Booking.com Reviews - www.booking.com

★★★★☆
4.3 / 5
89% of users recommend this

Summary

You can use Booking.com to browse hotel reviews to help find the best price on hotels for all types of budgets. Have you recently used Booking.com? Let us know how you got on by posting your own review.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Booking.com - www.booking.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Booking.com - www.booking.com

Booking.com - www.booking.com
Booking.com - www.booking.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“CHARGED FOR ROOM "FREE CANCELLATION"”

Written on: 18/11/2014

On 20 of october I booked a room in hotel Mirabeau-Bellagio Como Lake for date 21.06.-23.06.2015.The room was with free canellation option untill june 2015.In the beginning of this month I noticed that credit card was charged for all the price.Untill than I send several e-mails to customer care service,I also called ihe owner of the hotel by phone and he said to me that he recharged my money to booking so they should refund me.Customer relation service don'T REPLY TO ME ANY MORE… Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 19/11/2014

Hello,

I'm sorry to hear of this situation. I'd like to look into this, to see if I can assist. I'd appreciate if you could provide your booking number so I can locate your reservation.

Regards, Kelly
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“dont use booking”

Written on: 18/11/2014

we first used the website in september, had no problems but when using them two months later we've had numerous problems. We made the booking but received a number of messages saying there's a problem with the booking. After confirming the booking we received another message saying there was a problem. We contacted the bank and the hotel both saying there wasn't a problem. Although two days later we got another message from booking.com saying the hotel cancelled the booking, I called the… Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 18/11/2014

Hello,

I am sorry to hear about the trouble you have had. As payment is taken by the hotel, they are the party who informs you if there is any problem with your payment method via Booking.com. We are on top of this phishing activity and have assigned a dedicated group to investigate this. At the same time we have involved external authorities as well to help us with what we think is a criminal activity aimed at hotels and customers. Please post your booking number if you require assistance.

Regards, Andrea
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Charged for cancellation. Booking.com NO HELP...”

Written on: 16/11/2014 by 324Ogle (1 review written)

HORRIBLE manager. I cancelled my room and he still charged me. I gave plenty of notice and followed all of the hotel requirements only to still be charged. That is TERRIBLE customer service. Driftwood Inn Lake City, FL… Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 17/11/2014

Hello,

I'm sorry to hear about your bad experience. Cancellation policies are visible on Booking.com prior to completing the booking process as well as on confirmation emails once the property is reserved. As these are the hotel's policies, and not Booking.com's it is up to them if to waive penalties or not.
Please let me know if I can assist with anything else.

Regards,
Lissa
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst company ever”

Written on: 12/11/2014 by Schultz47 (1 review written)

My daughter booked an apt for her and friends then cancelled it within 24hrs she used my credit card with my consent since then its been a nitemare trying to get a refund the apts say that they never took the money from my card but they took it the next day booking.com have asked for proof which i sent them and then more proof which once again they got still nothing when you call they either put you on hold or cut you off no one seems to take ownership of this mess the money has been out of my… Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 14/11/2014

Hello,

I'm sorry to hear about this and would like to assist you. Could you please provide me your reservation number so I can investigate?

Yours truly,
Brian
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment

Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 14/11/2014

Hello,

I am sorry to hear this and I would like to check on your refund for you with the hotel. Can you please reply with your booking number or email it to us referencing this post.

Regards, Andrea
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Zermatt Schlosshotel reservation”

Written on: 08/11/2014 by jkmertz (1 review written)

I originally booked a room at the Schlosshotel in Zermatt Switzerland. We were going there to board the Glacier Express - which was one of the main attractions in our visit to Switzerland. However, when we went to make our Glacier Express reservation, we found out the the train would be in service (due to maintenance) when we planned to be in Switzerland. (In fact, we only found out through our travel agent, who contacted Swiss Rail who had to research availability. The website was still… Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Response to jkmertz's Review

Written on: 10/11/2014

Hello,

I am sorry to hear this. I wish to investigate this further, please provide your booking number and I will look into this.

Regards,
Jamie
Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Booking.com Are Duplicitous”

Written on: 08/11/2014 by BrandenCarney112 (1 review written)

I booked a hotel with Booking to India and provided Booking with my credit card details to secure the booking. Only later was I asked to wire the deposit to the hotel via my bank which incurred a £25 charge for doing so. When I pay the additional amount in 15 days or so, I will again be charged another £25 charge. These are hidden charges and are purely in the interests of the hotels, not the traveller. I frequesntly use Hotel and find their service much better - and I can earn free nights… Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 10/11/2014

Hello,

I am sorry to hear this. I would like to investigate your case and see how I can help you. Can you please reply with your booking number and I will look into this.

Regards,
Jamie
Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Penalized for Technical Glitch in Booking”

Written on: 07/11/2014 by BrooksFamily50 (1 review written)

On 10/8, I tried to book accommodation in Montreal, for the nights 10/10, 10/11 and 10/12, through Bookings at “Sunset Suites”. It was the final suite left but after I put in my credit card details, it stated the suite was no longer available. Later on the same day, I booked a different accommodation “Residences Bharat Bhavan” through Bookings. My booking went through (for Bharat Bhavan) and I received a confirmation to my email address. Upon my return from Montreal, I noticed a charge… Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Response to BrooksFamily50's Review

Written on: 10/11/2014

Hello,

I am sorry to read about this. I would like to investigate your case and see how I can help you. Can you please reply with your booking number?

Regards,
Jamie
Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment

Brooksfamily50's reply to Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 11/11/2014

863415578 is the booking number.

Reply to this comment

Booking.comteam's reply to Brooksfamily50's Comment

Written on: 12/11/2014

Hi,

Thanks for your reply. I'll look into this and contact you soon by phone or e-mail.

Regards, Kelly
Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Will not use booking.com again”

Written on: 04/11/2014

I booked Dean Street apartments in London through booking.com and myself and my 2 small children had an awful experience. When we arrived in London we were on the phone over 2 hours trying to sort things out only to find we had not been booked into our chosen accommodation. (even though we had email confirmation). booking.com could only say they had tried phoning the apartments and had sent them an email!!! very useful when you are stuck with 2 small children in the middle of london. Eventually… Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 06/11/2014

Hello,

I do understand and appreciate that you made your reservation via Booking.com. However, when a consumer makes a reservation through the Booking.com service, a direct and legally binding contract is created between that consumer and the Hotel in question. From the point of reservation onwards, the relationship lies solely between the Hotel and the consumer, and the Hotel remains responsible for supplying the accommodation service. From the point at which you make your reservation, Booking.com acts solely as an intermediary between you and the hotel, transmitting the details of your reservation to the relevant hotel and sending you a confirmation email for and on behalf of the hotel. In case of complaints, our dedicated staff will always do their utmost to mediate with the booked Hotel in an attempt to reach a satisfactory solution or settlement; however, this also depends on the situation and the cooperation of the Partner Hotel, and a positive outcome is not always possible. I hope I have addressed your concern and if you require more assistance please post your booking number or email it to us referencing this post.

Regards, Andrea
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment

Kaz51's Comment

Written on: 08/11/2014

I still think you should not continue advertising properties like this where you have had other complaints of the same thing happening, I also feel its wrong that I can't warn other travellers to Dean Street as you won't let me put a review on for them. Also to say we have emailed them as they won't answer the phone isn't good enough at all.

Reply to this comment

Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 12/11/2014

Hello,

I would like to address your complaint, but I am unable to locate a reservation with the details you provided in your review. Could you please post your booking number? Thank you in advance.

Regards, Kelly
Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment

Kaz51's Comment

Written on: 13/11/2014

We are writing to you regarding your reservation 832743294 at Dean Street, check-in date 2014-10-28, and check-out date 2014-10-29.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Booking will not support you if it goes wrong...”

Written on: 04/11/2014 by findtom (1 review written)

I booked a Hotel in Ypres Gasthof 't Zweerd though Booking in Oct 14. When I arrived at the Hotel I was greeted with bedlam. The Manager was hard to find and the hallway was littered with rubbish and disassembled beds! When we eventually reached our room it was dirty, smelly and damp. Not a place you would want to take you family. Obviously we didn't stay and booked into the Novotel just down the road. However Booking.com have been less than supportive with the situation. Their initial… Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Response to findtom's Review

Written on: 05/11/2014

Hello,

I'm sorry to hear of any disappoint with using Booking.com. I have looked over your reservation and have found that we had requested photos from you showing the quality of the room because the hotel's owner had stated there was nothing wrong with the room you were given. The owner had also explained that they were disposing of old beds and that they had been doing this before their standard check-in time so as not to inconvenience guests, however, you had arrived early. If you require further assistance please do not hesitate to contact Booking.com.

Regards, Brian
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment

Findtom's Response to findtom's Review

Written on: 06/11/2014

Hi, thank you for taking the time to search out my complaint and write a reply. It is a pity you didn't expend the same amount of energy to help my family.

While it is true I am unable to produce photos of the dirty, smelly and damp room it is not hard to find reviews (via your site) that support my experience. Sadly, your site hides this information unless you drill into the scores. For example, the score of 7 is an aggregate of the smaller scores. Because the Hotel Gasthof 't Zweerd is ideally located on the square it has been getting a score of 9 for location. However, the other scores have been much lower and in particular the score for cleanliness is very low with several other users, (via your own site) commenting on the smell and dirty rooms. So even without the photos it is easy to establish that there was something wrong with the hotel. However, there is also that fact that you know I was indeed there, and that I was forced to use another hotel around the corner. How bad would a hotel have to be for a customer to turn up and then not want to use it? Why would I move hotels, other than because the one I booked (via you) wasn’t very good?

Additionally, you inaccurately portrayed that the old beds littered around reception where only there a short time. While it is true we did arrive early (because the square was being blocked off for the centenary commemoration), we returned at 1500 to find that the beds/mess/rubbish were STILL in reception.

So, if you are happy that Booking.com will show you this degree of contempt if a booking goes wrong go ahead and use them. However, I know the next time I look for a hotel it won't be via Booking.com......

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“They give to hotels your cards! Its not the safest way!”

Written on: 03/11/2014 by Evgeniagr (1 review written)

Almost always disappointed with this website! The main negative point is that when you book a hotel with them they give your card details directly to the hotel. So they have it printed at the hotel in their files. It's not the safest way. Hotel can do with your card whatever they will want, and then to solve the problem you have to live the hell! Exactly this situation happened to me now. And probably is the last time I book anything with that site. There are other sites that don't give your… Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Response to Evgeniagr's Review

Written on: 05/11/2014

Hello,

I'm very sorry to hear of this and any disappointment experienced with using Booking.com. Usually a Booking.com agent will ask you for as much information as possible to help you as soon as possible. I would like to investigate this situation to assist you as much as I possibly can. Could you please provide me your reservation number?

Regards, Brian
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Old grey mare York laid bare ”

Written on: 02/11/2014 by bishesboys (1 review written)

How can booking.com allow such abysmal dire premises to use their site. My family (3 adults & 2 children 5yrs & 8yrs) and I booked 4 nights from 27th Nov 2014 at The Old Grey Mare York in what we were led to believe was a self contained apartment with 5 beds kitchenette and dining area shower & bath. We arrived to book in to be told the apartment was not available and was already occupied by a gang of water mains workers. They then offered us a couple of cold damp mouldy converted garages… Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Response to bishesboys's Review

Written on: 04/11/2014

Hello there,

I am sorry to hear about your bad experience at The Old Grey Mare York. Hotels themselves provides with their room description, and facilities of the property on Booking.com. Booking.com trusts that this information is correct and updated at all times by our hotels partners.

I would like to investigate your case and see how I can help you. Can you please reply with your booking number?

Regards,
Lissa
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Booking.com lied about hotel having fire- 5 days...”

Written on: 02/11/2014 by wsHanna449 (1 review written)

We booked Wyndham Belle Maison 7 months early for convention. Five days before stay we get email claiming hotel fire. Wyndham had no fire. We now have to either try to get a hotel 5 days before a 20,000 person convention, or we have to use booking  and hope that they pay us the difference again in a few months. We are screwed after booking early with these guys. We had made other bookings with them at the time and all have been disasters. Hotel in San Diego "closed" one day before we arrived-… Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 03/11/2014

Hello,

I am very sorry to hear this. I did confirm with Vanessa in Reservations that the Wyndham Belle Maison did have a fire. The fire resulted in the property having to relocate some of their bookings to their sister property. I am again sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. If you require any assistance please post your booking number or email it to us, referencing this post.

Regards, Andrea
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Premier Inn York south West”

Written on: 28/10/2014 by ElephantLady (1 review written)

I booked through Booking.com last year for a long weekend 25th Oct to the 27th October so we could sight see at York. Has the Saturday in York decided to go to the hotel. They has now booking under our names and after 1 hour on the phone they admitted they had cancelled our booking in July for no reason. I had a email from Booking.com to say my trip was a week away !!! So we had to go all the way home because there was not accommodation in York due to the time of year. No happy would not use… Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Response to ElephantLady's Review

Written on: 28/10/2014

Hello,

I am very sorry to hear that the hotel cancelled your booking. Can you please post your booking number so I can discuss this matter with the hotel so that this does not happen again in the future.

Regards, Andrea
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment

Elephantlady's reply to Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 29/10/2014

As I have stated it was NOT The hotel is was booking. Com and you have admitted it.

Reply to this comment

Booking.comteam's reply to Elephantlady's Comment

Written on: 29/10/2014

Hello,

I would like to investigate your reservation to see if I can assist you. Can you please provide your reservation number? Alternatively, please send an email.

Regards, Brian
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment

Elephantlady's reply to Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 30/10/2014

Hello booking number is 538.176.253. A email has already been sent 2 days ago. Waiting for a reply.

Reply to this comment

Booking.comteam's reply to Elephantlady's Comment

Written on: 30/10/2014

Thank you for providing me with your booking number.

I have accessed your booking and I see that the reservation was not cancelled by Booking.com, but there was an error on the hotel's end.

I see that this case has been already escalated to Customer Relations, and you will be contacted by one of my colleagues in that Department shortly regarding compensation.

Regards,
Lissa
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 5 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“booking.com works with any hotel even ”

Written on: 19/10/2014 by Karina19 (1 review written)

I believe that booking.com advertises as if they only work with decent hotels. But since I stayed in red carpet inn I know now that booking.com is not a company I should trust. They work with hotels who are suppose to be shut down… Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 19/10/2014

Hello,

Booking.com offers many different types of accommodations on the website, depending on whether you would like a luxury hotel or just a quick room to stay in for a night. You can find the ratings on the hotel's web page where a description of the property is also available. However, if you would like to open a complaint with a specific hotel due to incorrect information being advertise, then I would like to assist you in this. Could you please post your reservation number?

Regards,
Brian
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“worst stay ever!!”

Written on: 16/10/2014 by SantiagoHolbrook445 (1 review written)

we have stayed many places in cornwall over the years but this stay really topped the biscuit!! After booking the 'apartment' and I use the term loosely more of a tiny chalet, basic facilities, no internet, no cooking facilities, cheap and nasty mattress's, no view whatsoever bare courtyard, I have never been in a prison cell/yard but I imagine it very similar! told we weren't allowed to check in on arrival as they hadn't cleaned from previous visitors and were going shopping and wont be back… Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 16/10/2014

Hello,

I'm sorry to hear of your experience. I'd like to address your complaint with the hotel. May I have your booking number?

Regards, Kelly
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“The grand beach hotel blackpool review ”

Written on: 16/10/2014 by Halliek19 (1 review written)

We booked a 2 night stay at grand beach hotel blackpool, it was very cheap so we weren't expecting much but did expect it to be liveable. When we first got there we got told that our room was upstairs somewhere on the second floor, there was so many doors and it was dark too so very hard to find. The hallways smelt so bad we were covering our faces and there is holes in the very uneven floors. The room was tiny, which wasn't really an issue for us but it was filthy. The bathroom had mould… Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 16/10/2014

Hello,

I'm sorry to hear about this and would like to investigate these complaints with the hotel. Can you please provide your booking reservation number? Alternatively, please send an email to us referencing this post.

Regards,
Brian
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment

Luluangel1's Comment

Written on: 17/10/2014

Hi,

Thank you for replying to me.

My original email says that my booking number is 618215489.

Thank you

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Really upset and disappointed”

Written on: 15/10/2014

The photos were nothing like the rooms, I feel like this was false advertising....I felt very let down and upset as the few days break was a birthday surprise....The room we stayed in was dirty, there were damp patches on the wall the carpet was dirty and stained, the lamp was broken and so was the shower...immediately I complained and asked to be upgraded and the reply was all the rooms were the same....I also complained about the large long covering of the lamp above our bed as every time we… Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 16/10/2014

Hi there.

I am sorry to hear about your negative experience and I would like to apologize on behalf of the property.

Could you please provide your booking number? I would like to look into the issue for you.

Regards, Konstantina
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment

Swanscouple2's Comment

Written on: 17/10/2014

162315520;0616 this was my booking ref no

Reply to this comment

Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 21/10/2014

Hello,

Thank you for your reply. Booking numbers are 9 digits long. Please locate the correct booking number to submit.

Regards, Andrea
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“I booked a Dubai hotel . The price stated was in...”

Written on: 15/10/2014 by BarbaraMacGregor152 (1 review written)

I booked a Dubai hotel . The price stated was in sterling. When my credit card was charged it was in emirati dirham and the price was increased by a AED 1000 (£120) due to hidden hotel tax and service charge. Then the credit card company charged me £30 for conversion rate. The customer service is terrible and appalling. Please never use these people. … Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 16/10/2014

Hi,

When making a reservation on the Booking.com website please be aware that you will be charged in the hotel's own currency and the currency exchange convertor is a feature meant to be used to find out how much you will pay in your selected currency. This information is also stated while you are booking your reservation. Taxes and service charges are also advertised on the Booking.com website and shows whether they will be excluded or included in the advertised price. If you could please provide your booking number I can investigate this further.

Regards,
Brian
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“HOLGATE BRIDGE HOTEL YORK - AN ABSOLUTE DISGRACE ”

Written on: 14/10/2014 by will8910 (1 review written)

After arriving 20 minutes after the check in time arrived 1420 check in is 1400 - 2100 - we informed the cleaners that we were there and it was another 15 minutes before anyone came to check us in. The phone rang and someone was complaining about the service. The alarm bells should have started ringing then. When we eventually got into the room we decided it was a good job we didn't bring the cat as we could never have swung it, as the room was tiny. After going for a walk we came back and… Read Full Review

Booking.comteam's Response to will8910's Review

Written on: 14/10/2014

Hi,

I was able to locate your reservation and I can see we've tried to address your complaint with the property but they have not been able to provide a solution. I'll look into this matter and contact you as soon as I am able by phone or e-mail.

Regards, Kelly
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Horrible experience”

Written on: 08/10/2014

The check in was horrible, staff did not speak English. Supervisor on duty was equally unable to expedite the check in. Room was horrible with carpet smell and we were told that the hotel was fully booked. Paid so much money to go to mall yet the hotel/mall offers transport service there for free. Front line staff not customer friendly at all. Then experienced totally good service when Carolyne came on duty, she should be the supervisor. Speaks good English and was passionate about good… Read Full Review

Katlego's Comment

Written on: 08/10/2014

This was the well marketed Bristol International Hotel in São Paulo

Reply to this comment

Booking.comteam's Comment

Written on: 09/10/2014

Hi there,

I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment during your stay. If you booked directly with Booking.com you will have the opportunity to leave a review of the property for potential guests to view. Did you end up receiving a room as booked? I'd like to address your complaint with the property, so I would appreciate if you would provide your booking number.

Regards, Kelly
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
overview