Gundrys Farm, Wimborne Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.3 / 5
60% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Gundrys Farm, Wimborne - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Gundrys Farm, Wimborne

Gundrys Farm, Wimborne

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Great Site Really Friendly”

Written on: 06/07/2014 by willisma (1 review written)

I have been coming to Gundrys Farm for a fews years now and have always been made feel very welcome by Lorriane and Baz. We have found the site always very clean and tidy. All the pitches are located around the out side of the fields which makes it feel very roomy. we have found the showers and toilets very clean and ample of hot water, We have found the ideal base for our holidays, With quite a few beaches a long the dorset coast, And the New Forest close by. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Wonderful campsite”

Written on: 06/04/2014 by Bretti (1 review written)

Having read some of the previous reviews, we were hesitant about booking Gundrys, but we decided that the good reviews were very good so we would make up our own mind. Thank goodness, we did go. The site is excellent, flat and level, good size pitches for our caravan. We met the owners and their team, very very friendly and helpful, the wardens even helped us put up our awning. The facilities were very clean, toilet blocks in both fields, showers with very hot water and provided free of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Discriminatory”

Written on: 24/07/2013

My husband (who has a fairly strong Liverpool accent) rang to enquire about available tent pitches at Grundy's Farm and was told that they were fully booked. He suspected that this may be due to his accent and asked me to call. I did (I have a generic southern England accent) and they took my booking immediately. Upon arrival they took his payment in advance and showed him to his pitch. He was in Dorset visiting his son and so knew that he would be fairly late returning to the campsite that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Managers's Comment

Written on: 29/07/2013

This is nonsense this gentleman arrived back at the campsite at 1.30am waking campers and setting off our alarm. we are a quiet family campsite not a 24hour drive through motel.

we asked him if he could return a reasonable hour during his stay, he declined so we refunded his pitch fees as it was obvious he had come to the wrong venue.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Great site to stay on Gill & George”

Written on: 16/07/2013 by GillFoster (1 review written)

We have been to this site 4 times, always had a good pitch, very clean place, including showers (free) and toilets, Lorraine and Baz the owners are very nice people, always make time to stop and talk to you, very helpful at all times, we have made this our second home. Cannot understand all the negative reviews people put on here, the site is a lovely relaxing place and not too far from shops, pubs with food and Moors Valley Country Park. All in all a lovely caravan and camping site, would… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“wonderful tranquil site”

Written on: 04/07/2013

cant believe how good this site is, its just tucked away so very peaceful and quiet. Yet unbelievable close to Moors Valley Country Park. We stayed at Gundrys last week for 5 nights, walked to the country park most days, had lunch there, undertook some fabulous walks and cycle paths. The campsite is spotlessly clean, good facilities in terms of showers and toilets. They were always clean no matter what time you used them. The owners put themselves out to speak to us each day, gave us loads of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Managers's Comment

Written on: 29/07/2013

This is nonsense, this gentleman arrived back at the campsite at 1.30am ! Waking campers and setting off our alarm. We are a quiet holiday campsite not a 24 hour drive through motel.

We asked him if he could return at more reasonable hour during his stay, he declined to do so, as a consequence we offered to refund his pitch fees as we were not the right campsite/venue for him.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Managers's Comment

Written on: 29/07/2013

Ignore, the managers comments, entered in error,
These were lovely campers and we enjoyed their stay.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Campsite ok owners unfriendly and rude!!!”

Written on: 10/06/2013 by stan2460 (1 review written)

The campsite is in a lovely location and a 30 min walk to moors valley which is a lovely place to visit with children. The toilets and showers are clean but the showers could do with updating and some hot water would be good as it was luke warm the day i used it. They also use cheap bars of soap in the toilets and not liquid soap and i feel that the bars are very unhygienic especially with the amount of people on site using them!! The path which led to the toilets was also muddy and not gravel… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Nice site but shame about the owner”

Written on: 08/06/2013 by Simonhunt (1 review written)

We stayed at gundrys for the ist time at the end of may once arriving we were made to feel really welcome by the lady owner who showed us everything we needed to know and even helped to push my van into position, I was a bit concerned that there wasn't a free electric hook up point for me so she went off and got what she called a splitter which she plugged and joined mine and my neighbours electric together in one outlet, I wasn't overly impressed by this set up but thought it must be ok… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Managers's Response to Simonhunt's Review

Written on: 08/06/2013

There were first time campers, lots of children and a tiny baby who did not settle in too well for the first couple of nights, which kept the neighbours awake.
Unfortunately their camping gear was straight from their kitchen, we had kettle , microwave, heater on all night to keep the baby warm, so its not surprising they kept tripping the electric.

We did explain on a campsite you are limited in terms of amps, so hopefully they get the correct gear for their next trips.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tinks2013's Response to Simonhunt's Review

Written on: 10/06/2013

Pleased its not just my family who had issues with the owners and their bad attitude, they blame everyone else and take nor responsibility for anything, if they spoke to people in the correct manner to start with it wouldn't get people's backs up!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst site I've ever stayed at, with very rude owners.”

Written on: 02/06/2013 by Tinks2013 (1 review written)

Review by: Member87un Reviewer's Profile Date of visit: May 2013 Unit used: Touring Caravan First time at this site and sadly our last, it's location is ideal for Moors Valley (the main reason we chose it). At first glance the site seemed really nice, 3 large fields with further fields housing the owners sheep, plenty of space for the caravan and the kids to run around and play ball games without worrying that they may hit fellow campers tents/caravans. Sadly for me it went… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Managers's Response to Tinks2013's Review

Written on: 08/06/2013

This was the party from hell, children running wild, campers who tried to steal statues from our private gardens, generally people intent on causing maximum harrassment when challenged. We would never ever want them back.

So their review should be read with caution.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Managers's Response to Tinks2013's Review

Written on: 10/06/2013

This is not a review its a vitriolic rant from a camper we had major issues with when they stayed for a weekend as a member of a three group party.

To deal with their points.
Our showers and toilets are always spotlessly clean, plenty of hot water. The showers are 75m walk and one toilet block is 125m with the other being 100m. We showed these people round the site before they booked so they were well aware of the small distances involved. The lane to the toilet block is gravelled and well marked, it would be fairly normal to expect to bring a torch when camping and as they were staying in a caravan why didnt they use their own toilets at night !
The field they were in is one we use for the Caravan Club we have never had any complaints from any organisation, the grey water is tipped into a ditch - we are keen eco site so see no point in changing this.

We always speak to our campers when we wander round the fields, we had complaints about this group from two other parties so naturally we were seen talking to them - not really that unusual.

This party were the worst we have ever had the misfortune to have on our site, kids running wild, causing damage to our property and to make matters worst we caught the adults trying to steal one of our bronze statues- we were given lots of abuse when we challenged this appalling behaviour - in hindsight we should have taken matters further. We decided to disengage with this party as they were leaving the next day and were clearly in no state to drive.

We were extremely busy during this weekend, we still had time to speak to our campers, let children feed our sheep and would advise that the majority of our campers made a point of coming over to us as they left to thank us for dealing with this party and thanking us for their stay.

So please ignore the malice in this review and accept that we are a quiet site, we enjoy meeting our customers and our sheep definitely enjoy the children giving them sheep nuts. Moors Valley is a 15 minute walk from the site unless you really walk very very slowly!"!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kirstywards's reply to Managers's Comment

Written on: 10/06/2013

I would just like to say as one of the other party. We hardly drank anything, some of us nothing so were definitely in a fit state to drive!! The kids were very well behaved. Spent time playing guess who in tent and football on the main field with other campers!! We weren't even there all Saturday!! And left early sun morning. I went to toilet on various occasions and had no hot water to wash my hands at any time. I have alcohol wash so used that. I cannot comment on other bits as I had a tent so did not use. I witnessed at least two occasions on which other campers were rudely spoken too. And to add nothing was being stolen or vandalised. I and my family are very much into respect of others property and always will be. My children personally were not in the garden area but I would also add that there were no signs to say this area was out of bounds and as children were playing in there Friday on arrival I too would not have realised they couldn't.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tinks2013's reply to Managers's Comment

Written on: 10/06/2013

Firstly we were Never shown around the site, the first we saw of the facilities was the Friday afternoon we arrived, when we came to pay our deposit we only saw the first field and the reception, so this is a clear lie that you showed us around.
I never said the showers nor toilets were dirty, I actually said they were clean, it's the dirty unhygienic soap bars I had an issue with and the flow of water from the showers, this wasn't good enough for trying to wash and rinse long hair.
The path to the facilities at night is not adequate I have taken pictures of this, there's not even any solar lights to mark the route, as I said we did have a torch and was still not easy to see in the pitch black, although we do have a caravan we prefer not to use the shower and toilet in them and the sites facilities, as most caravaners I know do the same.
Our children did not and were not allowed to run wild as you suggested and were in our sight at all times, we even had other campers children joining our children to play ball games and board games. My children caused NO damage to any part of your property and if they had they would have had a telling off as we treat other peoples things and belongings the same way in which we would like ours, on one occasion 2 of my kids climbed a fence and I told them in no uncertain terms there weren't to do it.
As you know we had nothing to do with your bronze statues and as you hid in the bush for over 30 mins listening to our conversation you will know this is the truth and not the lies you have put, he had positioned them into what was supposed to be a funny joke, although I see from your point it wasn't thats all it was supposed to be, with no harm done.
At no point did my family abuse you or shout at you, in fact after you screamed and chased 2 of my children for playing in your garden I apologised and said now we know its private they won't.
More lies that you tell are that we were in no fit state to drive on our final morning, the only way I can think you've come to this conclusion is seeing the state of us after having to listen to a festival that lasted all night from 10.30pm until dusk, I never had any alcohol on the Saturday night so I think you'll find it was lack of sleep that was the problem, I also notice that you've made no apologies about this racket, although it wasn't your fault a simple "we're sorry about the festival", doesnt cost anything!
As far as complaints go, we were next to know one so fail to see how we could have offended anyone, if we had, then surely this is duty as the owners to inform us so we are aware and don't do it again, we spoke to several other parties who weren't happy with the way you spoke to them, nothing to do with us, and I've also read on other reviews similar complaints to ours, so it's not just us, you still also fail to mention why you think a mouldy hose pipe on a fresh water tap is acceptable, but then I guess you see that we are the bad people here and you have done nothing wrong. I also have pictures of pipe and the path, so feel that what I have said is truthful and factual, the same however can't be said for you.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Stan2460's reply to Managers's Comment

Written on: 10/06/2013

I was one of the party too and feel that i need to reply to this. I for one had only drank 2 glasses of wine and my husband had not got back to the campsite till 10pm so hadn't even had a drink so would of been able to drive!! We are all very local to this campsite and feel sorry that other campers that have travelled further would have to put up with the unfriendly atmosphere created by you!! As for kids running wild i have a 19 month old so i'm hardly likely to let her run wild!! I'm not sure if it is eco friendly having grey water tipped in a ditch which campers camp along!?? I myself don't feel happy with my children playing around this!!
Accusing people of stealing when this is far from the truth is just outrageous and i think maybe you should think about what you write!!
As for saying about our appalling behaviour i think maybe if you had respect for other people you may gain that respect back!! Ive just read the last review and it wasn't just us that had received the unfriendly and abrupt approach you take with people.
It isn't a 15 min walk to moors valley and we don't walk very very slowly and that comment sums up your argumentative manner well!
Plus adding to your reply really shows that you must like to cause conflict and annoy people.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 5 Comments
★★★☆☆

“best campsite ever - except dog constantly barking 12...”

Written on: 04/05/2013

Beautiful campsite with perfect facilities and owners but we can't believe a dog opposite us has been barking since 8 am and no one has stopped it. My husband asked the dog owners to stop the barking at 11am as I had a terrible headache and even with all the caravan doors shut we still hear it. They are totally oblibious to its barks and actually said it had only just started. It's now 12 hours later. We ask them again and we're made to look like tge ones in the wrong.They said no one else… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Managers's Comment

Written on: 09/05/2013

we are very sorry to hear that someone had a noisy dog, we certainly were not made aware of any thing untoward. we would have definitely sorted matters had we been aware. The whole of the bank holiday was delightful weather and many people commented how quiet the site was. We spend most of our time walking round the site as normal stopping at most pitches and speaking to our customers and certainly we were not aware of any unusually noisy dogs., Please accept our apologies and we look forward to seeing you again - we will be extra vigilant , regards Loraine and Baz

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Amazing”

Written on: 20/04/2013

just returned from Gundrys Farm, its amaazing, clean, excellent facilities, new toilets, hot showers - free of charge, loads of space,dog friendly and child friendly. Walk to Moors Valley within 15 mins along a bridle path. Owners and staff very helpful and friendly, showed us to our pitch, explained where everything was, spoke to us regularly throughout our stay. Took the children to field the pet lambs, Dot and Daisy, nothing was too much trouble. Weather was not that good,didnt matter as… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Reading through some of the reviews that have been...”

Written on: 29/12/2011

I have stayed at Grundys farm on a few occasions and my stay has always been perfect, never heard a radio or loud noises at 4.00am and I am sure if the owners had been made aware they would have asked these unruly people to either reduce the noise level or leave, these types of campers, who in my eye are very inconsiderate to other campers. With regard to the bike rally, I was there on that weekend and there is more to this than meets the eye! Site is well maintained, new toilet block, good… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid Gundry's Farm at all costs”

Written on: 08/08/2011

We recently stayed at Gundrys farm having completed a charity cycle ride raising money for Cystic Fibrosis, this is something we do each year around the South of England as a family group. Words fail me in how awful the owners made our stay, the man was confused and confrontational, our booking was messed up (we have all corresponding emails saved and it was a mistake on their side) we had campers turned away even though there was plenty of space, we were taking a photograph of the cyclists… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“we stayed at Gundrys over the august bank holiday, we...”

Written on: 12/09/2010

we stayed at Gundrys over the august bank holiday, we stay on this site normally about 4 - 5 times each year. This bank holiday was busy, lots of tents.However we found it welll run as normal, the toilets and showers were clean even allowing for the large number of people on site.

There was one noisy party and having read the previous review the sender must have been pitched next to this party !! We have found the owners well organised and friendly and always very good at policing any noise or… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Myself, my wife and a couple of our friends families,...”

Written on: 31/08/2010

Myself, my wife and a couple of our friends families, have just returned from this campsite after spending 3 nights under the canvas.It was the bank holiday period so were not suprised to see more than the average campers pitched up when we arrived. In the daytime it was an idyllic atmosphere there were lots of children running around and playing and everyone seemed to be relaxed and having fun. At night though as soon as the sun would set a tranformation took place. Radios would be blaring… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“stayed at Gundrys over the weekend, in our tourer, the...”

Written on: 20/07/2009 by candicecandy (1 review written)

stayed at Gundrys over the weekend, in our tourer, the site was quite busy had a large rally plus normal campers. However it was quiet, immaculately kept and maintained. Friendly staff showed us to our pitch, plenty of room, for car and awning. lovely view over the fields,. Gates are locked at night for security.
Showers and toilets were very clean, hotwater constant.
only 500 yards from a garden centre with lovely cream teas, 10 mins to the nearest pub which served good food and even better on… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview