Cross Country Trains Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.5 / 5
164
9% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Reliability

  • Cleanliness

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Cross Country Trains - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Cross Country Trains

Cross Country Trains

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“crowded and smelly”

Written on: 08/01/2016 by Cazland123 (1 review written)

I am forced to endure cross county trains at least twice a year and even that is too many. The trains are always crowded and when passing the toilets on route to my seat there is always a stench which makes me feel sick. The cars are very poorly designed obviously to pack us in like sardines and I have often had to sit in a seat and the only view is a panel of plastic between two windows. They need to take a leaf out of Chiltern Trains book, rolling stock is fabulous and makes for a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking service - never again! ”

Written on: 28/12/2015 by Amber0307 (3 reviews written)

Travelling from Aberdeen to Edinburgh after Christmas you'd naturally expect the trains to be busy. However you'd also expect that if you reserve a seat, you get to sit in it from point A to point B. Well, not if you travel with These guys! Got on at Aberdeen - serious overcrowding before we'd even reached Dundee. Common sense would surely dictate to just stop letting passengers without reservations onto the train. Seems common sense is lacking amongst cross country staff as they continued to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sniffingmoose's Response to Amber0307's Review

Written on: 03/01/2016

Forget Crosscountry's cramped short Voyager trains, use Scotrail's Turbostar trains, much more comfortable or even better use Virgin Trains East Coast from Aberdeen. Crosscountry uses trains that most of the time which have either 3 or 4 standard class coaches on really long distance survices such as Aberdeen to Plymouth. Best avoid them if you can.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking service - never again! ”

Written on: 28/12/2015 by Amber0307 (3 reviews written)

Travelling from Aberdeen to Edinburgh after Christmas you'd naturally expect the trains to be busy. However you'd also expect that if you reserve a seat, you get to sit in it from point A to point B. Well, not if you travel with These guys! Got on at Aberdeen - serious overcrowding before we'd even reached Dundee. Common sense would surely dictate to just stop letting passengers without reservations onto the train. Seems common sense is lacking amongst cross country staff as they continued to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Overcrowded and dirty”

Written on: 02/12/2015 by edged48 (1 review written)

I am a frequent traveler on the Birmingham to Manchester route. Unfortunately like many other people I have no choice but to use Cross country trains. Firstly, when booking a ticket, unlike Virgin it's very rare to get a decent value advance ticket on this route with Cross Country. However, my main gripe is that this service is generally made up of a 4 carriage Diesel Voyager train. 4 carriages is woefully too small for this very busy route between two of the largest cities in the UK. I've… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Overcrowding due to lack of carriages”

Written on: 24/11/2015 by Cc222 (1 review written)

I travel Cross Ciuntry routes often - no choice re train company I have to use Cross Country. 4 carriages is the norm, resulting in lack of space to sit, nowhere for luggage, arguments etc. Apparently there is a lack of rolling stock. We, the customers have had to out up with this ever since this company was awarded the contract. In fact as more people are now using the rail network, the situation has deteriorated. The Government has awarded extensions to some contracts resulting In us, the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Always late, filthy, over crowded and dangerous”

Written on: 24/11/2015 by Angrypassenger (1 review written)

I have the unfortunate problem of being held over a barrel by this disgrace of a train company. No matter how much we all grumble there is nothing you can do if cross country is the only service provider to your local station. However I will continue my rant! I work nights at Resorts world casino Birmingham which means my stop is Birmingham airport. I travel from leamington in the evening however I have to get a train that gets me to work 2 hours early as the 14 minutes past trains are… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“First class = ROBBED! UTTER SHITE!!! ”

Written on: 19/11/2015 by Dg1986 (1 review written)

No drinks, filthy toilets, no wifi, seats that were booked together seated seperately, no working hand dryer, limited lighting, And that's just a start. On complaining got a lame mouth full of meaningless woffle, Absolutely appalling customer service! Would never travel with them again, and will advise all friends family and other travellers to avoid at all costs… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Cross Country -Unhelful Customer Relations and...”

Written on: 19/11/2015 by kelabit9077 (1 review written)

I bought online a return Glasgow-Penzance. Entered my Rail Card detail but during the transaction the page reset itself and omitted the Rail Card. Found myself £80.00 overcharged. Called Cross Country Customer Services and spoke to a woman who seemed to be especially trained to be unhelpful who told me that it was my own fault. The result is that I elevate this to Citizens Advice (and maybe also the Financial Ombudsman)......and also denigrate Cross country with this negative review. The trip… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sniffingmoose's Response to kelabit9077's Review

Written on: 25/11/2015

Complain via email or in Writing to Crosscountry. They will give you a case number so if you are not happy then you take the complaint to Passenger Focus. Citizens Advice (and maybe also the Financial Ombudsman) have no clout with the railways. My advice if you do Glasgow to Penzance again. Catch the Virgin Train to Birmingham and change at Birmingham for Crosscountry to Penzance. The virgin Pendolino trains are a bit better have more coaches and believe it or not it may be quicker as the Virgin train goes to Birmingham via the shorter west coast route. You may also find you save money by splitting your ticket at Birmingham.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lochgoil's reply to Sniffingmoose's Comment

Written on: 25/11/2015

Hi Sniffingmoose,

Thank you for your very helpful comment and advice which I will take.

It's most public spirited of you - thanks again.

Kelabit.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lochgoil's reply to Sniffingmoose's Comment

Written on: 25/11/2015

Hi Sniffingmoose,

Thank you for your very helpful comment and advice which I will take.

It's most public spirited of you - thanks again.

Kelabit.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“bad bad bad customers service. run fast run far”

Written on: 10/11/2015 by NeverEverAgain3 (1 review written)

I knew I was going to miss my train I called their so called "emergency other hours" number to swap my ticket before departure NO One answered the phone. People at the tickets office couldn't help because I bought it online. Once I finally got through someone 2,5 hours later. She refused to reimbursed my ticket saying I called too late. Too late? I was online for two bloody hours. I sent three emails of complaint got once again completely ignored. Please if you are ready this... save your hard… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sniffingmoose's Response to NeverEverAgain3's Review

Written on: 25/11/2015

I would say never buy an inflexible advance ticket unless you really have to. The train companies make money when people miss trains or change their plans and then have to buy new tickets. Often a turn up and go off peak return (the return portion of a long distance off peak return is valid on any off peak train for 1 month) purchased from the ticket office is cheaper or about the same as 1 advance single to get you there and buying another advance single that you will need to come back. With an offpeak return if you miss your train your ticket is valid on the next train. REMEMBER IT RARELY CHEAPER BUYING ONLINE.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude ignorant staff ”

Written on: 09/11/2015 by Jerome214 (1 review written)

Rude ticket collector. One accepted my rail card on a photo, but the second one seemed to enjoy making me, a teenage university student, pay over £100 for a new ticket which was only a single. So over priced for what you get, disgusting hygiene and the toilets are vile. Loud passengers which staff do nothing about. No vegetarian food option. Rude rude rude staff… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Never again go First class on XC trains”

Written on: 02/11/2015 by miMcCarthy370 (1 review written)

What a waste of money booking First Class ticket. I've been told by customer relations that the ticket is for a comfortable seat in a quiet coach, nothing else. Refreshments are complimentary so they do not need to give them to you. (I was not offered anything on a two and half hour journey over lunch time). The experience was nothing like what is described on their web site. However they could advertise that they give complimentary glasses of champagne and get away with it. The T and Cs say… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lochgoil's Comment

Written on: 19/11/2015

This comment on the Customer Relations attitude matches my own experience......they need to be retrained (or given initial training).

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lochgoil's Comment

Written on: 19/11/2015

This comment on the Customer Relations attitude matches my own experience......they need to be retrained (or given initial training).

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Dirty”

Written on: 28/10/2015 by Any... (1 review written)

I picked up a blackened banana skin off the floor when I got on. Then removed a dried up squashed tea bag from the seat in front. I partly blame previous passengers for being untidy but asked the man with the trolley if he could remove the debris. He said he couldn't and that there are no cleaners on the train any more. Evidenced even more by the very dirty state of the toilet- this hadn't been cleaned efficiently for ages and smelt terrible. I found it quite shocking. It was on time but I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Useless”

Written on: 18/10/2015 by wwRamsey89 (1 review written)

Train was delayed but explaination for when the train would eventually arrive. After train arrived, they were no longer going to all the stops. This was not explained and missed my connection. A two hour journey ended up taking about 4 hours overall. Terrible service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“No food cart, rude staff, not helpful, packed full”

Written on: 11/10/2015 by Blake434 (1 review written)

Today the 11th of October I got a train (cross country) from Redruth to Sheffield (I was on my way home after been to Redruth for an holiday with my partner, we first got on the train and someone was sat in our seat I explain that we had booked these seats and they said 'well someone said we can sit here' we eventually got to sit there, I am pregnant and I was very hungry they was no cart all the way to Plymouth and when they was a good cart we had to go and get the food because it was so… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“cramped, bad toilet facilities, internet service terrible”

Written on: 10/10/2015 by AbelPennington76 (1 review written)

worst of all is the internet services which cost a large amount £2.00 per hour and for this nearly all websites are blocked included Netflix and youtube which is absurd!! The payment process is terrible and stressful and overall there is just no point,Getting on the train is very hard as alleyways are cramped, if theres a food trolley theres no access to the toilets for the foreseeable journey as queues and said trolley block all exits,however the beer on the trolley does come as welcome… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Cramped, noisy, vibration: Cross-Country Trains”

Written on: 09/10/2015 by RichardTrotman (1 review written)

Yet another cramped, claustrophobic journey on Cross-Country, only an hour on board with another to go and already losing the will to live. And I am lucky - unlike many of the passengers on this train I have a seat! At a table! Next to a window! (Too bad you can't see out of it though as the actual window ends at my shoulder and I'm looking at a blank wall. Clever bit of design there folks). Yes, I have a seat. A narrow, uncomfortable seat that makes the nastier budget airlines'… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Incredibly narrow std class seats, appealing 1st...”

Written on: 09/10/2015 by Mikaylan169 (1 review written)

I've been travelling from Reading to Southampton for about a year now on cross country. I start the journey with a short leg on first great western. I have travelled standard class for much of the year and for a few weeks now travelling first class. Standard class on cross country is equivalent to battery chickens on cages. The seats are as cramped as is legally possible. They also charge for wifi access. The journey was not comfortable at all. By comparison first great western standard… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“The most poor quality train provider. Sack the MD.”

Written on: 05/10/2015 by Burtonrl222 (1 review written)

I have the misfortune to have to travel Derby to Bristol or Derby to Reading on X Country Trains most weeks. I stand more often that I sit, the company puts on far less coaches than demand requires. X Country seriously need an investigation regarding passenger safety by the HSE, musculoskeletal injuries to passengers must be common on X Country Trains! Frontline staff are very nice but struggle because of unhappy customers. CEO/MD would be sacked immediately if I employed him! X country… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sniffingmoose's Comment

Written on: 08/10/2015

I am afraid they will survive. They are owned by Arriva who in turn are owned by the German railways. All profits go to Germany. They enjoy a good public subsidy so it does not matter to them if they loose customers that are fed up of the overcrowding. I would recommend traveling on one of their 1970's built High Speed Trains, they have 7 coaches and more leg room. Trouble is they only use 4 of this type of train each day. They go down to the West-country in the morning at 07:28 and 08:28 to Plymouth.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“No communication”

Written on: 29/09/2015 by 241Compton (1 review written)

We recently traveled from Edinburgh to Plymouth and had no idea that the train was running nearly half an hour late. It meant we would miss our connection for the next train. There was no announcement made which is a total disgrace… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Total rip off”

Written on: 29/09/2015 by UlisesHutchinson84 (1 review written)

At £600 for two first class tickets from Birmingham to Leeds, I had expected at least a little luxury. We were travelling for A special occasion....my husband's birthday and this was our first (and almost certainly, only) first class trip. It was a Sunday and we discovered that there is no catering service other than a trolley selling pre-packed sandwiches, crisps and chocolate. We did get a 'free' cup of coffee and a biscuit but not until one and a half hours into the trip. Not quite what the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sniffingmoose's Comment

Written on: 08/10/2015

As a regular rail traveler, a word of advice. It a complete waist of money buying first class tickets on trains that do not go to London, especially at weekends when train companies have very limited food offerings which means the free food offer in first class is usually a cup of tea and a bag of crisps. The only advantage of first is that you will get a seat on overcrowded services. Its a hell of a lot of money though for a seat. Complain first to Customer services if the reply is unsatisfactory then take it to passenger Focus. Buy the weekend first class upgrade on the train if you want to sit in first next time.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview