Smart Buy Glasses Reviews - www.smartbuyglasses.co.uk

★★★★☆
4.3 / 5
29
86.2% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Smart Buy Glasses - www.smartbuyglasses.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★★☆☆☆

“Still waiting to find out when I will receive...”

Written on: 06/06/2016 by adamcott (1 review written)

Ordered contact lenses expecting them to be shipped in a few working days. Waited 4 working days, contacted smart buy glasses via the online chat only to be told that they would look into it - I received an email 2 days later advising that the product I ordered was not in stock (despite the website originally saying dispatch 2 - 4 business days from ordering). Received an email today advising 'Stock Confirmed' yet still no indication as to when shipment will take place. Considering these are… Read Full Review

Service Manager Sbg's Response to adamcott's Review

Written on: 07/06/2016

Dear Customer,

I do regret to hear the stock issue for your contact lens order.

Unfortunately from time to time, some specific prescription contact lens can be out of stock due to the popularity of a certain prescription. I do apologize for any inconvenience that might cause you.

Should you need any further assistance, please feel free to contact our customer service team.

Regards,

John
SmartBuyGlasses

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Long delivery, bent frames and poor fitting lenses”

Written on: 10/04/2016

Firstly the delivery took a long time as the glasses were manufactured in Hong Kong. The frames were bent which means they don't sit straight on my face. I have taken them to 2 different opticians to resolve this however they are Still not right with one of the arms curving slightly downwards. The lenses fit poorly into the frames and the grinding of the lenses can be clearly seen around the frame. This was my first order with you and I am not a happy customer… Read Full Review

Service Manager Sbg's Comment

Written on: 11/04/2016

Dear Customer,

Thanks for your review.

I do regret to hear the frame and lens issue regarding your purchase. To make sure if we could offer any further assistance to resolve the issue for you, would you please contact our service manager (the contact information is under the tab of "Overview" on this review page)?

Sincerely,
John
SmartBuyGlasses

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Long time to arrive, poor communication, good glasses”

Written on: 20/03/2016

Once ordered I received an email with order number and info to track progress of order online. My order then stated it was in the first process for 2 weeks. After no progress I emailed, no response in 24 hours even though the website claims to respond to all enquiries in 24 hours. Emailed again, response within a few hours, order had in fact moved through all stages and in the process of being shipped. Still took another 4 days to arrive. However once arrived very happy with the glasses… Read Full Review

Service Manager Sbg's Comment

Written on: 21/03/2016

Dear Customer,

Thanks for sharing your shopping experience.

We do apologize for the delays in assisting you with your inquires. From time to time when we have a large amount of customers' inquires, it might take a bit longer for us to get back to our customers which I do apologize for that.

I am glad to hear that you are happy with the product, I hope you will enjoy them.

Regards,
John

Reply to this comment

Service Manager Sbg's Comment

Written on: 21/03/2016

Dear Customer,

Thanks for sharing your shopping experience.

We do apologize for the delays in assisting you with your inquires. From time to time when we have a large amount of customers' inquires, it might take a bit longer for us to get back to our customers which I do apologize for that.

I am glad to hear that you are happy with the product, I hope you will enjoy them.

Regards,
John

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Poor customer care”

Written on: 07/03/2016 by vhReeves24 (1 review written)

My order was taking longer than what I had expected. I sent two emails to customer care with NO reply. I eventually had to phone twice.. I was very close to cancelling my order. It is a pity as the glasses are good… Read Full Review

Service Manager Sbg's Comment

Written on: 08/03/2016

Dear Customer,

It's regretful that the shipping time for your order took longer than we expected. Usually we reply customers' emails in less than 24 hours, I assume our replies probably went to your spam folder.

To make sure we take extra good care of your purchase, would you please send your order ID to our service manager?

Best Regards,
John
SmartBuyGlasses

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“ disappointed ”

Written on: 13/01/2016 by Byrne284 (1 review written)

After waiting two weeks I tryed to phone up and speak with a person to find out where my order was . I ended up having to email as you couldn't speak with anyone over the phone. When my order did arrive I was disappointed with my glasses because I believed that there was no nose pieces like my old glasses and that the glasses frame just sat on your nose and with my new glasses there was. When looking on the Internet It didn't show the nose pieces so I am still wearing my old glasses as there… Read Full Review

Service Manager Sbg's Comment

Written on: 13/01/2016

Dear Customer,

I regret to hear that you are not satisfied with our service and product. I can understand your frustration when you don't feel comfortable wearing the new frames.

To make sure we could resolve the issue for you as soon as possible, would you please send your order number to our service manager?

Sincerely,
John

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Great product, marred by exceptionally poor service”

Written on: 11/12/2015 by Autolycuss (2 reviews written)

First of all, Maui Jim sunglasses are superb - better even than Bausch & Lomb (Ray-Ban), or Serengeti frames - though they may all be built in the same Shenzhen factory these days...? Who really knows...? Anyway, an excellent optical product - which is Exactly why I have purchased a second pair from "Smart Buy Glasses" (SBG). We have all had essential items of personal equipment over the years - and spectacle frames are definitely included in this list - which we've broken or bent or lost -… Read Full Review

Service Manager Sbg's Response to Autolycuss's Review

Written on: 16/12/2015

Dear Customer,

We truly apologize for any inconvenience the ordering process had caused you. We take pride on providing the best customer service as well as providing the best quality of glasses for our customers.

If you could kindly send us a message with your order ID our manager will contact you immediately to see if we can resolve any issues you might have.

Thank you and have a great day.

Sincerely,
John
SmartBuyGlasses

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Good website, terrible delivery”

Written on: 15/11/2015 by Erikat427 (1 review written)

I purchased a pair of frames I needed urgently as I have a very strong prescription. I only requested for the frames, as I wanted to have the glasses done by my optician. When I purchased the frames I did not receive an estimated time or date of arrival, so I thought they will just send it via royal mail. However a week later, as I did not receive any news from my order, I checked online. To my surprise, the frames had been delivered to my house, via special delivery; however, as I was not at… Read Full Review

Service Manager Sbg's Comment

Written on: 16/11/2015

Hi,

I am very sorry to hear about your experience with our logistics partner. This is very unusual and definitely not something that we wish for our customers to go through!

Our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused. Could you please drop a message with your order number so that our Service Manager can review the delivery and provide your feedback to the courier company to improve the service?

Thank you!

Kind Regards,

Andrea
Smartbuyglasses

Reply to this comment

Service Manager Sbg's Comment

Written on: 24/11/2015

I posted the email address before but it seems it didn't go through. The address you can email to is [removed]

Our Service manager looks forward hearing from you!

Thanks,

Andrea

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Too long delivery”

Written on: 02/10/2015 by ArmaniLaw (1 review written)

The item was on stock when I purchased it and it took 3 weeks to be delivered. Poor costumer service… Read Full Review

Service Manager Sbg's Comment

Written on: 12/10/2015

Hi,

Thank you for providing us the feedback.

I am sorry to hear about the delay in your order. We always try our best to have orderes shipped as fast as possible.

Could you please email our Service manager.

We will make sure to look into your order and make it up to you!

Kind Regards,

Andrea
Smartbuyglasses

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Purchase of Maui Jim Sunglasses”

Written on: 29/09/2015 by RScottC (1 review written)

I had purchased from them before and all OK. But on re-purchasing, found that they charged for something they did not have in stock. Was told this could be up to 3 weeks. Whilst waiting 3 weeks for the item was not a problem for me, being charged for it before they had it in stock was. They refunded me swiftly to their credit. However, I would not buy from them again because of their modus operandi of charging when they do not have it in stock… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Damaged”

Written on: 18/08/2015 by aqsaleem2 (1 review written)

I ordered one glasses for my husband and it was damaged. i had to repair it. I believe that it was coz of packaging. however i am not satisfied. what I paid it wan't worth. … Read Full Review

Smartbuyglasses's Response to aqsaleem2's Review

Written on: 20/08/2015

Hi,

I am very sorry to hear that you did not receive the frame in 100% mint condition.

Our Service manager is already following up on your case and will investigate how it got damaged, as we always quality control our products before the shipment.

Best Regards,

Alison
Smartbuyglasses

Reply to this comment

Aqsaleem2's reply to Smartbuyglasses's Comment

Written on: 20/08/2015

Hello,
Thank you for your reply.
at another website you mentioned that someone will get back yesterday's Afternoon.
but no one contacted me.
can you please solve this issue.

Thanks

Reply to this comment

Aqsaleem2's reply to Smartbuyglasses's Comment

Written on: 20/08/2015

Hello,
Thank you for your reply.
at another website you mentioned that someone will get back yesterday's Afternoon.
but no one contacted me.
can you please solve this issue.

Thanks

Reply to this comment

Service Manager Sbg's reply to Aqsaleem2's Comment

Written on: 27/08/2015

Hi,

Apologies for my late reply. I am sorry to hear you did not receive our email. Our Service Manager will resend you the email and make sure that he is going to follow up on your case and resolve the problem asap.

Best,

Alison
Smartbuyglasses

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Slow delivery”

Written on: 06/08/2015 by bfCoyle322 (1 review written)

I bought contact lens and I got what I ordered but it took a very long time arrive. I think it took nearly 10 days or more? for it to arrive. I expected it to arrive much more quickly and i believe the website provided that the products would arrive earlier than when it had actually arrived… Read Full Review

Service Manager Sbg's Comment

Written on: 07/08/2015

Dear Customer,

I regret to see that the delivery of your order took longer than expected. The delivery time for contact lenses varies per brand and product. Nevertheless, do I apologize for the unusual delay in sending you your order.

Your feedback is an invaluable tool, as we continue to improve our business.


Best Regards,

Andrea
Smartbuyglasses

Reply to this comment

Service Manager Sbg's Comment

Written on: 10/08/2015

Dear Customer,

I am sorry to hear that the contact lens arrived later than expected. We do apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused. Note that the website only listed dispatch time, which doesn't include the actually delivery time from the courier. Normally it should only take 2-3 days for the package delivery.

We value your feedback and would like to understand what caused delay in your package delivery. Could you please contact us so we can discuss this experience further?

Best Regards,

Alison

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“good but should be better”

Written on: 07/06/2015 by Ramirezio273 (1 review written)

Niedopasowane.Bolą po nich oczy. Wyglądam jak zapłakana… Read Full Review

Service Manager Sbg's Comment

Written on: 08/06/2015

Dear Customer,

We regret to hear that you are not 100% satisfied with your purchase, would you please directly contact us to specify the issue you have?

Best Regards,
SmartBuyGlasses

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“slow processing/delivery and inaccurate information...”

Written on: 05/06/2015 by adamv66 (1 review written)

I ordered a pair of prescription sunglasses in early April 2015. The website showed that the sunglasses were in stock and that total processing/delivery would take something like 9 days. Shortly after ordering, it became apparent that the sunglasses weren't in stock but needed to arrive from the supplier. About 2 weeks after placing the order I was sent an email apologising for the delay and saying that the order would be another 9-10 days and that I would receive a 5% discount as a result of… Read Full Review

Service Manager Sbg's Response to adamv66's Review

Written on: 08/06/2015

Dear Customer,

I'm very sorry to hear that your order was delayed. From time to time some delays may happen due to the brand's popularity/exclusivity or limited production line.

Unfortunately, we cannot offer any further discount. We can only offer such competitive prices due to our low margins and low-cost business setup. I understand that the offered discount does not represent a lot of money, but hope that we can count on your understanding which would be much appreciated.

We appreciate your patience while waiting for your order, hope you enjoy your new glasses.

Should you need any further assistance, feel free to contact us.

Best Regards,
SmartBuyGlasses

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Poor Customer Service”

Written on: 16/04/2015

Very disappointed. Not the first company I have purchased this type of item from online, but definitely the worst. firstly the claim was that my order had fine not been received although the bak statement clearly indicated payment had been made. The enquiry to search for the order was based on the order reference which had not been sent. after tracing it through the email address finally admitted it had been received. Subsequent information did not arrive until chased. Order took approximately… Read Full Review

Service Manager Sbg's Comment

Written on: 17/04/2015

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your feedback.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. Kindly contact our service manager for us to help you resolve the situation.

Once again our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Best Regards,
Smartbuyglasses

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Unfortunately the glasses broke two days later....”

Written on: 31/01/2015 by 163O'Grady (1 review written)

Unfortunately the glasses broke two days later. Unfortunately the glasses broke two days later… Read Full Review

Service Manager Sbg's Comment

Written on: 05/02/2015

Dear Customer,

We regret to hear that your glasses are broken.

Please contact our Service manager, who will assist you in resolving this matter.


Best Regards,

Smartbuyglasses

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Superb Job with Oakley's Awful with my Tag glasses”

Written on: 11/01/2015 by PaulWhiteyWhite (1 review written)

As the title suggests superb job with one pair of glasses. All received fine in 2/3 weeks. However Tag glasses total shocker. It's 3+ months since I ordered a pair, I've had to change my order 3 times and I'm still waiting! Initially I was told the glasses I'd orderedd were out of stock with the suppliers (Tag) and I could wait or order another pair. I was happy to wait as I had the oakleys to wear. 5 weeks passes with two emails from Smartbuy saying I could change the order because the glasses… Read Full Review

Service Manager Sbg's Response to PaulWhiteyWhite's Review

Written on: 16/01/2015

Hi,

We regret to see that the item you ordered was back ordered. As the brand Tag Heuer happens to be very popular, our suppliers have unfortunately been unable to secure the model you initially ordered. We understand it is not ideal to wait for such back orders; however we have been trying our best to restock it via alternate suppliers.

Kindly contact our Service manager to assist you with your order.

Best Regards,

Smartbuyglasses

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Very Slow”

Written on: 26/07/2014

The glasses took a few weeks to arrive and the responses to my enquiry emails took a few days to be answered. The responses to my enquiry emails (in which they indicated that the glasses would be dispatched that day) were inaccurate. This would be easier to tolerate if the likely waiting time was made clear at the point of ordering, and if they charged you for the glasses upon dispatch - but they don't, they charge you up front. I will try a different company next time… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Good frames - terrible lenses”

Written on: 09/06/2014 by mchowney (1 review written)

Ordered due to fantastic price. Like others have mentioned, the company is Hong Kong based, which they hide from their website - probably wouldn't have ordered if I'd realised. My prescription glasses were actually shipped from Italy. When they arrived, they were well packaged and the frames were nice, however the lenses were terrible. They looked as though they had been very badly fitted and looking through them hurt my eyes. To be fair, I was able to return for a refund, which I did -… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Unfulfilled order”

Written on: 19/05/2014 by Mambutterfly (1 review written)

I ordered a pair of glasses for my daughter. They came no problem. I ordered a pair for me. A few days later I got a notice they were out fo stock and I could reorder. I wanted to speak to someone since the new frames I chose were less expensive and I wanted to determine how the transaction would work. I tried to call the number provided. It was a recording letting me know they don't answer the phone because they're too busy. I couldn't leave a message or anything. Just, bye, see ya! I… Read Full Review

Service Manager Sbg's Response to Mambutterfly's Review

Written on: 11/06/2014

Dear,

I regret to hear you experienced out of stock issues. Due to the European summer, our unprecedented sales volume is exceeding stock levels which we are solving as we speak. It is no excuse and we take full responsibility for what happened. Note that our website shows at all times which items are in stock for immediate dispatch.

If you wish to talk to one of our agents on the phone, please submit a 'Call Me' request and one of our agents will call you ASAP.

I hope this experience wont stop you from visiting us again in the near future. If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us.

SmartBuyGlasses

Reply to this comment

Mambutterfly's Response to Mambutterfly's Review

Written on: 11/06/2014

No, your website did not reflect the out of stock status of the two separate items I tried to purchase. If it had, i wouldn't have ordered them. And if your online ordering system was worth anything, it should have stopped me from ordering or given me a back order message right away. I rated your website so low because of this very issue.

I do a considerable amount of shopping online. Please take my feedback as input for areas to improve vs tryng to cover your tracks. You'll have far fewer negative comments in the future if you fix the problems for future customers.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Best Avoided”

Written on: 30/11/2013

I ordered a new pair of prescription glasses for myself and my wife, she chose from smartbuyglasses I chose mine from a UK company (Toni & Guy) both were Ralph Lauren frames - the UK company advised a delay in sourcing my colour choice from the manufacturer but managed to deliver in 10 days the smartbuyglasses ones arrived after 18 business days (23 total) what is not obvious from the website is that smartbuyglasses is a Hong Kong based operation and needs to be a consideration when choosing… Read Full Review

Report this review
overview