Travelzoo Reviews - www.travelzoo.com

★★☆☆☆
1.8 / 5
20% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Travelzoo - www.travelzoo.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Travelzoo - www.travelzoo.com

Travelzoo - www.travelzoo.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Totally screwed me”

Written on: 30/08/2014 by ozMcCleary232 (1 review written)

Booked a holiday through them, one week before i was meant to leave the company selling the package collapses leaving me without any money and no holiday. Clearly not checking the companies advertising holidays through them!… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Read the fine prints”

Written on: 17/08/2014 by JIM111 (1 review written)

They have soooo much on the fine prints. The hotel charged me a taxes at the time of the check out, because I had bought from Travelzoo. The hotel that I stayed at would have been exactly the same price if I had booked directly from the hotel and would have included tax. I have stayed at many hotels and resorts and the price that you pay always includes tax and I never have to pay the tax at the time of check out… Read Full Review

Travelzoosupport's Response to JIM111's Review

Written on: 25/08/2014

Hi JIM111,

We appreciate your feedback, and are sorry to hear that you felt that with taxes and fees, your Getaway was not the deal that you hoped. If you could email Cortni at charris (at) travelzoo (dot) com, we would be happy to look further into your details.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Putting right the wrongs”

Written on: 24/07/2014

We bought vouchers from Travelzoo for a hotel in the Lake District at Bowness-on-Windermere, which appeared to have all the right credentials but as with many Hotels these days it had overstated its facilities by some way. We were not satisfied with the amenities for the £200+ we had paid and asked for a refund from the Hotel which impolitely declined. The Manager resorted to a self pitying tirade about how upset the staff were that they had been criticised and used a defence which caused me… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“Single traveller offers”

Written on: 09/07/2014 by Ineedhols (1 review written)

I contacted Travelzoo last year regarding special deals in hotels, as they were always deals for 2people. I was told this was this was the way the hotel industry operated but some times there are deals for single travellers. I did not choose to be a single traveller, my partner died, however I still would like to go away & benefit from special offers that other guests enjoy. So well done Travelzoo, for the offer at Cedar Falls in Somerset. I ought my voucher today & will be booking soon… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible profiteering company”

Written on: 30/06/2014 by Mikeyn01 (1 review written)

We were kindly given a voucher at Christmas by my wife's aunt for a dinner in London. It transpire that the voucher lasted only about 4 months which is very short in our experience. I contacted travelzoo a few weeks after it ran out asking how I could renew it. We've been lucky enough to have had a few gift experiences in the past (not with this company I hasten to add) and I have had this once in the past with buyagift.com - they were happy to renew the voucher, albeit for a small admin… Read Full Review

Travelzoosupport's Response to Mikeyn01's Review

Written on: 03/07/2014

Hi Mikeyn01. We are sorry to read that you are disappointed with the outcome of your recent query with us. We can see that you have been in touch with our team already, so we will contact you directly via email to try and make this right.

The Travelzoo Support Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst Customer Service ever”

Written on: 20/06/2014 by kingofthenerds (1 review written)

Bought two vouchers for massages at Kim Laudati in Manhattan (200$) end of May. After finally getting hold on the phone of them after1 (!!!) week (no one ever called back), they told us that they were booked out until the end of July - no word of that on the imbecile TZ webpage / you could expect that sort of service for the price though. As we left NYC at the beginning of June we thought Travelzoo would refund us - think again. It took them 3 days to reply to my email stating that they cant do… Read Full Review

Travelzoosupport's Response to kingofthenerds's Review

Written on: 23/06/2014

Kingofthenerds,

We are sorry to hear that you were unable to redeem your voucher during your vacation. My name is Cortni, and I am a Travelzoo representative who would like to make this right for you. Please email us using the contact information on your voucher, and address it to me, so that I can provide additional assistance.

Reply to this comment

Travelzoosupport's reply to Travelzoosupport's Comment

Written on: 23/06/2014

You can also visit our site and direct your inquiry to Cortni to reach me.

Reply to this comment

Travelzoosupport's Response to kingofthenerds's Review

Written on: 23/06/2014

Kingofthenerds,

You can also give us a call at 1-877-665-0000, and reference this post, so our Customer Service agents can forward your contact details as needed.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Travelzoo Customer Service = NON EXISTANT”

Written on: 14/06/2014 by Dayamim457 (1 review written)

I tried Travelzoo for the first time and was exposed to high pressure sales tactics from their vendor Casablanca Express. The bottom line is Casablanca did not deliver & Travelzoo would not refund. I would never use this site again and others should beware of this site… Read Full Review

Travelzoosupport's Comment

Written on: 16/06/2014

Hi,

We are sorry to hear that you did not receive the experience you were looking for when working to use your Casablanca Express voucher. We would like to look into the information you provided, and make this right for you. Please email Cortni so we can learn more.

Reply to this comment

Paul51Fl's Comment

Written on: 18/06/2014

I've already received a canned email from your Customer Service team. That's why I wrote the comment as there was no service. You failed to give your email address so this is the best it gets.

Reply to this comment

Travelzoosupport's Comment

Written on: 19/06/2014

Hello,

We are looking into why the email address was removed from our previous posts, and do apologize for this inconvenience as well. If you could reach out to us by visiting our website or using the phone number on our site. Please address the email to Cortni so that I may receive your contact.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“really poor web experience”

Written on: 11/06/2014 by 112Malloy (1 review written)

One of the worst websites I have come across, total lack of GOOD user experience, badly layed out, and badly designed, you keep getting hounded by pop-ups and links advertised else where just simple do not work. Steer very clear of this site, you will get very annoyed otherwise you have been warned. I would give it 0 stars, but the lowest is 1 !!!… Read Full Review

Travelzoosupport's Comment

Written on: 12/06/2014

112Malloy,

We are sorry to hear that your user experience has been less than what you hoped. Travelzoo is continually working to update our site and make us your most trusted publisher of travel, entertainment & local deals. We encourage you to visit our mobile sites, as we move toward an effortless subscriber experience.

Reply to this comment

Travelzoosupport's Comment

Written on: 02/07/2014

112Malloy,

You can also email Cortni at charris at travelzoo dot com if you would like to provide more details.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Have used Travelzoo for years”

Written on: 02/06/2014 by SageMurray1967 (1 review written)

I've been subscribed to Travelzoo for many years and have enjoyed several holidays and meals out on deals I've bought from them. Last week I visited the Rib Room in London on a deal that cost £29 for three-courses. Service was exemplary and we had a really enjoyable evening with friends. I have often recommended Travelzoo's email to friends and family as their deals really are fantastic value for money and are so tempting!… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Not what we expected!”

Written on: 01/06/2014 by Howardqo398 (1 review written)

We bought a travelzoo voucher for a 2 nights stay at the Soaring Eagle casino & resort a couple hours from our home in Michigan. It included $100 in vouchers to be used at various expenses through out the resort including ( stated on voucher) spa, waterpark, gift shop, restaurants, golf, etc. We bought our voucher and booked our stay after substantial research of the facilities and fine print of the voucher. And we looked forward to our stay especially the water park part. We figured we would… Read Full Review

Travelzoosupport's Comment

Written on: 02/06/2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to take full advantage of your voucher without reaching out to the hotel's management staff, and understand how you were disappointed with the experience.

We would like to work to make this right for you, as well as look further into the details you provided regarding the staff and property. Please email Cortni so that we can assist.

Reply to this comment

Jordankleinheksel's Comment

Written on: 04/06/2014

What email address do I email Cortni at?

Reply to this comment

Travelzoosupport's Comment

Written on: 05/06/2014

Hi,

You can reach Cortni. We look forward to receiving your email.

Reply to this comment

Travelzoosupport's Comment

Written on: 10/06/2014

Please email [removed] for assistance.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★★★☆☆

“Hotel Globeles America in Calles de Malorca”

Written on: 27/05/2014 by tablemat (1 review written)

My husband and I booked a wwek's stay along with 5 other couples - and the price was from 269 sterling pounds and when we first queried at Broadway Travel we were quoted 309 pounds fromBirmingham butwhen I phoned again and spoke to a different agent I was quoted 299 pounds for two couples; and we booked foran additional couple forwhomwe were givena quote for 309 pounds but the agent reduced it to 305 pounds. we then gave our friendstelephone numbers and they were charged 325 pounds each for4… Read Full Review

Travelzoosupport's Response to tablemat's Review

Written on: 29/05/2014

Hi,

My name is Aimee, and I am a Travelzoo Customer Service Representative. I am sorry to hear that you had difficulties when making your booking with Broadway Travel. You mentioned you have contacted us previously and I would like the opportunity to look further into your situation. Please contact me so that I may work to make this right for you. Please mark your e-mail FAO: Aimee - review centre.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“over selling of vouchers.”

Written on: 12/05/2014 by clareday (1 review written)

I have booked a spa experince for two people, voucher doesnt run out until 30th june. I rang spa to book my friend and I in only to be told the dates I want are fully booked and in fact that only 3 days are left for availability until voucher expires. I contacted customer services and expressed my annoyance that I was unable to book a suitable day fir my experince and that travelzoo had over sold the vouchers. There response was I should have booked the date I wanted as soon as I bought the… Read Full Review

Travelzoosupport's Response to clareday's Review

Written on: 19/05/2014

Hi,

We appreciate your feedback, and are sorry to hear that you have been unable to schedule your voucher experiences as desired. Please contact us so that we may revisit your information, and work to make this right for you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“OVERBOOKED CARNARVON ARMS”

Written on: 11/04/2014 by jacquibaker50 (2 reviews written)

I booked and paid for this deal back in Feb for my partners birthday but due to a knee operation we have been unable to book until now (expires end April). When I emailed the Carnarvon Arms they came back to me and said they were unable to take the booking and Travelzoo were aware. I emailed Travelzoo on Sunday night and heard back from them yesterday (thursday) 3.24pm and they have a 2 working day get back to you!!! Their reply was basic and we will refund your card!! Terrible customer… Read Full Review

Travelzoosupport's Response to jacquibaker50's Review

Written on: 18/04/2014

Dear jacquibaker50,

We are sorry to hear that you were unable to book your experience as desired, and would like to work to make this right for you. If you would like to further discuss your experience, please email Cortni in Customer Service so that we can help.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“No refund past 7 days!!!!!!!!”

Written on: 01/04/2014 by MarlaH (1 review written)

I have bought TravelZoo deals before and have been happy with the customer service, until now! I bought a 2-night stay at a B&B. When I realized I couldn't get the time off work to use it before the expiration date (Sunday-Thursday check-in). I called to request a refund. I was told, "sorry, there's nothing I can do since it is past the 7 days." I then requested a TravelZoo credit so I can apply it towards another trip in the future. Again, sorry. I was told that I can use it at the hotel after… Read Full Review

Travelzoosupport's Response to MarlaH's Review

Written on: 03/04/2014

Hi,

We thank you for reaching out, and are sorry to hear about your experience working to redeem your getaway voucher. We would like the opportunity to look further into the details you have provided, and ask that you email Cortni in Customer Service so that we can learn more.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Unhelpful and disappointing”

Written on: 31/03/2014 by Higginsuw325 (1 review written)

Bought two vouchers for a spa and afternoon tea at a resort and have been sent vouchers for a different resort within the hotel group which is just not convenient and a lunch rather than the tea. As it costs the same I can't see why they can't change and issue vouchers for the chosen hotel. This seems impossible to do. Very inflexible and unhelpful. I have used Travelzoo for a while and always been happy with my experiences and the efficiency of the staff. Sorry this has been spoilt!!… Read Full Review

Travelzoosupport's Comment

Written on: 31/03/2014

Hi,

We appreciate your feedback, and are sorry to hear about the mix-up. My name is Cortni, and I am a Travelzoo Representative. We would like to make this right for you. Please email me so that I may learn more.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Not worth the money ”

Written on: 23/03/2014 by Duckworthse15 (1 review written)

We recently used a voucher for a 2course dinner, hotel, and spa. On our voucher it states dinner worth 34.50 each, after dinner we were charged about £70 and our mains didn't come to this 34.50 in value. The spa was basic with kids running around and swimming lessons happening in the pool. Our room had a moldy blind in the bathroom, the bed made of two singles one of the singles was lobsided and I woke up with a bad back. The room over looked bins, and at 7am they were throwing around beer… Read Full Review

Travelzoosupport's Comment

Written on: 24/03/2014

Hi, My name is Aimee and I am sorry to hear you have had a poor experience using your Travelzoo voucher. We would like to look into the difficulties you experienced and would ask that you contact our Customer Support Team by email. Please quote reference number 856846.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Disappointing Customer Service”

Written on: 03/03/2014 by seally13 (1 review written)

We were bought a Travelzoo voucher as a Christmas present that offered a one night stay in a historic country mansion with breakfast, dinner and a bottle of fizz. Owing to a family member falling ill in January 2014 and various dates that were unavailable at the selected hotel in February 2014, we were unable to use it then (the voucher was for Sun-Thurs only). As there were no dates when my Wife and I were able to get time off work together in March, I first contacted the hotel to ask if we… Read Full Review

Travelzoosupport's Response to seally13's Review

Written on: 03/03/2014

Hi,

My name is Cortni, I am a Customer Service Representative at Travelzoo, and I'm sorry to hear that you were unable to redeem your gift as initially desired. We would appreciate the opportunity to review your situation, and ask that you please email me so that we may assist further.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Still Fighting for my Reimbursement!”

Written on: 25/01/2014

This issue has really made me think twice as to whether I will ever use this company again. I bought one spa gift certificate for £45 and by glitch, was charged 7x! To their credit, they reimbursed me the first 5 back same day. But the 6 credit, I am still fighting for 15 days later and after 5 phone calls and a pretty pointed email. To date, no resolution to my issue and MORE bills put on me as I have to call off a mobile. This also caused issued with my credit card company as I had it on a… Read Full Review

Travelzoosupport's Comment

Written on: 27/01/2014

Hi, I’m Aimee from Travelzoo Local Deals Customer Support. I’d like to make this right for you, and personally apologize for the less than perfect experience you had. Please send me an email if you would like to speak to us about your experience, we'd be happy to listen.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Late, Late, Late”

Written on: 08/01/2014 by maureen4242 (1 review written)

Booked a deal for my son as a Christmas present on 9th December. They emailed on 12th to say I would receive the voucher in 5-7 working days - it arrived yesterday, 7th January. I don't think he's tried to book the hotel yet but I hope it's more successful than their posting policy. Would never use them again!!!… Read Full Review

Travelzoosupport's Response to maureen4242's Review

Written on: 08/01/2014

Maureen4242,

My name is Cortni, and I am a Customer Service Representative at Travelzoo. We sincerely apologize for the delayed receipt of your gift pack, and would like to look further into your situation. Please contact me at charris@travelzoo.com so that I can work to make this right for you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“racing experiance dates”

Written on: 27/12/2013 by pastordakota (1 review written)

I have booked two separate racing experience and have been disappointed both times. I was trying to book them for my wifes birthday and both times the dates were not available. The problem is that they do not tell you when the event is available until after you pay. I cannot get my money back so I am kind of screwed and will not use this service again. You should consider posting what dates are available before the voucher is purchased… Read Full Review

Travelzoosupport's Response to pastordakota's Review

Written on: 30/12/2013

Hi pastordakota,

My name is Cortni, and I am a Travelzoo Customer Service Representative. I am sorry to hear that you have not been able to book your racing experiences, and would like to investigate further. Please email me at charris@travelzoo.com so that I can assist.

Reply to this comment

Tiredoflyingcompanies's Response to pastordakota's Review

Written on: 15/02/2014

Yours weren't available on the dates you wanted but I never saw the dates on mine until after I purchased. Emails with their "customer service" have been form letters and hollow apologies to say too bad, you should have bought from a company that values it's customers

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
overview