Roko Health Clubs Reviews - www.roko.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
70
24% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Roko Health Clubs www.roko.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“Treat your members better!”

Written on: 25/04/2016 by Noel380 (1 review written)

I've been a member of many gyms and Roko is the worst. For literally years the Chiswick branch had issues with air conditioning aka no air conditioning. Worse in my opinion is the equipment entertainment systems. I need entertainment to do my cross trainer and treadmill torture. For years there were problems with broadband meaning TV and radio buffering. Now the headphone sockets don't work: hear in one ear if you're lucky. Come on guys, we're paying for a service you're simply not delivering… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“First impressions count..it didn't for me :(”

Written on: 21/02/2016 by Leilaniz1959 (1 review written)

As I walked in, there was a woman behind the reception desk doing her hair with her combs on the counter!!! Has the health club turned into a hairdresser's now? There was another man and woman at reception both oblivious.. The club could do with more cleaning. Some hand cream in the toilets would be good too. They had clean towels which was good, the health drinks which are freshly made were great too. One of the gym instructors was amazing, he had so much energy and encouraging. I would go… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“THINK!!!!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY”

Written on: 15/02/2016 by mk1443 (1 review written)

My kid has taken the swimming lessons in Roko , No customer care , bad managment, taking ages to fix things. I am leaving and I want my money back... they are not bothered the hygiene of their pool is appalling and I wouldn't recommend to anyone, all you see is their staff having nice time in the coffee shop… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mk1443's Response to mk1443's Review

Written on: 15/02/2016

this is in regards to Nottingham branch

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE”

Written on: 26/01/2016 by Carohuc (1 review written)

Cold staff, unable to empathize. Also they call themselves a "Club" but they are just a gym with a swimming pool. Don't waste your money… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Great club great staff, best in area by far”

Written on: 02/01/2016 by White448 (1 review written)

Staff good, facilities best in area Cost is value for money Classes best instructors Good coffee… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“No Customer care at all..”

Written on: 29/11/2015 by 68Lucas (1 review written)

My kid has taken the swimming lessons in Roko , recently the teacher has left so Roko cancealed the lessons for more than a month still not be able to find another teacher . As their member somehow I never got any notice when they cancealed the lesson nither any calls to tell me what they plaining to do.I made many phone calls but always not be able to get to talk to the manager and she never bother to call back . Agreed with other reviews. No customer care , bad managment, taking ages to fix… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Roko Chiswick”

Written on: 14/11/2015

I have been a member for several years. Considtent problem of poor management and lack of customer care/focus. Slow to repair broken equipment despite numerous requests and incapable of replacing faulty items even after maybe 7 or 8 requests from members and by their own staff Generally nice premises and location but poor on customer care and management and maintenance… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Lack of concern for customers”

Written on: 21/09/2015 by LotusFlower (1 review written)

I joined Roko Portsmouth 11 years ago because it was located in a convenient situation for me and family members. I had a joint membership and paid £95 PCM. I stayed because I had a good social group of friends. But this club has dire customer relations. The staff do not care at all about individuals or holistic classes. I tried quietly and politely for 11 years to get a decent environment for yoga classes. We were bombarded by extremely loud music and instructors with microphones in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Roko Chiswick - A Great Disappointment and Shame”

Written on: 02/07/2015 by TV61 (1 review written)

I have been a member at Roko Chiswick for about two years and live locally. Since joining we are now on our 5th General Manager and third Gym Manager. There has also been constant turnover in the front desk staff, who are paid and treated poorly. The sales staff has also completely changed numerous times. Some of the staff really try, but the chain management is horrid as they don't care about the members and do very little maintenance. The District Manager only cares about the figures and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Badly managed & poor customer service, ”

Written on: 30/06/2015 by rokoreview (1 review written)

Having been a founder member of Roko Chiswick since 2007, I have just resigned after years of bad management and poor customer service. My complaints were largely ignored and met with lame excuses. High turnover of staff (especially reception), several managers, and demotivated staff. My impression is that managers don't really care about their staff or members. Roko is very lucky to have some good receptionists, very good class teachers who remain loyal despite challenging conditions and low… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lotusflower's Response to rokoreview's Review

Written on: 23/09/2015

It's the same at Roko Portsmouth!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Massage wasnt good!”

Written on: 02/05/2015 by Coylesu50 (1 review written)

As a therapiat myself the massage wasnt good at all, they didnt ask what pressure i wanted, it was freezing in the treatment room! And they left me for ages to get undressed..i was waiting ages for the girl to come back!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“After 6 years it is still a great experience ”

Written on: 01/04/2015 by Garrison36 (1 review written)

I joined Roko 6 years ago. I'm happy with the facilities, the equipment, the showers, the pool, in fact the whole layout. However I feel I am even a member of a smaller select club inside Roko: a member of the gymn who sprays and wipes down the equipment after use. Despite the notices requesting members to wipe down equipment after use I could count on the fingers of one hand the number of times I have seen other users of the gymn carrying out this simple hygienic task. This is down to members… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Shower been broken for 6mths notts ”

Written on: 13/03/2015 by 206Calhoun (1 review written)

It's now been over 6mths for 1 of the showers in mens changing room been out of order..... This gets very frustrating when it's very busy at Peak times and you have to wait for shower to come free.... I fully understand things break but not for 6mths … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Roko Gillingham - What Happened ?”

Written on: 07/03/2015 by AileenSheridan67 (1 review written)

Roko used to be a good gyms fairly relaxed enough machines to go round you could get a good workout even at busy times. Now a year and a bit later its so very different, new equipment was bought that's not as good as the old, so many new members have joined up its difficult at peak times to complete a work out. But most disappointing of all the staff are useless unless you are getting personal training at an extra £90 a month other than that it appears they do nothing. No one deals with… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Roko York honest review”

Written on: 22/02/2015

Was a member here for over 4 years, without a shadow of doubt this is the gym for you if you don't want the 'chav' element, equipment is good and seems to be maintained, in the 4 years I was there i could count the number of times on one hand I waited for equipment. You are welcomed with open arms by the staff and management when you sign up... Unfortunately that's where it ends, if you are a long term member they really aren't interested in you at all, you sometimes appear to be a compete… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Wow, what a good gym”

Written on: 08/02/2015 by IngridCochran (1 review written)

I recently joined roko after a very pleasant and welcoming introduction to the club, despite being slightly cautious before joining I found the club very welcoming and with a lot more facilities than I thought!! All of the staff were lovely and welcoming and I had an induction that lasted an hour (very thorough to other gyms i've been to) and they even set up a plan for me to keep on. although only a new member, I love it here and have already discussed it with my hubby about adding him on to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Never ever join Roko”

Written on: 12/01/2015 by bartgatensby (1 review written)

Roko Health Club in Portsmouth is the club with which this review is concerned. On initial sign up I discovered that they require three months written notice to cancel the membership. The day I signed up I also asked to cancel the contract immediately once the minimum 12-month contract expired. The salesperson was polite and told me such action was unusual but she could see no reason why not. I signed up and I signed out. Happy days, or so I thought. I used the club for the next ten months… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tracyharrison1980's Response to bartgatensby's Review

Written on: 09/02/2015

I recently joined ROKO for just 3 months and the contract does clearly state on both the front and the reverse that notice to cancel needs to be given in writing, it isn't a hidden term or anything. I also filled in a cancellation form when joining and was given a copy of my contract as well as a copy of the form to cancel as well so I know this was completed.
As with any business with contracts, terms need to be honoured and observed for everyone and I am sure they get to hear every excuse under the sun about why contracts should be cancelled with immediate effect but if you find your copy of the contract when you joined and you did actually cancel at joining like I did, present this to them and I am sure they will honour this

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bartgatensby's reply to Tracyharrison1980's Comment

Written on: 09/02/2015

Hi

That is all well and good. You are right terms and conditions, once agreed, must be adhered to. The head of accounts did offer to honor the cancellation date on my copy. However my cancellation sheet was handwritten by the lady who I signed up with. We both signed it and I left it at that in good faith. The reason for this: they were all out of the official cancellation forms but I wouldn't sign up without cancelling.

Since I wrote my review of ROKO Portsmouth things have taken a twist. When I left I returned my card to the front desk and told them I would be out of the country for the last few weeks of my contract. When I contacted the club over the failure to cancel the account last month they told me I had been frequenting the gym over the past few months. I haven't and I can prove I have been out of the country. So far this has gotten me the response: The General Manager will now be assisting me with the issues I have raised. So far I have called or emailed ROKO many times to speak with the Portsmouth GM. Still trying but he is apparently out, or, away,or, away from his desk and unavailable at the moment. May we take a message....

wish me luck.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“I've been a member at Roko York since it opened and...”

Written on: 11/01/2015 by ayJohnston415 (1 review written)

I've been a member at Roko York since it opened and I'm sorry to say but it's getting worse. The pool is extremely dirty, there are thing floating in there that I wouldn't like to describe. The locker room is rather dirty as well and the toilets stink. Staff are nowhere near as professional as they should be and on top of it all the manager choses to park his car on the pavement, just outside the main entrance, when the car park is always half empty… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“So hard to stop their marketing!”

Written on: 29/10/2014 by Danica132 (1 review written)

We had a 3 month membership with Roko which was finen, till the time came to take us 'off ' their list. It's been a year!! And I've made nearly 10 calls and they say they will take us off but it still hasn't worked. Just shows how incompetent their staff is!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Time table”

Written on: 15/09/2014 by Sherwoodtq390 (1 review written)

I have phoned up on two occasions to see why the new Autumn schedule has not been put on the web site. I have been told on both occasions that is about to be put on. Today Ineent into all the other Roko sites only to find theirs have been put on. This is typical of Gillingham what can wait will never get done! For goodness sake get the site up to date as like myself I. Would have joined if I knew what was available… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview