ao.com Reviews

★★★★★
4.6 / 5
92% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
ao.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for ao.com

ao.com
ao.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Just like being at the shops without the hassle”

Written on: 27/08/2014 by astralady60 (1 review written)

This is the second time I have bought from this website. I find the ease of access around the site and the information given on the goods just so useful. Being given the videos to explain about the goods is more informative then you would get in the shops. Would buy from this site every time. Price, comfort and information cannot be beaten… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Great service”

Written on: 27/08/2014 by libby.foxjohnson (1 review written)

I would just like to say how very impressed I was with ao.com. I ordered my tumble dryer last night and it arrived this morning at around 7.30 this morning and the two gentlemen delivering it were really helpful and professional. Thank you ao.com you will get my business again !!… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Oh really”

Written on: 25/08/2014 by Poulet99 (1 review written)

Ordered a fridge from AO at 20.20, fridge arrived at 07.40 the following morning. Why cant all purchases be so easy. If this level of service can be provided by one company, it shows that it can be done if the effort is made. Maybe other internet companies should look at this model, cannot fault it… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent Service”

Written on: 25/08/2014

Ordered a new washing machine on Tuesday and it was delivered on Wednesday morning. We were kept informed of when our delivery would arrive from 7am on the morning of delivery.The two delivery men were efficient and polite.An excellent service which I would certainly recommend to family and friends… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent!”

Written on: 24/08/2014 by ziMunoz445 (1 review written)

Have used this company before. As previously, excellent and easy to use site… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Good service”

Written on: 23/08/2014 by MarquiseRollins478 (1 review written)

Top class service,guys very efficient,prices beat everyone around… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★☆☆

“ok, but problems with delivery address / billing address”

Written on: 22/08/2014 by JayceMcLeod86 (1 review written)

tried to order £4k worth of new NEFF kitchen appliances for flat renovation in london. delivery address is obviously not my billing address. told everything was fine on the phone and expect delivery in 2 days. one day to go and then AO phoned me and cancelled my order and wouldn't tell me why. i phoned my bank and they said mastercard was fine. i now have gone back to AO and ordered online rather then on the phone...we shall see if my items come or if they are going to cancel my order again… Read Full Review

By Ao.com

Written on: 22/08/2014

Hi Jayce McLeod86

Thanks for your review.

As we're an online retailer, every order that is placed has to have security checks on it.

Most of the time we get it right, however sometimes we can get these checks wrong. It's all put in place in favor of our customers, to protect them.

I appreciate that when a transaction is genuine it must be frustrating, but we really do just have our customers best interest at heart and we would rather be over cautious than not.

When we get it wrong, we'll always offer the customer the option to place another order and we can speak to the security team to make sure everything is okay.

I apologise sincerely if we offended you in any way, this wasn't our intention.

I hope everything goes well with your delivery, please feel free to contact us if you need anything at all.

Thanks, Cam- ao

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Fridge not delivered - terrible customer service”

Written on: 21/08/2014 by MissMan (1 review written)

I don't normally give online reviews, but I had such terrible experience with AO.com that I had to share it. We ordered a fridge online and paid extra for same delivery. They promised that the goods would arrive 4-10pm which we were ok with. They turned up at 10.45pm, looked at the lift door (we are on the fifth floor) and immediately said the fridge is not going to fit in so refused to proceed. I asked them to measure it to make sure, the delivery guy said he doesn't have a tape measurer. He… Read Full Review

By Ao.com

Written on: 22/08/2014

Hi Miss Man

Thanks for your review.

I'm really sorry and disappointed to hear about your experience, as this is not our usual level of service. We do state in our Terms and Conditions that sometimes large appliance deliveries can be hindered by certain obstructions, however I appreciate this wasn't there for you to see throughout the order process.

We do have a box at the delivery stage of the order which allows you to enter special instructions. This is to let us know how many steps you have, if there are any and for directions to your property if it's hard to find, among other things. I can see that you didn't enter any special instructions into the box, which is why a call back wasn't triggered. Otherwise, we'd have called you to let you know that the drivers would have to assess it on the day.

I'm sorry that the drivers didn't attempt to unpack the appliance for you and this is something that they should have tried really. Usually they'll do all they can to make sure the delivery is successful. I can understand why you're disappointed. I can see that we did offer you another delivery for the day you contacted us and we would have done all we could to try and deliver the appliance, although this should have been done the first time round. I'm sorry for all of the inconvenience this has caused and as I said earlier, it's not our usual level of service.

I'll make sure this is sent to the drivers' manager to look into why they wouldn't unpack the appliance. Not getting paid after a certain time isn't a valid excuse.

I hope in the future you return to us so we can show you how we really work.

Sincere Apologies Cam- ao

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★★

“So simple to order - a really user friendly website”

Written on: 21/08/2014 by Griffithlv229 (1 review written)

Very impressed with the simplicity of ordering the item - would definitely recommend and will use again… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“Easy peaty”

Written on: 20/08/2014 by 57Wiley (1 review written)

Very easy to use the AO website. Looking forward to receiving my fridge freezer. Just hope it's as good as they say… Read Full Review

By Ao.com

Written on: 21/08/2014

Hi Easy Peaty

Thanks for your review.

I'm sure you'll love your new fridge freezer and our service. We do everything we can to make our service as hassle free as possible.

If you need anything at all before or after your delivery, please feel free to contact us through the telephone number or email address on our website.

Thanks

Cam- ao.com

Reply to this comment

Ao.com's Comment

Written on: 20/08/2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to get in touch with us and for your feedback. We love to hear back from our customers to see how they found everything.

I'm really glad that you found our website easy to use. We like to make buying an appliance a breeze by offering flexible delivery, competitive prices and excellent customer service. We feel this is a winning combination for our customer and one that ensures an enjoyable journey.

We look forward to seeing you with your new appliance, I'm sure it will look great in your home.

If we can be of any further assistance please contact us on our website, via email or by calling us. Our phone lines are open seven days a week, from 8am until 10pm.
Many Thanks

Rob McCullough
Customer Advisor
ao.com

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Best on-line company”

Written on: 20/08/2014 by fwFagan37 (1 review written)

The choice of appliances and prices are great found exactly what we were looking for and as we have used these guys before we know how good and quick they are at getting the goods to us.Their communication on the day leaves you to know up to the minute when they will arrive so you don't have to wait in all day. Highly recommended.The fridge we chose had the right amount of capacity and the dimensions were ideal for our space and the colour matches in perfectly with the rest of our units so its… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“BRILLIANT COMPANY TO DEAL WITH”

Written on: 18/08/2014 by dklloyd (1 review written)

I HAVE USED THIS COMPANY BEFORE WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS. THE WEB SITE IS SO EASY TO USE OFFERING DELIVERY DAYS AND THE ECHO DELIVERY WHICH IS GREAT IDEA. IT ALLOWS YOU TO ADVISE OF ALL THE COMMON SENSE QUESTIONS IE; PARKING AT DELIVERY ADDRESS, ACCESS ETC. THE DELIVERY STAFF ARE ALWAYS VERY ACCOMODATING AND POLITE AND THE PRODUCTS ARE A GREAT PRICE. OTHER COMPANIES SHOULD TAKE A LEAF OUT OF A.O BOOK. BRILLIANT SERVICE, WELL DONE A.O.COM… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Cancelled delivery within 5 mins of due time to arrive...”

Written on: 16/08/2014 by DevinCarson491 (1 review written)

I had a good experience initially with plenty of contact to notify me of my delivery. My delivery was due between 2 and 6 so I waited in. At 5.55 a received a call saying. The driver had gone over his time and it would not be delivered that day. The call centre could provide me with another day to deliver bit no smaller slot. I asked if he could guarantee delivery next time, he said no. I asked that a supervisor contact me. No one did so I called again and no one had recorded my request on… Read Full Review

By Ao.com

Written on: 16/08/2014

Hi DevinCarson491

Thanks for your review.

I'm really sorry about your experience, this is no our usual level of service I can assure you.

The time slots that we give are just estimated, we can never guarantee when the driver will get to a property as it's not realistic. We can always estimate a time slot, however on the day of the delivery there could be delays due to traffic, or for various reasons.

If there has been a significant delay and your delivery is well past its estimated time, then it is illegal for the delivery team to work past a certain time, as they begin to fatigue. I can fully appreciate that it is a massive inconvenience to our customers when this does happen, which is very rare, however the drivers cannot stay on the road for any longer than the legal time period.

Despite this, you should have been offered a free time slot for your next delivery. We wouldn't have been able to guarantee a specific and definite time, however we would have been able to book you within a time slot.

I apologise for the service you received. Things very rarely go wrong, however they still can and we usually handle issues very well. It is rare that a customer feels the need to cancel an order, so I'm really disappointed to see this.

Please can you send me your order details to the email address on our website and I'll look into this and deal with it accordingly.

Thanks, Cam- ao

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“After sales service”

Written on: 14/08/2014 by Pulli (1 review written)

Bought a samsung microwave from appliance online. After one week the door wouldn't open. Rang them and they brushed me to Samsung service centre. They then told me I must bring to nearest service centre which is 45 min away from home. Rang appliance online back and they were inflexible with their procedure. They claimed that they would have taken back and given me a replacement within a 2 week period. At this point it had been 3 weeks since delivery. They would not consider the closeness or try… Read Full Review

By Ao.com

Written on: 14/08/2014

Hi

Thanks for your comments.

I'm sorry to hear about the issue with your microwave and I can understand your disappointment.

However, I'm a little surprised at your description of our after care. If a customer has a problem with an appliance purchased from us, large or small, we'll always do all we can to resolve this issue for them.

Usually with small domestic appliances, the manufacturer will send someone to collect and repair the appliance provided it is faulty and still within the manufacturer warranty.

If you could let me know your order number, I'd be happy to look into this matter further for you.

If we can be of any further assistance please contact us on our website, via email or by calling us. Our phone lines are open seven days a week, from 8am until 10pm.

Many Thanks

Michael - Customer Advisor

Reply to this comment

Ao.com's Response to Pulli's Review

Written on: 14/08/2014

Good Morning

Thanks for your review.

I'm really sorry to read about the problems you're having with your new microwave. As you mentioned, it's been more than fourteen days since delivery so it's now up to Samsung to honour the manufacturer's guarantee. I'm sure they will be able to replace the microwave for you but they need to confirm that it's faulty before a replacement is offered. That's why they need you to return it to their nearest service centre.

Please can you provide me with your order number and I'll see if there's anything else I can do to help.

If we can be of any further assistance please contact us on our website, via email or by calling us. Our phone lines are open seven days a week, from 8am until 10pm.

Many Thanks

Anthony - Customer Advisor

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Kitchen Appliance Refit”

Written on: 13/08/2014 by 466Peacock (1 review written)

Spend lots of shoe leather hunting for cooker, hob, hood but most of all a tall fridge and separate freezer that match to go side by side in my nice new large kitchen to cope with the demands of 7 adults in one house (3 ours + 2 other halves). With just a bit of searching I was able to find all of the above in one place. Once you find what your looking for you get a four week choice of delivery date including Saturday and Sunday (helpful if you work 6 days a week). I would recommend you give… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Fantastic”

Written on: 12/08/2014 by Stuart129 (1 review written)

I ALWAYS BUY FROM AO Excellent service no quibble if i have any problems friendly staff don't even bother looking anywhere else… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Quick purchase of a electric cooker ”

Written on: 12/08/2014 by 275Wagner (1 review written)

I urgently needed a new cooker for a rental property,found this company on google which offered same day delivery or next day and following days for free and a very competitive purchase price,after visiting several others more expensive with items either out of stock or delivery dates way into the the future this company was the only one for me to use. I very much liked the ease of use of the website and am unable to find anything wrong… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgraceful Customer Service”

Written on: 11/08/2014 by Anabellao267 (1 review written)

Hello i purchased a tumble dryer from Appliances Online. Tumble Dryer arrived in June and 6 weeks later it developed a problem where it was cutting out and tripping the electrics. Appliances Online sent out an engineer 1 week later. The engineer arrived and said that there was lint stuck in the hose at the rear of the machine and the appliance should be fine. However that same night the appliance was cutting out and tripping the electrics again the appliance was very hot to touch on the… Read Full Review

By Ao.com

Written on: 11/08/2014

Hi

Thanks for your review.

I'm sorry to hear that you are experiencing problems with your tumble dryer and I can understand your disappointment.

As with any appliance, you will be covered by the manufacturer guarantee for a minimum of 12 months. If a fault occurs within this time, it is the manufacturer engineer that will attend and repair the appliance.

If you've contacted us about this, we will speak to the manufacturer on your behalf and arrange an engineer for you. If an engineer has been out but you are still experiencing problems, then we may have to arrange another visit. If you would like to contact me via our website with your order number, I would be happy to look into this matter further.

If we can be of any further assistance please contact us on our website, via email or by calling us. Our phone lines are open seven days a week, from 8am until 10pm.

Many Thanks

Michael - Customer Advisor

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish delivery”

Written on: 10/08/2014 by uvFerguson1976 (1 review written)

I ordered a cooker and a fridge from AO.COM - they were to be delivered one Friday so I booked a day off work - the day before I received a phone call saying that the cooker was damaged so it would now be Sunday when they could deliver. At 7:30am on the Sunday I got 2 separate text messages stating that there would be a delivery between 11am and 3pm by driver Micheal, and another delivery between 1pm and 5pm by driver - so in all I have to be available 6 hours for 2 separate deliveries - what a… Read Full Review

By Ao.com

Written on: 11/08/2014

Hi uvFerguson1976

Thanks for your review.

I'm really sorry about the issue with your order and delivery.

We get the appliances fully packaged from the manufacturer and check the packaging before accepting them. If there is no visible damage we will then allow them to be sent to our customers. If we can see damage to the packaging then we don't sent the appliance to the customer, as the appliance could be affected.

I appreciate the inconvenience this may have caused, especially as you booked a day off work to take your delivery on the Friday. I'm unsure as to why you received two time slots on the Sunday, this doesn't usually happen. If you contacted us to let us know on the day, we would have been able to advise you of your actual time slot.

If you could kindly send me your order number to our email address on our website, I'll make sure this is looked into.

I apologise once again.

Thanks, Cam- ao

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★★

“Experience so far”

Written on: 09/08/2014 by lavchuck (1 review written)

Website easy to use - not cluttered. Video was really helpful and influenced my purchases. Amazed at next day delivery at no extra cost on a Sunday!! Many thanks… Read Full Review

Report this review
overview