a mess everywhere can't get hold of them, Taken photos of the mess… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to angelhp24's Review

Written on: 29/10/2014

Hello. Something has clearly gone wrong here and we would be keen to resolve this for you as quickly as possible. We have sent you a direct message in order to discuss this with you. We hope this helps.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Response to angelhp24's Review

Written on: 15/11/2014

What a surprise (not) - total rubbish company.

You will have a terrible time on your hands trying to get them to admit responsibility - they will blame the weather, the pointing, poor maintenance even next door's cat - but they CWIVA cavity wall victim alliance - they will help. In the meantime go to twitter and investigate there.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Sealed up all my vents, DAMP ISSUE”

Written on: 16/10/2014

I have just moved into my new house on the 2nd of October. There was a damp problem due to the lack of ventilation, mostly because someone had plastered over or painted shut all the vents. Anyway, the landlord paid a guy to come and unblock all the vents and once that was done the damp cleared up pretty quickly. Nasty black spotty stuff, not just wet patches. Took a lot of cleaning to get it cleared and aired out. A week later I get a knock at the door from a cavity wall company called "Mark… Read Full Review

Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 24/10/2014

Your house will go black it needs to come out. The material itself holds water

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 15/11/2014

You are absolutely right about this company - they should be called
Fob Group, not Mark Group.

See Sparkly1's comment - trust me absolute truth

Reply to this comment

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 29/10/2014

Hello. We are sorry to read that you are unhappy with your experience with us. We would advise that the pre-installation issues you have described are symptomatic of condensation. This is not damp. As per the guidelines we install to, vents may be sealed during the installation. We understand from your account that an inspection has been undertaken to address your concerns. If you require any further information please do not hesitate to respond to the direct message we have sent you. We hope this helps.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 15/11/2014

What absolute nonsense - I know more about cwi than you do - I suggest you go on a training course!!!

If what you say is true - why did the BBA tell MG to remove CWI from my home and pay for repairs.

One of the issues was that MG had sealed vents.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
overview