Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.9 / 5
23
48% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Range of Products

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

Penventon Nursery Lanner, Redruth, Cornwall

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“worst cafe ever!!!!!”

Written on: 26/07/2015

Arrived on Sunday at 3.15 to be told they were closing even though the garden centre was open for another hour or more. Managed to persuade the rudest man serving to provide a coffee a glass of milk and 2 pieces of cake. 2 more groups arrived shortly after to be told the same and then ignored. The cost was expensive for what we got. Will not be returning!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Fantastic ”

Written on: 19/07/2015 by Teresa4661 (1 review written)

I went for lunch today with my husband and parents and can't praise the food and staff enough ! My husband and I had the roast, which was really lovely, hot and the vegetables were cooked beautiful. My Dad had the fish which he said was delicious and my Mum had the scampi which she thoroughly enjoyed, but by far she enjoyed her dessert the most, which was Lemon Meringue pie. A huge slice of deliciousness indeed ! All the staff were very friendly and helpful, we can't praise them enough… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“They don't deserve the business”

Written on: 20/05/2015 by Jancrispin (1 review written)

What a rude man serving, he will run the business into the ground. Food was poor. When I suggested they had seated us in an inconvenient place because I am in a wheelchair and had to disturb a lit of people to get to out table were told it was the only table with enough room for my wheelchair! A helpful business would have moved some chairs or tables and thought about where to seat a wheelchair user, especially as the table was pre-booked. Excuses, and weak ones were made about the table and a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“haven't been here for a long so decided to go back...”

Written on: 05/03/2015 by 309Browne (1 review written)

haven't been here for a long so decided to go back even after reading some of the reviews.My partner and her aunt entered the cafe while I parked the car,they sat at a table for 4 and was immediately accosted by the "rude man" who asked them to move to a smaller table until they explained I was to join them(I wasn't told about this until we got home if I had known we would have left).A very nice waitress took our order,I ordered steak and kidney pie.What arrived was a soup plate of stewed meat… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“nursery shop restaurant”

Written on: 11/01/2015 by rodstewart123 (1 review written)

nice nursery and shop, lovely roast beef dinners with a pleasant atmosphere and very friendly staff… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Lovely garden centre, but front of house man in the...”

Written on: 08/08/2014 by Newtonjl457 (1 review written)

Lovely garden centre, but front of house man in the restaurant very rude and intimidating. Will not be recommending this restaurant… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Rudest man in the cafe”

Written on: 05/05/2014 by Harvey3844 (2 reviews written)

Wish we'd read the previous review before venturing into the cafe. Unfortunately, we encountered the rudest man I've ever met. We arrived at 12.30 and were surprised to see the cafe virtually empty. We hadn't visited for a couple of years and it was always packed. We went to sit down and immediately a man approached us. He immediately pounced on our 5 year old son. 'Sit properly' he said, 'you've got muddy boots on'. My son was wearing trainers, which were not muddy. He was adjusting himself… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Rudest man in the cafe”

Written on: 05/05/2014 by Harvey3844 (2 reviews written)

Wish we'd read the previous review before venturing into the cafe. Unfortunately, we encountered the rudest man I've ever met. We arrived at 12.30 and were surprised to see the cafe virtually empty. We hadn't visited for a couple of years and it was always packed. We went to sit down and immediately a man approached us. He immediately pounced on our 5 year old son. 'Sit properly' he said, 'you've got muddy boots on'. My son was wearing trainers, which were not muddy. He was adjusting himself… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Garden Centre Excellent but cafe is another story!”

Written on: 27/04/2014 by Reyna1963 (1 review written)

I went with a friend and two children for tea and cake and I can honestly say I have never had such rude service in my life. It was 3.10pm when we arrived and we were told in a very abrupt fashion that we could not sit in the café as he was about to vacuum the floor and we would have to go to the settees in the entrance - oh and "we shut at 4PM". This was not an ideal start as we basically felt that we were a complete inconvenience to him - sitting at a table would have been far easier… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Harvey3844's Comment

Written on: 05/05/2014

Just had very similar experience with this man!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Harvey3844's Comment

Written on: 05/05/2014

We've have just had a similar experience with this man

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“All we could wish for”

Written on: 13/01/2014

This was my first visit to the nursery and restaurant. The plants were varied, well cared for and interestingly displayed. We were a party of six and ordered lunch at the restaurant, and every meal was well presented and delicious I found the staff helpful and cheerful, both in the restaurant and in the nursery shop. I shall definitely return… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Lovely nursery well looked after plants and good prices”

Written on: 27/08/2013 by Helenclaire2 (1 review written)

Had a dreadful lunch today, Fish pie, it had no sauce in the pie, so the fish was really dry, I did politely complain but all I got was a shrug, not even a sorry, so will not be going there again,except to buy plants… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Delicious lunchtime meal”

Written on: 21/03/2013

This is the first time I have ever left a review. Had a delicious lunch today - steak and all trimmings for hubby and stuffed pepper for myself and we were both really impressed with the food and the service. We will definitely return… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Review of The Potting Shed at Penventon Nursery”

Written on: 18/02/2013

Visited The Potting Shed at the nursery for Sunday Lunch yesterday. We had the three course Christmas Dinner. Everything on the plate was cooked to perfection and served hot. The desserts we had were delicious, christmas pud and i had the oranges slices in Grand Marnier, finished off with coffee and mince pies. The service was excellent and staff friendly… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Expensive & cheeky”

Written on: 10/08/2012

On visiting the cafe with my disabled mum we went in, sat down at one of the table & chairs. We ordered 4 cakes, 2 teas & coffee. We were then asked because we were not having lunch to go & sit in lounge area which has low chairs that my mum had great difficulty sitting in & getting out of, staff member could see she was having problems but made nothing of it. The cakes were huge but tasteless & dry. The whole time we were there none of the tables were full infact there were at least half a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Garden Centre fine....Potting shed cafe...Terrible.”

Written on: 06/05/2012

Hmmm..have had the misfortune to visit the cafeteria twice this May. Once with my family and the other time with some friends from work. weekday and weekend. It has gone downhill A LOT.It took an hour to get our order. Food was tasteless. The vegetarian 'bolognese' tagliatelli turned out to be a medley of mixed vegetables; mainly hard chunks of carrot, insipid flavour. Not italian. Mushroom Tagliatelli ,glutinous, creamy but weird tasting. Side orders missing. Side salads looked tired like… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“After visiting the nursery yesterday I thought I must...”

Written on: 16/05/2011

After visiting the nursery yesterday I thought I must write to state that although we are delighted with the plants we purchased, our experience in The Potting Shed Cafe will be one not ever to be repeated. We called for a snack lunch with my 92 year old mother in a wheelchair.We were rather taken aback by the prices but were even more surprised and dismayed by the tasteless,thin concoction they refered in the menu as Celery soup, when it arrived.(£5.95) It was weak and tepid and had obviously… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“ scrupulously-kept nursery in which all plants for...”

Written on: 23/06/2010

scrupulously-kept nursery in which all plants for sale are well-tended and healthy looking. Whilst many other garden centres show signs of neglecting their stock, we always find ourselves commenting on the healthy look of Penventon's stock. Staff are helpful in the extreme. As a smaller garden centre it does not carry the range of larger establishments but its restaurant is excellent: lovely food, nice surroundings. The plant displays are well maintained, too, with much of the stock above… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“My mother and I thought we'd try the Potting Shed for...”

Written on: 15/03/2010

My mother and I thought we'd try the Potting Shed for lunch today. We parked ok but wasn't sure how to get up to the Potting Shed cafe, found it after a bit of walking, my mum is disabled and struggled to get up the steep slope to the cafe from the nurseries. Finally got there and first impressions were good. We were planning on lunch until we saw the prices of things!! We did notice the portions that were coming out were of good size though, if not a little large.

We weren't sure if the two… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 26/11/2011

Lovely shop and nursery,have been several times but would endorse the poor service and very expensive prices in the cafe.
Such a pity as there's nothing nicer than taking someone there to look around and have afternoon tea!I would never go in again as dearer than the Savoy I suspect!Lower the prices,train the staff to do a better job,keeo the quality of the food and these awful reviews will turn into A*A*A*A*!Never take customers for a ride,be sure they will always find you out and use their feet to put their money elsewhere.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Fabulous spuds, beef cooked to perfection, great...”

Written on: 14/03/2010

Fabulous spuds, beef cooked to perfection, great staff, came in under £100 for 6 people, going again next week… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Nice cafe some lovely young staff including a very...”

Written on: 13/10/2009

Nice cafe some lovely young staff including a very friendly helpful and attractive young man who served us very efficient. Food was excellent though some food was of large portions and quite expenses… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview