GoldCar Rental Reviews - www.goldcar.es

★☆☆☆☆
1.2 / 5
2374
5.0% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es

GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“The Goldcar Nice office have been appalling since I...”

Written on: 21/09/2017 by Leo227 (1 review written)

The Goldcar Nice office have been appalling since I had an accident in one of their vehicles six weeks ago. As I decided not to take their extortionate insurance, I was made to pay a deposit of over £1000. Unpalatable, but so far standard practice. After the accident, I went through all proper channels, filled out the relevant paperwork and was assured everything was fine. They told me they would be in contact regarding a receipt for the repair costs of the vehicle, and would then refund the… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Hidden charges, hard sell and surly staff. AVOID.”

Written on: 21/09/2017 by 457Smith (1 review written)

Do yourself a favour and book with anyone but this outfit. We booked a family estate online for what seemed like a decent price. After a thirty minute wait to get to the counter ("why is this taking so long?", we're thinking), we were curtly informed that family estates are one of the highest groups and that they are all diesels and that diesels have a €35 surcharge. "We didn't order a diesel", we protested. "Read the T & Cs", came the curt response. Next up was insurance - they gave us the… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Cheating with additional charges, unethical business ”

Written on: 18/09/2017 by kelayaraja (1 review written)

I rented the car to travel to Paris from Amsterdam. I clearly told them that i travel to Paris when renting, they told that i would be charged 9€ per day extra as its out side NL. For4 days, i was charged 105€, and now they are telling that we have a rule like cars not allowed to go outside etc etc... clearly cheating business, and staffs are so rude and looting mind set. Never ever book gold car, There are many operators who allow you to travel freely between countries, so go for it. For… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“This company takes money out of your credit card for...”

Written on: 18/09/2017 by ZaydenMoser386 (1 review written)

This company takes money out of your credit card for "fines" even 15 months after you use their service. Never use this company… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“If you're lucky enough to read a review like this one,...”

Written on: 18/09/2017 by ebeaufay (1 review written)

If you're lucky enough to read a review like this one, don't rent with goldcar!!! I Rented a car on internet for a 100 euros. I arrived at the airport at midnight and had to pay 120 for the fuel (which they should reimburse ) and 180 for an extra insurance. The other option was to block 1700 Euros on my card... Of course they know that most people on a trip will need their credit card and therefore cannot block this sum. As a result, I paid and curse their name ever since. I almost forgot, the… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Seang79's Response to ebeaufay's Review

Written on: 18/09/2017

Don't expect to get any of the €120 back for the fuel. I returned a full tank of fuel and they still charge you as if the vehicle was returned empty.

I cannot believe any reputable rental comparison sites still work with Goldcar. I rented through Rentalcars.com and will never use either company again.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely appalling”

Written on: 17/09/2017 by janerfrank (1 review written)

I rented a car from Goldcar at Malaga Airport through Rentalcars.com. They gave us a car with a flat tyre and it had to be returned immediately. They swapped it for another and then proceeded to bombard me with texts all week asking me to return the first car! I spent days trying to resolve it. They charged €113 for a tank full of petrol and we returned the car full - so their full to full policy is rubbish. I tried several times to sort out the issue during our holiday to no avail. They are… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“They overcharged me on arrival at Alicante Airport and...”

Written on: 14/09/2017

They overcharged me on arrival at Alicante Airport and said that they could not accept a debit card - only a credit card… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I was charged 150Euros for cleaning, only left sand...”

Written on: 13/09/2017

I was charged 150Euros for cleaning, only left sand and normal dirt from two weeks hire. I've never had such a scratched, beaten up car, so because they couldn't charge me for more damage, they charged for cleaning instead. Disgraceful. This is a despicable company. They repeated more than five times that I had to take their excess insurance despite getting my own, which they clearly didn't like. PLEASE avoid this company. it may start off cheap, but by the time you pay their extra costs, so… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not use this company ”

Written on: 11/09/2017

Do not use.  If you ignore this and decide to book online be prepared to pay a lot more on collection and make sure you have a credit in the drivers name… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia
Report this review
★★★★★

“Very good ”

Written on: 10/09/2017 by Kelham54 (1 review written)

Everything went smoothly at murcia airport got a bigger car than quoted and no extra charge no rip off like people say will definitely use again… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Car rental ripoff”

Written on: 08/09/2017

I booked a car for 1 month through DoYouSpain and was given Goldcar as the supplier. I have used the site before with no problems, but this time was different. When we arrived at the airport, we were made to queue for over an hour and then our troubles began. The man serving us was rude and very abrupt. He told us we had to pay 65 Euros for the car being filled with petrol and then began to try and sell us further insurance. I showed him my Allianz policy that covered me for car hire but he… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Very Disappointed now”

Written on: 01/09/2017 by Poweron135 (1 review written)

My family and I have been using the above company for 7 years for our Car hire and up until the beginning of this year we have had no problem. BUT things have changed They ripped of my daughter for €300 damage to the bonnet that she was not able to prove. They stung me by upgrading my car without telling me and then charging me for the upgrade, unfortunately i did not notice the upgrade at the time of signing the hire document. this week they have taken €270.00 from my credit card for… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“complete rip off!!!”

Written on: 01/09/2017 by jimbo6999999 (1 review written)

Useless customer service and hidden rip off charges! I advise people never to use this company and will certainly not be recommending this company to anyone else!!!!!… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 12/09/2017

Dear customer,

We’re very surprised with your comment. Our staff is trained to offer an efficient, personalized, satisfactory and polite customer's attention. Furthermore, we have one of the youngest and most extensive fleets in Europe with over 50,000 vehicles which, on average, are less than one year old.

On the issue you described, please let us explain that initial prices on our website are for basic rentals. Then, our customers are free to add as many services as they need, with the consequent increase of the price. But it any case the decision of adding an extra depends only on them.
Also we would like to tell you our prices and conditions are clearly detailed during the booking process as well as in Terms in Conditions our clients accept.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Goldcar are simply dishonest thieves”

Written on: 01/09/2017 by jduthie (1 review written)

Returned the car and it was given the all clear. Returned home the following day and received an e mail alleging damage to the car, and charging me 250 euros. No time or date on the obviously generic photograph. Customer services are a non existent joke. Avoid at all costs, don't take my word for it, just google it(wish I had before I booked with them… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 12/09/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please let us explain our clients have two options of coverage. Both appear clearly detailed during the booking process, in FAQ section of our website and in Terms and Conditions of the contract you accepted.

First of all, you can choose a basic rental. With this rate it is needed to leave a deposit that remains blocked in your credit card until the day you return the car. If, unfortunately, the car has any damage, amount of repair costs will be deducted from the excess fee initially blocked.

On the other hand you have Super Relax coverage, with which you don't have to worry about anything because all incidents may happen are covered.

We always recommend our clients to take out Super Relax cover for their own safe and tranquility on the road, but they're completely free to decide about it.

Please note that in order to pick up a car it is compulsory to block a deposit on a valid credit card. Our staff will always inspect the cars after each use and will mark the damages on the check-out sheet, however, we always ask customers to double check this since the cars can receive damage during their stay in the parking lot. This way both parties are aware of the damage that the car has on it before departing. On return, if our agents find damages that were not marked, they proceed to investigate and if it's considered that it occurred during this rental period, the customer will be charged for it.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Outrageous practices of hiding fees”

Written on: 31/08/2017

Goldcar prices may be attractive, but beware of hidden fees! None of them have been explained to my at the desk (I'm sure it's in the fine prints though) If you don't take the insurance to cover damages to the car, say, because you've already got such insurance, then they charge (take the money out of) your credit card. This is fine in principle, but if the currency isn't the same, you're being charged by your bank (~50 euros). No other rental car companies I've used do this. The "service" to… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 12/09/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please let us explain that initial prices on our website are for basic rentals. Then, our customers are free to add as many services as they need, with the consequent increase of the price. But it any case the decision of adding an extra depends only on them.
Also we would like to tell you our prices and conditions are clearly detailed during the booking process as well as in Terms in Conditions our clients accept.

Please note that in order to pick up a car it is compulsory to block a deposit on a valid credit card. Our staff will always inspect the cars after each use and will mark the damages on the check-out sheet, however, we always ask customers to double check this since the cars can receive damage during their stay in the parking lot. This way both parties are aware of the damage that the car has on it before departing. On return, if our agents find damages that were not marked, they proceed to investigate and if it's considered that it occurred during this rental period, the customer will be charged for it.

Regarding the charge for "refuelling", this is the Flex-fuel fee. In the first place, you can choose Flex Fuel system, with which you leave a deposit for a full fuel tank the day you pick the car up, and when you return it, the amount of used fuel will be charged by Goldcar and your deposit will be refunded. This rate has management costs due to several advantages attached to the own service, and they are specified on our website.

On the other hand, you also can choose Full Fuel system, with which you leave a deposit for full tank, receive the car full of fuel and you have to return the same way, with the full tank. If the fuel tank is not full, the amount of missing liters will be deducted from money you initially left as a deposit.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Inefficient and dishonest”

Written on: 31/08/2017 by Reynaldo490 (1 review written)

Long way from the airport, very slow and poor shuttle. Push their own insurance very hard and then try to claim damages from a credit card deposit when there was no damage… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 12/09/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

On the issue you described, please note we are trying to solve the waiting time issue by opening auxiliary offices. We are also doing daily schedules to serve our customers in the fastest possible way depending on the number of bookings at every moment of the day. Also, please note that a Priority Check-in service is available for a reasonable extra fee.

Please let us also explain our clients have two options of coverage. Both appear clearly detailed during the booking process, in FAQ section of our website and in Terms and Conditions of the contract you accepted.

First of all, you can choose a basic rental. With this rate it is needed to leave a deposit that remains blocked in your credit card until the day you return the car. If, unfortunately, the car has any damage, amount of repair costs will be deducted from the excess fee initially blocked.

On the other hand you have Super Relax coverage, with which you don't have to worry about anything because all incidents may happen are covered.

We always recommend our clients to take out Super Relax cover for their own safe and tranquility on the road, but they're completely free to decide about it.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking experience never to be repeated”

Written on: 30/08/2017 by McWilliams476 (1 review written)

The car was great, the quoted price was good and competitive. The woman who served me at Faro airport was horrendous. She was rude, rolling her eyes at me, refusing to serve me unless I bought additional insurance and paid 100's of additional euros unless I purchased fuel, paid taxes, additional insurance, prepaid tolls, extra cost for airport pick up and more. I am skilled at working with challenging people in high pressure situations and it took all my assertiveness, patience, reasoning… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 12/09/2017

Dear customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

We’re very surprised with your comment. Our staff is trained to offer an efficient, personalized, satisfactory and polite customer's attention. Furthermore, we have one of the youngest and most extensive fleets in Europe with over 50,000 vehicles which, on average, are less than one year old.

On the issue you described, please let us explain we're surprised that you had a bad experience when you collected your vehicle. Our colleagues should remain courteous and respectful at all times. Customer feedback is a key part of our staff appraisal process so your comments are important and will be taken into account. We invest continuously in training so that our colleagues understand and adhere to our standards and guidelines for Customer Services.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Freud”

Written on: 30/08/2017 by Holmesha355 (1 review written)

We have been cheated by Goldcar reservation at the airport Alicante Spain! He put me as an additional driver and charged us 80 euro. I would never drive in Spain! He told us this was the contrakt we signed. When we told him we have a full covered Insurance. He told us we do not. He tried to cheat us. Twice!! But he stoled 80 euro from us. I have friends working in Swedish media and I will surely give them this stuff fora FrontPage in the Swedish news paper. " Do not ever rent from Goldcar -… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 12/09/2017

Dear customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

On the issue you described, please let us explain that initial prices on our website are for basic rentals. Then, our customers are free to add as many services as they need, with the consequent increase of the price. But it any case the decision of adding an extra depends only on them.

Please let us also explain our clients have two options of coverage. Both appear clearly detailed during the booking process, in FAQ section of our website and in Terms and Conditions of the contract you accepted.

First of all, you can choose a basic rental. With this rate it is needed to leave a deposit that remains blocked in your credit card until the day you return the car. If, unfortunately, the car has any damage, amount of repair costs will be deducted from the excess fee initially blocked.

On the other hand you have Super Relax coverage, with which you don't have to worry about anything because all incidents may happen are covered.

We always recommend our clients to take out Super Relax cover for their own safe and tranquility on the road, but they're completely free to decide about it.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dishonest ”

Written on: 26/08/2017 by philhawthorn (1 review written)

Don't touch them, if something looks to good to be true, it generally is. They charged me extra for a fuel deal (which they explained very badly) whereby I apparently wouldn't have to return the tank full. It sounded dodgy to me, so I filled the tank up anyway and then they charged me again for fuel. I'll be going with the more reputable firms in future… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2017

Dear customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, , please let us explain that fuel policy is clearly indicated on our website.

In the first place, you can choose Flex Fuel system, with which you leave a deposit for a full fuel tank the day you pick the car up, and when you return it, the amount of used fuel will be charged by Goldcar and your deposit will be refunded. This rate has management costs due to several advantages attached to the own service, and they are specified on our website, in the SDR section.

On the other hand, you also can choose Full Fuel system, with which you leave a deposit for full tank, receive the car full of fuel and you have to return the same way, with the full tank. If the fuel tank is not full, the amount of missing liters will be deducted from money you initially left as a deposit. You can check this information by visiting our FAQs website.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment

Seang79's reply to Goldcarrental's Comment

Written on: 13/09/2017

This is incorrect! At the rental desk, I specifically requested a full to full fuel option and was categorically told that this was not possible but that I would be refunded for any unused fuel.

I returned the vehicle fully fuelled and low and behold your company charged me over €50 euros for fuel, to fill a tank that was brim full!

Regarding additional insurance, at the desk, I was told that I had to prove I had 100% insurance or take the Goldcar insurance, which was €220 for a rental that I only paid £60 for! I was told I could go elsewhere, but the hire had already been prepaid!!

Regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“LOTS OF HIDDEN COST, LIMITED MILE, BE CAREFUL in Marseill”

Written on: 25/08/2017 by JaidenGallegos414 (1 review written)

Deposit EUR1200 was required immediatelly in renral counter. If you don't have EUR credit card, YOU NEED PAY OVER GBP70 in addition as foreign currency commission. Also it was limited mileage. BE CAREFUL LOTS OF HIDDEN COST hence low price. (16-22Aug in Marseill)… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please let us explain that initial prices on our website are for basic rentals. Then, our customers are free to add as many services as they need, with the consequent increase of the price. But it any case the decision of adding an extra depends only on them.
Also we would like to tell you our prices and conditions are clearly detailed during the booking process as well as in Terms in Conditions our clients accept.

Regarding the deposit, our customers have two options of coverage. First of all, you can choose a basic rental. With this rate it is needed to leave a deposit that remains blocked in your credit card until the day you return the car. If, unfortunately, the car has any damage, amount of repair costs will be deducted from the excess fee initially blocked.

On the other hand you have Super Relax coverage, with which you don't have to worry about anything because all incidents may happen are covered.

We always recommend our clients to take out Super Relax cover for their own safe and tranquility on the road, but they're completely free to decide about it.

Finally, regarding the payment method. Most of our offices accept both debit and credit cards, however some of them may only accept credit cards. This is all clearly stated during booking process, as well as in our T&Cs, and also in the booking confirmation voucher you received.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
overview
Deals on Expedia