Charles Restaurant, Matlock Bath Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.5 / 5
59% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Charles Restaurant, Matlock Bath - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★☆☆

“B & B.”

Written on: 27/08/2012

Needed a place to stay for the night and saw their sign for B & B. Room looked ok at first glance. Once we settled in:- could hardly get any water in the kettle, it wouldn't fit under the tap then found there was no milk for the tea/coffee. (Could of asked but shouldn't need to )No handles on inside of ensuite doors so had to sit on the loo with the doors ajar. Cracked hand basin. Towel rail hanging off the wall. Shower cubicle drain very slow with a danger of overflowing. Wanted an early start… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“bad Atmosphere ”

Written on: 04/07/2012 by she50 (1 review written)

omg we called here for a drink the bos stands outside hassling everybody that goes by to come in and is really menacing he is not friendly , he walks up an down in front of you like he is patrolling a prison ,why anybody would want to go inside after being hassled is beyond me ...needless to say we rank up and left very quickly !… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“FISH AND CHIPS? PASS ON BY”

Written on: 27/05/2012

REAL FISH LOVERS WOULD NOT LIKE THE OFFERING HERE. I GUESS ITS ALL FROZEN TO START WITH AND LEAVES A NASTY TASTE IN THE MOUTH. THE MANAGER WASN'T BOTHERED ABOUT MY COMMENT. HE ALSO HASSLES PASSERS BY WHICH IS VERY ANNOYING. THE WAITRESS HOWEVER, WAS VERY PLEASANT AND EFFICIENT.. PASS ON BY IF YOU ARE IN MATLOCK BATH… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Clean, tidy, tasty ”

Written on: 19/03/2012 by GlossopLass (1 review written)

After a long day in Matlock Bath we were hungry and looking for somewhere nice to sit down and relax. Polite member of staff welcoming you in and ensuring you are happy and settled before taking your drinks order. We chose the shepherds pie and thought there would be quite a lengthy wait, thankfully the food arrived hot and a good sized portion within approx 10 minutes. Lovely chips, peas fresh and tasty, shepherds pie nice and hot and with good quality mince. We were asked 3 times… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Good first impression”

Written on: 08/10/2011

Charlies - Charles of Matlock Bath We were encourage to look inside by a very polite member of staff. From entering to leaving I was impressed by the welcoming atmosphere and the friendly staff. I was particularly impressed by the way they treated my grandson in a 'grown-up' but child friendly manner. The menu was ideal for what we wanted. I had an excellent haddock and chips, my grandson had sauseage and chips. Attractively presented and very well cooked. The day was getting a bit autumnal and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Fresh food? I don't think so!!”

Written on: 12/09/2011

I ate at 'Charles' restaurant not long ago, sold on the premise that the fish and the scampi was fresh. After eating at Charles I became quick to notice that not only is all the food frozen, but 'Del' (whatever job he pretends to do) is a truly awful man! I would never eat at Charles again because of the way in which 'Del' conducts himself, bullying and harassing anyone who gets in his way, and serving his customers frozen food which he puts out as 'fresh' in order to drain as much profit as… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 24/09/2011

A tad unfair I feel - I like the restaurant. It's great to sit outside under the parasols on a nice day and watch the world go by.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnderbyborn's Comment

Written on: 10/10/2011

Most Midlands establishments will sell fish that has been frozen. This way it is fresher. It is often frozed on the fishing boat. However, establishments should declare this - as it means the fish is fresher.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Matlocks Finest ! Fab! Friendly! Family! ”

Written on: 31/08/2011 by MissMancLass (1 review written)

When ever we visit Matlock well there is only 1 place to eat and thats CHARLIES !!! If you want the BEST fish & chips EVER then its CHARLIES ! If you want to eat somewhere nice & clean then its CHARLIES ! If you want a friendly family atmoshphere then its CHARLIES ! If you want value for money & a nice full happy tummy then yup you guessed it ! Its Charlies ! ... Dont believe me? ok go see for yourself you will not be disappointed its just yummy yummy in your tummy !!! See u soon Charlies ! xx… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“charlies resturant ”

Written on: 18/06/2011 by just a mum (2 reviews written)

what a lovely surprise this is the best place to eatin in that area NO DOUPT AT ALL , we were only walking past when another diner told us how nice his meal was so we decided to give this place a try, he told us to try the combo . arriving inside all is very clean and the staff are very helpful we went for the fish combo and boy we were not dissapointed . the fish and the scampi were both very fresh and tasty , the batter was great and i am not a batter lover at all but i loved it . overall… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“We have been regular visitors to Charles restaurant...”

Written on: 17/04/2011

We have been regular visitors to Charles restaurant for 3 years, Del & Rita are fantastic hard working people, the restaurant is always immaculate, we have NEVER had a bad meal, i would highly recommended Charles to anyone who loves beautiful fish & chips, Congratulations Del & Rita you are the best xx… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“loud, repetative music, not to anyones taste. very...”

Written on: 29/11/2010

loud, repetative music, not to anyones taste. very expensive food, all frozen (not what the manager tells people walking by). the manager himself is a very rude, unwelcoming person who works his staff very hard for much under minimum wage. the place its self looks good on the outside but cleanliness is shocking. beer lines not cleaned, kitchen in poor order and toilets not looked after. the manager called 'Del' has been seen eatin the customers food when taking it out, and is NOT a nice man in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Missmanclass's Comment

Written on: 31/08/2011

Well this is very obviously a case of sour grapes & i think this review should be REMOVED as i started to read it i thought ' i bet this is a sore EX employee ' and i was right ! you were obviously not very good at your job and having visited this restaurant more than a few times the most recent being bank holiday monday where as usual the food the staff the owner all fantastic & having spoken with the young girl who served us she enjoys working there so i do think this review should be removed as it is just designed to do damage

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Truckers12345's Comment

Written on: 29/11/2012

i agree with the person who has written this review, i know someone who works there and when he/she comes home he/she has had nothing to eat all day because 'you have no time to eat' yet del manages to get his meal, i have walked passed Charles before and dell is eating and has a cup of tea/coffee on a table outside. he/she gets home after a 14 HOUR SHIFT with nothing to eat to go straight to bed without even eating a snack before bed because he/she needs sleep for yet another 14 HOUR SHIFT BOTH WEEKEND DAYS. del will not let the staff have even come to work a couple hours later so they can do revision or homework whatever. the person who wrote the review is right, the person i know came home the first weekend of working and said the exact same as what was in this review!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“A comfortable and friendly restaurant. Good choice of...”

Written on: 22/11/2010 by rda jude (1 review written)

A comfortable and friendly restaurant. Good choice of menu and good food. It is a chip shop, not a fine dining establishment and priced accordingly. We always visit when in the area and have recommended it to others. A freind said they's had really good fish and chips in Matlock Bath and I said "Charles'?" and was correct… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“The owner was rude, the food was very poor standard...”

Written on: 22/07/2010

The owner was rude, the food was very poor standard and i have it of good knowledge that it maybe shipped in. There was a funny smell it may have been a member of the management, the chef wwas very panicy and ruined my meal it cost me a fortune well over £60 and it was awful. I wouldnt recommend this place top my worst enemy let alone a friend i am discusted. Jean Bates xxx… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Stopped off in Matlock Bath and wandered along the...”

Written on: 05/07/2010 by suej3169 (2 reviews written)

Stopped off in Matlock Bath and wandered along the main road looking for somewhere to eat. We stopped outside 'Charles Restuarant' and were greeted by a very friendly owner who said best value around, best quality fish and local produce. we had cod and chips with peas, 2 soft drinks, 2 alcoholic drinks and all under £21 ,EXCELLENT VALUE. sat for a while taking in the atmosphere and were not rushed to give up our seats or made to feel that we had overstayed our time/welcome. WE will definitely… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Called at matlock bath following a drive around the...”

Written on: 13/06/2010

Called at matlock bath following a drive around the Dales. We spotted an empty table at Charles's and saw a lovely plate of fish & Chips being served to another customer. Husband ordered Fish & Chips, whilst I ordred the fish cake. Although it was busy, we only waited about 12 minutes after ordering for the food to arrive. It was hot and at first I thought it looked ordinary but on tasting it was really, really nice, husband thought it was the best fish he'd tasted in years!. The service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Spotlessly clean, great food and friendly staff. ”

Written on: 17/03/2010

Spotlessly clean, great food and friendly staff… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“We were staying for a night for the illuminations and...”

Written on: 05/10/2009

We were staying for a night for the illuminations and as we were walking through the town checking out the fish and chip shops during the afternoon the proprietor stopped us twice and told us how wonderful the fish was and how we wouldn't regret eating there that night. We decided that it sounded good and went back there that evening, only to wait 50 minutes after ordering before finally being served with a fairly ordinary plate of fish and chips. By the time it had arrived I had almost lost… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“nice freindly staff at charles restaurant,you can eat...”

Written on: 02/09/2009

nice freindly staff at charles restaurant,you can eat or drink at your own leisure,good value for money,cod and chips A1 best in matlock,other meals cooked to high standard.. keep up the great work… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We visited Charles Restaurant on 24/08/09 whilst...”

Written on: 25/08/2009

We visited Charles Restaurant on 24/08/09 whilst passing though the town on holiday. We didn't actually get to eat. My boyfriend and I both ordered the fish a chips. After 50 minutes of waiting (being told after 30mins then 40 mins it would only be 5 mintutes) we paid up for our tea and left. No apology was given by the staff and from their response this happens all the time. I don't think this is a good way to run a business. How long does it take to cook fish and chips. I'm no chef but… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“A super place to eat service can be a litle slow but...”

Written on: 14/07/2009

A super place to eat service can be a litle slow but worth the wait. We eat there aleast once a week and the food is great the people are sound and the price is right. Keep up the good work Charles Restaurant… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“We passed by Charles Restaurant on our holiday in the...”

Written on: 30/05/2009

We passed by Charles Restaurant on our holiday in the Peak District and have had a very good lunch and a very good service of the owner of the restaurant. We surely come back when we visit the district again next year… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview