Percy French, Newcastle Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
42% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Percy French, Newcastle - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“WE visited percy french during a busy weekend ,and...”

Written on: 04/09/2010

WE visited percy french during a busy weekend ,and really enjoyed being there ,food was served with a little delay as it was really busy,but food was excellent and staff was really friendly.
we do visit percy quite often and always like being there specially the cocktails and relaxing atmosphere.
i would definately recommend!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Visited Percy French's restaurant today. I was...”

Written on: 24/08/2010

Visited Percy French's restaurant today. I was initially surprised that they do not have any disabled access, I thought that now was compulsory. The service although pleasant was pedestrian. The food was mediocre and overpriced. A panini will set you back £8 a cup of tea £2.50. Not a place to visit if you are a student or pensioner. Will I visit again? No. Atmosphere was insignificant… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Aug 21 - took friends over in NI to the Mournes - as...”

Written on: 22/08/2010

Aug 21 - took friends over in NI to the Mournes - as you do and thought we'd give the Percy French a try - since it was beside the Slieve Donard Hotel and 'supposedly' a little upmarket - at least according to the prices!! It was about 2.45 so the lunch rush was over, I'm sure - if there was one. We were shown to our table quickly enough and ordered our food. Well overpriced for quality and quantity. I do not expect a huge ' working man's dinner' amount but a Caesar salad starter for £8.00… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“I stayed at the Slieve Donard Hotel on 22 July 2010....”

Written on: 26/07/2010

I stayed at the Slieve Donard Hotel on 22 July 2010. The food in the Percy French restaurant was excellent. My partner had duck, my son had the steak and I had lamb - all were delicious. The desserts were also very tasty - I would recommend the upside down apple sponge cake and my son would recommend the lumpy bumpy cake… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“During a recent trip to Newcastle myself my husband...”

Written on: 27/06/2010

During a recent trip to Newcastle myself my husband and 2 daughters called into what looks like a very nice cosy pub from outside for our dinner. When we sat at our table we were greeted by a waitress who very abruptly told us dinner isnt served until 6pm. (although according to the menu food is served all day) we had a look through our menus and i then found myself gong to find a highchair for our baby daughter. Despite at least 4 staff behind the bar or around the bar area no-one came… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Stayed at the Slieve Donard hotel this weekend and...”

Written on: 01/06/2010

Stayed at the Slieve Donard hotel this weekend and dined at Percy French, hoping for a relaxed and delicious meal with the lovely atmosphere of looking over the water, instead of the Hotel's Oak Room restaurant. The food and the service was terrible and the meal was overpriced (£77 for two mains, two desserts, and wine). Both mains (sirloin steak and duck) were overcooked and tasteless despite having been ordered medium. Desserts- were nearly inedible, the bramley apple cake was tasteless and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“boring bland plain over priced food ”

Written on: 30/12/2009

boring bland plain over priced food
the manager served my husband and I, he has terrible social skills let alone being a good host. It was as if he didnt give a rats a** about customer care.
overall very dissapointing!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Always eat in the Percy French when we visit Newcastle...”

Written on: 04/11/2009

Always eat in the Percy French when we visit Newcastle which I admit is only about once a year and have always found it enjoyable but on a recent visit they appear to have changed the layout of the actual restaurant and the tables are now clumped together in a corner giving a cafe like feel to it. Having said that we did enjoy the food although the staff seemed to be under pressure on a Monday evening and they forgot to bring our drinks altogether but didn't forget to put them on the bill. Bit… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“i think Percy French restaurant, Newcastle is a class...”

Written on: 23/09/2009

i think Percy French restaurant, Newcastle is a class in itself,the restaurant takes you in a different world all together,its so calm,peaceful and energising.
the quality of service have improved over last year,it is a wonderful restaurant,the food quality is awesome,and ambience is perfect for a romantic hangout.i would recommend it for sure… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Percy French, Newcastle - The service was really...”

Written on: 19/08/2009

Percy French, Newcastle - The service was really terrible... food was brought to us before drinks, the waiting staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. We gave up waiting on our desert as we found out the order hadn't been put through. Food was expensive for all you got. No atmosphere… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Very pleasing visit, would definitely recommend to...”

Written on: 26/03/2008 by Evo1 (1 review written)

Very pleasing visit, would definitely recommend to Friends. We were there over Easter and thought it was Brilliant. Curry & Freshly battered Cod was delicious!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“We had a meal in the Percy French restaurant in...”

Written on: 10/08/2007 by daveandjan (1 review written)

We had a meal in the Percy French restaurant in Newcastle on Wednesday 8th August. Whilst the exterior of the restaurant was inviting, the section where we were seated was ordinary to say the least. The food was of a reasonable quality; however, we were extremely disappointed by the quantity of food and resultant value for money. The setting of the restaurant is ideal in the picturesque town of Newcastle in the foothills of the Mourne Mountains. I would not however recommend this restaurant… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview