GoldCar Rental Reviews - www.goldcar.es

★☆☆☆☆
1.2 / 5
1821
5% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es

GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Everything is optional. Goldcard steals people hidding...”

Written on: 04/08/2015 by SydneyDowd150 (1 review written)

Everything is optional. Goldcard steals people hidding additionnal charges like for the fuel, different drop off location, baby seats and so on. Finally the price is 3 times the one which is announced on the internet. Fuel refund is not accurate and there again Goldcar steals customers. It's a shame to not respect customers. I hope this company will be sued… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 04/08/2015

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was dissatisfying. Please note that the price advertised online is only the basic rental charge, fuel and a deposit or additional coverage are not included. The rental procedure is explained on our webpage during the booking process.

Allow me to explain our fuel policy; during the booking process customers have the option of purchasing two fuel plans: our Flex Fuel plan, where the customer pre-purchases a full tank and receives a refund for unused fuel (no need to return it empty), minus a handling and administration fee. The second plan is a Full to Full, where the customer pre-purchases a full tank and is refunded the same amount when returning the vehicle with a full tank.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Hidden Extras”

Written on: 03/08/2015 by woody2941 (1 review written)

We hired a car from Goldcar in Catania during March. While the "headline" price was low we made the mistake of hiring on a "Full to "Empty" basis. Goldfarb charged 103 euro for fuel for a Reault Clio promising a credit for any unused fuel. The administration charge of 22 euro was in the small print but the balance of 81 euro for 45 litres (capacity of the Clio) worked out at 1.81 euro a litre. The price at the airport was 1.65. Goldfarb's explanation was that they pay more for fuel than the… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 04/08/2015

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us at our office in Catania was not as expected. Please allow me to explain our Flex Fuel policy: customers pre-purchase a full tank and receive a refund for unused fuel, minus a handling and administration fee (the vehicle needs to be driven to be refueled and cannot be rented out in the meantime). With this plan customers benefit from our Quick Return System, they don't have to worry about refueling the vehicle close to the office before returning it or wait for the tank to be checked. A Full to Full plan is also offered and explained during the booking process through our website.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Most dishonest car rental ever ”

Written on: 01/08/2015 by TrippPatterson (1 review written)

We booked a car at Fiumicino Airport in Rome through a website called holidaycars.com. Although we had booked our car for 90 Euros, we ended up with a bill of 115 Euros for unknown reasons. Add to this the fact that the person at the desk wanted us to bring it back with empty reservoir and charge us 100 Euros for the fuel, what we obviously did not do ! They made us sign a sheet stating that there was no marks on the car before we even had time to see it... Finally, the agency was located… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 03/08/2015

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us at our office in Rome was not as expected. Please note that the price advertised online is only the basic rental charge, fuel and a deposit or additional coverage are not included.

Please allow me to explain our Flex Fuel policy: customers pre-purchase a full tank and receive a refund for unused fuel, minus a handling and administration fee (the vehicle needs to be driven to be refueled and cannot be rented out in the meantime). With this plan customers benefit from our Quick Return System, they don't have to worry about refueling the vehicle close to the office before returning it or wait for the tank to be checked.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment

Pjoris's Comment

Written on: 03/08/2015

I completely understand this policy. Anyway, it is absolutely unacceptable that your office in Rome SOLD ME THIS OPTION WITHOUT TELLING ME.

Best.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Liars”

Written on: 31/07/2015 by RossiItalian55 (1 review written)

I will never use this company again. Below a part of the letter I sent to them after coming back from my trip to Sardinia. Of course they say it was all my fault and will not return any money back after their emploeey cheated me to buy their insurance.Dear Sirs, Please find below and in the attachment the email with the conditions that I received for the damage refund insurance that I paid together with the car hire fee during online booking. Unfortunately, in your office in Olbia in Sardinia… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 03/08/2015

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us at our office in Olbia was not as expected. Please note that our basic coverage always contemplates an excess (please see our T&Cs). If customers have third party coverage, such as yourself, they can request a refund from them in case of damages, this coverage covers the excess but not the vehicle itself. Additional insurance is offered for customers’ peace of mind and always as an alternative to blocking a deposit on a credit card. This is common practice in the rent-a-car sector.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“£40 fee charged.”

Written on: 31/07/2015 by SydneyMaher (1 review written)

Filled the car with fuel and drive to airport 20miles. Charged fee of £40.00 would have been cheaper to take a taxi!!!!! Don't use them… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 03/08/2015

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was dissatisfying. If you would like me to review your contract, please respond to this comment with your reservation number.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful service”

Written on: 31/07/2015 by Palmerasun (1 review written)

We picked up our car on 17th july and all seemed well. Four days later the air conditioning started to mis function, sometimes it would come on sometimes not. Called customer services and they said we would have to take the car back to the airport we got it from. I asvised them that i have two children, one with austism and that was not an ideal situation in heat of over 35 degrees and air conditioning that wasnt working properly, if at all. They still expected me to put my kids in the car and… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 03/08/2015

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us at our office in Rome was not as expected. Please note that the price advertised online is only the basic rental charge, fuel and a deposit or additional coverage are not included.

Please allow me to explain our Flex Fuel policy: customers pre-purchase a full tank and receive a refund for unused fuel, minus a handling and administration fee (the vehicle needs to be driven to be refueled and cannot be rented out in the meantime). With this plan customers benefit from our Quick Return System, they don't have to worry about refueling the vehicle close to the office before returning it or wait for the tank to be checked.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment

Palmerasun's reply to Goldcarrental's Comment

Written on: 03/08/2015

You cant even reply properly! Look at what you have written to what i have put, for a start I didnt even hire my car in rome and its got nothing to do with the fuel policy. Tells you exactly what bad service you supply

Reply to this comment

Palmerasun's Response to Palmerasun's Review

Written on: 01/08/2015

Update: golcar left us stranded. Tow truck guy asked us to pop car into his gagrge so he could check the car for us. When he did he said the car was not fit for purpose and condemed it and said it was too dangerous for us to drive. He even spoke to golcar themselves and told them. Did they do anyrhing, NO! They still told us to get a taxi back to the airport where we got the car! GOLCAR IT IS DOWN TO YOU TO SUPPLY ME AND GIVE ME A NEW CAR AS YOU HAE GIVEN ME A FAULTY CAR, you sould be sending someone to me with a car as it is not my fault! You have been warned people! Do not use them as they dont care, they left us stranded at the garage , nice garage man took us home and now we are stuck, cannot get any shopping or drink as our nerest shops are 15 mins drive away and no way of getting there by foot and definatly no busses here!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Goldcar - witholding deposit”

Written on: 30/07/2015 by Drake307 (1 review written)

Do not use Goldcar. They are absolute liars. I hired a car for a week having paid 1200 euros deposit. That was fine. I dropped off the car at the airport and the car was signed off by a Goldcar employee as being in good condition. Six weeks later I still have not received my deposit having sent them numerous emails. When they eventually replied they told me that they had tried to refund me but that my credit card company had "refused" the refund. My credit card company told me this is untrue as… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 31/07/2015

Dear customer,

We truly apologize for any issue caused. Please respond to this comment with your contract number, so that I may personally look into what is an irregular situation

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment

Willjack007's Comment

Written on: 31/07/2015

Here are the details:

Client Reference: 7367696

I hired a car from you at Murcia airport on 21.6.15.

The car was returned on 26.6.15.

Reply to this comment

Willjack007's Comment

Written on: 04/08/2015

Only £816.74 has been refunded. Please explain why I have not received the full £897 back. I know you will try and blame the exchange rate but that is irrelevant. Please send me an explanation. Thank you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Cowboys”

Written on: 30/07/2015 by Samule78 (1 review written)

We booked our rental car through 'Do you Spain' for our holiday in Spain this year, 2 weeks small car rental. We arrived at Palma airport yesterday, there are two family's travelling together so we had both booked with Gold Car. At the time of booking we were asked if we wanted additional insurance to protect our excess, both family's went ahead with this. We were then told at the Gold Car counter that this insurance we have paid for is useless as it doesn't cover items such as vandalism to our… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Beware of hidden extras”

Written on: 29/07/2015

I recently rented from Goldcar and returned the vehicle with a full tank of fuel. I was then charged an additional 35 euros because I had used the 'Fast Return System' which wasn't included in the price I was quoted. We were also left waiting for them at the airport as they had indicated on the paperwork a different pick up location (outside arrivals) when it had moved to a another (outside departures). As they were on different levels we were waiting for them for over an hour. Not a great… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 31/07/2015

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not as expected. Please allow me to explain our Flex Fuel policy: customers pre-purchase a full tank and receive a refund for unused fuel, minus a handling and administration fee (the vehicle needs to be driven to be refueled and cannot be rented out in the meantime). With this plan customers benefit from our Quick Return System, they don't have to worry about refueling the vehicle close to the office before returning it or wait for the tank to be checked.

Please note that all information regarding the location of our offices (and shuttle services for the few that are not in the airport facilities) can be found our webpage, on the booking voucher and official YouTube channel.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not hire any car by this Goldcar rental service ”

Written on: 29/07/2015 by georgeIII (1 review written)

If you ever want to hire a car take another company but dont use these bandits. You allways lost a lot of money with GOLDCAR. 1st You will never get the cheapcar that you booked It will allways different So think twice an take a real rental company . And you will go relaxt to your vacation Hotel… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 31/07/2015

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was dissatisfying. Please note that the price advertised online is only the basic rental charge, fuel and a deposit or additional coverage are not included.

Customers can only book the desired category of vehicle; the offered vehicle at the counter depends on availability.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dishonest and terrible”

Written on: 29/07/2015 by pivitaipale (1 review written)

Don´t ever use Gold Car rental services, because there isn´t any service at all. We got a different car what was promised, they forced us to take extra insurance (told us it was illegal to drive without). They also wrote down the receipt manually and took our signature before showing the actual receipt. It´s also impossible to register a different main driver who has paid the reservation, so you need to pay extra for two drivers. Very very bad service, lies and lousy personnel. They cheat… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 31/07/2015

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was dissatisfying. Please note that customers can only book the desired category of vehicle, the offered vehicle at the counter depends on availability.

Please note that our basic coverage always contemplates an excess (please see our T&Cs). Additional insurance is offered for customers’ peace of mind and always as an alternative to blocking a deposit on a credit card. This is common practice in the rent-a-car sector.

We truly apologize if you felt the treatment of our staff was not correct, we will make sure to speak to them.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment

Lazydog13's Response to pivitaipale's Review

Written on: 31/07/2015

Totally agree. There needs to be government action against this company. I have had the miss pleasure of being tricked (that's a nice term - fraudulent and illegal would be far more accurate) by them twice. It's a very sad way for their staff to making a living - are they on commission to sell insurance? They certainly seem very keen to lie / trick you in to taking it. Last year I was told my insurance through doyouspain was worthless (a lie as it did provide insurance). This year I was tricked into paying as despite having my own comprehensive insurance I was told I had to leave a deposit on a master card / visa credit card. I only have American Express. No option of paying with a debt card was given (which they should accept). Tricked out of £150. This company needs to be investigated by the Spanish government and EU - that's where I encourage all disatisfied customers to put their effort. They deserve to be closed down or to recieve a very large fine for miss-selling etc. retrospectively customers should be able to reclaim their charges plus interest (as in the UK for PPI).

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“The car was good quality, the small print is a rip off”

Written on: 29/07/2015 by Abbie142 (1 review written)

The car was fine, just what we ordered and paid for but we selected the provider based on the overall cost and these guys know how to add hidden charges, I hire cars approx. twice per year so I thought I had seen it all but this left me feeling totally ripped off. We paid for the whole thing up front, this was £150. when we collected the car we were told that there is a COMPULSORY charge for fuel. I don't mean the cost of fuel I mean that they charge a 32 euro admin fee. The fee is applied… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 29/07/2015

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us at our office in Faro was not as expected. Please allow me to explain our Flex Fuel policy: customers pre-purchase a full tank and receive a refund for unused fuel, minus a handling and administration fee (the vehicle needs to be driven to be refueled and cannot be rented out in the meantime). With this plan customers benefit from our Quick Return System, they don't have to worry about refueling the vehicle close to the office before returning it or wait for the tank to be checked.

Please note that the ViaVerde device is rented out to spare customers the hassle of paying in person in a post office or ‘Payshop’ the next day –or up to 5 days after using the toll- and of course you avoid being fined for not paying the fees due.

Regarding the deposit refund, please respond to this comment with your contract number and I will answer ASAP.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment

Abbie147's Comment

Written on: 31/07/2015

Victoria, my point is that if I return the car with a full tank you do not have to re-fuel it and incur a cost - just like all the other hire car providers I have used in the past so your fee is a hidden surcharge. I am not willing to provide my contact details on a public forum. I have however provided them via your on-line form for the purpose of chasing fuel refunds (I therefore presume it happens often) plus I have provided them via email to your customer service centre). I would sincerely like you to respond to one of those messages and refund my fuel.

Reply to this comment

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 31/07/2015

Dear customer,

Please note that booking with Flex-Fuel system carry different conditions and a different price, often cheaper, than with the Full-Full system. As you made your booking, paid and signed with these conditions and price we have to respect it as is written in your contract. Please note that all information is about fuel and prices is explained during the booking process, in your voucher as well as in our T&Cs.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments Read Verified Business Response
★☆☆☆☆

“GOLDCAR DO NOT USE”

Written on: 27/07/2015 by makleris (1 review written)

I rented car from Roma Ciampino air port, had SUPER RELAX cover without EXCESS insurance. They said that this insurance covers everything. And In first day of my vacation the car was stolen in Barletta. And then the company charged me for 3700 Euros from my credit card as a penalty for the theft. Then I tried to know why is that because I had a SUPER RELAX insurance, they said that in other side of the contract in tiny tiny letters in italian language was said that this SUPER RELAX insurance… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 28/07/2015

Dear customer,

We are studying your case with the corresponding department. We have already refunded you part of the money charged for this issue.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative.

Reply to this comment

Makleris's reply to Goldcarrental's Comment

Written on: 29/07/2015

Dear, Goldcar,

I'm waiting for full refund.
Please, proove your customers that you are the company that we can trust.

Thank you

Reply to this comment

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 31/07/2015

Dear customer,

Please respond to this comment with your contract number, so that I may personally look into the refund.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment

Makleris's reply to Goldcarrental's Comment

Written on: 31/07/2015

This is my contract number 8151918

Thank you

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments Read Verified Business Response
★☆☆☆☆

“RIP OFF GOLD CAR”

Written on: 24/07/2015 by ijAdair315 (1 review written)

How many more will fall for this company, well I did so I guess others will. “DO YOU SPAIN” SHOULD NOT PROMOTE THEM My experience Rented a 3 door basic range car for what was a good price, so far so good After waiting almost 2 hours in the cue at Malaga Airport to collect the car we were told we had to leave a deposit on the credit card of 950 euros, guess this is standard? we were charged 90 euros for a tank of fuel, told it would be refunded if we brought it back full, which we did… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/07/2015

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us at our office in Malaga was not as expected. We are trying to solve the waiting time issue by opening auxiliary offices. We are also doing daily schedules to serve our customers in the fastest possible way depending on the number of bookings at every moment of the day. Also, please note that a Priority Check-in service is available for a reasonable extra fee.

Please note that our basic coverage always contemplates an excess (please see our T&Cs). Additional insurance is offered for customers’ peace of mind and always as an alternative to blocking a deposit on a credit card. This is common practice in the rent-a-car sector.

We apologize if the vehicle you were offered was not in optimal condition; please believe that it is highly irregular. Offering top rate cars is our top priority, which is why 70% of our +37,000 car fleet is renewed annually.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment

Toshie166's Comment

Written on: 28/07/2015

I too was ripped off by goldcar, I swear will never go near them again, I only wish I had read reviews beforehand, but then I went thru rentalcar.com so thought all would be ok.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Impossible to avoid additional costs YOU WILL PAY”

Written on: 24/07/2015 by McMahan1976 (1 review written)

Pre-hired car from GOLDCAR Pisa airport. Was told at desk they would take an amount from my card for refuelling but would be returned back to car minus any fuel costs. Of course I returned car with full tank only to find later in UK they had kept £18 for "Admin" fees - FOR RETURNING A CAR FULL OF PETROL that they had to do nothing with! On reading small print I did find it mentioned that even if you return full of fuel you will have to pay this admin fee - so be warned, go to a reputable car… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/07/2015

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us at our office in Pisa was not as expected. Please allow me to explain our Flex Fuel policy: customers pre-purchase a full tank and receive a refund for unused fuel, minus a handling and administration fee (the vehicle needs to be driven to be refueled and cannot be rented out in the meantime). With this plan customers benefit from our Quick Return System, they don't have to worry about refueling the vehicle close to the office before returning it or wait for the tank to be checked. This is explained during the booking process through our website.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment

Canefrog's Comment

Written on: 27/07/2015

You obviously did not read what I wrote. The car was returned FULL of fuel so did not need driving anywhere to be refuelled and could be rented out immediately - there was no administration needed. I was told at the desk that I would be refunded all my money if the car was returned full! This is just a blatant rip off and a cynical way to treat your customers!

Reply to this comment

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 28/07/2015

Dear customer,

If you booked and signed a contract with the Flex-Fuel system, you should respect the conditions of this tariff. Please note that Full-Full system has a different price and conditions.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment

Canefrog's Comment

Written on: 28/07/2015

I travel with business all over europe and hire cars. I have never had these riduculous hidden fees applied that you have no option but pay. But normally i hire from reutable companies. I have learned my lesson i just hope others read this before they make the same mistake and make sure they rent a car from a reputable professional company.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments Read Verified Business Response
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay away from this company”

Written on: 23/07/2015 by Holder378 (1 review written)

When I arrived in Faro I was met with a long queue outside their rental location. It took about 1.5 hours just to reach the counter and when I finally reached it the staff was unfriendly and rude! When I returned the car the guy who checked it noticed that the left front wheel had a bit low air pressure. That cost me an additional €300! This company is all about hidden costs. Here's what I paid for a 9 days rental of a Fiat Punto: Initial price: €95 Additional insurance (for Spain)… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/07/2015

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us at our office in Faro was not as expected. We truly apologize if you felt the treatment of our staff was not correct, we will make sure to speak to them.

Regarding the extra charge for damages, please respond to this comment with your contract number and I will answer ASAP.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Fuel scheme & does not offer an invoice upon return”

Written on: 23/07/2015 by chrisbeaumont (1 review written)

I was made to pay €112 for a tank of fuel in a Ford Focus, I returned it back full and only received €71 back. No explanation yet as to where the other €41 euros has gone. I was told very rudely upon return it was not possible to get an invoice upon return and also I cannot view this on their website as its saying my contract number is not valid, even though I have the contract in front of me. Also their complaints and queries section does not work on the website and tells me my own… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/07/2015

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was dissatisfying. Please allow me to explain our Flex Fuel policy: customers pre-purchase a full tank and receive a refund for unused fuel, minus a handling and administration fee (the vehicle needs to be driven to be refueled and cannot be rented out in the meantime). With this plan customers benefit from our Quick Return System, they don't have to worry about refueling the vehicle close to the office before returning it or wait for the tank to be checked. This is explained during the booking process through our website.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment

Chrisbeaumont's reply to Goldcarrental's Comment

Written on: 27/07/2015

You have managed to not answer my question, and furthermore have explained to me your fuel process which I am already aware of, I have checked your website and checked the flex fuel policy logistical fees for the car I booked and it is much less than €41 you kept. Perhaps you can advise me where the difference of money is that you have ripped me off of, and provide me with a receipt considering the option on your website does not work, and you do not offer one upon return of the car!

Reply to this comment

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 28/07/2015

Dear customer,

Please respond to this comment with your contract number, so I may look into your case.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments Read Verified Business Response
★☆☆☆☆

“WORST CAR RENTAL EVER - DO NOT USE”

Written on: 22/07/2015 by Dowdut316 (1 review written)

The other poor reviews are correct, steer clear of this company. They tried the hard sell with the insurance , which I had already purchased separately - because of this they were really over the top with if "anything happened" and "how the car had to be returned". They tried to overcharge me at the point of pick up until I got them to breakdown what the charges were for. 2 days after retuning the car they sent me an invoice, via email, for "special cleaning" for 150 euros. When I rang (from… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 23/07/2015

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was dissatisfying. Please note that our basic coverage always contemplates an excess (please see our T&Cs). If customers have third party coverage, such as yourself, they can request a refund from them in case of damages. Additional insurance is offered for customers’ peace of mind and always as an alternative to blocking a deposit on a credit card. This is common practice in the rent-a-car sector. A special cleaning fee for vehicles due to the condition they were returned in is also specified in our T&Cs.

If you would like me to review your contract, please respond to this comment with your reservation number.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't rent with Goldcar *EVER*”

Written on: 21/07/2015 by jmsmistral (1 review written)

My partner and I flew to Jerez and rented a car with Goldcar for two weeks. They only give you *one* option for fuel (unlike what their representative mentions in comments below) - that is, they provide the car with a full fuel tank and you return it as you want, where they reimburse you for the fuel still in the tank upon return. 1. they didn't return the full amount even though we returned the car with a full tank; 2. the price for the full tank that they charged initially is far more… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 23/07/2015

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us at our office in Jerez was not as expected. Allow me to explain our fuel policy; during the booking process customers have the option of purchasing two fuel plans: our Flex Fuel plan, where the customer pre-purchases a full tank and receives a refund for unused fuel (no need to return it empty), minus a handling and administration fee. The second plan is a Full to Full, where the customer pre-purchases a full tank and is refunded the same amount when returning the vehicle with a full tank. These two options are clearly offer and explained during the booking process through our webpage.

Regarding the extra charge for the antenna, please respond to this comment with your contract number and I will answer ASAP.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment

Jmsmistral's reply to Goldcarrental's Comment

Written on: 23/07/2015

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

Regarding the antenna, I contacted Goldcar. I was then emailed informing me that the expense was for "antenna re-positioning" and that it wouldn't be refunded. I can't understand how that could be as the car did not include an external antenna. Also, I think it's important to mention that there was no Goldcar staff member at the Goldcar parking when we hired the car, nor when we returned the car. So, there was no evaluation made in our presence where we could be shown proof of the 'antenna re-positioning'. The contract number is: 8253539

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Where did my money go?”

Written on: 21/07/2015 by YandelPittman (1 review written)

I wish I had found these reviews before I recently rented an AA car at Alicante for a weekend. I paid in full - £77.83. Or so the confirmation email said. Since then they have taken a further £94.36 off my card in two separate payments. I am still trying to find out why the initial cost of £77.83 has rocketed to £172.19 for a 3 day hire! Can someone show me on the T&C's where these extra payments are mentioned? Goldcar have told me they are looking into it but I've heard nothing since. By… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 23/07/2015

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us at our office in Alicante was not as expected. Please note that the price advertised online is only the basic rental charge, fuel and a deposit or additional coverage are not included.

If you would like me to review your contract, please respond to this comment with your reservation number.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
overview