GoldCar Rental Reviews - www.goldcar.es

★☆☆☆☆
1.3 / 5
6% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es

GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Disregard for customer”

Written on: 29/08/2014

I hired a car for one week from Majorca Palma airport. It was reserved back in January, for a rate which was ok for the size and type of vehicle. Whem I collected the vehicle, it was as described, but my anger is that in addition to paying for a full tank of fuel (which I knew I would have to), I was charged 90 Euros for insurance I did not need, though was told I had to have. The representative implying that the insurance I had, was insufficient. Additionally tax was charged on both these… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Hard sell for insurance I already had”

Written on: 29/08/2014 by JillianMcKenna213 (1 review written)

I hired via Holiday Autos and purchased my own insurance excess to cover excess charges if required. I collected from Alicante airport and was given the hard sell to purchase their own cover at £17 a day. I was told that my cover was useless and didn't cover the car enough, I had 4 small kids waiting to get in the car and ended up buying the excess cover because I wasnt given the time to check my own cover (there was also a very large queue waiting to get their cars). I was also told that I… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“These guys are terrible. I rented a car from Pisa...”

Written on: 28/08/2014 by Tamia141 (1 review written)

These guys are terrible. I rented a car from Pisa via a car rental comparison site and chose them because they were the cheapest. What a mistake. Heres what they do: You dont get to refuel the car - they charge you for a full tank when you pick it up and then re-imburse you what you leave when you hand it back - minus taxes. With my comparison site I had purchased insurance so I didnt have to buy theirs. They told me I would have to pay eur130 in anycase for extra insurance which was… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 29/08/2014

Dear customer,
We are sorry to hear that your rental experience with us was not as expected. We do not know what comparison site you used, but on most broker webpages we work with our pre-purchase fuel plan is clearly stated and explained. Please allow me to clarify that the amount that is not refunded is a fee for our Fast Return System (our staff need to drive the car to be refueled and it is not rented out in the meantime, as well as other logistic costs). Regarding the insurance options, the standard procedure for our rental staff is offering full coverage as an alternative to leaving a deposit ( it is indeed a deposit and unfrozen 15-20 days later, not actually debited). Our full coverage is offered for customers’ peace of mind; if they have third party excess coverage, such as yourself, they may leave the deposit and later request a refund for any possible damages. We apologize if this was not explained clearly, we will notify the office in Pisa about it.
Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Insurance Ripoff”

Written on: 28/08/2014 by CoryBoyd (1 review written)

I was dismayed when I found out my wife had booked a car from Goldcar but by the time I discovered it, there wasn't time to change (my dismay arose from 2 previous disappointments at Malaga airport). I took out additional insurance online from a 3rd party insurer to cover any excess or other costs and kept my fingers crossed that everything would be OK. Goldcar lived up to the reputation they had made for themselves in my previous visits and basically forced us to pay an additional 14 Euros a… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 28/08/2014

Dear customer,
We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our services, especially being a return customer. Please allow me to clarify that as an alternative to full coverage, you had the option of leaving a deposit on your credit card (unfrozen 15-20 days later) and in case of any damage, request a refund from your third party insurer. We apologize if the car you where given was not in optimal condition, this is highly irregular and we will notify the office in Málaga about it.
Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT HIRE!!!”

Written on: 28/08/2014 by ktSilva328 (1 review written)

WORST CAR RENTAL!! They charge the doble they say. DO NOT HIRE… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 28/08/2014

Dear customer,
Please take into consideration that the price advertised online is only the basic rental charge. Information regarding our fuel and insurance policies are clearly stated during the rental process, on both our webpage and most brokers’. We offer a pre-purchase fuel plan where a full tank is paid for at destination and unused fuel is later refunded (minus a handling and administration fee). Full coverage is offered as an alternative to leaving a deposit on a credit card (unfrozen 15-20 days later). We apologize if this was not clear when you booked.
Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Un justified charges to credit card”

Written on: 27/08/2014 by McQueen493 (1 review written)

Despite returning the car tothe Goldcar depot at Murcia airport 3 hours early and with more fuel then required I have been charged 25 euros after my return to the UK. This charge was for 'check in paperwork'. All paperwork was offered to Goldcar on the vehicles return but we were told "no, no, you keep" by the Goldcar employee. No response to numerous emails demanding an answer so we are taking legal action - not because of the amount, but the principal which is tantamount to theft. The cynic… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 28/08/2014

Dear customer,
Please respond to this comment with your reservation number so that we may try to sort this out with the office in Murcia.
Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Impostors!!!”

Written on: 27/08/2014 by LaszloGy (1 review written)

I hired a car for 8 days from goldcar. The price on my reservation was 125eur. I left a notice I prefer Audi A1 if possible. The customer service was very friendly and said not 100% but there try their best. When I arrived to Alicante airport the man in the office informed me the Audi A1 is an upgrade not same category what I booked even though the confirmation email clearly showed is it. The guy said do not worry and offered me Audi A3. Hi said a little more money. Let see. The extra fee… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 29/08/2014

Dear customer,
We apologize, please respond to this email with your reservation number and we will review your case and try to compensate for the inconveniences caused. Currently, the only way that certain brands can be reserved is when booking through our webpage, which I believe you did. However, this only applies to certain brands and locations, for example, when renting in Lisbon, customers can reserve from four Audi, Skoda or Volkswagen models. In Milan, Pisa, Bologna, Bergamo and Cagliari, they can reserve an Alfa Romeo. An Opel model is also available for reservation when renting in Bologna, Pisa, Rome and Milan. There is also the option of reserving several models for the offices in Palma de Mallorca, Málaga and Alicante. Please note that an additional fee for diesel and additional driver is specified in our T&Cs and during the rental process.
The amount you received as a refund was not 45.50€ because our Flex Fuel plan includes a handling and administration fee for our Fast Return System (our staff need to drive the vehicle to be refueled, in the meantime it is not being rented out, as well as other logistic costs). The refund is calculated based only on the fuel.
We await your reservation number so that we may contact you via email to further analyze your case.
Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 29/08/2014

Dear customer,
We apologize, please respond to this email with your reservation number and we will review your case and try to compensate for the inconveniences caused. Currently, the only way that certain brands can be reserved is when booking through our webpage, which I believe you did. However, this only applies to certain brands and locations, for example, when renting in Lisbon, customers can reserve from four Audi, Skoda or Volkswagen models. In Milan, Pisa, Bologna, Bergamo and Cagliari, they can reserve an Alfa Romeo. An Opel model is also available for reservation when renting in Bologna, Pisa, Rome and Milan. There is also the option of reserving several models for the offices in Palma de Mallorca, Málaga and Alicante. Please note that an additional fee for diesel and additional driver is specified in our T&Cs and during the rental process.
The amount you received as a refund was not 45.50€ because our Flex Fuel plan includes a handling and administration fee for our Fast Return System (our staff need to drive the vehicle to be refueled, in the meantime it is not being rented out, as well as other logistic costs). The refund is calculated based only on the fuel.
We await your reservation number so that we may contact you via email to further analyze your case.
Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Complete Rip Off”

Written on: 27/08/2014 by ZachariahBolton387 (1 review written)

Thought we were getting a good deal, wish we had read the reviews first. At the desk in Milan Malpensa we were rushed through, the only time we were spoken to was to try and get us to upgrade the car. I said I had additional cover (bought separately) and didn't need anything extra. They then got me to sign the paperwork (mostly in Italian). My fault for not double checking it all... When we got home we had an extra £191.64 added to our credit card bill. I contacted Goldcar but they were… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2014

Dear customer,
We apologize if there was a misunderstanding at our office in Milan. Please understand that the standard procedure for our rental staff is offering full coverage or the option of leaving a deposit on the customer’s credit card (unfrozen 15-20 days later). We cannot hand out a vehicle without making sure any possible damages will be covered for. If a customer has third party supplier coverage, such as yourself, a deposit is mandatory and they can later request a refund in case of damages.
Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Goldcars in Menorca...”

Written on: 27/08/2014 by afWilliams411 (1 review written)

If you need to hire a car in Menorca I would strongly recommend that you do not use Goldcars. Their cars cannot be collected at the airport and there are absolutely no signs to be found to indicate where a representative may be found. This results in a lot of chasing around and your holiday getting off to the worst possible start. There are hidden charges too, so be very careful. My car was returned with a quarter tank of fuel but I received no refund. Not good!… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2014

Dear customer,
Please respond to this comment with your reservation number and we will check the status of your fuel refund. However, please take into consideration that our Flex Fuel plan includes a handling and administration fee for our Fast Return System (vehicle needs to be driven to be refuelled and is not rented out in the meantime, among other logistic costs) and this might have cancelled out the quarter of a tank refund. Also, please allow me to mention that our official youtube channel has very informative meeting point videos for the few of our offices that are not within the airport premises. Our webpage also contains very detailed information (including maps) regarding the location of all of our offices (our offices tab).
Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Be firm at Rental Office and know what you want.”

Written on: 26/08/2014 by Barrett184 (1 review written)

Hired a car from Goldcar at Faro airport through Holiday Autos. Having read reviews thought I had made a terrible mistake. However I was wrong. Bit of a queue to get car but once at the desk not too bad. There was an attempt to hard sell me collision damage insurance that I didn't want, I told the receptionist I didn't need it as I was already covered and remained firm, he backed down. Everything else was straight forward. Got charged a lot for a tank of fuel buy was re - imbursed, at the… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for your positive and informative review. Customer satisfaction is great encouragement for us to keep improving our services. We hope to be of service again on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Car hire blackmail”

Written on: 26/08/2014

Just returned from a 10 day holiday in Spain/France. Flew into and out of Barcelona, collecting a hire car from Goldcar, booked via Auto Europe. Our flight into Barca was an evening one so we arrived at 10pm and then had to be bussed to the Goldcar depot. We were told that we would have to pay for the fuel already in the car - a first in over 20 years of European car hire - my mistake, something I missed in the small print (halfway down page 3 of the rental document)and that we had to take out… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 26/08/2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for your feedback; it is essential for us to keep improving our services and helpful information for future customers. We are sorry to hear that you felt the service you received at our check-in counter was not acceptable. Please understand that we cannot hand out a vehicle without making sure any possible damages will be covered for. This is why the standard procedure for our rental staff regarding insurance coverage is as follows:
- Offering full coverage because our basic coverage has a series of exclusions;
- Offering customers the option of leaving a deposit (the amount varies depending on the type of car, location and season) as an alternative (if they have third party supplier excess coverage such as yourself they can later request a refund for any damage costs).
An additional cover fee for driving the vehicle to neighbouring countries (and the ones allowed to drive to) is stated on our T&Cs during the rental process ( on our webpage and on most brokers’, including AutoEurope). We are very glad to hear you were happy with the vehicle you were given and that you enjoyed your overall rental experience; we hope to be of service again during your next visit.
Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Total rip off merchants”

Written on: 25/08/2014 by RachaelSerrano307 (1 review written)

I don't really know where to start with this review as there are so many reasons I would NEVER use Gold car Again. We hired a car through Do You Spain and were picking up for a week at Pisa Airport. The local rental company were Gold Car. Right from the first conversation their employees were unreasonable, unhelpful and lied to us. They informed my husband that because I had booked online, I had to be the main driver and we therefore needed to pay extra for my husband as an additional driver. I… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2014

Dear customer,
We are sorry to hear of the confusion you encountered at our check-in counter. However, please let me refer you to our T&Cs on our website, which state the following:
6.3 Method of Payment:
The credit card used to make the reservation should be presented by the cardholder when the vehicle is collected. The credit card used should be in the name of the same person taking out the rental agreement.
Regarding the extra driver fee, this is also on our Particular T&Cs:
7. The Airport Orange rate does not include:
1. Additional drivers, € 5.00 per day, per driver up to a maximum of € 70.00 per driver per contract. Maximum of 3 additional drivers per contract.
This is also specified in the Terms of Use on Do You Spain’s webpage during the rental process.
Also, please note that full coverage is offered as an alternative to leaving a deposit on the customer’s credit card (unfrozen 15-20 days later). Please understand that we need to make sure any possible damages will be covered for.
Again, we apologize if all of this was not clear during the time of booking, we will look into it.
Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I did rent a car with GoldCar in Palma Spain for 3...”

Written on: 25/08/2014 by Stefan60 (3 reviews written)

I did rent a car with GoldCar in Palma Spain for 3 days and paid in advance to AutoEurope. I was delayed and when I arrived to pick up the car for the remaining period (more than 48 hours) they told me the car was rented out to somebody else and that they did not pay back anything. AutoEurope gave NO HELP. SO I had to rent another car despite the fact that I had already paid for it. This condition was NOT mentioned in the information from Auto Europe. BE CAREFUL WHEN MAKING BUSINESS WITH AUTO… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 26/08/2014

Dear customer,
We apologize if our rental staff counted you as a no show, but that is the standard procedure in such cases.
Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid at all costs!”

Written on: 25/08/2014 by Josie470 (1 review written)

Booked car hire through an online broker for a pick up from Pisa Airport. The impression you get when you prepay is that the figure you've paid is the total price of the rental - this is not the case. The queue when we arrived was long and was not moving. As usual, people of more forceful nationalities all pushed in but that's another issue. The minimum extra you will pay is 100 euro for a tank of petrol. Most cars will not take that much petrol in a tank - more like 60 euro at the most. Then… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 26/08/2014

Dear customer,
We are sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with our services. Please note that our rental staff at check-in counters offer optional full coverage for customers’ peace of mind. If they have third party supplier excess coverage, such as yourself, the alternative is leaving a deposit (unfrozen 15-20 days later) to cover any possible damages and later take the costs up with them. This is clearly stated on our T&Cs and on our webpage during the rental process, as well as on most brokers’ webpages. We apologize for the waiting time, it is an issue we are currently trying to address.
Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Goldcar Rome”

Written on: 24/08/2014 by TamaraRobinson390 (1 review written)

This compamy is charging you more than the double with their hidden costs, you have to pay the fuel in advancewith charges, it is really a shame and no complain is possible, never never again. I paid for a small car at the end more than 100€ a day!… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 25/08/2014

Dear customer,
We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with our services. Please note that there are no hidden costs: we offer a pre-purchase fuel plan (clearly stated on our webpage and on most brokers’) where a full tank of fuel is paid for at destination and unused fuel is later refunded (minus a handling and administration fee). Customers also have the option of switching back to a classic full to full plan when booking through our webpage. Anything else is optional, like full coverage (as an alternative to leaving a deposit on a credit card). Please respond to this comment with your reservation number if you would like us to review any of the charges made.
Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Not reccommended”

Written on: 24/08/2014

We hired a car from Goldcar in Fuerteventura in August 2014 and specifically requested pick up at the airport terminal. On arrival at the airport there was no where to collect the car, we had to go outside and wait for a shuttle bus(45mins). The tour busses for other tourists on many other flights were all collected before us, we were waiting and waiting for the shuttle bus. The bus then drove to an industrial estate to the Goldcar depot. They then charged €100 euros for a tank of… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 25/08/2014

Dear customer,
We are sorry to hear that your rental experience with us was not satisfactory. Please note that most of our offices are located within the airport premises, however, for the ones that are not, we offer a very efficient shuttle service. We apologize for the long wait, that is highly unusual. Detailed information regarding the location of all our offices is available for consultation on our webpage (our offices tab), and our official youtube channel has very dynamic and informative videos for each meeting point. Regarding insurance coverage, buying full coverage or leaving a deposit (unfrozen 15-20 days later) is standard practice in the sector.
Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“They profit on the deposit return conversion at our...”

Written on: 24/08/2014 by Wheelerwd383 (1 review written)

Goldcar are not a great company to hire from and would advise against renting from them. They took a £600 deposit from me, but despite the car being returned in perfect condition with a full tank of fuel, I was given just £509 back when it was released back to my bank. Goldcar agree nothing was wrong with the car and the full tank of fuel was acknowledged, but the missing £91 is the currency conversion back from Sterling to Euro and back to Sterling. All I can say is that this is a total… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 26/08/2014

Dear customer,

Please respond to this comment with your reservation number so that we may review your contract and the charges made and refunded. I believe there must have been some sort of confusion.

Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not use Goldcar”

Written on: 23/08/2014 by AliceKnight393 (1 review written)

We booked 2 cars for our Tenerife holiday. The Avis was slightly more expensive but trouble free pickup. A big queue at Goldcar rental due to only one person serving. We had to pay an extra 10 euros per day insurance or 800 euros deposit. Most people paid an extra 140 euros to obtain their car. I stated that insurance was included in the booking but the small print does mention this extra insurance. The car was fine although very dented from previous owners. My advice - use Avis or other… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 26/08/2014

Dear customer,
We apologize for the waiting time at our check-in counter; this is an issue we are aware of and are currently trying to solve. Please note that Priority Check-in is available when booking through our webpage, which accelerates the process considerably. Also, please take into consideration that the only mandatory extra cost is a full tank of fuel and that customers also have the option of switching back to a classic full to full plan when booking through our website. Full coverage is optional and offered as an alternative to leaving a deposit on a credit card (unfrozen 15-20 days later). You will find that our prices are very competitive, even after addind "extra costs".
Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Additional Insurance”

Written on: 22/08/2014 by johnhill2014 (1 review written)

When I picked up the car, I knew that I was already charged for the car inclusive insurance FULL cover. At pick-up I was charged for fuel which I knew is ok but an addiitonal charge for something else was listed and the agent said I would be refunded when I insisted I had full cover and dont need anything else. The agent lied straight into my eyes saying I would be refunded or would not be charged with this amount. Of course, this was a very big lie!!! He knew exactly that I is giving me some… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 25/08/2014

Dear customer,
I believe there must have been a misunderstanding. Standard procedure for our rental staff is offering full coverage or the option of leaving a deposit on a credit card (amount unfrozen 15-20 days later) to cover any possible damages. In which case, if customers bought third party supplier coverage, such as yourself, they can request a refund from them. Full coverage is not a deposit and is not refunded; the deposit (starting at 600€ but varying depending on the type of car, location and season) is refundable, as well as unused fuel.
Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT GO WITH GOLDCAR”

Written on: 22/08/2014

Absolutely shocking company! The staff were the rudest people I have every come across! During our two hour queue to get to the desk we witnessed one woman in tears and two couples have violent arguemants with the staff over their rude and obnoxious manner! One couple even called the police! They were telling everyone including ourselves that the insurance we paid for was invalid, and that the excess insurance was not voluntary and we had to pay for it. Once we showed them the contract… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 25/08/2014

Dear customer,
We apologize if the service you received was not acceptable. I am sure you were offered the option of leaving a deposit on your credit card if you did not want to buy full coverage, as is the standard procedure for our rental staff. Please understand that we cannot hand out a vehicle without making sure any possible damages will be covered for. If you buy third party supplier coverage, you can later request a refund for any damage costs. This is standardized practice in the sector. We also apologize for the waiting time at our check-in counter; we are aware that this is an issue and we are currently trying to solve it by opening auxiliary offices during high season (in Alicante, Palma and Málaga, for the time being). Also, please note that Priority Check-in is available when booking through our webpage, something that accelerates the process considerably.
Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
overview