Thomson Holidays Reviews - www.thomson.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.9 / 5
676
23% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business

Summary

Thomson Holidays provides flights (for thomson fly, see thomsonfly.com), hotels, cruises, package holidays, villas, car hire, city breaks and ski holidays. Their holidays are further split by Premier Collection (4 & 5 star hotels), A la Carte Holidays, Gold Holidays (for couples), Small & Friendly Holidays, Sensatori Holidays (5 star luxury resorts), Platinum Holidays (Affordable luxury), Family Holidays and BeachClub Holidays (Sun, sports and spas).So for hotel reviews from Thomson you have come to the right place!


? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Thomson Holidays www.thomson.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“thomson holidays poor communication”

Written on: 30/06/2015 by michaeldrake (1 review written)

If you are having problems with the online booking of your seats for your Thomson holiday it is probably because they don't always use their own plans for the return journey. I have just tried to book my seats online, you can see a seating plan for the outward journey as it is a thomson flight number, but because the return flight number is DY (Norwegian Air Shuttle) the seating plan is not there and therefore you cannot book your seats for outward and return journeys. This also causes a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Minus stars would be most appropriate for appalling...”

Written on: 28/06/2015

We booked a trip to New York with Thomsons, but we will never, ever use them or their sister companies again. We arrived at 3am after a delayed flight and a very long and tiring journey to discover there was no hotel booking, despite having all the paperwork to say there was. Luckily, the hotel, Doubletree in New Jersey, was absolutely brilliant. They found us a room and we, and the hotel, spent the next three days making many, many phone calls to Thompson, at our own cost, being passed from… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Hidden Costs”

Written on: 15/06/2015 by Arogers80 (1 review written)

We booked a holiday for 2 adults and 1 infant (under 2 years). On checking in (immediately after access was allowed) we had been separated with myself on one side of an aisle and my wife/ daughter on the other. We tried to move together but there was a charge of £9.50, to make it worse the system would not let me sit next to my wife and daughter but would only let us move both seats meaning double the cost. On calling customer services they were less than helpful and to be blunt, a bunch of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“very very basic ”

Written on: 09/06/2015 by Trevinosw266 (1 review written)

We arrived in corfu kavos at half 1 in the morning, we we then pointed out our room which was called odsyuss apartment i understand this was just a 2 star complex but basic was a understatement, wasnt given enough towels for shower as had to use most of them to mop up floor as shower flooded bathroom, water was also freezing and we then used another room to have a hot shower. We them left the dirty towels out to be taken, when cleaner came i found the dirty towels left hanging out the bathroom… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Zero Rating, Not Even 1 Star !!”

Written on: 03/06/2015 by CheyenneRafferty (1 review written)

Booked and paid for online, a superior room with sea view in Cala Bona Majorca. The hotel reviews are excellent, and that was the main reason for booking the hotel. Did we receive what we paid for, NO WAY !!! I read online that other people at the same hotel had been ripped off by Thomsons by not getting a sea view room. I telephoned Thomson Holidays to check our booking, only to be told I had NOT booked a sea view room, and was made to feel as if I was lying. I KNOW WHAT I BOOKED AND PAID… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“A very disappointing indeed infuriating holiday in Italy.”

Written on: 01/06/2015 by crDouglas118 (1 review written)

I arrived to get on a plane to Verona from Birmingham having waited in a very long cue for two and a half hours. Just managing to get on flight despite arriving there 2.5 hours. Prior to flight. We arrived after a very smooth crossing and the hotel Torri del Banaco was lovely. Friendly nice food, very pleasant view of lake and a lovely family run hotel. However I was taken ill during the second night and have just been discharged four days later. There is one remaining day left of my holiday… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“they do not care ”

Written on: 28/05/2015 by knhoj (1 review written)

as long as they have your money they do not care about there customers if you TRY to get in touch with them what you get is some foreign person who can not understand what you are saying and you can not understand what they are saying so you just give up. Eight weeks to get a reply by e-mail its just not good enough maybe that's thomsons plan. ( cost me over a £1000 will NEVER use Thomson again)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Sport Packages”

Written on: 13/05/2015 by JudiHogan (1 review written)

Be warned re the terms and conditions any cancellation is heavily penalised and needs to be sent in writing or by email. I had booked a Saturday night and football match package for four for my husbands 50th birthday. 

The match day was changed so I rang to enquire if the nights stay could be changed, the young man I spoke to was not sure and said he would ring me back. No one did. In the following week a member of our party was taken seriously ill and would not be able to attend. I then rang
Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mal5Smith's Response to JudiHogan's Review

Written on: 05/06/2015

Thomson are a dreadful outfit who treat their customers with contempt. They are too big and couldn't care less about the criticisms they receive. I used them for years and spend many thousands but never again. I had a serious health problem suddenly, last year and had to cancel. I got no refund. Technically they stole my money. They are committing theft and should be brought to justice. They just waffled on about their terms and conditions and travel insurance. They are still committing theft by refusing to return your money. I sincerely hope they go down the pan. They are changing their name soon I think hoping for a fresh start!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“online booking”

Written on: 07/05/2015 by MakennaMedeiros (1 review written)

Have booked a Thomson holiday for 1st December 2015 weeks ago on line. Have now been told that as l'm travelling after 31st October l cannot book in, complete api, select my seat or pay online, l have to ring their cust service line. So far this week l have been on hold for over 3 hrs just trying to get my email confirmation sent out and now they expect me to ringup and give out my passport and card number over the phone, is this a joke!. Apparently this is an upgrade of their service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Holiday not as advertised”

Written on: 14/04/2015 by Town1 (1 review written)

Beware of booking with Thomson. I booked a holiday advertised as on Dreamliner. Booked seats. On return no Dreamliner and had to chase them to get money back for booked seats. They quoted terms and conditions as excuse for change of aircraft. As far as I am concerned holiday was not as advertised. Complaints got nowhere as they are not interested in customer service. I will not use them again. I paid £200 more than a similar holiday with Thomas Cook and stated to the agent that I was booking… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Distressing events that took place on last day.”

Written on: 04/04/2015 by TaraBell (1 review written)

Hotel Helios is a very good hotel to stay in, nice staff, clean and good food. The Thomson organisation getting into the buses were very poor,a wife and husband were not on the same bus and no check list who should be on the bus at all.[staff stated that she had no list to tick names off who should be on the bus.] When the time to leave the hotel for the flight home we were not picked up even when we were standing at the pick up point five mins before for the bus as we had been told by staff… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Thomson lie and think theft is acceptable”

Written on: 17/03/2015 by meAustin136 (1 review written)

Ocean Blue sand hotel is a low quality hotel with extremely  rude staff in the guest relations office and the manageress has no customer  skills what so ever and shouts abuse and throws her arms in your face before  storming off, her assistant manager is a lair and failed to deliver the reports  he promised. He also thinks its funny to laugh in your face and wind you to up more. You are harassed by their H10 upgrade staff to buy their  timeshare every time you go for food and they… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“hour on hold”

Written on: 14/03/2015 by Dania204 (1 review written)

Phoned to pay balance of holiday. On hold for nearly an hour. Still never got through Poor service for 2015… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Thompsons don't care !!!”

Written on: 10/03/2015 by GlennJohnson (1 review written)

Booked a holiday to jamaica flying from Newcastle ? We were assured on second visit to agents shop flight was direct from Newcastle but then informed on arrival at airport that would be refuelling in Manchester. We then were informed of 1hr delay from Newcastle to then land in Manchester to be informed of further delay. (2 1/4 to 2 1/2 hrs on Tarmac) Drinks were supposedly complimentary but during our roughly 14 hours on the aircraft we were given only 3 drinks despite frequent requests for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Thomsons Travel Agent, Greengate Street, Stafford”

Written on: 18/02/2015 by ioParks1974 (1 review written)

Recently went to this travel agent in Greengate Street, Stafford. On entering you could cut the atmosphere with a knife. Although the place was clean and tidy there seemed to be an air about the place that made me feel uncomfortable. The agent I seen was cold, humourless and without a smile. I sat with them to 'sort' a holiday. I felt like I was being a nuisance and quickly left to go to another travel agent down the street where I was welcomed on arrival and had a holiday arranged within… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor service”

Written on: 17/02/2015 by hlBateman274 (1 review written)

We booked to a week in gran canaria in February hotel was excellent which made up for the poor service from Thomson On arrival at the airport we were hearted like cattle to a waiting point and told to wait for bus 18. After waitng 10 minutes with no rep in site we bit the bullet and jumped in a taxi at a cost of 45 euros, a wise decision as the bus was 45 mins late. Along with others we tried to speak to the rep Craig who was full of bull and lies he told us the bus was held up in traffic… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Checking in flight with Thompson”

Written on: 16/02/2015 by AnnaWebb388 (1 review written)

after leaving plenty of time at the airport (gatwick). We spent the next 2 hours queuing to check our bags in.there was only 3 people checking bags by the time we were 90 minutes in ther was only 1.so the breakfast an chill we were going to have didn't happen we went from checking in then straight to boarding no food or drink into a four hour flight. I have flown with thompson before an checking in has always been a drag but in this case unacceptable,especially family's with young children to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“brill”

Written on: 12/02/2015 by Imanit63 (1 review written)

we r just back on Tuesday from Benidorm the flights we great the cabin crew where so nice and well turn out the pilots where great to they land the plain with no bump at all and when we got our hotel the reps couldent do enuff for you so all round it was a great holiday at the rio park hotel mrs e barr… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Told lies to help with their sales”

Written on: 30/01/2015 by Tcheckman (1 review written)

Upon booking a first long haul trip to Mexico I booked extra space seating. A couple of days later I tried to extend the holiday by a further week. On that occasion the agent was keen for me to upgrade to premium seating. As I didn't want to pay the huge cost of premium seating I declined the offer. On that the agent told me I would not be able to reserve my extra space seating 90 days prior to travel as it would the emergency exit seats only. This was false information and I found out too… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“ABSOLUTE RIP OFF!”

Written on: 28/01/2015 by sneedham123 (1 review written)

We booked our holiday through Thomson in December to the Ushuaia Beach Hotel in Ibiza as we thought it was a pretty good deal given the price and the specific room that we wanted - the hotel has two buildings, and within them different views so we thought we had booked a stage view given the slightly higher price/priveledge at the time to others available. Our friends are now booking away as well, they told us the deals they were getting for Stage View rooms so we queried with Thomson what… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview