Bridgemere Garden Centre Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.8 / 5
39
15% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Range of Products

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Bridgemere Garden Centre - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Bridgemere Garden Centre

Bridgemere Garden Centre
Bridgemere Garden Centre
Bridgemere Garden Centre
Bridgemere Garden Centre

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Discusting Unclean Cafe”

Written on: 28/11/2016 by baldylee (1 review written)

I took my family into the Bridgemere cafe for cofe and cakes on Sunday. After purchasing cakes (£4 each) and coffee at Restaurant prices, we struggled to find a clean table - lots of empty tables, but none cleared. We cleared one and took a seat. The area was discusting. I have never eaten in a dirtier environment. No staff clearing tables or cleaning the floors. When I found a staff member, she seemed disinterested in solving the issue, so we left. coffe was ok though!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Nice but ”

Written on: 10/11/2016 by philblue (1 review written)

Been here a couple of times, good rage of plants and excellent garden layouts yo give great ideas, The centre has a excellent area for kids to play and its nice to wander rounds looking in all the shops, overall a very nice site down side , prices they tend to charge 50% more then anyone else including the cafe… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“never again”

Written on: 27/10/2016 by ytutut (1 review written)

Will not use again,ordered a lot of plants for delivery and was assured they would be watered and looked after until delivery,yeah right! even the delivery guys said they needed water,i think some folks idea of watering is a quick spray on the foliage.All new growth had shrivelled and if it had been summer most would be dead,this low standard of professionalism/enthusiasm seems to be the norm for most businesses these days.Excessive profits for that extra swimming pool and tennis court methinks… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“never again”

Written on: 27/10/2016 by merere (1 review written)

Will not use again,ordered a lot of plants for delivery and was assured they would be watered and looked after until delivery,yeah right! even the delivery guys said they needed water,i think some folks idea of watering is a quick spray on the foliage.All new growth had shrivelled and if it had been summer most would be dead,this low standard of professionalism/enthusiasm seems to be the norm for most businesses these days.Excessive profits for that extra swimming pool and tennis court methinks… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Bridgemere isn't really a garden centre ”

Written on: 09/10/2016 by Hackettia140 (1 review written)

Bridgemere Garden Centre on the A51 between Nantwich and Stone is popular but it isn't really a garden centre. It is a nice afternoon out and a very friendly place.... however... On a weekend be patient on getting into and onto the car park. It has been commercialised so expect to see Hobbycraft, Lakeland and Cotswolds (amongst others) on site. My main bugbear is the cafe area once you have passed by/through those shops. They are horribly understaffed, queues can be almost out of the doors… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“waited 40 minutes for a toasty!!!”

Written on: 06/08/2016 by Bond335 (1 review written)

Not enough food in the cafe,no sandwiches with brown bread but they made us a toasty with brown bread !! 40 minutes it took to arrive ,after we had asked where our toasty was the young lady went to the kitchen, and then came back and asked us what we had ordered !! This toasty cost us £5.20 each, who makes these prices up? We had tried to get in the resturant but were turned away.Because a couch had turned up. i will not be returning or recommending this place to any one… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Mum's birthday afternoon tea”

Written on: 04/06/2016 by Deborahdd (1 review written)

Yesterday it was my mum's 75 birthday. I purchased 6 Groupon afternoon tea vouchers and we surprised my mum. She loved it especially since the orchids were on a half price deal and she spent a happy few minutes discussing which orchids to by the the helpful assistant. We were met at the entrance by a lovely lady who did everything she could to make it special. The afternoon tea was lovely it came really quickly and the cakes and scones were delicious and the sandwiches lovely and fresh. We… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Like warm coffee”

Written on: 16/04/2016 by edwina1527 (1 review written)

My husband and I visited the conservatory coffee shop at 10am on Saturday. We ordered 2 cappuccinos one was only half full, both were luke warm. I took them back to the counter to complain and watched the young lady make us 2 fresh ones. I was shocked to find that she had to guess when the milk was hot enough as she had no temperature gauge. Even the second coffees were poor and not up to Costa standards. I hate complaining, it spoiled my morning and I spent four pounds eighty on two… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Family day out = everybody arguing ”

Written on: 26/03/2016 by SRH3 (1 review written)

On 25th march 2016 I went went out as a family to the garden centre and we wanted to go and get some breakfast. But when we we queued up and got served our English breakfast. And my husband wanted porridge so we had to still wait in the queue with mine and my daughters breakfast going cold. We ended up waiting for over 10 minutes for this porridge and we thought that they would have the porridge already made up but no, the lady got a bag of oats and mixed it together with milk and then kept… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Shoddy and tacky”

Written on: 19/02/2016 by Pammieb56 (1 review written)

We are bust back from a visit to this garden centre. It used to be wonderful. Not any more. Very few plants, very poor quality, poorly laid out, poor displays. Overtaken by a tacky and unpleasant centre for out of town shops of dubious quality. There used to be wonderful displays of the plants sold so you could get great ideas for pairings. All this has gone to be replaced by play areas with nasty plastic dinosaurs. I know children need to enjoy their visit too but there were always play areas… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Wizard of Oz Santas grotto 2015”

Written on: 22/12/2015 by santasgrotto (1 review written)

I took my 3 year granddaughter for her first visit to a santas grotto. What a disappointment. The teenage characters were all very amateurish and the elf positively bored ,loudly telling he had had enough of the whole thing.As you went through in a group we not able to look at the grotto properly. I expected a lot more of Bridgemere. Definitely not what it used to be, I won't go again and won't recommend this grotto… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Disabled parking spot is not for the lazy”

Written on: 21/09/2015 by Damariz453 (1 review written)

Waiting for a disabled space when they were limited, when we got one a guy rolled up in a black Porsche without a badge. Mentioned to him these were for blue badges only and his sad reply was him muttering about a broken leg, clearly his leg was fine, I looked at his dog, and he was fine. Perfect example of a selfish toad, who is too bone idle to walk a few extra yards. Won't return to Bridgemere garden centre… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“After sales service”

Written on: 19/08/2014 by Jaslynp471 (1 review written)

The after sales service is disgusting, staff having a terrible attitude towards you, just don't care, different when they are selling you the item in the first place, suggest some members of staff go on a customer service course!!!!! … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Tacky fanfare or garden centre?”

Written on: 01/08/2014 by Gillespie180 (1 review written)

Since being taken over by Wyvern this garden centre has focused on retailing garden ware and general home bric a brac. Plants are no longer their priority and are poorly displayed often in bad condition. The site looks tacky with large empty spaces adjoining play areas with large dirty looking inflatable bouncy castles. What is most disappointing is the state of the display gardens with diseased collapsed plants amongst untrimmed hedges and a large plastic fish plonked on a stone in the filthy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“STANDARDS ARE SLIPPING”

Written on: 13/07/2014 by URBANA5 (1 review written)

Have been many times but now feel the gardens are not kept to the same standards as before, the quality of plants and prices are not as good,more effort is being put into the shops than the garden centre. The price being charged in the cake and coffee shop are very expensive, we heard many people complaining about the price. We travel a long way to visit Bridgmere but wont be back in a hurry, come on owners pull your fingers out and make it the best as it used to be… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dreadful”

Written on: 06/03/2014 by Jensen128 (1 review written)

An awful experience. Incorrect closing times on the roadside board. Lack of staff. Shop looks messy. Lots of items missing prices. A 15 minute wait to pay only to be told cards can not be accepted. Frequent power cuts plunging the centre into darkness on 2 recent visits. Turing into a service station with a mini garden centre attached. A centre in decline, save your time and visit the far superior Grosvenor garden centre… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“What have they done!”

Written on: 10/01/2014 by Countrygirl43 (1 review written)

I was horrifed when I visited Bridgemere recently - I have never seen it looking in such a sorry state. It used to be a wonderful place for a family day out - now all it feels like is a money grabbing retail park. Won't be going there again in a hurry. I can't believe they are now charging for entry to the gardens and play area. We used to take our kids there regularly and enjoy the wide variety of plants and gardens. In the holidays there used to be free face painting and kids entertainment -… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Heartrbreaking”

Written on: 08/01/2014

I visited today and just when you think it can't get any less plants and atmosphere since its takeover , they have bulldozers in, most of the plants have been removed and it has the atmosphere of a part derelict building site. They have needlessly moved it all round again(!) and reduced their stock by circa 60+% . The majic has gone and it is no longer temporary. I believe they are putting up more outdoor shelters , strange when folk want to be in a garden , ( just by the sunny outdoor cafe… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“It's a shame...”

Written on: 29/09/2013

We used to go to Bridgemere several times a month. We would go to the cafe and the children would play on the indoor play park. As part of our trip we would venture around the outdoor play park then have a picnic in the show gardens. Not any more. When they started charging for the indoor play park I contacted the management to ask why and did they realise this would put people off. I was given a standard reply basically saying they had thought hard about this. I couldn't believe they now… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rose321321's Comment

Written on: 28/10/2013

Have you seen the size of the wooden shed they have paid for to house their member of staff who they have to pay hourly to stop and charge people to go around the outdoor gardens that no-one now goes around. My understanding of the outdoor gardens was that they were to give shoppers ideas of what is in season and how to plan a garden etc. These pathetic £1.50 chargers per person everywhere you go around the centre now is so off putting, and thats before customers have even purchased any goods. The mangement need to remember that the longer they keep customers at the centre the more they will spend, have another cuppa, stay for lunch, etc. Perhaps they need to look at their general pricing strategy to increase business before they think 'long and hard' about such negative feel bad strategies of penny pinching to squeeze the last possible penny they can out of their facilities. Have now seen that this Christmas they plan to charge visitors to £1.50 per person to go around the 'Winter Wonderland' which is probably the Christmas decorations area where overpriced decorations are on sale...we used to go all the time but limit it now to necessities, of which there are not many at Bridgemere.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“More a retail village than garden centre now.”

Written on: 24/08/2013 by agnes2 (1 review written)

I am saddened to find that Bridgemere is now nothing more than a retail hell. You now have to pay to walk in their gardens which is ridiculous, prices are overinflated, fewer plants no staff, no knowledge re: plants by till staff. Stuffed full of overpriced tatt. May as well go to poundland! What a shame it used to be a proper garden centre . Great if you want a baking tin from Lakeland or wool from Hobbycraft though.... We will not be visiting again after all of these years… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview