GoldCar Rental Reviews - www.goldcar.es

★☆☆☆☆
1.2 / 5
2255
5% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es

GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Incredibly rude”

Written on: 27/03/2017 by Lamb229 (1 review written)

We had just arrived in Lanzarote and were looking forward to our holiday. It was our first port of call before leaving to start out trip. We were both struck by how unfriendly the customer service was, verging on hostile. It was very hard to understand what we had done wrong... They are clearly very jaded and not interested in providing a polite and friendly face to customers. On retuning the car with a full tank we were told that the deposit would be refunded within three to four hours. It… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible Customer Service ”

Written on: 26/03/2017 by Wright136 (1 review written)

I rented a car in Lanzarote through Goldcar for 2 weeks in March 2017, the staff were all very rude and unprofessional. To start with there was a long wait to get served at the Goldcar desk as Lanzarote airport. Prior to collecting the car I took out separate excess insurance as I knew I would be overcharged if I took out this cover through Goldcar. As I expected I was offered excess cover through Goldcar at an eye watering £250, when I advised I didn't require the extra cover the member of… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/03/2017

Dear customer,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, you have to know that our policy contemplates the requirement to leave a deposit in order to pick the car and start using our services. However, we always offer additional cover (Super Relax Cover), because it already includes an excess and it exempts you of this requirement. If customers have third party coverage, they can request a refund from them in case of damages, but our additional coverage is always offered as an alternative to blocking a deposit on a credit card.

We understand that you booked a third party's coverage from home.
However, I'd like to explain you how our coverage policy works. We always make the customer choose from two different options: you can purchase our additional coverage or you can leave a deposit in which you'll be liable of any damage made to the car, as our agent explained you at the counter. However, as you did not ask expressly to block a deposit on your cc, we had no option but to charge you our additional coverage.
We are aware that third parties offer customers their own coverage, as in your case, but it should be explained that this coverage is only applied when a charge is debited from the deposit left by the customer to the rent-a-car company - this is how the third party's coverage policy works. As you didn’t leave deposit you’ll have to contact with your broker in order to ask them for a refund of this coverage you ended not using, because we're not aware of the conditions of the third party's coverage refund.

Please note that our additional coverage is a non-refundable service, as you did accept it and consumed it already, we cannot do any refunds now.
I hope this information helped you clear your concerns.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Be aware of hidden currency charges”

Written on: 25/03/2017

Rented car for week at Feurteventura Airport. Car was OK, it was cheap and I took out excess insurance to avoid their inflated excess insurance cost. I'm pretty savvy but admit that I was fleeced. You have to get the excess charged to your credit card - 1100 Euros. No problem, expected it and its refunded if theres no excess charges however I was in a hurry and failed to notice that they charged me in Sterling and applies a conversion rate of 1.0!!!! On top of that there was a 2% credit card… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/03/2017

Dear customer,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please note that all of our basic procedures are stated on your confirmation voucher as well as on your contract. If you are noticing differences between the amount refunded and the one that you received it must be due to the currency exchange and the possible commissions your bank charge you for these transactions, as you may understand we cannot be liable of the exchange rate they are applying on this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Lowest of the low”

Written on: 25/03/2017 by Elliottrl164 (1 review written)

God these people would test the patience of a saint or make a grown man cry am Sure Jesus suffered less at Easter Stay away at all costs these people only have one thing in mind and that's fear frighten you to pay more. We hired a car at Malaga in October 16 and I still have nightmares about. being at that goldcar desk feel like I am on the edge of a cliff waiting to go over it they ruined my holiday and more these people are the pits… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/03/2017

Dear customer,

Thanks for you for taking your time to rate our services.

We're trying to improve our services and the opinion of clients is essential to do so.

On the issue you describeds, please open a query to our Customer Services department through our webiste. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage any issues you could have had ASAP.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Goldcar Larnaca ”

Written on: 24/03/2017

Basically Goldcar is a sham and cheated at every step: - actually charged €1.100 deposit despite saying it was being blocked only - overcharging for fuel despite full-to-full fuel policy booked Worst of all, not returning the deposit and not answering email enquiries. I am taking legal advice on recovering the deposit and will then work with police to try and get the company shut down… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/03/2017

Dear customer,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

On the issue you described, please note that our agents would only charge a deposit for the rental instead of blocking it if the customer is using a debit card to arrange the transaction. If that was the case our offices should arrange a refund of this deposit right after the rental ends as soon as the car was returned without any damages or losses. Please refer your case to our customer service department by opening a query process through our website on the customer service section, that way they’ll assist you ASAP.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Beware of upgrade offers”

Written on: 23/03/2017 by LilyanaSchneider6 (1 review written)

We recently hired a car from Malaga airport. We were told we could upgrade the car we had booked, the cheapest, to a Ford Fiesta for 2 Euros per day extra. This we agreed to, only to find instead of paying the 46 Euros plus an extra 16 Euros we actually paid £92!!! Our fault for not checking before we signed SO BE AWARE!!! The car was nice to drive, though… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/03/2017

Dear customer,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please note that a vehicle upgrade does always cost an extra fee if you are changing from the original category you hired to a bigger one. The cost of it is always detailed on your contract at the top right of the sheet, where you can check the itemised price of all the services you hired.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“They will suprise you with costs you were not told about”

Written on: 21/03/2017

Although the car hire was fine from a car point of view and even the costs are reasonable, they do not tell you the true cost when you book online. Although many car hire companies have done this in the past, GoldCar continue to not tell you what the real cost will be. In a 3 day hire we were charged an extra 90 Euros for something I couldnt quite work out, yes insurance but not quite sure for what as I had paid the extra £60 for the full cover avoiding exesses but who knows? I am sure an… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/03/2017

Dear customer,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please note that our policy contemplates the requirement to leave a deposit in order to pick the car and start using our services. However, we always offer additional cover (Super Relax Cover), because it already includes an excess and it exempts you of this requirement. This service is always offered as an alternative to blocking a deposit on a credit card.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Beware of hidden costs”

Written on: 21/03/2017 by drcypher (1 review written)

Beware of hidden costs, especially if not booking directly via their website! I generally try different car rental companies and so far Gold was the least pleasant experience. After clearly receiving confirmation of amount that has to be paid on site when completing my reservation - to my surprise price went up more than DOUBLE!!! (quote online stated clearly: 129.20 (HRK) - and I ended up paying 320.05(HRK)) + they didn't accept American express card, so my current account still has pending… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/03/2017

Dear customer,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please note that all of our basic procedures are stated on your confirmation voucher as well as on your contract. On provision nº4 of our general conditions you can read “we do not accept Diners Club, American Express, Postepay or cash”. Regarding the release of the deposit, you have to take into account that deposit unblock of our contracts is not done immediately. Please understand that we have to process many arrangements of this type and our system may take a while to complete it. Counting after the date your rental ended the refund may take up to 15 working days, as you can see on our T&C, on point 14.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“ISSUED WITH A DIRTY CAR THEN CHARGED FOR SPECIAL CLEANING”

Written on: 19/03/2017 by MrsB123321 (1 review written)

Used Goldcar many times with no problems. My latest experience was very different. I was given a car with a few marks on the bodywork. The interior had clearly not been valeted. Dust on the dashboard and on the floor. Stain on the seat. 3 days after returning home I received an e-mail stating they were charging 30.00 Euros to my credit card for Special Cleaning for a stain on the seat. I rang them to complain and contacted them via their website, but they will not accept my point. I have… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 21/03/2017

Hello
Please note that provision number 6.2 of our General T&C establishes: “charge for 'special cleaning' for the costs incurred from an additional valeting service arising from the clearly inadequate state of the vehicle at the time of its return, with a maximum charge of €150.” This was stated on your contract as well. According to it, we expect our customers to valete the vehicle before returning if needed and in your case it was needed. If it was needed on your case, I’m afraid that the charge is justified.
For any further assistance, you can open a query process through our website.
Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Gave them 1star because there's no option for 0star!”

Written on: 15/03/2017 by Mug999 (1 review written)

I was charged €80 for returning a small car with a quarter tank of petrol missing (beware no petrol stations near airport). The car hire was €50 for four days, but they wanted an extra €99 for full insurance. Breakdown is not included in rental! Complete rip off. DO NOT USE. Before they reply saying that they value my opinion and trying to improve their service, why not give me a reasonable refund, then I would be impressed with their service!… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 21/03/2017

Hello,
Thanks for your review.
Please note that all of our contracts are given to our customers with an itemized breakdown of the cost of all the payments regarding the contracted rental at the top right of the sheet. Did you check this when you signed the papers?
On the other hand, you should know that our policy contemplates the requirement to leave a deposit to start using our services or to hire our additional coverage, because it already includes an excess amount on it. If you didn’t want to leave a deposit, the only option left was to add our coverage.
Bear in mind that our additional coverage is a not refundable service, for that reason we cannot arrange any refunds on this matter.
For further assistance you can always go to our website’s customer service part and open a query process through there.
Kind Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment

Mug999's reply to Goldcarrental's Comment

Written on: 21/03/2017

Do you consider an annual rate of over €9,000 for your insurance reasonable? And charging €80 for about 10lts of petrol reasonable? It's not leaving the deposit I object to, it's the feeling of being ripped off. Doesn't say your going to do that on the top right hand corner does It? For further assistance I will use a reputable company in future!

Reply to this comment

Mug999's Response to Mug999's Review

Written on: 16/03/2017

P.s. Given that their rating is 1.2 out of 5, and you have to give them 1, does this mean that their review is actually 0.2 out of 5?

The €99 insurance cost works out at over €9,000 per annum!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“go elsewhere”

Written on: 13/03/2017 by wookey67 (1 review written)

we had no issue with our own car. but had to wait an hour to collect it , despite only 3 people in front of me. their basic cover does not even cover breakdown recovery! we had our own cover thank fully. hard sell to try and pay for all their extras better go elsewhere. one member of staff doing all the paper work and car checking while another just watched the queue and did some paper work… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 14/03/2017

Dear customer,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

On the issue you described, please note that you could always have approached our counters and ask for a priority check in service which would have allowed you to be attended right away. If you need any further assistance you can always open a query on the Customer Service section of our website.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment

Mug999's reply to Goldcarrental's Comment

Written on: 16/03/2017

Our opinion is deffinetly NOT important to you, otherwise you would not have so many of them.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Goldcar Lanzarote Airport - shockingly bad!”

Written on: 12/03/2017 by Goodman170 (1 review written)

We have hired many cars all over the world. Many times in Lanzarote, but we never had such a poor experience as with Goldcar. Collection was a nightmare with a long wait, partly because of people having to return to the desk to complain about being given the wrong car. The attitude of the counter staff was poor with a truculent, dismissive attitude when you decline their ridiculously over-priced "options". On a positive note, the vehicle was fine. However due to the sour-faced attitudes of… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 14/03/2017

Dear customer,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please note that all of our basic procedures are stated on your confirmation voucher as well as on your contract. Our additional coverage is always offered as an alternative to leave a deposit and never a mandatory requirement to hire the car. Regarding the queue time, you could have always approached the counters and ask for a priority check in, to avoid any extra time.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment

Mug999's Comment

Written on: 16/03/2017

And I assume they would have to pay for the priority check in?

Reply to this comment

Mug999's Comment

Written on: 16/03/2017

And I assume they would have to pay for the priority check in?

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“paid 500 euros for damaged already on the car”

Written on: 10/03/2017 by MHilbers (1 review written)

After collecting our car they noted 11 extra damages which were not on the original form, we got a nice confirmation by email of the state of our car. So far so, good. We returned the car as we got it, they say no need to check, all ok. After a week they took 500 euros for damages. We complained, and after 5 days got an email that stated that there we 500 euros damages on the car without any specification (standard email, with only the 500 euro specially written for us). so, we lost 500 euros… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 14/03/2017

Hi,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please note that all of our basic procedures are stated on your confirmation voucher as well as on your contract. As you may know our policy establishes that if when the car is returned we found any damage that wasn’t marked on the check out sheet we give our customers when they pick up the vehicle, it would be charged to them as we understand that this damage was made under their responsibility. Did you mark all the damages the car had prior to your collection?

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★★

“Rip them off instead”

Written on: 10/03/2017 by Brylee229 (1 review written)

Easy to turn the tables. Book on their own website. Only book full to full rate on fuel and steadfastly refuse any extras. NOW be prepared to leave an excess of around £1000 on your credit card + a payment for a full tank of fuel up front. NEXT either risk it or buy separate excess insurance policy, daily or annually. THEN check regularly to see if the rate gets cheaper. You get free cancellation up to 24 hrs before travel so if it becomes cheaper rebook at that rate. Alicante, next week, 4… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 13/03/2017

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad you had a nice and smooth rental with us. I can see that you know very well our procedures and T&Cs. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment

Mug999's Comment

Written on: 16/03/2017

One of your few satisfied customers. Make the most of them, their as rare as hens teeth!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“parcel/back shelf missing?”

Written on: 08/03/2017 by maxime.bourgognon (1 review written)

I received a message from GOLDCAR charging us 120 euros for a missing parcel/back shelf. GOLDCAR had an incomplete record of the sate of the car (due to their informatic system) and accused us of removing/stealing the back shelf of the car. They took the money from our account with no consent and never replied to any of our emails. Customer service from the beginning was HORRIBLE. The funny part? We are not the first ones being charged for a parcel shelf missing... … Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 13/03/2017

Hi,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

On the issue you described, please note that all of our basic procedures are stated on your confirmation voucher as well as on your contract. Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment

Mug999's reply to Goldcarrental's Comment

Written on: 16/03/2017

Do you just cut and paste this standard reply to dissatisfied customers?

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

““Steer Clear Of GoldCar” ”

Written on: 07/03/2017 by JIMEXRN (2 reviews written)

Hired a car through Ryanair Cartrawler who are agents for “GOLDCAR” in Alicante. After a 60 minute wait I eventually got served by an abrupt agent who debited my credit card 1500 Euros instead of just blocking it for this amount. It was only after a few days into my holiday when I checked my credit card statement to find it was accruing interest and had to drive a 200 Kilometres round trip all the way back to the airport to have it refunded as you cannot get them on the telephone. On… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 13/03/2017

Hi,

Thanks for your comment.
We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please note that all of our basic procedures are stated on your confirmation voucher as well as on your contract. Given that you already sent this to our CEO, the head of our customer service would assess your case again check this matter again.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment

Mug999's reply to Goldcarrental's Comment

Written on: 16/03/2017

Yes, you do cut and paste the reply!

Reply to this comment

Jimexrn's reply to Goldcarrental's Comment

Written on: 16/03/2017

I must have sent over 100 emails to your CEO asking for an apology explaining I was not responsible for the small scratches to the bumpber while the car was in my care.. The response I got was from your lawyer threatening to take me to court for harassment and to claim back the 228.28 GBP which my credit card company has reversed. I was fully insured by "Insurance4carhire" in the UK so it is not the money in question here it's being wrongly accused of something I did not do. Just "google GoldCar reviews" and you will be shocked to see the the number of complaints about being RIPPED OFF by GoldCar. I will never give up complaining as I informed your lawyer I am completely within my right to make as many complaints as I wish until I get an apology. So bad reviews about GoldCar will keep being made by me every day until I receive my just apology

Yours faithfully

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Piracy”

Written on: 07/03/2017 by moped17 (1 review written)

Goldcar in Bergamo Airport (Milan, Italy) has drawn illegal fees from my Mastercard. They have invented a "Diesel Fee"on 12 EURO that they have taken. Also they charged 40 EURO from each of the 10 customers that were on a plane that was 10 minutes late. I accept there may be a fee but 400 Euro is piracy!… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 13/03/2017

Hi,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

On the issue you described, please note that all of our basic procedures are stated on your confirmation voucher as well as on your contract. Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. You'll fine this inside the help centre section. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't use goldcar total ripoff merchants”

Written on: 05/03/2017 by yvPowell76 (1 review written)

Rented a car from goldcar Gran Canaria airport and had no parcel shelf in the back I know this as all the luggage just went in easily, car brake pads also needed changing which hadn't been checked at all before hire which is quite bad considering the mountainous roads I had been driving on, Anyway took car back and they have charged me £85 for a missing parcel shelf and not refunded me the excess fuel that I left in the tank (half full) was charged £70 for this in first instance, anyway I… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 13/03/2017

Hi,

Please note that according to what you've described, there must have been some kind of missundertanding regarding your issues. We are always willing to help our customers with any issues they could have had during their rentals. Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment

Craigyd's Comment

Written on: 05/03/2017

Don't give me the "we're trying to improve our services rubbish either" I'm not interested I have opened a big case with my banks and I have an interview with a uk news paper next week! That £85 you charged me will cost you £10000sss you have messed with the wrong person!!!!

Reply to this comment

Craigyd's Comment

Written on: 05/03/2017

I have just found another review where they have done this to a German family, they are doing this on purpose do not use this company whatever you do!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't use this company”

Written on: 02/03/2017 by Thomasbb421 (1 review written)

I wrote a review on the Goldcar website, I now realise they don't publish poor reviews. Picked up a Goldcar from Lanzarote airport, when I checked the car the next day found that a front tyre was bald, not only bald but the rubber showed signs of perishing. My guess is that it had been swopped probably by the maintenance team. Took the car back, no apologies and lost half a day of my holiday. When I initially collected the car they tried to sell me insurance to cover excess damage and I told… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 02/03/2017

Dear customer,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please note that all of our basic procedures are stated on your confirmation voucher as well as on your contract. Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment

Mug999's Comment

Written on: 16/03/2017

Of course they don't publish bad reviews, they wouldn't have enough room!

Reply to this comment

Craigyd's Comment

Written on: 05/03/2017

I did the same but I got charged 100e for a missing parcel shelf that wasn't there in the first place! I will not let this go tho and I'm pursuing this massively and have got an interview with the papers about this company, can I use your review as extra ammo? The papers are already totting up these bad reviews for the story

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Very Disapointed this last time with goldCar”

Written on: 27/02/2017 by Zacnerja (1 review written)

Was in Malaga not long ago, Picked up the car at 22:30 and told the staff to change the drop off time 3 hours later as they were getting there jackets on ready to leave and they told me "don't worry" So dropped my car off 3 hours on the day and 2 days later get a invoice for 43 euros for dropping the car off late. Not helpful people and forget getting the money back even if your in the right … Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 02/03/2017

Dear customer,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

I'm sure that there must have been some kind of misunderstanding with this matter.
Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment

Mug999's reply to Goldcarrental's Comment

Written on: 16/03/2017

Customers opinions are of little interest to you, otherwise there would not bo so many of them!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
overview