ao.com Reviews

★★★★☆
4.5 / 5
3990
90% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
ao.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for ao.com

ao.com
ao.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Shoddy refund”

Written on: 18/07/2017 by RoyColvin (2 reviews written)

Bought a PC from this lot mid-June, not collected from Collect+ so returned to AO untouched by me. Collect+ weren't able to deliver first time around and had to leave a notice, tried again a few days later and this time accepted. AO guy then told me it would take 3-5 business days for refund to Paypal, didn't happen of course. Opened a dispute with Paypal then called AO to ask where refund was, to be told that they had only got the item back yesterday - after both Collect+ and AO told me a week… Read Full Review

Ao.com's Response to RoyColvin's Review

Written on: 19/07/2017

Hi Roy

I'm sorry to read about your recent experience with us.

If an item is returned to us, we process a refund as soon as we receive it back in the warehouse. Refunds usually take between three and five working days, however this can vary when refunding back to a PayPal account.

Unfortunately, you have not provided an order number to enable me to look into this matter further. If you could provide me with this, I would be happy to do so.

Thanks

Michael - ao.com

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“VERY HELPFUL CREW ”

Written on: 29/06/2017 by Davidson98 (1 review written)

Delivery on time and crew could not be more helpful. Washing machine was taken around back and lifted into position that I requested. Thank you… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“quick delivery”

Written on: 27/06/2017 by dkuipers (4 reviews written)

Needed a washing machine quickly on a Friday and AO had it at a good price with delivery available for Saturday or Sunday. Checkout was very straightforward and the tracking info was easy to access. The app meant I could see exactly when it would arrive on the day. Delivery staff were helpful and I'm happy with machine so far. Had a sales call offering extended warranty which was a bit irritating - if I wanted it I would have bought it at the time. This was my first experience with AO but the… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Never use AO.com if you dont wan't to risk major flooding”

Written on: 05/06/2017 by Randy322 (1 review written)

Don't ever use ao.com !!! I bought a washing machine from AO.com and paid for it to be installed. They installed it, but didn't fit it correctly to the tap (a professional plumber has since told us it was very poorly done). This was installed on a Wednesday morning and our house was later vacated for a long weekend abroad. We came home on a Sunday evening to a flooded house. Water has been coming down for five days creating massive water damage, to our dressing room, main hall, cupboards and… Read Full Review

Ao.com's Comment

Written on: 11/06/2017

Hi

Thanks for sending in your review.

I'm so sorry for the issues that you are facing following the connection of your new washing machine. This is not the type of experience I would expect one of our customers to have, and I can appreciate your disappointment with the whole situation.

As we cannot view your order details, I cannot comment on the situation exactly and how we can assist in resolving this for you, however I would like to assure you that we rectify all issues that may arise quickly and effectively.

If you would like an update on the progress of this, please do get in touch. You can reach us by telephone 8am until 10pm daily, or by emailing customer services.

Many thanks.

Genevieve - ao

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“fabulous service”

Written on: 31/05/2017 by Morgananna (1 review written)

I would like to give feedback on my experience from AO I cannot praise enough from the guys on the phone at first point who helped me arrange a surprise for my daughter who lives in Plymouth to the delivery and installation men who were beyond helpful too 5 stars to you all … Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Brilliant service!”

Written on: 23/05/2017 by 1984Green (1 review written)

The member of staff who dealt with my situation was very friendly and asked alot of questions to ensure could give me an informed choice of my options on which washing machine to buy . She then stayed on the phone throughout the whole process and went on to help me order a product and discuss two other products I have with ao. She went through all my details so everything was clear and was very happy and cheerful. Whilst she was waiting for things to load she took an interest and spoke to me… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Run away...Dishonest advertising”

Written on: 23/05/2017 by lafi (1 review written)

Went to site to save 10 euro on a fridge that I was going to buy on Amazon. Went to check out but they couldn't process cr/cd said to call. Called and after they took my card, processed it for over 100 euro over advertised amount. When I objected and gave their website link for product and price to verify.. they seemed uninterested...(it was two prices, in two different places so I was good with the higher one)At any rate they wouldn't honor the price in my cart??? The rep just stuttered and… Read Full Review

Ao.com's Response to lafi's Review

Written on: 25/05/2017

Hi

I'm really sorry to read about your recent experience with us.

As with all retailers, to ensure we are able to offer the best deals on a range of appliances, we adjust our prices constantly throughout the day so our products are very competitively priced.

This is all dependent on the value of the stock as we purchase it, although we always maintain competitive prices with our customers in mind.

We also offer a price match guarantee. So if you've seen the item cheaper elsewhere, we'd be happy to try and match it.

Thanks

Michael - ao

Reply to this comment

Lafi's reply to Ao.com's Comment

Written on: 26/05/2017

Well, that option was not extended to me even though I asked. I was originally going to purchase via Amazon... and now I have at the price that was advertised, which was only 20 more expensive than your site. Still feel this excuse is disingenuous.. As I said, the price of 229 was on first page for product, then when added to cart was 40 more, then, over 100 more once I gave my cr/cd which oddly had to be over the phone because you "had a problem" processing my order... It was only after I gave my cr/cd info to your csr that I was told of the price "difference." How in the heck can you get away with changing a price in the middle of a transaction? It really boils down to integrity.. and in this case, the lack thereof.

Reply to this comment

Ao.com's reply to Lafi's Comment

Written on: 28/05/2017

Hi

I'm very sorry to hear this.

Unfortunately, I've been unable to locate an order for you using the details provided. If you're able to reply with your order number, I'll be happy to look into this in more detail. I wouldn’t expect anyone to process a payment without confirming the price first, so this is something I’d like to investigate further.

Alternatively, you can email the information to customer services at ao or you can call one of our Customer Experience Specialists.

Many Thanks

Katie - ao

Reply to this comment

Lafi's reply to Ao.com's Comment

Written on: 31/05/2017

I don't have an order number, because I told him to cancel it when he stated the price. I do have snapshots of the info and pricing that was shown during purchase process online. I added to cart, went to check out and there was a problem with my card.. Turns out I checked wrong card type, so had to call in.. I gave the csr the product info, and my cr/cd and after he took the info, the guy I dealt with gave me the price.. after I gave him the card.. In fact I gave him the direct link to product online, with the price prior to him taking my card.. . I already emailed customer service.. it's the same excuse.. about changing prices throughout the day.. I'm curious had I not checked the wrong card type box, if my card would have been charged with the website price, or with the 100 over price.. On top of everything else, I have to worry about giving a company who does business like this, my cr/cd info.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“No gas hob”

Written on: 05/05/2017 by sasha011 (1 review written)

Ordered a gas hob from them for delivery in a couple of days time. They contacted me the following day to say the price online had been incorrect so had to cancel my order. Not much good to me when I had someone arranged to fit it for me!! Money had been taken out of my account so now need to wait for a refund and find an alternative. They good will gesture was offering me £30 off if I spent over £200 with them!! not very good will to me just them trying to get a high value sale out of… Read Full Review

Ao.com's Response to sasha011's Review

Written on: 07/05/2017

Hi

Thanks for your comments.

I'm sorry that your order was cancelled before your delivery.

This would only happen in exceptional circumstances, such as an obvious pricing error on the website.

However, in the very rare instances that this may happen, we'll always try and find a compromise for the customer.

Thanks

Michael - ao.com

Reply to this comment

Sasha011's reply to Ao.com's Comment

Written on: 08/05/2017

I don't think trying to get me to spend more money is a very good compromise!

Reply to this comment

Ao.com's reply to Sasha011's Comment

Written on: 09/05/2017

Hi

If you could provide me with your order number.

I would be happy to look into this for you.

Thanks

Michael - ao.com

Reply to this comment

Sasha011's reply to Ao.com's Comment

Written on: 09/05/2017

order number AOL200390255

Reply to this comment

Ao.com's reply to Sasha011's Comment

Written on: 11/05/2017

Hi

Thanks for providing your order number.

Having looked at the notes on the order, I can see that the order was cancelled due to a pricing error on the website.

As there was quite a big difference in what you paid and what the item actually retails at, as per our Terms and Conditions, the order was cancelled.

We did offer you a discount off the appliance, which would have made it cheaper than any other retailer, however you declined this.

We take customers comments very seriously and always try to improve the services we provide from your valuable feedback. We're constantly working hard to make sure our customers agree that we're exceptional in the moments that matter. I'm sorry this has not been your experience on this occasion.

Thanks

Michael - ao.com

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 5 Comments
★★★★★

“Excellent Customer Service”

Written on: 26/04/2017 by Whitege229 (1 review written)

I had a problem with a TV that I purchased from ao.com, I rang this morning and explained the problem, the member of staff that I spoke to was polite, efficient and very courtious. My problem was resolved immediately. The above goes for all ao.com staff that I have ever spoken to. Brilliant Cusgomer Service thank you… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Faulty Goods & No Customer Services”

Written on: 24/04/2017 by andy2017uk (1 review written)

Purchased a dryer which takes 12-16 hours to dry 2 items of clothes. Was told it was normal for that model. Unit has no power coming from it now. Been out twice to fix and still will not work. Refused refund. Don't risk buying from this company. Poor service… Read Full Review

Ao.com's Response to andy2017uk's Review

Written on: 24/04/2017

Good afternoon. I'm very sorry to learn of the issues that you are experiencing with your tumble dryer, and I can appreciate your frustration with this whole situation. I have managed to find your order and I see that we have been in touch with you earlier today to confirm that we will book in a new engineer visit to help resolve this all for you. I understand the disappointment caused but we will ensure that this is fixed for you as soon as possible. Genevieve

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Quality Service ”

Written on: 13/03/2017 by Bill.Pam (1 review written)

We received delivery today (12/03/17) of our Fridge Freezer and Cooker Hood on Friday. I cannot commend highly enough our two delivery men (LDS17) – their attitude, politeness and assistance was exemplary and nothing was too much trouble. It certainly enhanced our whole experience with AO and was the icing on the cake … Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“I bought a Miele washing machine from ao.com on Friday...”

Written on: 26/02/2017 by SophiesNan (1 review written)

I bought a Miele washing machine from ao.com on Friday 24 February and arranged to have next day delivery. I had text message and e-mail early next morning to let me know delivery would be between 3 and 7pm. I then got a telephone call at 4.13 to say the delivery crew would arrive in about 25 minutes - which they did. I had arranged with ao.com for the old washing machine to be taken away for disposal along with the packaging from the new machine. I also arranged for the new machine to be… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Truly Terrible I would not imagine anyone to use them...”

Written on: 26/02/2017 by CraigAguirre301 (1 review written)

I ordered a new bosch w/machine inc fitting I was advised to leave a space outside my house so I parked my car outside all day from 7.30 am they advised they would phone half an hour before the men just knocked on the door and said don't bother moving your car we won't be here long ,they parked their lorry across two of my neighbours drives opposite, one of the men just walked into my house across my new carpets (previous deliveries from other companies had overshoes they fitted before… Read Full Review

Ao.com's Comment

Written on: 28/02/2017

Hi. I'm sorry to read your comments regarding your recent delivery from us and I can understand your disappointment.

The drivers are supplied with overshoes, so I'm unsure as to why they did not wear them.

Unfortunately, you have not provided an order number, so I'm currently unable to investigate this matter any further. However, if you can provide this information, I would be happy to do so.

Thanks

Michael - ao.com

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Very good Customer Service”

Written on: 25/02/2017 by 283Cook (1 review written)

Item was ordered on Friday and i received it on Sunday morning by very friendly drivers who contacted me an hour before delivery. Even after that i was bit confused whether i have signed the aftercare insurance and i called up ao and their very friendly staff told that i haven't and i dont need to since my product itself comes with 2 years manufacturer's warranty. I think they deserve a thumbs up for such a genuine customer service… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent customer service ”

Written on: 14/02/2017 by Jayg435 (1 review written)

Item was ordered Saturday evening and was delivered at 7.15 Monday morning by two very friendly drivers. Very impressed !… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent customer service ”

Written on: 11/02/2017 by Jayg435 (1 review written)

Item was ordered Saturday evening and was delivered at 7.15 Monday morning by two very friendly drivers. Very impressed !… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Useless”

Written on: 06/02/2017 by sbmbeb (1 review written)

I purchased a Hotpoint washing machine in January. The clothes are just as grubby when they have been through a wash. Two engineers from Hotpoint been out but did not let me run a wash to how them what happens. The powder goes like ice crystals in the drawer therefore the powder does not go into the wash. AO say there is no fault. Huh who are they trying to kid. DO NOT buy from AO. Nothing to like about the washing machine or AO… Read Full Review

Ao.com's Response to sbmbeb's Review

Written on: 08/02/2017

Hi

I'm very sorry to read of the issue you're experiencing with your washing machine, I can appreciate how disappointing this must be for you.

Should a customer encounter an issue with their appliance, we would arrange for a manufacturer's engineer to attend and assess the issue. They would be able to confirm the fault with the machine and arrange for it to be repaired as quickly as possible.

From the information you've provided, I can only assume that the engineer has confirmed that the appliance is working to specification and that no fault has been found. However, if you're still experiencing an issue with the appliance we would be more than happy to arrange for another engineer to attend. You can do this by giving our Contact Centre a call. Please ensure you have your order details to hand so that we can locate your information.

Rest assured, we're to help and will always help in situations like this. We want you to have a fully working appliance as soon as possible.

Kind regards

Rob - ao

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't bother purchasing additional services”

Written on: 31/01/2017 by Nothappy51 (1 review written)

In short, ordered a new dishwasher and purchased the additional services of removal of old appliance and fitting of new one. This was in accordance with online information. Delivery men finally turned up, stated they could not remove the old one and left the new one, still wrapped, dumped in the in the kitchen. No attempt to resolve the situation - seemed pleased that the job was significantly shorter than it should have been. … Read Full Review

Ao.com's Response to Nothappy51's Review

Written on: 01/02/2017

Good Morning

Thanks for your review.

I'm very sorry to learn that our delivery crew were unable to complete the services on your order.

I'd expect there to be a reason for the crew being unable to remove your old appliance but unfortunately, I've been unable to locate your order to check what happened. The drivers should have called our offices to explain the situation and this will be noted on your order.

We'd never expect you to pay for incomplete services so I'd like to look in to this further for you. Please give us a call so that we can assist you further. Alternatively, you can get in touch via the 'contact us' page on our website.

Apologies once again for the disappointment caused and I look forward to hearing from you.

Many Thanks

Katie - ao

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“No frosty fridge freezer delivery”

Written on: 31/01/2017 by Carverta109 (1 review written)

Our fridge freezer died on Friday night and by lunchtime Sunday it was gone and a brand new one was delivered and installed, all managed by ao.com. Accurate updates and info through the app. The drivers still called to confirm and we're extremely helpful and professional. They were also warm and friendly, which isn't always the case with delivery drivers. We got unbelievable service, a phenomenal price and a great product. Can't rate them highly enough. Hassle free shopping… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“lying useless ”

Written on: 17/01/2017 by FlandersHayes (1 review written)

ordered a cooker AO tried to charge £30 for delivery which I would not pay set a date for today (17/1/17 free delivery) for cooker to be delivered. Had email from AO at 11am saying the cooker would be here by 12.00 Midday. Didn't turn up so phoned them at 2pm to be told the driver had supposedly tried to deliver at 10am (1 hour before the email) which was a blatant lie. Then AO customer services tried to charge us for redelivery the next day. Unfortunately for AO I had full clear CCTV… Read Full Review

Ao.com's Response to FlandersHayes's Review

Written on: 17/01/2017

Hi,

I'm sorry to read that you have not received your order on your chosen day.

Unless customers have paid for a specific time slot, we deliver from 7am-7pm and we text, email customers with an estimated time of arrival. We always endeavour to deliver within these times but sometimes circumstances beyond our control prevent us from doing so.

When our delivery crew arrive at a customers property, if there is no answer, the driver will ring the customer. If he doesn't get an answer, he'll ring his office and they will also attempt to contact the customer. Only at this point, if we can't contact the customer, will the delivery be failed.

It certainly wouldn't make sense for us not to deliver as ultimately this causes inconvenience for the customer and more expense for us. Although we reserve the right to charge to redeliver, it's extremely unusual that we would.

Unfortunately, you've not provided any details for me to locate your order. However, if you can let me know your order number, I'd be happy to investigate this further.

Thanks

Michael - ao.com

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview