Campbells Caravans, Preston, Lancashire Reviews

★★★☆☆
3.0 / 5
101
52% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Campbells Caravans, Preston, Lancashire - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Campbells Caravans, Preston, Lancashire

Campbells Caravans, Preston, Lancashire
Campbells Caravans, Preston, Lancashire

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Great service caring staff”

Written on: 23/09/2017 by Apt1960 (1 review written)

Received excellent service from the service centre when my caravan had developed a loose tap. Dropped off on a Monday and had arranged collection at a later date. Unfortunately due to a family member being diagnosed terminally ill, I was unable to collect on the date arranged. No problem, I was informed I could collect when I was able. Upon collecting my van, I noticed it had been washed as well as my repair undertaken, and a quick check had been made on some other work I had had done… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Campbell's Blackburn service centre ”

Written on: 19/09/2017 by Greenkeely (1 review written)

Excellent friendly service from knowledgeable staff. PH… Read Full Review

Campbells-Caravans-Motorhomes's Response to Greenkeely's Review

Written on: 20/09/2017

Thank you for you sharing your excellent review and kind words and we hope to see you again soon !

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Mrs T”

Written on: 19/09/2017 by Turner1956 (1 review written)

Overall the sales people were great. they answered all our questions and fears as we are new to caravaning. gave us tips and advise. Would highly recommend… Read Full Review

Campbells-Caravans-Motorhomes's Response to Turner1956's Review

Written on: 19/09/2017

Thanks for your taking the time to post your great review, may we wish you many happy outings in your new caravan.

Reply to this comment

Campbells-Caravans-Motorhomes's Response to Turner1956's Review

Written on: 19/09/2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience and share with others. May we you many great camping trips as you embark on your new hobby.

Thank you again from tall the Team at Campbells

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Great Service from Campbell's”

Written on: 19/09/2017 by Roseo404 (1 review written)

Bought a second hand caravan from Campbell's last April and took out an extended warranty to be on the safe side. The van sprung a leak in one of the front window's. A quick phone call last Monday to them and van in on Friday to sort, the quick response i received was very welcome,the staff were friendly,they talked through the problem with you, overall very pleased… Read Full Review

Campbells-Caravans-Motorhomes's Comment

Written on: 19/09/2017

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit to us and thanks for sharing your experience.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“BLACKBURN SERVICE CENTRE”

Written on: 19/09/2017 by Sophiaf40 (1 review written)

Customer service is five star, friendly and all the team are very welcoming. Would recommend. PN… Read Full Review

Campbells-Caravans-Motorhomes's Comment

Written on: 19/09/2017

Thank you for your kind words, I'm sure the team will look forward to your next visit.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Service Centre-Help when you need it”

Written on: 18/09/2017 by SP62 (1 review written)

Had issues with ATC when out touring, called and was given information to get me home and up to the centre where ,even though they were busy they fitted me in and sorted the issue, they also followed up on a couple other minor problems. Liked-Staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable Disliked-None … Read Full Review

Campbells-Caravans-Motorhomes's Response to SP62's Review

Written on: 19/09/2017

Its great to hear that we could be of assistance at your time of need. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Purchased a 2015 Caravan in July ”

Written on: 18/09/2017 by shoestring2017 (1 review written)

I purchased 2015 Swift Caravan in July 2017.The date had to put back due to a replacement mattress. This should have rung bells about this caravan. As I live in Northern Ireland,and the deal was done by phone, I took the word of the SALES person that the caravan was in good condition. On changing the caravans and i was only doing a one night stop over I discovered a number of small problems and returned the next morning where I had to go to the service centre.these problems… Read Full Review

Campbells-Caravans-Motorhomes's Response to shoestring2017's Review

Written on: 19/09/2017

We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with your caravan. I can see that we have offered you options in an attempt to assist you with you're predicament. Please contact Mark at our Lostock Hall Branch if you wish to take advantage of any of these.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Excellent Service”

Written on: 16/09/2017 by Thegonads (1 review written)

The person I dealt with was the Service Contact at my caravan's recent annual service and his management of the issues I had was excellent. Congratulations to Campbells. … Read Full Review

Campbells-Caravans-Motorhomes's Response to Thegonads's Review

Written on: 19/09/2017

Thank you for your kind review which I will pass on to the Aftersales Department.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“snagging list repairs (new motorhome)”

Written on: 14/09/2017 by proctor1 (1 review written)

On purchasing our 2017 79-4T motorhome we found numerous problems (snagging) list, after 4 months some of the works were completed others more serious are still outstanding as warranty claims, the service department has been very helpful but are awaiting reply from Bailey re warranty issues, as we are coming up to the winter season these outstanding works need doing URGENTLY we use our m/h almost full time, I don't want to appear negative as we like the m/h it is just frustrating to spend all… Read Full Review

Campbells-Caravans-Motorhomes's Response to proctor1's Review

Written on: 19/09/2017

Thank you for your understanding review. I can see our Service Centre are liaising with Bailey and hopefully will have an update shortly. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“First class annual and customer service Blackburn”

Written on: 14/09/2017 by KenBee (1 review written)

Prior to, during and following our annual service at Campbell's Blackburn branch, we received first class customer service from KH, AH and the mechanics. All personnel in the service department were approachable, had a good sense of humour and carried out our service to a high standard of which we had confidence. A speedy turn around at time of service with delivery and collection at our convenience. We have been loyal customers of Read caravans (now Campbell's) for many years and since the… Read Full Review

Campbells-Caravans-Motorhomes's Response to KenBee's Review

Written on: 19/09/2017

Thank you for sharing your experiences and for the kind words which will passed on to the staff in our Service Centre at Blackburn

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“New Bailey Caravan”

Written on: 24/08/2017 by Fowlerdp185 (1 review written)

We made the mistake of towing it directly to a site we intended to keep it on rather than home for a thorough look over. We subsequently found numerous problems/faults but outside the 30 day rejection period. To us the Campbells pre-handover inspection would appear to have been very poor at best. Emails from aftersales seemed designed to minimise our concerns and faults were described as 'purely cosmetic'. We left the van at their Blackburn repair centre with a very helpful engineer [now left]… Read Full Review

Campbells-Caravans-Motorhomes's Comment

Written on: 19/09/2017

I'm sorry to hear that you are frustrated with your Bailey Caravan and your purchase experience.
I can see that this matter has been reviewed by Campbells Senior Management, and the interdependently by Bailey of Bristol, The National Caravan Council and Trading Standards, none of which could apportion any blame towards Campbells. We even offered to purchase the caravan from you. We are supportive of critical reviews as it allows us to improve on any shortcomings, however they should be factual and honest.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Faulty new caravan. Apalling After Sales ”

Written on: 03/08/2017 by Joyce311 (1 review written)

Please DO NOT buy a caravan from this corrupt dealer. We made this mistake and are paying the price now. The new caravan was sold with defects almost a year ago and we are still fighting to have repairs completed competently. Holidays have been cancelled, the stress is awful and the company will never give refunds, exchanges or complete necessary reairs in an acceptable time scale. We now know our legal rights and with heavy hearts will have to continue dealing with what was meant to improve… Read Full Review

Mr_Phillips's Comment

Written on: 03/08/2017

So sorry to hear that you have also been ripped off by this unscrupulous dealer. They should be closed down.
They ripped us off to the tune of £21,600 earlier this year. Fortunately we got it all back as their actions were corrupt and dishonest.
You can still reject your caravan as not fit for purpose etc and get your money back.
Contact citizens advice bureau by email and they can refer it to Trading standards.
They referred my case.
The more people complain the greater the chance that they will get what they deserve.
Leave a review on trustpilot too (and yellcom etc etc)
Best of luck.
AVOID THIS AWFUL COMPANY AT ALL COSTS

Reply to this comment

Tesslouise's Comment

Written on: 04/08/2017

Thankyou. I will take your advice.

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's Comment

Written on: 06/08/2017

It is my experience that Campbells do not abide by the NCC guidelines. Evidence of which is useful in litigation.

Reply to this comment

Campbellscaravans's Comment

Written on: 06/08/2017

I am sorry to hear that you have experienced problems with your Caravan. If you have reported this through the proper channels I am confident that our staff are doing their best to resolve your issues. However, I must say that your 'review' (and I use this term loosely) is factually incorrect, unhelpful and bordering on libelous.

We are a responsible Caravan dealer and abide by strict guidelines set out by our industry body The National Caravan Council.

Advising people not to buy from us is one thing, but calling us 'corrupt' is another matter and one we take very seriously. Claiming that we 'never give refunds, exchanges, or complete necessary repairs in an acceptable timescale' is also factually incorrect.

We appreciate that having to deal with faults on any product can be frustrating and sometimes lengthy but that does not justify making comments such as yours in a bid to put other customers off dealing with us. All it leads to is unnecessary scaremongering as you can see from the other comments to your 'review' and others on this website.

I am more than happy for you and any of our customers to report or review on the service you have received from Campbells - good or bad, but in future please stick to the facts and keep in constructive.

Thank you

Campbells Caravans

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's Comment

Written on: 06/08/2017

Nonsensical reply Campbells. If the reviewer truly believes what was said to be truthful it can never be libellous. It is you who are scaremongering.

You have earned the negative views on my opinion
I think you act disgracefully.

I also would advise everybody to avoid you at all costs based on my experience with you when you broke our legally binding contract and breached your own terms and conditions

You can redeem yourself to an extent by compensating my wife and I in a fair and reasonable manner.

You have my details.

Regards,

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 5 Comments
★★★★★

“Excellent service from start to finish”

Written on: 12/07/2017

We decided in March that we where going to get a new caravan, and decided to go to a couple of local caravan dealers. After going to couple and meeting some very unhelpful sales men we decided right last one on the list Campbell's in Lostock Hall. After being greated by a very friendly sales man we spent the next 3 hours and many cups of coffee umming and arring over which was best for us. The sales man was great took his time and made us feel most welcome even if we where a little choosy over… Read Full Review

Campbellscaravans's Comment

Written on: 13/07/2017

Thank you for your kind words and compliments towards our business and the people working for us. It's very much appreciated. We hope you enjoy your caravan and the memories you will make along the way. If we can be of any further assistance please don't hesitate to get in touch.

Campbells Caravans.

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's Comment

Written on: 13/07/2017

Hi Campbells, re your last sentence presumably that applies to all customers including me. Please will you contact me to sort out compensation for me I respect of your breach of contract and breach of your terms and conditions.
You have my details.
Thank you.

Reply to this comment

Demodd's Comment

Written on: 15/07/2017

Seems to me that you need to get a life!!!
Go get a caravan and enjoy the countryside! - might make you calm down a bit.

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's Comment

Written on: 15/07/2017

Whilst Demodd's comments might appear to be pointless to the casual reader, it is obvious who this anonymous reviewer really is.

So come on and let's get the matter resolved fairly once and for all.

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's Comment

Written on: 15/07/2017

Demodd aka c/o Campbells :-)

Reply to this comment

Tesslouise's Comment

Written on: 04/08/2017

You have obviously not read the many critical reviews of this dodgy operation. I bought a caravan to get out and enjoy myself but it is unusable.

Reply to this comment

Tesslouise's Comment

Written on: 04/08/2017

We wish you had treated us in the same way. You have been disgraceful and operated illegally. Shame on you

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's Comment

Written on: 13/07/2017

Why is this review anonymous?
Was it written by Campbells themselves?
Seems suspicious to me.

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's Comment

Written on: 13/07/2017

Well you are very lucky. Not many good reviews on here. I just hope that if things go wrong they don't drop you like a hot potato.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 9 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“No pre - delivery inspection by Campbells Caravans”

Written on: 07/07/2017 by Yorkibob (1 review written)

Just taken delivery of a new Lunar Clubman SI from Campbells Caravans Preston. Shock and horror as we left the showrooms as I did a walk around the caravan prior to towing it home down the M6. I noticed the door was not shut properly, it would only fasten on the safety catch the 'bolt' on the door was nowhere near the main catch leaving a dangerous situation should the wind have caught the door at 60 mph, it would have been ripped off the caravan, oh! call round at the workshop they said on… Read Full Review

Mr_Phillips's Response to Yorkibob's Review

Written on: 10/07/2017

Similar thing happened with our 'brand new' caravan. It had obvious faults, was dirty and in my view and experience couldn't possibly have had a PDI.
In the end we took it back and got a full refund.
Poor service considering how much you pay.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID AT ALL COST. NOT EVEN WORTH ONE STAR. ”

Written on: 12/06/2017

Great all the time they are taking you money. Then your TROUBLES STARTS. Worst thing I every done was to pay cash. Even before we picked up the van on the handover we found problems that needed fixed. WE had the van delivered to us 5 days after the handover and was assured that the van would be fixed before the delivery date. We did not even get the service manual and had to ask for manuals on how the van worked. They managed to get me some instruction manual for the heating, alarm… Read Full Review

Mr_Phillips's Comment

Written on: 12/06/2017

Now you need to reject the caravan and get a full refund.

So many dissatisfied customers.

Leave a review on all the review sites and contact trading standards

I think you have been most fair. They however couldn't care less.

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's Comment

Written on: 09/07/2017

They tried to switch a different caravan instead of the brand new one we had ordered. Fortunately we spotted what they were up to and got a full refund as the were legally obliged to do having broken our contact.
I am disgusted by the attitude shown by the director and his staff. They are still in the dark ages sand in my opinion want shutting down.

Reply to this comment

Tesslouise's Comment

Written on: 04/08/2017

I wish I had read reviews before amking a grave error of buying from these people

Reply to this comment

Roughyvonne's Comment

Written on: 04/08/2017

You have to be stronge and not give up. I think all the unhappy customers should get together and contact watchdog. I don't think they should get away wth it. Aftersale is a joke.

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's Comment

Written on: 07/08/2017

I am considering contacting Watchdog/Rip off Britain and providing them with evidence of what I consider to be gross malpractice when they switched our new caravan for an older defective one and didn't tell us yet still tool £21,600 from us.

Dissatisfied customers need to report Campbells to Trading standards on line via citizens advice bureau

Reply to this comment

Roughyvonne's Comment

Written on: 07/08/2017

I am sure their are a lot of Campbell's customers that would be willing to take part.

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's Comment

Written on: 08/08/2017

A lot of people are reluctant and/or are unable to take on these bully boys. It's unfortunate because Scambells will be taking vast amounts of money by what I believe to be malpractice.

Their time will come.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 7 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Cancelled my order 24k”

Written on: 10/06/2017 by Yargssegurb (1 review written)

We ordered a Bailey Unicorn Córdoba caravan from Campbells in Blackburn at £23,595 includes free motor mover. We paid a deposit by credit card and received no receipt or paperwork. When I spoke to the salesman he said they would send me a hard copy which later they claimed to have sent but I never received it. There was an offer on of a free motor mover but as it was a twin they wanted me to pay an extra £800 for which I was happy to do as I wanted the upgrade to an AWD automatic mover… Read Full Review

Mr_Phillips's Response to Yargssegurb's Review

Written on: 12/06/2017

Another honest customer apparently ripped off by this shocking customer. The. £1000 credit card trick was done with us too. It's done so they can keep a greater non refundable deposit when they hack customers​ off and they cancel their order.
Report them immediately to Trading standards via citizens advice on line. I have a case pending.
Don't forget to leave a review on trustpilot too.

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's reply to Mr_Phillips's Comment

Written on: 12/06/2017

Auto correct changed my words! Should have said ripped off by this shocking company.

Avoid them and read the bad reviews that are everywhere.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Still waiting for warranty work after 5 months”

Written on: 01/06/2017 by MrALees (1 review written)

Purchased a Lexon 560 Jan 2016. Within 4 months we reported numerous faults including interior lights not working 3 times, high level exterior lights cracked twice, the wet locker let water in, the heater emits a foul smell and to top it off we have damp. I complained to Campbells recently as its now June and the damp has not been repaired. I asked for their complaints procedure and was told "our complaints procedure is simple, you have complained and I will do my best to sort it". That was 2… Read Full Review

Mr_Phillips's Response to MrALees's Review

Written on: 01/06/2017

Yet another bad review. It's becoming a regular theme. Must be really bad!
You are not alone in your condemnation of this outfit. They want closing down in my view. See my review!
You can still reject the caravan and get your money back as far as I understand. Just check consumer rights on line.
I found the branch manager to be rude and couldn't believe a word he said. The director was also a waste of space in my view

Reply to this comment

Tesslouise's Response to MrALees's Review

Written on: 04/08/2017

Us too. How are they allowed to get away with this?

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's Response to MrALees's Review

Written on: 12/06/2017

Report them to Trading standards

Reply to this comment

Kap1's Response to MrALees's Review

Written on: 09/06/2017

I fully sympathise. My wife and I bought a new Lunar Cosmos from them last year, it is riddled with faults, we have been trying for months to resolve the issues, they don't reply, I even spoke to a director last week, he told me he would respond, guess what, he hasn't. I would not recommend this company to anyone. We don't intend to give up but probably legal action is our only course now. A new caravan is a major investment, one that should provide enjoyment, unless you buy it fromCampbells.

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's reply to Kap1's Comment

Written on: 11/06/2017

My experience having dealt with the director personally when they 'ripped us off' is that he doesn't care in the slightest. Ex car salesman!!! The branch manager also needs suitable training in customer care.
Bad bad company to deal with.

Reply to this comment

Dbowers1966's reply to Mr_Phillips's Comment

Written on: 05/08/2017

i dont understand how they ripped you off when you say in previous comments you got your money back. im sure if you speak to campbells like humans they will resolve any issue. ive dealt with them for years and they are brilliant. not only that all our friends deal with them on a regular basis. some people need to get a life and stop writing comments.

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's reply to Kap1's Comment

Written on: 11/06/2017

Kap1 have you left your own negative review on here? You can leave one on trustpilot too. Join the club ;-)

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's Response to MrALees's Review

Written on: 01/06/2017

Don't forget to leave a bad review on Yell.com and trustpilot as they thoroughly deserve it

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 8 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Had to threaten legal action before repair carried out.”

Written on: 25/05/2017 by Campbellsareuseless (1 review written)

New Lunar caravan. Leaking pipes, bare wires showing, speaker not working, lights not working properly, crack in wet locker, damp issue. After nearly six months of being fobbed off with excuses for the work not being done under the warranty I threatened them with legal action under the Consumer Rights Act. Campbells then decided they'd better do the work. Their service is nothing short of appalling, they'd got our money & couldn't care less after that. Buy a new caravan from Campbells at your… Read Full Review

Mr_Phillips's Response to Campbellsareuseless's Review

Written on: 25/05/2017

A typical Campbells experience in my view. You can still get a full refund imho. Check the legislation.

We were stitched up by this shower. See my review below.

Why don't you do a review on trustpilot as well? I have. I am leaving critical reviews wherever I can.

They broke their own terms an conditions in our case and the signed contract. We got a full refund as entitled by legislation.

No apologies and no compensation.

I echo you view (and many others) avoid this lot.

You can leave comments on Lunar's Facebook too.

Spread the word as widely as you can.

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's Response to Campbellsareuseless's Review

Written on: 12/06/2017

Report them to Trading standards.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Aful service from the "awnings team"”

Written on: 18/05/2017

I decided to buy a new Dorema awning, not top of the range but still several hundred pounds. Spoke to a chap who said he'd call back later in the day having had to call Dorema for a price. Absolutely nothing from him. Called them again the day after, no one available, reception said they'd leave a message. 3 hours later called again and got through to a different chap who said 'nothing to do with me mate' but brought the chap who I'd be speaking to. He hadn't even bothered calling Dorema the… Read Full Review

Campbellscaravans's Comment

Written on: 18/05/2017

I'm sorry to hear about your experience with our awning Dept. Please can you confirm which branch you have been dealing with so we can look into this further.

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's Comment

Written on: 22/05/2017

You only have one opportunity to make a first impression. Looks like you got it wrong (again).

Another customer lost.

You really need to get your act together and learn from your mistakes.

I will never use you again.

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's Comment

Written on: 22/05/2017

It's not just the awning team. In my opinion they are poor in all areas.
We ordered a brand new caravan from Lostock Hall and they switched it for one built 6 months previously which had defects without telling us!
Got our money back but their (the director) attitude is disgraceful. No apology at all.
Spend wisely elsewhere.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Lunar Lexon-built by chimps”

Written on: 16/05/2017 by evBlevins394 (1 review written)

Lunar Lexon had damp on two occasions centred around the gas flue. Eventually discovered that my caravan had been "sabotaged" during construction as the securing ring which secures the flue chimney section had not been fitted hence the path for water to enter. Then there was the water pipe which ran behind the oven. First time we used the oven the pipe melted hence flooding the floor. Handover and PDI? Both very poor. Never again for Both Lunar and Campbells… Read Full Review

Mr_Phillips's Comment

Written on: 22/05/2017

I can only agree with this review.

We bought a brand new caravan from Campbells​.

On collection they had switched it for one built 6 months earlier. Very naughty.

It was dirty and faulty too.

Got our money back.

What an outfit! AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE.

Reply to this comment

Bob2017Townsend's Comment

Written on: 07/06/2017

Could not disagree more brilliant company with growth of the old read site! Family values and always there to help if they can!

Reply to this comment

Mr_Phillips's Comment

Written on: 04/08/2017

Absolute tosh clearly from a Scambells staff member.
Just read the reviews from those who have been ripped off.
Family values - don't make me laugh. They have no conscience, valued order scruples.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
overview