Whitby, Royal Hotel Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
42% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Whitby, Royal Hotel - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Whitby, Royal Hotel

Whitby, Royal Hotel

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“room not up to standered”

Written on: 18/09/2013

some of the hotel had been refurbished the food was passable dislikes the room we were given was not nice at all . after complaining was given a better room, do not know why I did not see the manager he was not to be seen, we did pay extra for sea view and thought we would get a nice room in the restaurant we were given a table near the most dirty window did not look as it been cleaned for years as I once owned a hotel can not see why health and safety as not said something about that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“customer service stinks!! Hospital food!”

Written on: 13/04/2013 by pensh (1 review written)

A large group of pensioners booked rooms at this hotel and were treated like 2nd class citizens because they didnt book through shearings holidays. Firstly their bus was not allowed to park at the hotel and had to park way out of whitby and the driver had to get a taxi to the hotel. Pensioners were expected to carry their own cases to their rooms, no help or porters available. Also, a different menu was given to non-shearing customers. Food was poor. Hospital food. You are suppose to be treated… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Great short break”

Written on: 20/09/2011

We have just returned from a wonderful break in Whitby. I was surprised at the poor reviews the Royal has received. The character of the building was lovely. Our room was clean and comfortable, perhaps small but we were visiting the area not staying in the room all day. The food and service was very good bearing in mind the dining room was full to capacity. We particularly liked our cheerful waiter who had only been in the job two weeks! The only thing that spoilt things was a couple on the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“My wife and 2 friends booked into the Royal hotel on...”

Written on: 21/02/2011

My wife and 2 friends booked into the Royal hotel on 14th feb via Sheerings
coaching holidays.I had read some of the reviews and feared the worst but we were pleasently suprised. It was clean well serviced and the staff were
superb.The food was excellent and my wife and friend enjoyed the show.All
in all great value,would go back again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Have recently stayed at the Royal Hotel, Whitby and it...”

Written on: 18/09/2010

Have recently stayed at the Royal Hotel, Whitby and it was not a pleasant experience. Our room was shabby and run down. Although it was a warm night at the end of august the heating was on full blast. When we requested to turn it off we were informed that this was not possible as there were no individual controls in the rooms. So we tried to open the window only to find that this was nailed shut. The bed was full of broken springs and the shower head was broken.

The food was disgusting… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“my husband and i have stayed at the royal hotel at...”

Written on: 25/09/2009

my husband and i have stayed at the royal hotel at whitby loads of times we have always found our rooms very clean and spacious and we always pay extra for a sea view the royal staff are very pleasant and friendly and have always had clean rooms,towels,etc we have also got family and friends to try it too and they say the same as us we would recomend this hotel to anyone "very nice"… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“We use this Hotel on a Shearings self drive package...”

Written on: 01/08/2009

We use this Hotel on a Shearings self drive package and have always found the Staff polite and very helpful. The meals are good value and i like the fact that the Hotel has entertainment and dancing in the evenings. We have stayed in another Hotel in Whitby prior to finding the Royal and the standard was nowhere as good. My sister and myself have booked another weekend at the Royal and we are looking forward to it. It is worth the extra few pounds for a sea view and also the premier rooms are… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We visited the Royal in May and the view from our...”

Written on: 16/06/2009

We visited the Royal in May and the view from our hotel window was beautiful. That was the best thing about our stay. The room was quite large but theTV was tiny and just about visible from the bed, no teletext which was a problem for my soccer mad hubby.! I had to clean the mould from the shower head before use. The food was close to being inedible and the eastern european staff did not understand our requests. Apart from one member of staff on reception, we found the staff were quite… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Had a brilliant weekend at this hotel, excellant...”

Written on: 16/02/2009 by louise d (1 review written)

Had a brilliant weekend at this hotel, excellant service, hot food, good variety on offer, good entertainment, friendly staff and a clean well equipped room, thank you Shearings. Would recommend to all… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“The room was filthy, the bedding was manky, the shower...”

Written on: 12/08/2008 by hairbrush (1 review written)

The room was filthy, the bedding was manky, the shower head fell on my head the first night we were they, the owner stuck it back together with masking tape, fell off again next night, stale croissants for breakfast, carpets through out the building were filthy, would not recommend anyone to stay at the Royal Hotel… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“Stayed at this hotel when booking I asked for a sea...”

Written on: 27/07/2008

Stayed at this hotel when booking I asked for a sea view but was told this was 50.00 extra having paid over the odds I declined, the room that we were offered was disgraceful, we had a view of the back of the hotel and the dustbins. The staff apart from one on the Reception were not just unhelpful they were down right ignorant, and the meals were disgusting I have had better food in my workplace canteen. The rooms were in desperate need of a makeover to bring them up to the 21st century not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Booked at the Royal Hotel Whitby there was a mix up...”

Written on: 15/03/2008 by mami (1 review written)

Booked at the Royal Hotel Whitby there was a mix up with the rooms and we were put at the back in a shabby room with a view of a brick wall,the light bulbs were broke and handles missing from draws and wardrobe, reported these to the reception but I was dismissed, they were not bothered.
The meals were terrible indebile, it was so bad I came home.
If like me you value decent service do not visit this hotel… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview