The Swinside Inn, Newlands, near Keswick Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.2 / 5
62% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Swinside Inn, Newlands, near Keswick - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“What has happened to The Swinside?”

Written on: 21/07/2011

We went last year and had a wonderful time with local couple George & Judith, we tried to ring and make a booking this time but the phone was unavailable so we decided to go on the off chance to have a meal, wish we hadn't bothered. Bitterly cold, unwelcoming, with very few people eating. Our meal was average and we certainly won't be going back. Looks uncared and practically derelict, S & N should be throughly ashamed of themselves and so should RBS as they own the building!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“George and Judith have finally decided running a pub...”

Written on: 23/10/2010

George and Judith have finally decided running a pub is not for them and are leaving shortly. They maintain they have been defeated by poor support from the brewery - S and N. It is to be hoped that the next couple who run the pub can be given the prompt, active and financial incentives to return the Swinside to what it used to be ie a bustling and friendly countryside inn offering good basic fare and care. Currently the establishment is in a downward spiral. Is it to become another… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 14/06/2011

Do s-n have any intentions of allowing anyone to make a living from one of their leased properties from an s-n lessee

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Great place with stunning views and a superbly...”

Written on: 30/08/2010

Great place with stunning views and a superbly friendly welcome… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“My wife and i stayed at the Swinside in mid may 2010...”

Written on: 26/06/2010 by steverunner (1 review written)

My wife and i stayed at the Swinside in mid may 2010 for 2 nights whilst walking in the Borrowdale area.The Inn is in an unbeatable location with stunning views of the fells ,particularly Catbells and Causey Pike, and is in the Newlands Valley between Keswick and Buttermere.The new owners had only taken over the inn 12 weeks previously and were working hard to upgrade the Swinside.The food was excellent fresh home cooking, and George Judith and the staff were very freindly making us feel very… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Great place lovely food. Very oldy woldy”

Written on: 24/06/2010

Great place lovely food. Very oldy woldy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“We received a very warm and genuine welcome from...”

Written on: 20/06/2010

We received a very warm and genuine welcome from George and Judith and enjoyed their converation as well as their hill-walking advice over the two nights with them. Breakfasts were excellent and the local lamb chops were delicious. We hope their good reputation spreads, thus enabling them to refurbish the pub soon. Our ensuite room was clean and perfect for our needs as walkers and we would certainly return. Excellent value for money… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“We stayed here last week and the couple were very...”

Written on: 03/05/2010

We stayed here last week and the couple were very friendly. Judith showed us to our room and then we came to sit by the fire with a pot of tea. George made a very good breakfast which set us up for the day ahead. The food was very accomodating and the sweets are just to die for!!! It was very hard to find a pub that took dogs where we could just step outside and go for a country walk. On brilliant sunny days the bear garden is a brilliant place to be after a long walk in the hills. I have been… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“The couple are friendly and welcoming. The pub is...”

Written on: 19/04/2010

The couple are friendly and welcoming. The pub is lovely inside and has a roaring fire and comfy seating. The only problem is the food. Tiny portions - the smoked trout starter was minute and not good value at £3.95. The main courses came with a tiny amount of chips and they were the 'leftovers' in the bottom of the bag ( frozen) little bits of chip.the cheese board ( 4.95) had four crackers, 8 grapes, a small piece of smoked cheese,brie and stilton. No side plates, no cheddar or similar hard… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“We ate at the Swinside Inn twice during our stay in...”

Written on: 12/04/2010

We ate at the Swinside Inn twice during our stay in Catbells and had a really enjoyable time each night. George and Judith are fantastic - really chatty and helpful. They were very accommodating for our group of ten; the food was very tasty and, even though we were a big group, came out on time, all together and piping hot. Would definitely go back… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“George and Judith went out of their way to make us...”

Written on: 12/04/2010

George and Judith went out of their way to make us feel at home, were genuinely friendly, great for a chat, and provided an atmosphere where we had two really lovely evenings.

The food was wonderful and true value for money, and the service was quick even with an almost full pub. They've not been in the pub that long, and you can tell it's really important to them to constantly improve, so personally I would discount the earlier reviews.

Will definitely be going again when we're next in the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Very friendly couple who run this pub. Made us all...”

Written on: 12/04/2010

Very friendly couple who run this pub. Made us all feel very welcome and at home. The food is good quality, with some locally sourced produce and the menu includes food to suit all. There are usually two vegetarian mains.

I would definitely recommend this pub to anyone in the area who is looking for good quailty food at a low price with excellent service.

Would make the effort to visit here again when next in the area!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“We stayed at the Swinside on our way North for a...”

Written on: 03/04/2010 by sarahdinnage (1 review written)

We stayed at the Swinside on our way North for a holiday. George and Judith were lovley and went out of their way to introduce themselves and make us feel comfy - even getting up early and cooking us breakfast before our long trip.

Dog friendly, our two dogs were made very welcome - and you might get to meet the resident dog who was also very sweet.

As George and Judith have just taken over you will be aware that there are changes in progress and I'd love to see what happens as time goes on… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Visited with friends on the 27th March 2010 as we had...”

Written on: 03/04/2010

Visited with friends on the 27th March 2010 as we had heard that the pub had changed hands.
The food was very poor indeed. It was quite expensive and the poritons were absolutely minute. I've seen bigger children's meals. Two of us had the steak pie which was very small served with about 12 chips (frozen)and a tiny portion of vegetables. One of our friends had the Lamb Henry which was very overcooked and tough. Being still humgry we all had desserts which were a bit better. The bill, including… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sarahdinnage's Comment

Written on: 03/04/2010

I don't think £78 for a two course meal plus drinks is that expensive. As you are speaking in the plural I am assuming more than 3 of you..thats about £20p/h for 2 courses plus drinks..don't think you would get anything cheaper anywhere else in that area from what I saw.
<br/>
<br/>Of course I can't comment on the quality you mention but the meal I had on my way South was lovley and the biggest Cumberland Sausage I ever had.
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Under new ownership. George and Judith have a mission...”

Written on: 22/03/2010

Under new ownership. George and Judith have a mission to return The Swinside to its former glory of good clean accommodation, excellent traditional food and a friendly atmosphere. Its location is stunning and what is more it is dog friendly. Enjoyed a lovely five day stay in March. Have booked up for two more visits later in the year… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Traditional country inn, good beer, good food and...”

Written on: 10/02/2010

Traditional country inn, good beer, good food and friendly efficient staff.
Great location, within 5 minutes walk of the foot of the Catbells ridge, also within 5 minutes of Keswick by car. We've just been in the winter and enjoyed ourselves but the beer garden in the summer would be wonderful… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“a sandwich - made in ordinary sliced bread - average...”

Written on: 29/11/2009

a sandwich - made in ordinary sliced bread - average cost £5.95 !! accompanied bya pile of chips - very uninspiring ones - and dull salad - coleslaw was mentioned but did not appear. The ham in the £5.95 sandwich was thin packet supermarket ham - the prawn and salmon tasted only of bottled marie rose sauce. £5.95 for a sandwich is taking advantage of possibly captive audience in this stunning area and should in my view be mentioned to the tourist board… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sarahdinnage's Comment

Written on: 03/04/2010

Sorry but £6.00 for a sandwich, salad and chips in any cafe or restaurant is more than reasonable in Oxford where I live..as for the chips being "uninspiring"..not sure how a chip can become a beacon of inspiration - a chip is a chip.
<br/>
<br/>If you think you were fleeced there - you should have had the afternoon tea I had in Scotland which consisted of 2 pieces of white bread (no crusts) 1 x Scone, 1X Coffee and cost me £19.95..I have to say I think you did well..Id have taken the uninspiring chips any day.
<br/>
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sarahdinnage's Comment

Written on: 03/04/2010

I found this review not helpful because...it'd unrealistic to expect a food to be less than £6.00...what do they expect..whats the point in saying a chip is uninspiring..for £6.00 I don't expect to be inspired just fed..

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Just moved to the area and this is without doubt one...”

Written on: 06/10/2009

Just moved to the area and this is without doubt one of the best pubs and eating establishments around Keswick. It makes a perfect ending for the nearby fell walks and has views to die for. Good beer, good food and friendly staff - what more could you ask for?
Highly recommended… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“A lovely old couple run The Swinside Inn now and they...”

Written on: 17/06/2009

A lovely old couple run The Swinside Inn now and they are very pleasent. I would recommend it to anybody and our dog loved it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“I dont know how everyone can slate The Swinside Inn. ”

Written on: 05/05/2009 by nikki0256 (1 review written)

I dont know how everyone can slate The Swinside Inn.
I stayed here last week and had an amazing time, the staff were really friendly, the food was great, yeah the drink was served in plastic glasses but that is understandable as we were sitting outside, would you like to go around picking glasses up from outside coz im sure i wouldnt!
We stayed for 3 days and we really enjoyed our stay.
Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“We too have had a series of poor experiences at our...”

Written on: 04/05/2009 by TrevorWhite (1 review written)

We too have had a series of poor experiences at our beloved Swinside Inn over the last couple of years! It is without doubt the best Lakeland Inn but is being ruined by a series of temporary tenants and managers. Whatever would the previous tenants make of its current state? It was perfect during their tenancies.

The last straw for us came a couple of weeks ago - beautiful sunny day and looking forward to a relaxing drink at the end of a coledale round - drunken young adults in beer garden… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview