Rusholme MSV, South Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.1 / 5
32% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Cleanliness

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Rusholme MSV, South - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Rusholme MSV, South

Rusholme MSV, South

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid at all costs!!!”

Written on: 23/05/2014 by MalloryNunez495 (1 review written)

MSV SOUTH is the worst accommodation you could possibly consider. A sweeping remark you say? Absolutely not. From requesting a refurbished flat, I was told at the beginning of year I had the "only room left" and was placed in unrefurbished. Being cheaper, I agreed and moved in. How interesting it was to discover that every single other person I met was told the same and there were miraculously free rooms in my friends flats in the refurbished side. -the hob never worked and we were told it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Complete joke”

Written on: 22/05/2014 by Diya283 (1 review written)

Firstly one of the main reasons coming to manchester was the massively hyped nightlife which is well known as well as university. However, to mine and I can speak for everybody else who i know here was a huge disappointment due to the fact that for some reason we were barely aloud to play music in our kitchen let alone barely talk! The security bother you constantly whilst they are on and take it upon themselves to come into my flat for no reason. Personally I think this is invasion of privacy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Couldn't have been worse. ”

Written on: 22/05/2014 by pgAllison211 (1 review written)

On arrival, MSV south seems very appealing that is if you are in a refurbished flat. If you are in an non-refurbished then you have drawn the shortest straw possible. I was lucky enough to have a refurbished flat yet that's about the only positive I can think of. My room was a corner room which was poorly designed, there were no bedside plug sockets as well as a desk which was small even for dwarfs. If you were in a rush in the morning you'd better be prepared for a cold shower, I had to get… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay well clear!”

Written on: 13/05/2014 by Dayik462 (1 review written)

With Manchester having quite a big nightlife scene you would think coming to these halls full of students would be ideal if I planned on having a good time. I was wrong. Ever heard of pre drinks? Well in MSV South, this does not exist as you are only aloud 6 people in a room at one time according to the pesturing night porter who takes his job way too seriously who kicks everybody out if there is too many people having quiet drinks before going out. If you don't listen to these rules that he… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Cracking place”

Written on: 14/06/2013 by WilsonCH (1 review written)

As with most things you get out of it what you put in, people have had issues with things being quiet but then you are in a place with 300 plus other people so finding a social side of things isn't a problem for those with a mind to find it, or conversely it is a great place to sit and actually work for second years or those who are serious about study. The rooms are solidly built with thick walls and double glazing they are well sized (for halls of residence) and equiped with plenty of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Fantastic Place to Live”

Written on: 03/05/2013

Before I moved in to MSV South I read a lot of bad reviews about the place, but they are most definitely not representative of my experience living there. First of all, the flats themselves are great value for money, and one of the cheapest in Manchester. The En Suite Bathroom was a real selling point for me as I couldn't stand the thought of sharing a bathroom with a bunch of random people i'd never met. Since I moved in on my own, the staff tried to put me into a flat with people they… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Not a great place to live”

Written on: 30/01/2013

Whilst the rooms and flats at MSV South are more than adequate what disappointed me most about living there last year was how poor an environment it was socially. Over the year I felt like I spent most of my time walking or getting the bus further down Oxford Road to where most of my friends resided in the first year. Even if university halls are completely full or not for you the MSV building on Lower Chatham St which was in a ideal location for students attending MMU and any students wanting… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Really enjoyed living here”

Written on: 28/08/2012 by vicki87 (1 review written)

Before moving into MSV south I saw some of the online reviews and have to admit that they did worry me. However, a friend of mine had lived here for 2 years in the past and was happy, so I figured it couldn't be too bad for her to have returned. I moved in on my own, but it is also possible to move in with friends. I was able to request to be in a flat with other girls but knew nothing about them. The girls that I was put with for each of my 3 contract lengths that I have been here have… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Actually Pretty Good”

Written on: 18/07/2012

I read bad things online just before moving into the accommodation which was a negative start to the year. However it wasn't long before I started to love this place. I'm so glad I decided to live here. Other students moan about their halls to me, how dirty the boys are in the shared toilets, how the security man threw everyone out of their party etc. We'll we have en suites and the security man is pretty cool... It just depends what kind of halls you are looking for, MSV was perfect for me… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“dont bother living here. ”

Written on: 17/07/2012 by steph182 (1 review written)

I lived her for the 2011-2012 academic year and it has to be the worst place I have ever been to, never mind lived. For four months straight we had builders drilling from 8am till about five making it impossible to sleep or even study through. We was not informed about this when our contract was signed and if I had known I would never have moved here. I constantly had people looking in my room and watching me, and they even had the cheek to wave at me when I was watching something on the tele!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Two sides to the tale ... ”

Written on: 22/05/2012 by KateBarnes (1 review written)

As the new manager of MSV South & Heald Grove I would like to pass comment on some on the reviews that have previously been left as I feel compelled to give an overall view of the site and our service. With some four hundred residents each year, for the past ten years, we have seen several thousand tenants pass through our doors, in this time we have served many from their first year through to graduation. Sadly, few have left feedback as it seems less the done thing. I am genuinely saddened… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Awful, happy to have left!”

Written on: 16/10/2011 by pchikaviro (1 review written)

The only positive thing about this place is the convenience, it's surrounded by shops & 15 mins walk to a university of Manchester & 20 mins walk to Manchester Metropolitan. This advantage also works as a disadvantage because it's in a convenient location there's a lot of noise; I couldn't sleep in my room because of loud music, ambulances & police sirens. There is no lift & I was unfortunate to get top floor (4th floor) so it was a struggle everyday. The rooms weren't in good condition, mine… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I rent a room in the MSV last year . The room is...”

Written on: 06/09/2011 by cuuham (1 review written)

I rent a room in the MSV last year . The room is acceptable however it is sometimes quiet nosy since many restaurants and main road is near . The worst thing that I experenced in MSV is the quality of their office service . Their service did not work well at all . Last summer holiday , I can not come to collect my key at the time when the contract started at 5th of September. So I came to the office and asked if my friend can collect the key with my permission . The office said :" YES… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to cuuham's Review

Written on: 15/06/2012

i think generally, most offices and companies in manchester tend to only find you important or worth the while if they will get money from you but the moment nothing (monetary) binds you to them, their attitude is simply awful. i have found most customer service in manchester to be rude, kurt, abrupt, patronising, to mention a few.
I have had someone mess up an appointment and i was naturally expressing my disappointment and two of their staff had no empathy whatsoever, let alone apologise. they say one thing over the phone and when things turn out bad, they blatantly deny telling simply because they are toooo proud to take ownership of their errors.. it really upsets me, customer services in machester

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Why no one should ever go to MSV South”

Written on: 09/06/2011

MSV South halls of residence are hell on earth, I have been living above a flat that has been playing music virtually non stop all year. The msv staff are unhelpful and have done nothing about this, and when I have made a complaint I am met with the same responce that 'a letter has been sent'. The behaviour of this flat is anti social but this doesnt seem to register with the management. I am paying too much money for such a poor service. The facilities are old and at breaking point, do not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“If I'm very honest i've lived here for almost a year...”

Written on: 27/01/2011

If I'm very honest i've lived here for almost a year and we've had a few problems but nothing like everyone else is saying, yea there are chavs in the car park blasting music but if you close your doors you cant hear it, there are tramps everywhere but theyre just there and theres nothing you can do about it so just get on with it and if you dont give them hassle they wont do anything! For the price all bills are included its a nice place to stay, its not to far from either uni and the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“THIS IS ABSOLUTELY THE WORST PLACE I HAVE EVER LIVED....”

Written on: 05/01/2011

THIS IS ABSOLUTELY THE WORST PLACE I HAVE EVER LIVED. We have MICE running around in the the flat!!! when i complained about it they said there was nothing they could do so i would just have to live with it!!! On top of all of that the asian staff member was very rude and threatened to throw me out when i complained.


OTHER NEGATIVES

THE WATER STOPS WORKING FOR A FEW DAYS AT A TIME!!! SO U CANT SHOWER OR HAVE ANY WATER AGAIN ANY COMPLAINT IS MET WITH THE SAME RESPONSE. BASICALLY WE WILL FIX… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“In my opinion Rusholme MSV is not impressive at all,...”

Written on: 24/10/2008 by jaykaye (1 review written)

In my opinion Rusholme MSV is not impressive at all, small rooms and a seemingly untraceable bad smell, weird men always at the edge of the accommodation, chavs like to hang out in the worldwide carpark at night blasting loud music making every car alarm go off due to the base!

depending on how tight with money you are, you can get so much better for less, if its all about the ensuite i have friends who live in MSV (the one in the city)... and that is much nicer though 3 of them have to share… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Generally I wouldn't recommend here to a friend if...”

Written on: 04/11/2007 by hugh100 (1 review written)

Generally I wouldn't recommend here to a friend if they can get a place with university accommodations. If you had no other choice then this could be an option… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“The place is horrible....they have tried everything to...”

Written on: 28/08/2007 by stacey86103 (1 review written)

The place is horrible....they have tried everything to keep my deposit! I have emailed, wrote, rang to msv to challenge the invoice i was given as marks were there when i moved in...they haven't got back to me! They have taken my whole deposit!
Trust me don't move here!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview