The Swan Pangbourne Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
From 7 reviews
29% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Swan Pangbourne - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“The Place to Be”

Written on: 23/03/2012 by brettjamison49 (2 reviews written)

We went for a cool Sunday lunch to The Swan Pangbourne. The food was as good as the service. The décor was also very appealing. In fact, everything was up to the mark… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Lovely setting, such poor food!”

Written on: 29/09/2011 by ReadingKate (1 review written)

When arranging to meet friends in Pangbourne on 25 Sept 2011 they suggested the Swan as they had visited some years before! Upon arrival we were able to secure a table on the terrace overlooking the Thames, on such a lovely day a real treat! It was early lunchtime and not yet busy. We were meeting for a roast & on offer were Beef and Chicken, with veg, potatoes, yorkshire puds - all that you would expect! Disappointing is an understatement, the beef was smothered in gravy so much so that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“An awful experience! Probably the worst meal of my life.”

Written on: 09/08/2011

From the roadside The Swan looks really inviting. An historic river-side English pub, it looks the perfect location. We arrived at about 4:30pm on a Tuesday 9th August 2011. There were about 20 other customers in the place. We ordered two kid's meals - Scampi & Chips and Sausage & Mash, and two adult meals - Surf & Turf burger and Ham, Egg & Chips. With two alcoholic drinks and two soft drinks the total came to just under £50. The food arrived after about half an hour, and that's when we… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Went for a Sunday lunch on 22 may 2011. Have been...”

Written on: 22/05/2011

Went for a Sunday lunch on 22 may 2011. Have been before for a ploughmans lunch where the so called fresh bread was stale and inedible, fell apart when you attempted to spread butter on it. Have ordered other meals and been dissatisfied . When we went to pay we were asked if we enjoyed our meal, we told them we didn't and told him what was wrong with it. He replied " oh well ".
We haven't been in for a while, thought it might be different for a Sunday lunch. Only one option for a roast, that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Staying at weirview across the road - service was...”

Written on: 26/02/2011

Staying at weirview across the road - service was awful and slow - charged extra when they didn't have the item we wanted even after paying. Basically expensive, badly managed, stroppy staff, pretty damn awful... Pretty location frankly badly served by dodgy pub… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent attentive service. Food served promptly and...”

Written on: 17/01/2011

Excellent attentive service. Food served promptly and efficiently and was enjoyed by all 6 of us… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Barabrith's Comment

Written on: 01/05/2012

Proprietor would say that wouldn't they!? Doesn't answer previous issues raised by paying punters.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“This once great pub seems to have continued it's slide...”

Written on: 25/03/2008 by divemaster (4 reviews written)

This once great pub seems to have continued it's slide into total mediocrity.

We used to live in Pangbourne years ago and although, in our time there the pub went through many changes of hands, it was always a great place to visit.

Over the past few years, on many return visits to the area we have on several occasions popped into the swan and each time the experience gets worse.

We are not looking more than a simple pub meal and a pint or two of decent beer, not too much to ask of a pub you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview