Water Babies Baby Swimming Classes Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.3 / 5
53
25% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Water Babies Baby Swimming Classes - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Water Babies Baby Swimming Classes

Water Babies Baby Swimming Classes

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Water Babies - dishonest, money grabbing, rip off!”

Written on: 14/05/2015 by Seamusr210 (1 review written)

My baby loves the water, I really enjoyed seeing her face light up in the pool at just months old & loved the confidence she got by learning to go under the water. However, I wish I had listened to my gut feeling and gone elsewhere, right from the off it seemed too expensive and communication was very poor. Water Babies have fast ruined what should have been happy memories. These are franchises so it's hit & miss and the service you get differs hugely across the regions. We has to miss… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid at all costs!”

Written on: 18/04/2015

I enrolled my baby into waterbabies as I wanted him to learn survival techniques eg the ability to turn into his back and cry for help if he fell into water or to turn and reach the side as soon as possible. It very quickly transpired that the main focus of the classes is to get the babies underwater. I fundamentally object to forcing a baby to go underwater when it may not hold its breath. The post-dunking coughing and spluttering demonstrated by most of the babies further reinforced my… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Lacks proper organisation”

Written on: 04/03/2015 by KaylynnMurdock (1 review written)

I need to point out that the instructors are really good in our experience and this is by no means a slight on their skills and classes - however, starting with a young baby we have now had five venue changes due to pool problems and class organisation. There have been many cancellations due to pool problems and the temperature. But when you book a class time and then each term it changes and you then have to change venue and teacher due to getting the time which you require it gets… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Profit priority, purple shivering babies not! AVOID”

Written on: 05/02/2015 by Figueroa229 (1 review written)

We started with bubs at 10 weeks old with high hopes, quickly lost! First they made bubs were a swim nappy that gave her blue legs as was far too tight, but continued to insist it was ok. Next, pool temperature is so low the babies turned purple, cry and shiver - not the 'warm' pool we were told about before paying! Poor communications- told sessions cancelled only when you arrive at the pool! Staff that think it is responsible for young babies to swim twice in a day, once in already wet… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“SLOW & EXPENSIVE!!”

Written on: 12/11/2014 by SladeStokes418 (1 review written)

The office admin side was inflexible and disorganised. No make up classes if you miss any, even with doctors certificate. The classes used up too much time filling gaps by doing repetitive sing song and round the circle type things. For £165 for 10 half hour lessons I could have had private 1 on 1 lessons!! Never again!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Poor attitude and inflexible”

Written on: 07/10/2014 by Bohoo (1 review written)

We joined the classes when little one was almost 3 months old and little one just loves being in the water. The classes are ok but very slow progress. However, unfortunately the office's attitude and organisation is appalling; quite rude, disorganised and would tell you plain lies. Not happy and I would most definitely consider other companies… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Office is totally unorganised”

Written on: 01/08/2014 by 223Cahill (1 review written)

We started my daughter when she was 3 months old, she is now 3years old and has had her last lesson. We were very satisfied with the teacher we had at the start, however we have always found the office awful with communication and letting us know of any changes including when they decided to increase the price. We only stayed with waterbabies as our daughter enjoyed the lessons with the teacher. This teacher had to leave and we have been through so many temporary teachers the poor kids didn't… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“expensive poor attitude”

Written on: 27/06/2014 by lisa123456hasson (1 review written)

Left feeling very angry after 3 years with this company,lots of money and slow progress, yet continued support through a multitude of teacher changes. We just recieved a impersonal generic email to say rising 4 yr olds need to find alternative provision ( 3 weeks notice to find something else!) ...not convinced everyone got this email in the class as also just received a rebooking email by mistake! in my opinion Disorganised,unprofessional and money driven!Not the way to treat longterm… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Not for everyone”

Written on: 01/05/2014 by DexterFagan (1 review written)

Some of the mums in our class loved the Water babies, but it's not for us. My little one was four and half when we started with Water babies, we just wanted her to have some fun. She hated the dunking which is in every lesson. She also doesn't like it when it's too hot. The venue we were in was very small, it felt like a sauna when it's hot. So Overall we didn't enjoy the experience… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Would recommend Devon Franchise!”

Written on: 29/04/2014 by Claire237 (1 review written)

My DS has been swimming with WB for 2 1/2years and loves it. He can swim a small distance now unaided.His confidence with water is amazing (he did go through the wobbles when about 1 1/2 but it soon passed). Our instructor is amazing and keeps all the toddlers engaged. The franchise owners through to the administration staff treat you very well and are flexible were they can be to accommodate any requests. It is a bit pricey but a friend who had to leave our group due to work started her DD… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Traumatic, disorganised and dirty facilities”

Written on: 13/04/2014 by 48Rees (1 review written)

I took my little boy to lessons with Waterbabies from when he was four months up until he was one-and-a-half, so I gave it a good got shot! But throughout it was traumatic. My little boy didn't enjoy the 'dunking' his head under the water and we were constantly reassured that we should persist. I wish I'd listened to my mummy instincts, because he developed a proper phobia which has taken months to restore his confidence. Virtually every week we had a different instructor which meant it was a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Dirty Facilities”

Written on: 26/03/2014 by brSchneider59 (1 review written)

Firstly I can't fault the instructor or water babies as a company. Whenever I've spoken to them they are always pleasant and helpful. However, i can fault the facilities that we've been booked onto. The hotel swimming pool varies in temperature from week to week (fairly cold to very warm). My biggest issue is the hygiene standards. The pool isn't very clean, the pool edge is not very clean and the changing facilities are filthy. There are 8 babies per class and the changing room is tiny. They… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“expensive and inflexible”

Written on: 12/03/2014 by ReneePatterson486 (1 review written)

Definitely save your money. They are expensive and inflexible. They asked us to reschedule a class because the pool was broken and we ended up in a cold water pool which upset our daughter so she got nothing out of it. Although we understood this change and made no complaint, when we later asked if we could join another class to make up one that we couldn't attend, they refused. Sure it was on their terms and conditions but for such an expensive company you'd expect a little more leniency… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“We LOVE waterbabies!!”

Written on: 25/01/2014 by Kittykate84 (1 review written)

The experiences other people have had on this site couldn't be more different from ours. We started Waterbabies when my daughter was 7 weeks old after a recommendation from a family member. My daughter took to it immediately and has never once been upset in a class (she is now 11 months). Our instructor is fantastic and has a lovely bond with the children and we ALWAYS get our full 30 mins. I agree it is expensive but to us it is worth every penny! Amelia is super confident in the water and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not waste your money with Water Babies!”

Written on: 08/01/2014 by emaema (1 review written)

We moved to Water Babies from Puddle Ducks as the latter doesn't run in Scotland, and we could not have been more disappointed! While our previous experience (1year) with PD has been great, Water Babies has been fairly horrible. Starting with the good points, they use very warm pools and usually teachers are friendly (although not all of them) and generally helpful. Bad points is organisation in all the features. Lots of activities during the sessions, but too frantic, even the singing the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“disgraceful organisation”

Written on: 29/12/2013

My eldest two children went to water babies when they were small, both were confident and happy in the water prior to starting sessions. Sadly it has taken four years to return my son's confidence. The people they employ are n ot trained to work with children they are just in it to make a quick buck. As far as I'm concerned the government needs to stop there franchises. Not to mention the peer pressure that surrounds them… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Great classes! ”

Written on: 26/11/2013

My little boy has started classes at 2 months old at waterbabies in Birmingham and absolutely loves it. Our classes have been small and the pool and changing areas have always been clean and toasty as they are held at a school for children with disabilities. The teachers were kind and informative and very gentle with my little boy,my boyfriend gets in with our son and its great to see them together. yes the classes maybe a bit pricey but it's worth it for my child being water confident if… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Has anyone else had a horrible experience with...”

Written on: 09/11/2013 by HairyMaclary (1 review written)

They locked the door to the pool on Monday before the lesson started (I arrived 3 mins before the class was due to begin) and it took 13 minutes for me to get the attention of the teacher (by hammering on the window) and for her to get another mother to unlock the door. By this time - 10 mins into a 30 min lesson - it would have been very upsetting for my baby (a nervous swimmer) to be expected to do scary exercises (like being pulled underwater and then let go) without the usual warm-up. So I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

C1235's Response to HairyMaclary's Review

Written on: 09/12/2013

Could not agree more with your last paragraph.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Wbnorthlondon's Response to HairyMaclary's Review

Written on: 08/01/2014

We were very sorry we were unable to reach agreement with this customer. We are unable to give refunds if people miss lessons as all courses have a set number of people in each class and you book for the 10 week term, as we offer a structured, progressive course.

Unfortunately the timings did not add up as there was someone on the door letting people in until after the class had started - another customer arrived 5 minutes late and had already joined the lesson when this lady started to knock on the window to get in. As soon as that happened she was let into the building, however then decided she had missed too much to take part and therefore missed the whole lesson.

I can assure anyone that our focus is definitely not on pushing the babies to go under water however it is important for babies to learn to overcome this fear in order to be safe and confident in the water. If anyone would like to come to view our lessons to see for yourselves then we are more than happy for you to do so.

Our teachers are by far the most highly qualified baby swimming instructors in the market place.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“Decent swimming lessons, a little bit expensive”

Written on: 05/11/2013 by s2ao (1 review written)

We started these lessons based on a friend's recommendation when my son was 6 months old and have stuck to it since. The lessons are quite expensive, and have progressively become busier (more kids), but every terms I think about cancelling and then my son has a breakthrough and starts enjoying it more and so I decide to stick to it for another term. There are a few issues with it, well, firstly it is a bit expensive, and the automatic booking thing is a bit annoying (but understandable)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Expensive farce!”

Written on: 20/10/2013

Just like previous reviews, repetitive and far to expensive for what you get. Never managed to get much teaching time. No refunds. Photo shoot was an expensive farce. Kept waiting after warm up in pool so babies overstimulated and tearful. Then shove em under and snap any old picture. Want to come back for a re-shoot? "Sure that's another 45 quid please...........just after your money. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview