Harpers Fitness Reviews - www.leisureconnection.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.3 / 5
6% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Harpers Fitness www.leisureconnection.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆
Harpers Fitness www.leisureconnection.co.uk

“poor company”

Written on: 05/09/2014

Gave one months notice to cancell membership, they said that was not anoth even though that was agreed at start of membership. Very poor company would never have any thing to do with them, join at your own risk, when you ever have to cancell membership you will see what there like, nightmare… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Harpers Fitness www.leisureconnection.co.uk

“Poor Cancllation Polices, Out of Date Equipment”

Written on: 24/04/2014 by Ward1994 (1 review written)

I will keep this short and simple. I informed them I would cancel in December, they got back to me in January and asked me to pay for February as well! I was then told that the only way out of this was to prove that I have relocated over 20 miles from the gym!!! WHAT KIND OF TERM IS THAT!!! Received messages to pay and now I have to deal with the debt collectors. Never ever going back to this gym. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Harpers Fitness www.leisureconnection.co.uk

“Dirty and Expensive”

Written on: 09/12/2013

This autumn, I mailed St Crispin's Leisure Centre - Harpers Fitness and I was told that I could have joint with a discounted price. So I scheduled a face to face meeting with the gim advisor. As soon as I started discussing the price with the advisor this passed from 29 to 43 pounds and I've been told the "offer" was finished the previous Friday. I still decided to give it a go and I registered. With my great disappointment the Gim and the facilities were very dirty, not up to standard and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Harpers Fitness www.leisureconnection.co.uk

“Dreadful company. Shambles.”

Written on: 07/06/2013

I signed up to an 18-month minimum contract membership in October 2012 after some of my work colleagues recommended it to me. I was told that I could cancel my membership with 1 month's notice and found this in the terms and conditions, but when I suddenly had to move away they were having none of it. I was told I had to live more than 20 miles away from the nearest Harpers gym (I lived 18.9 miles away!). Having made endless calls throughout the month of my notice, I had no success whatsoever… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rnomah's Comment

Written on: 05/03/2014

where did they say you can cancel if you're 20 miles away from the nearest gym...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆
Harpers Fitness www.leisureconnection.co.uk

“Terrible Service, Misrepresentation”

Written on: 25/03/2013

My partner and I have recently signed up to a harpers gym at stoke mandeville stadium because the athletics track available was perfect! We spoke to a guy there and he confirmed on numerous occasions that we could use the track in the evening with no problems and that they would turn the lights on for us even if it was just us two. We therefore signed up to the gym and for the first week was able to use the track as stated. In total we went about 3 times in a week at around 7.00pm in the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆
Harpers Fitness www.leisureconnection.co.uk

“Groupon Deal for Willesden Sports Centtre”

Written on: 16/03/2013

Gym has a funny entry system to get in. There does not seem to be changing rooms near the gym and wanted to shower so used the swimming pool changing rooms. People appear to use lockers outside of the gym not sure where the other changing areas are. No atmosphere in the gym. Ok for cardio machines but not very modern ones. I will continue to use the group on deal for 10 sessions but then look elsewhere for another gym… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Harpers Fitness www.leisureconnection.co.uk

“Pool Dirty - substandard eqipment”

Written on: 22/01/2013

The staff at the London Road venue in Wokingham are at best rude! The equipment is not fit for purpose, its often broken or out of order. The gym in full of mould and quite frankly a health hazard. The pool at the other site is filthy and the life guards spend there time looking at women rather than making sure the pool is safe!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Fredandalison's Comment

Written on: 30/05/2013

Is this the Harpewrs at lower Earley READING near ASDA? if so I also have a comment about it sub standard cleaning ideas along with staff not listing to feedback from their customers who by the way contribute to their wages . Often it has been requested that the volume of certain classes be reduced along with a zumbe class not being performed on a HARD floor when the soft floor area is free on this day (Friday) But as these reviews seem to be unnoticed by Harpers what are we doing wasting our time ...... It will only take a health inspector to visit a site

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆
Harpers Fitness www.leisureconnection.co.uk

“Dirty”

Written on: 20/11/2012

Was a member at Oadby Parklands for several years - nothing has changed throughout this time. The sauna is still dirty and is very rarely cleaned - I saw a plastic bottle top underneath the bench for 3 weeks before it finally got cleaned! The gym equipment audio system rarely worked and has now been removed completely. The changing rooms need a good scrub. My wife complained of bare wires in the ladies changing room for over 3 months before it finally got sorted. It appears there is no form of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Harpers Fitness www.leisureconnection.co.uk

“Dirty, cigarette stinking staff on front desk.”

Written on: 04/07/2012 by Viking247 (1 review written)

I ordered a 14 day pass to try them out. I got there and struggled to find them. There was a swimming pool there and finally I saw it in an obscure location on only 1 side of the building away from the main approach. I walked around the building and spoke to a couple of young men who were having a cigarette to confirm where the entrance was. One told me they were open in 8 minutes 07.00am and to go around to the front (the one with no Harpers sign above it!) I went and stood there along with… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆
Harpers Fitness www.leisureconnection.co.uk

“ tried the one day guest pass at vale farm in brent...”

Written on: 28/10/2010

tried the one day guest pass at vale farm in brent during the late morning

facilities
good selection of dumbells no squat rack only smith machine
mainly machines booo
showers were not woeking properly and faced out into the corridor so every time the door opened people could see in
staff were generally unhelpful and one member of staff denied working there when i approched him with a question
(i later saw him in uniform instructing a girl)
Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Harpers Fitness www.leisureconnection.co.uk

“Used North Kesteven near Lincoln where my 7 yr old had...”

Written on: 03/09/2010

Used North Kesteven near Lincoln where my 7 yr old had to use male changing rooms on his own. There are no family facilities with the exception of a manky looking baby playpen. At 10 am, we were the first in the changing rooms to find dirty floors! Poolside also dirty. Would not recommend this place. The only plus side was free parking and plenty of it...oh and the slide which my son would have loved to go on except it was shut.



Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Harpers Fitness www.leisureconnection.co.uk

“My son cancelled his membership in writing as required...”

Written on: 04/05/2010 by P the P (3 reviews written)

My son cancelled his membership in writing as required by delivering the letter by hand, but he omitted to put the date on it and Harpers billed him for an extra month (£23.50 - a lot for an 18 yr old full time schoolboy). They initially wrote to him asking for the money. When he called to explain that he had cancelled his subscription they said that he could not prove it and that he 'had better not ignore the letter because someone will only come knocking on your door!'Not surprisngly he paid… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆
Harpers Fitness www.leisureconnection.co.uk

“I go regularly to the Harpers Fitness gym and also use...”

Written on: 06/10/2009 by sachin89 (6 reviews written)

I go regularly to the Harpers Fitness gym and also use the pool. It's good value for money; equipment is reliable & I have a challenging fitness programme to work to. It's too busy from about 5.45-7.00pm, but most of the time machines are available and there's a good choice of different things to do + group activities. Machines are quickly repaired. At times the gym is too hot, though. Gym showers are poor. I wish the pool was available for general swimming more often,but I've used both pools… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Harpers Fitness www.leisureconnection.co.uk

“I was a member of Harper's in the local leisure centre...”

Written on: 21/07/2009

I was a member of Harper's in the local leisure centre for 2 years. Like most people, I guess I only used my membership sporadically at best. The equipment would often be out of action for long periods, and the AV system was a joke (you'd be lucky to find a working headphone port), and of the 4-out-of-5 working plasma screens, all where misconfigured anyway so the picture was distorted. The 'spinners' class that used to take over the far end of the room was annoyingly distracting, so even at… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Harpers Fitness www.leisureconnection.co.uk

“Harpers Fitness are reasonably cheap for use of...”

Written on: 28/01/2009 by Kamran M (1 review written)

Harpers Fitness are reasonably cheap for use of swimming pool, large swimming pool and learner pool. changing rooms seem to be in a poor condition. Puddles of water everywhere, broken tiles and out of order showers. I think the learner pool is colder than it should be… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆
Harpers Fitness www.leisureconnection.co.uk

“The dirty swimming pool is used by teaching too often,...”

Written on: 18/09/2008 by s500kym (1 review written)

The dirty swimming pool is used by teaching too often, two lanes could be left clear so lane swimmers could use it too.
if there is someone serving in the restaurant the waiting time for food takes about 20 mins when we were the only couple in the restaurant god knows how how long if they were busy!
one morning when i went to the gym the young lad who was supposed to be emptying the outside bins was kicking the bin about spraying rubbish everywhere because apparently( he shouted) "there was a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview