Mark Group Reviews - www.markgroup.co.uk

★★☆☆☆
2.3 / 5
33% of users recommend this

Description (provided by business)

We’re Mark Group and we love saving you money, helping you stay warm and toasty and reducing your carbon footprint all at the same time. As the UK’s leading energy saving experts, we’re great at helping you to take a ‘whole home’ approach to energy efficiency. And we definitely know our stuff; since 1974, we’ve helped over two million homes and businesses lose less (through insulation), use less (through efficient heating systems) and generate more (through renewable technologies).
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Mark Group www.markgroup.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Mark Group www.markgroup.co.uk

Mark Group www.markgroup.co.uk
Mark Group www.markgroup.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Mark Group time wasting cost me my Green Deal grant. ”

Written on: 28/07/2014 by RichardKirk (1 review written)

The Mark Group told I had to apply for a green deal survey via a company such as theirs: not true - you could get a Green Deal surveyor to make your application for £170. The person who came to do the survey drilled holes in what I told them was a solid wall trying to find a cavity. The person inspecting the boiler could not understand why my boiler had only two hot water pipes coming out if I had indirect heating - it has a 3-way valve above it. The person who talked about the solar cells… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to RichardKirk's Review

Written on: 29/07/2014

Hello. At Mark Group we are proud to be an approved Green Deal assessor, provider and installer. Our Green Deal credentials and provisions can be found on our website. Your review clearly highlights some aspects we would like to investigate. We have sent you a direct message so that we may discuss this further with you. We hope this helps.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“No organisation, time wasters”

Written on: 28/07/2014 by MadalynMontgomery52 (1 review written)

After several home inspections and holes drilled in the wall, Mark Group can't seem to keep an appointment, the first problem was they spuriously marked my house as being unsuitable due to damp, probably because someone is on commission - there is no damp problem. Then they turned up again and booked in an installation date, by the end of that date no-one arrived so I phoned only to be told it was cancelled because they had the wrong phone number for me. What a crock. I recommend leading… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 29/07/2014

Hello. There have clearly been some issues here that have affected your install and we are sorry that these works have not proceeded. We would certainly wish to look into this. We have sent you a direct message so we may discuss further with you. We hope to hear from you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Unprofessional & Incompetent”

Written on: 23/07/2014 by Powell430 (1 review written)

My dealings with the Mark group go back several weeks. 1st surveyor turns up after appointment was made several days earlier by their instigated phone call - he doesn't have any ladders or the correct paperwork for me to fill in, ladders were supplied by me for him to investigate loft and part of the paperwork was filled in, he then arranges to come back at start of following week for my signature (this did occur) and he confirmed that there would be no issues with having the loft insulated… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 23/07/2014

Hello. We sincerely regret any inconvenience caused by the aborted installation of loft insulation and your not receiving a follow-up call to your complaint as promised. This is certainly something we would like to investigate further. We have sent you a direct message in relation to this. We hope this helps.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Liars!”

Written on: 18/07/2014 by SarahMEssex (2 reviews written)

Had cavity wall insulation booked for 1st July. Installers arrived and called our home "difficult". Refused to do the work blaming garages and cars being in the way (although this was risk assessed TWICE beforehand and all agreed that there were no issues). Local branch gave contradictory reasons for not doing the work, then admitted that they didn't know!!??!! Promised a letter from national office to confirm expectations. Never heard anything so telephoned. Promised a call the next day… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to SarahMEssex's Review

Written on: 21/07/2014

Hello. There have clearly been issues that have arisen during the assessment-to-install process and are sorry to read of this. We would certainly like to investigate further and progress this matter for you. We have sent you a direct message regarding this. We hope to hear from you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Excellent”

Written on: 14/07/2014 by Dartmoorlily (1 review written)

We had loft insulation in our Victorian semi fitted in 2013. The space was non standard yet the job was done efficiently and tidily. At this time the insulation was free. Shortly after this we moved to a modern house and contacted the Mark Group as the insulation was not up to the then current depth. At this time there was a charge of £99.00 which we were happy with as to buy the rolls and fit ourselves would have cost far more. Again the fitters were courteous and tidy. We declined cavity… Read Full Review

Sparkly1's Response to Dartmoorlily's Review

Written on: 15/07/2014

Firstly I'd like to hope that you don't work for the Mark Group. Also problems are not immediate, reserve judgement until two winters have passed. Loft insulation can also cause significant problems. You are correct CWI does cause damp even in previously dry houses. The Mark Group are the worst of the installers and if you do have problems they will not rectify it .

Reply to this comment

Dartmoorlily's reply to Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 15/07/2014

How to insult someone without really trying! No, I do not work for The Mark Group, nor do any of my friends or family. I could ask -but will refrain from doing so if you work for a rival company!
First, the old property, which had no insulation at all. I am in contact with the new owners, one of whom is a buildings engineer and she reports no problems at all.
Secondly, the new property which already had some insulation. After 18 months no problems have manifested themselves.
The old adage "speak as you find " applies here. We had a good experience , you did not. We did however do our research before proceeding.

Reply to this comment

Sparkly1's reply to Dartmoorlily's Comment

Written on: 15/07/2014

We did at the time, could have been us writing that! You're right however we should speak as we find and wish you well. As a group of Mark Group victims we hope you will not need to access our help sheet soon to be published on a well known broad sheet web page. The reason I wrote about who you work for is because several of the 5 stars are from MG employees. However I'm glad your research was so thorough and you have made the right decision to endorse such an efficient company.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's reply to Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 16/07/2014

I endorse every word spoken by Sparkly1 - Mark Group are the most appalling company!!!!!

I suggest you return to this site in 2-3 year and update your comments.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Pathetic company. Avoid avoid avoid!!”

Written on: 11/07/2014 by Smeddaz (1 review written)

1 star is too much for this company, if I could I would give them 0. Was initially told that cavity wall insulation would be free as it was government funded only for them to tell me once the paperwork was almost complete that it would be a £99 contribution. An engineer then failed to keep 2 appointments (which were taken as holidays from work!) without even the courtesy of a telephone call to say they wouldn't be coming. They even had the cheek to write to me alleging I was not in when… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to Smeddaz's Review

Written on: 11/07/2014

Hello. It is clear these works have not proceeded as we would expect and we would certainly intend to investigate your complaint accordingly - we would really like to follow this up with you. We have sent you a direct message so that this can be addressed accordingly.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's reply to Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 16/07/2014

Trust me - you have had a very lucky escape!!!!!

All LIES - the scheme is not government funded, that is just the first one.

Avoid Mark Group at all costs.

TRUST ME - I AM A VICTIM

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Mark Group Damage House and Home”

Written on: 10/07/2014 by gfhandel (1 review written)

Having read the reviews on this site we feel nothing but sympathy for the people who unwittingly got involved with this company,namely The Mark Group.However our sorry tale is a little different as it involves at least £1500 worth of damage to fittings and furnishings,in what used to be our guest bedroom.They managed to drill through a single brick wall,and fill the room with wall insulation.Like me you're probably asking yourself what that time consuming survey was for.If we ever find out… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to gfhandel's Review

Written on: 10/07/2014

Hello. We have sent you a direct message to pick up this matter with you. We hope to hear from you.

Reply to this comment

Sparkly1's Response to gfhandel's Review

Written on: 11/07/2014

Go straight to the BBA they are gaining a very good picture of this company. They will not do anything and CIGA is worthless

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's reply to Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 16/07/2014

I endorse Sparkly1's comments.

The Mark Group are terrified of BBA (British Board of Agrement) and complete the complaints form, they will sort out the issue for you.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's reply to Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 16/07/2014

I endorse Sparkly1's comments.

The Mark Group are terrified of BBA (British Board of Agrement) and complete the complaints form, they will sort out the issue for you.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's reply to Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 16/07/2014

I endorse Sparkly1's comments.

The Mark Group are terrified of BBA (British Board of Agrement) and complete the complaints form, they will sort out the issue for you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 5 Comments
★★★★★

“FREE FREE FREE!!”

Written on: 09/07/2014 by Sadie478 (1 review written)

I can not believe such an amazing service is for free my house is warmer i have started saving money already and everyone who came into my home were amazing and thanks again… Read Full Review

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 09/07/2014

Hello

I hope you did not have cavity wall insulation - If you did, you may in a few years have the same problems as hundreds of other with damp issues.

I promise you, if this happens Mark Group will not want to know, and you will be left with thousands of pounds worth of remedial repairs to carry out.

Reply to this comment

Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 11/07/2014

Problems can be years down the line and the Mark Group won't bother to respond to you. I hope you have struck lucky but it won't be down to them

Reply to this comment

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 09/07/2014

Hello. We are glad to see you are already feeling the benefits of the measures installed. We offer a wide array of energy saving technologies that are helping the nation to reduce its energy bills - details on all of these can be found on our website. Thanks for your feedback.

Reply to this comment

Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 12/07/2014

You are a terrible company and you should not be Green Deal approved. It's a total farce

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 09/07/2014

Hello Sadie

I hope you did not have cavity wall insulation - If you did, you may in a few years have the same problems as hundreds of other with damp issues.

I promise you, if this happens Mark Group will not want to know, and you will be left with thousands of pounds worth of remedial repairs to carry out.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 5 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Very dodgy company !”

Written on: 08/07/2014 by Clark29 (1 review written)

My elderly mother was cold-called by Mark Group in February 2013..two employees came and asked if they could come in and see if she was eligible for free loft insulation. After letting them in and inspecting her loft she was told she was eligible for the work and would be contacted quickly. Seventeen months later and nothing has been heard from them. Her neighbours are in exactly the same situation. My husband phoned them and was told that she wasn't in the chosen area for loft insulation after… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 09/07/2014

Hello. We're sorry to read that your original assessment was not followed up. We would certainly like to look into this for you and establish what funding your Mother may be eligible for. We have sent you a direct message to discuss further should you wish.

Reply to this comment

Scarlett84's Comment

Written on: 10/07/2014

No thanks..having the loft insulation fitted free by British Gas who have been great. No hassle, and turned up when they said they would. Sorry but wouldn't use your company again.

Reply to this comment

Simonsaint's Comment

Written on: 23/07/2014

Mark Group are a nightmare to deal with.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Drilled walls”

Written on: 05/07/2014 by Seans489 (1 review written)

Come to my door when they said need to check my walls I huge drill was produced . I said no way and shut the door continued to drill walls regardless one side and two holes at back and never filled holes. Came knocking again was scared and never opened the door. Prayed on a single parent. Bombarded by telephone calls,letters and card through the door if persists going to ring the police… Read Full Review

Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 05/07/2014

Contact your MP and ask him to contact Southampton Itchen MP. This has to stop

Reply to this comment

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 07/07/2014

Hello. This obviously isn't how we expect any of our assessors to operate. We have sent you a direct message so that we can look into this further for you. We hope to hear from you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Very dissapointed”

Written on: 01/07/2014 by kdisappointed (1 review written)

After a surveyor failed to turn up 6 times, one finally turned up and assessed I was able to have free wall cavity and loft insulation. A couple of weeks later a sales representative visited and sat in my kitchen for an hour punching in numbers to confirm that work could be carried out!! I planned the work to be carried out 2 weeks later which would have been on Monday, but had to cancel and rearrange for 2 weeks time. Then this morning received a phone call o say that a new survey was… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to kdisappointed's Review

Written on: 04/07/2014

Hello. We are sorry to read of the appointment issues you have had, we would certainly like to look into what went wrong here. We have sent you a direct message so we can contact you to discuss further. We hope to hear from you.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's reply to Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 16/07/2014

Run for the hills - avoid Mark Group like the plague.

I was a victim - I KNOW!!!!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID THE MARK GROUP. They lie.”

Written on: 23/06/2014 by AndreQuinlan471 (1 review written)

AVOID THE MARK GROUP. They lie. The Mark Group have consistently lied to me since the moment a very friendly chap came into our home swearing blind that we were eligible for free cavity wall insulation and loft insulation. Appointments were made and not honoured and then we were told we weren't eligible after people had drilled holes in our walls that have still not been filled, Then after giving up and think the Mark Group were a minor irritation they came back and said they'd made a… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 24/06/2014

Hello. We are sorry to read of the issues you have encountered during your time with Mark Group. We would be keen to look into why these problems have occurred. We have sent you a direct message in order to discuss this further with you. We look forward to hearing from you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Disturbingly aggressive & persistent cold calling”

Written on: 17/06/2014 by Matthews78 (1 review written)

This has gone from annoying to disturbing! We have now received cold calls fromMark Group door to door sales people on at least four occasions. The calls are always in the evening and made by sales people working in pairs. They follow the same text, informing us that we are one of only two houses in the street that has not had cavity wall insulation, which the Government will fully fund for us. They are always VERY persistent and won't take no thanks for an answer. On the first occasion I… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 18/06/2014

Hello. We would be keen to discuss with you the contact that you have had from us. We have sent you a direct message in relation to this. We hope to hear from you.

Reply to this comment

Sparkly1's Comment

Written on: 25/06/2014

Ask for [name removed], he's head of complaints!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Lies , lies all lies !”

Written on: 14/06/2014 by 358Anderson (1 review written)

Two representatives cold called today and said they were due to send a team of installation engineers to insulate local housing trust properties and would we as private tenants like ours done as well? Unfortunately on checking with our local housing Trust they are not having any work done because all of their properties have been compliant for years! On ringing Mark group the telephone staff had no apologies to make nor explanation and were generally unhelpful. Give your business to someone… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 16/06/2014

Hello. I'm sorry to read of the confusion that has occurred here, this is something we would like to look into for you. We have sent you a direct message to discuss further. We hope to hear from you.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 16/07/2014

Avoid Mark Group like the plague.

I have been a victim!!!!!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“mark group - BIG black mark”

Written on: 12/06/2014 by trotskiy (1 review written)

I contacted them with regard to external wall insulation in early May. Already in place was a Green Deal survey recommending this option. I had to chase them 2 weeks later due to their lack of response. Date arranged for 'survey & quote'. Few days later I received a letter telling me this visit could take up to 3 hours??? When I queried it I was informed that a 'complete' survey would be undertaken to see if I was eligible for green deal. I explained I already had it in place. Night before… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to trotskiy's Review

Written on: 13/06/2014

Hello. We were very concerned to read through your account of your experience with us. We would really like to investigate this matter. We have sent you a direct message so that we can discuss this with you. We look forward to hearing from you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Extremely poor service, Survey holes not filled.”

Written on: 11/06/2014 by 282Downey (1 review written)

After being cold called and being told my property was eligible for free cavity wall insulation i let the guys do a survey which included drill various holes around my house. I was then told that a second survey would be needed and this was booked for the 10/3/2014. No one turned up. We left for a holiday the next day and upon return found numerous messages and letters asking us to contact them to arrange a survey? I rang them back explained that they had missed one arranged appointment with… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 12/06/2014

Hello. We're sorry to read of the on-going issues you have encountered. We would like to follow up on these with you. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further. We look forward to hearing from you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Free Loft and Wall.....Not”

Written on: 11/06/2014 by FrederickGordon (1 review written)

After a talking with a Mark Group employee at the B&Q site at Cribbs I was assured that my house falls under the free loft and wall insulation, Peter came to visit my house, again confirmed i can get this all done for free, drilled 3 holes into my house and found I could have all the insulation done. After nearly 2 hours of letting him wonder around my house figuring out all of the dimensions and booking in an appointment time I get a phone call 5 days later saying I do not fall into the free… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 11/06/2014

Hello. All installations will be dependent on a prior assessment of suitability, furthermore the eligibility for funding will again require the completion of an assessment process. We understand that this may prove frustrating if either is found to not qualify at a late stage. We would of course expect this to be explained in full to you and would be happy to follow up with further information. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this. We look forward to hearing from you.

Reply to this comment

Joedirt1987's Comment

Written on: 19/06/2014

Since my last report I have spoken to Mark Group and they have confirmed that the guy that came out to review my property in fact had the wrong software/app on his tablet that did in fact say that I was legible for the free installation! Drilling into a person’s home, spending 2 hours of their time, taking photos of their property inside and out is not acceptable if you are unsure if the property is suitable or not. This should be done in the first instance when I don’t have to waste my time. Mark Group has now admitted fault and after my property was found not to be in an area that got the work for free, for all my trouble they are doing a loft and wall cavity for FREE!!.

Viewing a person’s home and taking photo's when you are not sure whether their house falls under the free scheme (which I was told did) is very unprofessional, you represent not just yourselves but B&Q as a company and if I was a manager at B&Q and this happened to a company I had teamed up with I would be furious!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“Always found them to be very good ”

Written on: 10/06/2014 by IJRoe (1 review written)

I have been in the building trade for 32 years and I own a number of properties in and around Portsmouth. I have used them to insulate four of my own properties and recommend them to customers. I was a little shocked to see the poor reputation they have but I have to take them as I find them and that is that I think they do a good, clean and professional job. I would strongly recommend that people have their homes insulated as it will save you money and this company is better than most I have… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling, Incompetent”

Written on: 10/06/2014 by DaveGriff (1 review written)

I sent this complaint through their website on 20/1/2014. Still had no acknowledgement or apology... We were due to have Cavity Wall Insulation and loft insulation installed on Thursday 16th January 2014. Up until Monday 13th January our last communication from yourselves was a letter of confirmation for the installation on the 16th. We spent several hours over the weekend clearing out the garage, loft, and storage area at the other side of the house ready for the installation. We then… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Response to DaveGriff's Review

Written on: 17/06/2014

Hello. We are very sorry to read that you did not receive a response to your concerns. We certainly wish to follow this up with you. We have sent you a direct message in order to discuss this matter further.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Response to DaveGriff's Review

Written on: 09/07/2014

You have had a very lucky escape - thank your lucky stars!!!!!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“fitted cavity wall and loft insulation”

Written on: 07/06/2014

2 girls came to the door a few weeks after we had moved and notified us we qualified for free insulation as we were in a high co2 emission area - great news as we were planning on having it done anyway as it has come up in the house buyers survey that the cavity wasn't filled. they checked the loft and did a few test holes to ensure the cavity wasn't already filled and the loft insulation was low enough to qualify. A few weeks later the surveyor came to check and measure how much insulation… Read Full Review

Markgroupcs's Comment

Written on: 10/06/2014

Hi. Thank you for your positive feedback, we are sure you will soon begin to see and feel the benefits of the energy-saving measures that have been installed.

Reply to this comment

Jamesandsam's Comment

Written on: 09/07/2014

I hope, like thousands of others that you are one of the lucky ones and don't have severe damp issues in a few years time.

If you do Mark Group won't want to know you and will disclaim all responsibility.

Reply to this comment

Ilflet's Comment

Written on: 09/07/2014

Well my parents got it done 15 years ago and have no problems, in fact I've not known anyone have problems resulting from it. I notice you put the same comment on everyone's reviews. If there is a problem in the future it's due to cavity wall insulation in general and not specifically mark group. If you're so against cavity wall insulation shouldn't you be lobbying against it not targeting/bullying people who've had it done? Why not focus your anger more constructively.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
overview