Cross Country Trains Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.5 / 5
179
9% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Reliability

  • Cleanliness

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Cross Country Trains - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Cross Country Trains

Cross Country Trains

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Overcrowded in almost every train. Train look so dirty...”

Written on: 23/08/2016 by 479Roche (1 review written)

Overcrowded in almost every train. Train look so dirty and terribly rundown. Not running regularly and delay way more than other train company. Poor staff service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Cheerful announcement ”

Written on: 11/08/2016 by Ayerscp448 (1 review written)

 the train manager great the train theusday 9th Aug 2016 14.04 train to words Coventry I was having a bad day he made it sound like he really cares… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Genuine mistake !!!”

Written on: 09/08/2016 by burybolton (1 review written)

Travelled 9 /8 /16 Manchester to stoke 12.07 train platform 4,boarded train no staff on platform to be seen.it came to light we booked at machine at Piccadilly, that we had boarded the wrong train.i travelled with 2 children and fortunately should I say do not travel by train ,except on rare occasions.the staff were ore tha offensive and rude,I was forced to pay more than I had already paid at Piccadilly and that included a return.customer service totally unacceptable,never in my life travel… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish service”

Written on: 08/08/2016 by Aracelyj134 (1 review written)

Dirty train overflowing toilets, air conditioning not working, half an hour late. Is this enough. Oh and expensive!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dreadful servive, no room for yourself or suitecase ”

Written on: 30/07/2016 by hiSinclair379 (1 review written)

This has to be one of the worst long distance train services going, they have one of the narrowest of leg space, barely any room for more than a couple of suitecases. The Wi-Fi is by far the worst I have every used on a train. 6 hours had about 30 min of usable Internet, definitely not worth the money. All in all a very poor service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Stranded in early hours after train delay ”

Written on: 13/07/2016 by 9thjuly2016 (1 review written)

Me and my friend with health issues going to Glasgow got a crosscountry train from reading to Newcastle when we got delayed for 3 hours as a train in front broke down, when we got to Newcastle we were stranded as we couldn't get another train or hotel as it was 12.40am, local taxi's wouldn't take us to Glasgow as we didn't have money upfront, I called our local taxi company in Glasgow who agreed to come down and get us as we are regular customers to them, when contacted by crosscountry they… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sniffingmoose's Response to 9thjuly2016's Review

Written on: 15/07/2016

You should not have been left stranded. When you buy a train ticket in the UK the train company has to get you to your destination as you have a contract with them. If they cannot get you to your destination they have to put you up in a hotel. However in your case you forfeited your rights by making your own arrangements by getting your own taxi. At this stage it would be work taking the case to passenger focus who may be get more compensation for you.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“No food in first class ......it's Sunday”

Written on: 28/06/2016 by Lassedinburgh (1 review written)

Travelled first class with Cross Country with my sister to Edinburgh and back to Wakefield. £588.00 for the total journey. Yes you did read that right. Catering from Wakefield involved 2 small glasses of orange juice out of a carton, 2 teas, 2 cream scones and 2 further juices. That was itt. Return journey no menus on tables. 2 bottles of water then a grumpy attendant brought 2 teas and threw 2 shortbread biscuits and 2 packets of crisps onto the table, without asking us whether we wanted… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Expensive, Dirty, Busy, Delayed, Simply The Worst.”

Written on: 23/06/2016 by Marinw73 (1 review written)

Crosscountry are simply the worst train provider in long journeys. Period. I have travelled from Newcastle To Bristol Parkway, a 5 hour 50 minute journey, which was delayed going and on the return by 20 minutes at the minimum. The train was extremely busy between Bristol and Leeds on both journeys and provided a tiny 4 car voyager on this service from Aberdeen to Plymouth and 5 car on the Penzance to Glasgow Service, which is simply ridiculous. The staff weren't helpful at all neither. There… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Expensive ”

Written on: 14/05/2016 by Natclark100 (1 review written)

Journey was good. Train ok, but far too expensive to make it a viable option for regular travel, it is cheaper to hire a car if you can drive. Staff friendly and helpful, but I would expect more for the cost… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dirty seats”

Written on: 08/04/2016 by MeghanEwing330 (1 review written)

Please change the fabric on the seats… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“voyagers trains are vile”

Written on: 03/04/2016 by silvernlilac (1 review written)

I have to use scummy voyagers to go and see family in Southampton. They are the worst trains in the world and quite frankly the idiots who designed them should be shot. Having 4 carriages on a 6 hour journey. Well isn't that a fantastic idea. Do cross country/ virgin not have a single brain cell between them??? The service is usually late and there are usually no seats. Hate these trains with a passion. Surely with all the money cross country are raking in from their overpriced fares they could… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“very rude staff are very obnoxious”

Written on: 04/03/2016 by rdPurcell71 (1 review written)

Cross country staff i find are a little rude there are only three bikes aloud on a train unless its fold up taking this into account and most train companies do as train and bike are concidered very green you think they would do more but my biggest gripe is there staff are such ares holes talk about a god complex… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Philthy Not clean. ”

Written on: 01/03/2016 by Davesimmo63 (1 review written)

Got an early morning train from Torquay to Bristol. Train was really dirty. Tip to cleaning company. Pull down the seat trays, wipe a disinfected clean cloth on them, hey presto, cleaner train. Hoover would help also. Moved seats x4 times in two carriages to get a seat where I did not have to wipe my feet when exiting the train. You don't deserve this franchise!!! Get a grip and sort the easy stuff out… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish Service”

Written on: 19/02/2016 by 263Howell (1 review written)

I travel between Winchester and Reading daily. The Cross-Country route provides a direct link between the two. Having experienced several trips on this appalling service I will do anything NOT to travel on these trains again. Very uncomfortable seats, trains which are always overcrowded due to lack of carriages, hopeless website. A classic example of how NOT to run a train service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“No service. Poor refund arrangements”

Written on: 16/02/2016 by Photoprof (2 reviews written)

Train did not run because of a fatality on the line. I accept entirely that this is beyond their control. However, the refund arrangements are laborious, time consuming and confusing. Even the station staff are confused. Moreover, they do not cover all the losses involved. I can accept that delays occur beyond their control. However, how they deal with the consequences is in their control. They advise recorded delivery, but will not cover the cost. Previous experience of Cross Country not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“crowded and smelly”

Written on: 08/01/2016 by Cazland123 (1 review written)

I am forced to endure cross county trains at least twice a year and even that is too many. The trains are always crowded and when passing the toilets on route to my seat there is always a stench which makes me feel sick. The cars are very poorly designed obviously to pack us in like sardines and I have often had to sit in a seat and the only view is a panel of plastic between two windows. They need to take a leaf out of Chiltern Trains book, rolling stock is fabulous and makes for a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking service - never again! ”

Written on: 28/12/2015 by Amber0307 (3 reviews written)

Travelling from Aberdeen to Edinburgh after Christmas you'd naturally expect the trains to be busy. However you'd also expect that if you reserve a seat, you get to sit in it from point A to point B. Well, not if you travel with These guys! Got on at Aberdeen - serious overcrowding before we'd even reached Dundee. Common sense would surely dictate to just stop letting passengers without reservations onto the train. Seems common sense is lacking amongst cross country staff as they continued to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sniffingmoose's Response to Amber0307's Review

Written on: 03/01/2016

Forget Crosscountry's cramped short Voyager trains, use Scotrail's Turbostar trains, much more comfortable or even better use Virgin Trains East Coast from Aberdeen. Crosscountry uses trains that most of the time which have either 3 or 4 standard class coaches on really long distance survices such as Aberdeen to Plymouth. Best avoid them if you can.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking service - never again! ”

Written on: 28/12/2015 by Amber0307 (3 reviews written)

Travelling from Aberdeen to Edinburgh after Christmas you'd naturally expect the trains to be busy. However you'd also expect that if you reserve a seat, you get to sit in it from point A to point B. Well, not if you travel with These guys! Got on at Aberdeen - serious overcrowding before we'd even reached Dundee. Common sense would surely dictate to just stop letting passengers without reservations onto the train. Seems common sense is lacking amongst cross country staff as they continued to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Overcrowded and dirty”

Written on: 02/12/2015 by edged48 (1 review written)

I am a frequent traveler on the Birmingham to Manchester route. Unfortunately like many other people I have no choice but to use Cross country trains. Firstly, when booking a ticket, unlike Virgin it's very rare to get a decent value advance ticket on this route with Cross Country. However, my main gripe is that this service is generally made up of a 4 carriage Diesel Voyager train. 4 carriages is woefully too small for this very busy route between two of the largest cities in the UK. I've… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Overcrowding due to lack of carriages”

Written on: 24/11/2015 by Cc222 (1 review written)

I travel Cross Ciuntry routes often - no choice re train company I have to use Cross Country. 4 carriages is the norm, resulting in lack of space to sit, nowhere for luggage, arguments etc. Apparently there is a lack of rolling stock. We, the customers have had to out up with this ever since this company was awarded the contract. In fact as more people are now using the rail network, the situation has deteriorated. The Government has awarded extensions to some contracts resulting In us, the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview