GoldCar Rental Reviews - www.goldcar.es

★☆☆☆☆
1.2 / 5
5.7% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es

GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Very bad company”

Written on: 25/10/2014 by Traveller333 (1 review written)

I rented compact car in airport Barcelona for 7 days in 2014 October. I payed full car cost amount with mandatory insuarance in advance. But very unpolite customer service in Gold Car deck in Barcelona airport didn't give me the car - I had to pay extra insurance what I didn't want (140 EUR for 7 days for copmpact class car!). Also they chatged from me 110 EUR for full tank (50 litres). I didn't ask the fuel. It could be OK, but price of 50 litres of disel is 65 EUR in Barcelona, not 110 EUR… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Goldcar is the worst rental company ever!!!”

Written on: 25/10/2014 by Ryleeh1960 (1 review written)

Gold car is the worst car rental company ever! They try to cheat you!First they gave you crazy low offer on internet and then comedy starts!!!. This is a Spanish company who are now ripping people off in Italy. They hit your C/Card with a 1200 euro deposit which they take 10 days to refund.-Obligation!. They do not give you car unless you sholud make an additional full insurance which will cost you min 100€ additionaly. They obligatory charge you for a tank of fuel which they do not refund… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“stay away”

Written on: 24/10/2014 by Emery95 (1 review written)

dont bother go to the main stream companies disgusting service the customer is never right… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking shocking shocking”

Written on: 23/10/2014 by Bedsox1 (1 review written)

Rented 2 cars in uk,cost of £80. Did not want extra insurance. In fact disregarded 4 e mails in uk offering extra insurance. Arrived in tenerife at midnight. Waited over 1 hour in a queue for car paperwork to be sorted. Hassled over extra insurance, quoting some ridiculous amount if I did not get it, that would be held on my credit card. 1600 euros. Scare tactics. He told me the insurance for both cars would be only 63e. I agreed to pay as for both cars it was not too bad, but I did not… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“ Worse than worse”

Written on: 23/10/2014 by John1324 (1 review written)

What ever you do don't rent a car from Goldcars. You be sorry you have unless you like to be taken for a ride. I never been so disgusted with a car rental and I rent cars twice a year I have taken excess insurance cover from England but at the desk I was told the insurance I had was no good so I ended up paying and extra 175 euros or I would not have the car and 117 euros for petrol… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“the worse car rental company ever”

Written on: 22/10/2014 by Logant1994 (1 review written)

Last weekend we hired a car from Pisa airport. I have been changed 160 euro which included 30 euros for insurance and 130 euro for petrol. I have been told that I will get reimbursed for the petrol few days after. I checked my bank account today and i have been refunded 60 euros for petrol. Does it mean that to travel to Florence and come back I have spent 70 euros? I think it is a joke because all the other hire car company expect you to return the car with a full tank and i never spent too… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“STAY CLEAR”

Written on: 22/10/2014 by Townsend451 (1 review written)

THESE PEOPLE SHOULD BE IN JAIL , OVERCHAGE THAY USE YOUR FUEL AND CHARGE THE NEXT COSTEMER THE SAME… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID IT”

Written on: 21/10/2014 by Lion323 (1 review written)

Goldcar company are just robbers. You can find many examples on the internet of people having been stolen by this company. A website has even been created. I wish I would have known this information before I rented a car to them. After having given the car back without any additional damages, they charged me 600 euros for "damages". They did not let me know they would proceed this way, no phone call, no email. When I asked what it was for, they were not able to answer. I now have to… Read Full Review

Ari11's Response to Lion323's Review

Written on: 24/10/2014

Avoid the company in the first place.
Your only hope is to complain to your credit card company and ask for refund.
Let us know,

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Worse than bad”

Written on: 21/10/2014 by Karolek (1 review written)

At the desk they intimidate you by saying that if you don't buy the full cover they are going to charge you for the tiniest damage caused by a stone that hits the bumper. Secondly, the car has a full fuel tank and if you use only one 1/4 they refund just up to 2/4. Luckily they managed to scare me so I paid 100 euros full cover. I say luckily, because when I delivered the car I witnessed how they managed to find a little scratch on a bumper of some other customer. I felt pity for them, I wonder… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Never use this Company”

Written on: 21/10/2014

Made a reservation for a car from 10th Oct to the 20th Oct Reservation 7463844 nice site with an offer of Citroen Ds3 or Peugeot 308 arrived at Faro Aeroport with my Booking sheet ,got an Opel Corsa was Bullied to make a full cover insurance that was 147 euros ,after paying days before 110 euros for the complete reservation. plus charge for full tank of fuel with the promisse of return money if you return car with full tank,until now nothing was returned. Stay away from this company,it is… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“A car had been reserved for Pick up at my holiday...”

Written on: 20/10/2014 by 400Buchanan (1 review written)

A car had been reserved for Pick up at my holiday destination. He mentioned that Spain is not safe and 9 times of 10 rental cars get broken in as a result he forced us into taking out the all inclusive insurance cover. HE then mentioned that the car came with a full tank of petrol and if we returned the car with full tank we would get our fuel cost back (which we eventually found out was untrue as he did not mention a Re-fuel cost of 23 Euro).  PLEASE STAY AWAY AND PAY THE LITTLE EXTRA with… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Best advert for any other car hire company”

Written on: 20/10/2014 by ctKirkpatrick300 (1 review written)

Transfer vehicle to off airport premises was not available on our arrival and when it did arrive we had cross the car park , climb a grassy bank and climb over a barrier to reach it! "Fair fuel policy" is precisely the opposite it is a scandalously unfair way of boosting profit especially as the charge is approximately 50% higher than the standard pump price. The Alfa Giulietta I was given is not similar to a VW Golf except in the respect that I have to agree that it is a motor vehicle. Never… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful Company .... AVOID”

Written on: 20/10/2014 by RobMK5 (1 review written)

This company are awful, they are out to rip you off for every penny going !! They use threats and bullying tatics on you .... I was unlucky enough to be involved in an accident in Alicante ... God help you ! So far nearly been ripped off for £2400 ... And now battling to get something back Please don't use this company !!!… Read Full Review

Ari11's Response to RobMK5's Review

Written on: 24/10/2014

They try to extort by charging you for fictional preexisting damages; God help you if you have a real accident! All the promise of full insurance and damage waiver at the booking are apparently deception.

I wonder when this company will feature on watchdog in the UK!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Rip off and unsafe cars”

Written on: 19/10/2014 by MPEpsom (2 reviews written)

We booked 2 cars for MALTA in late July 2014. These cars were rented through GOLDCAR but used CarTrawler website to book through. Car Trawler took a small deposit for each car and everything seemed fine until we got to Malta airport to pick up the cars.. You see, Car Trawler act as an agent and then it was a car hire operator called GoldCar who then take your money and booking. GoldCar insisted that both my fathers car and my car needed to additionally have the excess protection insurance paid… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“scammed me out insurance then charged me £97 for fuel...”

Written on: 19/10/2014 by Lee23 (1 review written)

scammed me out insurance then charged me £97 for fuel i only used £5 worth then charged the next customer the same . THEY SHOULD BE IN JAIL… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“YOU WILL BE OVERCHARGED !!!!!”

Written on: 19/10/2014 by pwCannon1963 (1 review written)

Whatever price they say you are being charged - forget it! They will charge you for "the other bits of the insurance - not covered by their fully inclusive package" which are: Flex Fuel. Just pay for the fuel used. The best fuel system "Yeh! right!!! Cancellation Insurance: cancel until the last minute without charges Unlimited mileage Car passenger insurance CDW insurance without excess Theft cover Guaranteed reservation. No overbooking They will charge you for " filling up your tank" around… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 23/10/2014

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your rental experience with us was not as expected. Please note that detailed information and rates for our Flex Fuel policy are available for consultation on our website during the booking process (I would add a screenshot, but it goes against reviewcentre’s policy). It also appears during the booking process on most broker webpages we work with.

The handling and administration fee is to cover the fact that the car needs to be driven to be refuelled and in the meantime it cannot be rented out to another customer, among other logistic costs. In return, customers don’t have to worry about refuelling the vehicle close to the office before returning it, and they can just drop the key off (drop-boxes available at most of our offices) and be on their way (no stress related to possibly missing a flight, etc.). I am not sure why you were charged £20 to check the tank, please respond to this comment with your reservation number so that I may verify this. Unused fuel is always refunded.

A Full to Full fuel plan is also available when booking through our webpage and through some brokers’ as well.

Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay away from these conmerchants”

Written on: 18/10/2014 by E-manner (1 review written)

This company sucks,they try all sorts of tricks to can you out of money.They charge you 90 pounds for a tank of fuel,which if you fill it up yourself costs 50 pounds.Then when i returned car full up they still charged me 38 pounds for a logistical fee.Stay away from these scumbags… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 23/10/2014

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your rental experience with us was not as expected. Please note that our fuel policies are available for consultation on our webpage during the booking process and in our T&Cs. They are also stated on most brokers’ we work with.

The handling and administration fee you mention is to cover the fact that the car needs to be driven to be refuelled and in the meantime it cannot be rented out to another customer, among other logistic costs. In return, customers don’t have to worry about refuelling the vehicle close to the office before returning it, and they can just drop the key off (drop-boxes available at most of our offices) and be on their way (no stress related to possibly missing a flight, etc.).

A Full to Full fuel plan is also available when booking through our webpage and through some brokers’ as well.

Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“They'll try to screw every penny out of you”

Written on: 18/10/2014 by America395 (1 review written)

My advice is DON'T hare a car from Goldcar. I've just returned from a trip and the car-hire experience with Goldcar was dreadful. First, because I had my own excess insurance, they made me walk to the other side of Airport parking to inspect the car for damage, then come back to complete the car hire pick-up (even though they had an office near the car). Then I had to pay a €650 deposit. Then, because of their "fair" fuel policy I asked if I would get a refund at the same price per litre for… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 23/10/2014

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that your rental experience with us was unsatisfactory. Please note that detailed information and rates for our Flex Fuel policy (including the service fee) are available for consultation on our website during the booking process (I would add a screenshot, but it goes against reviewcentre’s policy). It also appears during the booking process on most broker webpages we work with.

We apologize if the service you received was not acceptable, please respond to this comment with the location of the office so that we may notify the local manager.

I can assure you that our rates are very competitive, even with a full tank of fuel (common practice in the sector) and additional coverage.

Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful company”

Written on: 18/10/2014 by QuintinMedeiros (1 review written)

I had all the same problems as others above. All the hidden charges which you are later told u can be refunded only to be hung up on. Such rude staff. Expensive fuel long waits and it gets worse when you get home and your sent an invoice for 150euros for major clean for some wrappers left in the door! Company is a joke. Started with a quote for 82 euros ended up being 360 euros after all the hidden fees… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 23/10/2014

Dear customer,

We apologize if your rental experience with us was not as expected. Please note that all the hidden charges you mention are optional extras, expect for fuel.

We apologize if the service you received was not appropriate. If you would like us to review the pictures you were sent justifying the special cleaning fee, please respond to this comment with your reservation number.

Sincerely,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE THEM! HORRIBLE COMPANY”

Written on: 17/10/2014 by Woodardue375 (1 review written)

Booked in advance thinking we had got a good deal..... how wrong were we!! The bully boy tactics at the service desk by all the staff, implying that you were not insured and had to pay another £80!! They got angry when people declined and when people were thinking what to do they were laughing at the customer in Spanish with their colleagues! If that wasn't bad enough, we returned the vehicle full of fuel as we had no choice to take the vehicle with a full tank of fuel. Surprise surprise… Read Full Review

Report this review
overview