King & Allen Suits. Reviews - www.kingandallen.co.uk

Coppergate Mews, 103-107 Brighton Road, Surbiton, KT6 5NE
★★★★☆
3.7 / 5
68% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

Description (provided by business)

King & Allen would like to thank their customers for the reviews placed on Review Centre.  King & Allen aim to provide a high quality bespoke suits with excellent service levels and all at an affordable price.  The majority of the reviews below are testament to the fact they are living up to this promise, however, should you be unhappy in any way with the suit or service you have received they welcome the opportunity to deal with any concerns or questions and request you contact them directly at service@kingandallen.co.uk If after contacting them you still feel they have not dealt with your concerns adequately then you are welcome to leave your review all they ask is that they are given the opportunity to address your issues first.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk. - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“Not off the peg, in all aspects”

Written on: 09/04/2014 by Pjestico (1 review written)

What an amazing experience! From the initial consultation, explanation of styles and fabrics, the fittings and then leaving with the most beautifully tailored suit that is unique to me. The service at the Wilmslow store was exceptional, one member of the team in particular provides attention to detail and customer care that is exemplary, a credit to the company. The completed suit has a high level of workmanship and I'm sure this will be the first of many more. What a great 40th birthday… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“Bespoke business suits”

Written on: 30/03/2014 by KT5Customer (1 review written)

Having seen King & Allen's business premises while out walking in Surbiton, I decided to try their service as an alternative to my normal practice of buying business suits off-the-peg, or occasionally bespoke, from reputable, well-known and traditional London (including Savile Row) tailors. Having called in without an appointment, I was warmly received, allocated an adviser within a few moments and then guided expertly and professionally through a cloth and style-selection process. Although I… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★☆☆☆
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“Good fit, poor durability at the seams”

Written on: 19/03/2014 by Sky_Bum (1 review written)

Summary: good fit, but 500GBP came undone at the seam after 40 times wearing it. Poor customer service as bookings to fix it were not available. PROS - I spent 500GBP on a suit from K&A a little over a year ago. Although I needed multiple fittings (I had lost after ordering the suit), I ended up with a nice and fairly decent fitting. The selection of the material is of good quality, though I am unable to judge the value of it. They did not have non-plain jacket linings, but most people aren't… Read Full Review

By Jake.allen

Written on: 30/03/2014

Dear Sir

Thank you for your review, both the positive and the negative. I am very pleased you like your suit and that it was a good fit. You may also be interested to know we do now offer patterned linings.

I would also like to address the negative comments you make. I believe you phoned up about two weeks ago to make an enquiry about having your trousers repaired. When you described the problem with your trousers to my colleague you were told, as is our policy, that you may have to pay for the repair. This is because we can't assess the cause of the issue over the phone and very occasionally and in a few limited circumstances we would charge for the repair at cost. This could either be because the issue is down to normal wear and tear, consistent with a years use, or that it was apparent some incident had occurred such as a tear caused by catching the trousers on something. In all likelihood we would take a practical view and complete the repair free of charge. We aim to provide a great service to all our customers and I think in this case it was just that our policy was not explained to you clearly, or in enough detail. I would welcome the opportunity to rectify this issue and invite you to call up again to make an appointment.

As for the lack of availability of appointments I can assure you that you would have been offered the same times as anyone else. I believe you wanted an evening appointment at Liverpool Street and you wanted one that week. I am afraid that whilst we do open late on two nights of the week, Wednesday and Thursday, these are our most popular slots and they were already booked that week, I am sure if you wanted something in the day that week or even in the evening the following week we could have accommodated you. Again I invite you to call back and try again and please do ask for me as I would be very pleased to assist you further.

Kind regards

Jake Allen

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★★
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“Back for More”

Written on: 19/02/2014

I visited the Wilmslow branch before Christmas to try King & Allen out. I'd not gone down the bespoke/semi-bespoke route before. I hardly have to wear suits as I work from home mostly these days. However, I do need to look smart occasionally when I visit suppliers, clients or exhibitions etc and being 6ft 3, 17 stone, big chest and shoulders etc I normally have to compromise on the fit of suits. I was fitted for a jacket only as this is more flexible for my current requirements and allowed… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“my smoking jacket”

Written on: 14/02/2014 by billsjacket (1 review written)

A friend recommended King & Allen in Surbiton as a reputed tailor, luckily i live in the town so thought i would try them out. Well i am very glad i did. i had 4 fittings in all, and on each occasion i was dealt with in a friendly, knowledgeable and at all times professional manner. The jacket looks superb and just what i wanted. it wasn't a cheap purchase and i didn't intend it to be, this was always about quality. i would highly recommend the tailors if your looking for a product which you… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“Excellent service”

Written on: 04/02/2014 by cpape (1 review written)

I purchased a tailored suit for my wedding and was extremely pleased with the service from the branch in Wilmslow, Cheshire. Very knowledgeable and attentive staff, who made the process enjoyable and pain free. Really pleased with the end product and finishing touches to stitching details. Barely needed any adjustments after first fitter. Excellent - would recommend… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“Fantastic Service”

Written on: 10/01/2014 by darrenschuttler (1 review written)

From the first appointment until the final fitting - I was very impressed with the service and professional approach of the staff at King&Allen. One person in particular was brilliant. Each appointment did not take long at all and measurements were done perfectly the first time. When it came for the first fitting the suit was perfect. I am very satisfied with the quality of materials chosen and the suit is made to a very high standard. I have previously bought suits when on business in… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“suit for life”

Written on: 09/12/2013

My experience of King and Allen was first class, and I have 2 beautiful suits to prove it. Sensational customer service from start to finish, particularly in the way they accommodated my slightly unusual demands. I shall be returning for more bespoke delights… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“Bespoke Suit”

Written on: 01/12/2013 by MarkSmall (1 review written)

This was the first tailored suit I have ever bought. This was for my wedding so I thought I would spoil myself for the big day! The person who handled my order and took my measurements was fantastic and offered good advice when it came to making specific decisions on the cut and style. I had a short timescale to work with and having paid a bit extra for the quicker delivery they ensured I had the completed suit just in time for the Big Day. I would definitely purchase from them again… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“Wedding Suit”

Written on: 01/12/2013 by MikeP85 (1 review written)

I went to King and Allen in Surbiton to have a suit made for my wedding. The service was very good and proffessional. I went for initial measurements and a few weeks later returned to try the suit on to see if any adjustments were needed. The next week I had the suit that fits perfectly and I was very happy with K&A from start to finish. Thanks very much! Michael Parke… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“Excellent service, great fitting suits - all with a smile”

Written on: 29/11/2013

I usually wear suits for work so finding a local tailor was a real blessing. I am of average height 5' 4" so the 'off the peg' suits in the high street rarely fit as these are usually made for unrealistically tall models with long arms and a waist inches away from where mine is! I have had suits made by several tailors - usually in London, the last few in New Bond street, so have some experience with the measuring, basting, fitting process - and this might get some getting used to if you are… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“Excellent service”

Written on: 18/11/2013 by ManWithoutWords (1 review written)

Firstly I have to commend the assistant who took my details and measurements for her excellent good will and patience. She very skilfully guided me past my indecision and reassured me of my choices. The finished jacket is beautiful… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“Top quality & service”

Written on: 16/11/2013 by MalBel86 (1 review written)

This is my first made to measure suit and I cannot find fault with the service I received. The staff were both knowledgeable and attentive, making the process easy to understand. I also needed the suit by a certain date and they ensured timescales were met. The suit itself met expectations and I would recommend King & Allen to everyone… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“poor customer service!”

Written on: 10/11/2013

Appalling customer service!!! AVOID!!! DO NOT WASTER YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY WITH THEM.... THEY DO NOT APPRECIATE CUSTOMER LOYALTY (HAVING BOUGHT 3 SUITS FROM THEM) AND THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE/CARE IS BEYOND A JOKE THEY ARE ONLY NICE UP UNTIL THEY GET YOUR MONEY, AFTER THAT THEY DON'T GIVE 2 HOOTS… Read Full Review

By Jake.allen

Written on: 15/11/2013

Dear Sir

I am very sorry that you felt like you had to write this review and I would like to do everything I can to help you if you do not feel you have been provided with anything but the best service and customer care.

You do not go into specific detail in your review so it is difficult for me to either offer any explanation or defend our normally very high levels of service. Speaking generally I would like to assure you we do appreciate customer loyalty and take every effort to ensure our customers who returned to us are welcomed back.

The comments you make about customer care and not giving '2 Hoots' after we get your money are simply not true; we would not have established the successful company that we have over the last ten years if this was the case. Again as you give no details about why you have these feelings I can't comment further. I would however welcome the opportunity to talk to you in detail as we strive to give all our customers only the very best service. If we have fallen short of this in this instance then I would like to resolve any issues you have and correct any errors we may have made so this does not happen again. Please feel free to email me directly or call.

Kind regards

Jake Allen

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★★
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“Excellent personal service!”

Written on: 05/11/2013

I have purchased a number of suits from King & Allen and I have always been impressed with the quality of the product and the level of customer service. I would not hesitate to buy a suit from them again or to recommend them to others… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“Very happy customer”

Written on: 01/10/2013 by MichaelfromWoking (1 review written)

I received a gift voucher from my wife for my birthday from King and Allen and being new to any bespoke tailoring I was a bit sceptical and a bit nervous at being fitted etc. I have to say I felt completely at ease during measuring and consultation on my first visit. My second visit I tried on the suit made for me and I was very pleasantly surprised that It fitted perfectly first time. It seems funny now but I don't think I could ever buy an off the peg suit again. I am not a man of huge means… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★☆☆☆
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“Poor service”

Written on: 26/09/2013

I recommend avoiding this place (and I never write reviews). The morning suit took an age to make - they outsource everything to Asia and have no control over their supply chain. It was then ill fitting and they weren't able to adjust because it was badly made so had to start all over again, so took even longer. No apologies, no sense of customer service. Price is hardly competitive. Give them a miss… Read Full Review

By Jake.allen

Written on: 21/11/2013

Dear Sir

I am very sorry that you were not happy with the service you received from my company. Thankfully as this happens so infrequently I believe I know who you are and if I may explained what happened I hope you will understand even if you still do find it unsatisfactory.

You ordered tailcoat (or morning suit jacket) from our Liverpool Street showroom. At the first fitting there were some minor alterations namely lengthening the sleeve 1.5cm, letting out the sleeve and making a small adjustment to the front of the jacket. This is a bespoke garment so this would all be part of the normal process so far. I am afraid that we then made our only error; the hem allowance that we would use to lengthen the sleeve had been stitched through when the buttonhole was made meaning we could not lengthen it. We informed you of this with our apologies and, as our suits are made in the Far East, informed you the fastest way to resolve this was to make you a new tailcoat. This was done with the upmost urgency and with the amendments taken into account. At your next fitting the tailcoat was perfect but for a minor alteration to the vent of the jacket. You then collected you tailcoat at the next fitting.

I am very sorry for any inconvenience caused by the delay but you did collect your tailcoat within twelve weeks of placing your order which, although longer than average, is inside our lead times. I am afraid only you can judge if we are competitive but at £380 for a bespoke tailcoat that fits you perfectly I believe we are the best value tailors in the UK.

We value you as a customer and I will email you with a discount from your next purchase as a gesture of goodwill for the inconvenience caused. If you wish to discuss this further do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Kind regards

Jake Allen

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★☆☆☆
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“All going in the wrong direction”

Written on: 20/09/2013

King & Allen used to provide a good value and fair quality alternative to more expensive bespoke options and excellent customer service. My most recent experience suggests that their costs have risen, the quality of their workmanship has fallen and their customer service is now nigh on non- existent. All in all, poor developments in terms of their offering. Problems on an order made in May 2013 have included a failure to follow clear instructions resulting in trousers that didn't meet… Read Full Review

By Jake.allen

Written on: 26/11/2013

Dear Sir

I am very sorry you have not been happy with your latest suits and the service you received. You are a regular customer of ours and I am afriad on your last visit your consultant failed to note that you usually require no back pockets on your trouser.

When this error was realised we offered you the option of keeping the trousers with the back pockets at a discounted rate or we would replace the back panel in order to 'remove' the pocket. You opted for the latter. I am very sorry to say this then took longer than it should have done to resolve and in the mean time you had some quality issues as you mentioned. I can assure you that these things were a one off and we are still very much making good value quality suits with an excellent service.

It is also unfortunate you did not see the same person throughout but this is not due to a high turnover of staff. It is true your original consultant did leave the company in April but since then no other consultant has left. We do try to maintain continuity but this was made more difficult in your case. What we should have done was assign you a new consultant to resolve your issue from start to finish. I am sorry this was not done and it is something we will be doing in the future to improve our service.

I will be emailing you directly to offer you a gesture of goodwill and I do hope you will return to us in the future so you can receive the kind of quality and service you got with your first four suits. I also hope that when you experience an excellent product and service, like you were accustomed to, you will wish to return to this website and write a positive review, that is my aim at least. Please do contact directly if you would like to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Jake Allen

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“Appalling, steer clear!”

Written on: 13/09/2013 by HelenW1977 (1 review written)

I purchased a gift voucher for my partner for a Christmas present last year. After a couple of consultations he decided to opt for an overcoat and subsequently had many, many measurements taken. Excited about the first fitting we travelled to the Liverpool Street location, (which is very dingy), only to be appalled by what my partner was presented with. The sleeves where different length, both too short. The coat looked like it had been made for a man twice his size, it was dire. We expressed… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★
King and Allen Suits - www.kingandallen.co.uk.

“Bought 3 or 4 suits...”

Written on: 10/09/2013 by BruceBurrowes (1 review written)

I've been using King and Allen for a number of years and always seen the same person. I've now bought 3 or 4 suits. They all fit perfectly and are all made exactley how I want it. Suggestions have always been made as what I can change to be more trendy etc but to be honest I tended to go more traditional in style than trendy. There are plenty of cloths to choose from, I didnt know you could have so many different variations of grey.... I've used a number of other suppliers and over the… Read Full Review

Report this review
overview