DW Sports Fitness Reviews - www.dwfitnessclubs.com

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.9 / 5
21% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Summary

Was formally JJB Fitness Health Clubs www.jjbfitness.co.uk
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“Don't do it in MK!!! ”

Written on: 10/07/2014 by SarahCostello332 (1 review written)

Went with my other half to look around the Milton Keynes venue, The Duty Manager asked me a few questions and when I said I wasn't really interested he focused all his efforts on her, if he was really interested in wanting new members then I would have expected more of in depth questioning. My other half said she wanted to join and was all set to however after reading the contract it's for 14 months the manager had scarpered, the receptionist said you could cancel after 6 months however after… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“Just awful”

Written on: 10/07/2014

Joined less than 24h ago and had a change of heart having read reviews, seen the gym and interacted with staff. Called to ask for a cancellation at 10am today having signed the paperwork at 7pm last night and told very rudely by an awful manager that I can't cancel and that in committed for 6 months at least. I even suggested taking the first month pay and cancelling my card and she wouldn't have any of it. Cancellation turns out to be discretionary from the manager. This woman clearly has no… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“Appauling customer service absolute shambles time...”

Written on: 06/07/2014

100% terrible experience time after time where to start, i have been a member of the oldham branch for over 12 years and in the last 2 or 3 years the oldham club has hit a all time low, staff waste of time, useless and a constant shining example of not knowing nothing about there job they are good for cleaning and clicking the button to let you in outside of that you are expecting to much, if you want to feel like you are in a foreign country at the side of the pool then this gym is for you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“Canterbury DW treat customers like dirt. Avoid this...”

Written on: 05/07/2014 by Fitnessfanatic (1 review written)

The staff here at the Canterbury DW sports club, are evidently poorly trained typically young girls, who are often rude and patronising during interactions that may entail a request for help or any kind of issue that needs to be resolved. Issues that are usually a result of their incompetence at that, yet you'll be made to feel like dirt for raising the issue I can attest. Often these rude members of staff don't have a clue on how to speak to people/customers with any degree of respect which… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“Going downhill”

Written on: 02/07/2014 by idCompton463 (1 review written)

Been at Swindon DW three years and reading other reviews the same is happening here. A very good gym till 18 months ago now going downhill, now rate it poor. Many classes to be cut members were given 4weeks notice and the reason "must make cuts".Go in the door swipe your card 3or4 times just to make it work then into the changing rooms. Now the fun starts find the locker that has a working lock,unbroken door,door that will open after you locked it and notice how some keys have no number rings… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“Going downhill”

Written on: 02/07/2014 by idCompton463 (1 review written)

Been at Swindon DW three years and reading other reviews the same is happening here. A very good gym till 18 months ago now going downhill, now rate it poor. Many classes to be cut members were given 4weeks notice and the reason "must make cuts".Go in the door swipe your card 3or4 times just to make it work then into the changing rooms. Now the fun starts find the locker that has a working lock,unbroken door,door that will open after you locked it and notice how some keys have no number rings… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“disgusting”

Written on: 29/06/2014 by Barker342 (1 review written)

Just got home from Selby gym.Iwont use showers there disgusting the smell this morning of drains was sickening there is lightbulbs missing is this so we can't see the filth.iv just been looking at the lovely pics on their website don't no how old they are or where they where taken but not our gym.iv been a member from day one but am disappointed to see it being left to deteriate like this.then to add to this cutting popular classes taken by a popular and good instructor with no concern for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“class cutting”

Written on: 28/06/2014 by nitroxnelly (1 review written)

Me and my wife attend the netherfield branch of DW in Nottingham we have been members since December last year and found the either the steam room or hot tubs are broken on a regular basis the classes are all ways full but have been cut by half the free classes are what a lot of members go for when joining the gym why has this happened… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Itsthewolliff's Response to nitroxnelly's Review

Written on: 30/06/2014

You ask why - they have done this - my guess is money ! - if you look further down to my reply to another letter on the 28/06/14 - you will see the amount of money DW could possibly make accross its 70 + clubs [ my estimate ] was well below what it could be !!!
All made from exisitng member contributions with reduced classes & standards !

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Itsthewolliff's reply to Itsthewolliff's Comment

Written on: 30/06/2014

Sorry, my original comments was on the 23rd & i responded to another letter soon afterwards - my response was on the 28th

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“Unclean and poorly looked after ”

Written on: 28/06/2014 by Destinyx297 (1 review written)

Unclean shower area hair on the floor no soap in the shower depensers smell of bad drains only one jacuzzi open at a time broken tiles corners missing I left before my contract ended they new I was right so they never chased me for any more money… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“DW Selby - Disgusted ”

Written on: 26/06/2014 by dedytas (1 review written)

DW Selby I am so disappointed that the members of DW Selby are not being looked after. Well attended Classes cancelled with one weeks noticed. When I spoke to the manage he told me that he had to make cuts to his budget. I asked if we would be getting a reduction in our membership fees now the classes that we attend are no longer available, which he replied no that would not happen. I pointed out that the classes were well attended and he said that he had to cut classes right across the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“Diabolically Wretched”

Written on: 25/06/2014

I have been a member of the Selby gym for about 8 years and have watched the decline since it became DW. The facilities are now appalling. For example, controls on the showers giving at most 20 seconds of water, they are also unclean due to cuts in cleaning staff, tiles have no grout, the drains absolutely stick, studio floors which are sticky and hard to work on again due to lack of cleaning, equipment out of order for weeks and the final straw as far as I am concerned is the cuts to the class… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“Poole DW”

Written on: 25/06/2014 by Dane311 (1 review written)

Gym, showers and poole spotlessly clean and well maintained. Plenty of classes for all ages and abilities . Only disappointment is not being able to do swim aerobics as this class is always fully booked no matter how far in advance you try to book up . Staff unhelpful when I asked their advice regarding this matter. Otherwise this is one of the best gyms in poole Dorset… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“badly managed - frustrating for members”

Written on: 23/06/2014 by cdHubbard356 (1 review written)

Re Canterbury Club. New timetables are out next week and most of our classes like Pilates/Yoga have been cancelled and not replaced by other classes. The reason: cuts to the budget. All the classes were well attended and popular with members. The new "sign into classes system" has not been introduced to members via email , so most members were not aware of it and just turned up for classes. Of course therefore were not registered with the attendance lists via the web page. Generally the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Canford's Comment

Written on: 24/06/2014

Same thing has just happened at Poole, no warning or consultation. There are a lot of older members who do not use sign in but classes were well attended. This is a case of using flawed technology to justify cancellation of classes.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Canford's Comment

Written on: 24/06/2014

Same thing has happened at Poole. New timetable next week 37 classes cancelled without consultation with members. There are a lot of older members at this gym who will not use online booking so they are working from false information. The online booking system was badly introduced and irrelevant as people can still show up at classes without booking making many classes badly overcrowded. Until they have the technology/ability to stop people who have not beaked attending classes they should not have introduced it. There are other gyms out there!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“CLASSES CANCELLED WITH LITTLE NOTICE OR MEMBER...”

Written on: 23/06/2014 by itsthewolliff (1 review written)

SELBY DW - has an excellant self employed instructor whose classes are very poular with members and have a minimum of 80% + attendance all the year round including the holiday periods throughout the year. DW - [without membership consultation] decided to withdrwaw classes with 1 weeks notice. A petition and several members have complained directly to SELBY DW & Head Office, but as yet have not responded, although one member told me the local manager was very condescending to her. Very poor… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

8Wiseowl's Response to itsthewolliff's Review

Written on: 28/06/2014

Same is happening at DW Blackpool , we have been told it's summer budget cuts! But members not consulted! It's mostly early morning classes so people who pay the most get the least.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Itsthewolliff's reply to 8Wiseowl's Comment

Written on: 28/06/2014

Totally agree - at Selby there is a massive bias to maintain "Spin " classes,[ with fewer participants - max 16] which have been reduced from 23 to 18 [ which i know may seem a lot] - I have nothing against "spinners".......

BUT - Zumba, - Aerobics,- Step - Aqua Zumba - and a - "one off" class called "dance fit" of which there was only 1 a week - with 85% + attendence every week [ with max 27 participants] has been lost altogether !!. This class for members totally removed !!

Excercise classes lost reduced from 14 + classes last week - to less than 11 classes from next week.

May not seem a lot to DW - but to the paying members [ especially for dance Fit] which has been removed altogether - it is terrible.

Nice little earner for DW not to pay the self employed trainers for fewer classes but still charge members full membership fees.

Not forgetting other classes, & over other diciplines cancelled, Yoga, Pilates,Insanity etc i reckon assuming 20 classes lost overall in our club over the week x Trainers charges to DW at £30.00 per class [ possible average] is = to about £600.00 per week x a 52 week year, gives DW a saving per annum of over £31,000.00 per annum - BUT - when you start multiplying similar savings across ALL the other clubs in DW - then there are some massive savings - assume 40 clubs x £31,000.00 = nearly £1.25m per annum in savings to DW - BUT the members still pay the same.

There are some members looking at the spread of classes - trying to investigate if "Age Discrimination" is a possiblity ?? - if you google "Age Discrimination" there is a 13 / 14 page document produced by the government which goes into this aspect, and it could be construed that the possibility of "age discrimination" may be applied against DW and the spread of classes they offer.

Anyway, its safe to say i will not be recommneding a friend to join our club - i value my friends too much lol

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“Very poor - NOTTINGHAM SITE DW SPORTS”

Written on: 23/06/2014 by Freemanyf130 (1 review written)

Complaint: I have been a loyal member at your club since it opened, paying over £3000 so far in membership fees. I'm not one to complain, however, the club has gone so down hill and someone needs to take action. *Showers are dirty, usually without soap. *Every week there is something that is out of order from the weight machines to the showers, steam room and jacuzzi. Things do get broke, however the time in which it takes to rectify is unacceptable. (Usually 2-3 weeks). *There is a nice… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“Badly Maintained”

Written on: 19/06/2014 by SkylerSchneider150 (1 review written)

Bolton DW have had faulty air conditioning in the studio for ages now.They keep promising to do something about it but nothing happens… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“They helped themselves to my bank account & sent debters ”

Written on: 27/05/2014 by dsVega330 (1 review written)

I had been a member of DW fitness in Morecambe for over a year I then became very ill and was unable to attend to the gym. I continued paying my membership until i asked if i could pause it. I was told this was fine but needed to come in to pause it. I told them i was too ill to come in to pause it but would do my best and continued to pay them every month. This lasted about 6 months until i finally came in to pause it. They asked me when they think i would be coming back i said hopefully in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“Just mess, going down hill”

Written on: 25/05/2014 by Johnympl (1 review written)

Been a member few years back , was ok , rejoined few months back , it's awfull , showers area with no soap, (ok got my own), floors dirty, ceilings rotten (hull gym) , steam room stinks, jacuzzi unusually one not working, pool is ok, gym quite good sometimes something doesn't work, but I can understand it. Pls pls CLEAN UP SHOWERS AREA MORE OFTEN ITS A HEALTH RISKY AREA!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“Brilliant And worth every penny ”

Written on: 16/05/2014 by 56Lee (1 review written)

Mansfield DW is the most clean and friendly environment I have ever been in, Rather go here there than Mansfield water meadows gym and swimming pool facility as there badly damaged equipment the staff rather push in and cause more problems or you got teenaged having intercourse in the pool. Mansfield DW sport and fitness gym has got my mother to walk again and lift weight after she was suffering many years from a frozen shoulder and knee damage. Over all I'm satisfied with all the staff and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
DW Sports Fitness www.dwfitnessclubs.com

“Showers need fixing at poolside”

Written on: 09/05/2014 by MarkRoth (1 review written)

Re. Dunstable d w gym white lion retail park , the showers at the poolside are too hot and cannot be regulated ,some will be scolded one day also men's changing areas are also too hot people are not showering before using facilities in pool area due to this can this problem please be rectified soon as possible also can the other spa pool be up and running soon please as this must be the sixth week out of action… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview