Manchester, The Chill Factore Reviews - www.chillfactore.com

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.0 / 5
61% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Summary

The Chill Factore is the UK's largest in and outdoor Ski village. Based in Trafford on the outskirts of Manchester the Chill Factor promises to give the real experience of a ski trip without going abroad.

Media Gallery for Manchester, The Chill Factore www.chillfactore.com

Manchester, The Chill Factore www.chillfactore.com
Manchester, The Chill Factore www.chillfactore.com
Manchester, The Chill Factore www.chillfactore.com
Manchester, The Chill Factore www.chillfactore.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“rubbish website”

Written on: 27/05/2013

went to book lift pass after loads of messing around on their website they had four prices for the same ticket. I filled out all details including credit card details the website timed out and said the transaction was not complete and to rebook my tickets,so I did. The second transaction was complete telling me I will receive an email to comfirm the booking.I checked my emails and a few minutes later i got two emails telling me both tickets had been booked thats the one I wanted and the one… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“ Complaints handling”

Written on: 20/12/2012 by Ink_pixie (1 review written)

I bought my boyfriends 2 kids for a taster lesson and was told by instructor that to book a beginners lesson would be £89 per child. As I had no money at the time to do this I tried to book online, nowhere could I find this offer, I tried calling chill on at least five occasions at varying times of day- no answer it just rang out endlessley. So I decided to make the 75 mile round trip to speak to someone in person and book the TWO beginners courses. When we got there somebody new was handling… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Expensive and difficult to organise for large groups...”

Written on: 14/02/2012 by flyingdreamer (1 review written)

My extended family (13 of us) went to the Chill Factore in the half term holiday to celebrate my birthday. The day was fun but you didn't get much "bang for your buck" so to say on the activities and unfortunately there was no group discount and despite there being a special offer advertised on their website and in the press "half-term children go free" because I had booked slightly before the offer started they wouldn't give me the discount - which I think is very unfair given I did ring and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“First class ski instructors for beginners”

Written on: 02/02/2012 by mazzzer33 (1 review written)

myself and my partner who are both novices went along for a full day ski beginners day. Noel and Andy are both fantastic instructors and made the day what it was. Very easy descriptive instructions given with patience for all to the group . Treating everyone as individual learners going at a suitable pace for all. Nothing was too much trouble for either one of them and were passionate about sharing their years of knowledge and expertise. By the end of the day we were confident to move on to the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Fantastic Snowboarding day lesson”

Written on: 01/01/2012 by f_malkinson (1 review written)

The snowboarding beginner day experience was fantastic. This was due to the enthusiastic and positive persona of our instructor - Mini. Through his patience and excellent coaching advice this allowed us to enjoy our snowboarding experience to the full and learn a lot along the way. His coaching advice and one to one instructions allowed all of the grouop to become recreational standard. We will definately be coming again and would love to request Mini as our instructor… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Development Day”

Written on: 27/12/2011 by breesedoc (1 review written)

Excellent day with super instructor, Mel. She took time to assess each of us in group and planned day accordingly, depending on differing levels of ability. It was Boxing Day and thankfully quiet, as most people next door at Trafford Center- shopping:((( and special deal meant only cost £70 for whole day,including lunch. I learnt a lot and developed my basic skills thanx to Mel I have my own boots, but one member of group had really poor fitting boots hired to him and I urged him to change… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Poor customer service - no response to emails”

Written on: 15/12/2011 by microdot (1 review written)

Took my daughter and her friend here for my daughter's birthday, booking everything in advance online on their website - including clothing hire. We were somewhat surprised that they advise arriving a whole hour before your alloted time, just to get your clothing but it turns out you absolutely need to! Why do you need to? Because the staff don't seem capable of looking at the labels in their own clothing and handing over age appropriate items. Sounds simple but apparently it isn't. Took… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Nowadays people are quick to complain...”

Written on: 07/12/2011 by Katehumble (1 review written)

Nowadays people are quick to complain and when something is great they do not take the time to shout about it so I have decided to leave a review on my experience with the Chill Factore. I booked the Chill Factore through one the amazing deals they sent me after I signed up a few weeks ago. I have my first skiing holiday booked and wanted to learn the basic before I got there so booked onto the Beginner Ski Course. I thought the Chill Factore was fab- the whole experience was so enjoyable… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Visit to get our ski legs back”

Written on: 07/12/2011

Visited the Chill Factor on Satuday, as an alternative to our usual indoor venue at Castleford. We liked the ticket system at the ski/boot desk for weighing and measuring. The toilets and changing area were clean, however the lighting in the changing area was poor. The slope itself was quiet (which we liked) The access to the button lift on the left as you look up the slope was bad, there was a step up to it and we (and everyone else) had to turn and side step up to the button. The slope itself… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Santa's Grotto 2011”

Written on: 02/12/2011 by trax0201 (1 review written)

Disappointed by a recent visit to the Chill Factor. We booked the play in the snow/visit santa grotto event. The play in the snow was great, however the experience was spoilt by a 50 minute wait to see father christmas. All the children in front of us had at least 5 minutes with father christmas, however when it came to our turn and the people after us, we only had approx 2 mins with santa. It was obvious that they had decided to shorten the visits due to the increasing length of the queue… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“i think that will be a good plan and arrangement ,i...”

Written on: 15/11/2011 by zutou (1 review written)

i think that will be a good plan and arrangement ,i hope to join there !~ … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Santas Kingdom”

Written on: 14/11/2011 by ImeldaWilcock (1 review written)

I just want to say what a fabulous time we had yesterday at Santas Kingdom. I particularly want to say a massive thank you to the 'Elf' who took the time to colour with my daughter Phoebe. She was an absolute superstar. The elves all made a great experience, all smiling and happy (exactly what you would expect working with Santa LOL). Phoebe didnt like Santa though, his room was a little dark for her and I think his beard was a little wrong compared with pictures of the man himself. But… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellant facilities but a little expenive”

Written on: 07/11/2011 by Jettillery (1 review written)

Really enjoyed the day snow boarding lesson day that we booked. It was half price, £85 for a full days tuition including lunch and tea breaks. The instructor was great and we learned the basics well enough by the end of the day. Up side was that the facilities are excelant, really geared up for all skill levels, skiing and snowboarding. Equipment was great and we wil be going back very soon as lift passs are not very expensive and there are always some good offers if you are internet… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“snowboarding lessons”

Written on: 03/11/2011 by robisona (1 review written)

Hi i booked my son in for a junior beginners snowboard course which consisted of 3x 2hr lessons.even though i thought the tuition looked ok there was no consistency with the instructors. He had a different one every lesson.It wasnt untill the last lesson when the last instructor who i thought was very good ask for his progress card which i new nothing about and so did a few of the other parents aswell.The last instructor thought the kids should have progressed more than they had and that might… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“A brilliant slope”

Written on: 01/11/2011 by customjones (1 review written)

I'am an advanced snowboarder casi level one. My partner has had her lessons upto recreational standard at milton keynes. I personally think milton keynes isn't a bad little slope to be fair but natalie was apprehensive of the icy patch that appears at the narrow exit to the slope. She wanted to give tamworth a try after about four sessions at milton keynes.I told her that tamworth is just an ice rink on an angle and wouldn't recommend it for learners as the pain tends to put them off… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor Quality Ski Taster Lesson at Chill Factor Manchester”

Written on: 30/10/2011

Booked a ski taster lesson at chill factor manchester during kids half term for my children aged 10 and 8.I was very disappointed with the overall value for money that chill factor offered.The equipment that my children hired was of poor quality and my 10 year old had an issue with a ski that kept coming of his ski boot continually throughout the lesson,the ski instructor spent more time trying to fix the issue than he did teaching the 10 people that had paid for the lesson.Hence when the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Woeful freestyle at chillfacore”

Written on: 13/10/2011 by wheelspin.plus (1 review written)

Why do I bother going here! Staff unhelpful, slow checkin, Poor snow conditions. Icy landings from jumps / features that r for begineers. Very long queues. Hated every minute… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Better this time but still poor”

Written on: 08/10/2011

Chill factore has the potential to be fantastic. However, the whole clothes/boots/ski hire process is slow and laborious. I had to find someone to get my friend's child ski clothes and by the time we were sorted out he had lost 10 minutes. We always bring our own gear so that helps is but it is clearly not very organised. The snow was better this time but we have frequently been and found loads of ice - surely in a controlled environment this is not acceptable? The lift machines ALWAYS go… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Childrens Snow Play Party - Avoid!!”

Written on: 02/10/2011 by aisforandy (1 review written)

We originally called in in person to discuss a childrens party for under 5's which included disabled children. We explained this to the member of staff we spoke to who said we could have 1 adult for every 2 children as part of the booking to make sure children this young and with needs were properly supervised. A few days later we received an email saying that there were places reserved for 4 adults. We were concerned at this so phoned up and were told that this was a standard email and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Stinky Rental”

Written on: 16/09/2011 by Chrisja (1 review written)

The staff were on the whole good. Prices were steep particularly given the size of the instruction groups meaning not as much time as necessary to practice sufficiently. The traing slope was also too busy. Renting the clothes was terrible, some items stank, other peoples snot rags left in your pocket etc. Come on dry clean. Also with their clothes you have to get changed to go for lunch otherwise the alarm goes off. What a stupid lazy design… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview