Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.1 / 5
50% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Range of Products

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

“Lovely garden centre, but front of house man in the...”

Written on: 08/08/2014 by Newtonjl457 (1 review written)

Lovely garden centre, but front of house man in the restaurant very rude and intimidating. Will not be recommending this restaurant… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

“Rudest man in the cafe”

Written on: 05/05/2014 by Harvey3844 (2 reviews written)

Wish we'd read the previous review before venturing into the cafe. Unfortunately, we encountered the rudest man I've ever met. We arrived at 12.30 and were surprised to see the cafe virtually empty. We hadn't visited for a couple of years and it was always packed. We went to sit down and immediately a man approached us. He immediately pounced on our 5 year old son. 'Sit properly' he said, 'you've got muddy boots on'. My son was wearing trainers, which were not muddy. He was adjusting himself… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

“Rudest man in the cafe”

Written on: 05/05/2014 by Harvey3844 (2 reviews written)

Wish we'd read the previous review before venturing into the cafe. Unfortunately, we encountered the rudest man I've ever met. We arrived at 12.30 and were surprised to see the cafe virtually empty. We hadn't visited for a couple of years and it was always packed. We went to sit down and immediately a man approached us. He immediately pounced on our 5 year old son. 'Sit properly' he said, 'you've got muddy boots on'. My son was wearing trainers, which were not muddy. He was adjusting himself… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

“Garden Centre Excellent but cafe is another story!”

Written on: 27/04/2014 by Reyna1963 (1 review written)

I went with a friend and two children for tea and cake and I can honestly say I have never had such rude service in my life. It was 3.10pm when we arrived and we were told in a very abrupt fashion that we could not sit in the café as he was about to vacuum the floor and we would have to go to the settees in the entrance - oh and "we shut at 4PM". This was not an ideal start as we basically felt that we were a complete inconvenience to him - sitting at a table would have been far easier… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Harvey3844's Comment

Written on: 05/05/2014

Just had very similar experience with this man!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Harvey3844's Comment

Written on: 05/05/2014

We've have just had a similar experience with this man

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

“All we could wish for”

Written on: 13/01/2014

This was my first visit to the nursery and restaurant. The plants were varied, well cared for and interestingly displayed. We were a party of six and ordered lunch at the restaurant, and every meal was well presented and delicious I found the staff helpful and cheerful, both in the restaurant and in the nursery shop. I shall definitely return… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

“Lovely nursery well looked after plants and good prices”

Written on: 27/08/2013 by Helenclaire2 (1 review written)

Had a dreadful lunch today, Fish pie, it had no sauce in the pie, so the fish was really dry, I did politely complain but all I got was a shrug, not even a sorry, so will not be going there again,except to buy plants… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

“Delicious lunchtime meal”

Written on: 21/03/2013

This is the first time I have ever left a review. Had a delicious lunch today - steak and all trimmings for hubby and stuffed pepper for myself and we were both really impressed with the food and the service. We will definitely return… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

“Review of The Potting Shed at Penventon Nursery”

Written on: 18/02/2013

Visited The Potting Shed at the nursery for Sunday Lunch yesterday. We had the three course Christmas Dinner. Everything on the plate was cooked to perfection and served hot. The desserts we had were delicious, christmas pud and i had the oranges slices in Grand Marnier, finished off with coffee and mince pies. The service was excellent and staff friendly… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

“Expensive & cheeky”

Written on: 10/08/2012

On visiting the cafe with my disabled mum we went in, sat down at one of the table & chairs. We ordered 4 cakes, 2 teas & coffee. We were then asked because we were not having lunch to go & sit in lounge area which has low chairs that my mum had great difficulty sitting in & getting out of, staff member could see she was having problems but made nothing of it. The cakes were huge but tasteless & dry. The whole time we were there none of the tables were full infact there were at least half a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

“Garden Centre fine....Potting shed cafe...Terrible.”

Written on: 06/05/2012

Hmmm..have had the misfortune to visit the cafeteria twice this May. Once with my family and the other time with some friends from work. weekday and weekend. It has gone downhill A LOT.It took an hour to get our order. Food was tasteless. The vegetarian 'bolognese' tagliatelli turned out to be a medley of mixed vegetables; mainly hard chunks of carrot, insipid flavour. Not italian. Mushroom Tagliatelli ,glutinous, creamy but weird tasting. Side orders missing. Side salads looked tired like… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

“After visiting the nursery yesterday I thought I must...”

Written on: 16/05/2011

After visiting the nursery yesterday I thought I must write to state that although we are delighted with the plants we purchased, our experience in The Potting Shed Cafe will be one not ever to be repeated. We called for a snack lunch with my 92 year old mother in a wheelchair.We were rather taken aback by the prices but were even more surprised and dismayed by the tasteless,thin concoction they refered in the menu as Celery soup, when it arrived.(£5.95) It was weak and tepid and had obviously… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

“ scrupulously-kept nursery in which all plants for...”

Written on: 23/06/2010

scrupulously-kept nursery in which all plants for sale are well-tended and healthy looking. Whilst many other garden centres show signs of neglecting their stock, we always find ourselves commenting on the healthy look of Penventon's stock. Staff are helpful in the extreme. As a smaller garden centre it does not carry the range of larger establishments but its restaurant is excellent: lovely food, nice surroundings. The plant displays are well maintained, too, with much of the stock above… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

“My mother and I thought we'd try the Potting Shed for...”

Written on: 15/03/2010

My mother and I thought we'd try the Potting Shed for lunch today. We parked ok but wasn't sure how to get up to the Potting Shed cafe, found it after a bit of walking, my mum is disabled and struggled to get up the steep slope to the cafe from the nurseries. Finally got there and first impressions were good. We were planning on lunch until we saw the prices of things!! We did notice the portions that were coming out were of good size though, if not a little large.

We weren't sure if the two… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 26/11/2011

Lovely shop and nursery,have been several times but would endorse the poor service and very expensive prices in the cafe.
Such a pity as there's nothing nicer than taking someone there to look around and have afternoon tea!I would never go in again as dearer than the Savoy I suspect!Lower the prices,train the staff to do a better job,keeo the quality of the food and these awful reviews will turn into A*A*A*A*!Never take customers for a ride,be sure they will always find you out and use their feet to put their money elsewhere.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

“Fabulous spuds, beef cooked to perfection, great...”

Written on: 14/03/2010

Fabulous spuds, beef cooked to perfection, great staff, came in under £100 for 6 people, going again next week… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

“Nice cafe some lovely young staff including a very...”

Written on: 13/10/2009

Nice cafe some lovely young staff including a very friendly helpful and attractive young man who served us very efficient. Food was excellent though some food was of large portions and quite expenses… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

“The garden Centre is well run with a lot of plants to...”

Written on: 28/07/2009

The garden Centre is well run with a lot of plants to choose from. However, I bought a shrub from here as a birthday present and unfortunately it died. My friend is a very keen gardener and has looked after gardens as her job and knows what she is doing. However, Penventon really were not interested and blamed her.
The Potting Shed serves food, good quality but the portions are huge, I hate waste but I just cannot eat it all. Also, there are two sittings on a Sunday and I booked for three for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

“Penventon Nursery Lanner , Redruth, Cornwall was neat,...”

Written on: 27/05/2009 by jpm (1 review written)

Penventon Nursery Lanner , Redruth, Cornwall was neat, compact and tidy. Staff very helpful. Very satisfied with what I bought there. Refreshments very good although some a bit expensive considering one would hope to buy several things - smaller portions might be the answer.. However did enjoy my visits to the nursery… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

“Penventon Nursery Lanner garden centre review - We...”

Written on: 23/09/2008 by Jean Haines (1 review written)

Penventon Nursery Lanner garden centre review - We happened upon Penventon and discovered a little gem, not far from the very disappointing Burncoose. Formerly a run down fuchsia nursery, we were told the new owners have ploughed a great deal of money into completely refurbishing the site. It really has paid off and is a delight for every keen gardener. Their plant selection in wonderful and everything is in tip top condition. They also have a good range of pots, other sundries, seeds and bulbs… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview