Wales, Bluestone (Activity Holiday) Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.5 / 5
72% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Wales, Bluestone (Activity Holiday) - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“Horrendously overpriced ! You will be disappointed !”

Written on: 24/04/2014 by Rooneywr462 (1 review written)

Staying at the grass holm lodge at bluestone! Supposedly 5 star accommodation ! The site feels like a village after ' the day after tomorrow' The site is dark and poorly lit in the evening! No golf buggies left on arrival but at £75 for four days I would expect them to be included ! The lodge is spacious but not 5 star and on opening the front door it was met with very poor decorated walls and filthy hand marks ! The cooker was dirty and the towels were very worn . The bedding smells fousty… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Filthy lodges”

Written on: 22/12/2013 by Sally1973 (1 review written)

Were told on arrival that we couldn't enter the lodge until 4.30pm! Totally ridiculous as its dark by then and lighting around the site is very poor. Lodge was filthy when we did get into it. Complained and was promised a re-clean but only kitchen floor was done. Plates didn't fit in dishwasher and there weren't enough of them. Only one towel per guest which by any bodies standards is poor. Hired a buggy to get around but it died after less than 12 hrs and refused to charge up. Substitution was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Kingdom of the elves”

Written on: 28/11/2013

Not worth the money, and disappointing when you arrive and staff are rude, not clear directions to where the adventure hut is, as it was dark when we arrived, and lighting above the signs is poor… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sally1973's Comment

Written on: 22/12/2013

Totally agree, lighting is poor in winter guests should be allowed to enter around 3pm before it gets dark.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Relaxing weekend break”

Written on: 25/06/2012 by nellyj (2 reviews written)

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at Bluestone. The lodge was clean, well equiped and we had a fabulous view over the lake. Once the barrier was down, we didn't see any cars on site. Initially, we were a little disappointed to find that we didn't have any details in our lodge about the opening times of the places to eat and only after we had walked down to Camp Smokey that we found out it was only open for 2 hours during our whole stay! We were able get the list of opening times from… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Wonderful place relaxing or energetic your choice.”

Written on: 02/05/2012

We have stayed at blue stone many many times. We have taken friends and family with us and have all enjoyed each time. The weather has been good and sometimes not so good but there is a variety of entertainment to suit all ages even if you stay in your accommodation to relax. All accommodation have a TV and Video player and WyFi connection. The rooms are very spacious and fully equipt even the kitchen. The lodges are very clean and family friendly. Some of the accommodations we have stayed in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“In some Ways Better than Center Parcs!”

Written on: 05/09/2011 by hlatham (1 review written)

Lodges very big and comfortable. All have Dishwasher. Internet is available in all Lodges. Buggy is essential if you have arthritis like me but it was great for my stepson too. I cant really Fault Bluestone - well except for the food. Somebody said You better like pizzas if you are a veggie at Bluestone! Well there's some news. Now You can only get Pizzas delivered to your lodge. And one of the restaurants in the brochure has disappeared! There are two vegetarian meals. A curry and Mushroom… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to hlatham's Review

Written on: 26/10/2011

Fair comments..(i wish we had got a buggie)
i'd note that the tree Climbing is very difficult in wet conditions.. my son (ok only 7) really struggled on the second tree.. but he can easily do over hangs on climbing walls (indoor)..

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Excellent family holiday”

Written on: 27/06/2011 by loujones1982 (1 review written)

I have just come back from a weekend at Bluestone with my gran and my 3 children 8,6 and 2. We stayed in a Caldey Lodge which was very clean and had everything we needed and it was very nice inside. The beds were also very comfortable. My children absolutely loved the blue lagoon waterpark and thought that it was much better than center parcs. They also went on the 4 x 4 safari which they really enjoyed, the girl who took them was very friendly. we also had passes for the adventure centre… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Being a CP regular I was a little nervous about our...”

Written on: 24/05/2011

Being a CP regular I was a little nervous about our stay at Bluestone. However, I am delighted to say it was wonderful. The lodge was super, much better equipped that CP and lots of space. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was good and reasonably priced.
Our group included children aged between 1 and 13 yrs and the activity centre and pool provided something to keep them all amused.
There are not a lot of activities on site but with Oakwood 2 mins away and lots of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“I just got back from a week at Bluestone with my...”

Written on: 08/04/2011 by jcevans2011 (1 review written)

I just got back from a week at Bluestone with my husband. I loved it! I was very impressed with the high quality amenities in the lodge, like the t.v., DVD player, shower, microwave, underfloor heating in the bathroom, heated towel rack. It was very clean and comfortable. There is wireless in the village and if you bring an ethernet cable you can hook up inm the lodge as well. I found the customer service everywhere on site was excellent. It was excellent value for money and we are already… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“I think Bluestone is an amazing place to go. It will...”

Written on: 01/04/2011

I think Bluestone is an amazing place to go. It will be our second time going in a week. The bar is good the food is good the shops are good !!! I personally LOVE Bluestone..... but the only two things that put me off was that the beds were a bit uncomfortable and my bike chain broke twice.... other than that i say i was sad to leave !!
Jessica… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“good weekend , but our boys aged 17 and 23 were...”

Written on: 21/03/2011

good weekend , but our boys aged 17 and 23 were disapointed that the badmington courts had been taken away. It seems to be that it is more a toddler and under 10 facility. Could do with them spending some money on extra sports facilities for the older guests rather than building an extra 80 lodges which are half way through construction at the moment… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Just come back from a week at Bluestone. ”

Written on: 25/02/2011 by HVVaughan (2 reviews written)

Just come back from a week at Bluestone.

This is a great alternate to Centreparcs - and cheaper!

Accommodation is first clast, customer service superb and pool facilities A1. My top tip would be to pre-book a golf buggy if cycling up hills is not your thing!

A great venue and one I am happy to recommend… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“We stayed for the Easter break in 2010. The location...”

Written on: 30/01/2011

We stayed for the Easter break in 2010. The location was fabulous and we liked the fact that it was quieter than center parcs and smaller with less traffic. Plus points- stylish cabins that are modern and up to date, beautiful clean bathrooms with fresh linen and nice extras like a under floor heating and heated towel rails that were essential after a four and five year had been having fun in a wet room! The play area in the village centre was lovely and it's great that you can have a nice… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“We stayed for the weekend before Christmas,2009.The...”

Written on: 17/10/2010

We stayed for the weekend before Christmas,2009.The Ramsey lodge accomodation was clean,spacious and well appointed,with a super view of the snow capped Presilli hills.

Our son was only 2,and with a step hill from the village centre to the lodge and a distance to travel to the Blue Lagoon we got a golf buggy.Money well spent and added to the fun.

The Blue Lagoon was great,as was the village centre,which had a couple of small fair rides for Xmas.

We had 1 or 2 meals in the restaurants.Not bad… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Had a fantastic time, lodge was clean and so was the...”

Written on: 07/09/2010

Had a fantastic time, lodge was clean and so was the site. Our children range from 2 to 13yr of age, the youngest had the freedom of the adventure center which was extra but well worth the money. My oldest and husband loved the steep riveen again was extra! But a wonderful experience with polite staff there to ensure their safety. The atmosphre of the whole weekend was relaxing and fun packed, apart from the Bluelagooon which was to over crowded on our second visit, but it was Sunday of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“"Over priced, badly run and aspirations of being...”

Written on: 04/09/2010

"Over priced, badly run and aspirations of being something that they're not" - I can only speak as a visitor who has been to the Blue Lagoons pool at Blue stone but I agree with this comment from a previous review. £10 per head and you don't even get to stay as long as you like as there's a time limit on your stay! You'd think we were buying tickets for a ten minute bus ride to the local prison for the service we got at the entry desk. Take extra cash, since drinks cost £1.50 from the vending… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“very poor dirty cabin , kids were made to pay more for...”

Written on: 02/08/2010

very poor dirty cabin , kids were made to pay more for mu gaurds on their bikes, food at the place was rubbish, dirty place… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jcevans2011's Comment

Written on: 08/04/2011

I can't relate to this person's experience at all. Maybe it was different last year.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“The adventure centres equivalent is available all over...”

Written on: 22/07/2010

The adventure centres equivalent is available all over the UK at a much more reasonable price. Any of the worthwhile activities were additional cost from entry fee, which we found over priced anyway. why do adults have to pay an entrance fee for the pleasure of watching their child in the play area, entrance fee should be for children using activities only.
We will not be coming again and would not reccommend to any friends.
Very Disapointed Family!
Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“If heading to Bluestone this summer,I'd like to give a...”

Written on: 06/06/2010

If heading to Bluestone this summer,I'd like to give a few tips I picked up during a recent stay.The lodges are great and spacious enough, they do provide-towels,tea towels,shower and handwash gel, washing up liquid and dish washer tablets(2)and loo roll(1).Eating out is expensive and the menus including the specials did not change for the whole week.Smithy and Granary resturants close for the Yard BBQ.The take away menu has to be paid for by card not cash. Young teens are not really catered… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Just returned from a girlie weekend and apart from a...”

Written on: 10/05/2010

Just returned from a girlie weekend and apart from a very wet "wet room" we couldn't fault the lodge - it was very clean and well equipped. The spa was excellent value and all the staff we came across were very helpful. The restaurant prices are a little steep and the food quality fell a little short of expectations but other than that we really couldn't find fault at all. We will be returning… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview