Homeswapper Reviews - www.homeswapper.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.3 / 5
166
7% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Homeswapper www.homeswapper.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Homeswapper www.homeswapper.co.uk

Homeswapper www.homeswapper.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Homeswapper - complete waste of time”

Written on: 07/07/2016 by nemesis0001 (2 reviews written)

I've been registered on Homeswapper for something like 8 years without success. A lot of the people registered really aren't that interested in swapping when it comes down to it and finding what you want is virtually impossible, even with realistic expectations, which most people don't seem to have. The only way you will ever swap is to down grade from a house to a flat it seems. Absolute waste of time and money. Very disheartening… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Great Expectations ”

Written on: 24/06/2016 by DeeganO'Keefe302 (1 review written)

The website is over engineered in my opinion. Too many tabs and what's that wall about? Takes an age to load and often there's nothing on it inspite of a notification. People send a message then don't bother to follow through with further communication. They come and visit tell you how lovely your home is and later message a whole host of alterations they want done. Lol Very often people don't have any photos of their home or there upside down or on there side.lol Some turn the home down… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Save your money and use Facebook groups”

Written on: 20/05/2016 by pnMcDonough68 (1 review written)

I used this site 2 years ago and found a successful three way swap, but they have changed the format and nothing seems to work now. I think the biggest issue is slow servers. When I enter a search I don't expect to have to wait for an email to come back hours later telling me the results are in - this is 2016 for goodness sake, not dial up in 1996. The street view rarely shows the correct street which means you have to open google maps enter the postcode and find it yourself. The multi… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“People just do not respond”

Written on: 19/05/2016 by Kenna3 (1 review written)

people dont bother answering,even if its a no thanks… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Steve-Ooooo's Comment

Written on: 07/06/2016

Yep, i get that every time. I don't even think they are receiving the messages. It can't be everyone that's rude surely. This site has serious issues. It just doesn't work.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor poor poor”

Written on: 14/05/2016 by Malia268 (1 review written)

What a waste of time this is. Hate the fact it's told me I have direct matches and it's not matched at all. People do not reply to messages you send to them. There are a lot of time wasters on this site, it's so frustrating for people who genuinely do want to move… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Steve-Ooooo's Comment

Written on: 07/06/2016

I've had exactly the same experience.

I really do get a feeling there is a problem with the message delivery system because everyone says the same thing, no replies.

I had someone today say they'd only just got a message i'd sent them 21 days ago, so it must be a fault with the site, but they don't seem to care. Even when you e-mail them you don't get a response. Utterly useless.

And as you say it's so frustrating when you have genuine people that want to swap but just keep getting mucked about, seemingly.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jayneys's Comment

Written on: 13/06/2016

According to homeswappers there is nobody that wants a 2 bed ground floor flat, which is what I have. According to them there are only 3 properties in the entire city that match to mine. And that's not changed in nearly a year. It's a pathetic site

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jayneys's Comment

Written on: 13/06/2016

According to homeswappers there is nobody that wants a 2 bed ground floor flat, which is what I have. According to them there are only 3 properties in the entire city that match to mine. And that's not changed in nearly a year. It's a pathetic site

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“What a mess”

Written on: 19/04/2016 by mwPowell259 (1 review written)

This new site is shocking. So you sign in and straight away you get a flashing jumping box requesting payment (I don't have to pay) so you click on the x to remove it and with more flushing and screen jumping you try to click on messages. So the screen flashes jumps and then ANOTHER SREEN COMES UP FOR PAYMENT.So X the screen again...jump flash jump glad and up pops the bloody payment box again. What a waste of time and money… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“waste of time. ”

Written on: 26/03/2016

I've been on home swap for around 2.5 years, everyone either want ground floor or a house with a garden also they want the house to be like Buckingham palace inside, nobody ever gets back in contact with you or if they do you set arrangements for them to come and view your home then they don't even turn up. Homeswap could put 100% match so you ask if they're interested and 'it's not what they're looking for', absolute waste of time. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mazza2000's Comment

Written on: 26/07/2016

I have a 3 bed council house willing to take 2 bed flat in clacton area but no one wants where i live or living room to small for dining table,i have small one 4 seats. Look round then once had a nose round excuses start. I really need fresh start near beach for change scenery as 45 yrs in one place is enough now. Wish they would stop looking and wasting my time and getting my hopes up.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mazza2000's Comment

Written on: 26/07/2016

I have a 3 bed council house willing to take 2 bed flat in clacton area but no one wants where i live or living room to small for dining table,i have small one 4 seats. Look round then once had a nose round excuses start. I really need fresh start near beach for change scenery as 45 yrs in one place is enough now. Wish they would stop looking and wasting my time and getting my hopes up.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“I find this site most annoying, Like what most people...”

Written on: 21/03/2016 by DayanaraWelch (1 review written)

I find this site most annoying, Like what most people say hardly anyone answers your messages, I did say a Thank You to the person who politely answer me (but shame it was a non interest) The other thing that was so frustrating I almost lost the will to live, was the job of putting photos on the site, you could not tick off all the photos you wanted, you had to do one by one in and out the site and then the site would just close down like as if you were on a timer and you had to open up the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“homeswapper not the best”

Written on: 17/03/2016 by Steve-ooooo (1 review written)

homeswapper is not bad i guess, but they could do a lot more to improve it's performance. The main problem seems to be people not getting back to you. As in they claim to be 'serious about swapping' then don't log in for nearly 10 weeks. I find this infuriating especially if you're trying to set up a multiswap and no one responds. Which begs the question, why are they on there in the first place? I did actually send a complaint to the administrators about this. All in all ok i guess, but as… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Staceyd88's Response to Steve-ooooo's Review

Written on: 18/03/2016

Totally agree, very seldom do I get a reply on there, even a simple 'no thanks' back would be enough. But as you said there's people not even so much as looking at their messages for more than months at a time. Very frustrating and I will not be renewing my membership when it runs out either. Get better replay through adverts on gumtree!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Steve-Ooooo's reply to Staceyd88's Comment

Written on: 19/03/2016

Where else is there though ? All i get from my housing association is, 'go on homeswapper' that seems to be the only option with them. I'm surprised they even sign up to it considering how bad it is.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Really great service”

Written on: 08/03/2016 by 333Parrish (1 review written)

This site is quick, has lots of available properties, really recommend it to anyone that is living in housing association rented property and looking to move… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Oldgaffer's Comment

Written on: 31/03/2016

Yeah? You must be newly registered with them.
Come back in 3 or 4 years time after failing to find someone to exchange witn because the site is rubbish.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Money Money Money!”

Written on: 19/02/2016 by Destineeo1975 (1 review written)

what a dismal site its become. helped us move several years ago successfully however trying move this time with the site continuously going bad to worse has made us cancel our moving plans from Oxfordshire. people who use this site are being taken for granted by, Partners-Homswapper who think they can play dice with peoples future by meddling with the website. "GUINEA PIG" springs to mind. some people, and people who have learning disability's are left confused and stressed by the ever… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ipsofacto's Comment

Written on: 29/03/2016

Yes I totally agree with you. I too successfully moved a few years ago and am now wanting to move again to a new area. This 'new' style homeswapper is complete rubbish on just about all levels. With the old style homeswapper before all the recent changes, one could see at a glance prospective swappers and by reading the threads one could decide whether it was worth pursuing by reading others comments etc and equally if infact the person even bothers to reply. (time-wasters). The badges are stupid and the admin team it seems are left to decide for us our choices etc...often it seems incorrectly...they have too much control of our search options and matches, which I have often found changes day to day. They recently sent me a perfect 100% match (which technically it was) but when I put in 'quick search' the property does not appear! I too will find a new site for exchanging. Good luck to both of us and all other genuine swappers.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I got a swap”

Written on: 14/02/2016 by Peyton227 (1 review written)

Absolutely fab wedsite.. I got loads of messages from people who wanted to swap with me.. and got my exchange after just a few months. You still need to register with the council that you want to swap… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Need to step back”

Written on: 10/02/2016

I'm an IT expert, and there original site was excellent, because it kept in mind that the majority of people are not web savvy. Since they changed the site, absolutely no-one likes it, and exchanges are few and far between. They need to go back to the old site, perhaps ask people who once used it, to give an opinion on the new site. They would then understand. Newer is not necessarily better… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Steve-Ooooo's Comment

Written on: 17/03/2016

This is what a lot of people are saying on the site. Some of the older generation and less computer savvy get confused by it's ever changing format and preferred the old one.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lgz1's Comment

Written on: 31/03/2016

The programmer I believe is either new, or so set in his ways that he can not see his own problem.
Websites do not require a front page with what I would describe as a throbbing time line, whilst the main images load in the background.
No-one wants to see some stupid animation of clouds drifting by.
This is now just a gimmicky site, and is simply reflecting the programmers personal requirements.

Unfortunately for the programmer he has forgotten the golden rules of having user friendly interfaces, easy to navigate pages, and relevant information always to hand.

There are many languages and addons for a web related site.
Mysql, for databases, server side PHP to create reusable information, or sessions, and Javascript for any dynamic content.
The people who wrote these are the people to admire, not the website builders.
The old site was never perfect, but this one truly reflects the programmers head in the clouds.
The search engine for so-called matches was never any good, and is now worse.
I have requested an area in Birmingham, and been matched with someone in Brighton.
This occurs all the time, and I have now stopped looking.
People I have contacted have never replied, and when I finally phoned them, they had no idea.
Please bring back the old site.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Oldgaffer's Comment

Written on: 31/03/2016

There is much more to not liking the site than you have stated, sadly,
The site was a lot more open and gave you greater control over exchanges and far, far greater ability to sort out our own multiple exchanges.

The new site is far too restrictive with too much reliance upon 'big brother' who run the site. They are non co-operative and heavy handed in the extreme.

A few months ago a new 'all singing, all dancing lady' arrived with much fanfare and hot air. Many broken promises later, marginal imorovement? No probably not.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lgz1's Comment

Written on: 31/03/2016

See my reply, and you're right of course...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“social housing & mutual exchanging clearly don't mix”

Written on: 06/02/2016 by speedqueen101 (1 review written)

wow what can i say, what a bunch of ungrateful people, i live in a central london NW1 location a very sought after area where it's regarded a privilege to be offered a property around here, yet despite this, i've have an endless list of stories why homeswapper doesn't work, i have never dealt with one single genuine person in over 190 viewings, 1 tenant went through the standard 45 day inspection / approval / sign over process with me, clicked the 'i've swapped' tool on this site to avoid more… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Steve-Ooooo's Response to speedqueen101's Review

Written on: 17/03/2016

Those badges don't mean diddly squat. I have found that most of the people who claim to be 'serious about swapping' don't even bother getting back to you.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't waste your time”

Written on: 31/01/2016 by Risered (1 review written)

This site is just a total waste of time I wonder if Homeswapper ever look at these reviews Perhaps if they did they might put it back the way it was Also I think if you are not happy complain to your housing so they can stop paying for a worthless site perhaps if enough people complained they would take notice if they thought they would loose the money they get from housing trusts I would also like to know how many people has moved since the site was changed ?… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“rubbish”

Written on: 20/01/2016 by EthanCantrell212 (1 review written)

I've found this site awful. I don't receive messages for days which have been sent to me when I log on the page I wish to view doesn't come up rubbish site… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't waste your time and especially Don't Pay!”

Written on: 04/01/2016 by melodious39 (1 review written)

Unfortunately, I had to pay for their so called service. When I checked my advert, all my photos were not showing, the tabs for Details and Map were not working. All I saw on my ad for a month was; "Your advert has been seen 2 times in the last 10 days!" They refused a refund of my money. DON'T PAY HOMESWAPPERS! It will be a waste!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“A waste of time and frustrating site to use.”

Written on: 20/11/2015 by Simon_F1 (11 reviews written)

Homeswapper was good a few years back but ive just rejoined as im looking to move again and omg what a terrible site this is now. Nothing works, the photos look awful and have their aspect ratio messed with making washing machines look like the size of a car. the map never puts you on the same road as the house and you have to leave the site and go into google maps to see it. the street view is also useless for the same reason. Who ever runs homeswapper website needs to be sacked because they… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Nemo10's Response to Simon_F1's Review

Written on: 15/12/2015

I agree that homeswapper was a good easy site to use until they changed the format early this year. Now is it is a nightmare, I am still a member as my HA pays membership fee but I doubt if I will ever get a move through it. I have told them why I am unhappy with the new system but all I got was a memo asking me to be patient with them while they sorted things out. That was six months ago and they haven't changed anything. It is a waste of time and frustrating.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Unhappy0008888's Response to Simon_F1's Review

Written on: 30/12/2015

I totally agree I recently re joined as I received information from Homeswapper to say they had made changes to there site and it was now user friendly.
I also have to pay the charges myself as my housing provider will not pay for HomeSwappers services.
I am very unhappy with the homeswapper site and I will not pay again.
Nobody seems to reply and most people do not want to be contacted direct.
I think it is a complete waste of Time and money

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Time wasters”

Written on: 19/11/2015 by Gillybean64 (1 review written)

This site is now a total waste of time. People getting in touch with absolutely no intention of moving. For example 'do you want to view my place? Well I can't view yours until next year & don't want to move until 8 months time!!!!! Also full of lazy people who live in 'pig sty' type properties and want your place that is all newly decorated and clean. Also frequented by bare faced liars. I honestly cannot believe the amount of total lunatics that we have encountered in such a short time. I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Still no improvement ”

Written on: 19/10/2015 by Cornelius1948 (1 review written)

Well I thought I would try again after a few months but still rubbish. No answers to messages and not even sure if they get sent.. Too many people asking not be contacted directly which I find strange, Surely if you ewant to swap and the website is not helping you would improve your chances by letting people contact you directly via email or telephone. Anyway, I have given up now, Absolutyely the worst swap siote I ever tried to use. Plenty of others out there… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview