Real Gap Experience Reviews - www.realgap.co.uk

★★★☆☆
3.5 / 5
106
65% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Real Gap Experience www.realgap.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Real Gap Experience www.realgap.co.uk

Real Gap Experience www.realgap.co.uk
Real Gap Experience www.realgap.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Laos Experience”

Written on: 01/02/2016 by Trujilloge11 (1 review written)

I had the most amazing time away in Laos. Vang Vieng was amazing, such a beautiful river to glide down and had an unforgettable (well, some blurry moments!) night afterwards! Luang Prabang was beautiful I could really see myself living there. Kong Lor Cave and the plain of jars are unmissable and I've never seen anything like them, and of course Don Det is a brilliant way to round off the 3 fantastic weeks! The guides really made the trip great, they always had a smile on their face and… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“Had a great time in Thailand”

Written on: 03/12/2015 by 230McCoy (1 review written)

The overall experience was amazing, I had such a great time exploring Thailand. The staff were great and they made sure to care of us, met a bunch of lovely people who were also on the trip also. Highly recommended… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Bangkok to beaches”

Written on: 03/09/2015 by jasmineem (1 review written)

Truly had the best experience of my whole life. Would 100% recommend this trip- not only did I meet the most amazing people (in particular tour guides) I saw the unbelievable sights from 'old Bangkok' which entailed shanty like houses on the river which really gave an insight into how others live (whilst making me feel lucky for what I have) to riding an elephant and zip wiring through a jungle to completing a total wipeout course. The trip is such good value for money for what you see and… Read Full Review

Allygill's Response to jasmineem's Review

Written on: 10/01/2016

when returning to the UK did you book flights back before you went or did you arrange it when you were there?

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Live with lion cubs!”

Written on: 03/09/2015 by Urijah142 (1 review written)

Most amazing two weeks ever! Very hands on experience with animals and ranger days. Learn lots about south africa and animals. Everyone is very welcoming and you only do what you want to do. Great trip for your first time travelling alone. 100% recommend it to anyone, especially animal lovers!… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Thailand Island Hopping”

Written on: 28/08/2015 by jesssimou19993 (1 review written)

I've just got back from an amazing 17 days in Thailand exploring some stunning places with a fantastic culture to admire. I was nervous as this was my first time travelling alone but my tour guide was absolutely amazing. He was so helpful, knowledgeable, friendly and always up for a laugh. The people on the tour were amazing and I've made unforgettable memories with friends for life! The itinerary was well planned, fun, flexible and allowed me to do everything i wanted to do. Would definitely… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Teaching in Cape Town, from a UK-based teacher”

Written on: 26/08/2015 by travellingteacheruk (1 review written)

My two weeks teaching at Simon's Town school near Cape Town have been a wonderful experience, providing me with memories I am never likely to forget. I am an experienced teacher from the UK who decided to spend some of my summer holiday, for my sins, working in a school in a different culture. Not for a minute do I regret that decision. As a volunteer on this project I felt we made a real difference and had a genuine impact. Real Gap were very well organised throughout. The pre-departure help… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“Thailand experience ”

Written on: 24/08/2015 by Hsgsjsvdbdj (1 review written)

I have just come back from the most amazing 4 week on the Thailand experience and would recommend it to anyone looking for an adventure and to make amazing new friends. It was perfect for me as a first time traveller to nervous to go alone. It was nice to have things organised for you but also great having free time to explore ourselves and even then our co-ordinater helped us organise whatever we wanted to do. After reading the itinerary I knew it would push me out of my comfort zone and… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Unforgettable South Africa Trip”

Written on: 29/05/2015 by charroset (1 review written)

I just got home from the three week South Africa Volunteering, Conservation and Working with Horses Program, and I'm already missing it. I spent an amazing couple of weeks on a private game reserve, doing things I would otherwise never have had the opportunity to do. Every single one of the people I met were kind and helpful, and made my trip all the more enjoyable. The Real Gap team were awesome, very patiently answering all my questions and booking my flights for me. I had almost no bad… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Utterly disgusted with tour guides training and attitude”

Written on: 12/04/2015 by mel33442 (1 review written)

I cannot emphasise how much i would NEVER recommend this group to anybody planning on travelling. To start off with, the night we arrived they had miscalculated the number of beds booked and did not have enough space to accommodate all the people on the group. Beds ended up being shared which is uncomfortable in small cheap accommodation and with new people. I do not expect nice dorms when travelling but i expect when paying such prices to be at least given a bed. This happened on quite a few… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Amazing Australian Tour”

Written on: 26/03/2015 by TomSkidmore (1 review written)

In February, I went on the Sydney to Cairns East coast tour and it was an amazing experience. Booking a holiday through Real Gap is extremely straight forward and the holiday itself was very well organised. The Real Gap website has a check list for organising all aspects of your holiday and provides reputable companies for services such as insurance. I thoroughly enjoyed the east coast tour and would definitely recommend Real Gap to a friend. The tour had a fantastic itinerary and plenty of… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Amazing Sydney to Cairns Trip Review”

Written on: 05/03/2015 by Declan.mehigan (1 review written)

Went on the Sydney to Cairns trip in February and i can't put into words how great it was. There wasn't one aspect of the trip that I would change! How it was organised, the people on the trip and the tour guide and driver made the amazing locations even better. If you're considering booking this trip just do it as you won't regret it. Time to get saving for the next real gap adventure… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Fantastic experience, best time of my life. ”

Written on: 05/03/2015 by Alana_Russell (1 review written)

I went on the very first Cambodia experience in February 2015 and it was amazing. The staff that were from Bamboo Project were brilliant and made the trip twice as good. They became friends, not leaders. The itinerary was spectacular and we saw so much stuff in the short two weeks but there was still plenty of time for our own thing and to have a party whenever we wanted (if we could physically handle it! It was tough work). The volunteering was extremely rewarding and we got to make a real… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Top Deck Sydney to Cairns Tour ”

Written on: 03/03/2015

I have recently completed the two week tour from Sydney to Cairns with Top Deck. I can honestly say that it was one of the best holidays I have ever been on. The tour was so well organised but also really fun. The staff made everyone feel really comfortable and everyone got on so well. We did some incredible activities including surfing, snorkeling, skydiving, horse riding and clay pigeon shooting. The tour was so interesting, one day we were on a boat and the next day we were on a farm, we… Read Full Review

Allygill's Comment

Written on: 10/01/2016

Did you travel alone? If so, how helpful were they with helping you get back home etc.?

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Incredibly organised trip”

Written on: 02/03/2015 by OllyBentley (1 review written)

Can't recommend enough. A fantastic company with fantastic, easy to speak to staff with some great ideas. We went on the Sydney to Cairns east coast trip in Australia for 2 weeks and it was the trip of a life time all thanks to Real Gap. The marketing department there are top draw and would love to meet them and thank them for everything. I will 100% deal with Real Gap again in the future and will tell anyone to use them if they're thinking of a similar trip… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“1st class organsation”

Written on: 16/12/2014 by GaelRafferty480 (1 review written)

Fantastic company who controlled every single facet of orientation and safety on the trip which my opinion are the key factors I look for in these types of organisations… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Misleading and overpriced.”

Written on: 20/11/2014 by 04caseyj (1 review written)

I am currently half way through my gap year with Real Gap. Did a 2 week volunteer programme in South Africa, am currently in Australia and I am doing a 6 week tour early next year in Thailand. I have had so many issues with this company since leaving the UK and am just waiting for there next screw up regarding my Thailand trip. When I arrived in South Africa I was met by a airport transfer car which was organised by Real Gap. it was a 2 hour car journey to the lion park where I was… Read Full Review

Realgaphelper's Response to 04caseyj's Review

Written on: 25/11/2014

We are really sorry to hear you have been disappointed by the service received by Real Gap post-booking. I can see from our notes that there was consistent contact with you throughout, from the original booking-on process to in-country support, so we are sorry that you feel this way. As you were aware when booking-on, all trips are non-amendable and non-refundable within 90 days of your first departure date and this was the only reason you were unable to cancel your Thailand trip and receive a refund.

The safety of our customers is paramount and our team in South Africa would not have allowed a non-licenced driver to transfer our passengers. In fact, if you are driving without a licence in South Africa the driver would have been arrested and the car impounded on the spot. It came to light that the police were doing random spot checks on cars and the police officer forewarned the driver that their licence was due to run out in the coming months and that they needed to start the reapplication process shortly. We hope this helps to clarify the situation for you. We can understand that this may have been an unsettling start to your travels and can only apologise for this.

We are glad you have decided to continue your travels to Thailand with Real Gap as we are sure you will have a fantastic time (particularly on our Thailand Experience as this is by far our most popular trip!).

We are keen to discuss this further with you if you wish, please contact our customer support team.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“India Volunteer 2 weeks”

Written on: 18/09/2014 by CiaraM82 (1 review written)

Firstly 2weeks was not long enough in Goa India, the camp we stayed at was very basic but enjoyable the staff and people I met on the trip as a whole were awesome. I volunteered to work in the orphange however I did not enjoy this and was able to change to a more suited workplace. Take lots of photos, bring an empty bag as you can buy everything you need over there and take clothes etc back home. Taste all the foods and enjoy the experience… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“An Unforgettable experience”

Written on: 16/08/2014 by PaytonKelly78 (1 review written)

The Thailand Experience was incredible. I made so many awesome friends, and met amazing people. Our tour guide was brilliant throughout and ensured we had a brilliant time and helped us with any quiries. The volunteering was fantastic at the nursery where we got to play with kids all morning then helped decorate the outside walls with animal paintings! Would recommend this trip to any new traveller who isn't sure how to start travelling, or doesn't want to do it alone… Read Full Review

Travelove's Comment

Written on: 05/11/2014

Hey there! I'm really happy to have read this review as I'm considering going for The Thailand Experience next year, so you would definitely recommend it? I heard a couple of bad things about real gap so I was actually thinking against it.

Reply to this comment

Abigc93's Comment

Written on: 05/11/2014

Hiya! I would definitely recommend it! Everyone's experience is different, but above everything that you do there in regards to activities, it's what you make of it that makes the difference! If you don't throw yourself into it and try new things and makes new friends then you probably won't enjoy it as much, but it'll still be an amazing experience!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“Malawi Sports and Community changed my life! ”

Written on: 06/08/2014 by JazzHobbsRex (1 review written)

Well where can i start? I had this crazy idea that i wanted to travel out to Malawi in Africa and coach sports to the locals to make a difference in their community. I googled that and Real Gap were the first to come up on the search engine. After being glued to the website for a solid 3 days i decided to email and get in touch to see if it was even possible to organise such a big trip with only two weeks to prepare! Real Gap were straight on it and gave me all the information i needed and… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Zambia Community Project”

Written on: 06/08/2014 by Shaw220 (1 review written)

It's not the mistake that defines the agent, it's the way they deal with a mistake. I had a few teething problems with Real Gap as do other people I can see. My main problem was that as a naive first time traveller, I thought Real Gap did everything in county as well as the set-up. I trusted the brand and felt safe. Once I signed up for the project, I found out that the in-country host was completely seperate to Real Gap and Real Gap was basically an advertisement like say Rightmove is for a… Read Full Review

Report this review
overview