Docklow Pools Reviews - www.docklowpools.com

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.9 / 5
70% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of Food

  • Proximity to Local Amenities

  • Proximity to Local Attractions

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Docklow Pools www.docklowpools.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Docklow Pools www.docklowpools.com

Docklow Pools www.docklowpools.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“perfect fishing holiday ”

Written on: 25/04/2014 by Saundersse187 (1 review written)

Tried the rest this is the best helpful staff excellent food modernising all th time been going there for a bout ten years… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“good value holiday and fishing.at docklow”

Written on: 21/04/2014 by gingermac (1 review written)

WE HAVE JUST RETURNED FROM A WEEK'S HOLIDAY & FISHING AT DOCKLOW POOLS , MY WIFE & MY SELF, THOROUGHLY ENJOYED THE LOG CABIN ACCOMMODATION IT WAS HOME FROM HOME, THE PUB IS REALLY OLD FASHIONED, JUST LIKE A COUNTRY PUB SHOULD BE WE HAD A SUNDAY ROAST CARVERY, FIRST CLASS COOKED TO PERFECTION, THE PRICE A LITTLE HIGHER THAN WE PAY IN WEST WALES, THE COMPLEX IF I MAY SAY IS SHOWING A LITTLE NEED FOR A REFURBISHMENT IN CERTAIN AREAS, SOME SAFETY AREAS NEED LOOKING AT, TACKLE SHOP FIRST CLASS… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“not necessarily a fisherman”

Written on: 11/04/2014 by Basslein (1 review written)

If you want or need peace and tranquility this is the place to be.Idyllic scenery,staff who go out of their way to make you feel "at home" food that make you feel tnat you have been at a banquet and all this where "time" is meaningless.A sense of contentment is gained,making life a lot less stressful including sunshine what else could you need!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“jolly boys ac”

Written on: 18/01/2014 by vicjollyboysac (1 review written)

we visit docklow twice a year. may & july and on the odd occasion third trip in september.this will be our 20th year and hope to celebrate it in grand style.all the staff are great and fishing is top notch.we have made many great friends over the years and am sure anybody who visits the fishery for the first time will appreciate the welcome they receive. vic.(northern branch) jolly boys ac. tight lines… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“hounslow new challenge”

Written on: 10/05/2013

excellent weeks fishing and total relaxation. we are all back next year for more of the same.facilites were top notch and hosts are superb. looking for a weeks great angling then look no further...cheers for everything… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Great week at Docklow!!”

Written on: 01/05/2013 by roywilkinson (1 review written)

Just returned from a week's fishing at Docklow Pools. Not much to say really as "brilliant" pretty much covers it! The accomodation was excellent. The bar and restaurant were really good and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The tackle shop stocked everything you could want and the guy running it very helpful and knowledgeable. I'm not easily pleased - I always complain where there's a need but I couldn't fault this place. Oh, and by the way, the fishing was fantastic!! We fished… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Idyllic, Friendly, Consistent Sport.”

Written on: 31/01/2013 by Daveuk2010 (1 review written)

Having read some of the reviews it was little surprise to me that they are a somewhat mixed. Having worked in Travel and Tourism for over 7 years I know a customers reaction is normally down to there expectations. Different people want different things and you can NEVER please everybody. In saying that some of the comments are WAY WAY off the mark. I have been visiting Docklow for 3 years and always alone. Now if the staff were unfriendly or there was a certain "Clique" then I certainly would… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Just returned after a weeks fishing with a mate”

Written on: 16/07/2012 by Klafu59 (1 review written)

I saw the single star review just before leaving for a weeks fishing at Docklow with a mate and I must admit I was a little concerned especially as the weather was going to be awful. Overall we had a good time. We caught over 100 Crucians/F1's each in the stock pond on our first day and continued to catch fish on all of the lakes. The match lake does get a hammering and quite a few of the Carp had missing lips/deformed mouths which was not very nice to see. The accommodation was pretty good, we… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Pete & Lori - Our favourite little getaway”

Written on: 30/07/2011 by LoriClay (1 review written)

We stumbled across Docklow by accident & it is the best find we ever made and have been to Docklow Pools several times now and for us it just gets better. We don't do set weeks and have met lots of different people who have all been nice and friendly. We find most people quite willing to share fishing techniques and offer advice on how to fish the various lakes. Pete entered a residents match for the first time on our last visit and thoroughly enjoyed himself, he didn't even come last which… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“An Idyllic Location and Fantastic Fishing”

Written on: 13/07/2011 by Coopers (1 review written)

Just got back from a great week at Docklow; stayed in the Angler’s Log cabins which were all ready on arrival and provided excellent accommodation for the week. All the lodges provide somewhere to store your tackle securely. The fishing was excellent and my comments are based on being a competent rather than expert angler; apart from a session on the Specimen Lake we fished match rod and waggler all week. Had 10 double figure carp to 14lb and good mixed bags from all lakes including carp to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Docklow Pools what more can you wish for ?”

Written on: 12/07/2011 by mcneill (1 review written)

Hi all been fishing at Docklow Pools for some years now, and have found the place and staff fantastic, and very helpful,the tackle shop onsite has everything if you forget anything! as well as a great selection of bait available.Accomadation is very good weather you stay in the B&B or one of the cottages or lodges, all a short walk to the pools.The bar & restraunt are very oldy worldy with original oak beams exposed and a roaring fire if you decide to fish in the winter, have had some great… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“I have to concur with other reviewers. We stayed in a...”

Written on: 01/05/2011

I have to concur with other reviewers. We stayed in a cottage, which is advertised as 'luxury' LOL but which was dirty and smelly. The bed was well worn and uncomfortable. We ate in the restaurant twice, the food was poor quality and overpriced. The entertainment in the bar, (twice a week) was laughingly poor and the entrance to the bar, a very serious health and safety risk!
The fishing was poor. The whole area was unfinished, difficult to navigate on foot and no disabled pegs!!! I also agree… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 21/06/2011

We have been visiting "docklow pools" for the past ten years,
and have always found,accommodation,management,entertainment to be first class.
As to the "clikckyness" it is actually called friendship,attained by helping each other ,laughing and joking,and enjoying the comapny and of course the brilliant fishin.
we will come back as long as we can.

wynne& lol liverpool.(scouse power)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Stonkerb's Comment

Written on: 04/02/2013

Been to docklow, three times and never had a problem. (Name removed) has always gone out of his way to help and make us feel comfortable. The fishing is second to non too as there are so many alternatives to choose from and information is always made available ask (names removed) in the shop and they will put you on fish. The banter is good too and lighthearted and friendly. The cottages are not five star granted, but we are fisherfolk with all our junk. Incidently you get a lock up for yout tackle too , so tackle is banned from the accomodation. The cottage we stayed in was clean and comfy. My wife said "cosy" and she wont stay in a dump. Im sure if you had a problem and talked to him, he would have dealt with it. We are giving it the thumbs up and actually im going to book tommorow. Tight lines all. Steve and Sarah (Manc Power)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 14/07/2011

I have to agree with Winn and Lol..clicky it is not..every one each time we go are so friendly and its different people each time..if you don't want to join in with the banter it will seem clicky....as for eating in the restaurant..if it was as you said bad first time you went in ..why did you go a second time..or were you after a free meal if you complained..some people make complaining there hobby..it is so it usually results in A..a free meal..or B a free holiday...Docklow pools is one of the best places around..for fishing and making a lot of friends..we most certainly will be going back again and again..just a small poing..the cottages are sparkling..every thing you need to enjoy you fishing holiday..

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★★★★☆

“Have had two holidays there and will be going again in...”

Written on: 20/04/2011

Have had two holidays there and will be going again in July, idyllic location. Only stayed in the angler's accommodation and it is just fine, close to waters and somewhere to store your tackle. General fishing excellent in all the lakes, havn't tried the specimen lake. Staff very friendly and helpful, tackle shop pub & restauarnt are excellent. If you are looking for a weeks fishing in fantastic surroundings this is the place for you, if you are looking for a top notch camp site with swimming… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“on hols in july 2010 what can i say about the fishing...”

Written on: 10/01/2011

on hols in july 2010 what can i say about the fishing 1st class over 150 pounds of fish in the week all all staff very help full. this is a fishing hol place you yust sleep and eat in the accomadion if its a bit dirty so what its a fishing holiday booked again for 2011. if you do not fish why go there at the end of the you get what you pay for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“The cottage we had booked looked lovely from the...”

Written on: 15/09/2010

The cottage we had booked looked lovely from the outside, but once inside it was dirty and in areas very tired and worn out (chipped kitchen worktop, ripped wallpaper, no shower, dead insects in the corners of rooms and windowsills, etc, etc). We requested a larger place, and the only one available was dirty (we were told we could have it if we wanted it, but would have to clean it ourselves - what a start to our holiday!). We eventually spoke to one of the owners and after a rather rocky… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 18/07/2011

I totally agree with this review, the Mill cottage we stayed in wan minging. If you do decide to go, I would advise you to take plenty cleaning sprays and a groundsheet to put over the toilet carpet (yuck). Wont be back.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful place, unless you like noddy fishing in pits....”

Written on: 01/08/2010

Awful place, unless you like noddy fishing in pits. The stock pond has been destroyed to get more matches onsite, the arrogance of the owners is a disgrace and the quality of fishing terrible. I had heard good things about it, but it's changed over the last few years. Ellis the dog is friendliest member of staff, the rest are only interested in the dollar… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“My husband and i spent a week at docklow in march 2010...”

Written on: 09/05/2010

My husband and i spent a week at docklow in march 2010 we stayed in a self catering cottage which i must say was beautifull and cosy, the peacefullness was bliss we could"nt believe how lovely it was,just what i needed while my husband done his fishing. The food was excellent the service impecable, also the other residents where so friendly too,but most of all nobody pestered you for anything,mike and josie where very friendly as was johnathan we were made to feel very welcome so much so we… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Docklow is a great looking venue. The staff however...”

Written on: 30/03/2010

Docklow is a great looking venue. The staff however appear like they don't want visitors on property. The friendliest member of staff is the dog. There are also numerous hidden charges. I wouldn't recommend it as a holiday, maybe just a day ticket water… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“We have had a brilliant few days at Docklow Pools. I...”

Written on: 31/08/2009

We have had a brilliant few days at Docklow Pools. I liked the look of the place when I viewed it on line but even more so when we arrived. It is set in beautiful and tranquil surroundings. The fishing was brilliant (I didn't fish but it was great watching as there
is constant activity in the pools. The cabin was cosy and the staff willing and helpful. Look forward to our next visit. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Docklow Pools is aso a very clicky place if your face...”

Written on: 03/08/2009

Docklow Pools is aso a very clicky place if your face fits you are ok, i will not go there again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview