Real Gap Experience Reviews - www.realgap.co.uk

★★★☆☆
3.4 / 5
62% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Real Gap Experience www.realgap.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Real Gap Experience www.realgap.co.uk

Real Gap Experience www.realgap.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Amazing Australian Tour”

Written on: 26/03/2015 by TomSkidmore (1 review written)

In February, I went on the Sydney to Cairns East coast tour and it was an amazing experience. Booking a holiday through Real Gap is extremely straight forward and the holiday itself was very well organised. The Real Gap website has a check list for organising all aspects of your holiday and provides reputable companies for services such as insurance. I thoroughly enjoyed the east coast tour and would definitely recommend Real Gap to a friend. The tour had a fantastic itinerary and plenty of… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Forest animal rescue ”

Written on: 24/03/2015 by ToddDixon122 (1 review written)

Do not volunteer here.booked and paid over £1000 with real gap.what they don't tell you,no contact with animals,your food is provided by local food bank great if you love bagel chips but not when you are working from 8 to 530 in field unloading sandbags and cleaning and moving coregated iron. No time off ,nowhere to go nothing to do evenings only tv staff told me they work with animals because they don't like humans!very unfriendly,no banter no laughter don't ask questions and don't expect to… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Amazing Sydney to Cairns Trip Review”

Written on: 05/03/2015 by Declan.mehigan (1 review written)

Went on the Sydney to Cairns trip in February and i can't put into words how great it was. There wasn't one aspect of the trip that I would change! How it was organised, the people on the trip and the tour guide and driver made the amazing locations even better. If you're considering booking this trip just do it as you won't regret it. Time to get saving for the next real gap adventure… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Fantastic experience, best time of my life. ”

Written on: 05/03/2015 by Alana_Russell (1 review written)

I went on the very first Cambodia experience in February 2015 and it was amazing. The staff that were from Bamboo Project were brilliant and made the trip twice as good. They became friends, not leaders. The itinerary was spectacular and we saw so much stuff in the short two weeks but there was still plenty of time for our own thing and to have a party whenever we wanted (if we could physically handle it! It was tough work). The volunteering was extremely rewarding and we got to make a real… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Top Deck Sydney to Cairns Tour ”

Written on: 03/03/2015

I have recently completed the two week tour from Sydney to Cairns with Top Deck. I can honestly say that it was one of the best holidays I have ever been on. The tour was so well organised but also really fun. The staff made everyone feel really comfortable and everyone got on so well. We did some incredible activities including surfing, snorkeling, skydiving, horse riding and clay pigeon shooting. The tour was so interesting, one day we were on a boat and the next day we were on a farm, we… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Incredibly organised trip”

Written on: 02/03/2015 by OllyBentley (1 review written)

Can't recommend enough. A fantastic company with fantastic, easy to speak to staff with some great ideas. We went on the Sydney to Cairns east coast trip in Australia for 2 weeks and it was the trip of a life time all thanks to Real Gap. The marketing department there are top draw and would love to meet them and thank them for everything. I will 100% deal with Real Gap again in the future and will tell anyone to use them if they're thinking of a similar trip… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“1st class organsation”

Written on: 16/12/2014 by GaelRafferty480 (1 review written)

Fantastic company who controlled every single facet of orientation and safety on the trip which my opinion are the key factors I look for in these types of organisations… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Misleading and overpriced.”

Written on: 20/11/2014 by 04caseyj (1 review written)

I am currently half way through my gap year with Real Gap. Did a 2 week volunteer programme in South Africa, am currently in Australia and I am doing a 6 week tour early next year in Thailand. I have had so many issues with this company since leaving the UK and am just waiting for there next screw up regarding my Thailand trip. When I arrived in South Africa I was met by a airport transfer car which was organised by Real Gap. it was a 2 hour car journey to the lion park where I was… Read Full Review

Realgaphelper's Response to 04caseyj's Review

Written on: 25/11/2014

We are really sorry to hear you have been disappointed by the service received by Real Gap post-booking. I can see from our notes that there was consistent contact with you throughout, from the original booking-on process to in-country support, so we are sorry that you feel this way. As you were aware when booking-on, all trips are non-amendable and non-refundable within 90 days of your first departure date and this was the only reason you were unable to cancel your Thailand trip and receive a refund.

The safety of our customers is paramount and our team in South Africa would not have allowed a non-licenced driver to transfer our passengers. In fact, if you are driving without a licence in South Africa the driver would have been arrested and the car impounded on the spot. It came to light that the police were doing random spot checks on cars and the police officer forewarned the driver that their licence was due to run out in the coming months and that they needed to start the reapplication process shortly. We hope this helps to clarify the situation for you. We can understand that this may have been an unsettling start to your travels and can only apologise for this.

We are glad you have decided to continue your travels to Thailand with Real Gap as we are sure you will have a fantastic time (particularly on our Thailand Experience as this is by far our most popular trip!).

We are keen to discuss this further with you if you wish, please contact our customer support team.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“India Volunteer 2 weeks”

Written on: 18/09/2014 by CiaraM82 (1 review written)

Firstly 2weeks was not long enough in Goa India, the camp we stayed at was very basic but enjoyable the staff and people I met on the trip as a whole were awesome. I volunteered to work in the orphange however I did not enjoy this and was able to change to a more suited workplace. Take lots of photos, bring an empty bag as you can buy everything you need over there and take clothes etc back home. Taste all the foods and enjoy the experience… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“An Unforgettable experience”

Written on: 16/08/2014 by PaytonKelly78 (1 review written)

The Thailand Experience was incredible. I made so many awesome friends, and met amazing people. Our tour guide was brilliant throughout and ensured we had a brilliant time and helped us with any quiries. The volunteering was fantastic at the nursery where we got to play with kids all morning then helped decorate the outside walls with animal paintings! Would recommend this trip to any new traveller who isn't sure how to start travelling, or doesn't want to do it alone… Read Full Review

Travelove's Comment

Written on: 05/11/2014

Hey there! I'm really happy to have read this review as I'm considering going for The Thailand Experience next year, so you would definitely recommend it? I heard a couple of bad things about real gap so I was actually thinking against it.

Reply to this comment

Abigc93's Comment

Written on: 05/11/2014

Hiya! I would definitely recommend it! Everyone's experience is different, but above everything that you do there in regards to activities, it's what you make of it that makes the difference! If you don't throw yourself into it and try new things and makes new friends then you probably won't enjoy it as much, but it'll still be an amazing experience!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“Malawi Sports and Community changed my life! ”

Written on: 06/08/2014 by JazzHobbsRex (1 review written)

Well where can i start? I had this crazy idea that i wanted to travel out to Malawi in Africa and coach sports to the locals to make a difference in their community. I googled that and Real Gap were the first to come up on the search engine. After being glued to the website for a solid 3 days i decided to email and get in touch to see if it was even possible to organise such a big trip with only two weeks to prepare! Real Gap were straight on it and gave me all the information i needed and… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Zambia Community Project”

Written on: 06/08/2014 by Shaw220 (1 review written)

It's not the mistake that defines the agent, it's the way they deal with a mistake. I had a few teething problems with Real Gap as do other people I can see. My main problem was that as a naive first time traveller, I thought Real Gap did everything in county as well as the set-up. I trusted the brand and felt safe. Once I signed up for the project, I found out that the in-country host was completely seperate to Real Gap and Real Gap was basically an advertisement like say Rightmove is for a… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“The best experience! ”

Written on: 05/08/2014 by LauraWalvin (1 review written)

I had the best time of my life and met the most amazing people on the Thailand island hopping trip. The trip was really fun and had a good balance of planned activities and free time. The tour reps were amazing and really fun, they were knowledgable of Thailand and always there if you needed them. Thailand was beautiful and definitely one of the top places to visit. I would go for longer next time and visit more areas in Thailand. The accommodation was what I expected, basic and clean. Overall… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Mis-sold!!! website is misleading (australia paid work) ”

Written on: 24/07/2014

I used real gap as it was spoken about by a friend. they had never used it but heard they were ok. my plan had been to oz and looking for work from the uk was proving difficult. So the website stated that real gap will support you to have a job within a few days landing in oz. it wasn't till i asked specifically about the work they would be finding for me that i learnt the truth. Apparently it was up to me to source the work and interviews etc. This confused me as when booking with them i was… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“Sydney Paid work and Intro”

Written on: 09/07/2014 by MelKab (1 review written)

A really good week, a great way to meet new people in a new city and get to explore the highlights of Sydney. You stay in Wake Up hostel which is a really great hostel to meet people in. The wine tasting was great, and the buffet up the Sydney Tower is so good! You can eat as much as you like :) Not too much of a fan of the surfing lesson, its quite a long way to go for only a 1.5 hour lesson, plus its a bit of a rush to go out afterwards on the pub crawl. But maybe if I liked surfing I would… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“USA Western Wonder”

Written on: 12/06/2014 by pashley95 (1 review written)

I went on the 7 day western wonder a few weeks ago and it was the best thing i've ever done. The trip was a Trek America trip however i booked it through Real Gap and the people who helped me book the trip were really helpful. They were always willing to answer any questions i had and were really friendly and helpful over the phone. The only thing i would say is they didn't let me know i needed a visa until i asked. I would definitely book through real gap again and i'm hoping to do the… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“Wouldn't trust any other travel agent”

Written on: 06/06/2014 by cally.strowbridge (1 review written)

Real Gap as a third party is brilliant at coordinating between travel companies and customers. My experiences in both Vietnam and Zambia were great, but they started off on he right foot because I booked through Real Gap. I've only ever booked the actual trip and not flights or insurance, so I don't know how they are with those things. But any questions I've had have always been dealt with quickly and thoroughly… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Once in a Lifetime”

Written on: 20/05/2014 by Kate_Rist (1 review written)

This trip, 'Live with Lion cubs' was absolutely amazing. It was a once in a lifetime opportunity, from making the babies bottles to cutting up meat for the older cubs, to even slicing up dead cows for the fully grown lions, this trip was never dull and had me attempting things I never though I would do. The people were amazing and the place was brilliant, as was the accommodation and food, being of a higher standard than I thought it was going to be. Meeting all the other girls from Real Gap… Read Full Review

Esmki_B's Response to Kate_Rist's Review

Written on: 05/02/2015

Hello Kate,
I have recently booked to go on the Lion Cub experience for 4 weeks in December, which I am extremely excited about.
My only concern is the in-country transfers/hostel etc... I will be travelling by myself and am a slight of girl. I wondered if you could share how you found it when you landed in Johannesburg?
Much appreciated.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“south African big 5”

Written on: 01/05/2014 by oliviawhiteside (1 review written)

Very efficient, couldn't have wished for better organisation when planning my trip. My Real gap coordinator was so helpful, helping me decide which trip would be best for me after getting to know me and sorting everything for me with no problems. She also responded to any questions I had immediately. Another real gap coordinator who I had spoken to before contacted me to check how my planning was going which shows they all really care. I will be planning my next trip with real gap. The trip was… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Trip of a lifetime! INDIA EXPERIENCE!”

Written on: 15/04/2014 by kristad5 (1 review written)

I am quite shocked to read about other peoples apparent "negative" experiences. I am sorry to hear your trip didn't meet your expectations. My experience on the other hand was absolutely flawless. The organization was very satisfying and the people I met along the way were incredible. I would highly recommend the Real India Experience to anyone! I loved the fact that I ran around all over India seeing and doing new things, including top favourites like riding an elephant, camel safari into the… Read Full Review

Report this review
overview