Huddersfield, Storthes Hall Park Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.0 / 5
33% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Cleanliness

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Huddersfield, Storthes Hall Park - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Huddersfield, Storthes Hall Park

Huddersfield, Storthes Hall Park

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“You lack basic human rights”

Written on: 13/03/2015 by bvJoyce50 (1 review written)

I am a first year student and ever since I got here I noticed horrible things. The shower burns you or is freezing, no inbetween, and your whole tiny en-suite is a wet room as it always floods. The carpets are GROSS! Stained, gum stuck in it, crumbs, holes, they don't clean them, and another thing! Our hoover doesn't work and we were accused of stealing the filter out of it! Theres marks on my walls, the bed is like laying on a bed of mushy lumpy potatoes. Now and again all you can smell is the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT BOOK DO NOT BOOK DO NOT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Written on: 11/03/2015 by TC500 (1 review written)

It is hard to know where to start to write about all the negatives of living at Storthes! I'll start with the reason I booked there. The University must be in some sort of lucrative contract with the owners of Storthes as there is no reason anyone would think this is the best option for accommodation in Huddersfield if they were aware of the other options. There are numerous other accommodation halls all within about 5 mins walk of the university campus which I had never heard anything from the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst accommodation ever ”

Written on: 11/03/2015 by nbdbfae92 (1 review written)

The majority of people living at Storthes Hall Park are tricked into it, thinking it's the only choice other than Ashenhurst for Huddersfield University, IT IS NOT. The uni doesn't advertise the nice halls in town, right next to the uni, similar prices and MUCH better quality of living. So before you sign up for Storthes, check out The Castings, Aspley, Saw Mill and Snow Island!!!!! I wish I had! Positives Storthes is in the middle of Yorkshire countryside so the surroundings are nice, decent… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Storthes hall is pretty brilliant in that you are...”

Written on: 10/03/2015 by jijf (1 review written)

Storthes hall is pretty brilliant in that you are constantly surrounded by interesting people, the setting is gorgeous. There are parties most nights, beautiful countryside to walk or ride around. The actual accomodation however is terrible.The windows are not always fitted properly, you cannot always get hot or cold running water, for the past few weeks a load of people have had nothing but brown water running through taps and toilets, these people have been given alternate accomodation in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Horrific”

Written on: 10/03/2015 by Asa121 (1 review written)

I would not recommend Storthes Hall to my worst enemy. The quality and condition of bedrooms/bathrooms/shared areas are absolutely vile. Good points: Nice surroundings (greenery etc), being situated outside of the town centre isn't entirely a bad thing, rooms are a decent size compared to some of the other accommodations I viewed at different universities, the large number of first years meaning it is rather sociable. I have a very big window which with the nice view outside is lovely to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful”

Written on: 26/11/2014

I visited both my room type, kitchen and facilites before arrival so i knew what to expect with the quality/range of facilites. As a first point, I cannot complain about the quality of my room, but I expect this is only because I am paying more money for a nicer room than the other people in my flat have been provided with. The quality of my room was fair, I don't have carpet so my floor did not contain the stains I've seen other reviews making points about. The bathroom was clean on arrival… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Sub standard accomodation”

Written on: 06/05/2013

Don't move here. Really, just don't bother. I moved here in September 2012. When I first moved here I didn't know what to expect as this is the first time I've lived in student accommodation. If I was asked to write down the good and bad points, I honestly don't think I would have anything to put down for good points. When you come around on open days, they show you specific rooms that they have purposely kept in good condition and they don't show you what the rest of the place is… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ccchhhh's Comment

Written on: 22/06/2013

Your absolutely right with your comments, what people can do is recind the agreement if the descriptions advertised are innacurate.

Virtual huddersfield website and the uni have describds Storthes as being close to town centre, this is enought to recind as long as you do it soon after you move in, you are also entitled to claim damages under the 1967 misrepresentation act

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“your worst nightmare”

Written on: 25/03/2013 by tisco94 (1 review written)

I've been here since september 2012 and it has been the worst thing ever. firstly the website lies to you. storthes hall is nowhere near the uni. It's a 20mins bus journey to uni and 99% of th times, the buses are overpacked making you late. reasons NOT to stay at storthes: 1. it's in the middle of NOWHERE. seriously it's just located somewhere in a forest 2. there's no signal 99.999% of the time, this is no exaggeration 3. the internet is rubbish most of the time 4. the hot water and heating… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jewoidjweoidjew's Response to tisco94's Review

Written on: 11/05/2013

Don't forget about how they open the pub for a few weeks and then shut it for the rest of the year but still keep it on the advertisments.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking, Disgusting accomodation”

Written on: 01/03/2013

I have lived at storthes for almost 6 months now and cannot wait to leave! The standard of the accommodation is terrible our oven is beyond cleaning and has being since we moved in, the numbers are burnt off and written on in pen because they are that tight they wont just replace it, the rest of the kitchen is pretty shabby and if you live in a flat with 8 of you you don't have enough cupboard or fridge space. The bedrooms arnt bad although they are very hot most of the time and have mold… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely Awful”

Written on: 27/01/2013

Awful accommodation, seriously, stay somewhere else closer to uni. A lot of the time the hot water is off, the phone signal is non-existent, TV signal mostly sucks, they make you pay to use your own wireless router, the buses are massively over demanded; on the weekend buses are so infrequent you can't make a decent trip to town and back, so you're often stuck in this cra p hole doing not a lot. The rooms are OK, the flat as a whole (namely the kitchen) sucks. The only people who like Storthes… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Advisor2's Comment

Written on: 29/01/2013

Same experiance here, read the contract and demand that repairs are carried out, they have 30 days as they are bound to conduct code. if not remedied leave for breach of contract and state that repairs not being done is the reason.

the accomodation is described as quality, use this against them and demand that this criteria is met, they will defend with legal action, take advice but do look for the getout in the contract.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“THIS COULD BE YOUIR BIGGEST MISTAKE EVER”

Written on: 27/04/2012 by honestyb (1 review written)

I would like to leave no stars but this is not possible. The pictures on their website may not be a true representation of what you may get as we were conned, you might look at a nice room if you view one but they can give you any room they want and they do have really disgusting rooms. If you do not view you will probably get the disgusting rooms for sure, if you do view you may choose elswhere like over the road from the premier inn which are far better in my opinion. This place is well… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

James93's Response to honestyb's Review

Written on: 02/11/2012

I didn't look around, got a great room. It's clean and spacious, with a great kitchen. The bus takes around 15 minutes, I've never been late for anything... The location is 5 miles and it's beautiful. You must be used to 5 star hotels or something. As accomendation goes Storthes Hall was exactly what I was looking for. Perfect for students.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jewoidjweoidjew's reply to James93's Comment

Written on: 11/05/2013

James93 is clearly someone who works for storthes.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Honestyb2's reply to James93's Comment

Written on: 22/06/2013

I am not used to 5 star hotels as you suggest, You must have been very lucky or as the other comments view is that you work for Storthes.

Or that you may have come from a shanti town.

Read other reviews year on year and you get the true picture, every year the same issues from people worlds apart

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“I would never recommend Storthes Hall. Ever.”

Written on: 24/02/2012

I have paid £50 to have the "privilege" to park my car at Storthes, thinking it would be safe. I have found my car in a state where someone has run my bonnet and stomped on the roof of my car, and my car alone. This is not a personal attack just random. Storthes accept no responsibility for the vandalism caused to my car and the CCTV camera's that over look the thousands of pounds worth of vehicles in the car park are covered by water droplets I saw when reviewing the footage with the security… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Storthes Hall is just like any other student...”

Written on: 15/05/2011

Storthes Hall is just like any other student accomodation. There are problems with it, nothing is perfect but it's only a year and it is worth the chipped walls, bus journey, bad decor, a tincy bit mouldy bathroom for the amazing friends you make. With storthes hall it's very much what you make of it. If you go in trying to make friends with everyone, talking to anyone and not being to OCD about the general hygeine and small incoveniences of the place it's the best place to be. You can get… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Being honest, i cannot disagree with the comments that...”

Written on: 12/05/2011

Being honest, i cannot disagree with the comments that have been made in previous reviews. Storthes is typical tatty student accomodation and the rooms do get very stuffy. However, I cant in any way say that this has effected my time here. The community and social aspects of storthes hugely out way the bad points. DBar is a right laugh, especially on Lets Get Funked. The condition of the flats and help from the maintance staff isnt great, but I personally do not let this get in the way of some… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“I live at Storthes for my first year at uni. And I...”

Written on: 12/05/2011

I live at Storthes for my first year at uni. And I just cannot understand people complaining about everything. You have a messy kitchen if you live with people who make this mess. And there's nothing you couldn't clean in the room. It's good to live outside the town (despite snowdays, but you can take it as fundays too lol ).
But drivers are always friendly and smileign. Reception stuff smiles even when you have a stupid problem or got a package with a comment 'sexy' on it ;DD
Of course… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“After looking on the website at all the pictures I was...”

Written on: 21/02/2011

After looking on the website at all the pictures I was really excited to be starting my freshers experience at storthes hall...Hugely disappointed on the move in day, I came to collect my keys and the site looked lovely until you get into the blocks where they're run down looking and have a vile stench to them. No lifts option to get to the top floor meaning you have to struggle with all your belongings up the stairs which is a pain to move in and even worse to move out.
I made the fatal error… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 29/11/2011

My son had the same disgusting experience, the website shows nice clean modern accomodation that is different to reality, if you are thinking about this have a visit and you will change your mind for sure. you can get a house cheaper so it is not good value for money anyway.

The place is covered in graffiti and fire doors were not kept in good order, I did not bring his stuff back when I moved him out it all went in the skip as was inpregnated with the foul stench of Storthes. think carefully.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Storthes hall is a nightmare, and anyone wanting to...”

Written on: 30/01/2011

Storthes hall is a nightmare, and anyone wanting to live there should just quickly change their minds. The kitchens are rotting away, as are the buildings, for near enough £1000+ for rent, they could at least have a cleaner or some form of maintenance. The security is lax and the safety there is insanely low. Door handles ripped off as a game, bedroom doors kicked through, and graffiti from other people all over. Fire alarms set off at 3am, being thrown out of your own room because someone else… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“As a mom dropping off my big baby boy yesturday first...”

Written on: 20/09/2010

As a mom dropping off my big baby boy yesturday first impressions were that it is clean enough, rooms are nice and big, shower room ok for ensuite.(shower curtain a bit mildew ridden but hey my sweet pea has been known to leave festering towels in a gym bag for 6 weeks!) Considering the larks etc that will happen with some of our little cherubs then I feel totally happy with the set up - pitty the cash goes off shore and is not being pumped back into the system. But staff were very nice and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Took my Step-Son up yesterday (14th September) and...”

Written on: 15/09/2010

Took my Step-Son up yesterday (14th September) and although the site looked good from the outside, My partner and I were disgusted with the state of the room and the kitchen area. Paint peeling of the walls, carpets were filthy, paint peeling off the doors, dried vomit in the bottom of the waste bin, curtains hanging off the rail (only held on by 2 hooks)...the list goes on. As for the kitchen, the floor was covered in rubish and there wasn't any space on the worktops due to dirty dishes… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“my son moved in yesterday, to storthes hall ...”

Written on: 05/09/2010

my son moved in yesterday, to storthes hall accommodation. the room was dismal , had big cobwebs on the ceiling and didnt look like it had been cleaned . both the kitchen and the bedroom were well used and did not look like the photographs represented on the web site. I was very disappointed for him… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview