Halfords Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
739
18% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Halfords - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Halfords

Halfords

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Don't use them”

Written on: 26/08/2016

Halfords misdiagnosed my car and charged me for a part that didn't need doing, and passed my MOT even when my lightbulbs were not working. Don't use them. Customer service are also awful… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“PAID for FULL service but didn't get what i paid for !!!!!”

Written on: 16/08/2016 by Eliezer476 (1 review written)

Car serviced just under 3 weeks ago,paid for the full 69 check service,looked at car the other day and power steering fluid and brake fluid (i think) on minimum.i don't have a leak,these were NOT topped up !! Halfords have now topped up !! DISGRACEFULL DESERVES NO STARS !!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Unhappycanary's Comment

Written on: 22/08/2016

I have suffered terribly at the hands of Halfords. I made full complaint but unfortunately their CEO's office told me to get lost!!! Even though they appear to have now put this right for you, my advice for the benefit of the public would be to report this to Trading Standards. It is unlikely they would take further action in isolation but it would enable the intelligence to be logged on the system and this company's compliance with the law to be monitored.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“unbelievable ”

Written on: 14/08/2016 by King371 (1 review written)

The saga is ongoing after 3 weeks to date! My partner attended Oxford for two new tyres that were supplied from cartyres.com. The fitter attempting to remove the locking wheel nut broke it before claiming the nut was corroded. Three fitters then hammered at the locking wheel nut with chisels destroying the nut and the alloy wheel. This distressed my partner who was already anxious about the tyres having a pending MOT test booked for 2 days time. She was allowed to drive the vehicle away with… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Unhappycanary's Comment

Written on: 22/08/2016

Your experience at Oxford is not dissimilar to mine at Halfords Autocentre, Barker Street, Norwich. My car was in fine working order before it went in for a service & MOT and they totally damaged it causing 2 breakdowns in the space of days. I reported them to Trading Standards and have made the public aware. I am going to take the to court to recover losses and damages and make sure mainstream media are aware. I did try and deal with their call centre. They were abusive and failed to return calls. I then rang their CEO's office who did manage to get a very rude bully to call me back. He was so offensive that I tired of his behaviour and told him I would have to terminate the call. I called the CEO's office again but was basically told to "get lost" - I won't return to these rogue traders ever again but will make sure that their misconduct is pursued. If they can afford to treat and lose so many customers in this way - i.e. no repeat custom, it makes you wonder how excessive their margins are and how much the consumers are being ripped off - next time will take car to an honest independent small business.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Shockingly Disgraceful Experience”

Written on: 05/08/2016 by Aaroni156 (1 review written)

Had my car damaged and got ripped off by Halfords Autocentre, Barker Street, Norwich. Had no problems with my car before letting these people get their hands on it, afterwards several problems including needing to get RAC the next day due to smoke under the bonnet and toxic fumes in car caused by the breather pipe which they broke. Several other issues were also address in email complaint to them but they choose to fob me off. Do not allow your car anywhere this company… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Halfords autocentres are cheaters,Worst car&Customer...”

Written on: 05/08/2016 by fairreview1 (1 review written)

Worst experience at Halfords autocentres Housnslow. Don't go there if they have any cheap offers, that's the trick once you get your car there staff are trained to scratch issues and highlight them as priority to get money out of you. Customer service at headoffice is the worst if you have any complaint. Make sure you check all warning lights on your car before service. I got my car serviced and after the service many warning lights illuminated which were never there before. Staff argued with… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Unhappycanary's Response to fairreview1's Review

Written on: 05/08/2016

I could not agree more. As a customer at Halfords Autocentre, Barker Street, Norwich had an absolutely disgraceful experience. They inflated the price they had quoted when I arrived at the branch. They ripped me off to the tune of over £700 and additionally damaged my car which will be more cost. Day after taking car in for the service had to get the RAC to come out as Halfords had broken the breather pipe (they noted it on paperwork but failed to mention what they had done) and I now had a previously well running car with smoke under the bonnet and toxic fumes coming into the car. Have complained to Halfords Contact Centre but they chose to fob me off, fail to address the issue, lied to me in saying they would call me back but did not, and so am now taking further action.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“ shaing with 3rd partys”

Written on: 03/08/2016

Avoid, just used asdatryes, I refused to give them a number, guess why? They share your data without your knowledge or consent, 3rd party’s, there not criminals they tell you what they are doing, its in the micro print on the invoice, you need a torch and magnifying glass, you can write to them and ask them not to, but they autocratically do it anyway, "presumed consent" again. You brakes are Metal to Metal and your tyre is illegal, took it to another garage the pads have 1000 miles left… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Very Good Branch Assistant ”

Written on: 01/08/2016 by S17KHV (1 review written)

Hi all readers ...not used to leaving a review but I have to say the assistant at Halfords in Blackfen Rd Sidcup was of top service with explaining the products we were looking for with pros & cons & helped us decide what to buy & then served us at the till with great professionalism - this kind of service gives us the real confidence to come back to the same branch & feel assured to purchase items from here again. We needed to know what types of socket wrench sets suit us best & what worked… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Aintree liverpool centre ”

Written on: 28/07/2016 by Rachelsmith2017 (1 review written)

Wish I could give this place no stars but have to give something to review it!! Stay away from this garage if you don't want to be fooled by them paid in advance for my car to be mot'd and full service turned up at 8.30am to be told they can't do the service even though I paid upfront and that they could still do my mot but if it didn't pass then they wouldn't be able to do it today would have to come back in or leave the car surely this shouldn't happen they should leave enough time to do… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Utterly Utterly Useless”

Written on: 28/07/2016 by LandinFagan (1 review written)

Using the Halfords online booking and scheduling system I made a booking to have the aircon in my car recharged. When I arrived at the scheduled appointment I was told that in fact they could not recharge my aircon because their machine had broken. Something they'd been aware of for a while. Instead of not accepting online bookings or forwarding their bookings to another branch they advised me to contact other branches myself to try and find another that could do the job I had already booked… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“TERRIBLE UNSAFE SERVICES AINTREE”

Written on: 21/07/2016 by LouisSam (1 review written)

TERRIBLE UNSAFE SERVICES- I took my bike in to get a couple of things fixed. When i picked my bike up i was charged £94 which i was happy to pay as it needed a lot doing I seen that I had been charged for there Silver Service plus parts. Three days later while riding my bike my pedal snapped resulting in myself crashing, almost being ran over and causing injuries to myself. When checking the terms of my silver service it said that my pedals were checked for wear and tear. I took my bike in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“I was lied to by Halfords Banbury”

Written on: 15/07/2016

I was lied to about the discount I was getting on my service. I asked about the 20% summer discount and was told that the price I had paid was already discounted by 20% only to go online to see that I should have paid £40 less. Customer services then told me that there was nothing that could be done to help and I was forced to live with the higher price… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Apalling Customer Service”

Written on: 13/07/2016 by Paul1878 (1 review written)

I have never experienced customer service and attitude like this in my life. We were told blatant lies regarding the work that was said to have been carried out on our car. Please do not take your vehicle anywhere near a Halfords Autocentre, you will deeply regret it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Mot and sevice ”

Written on: 13/07/2016

Had car booked in for 8.30am for mot and service. Turned up at this time to be told no ramps available!car failed mot to work recently done here. Didn't get car back till late in afternoon and didn't get the 20 %summer discount on promotion summerservice either. Customer services center haven't called me regarding any of these issue's I have raised by email. Apart to say I got my car back! Unprofessional and incompetent… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad Service”

Written on: 08/07/2016 by AldoKidd455 (1 review written)

Booked a car in for full service online for 1.30 pm Saturday . Received a phone call Saturday morning, due to staff sickness unable to do service. Asked him to book in for next Saturday same time . Told unable to do full service if car booked for 1.30 pm. No such info online. Booked a car in for early morning Wednesday . Turned up to drop car in Wednesday morning. The guy could not find the paper work. The car was not booked in. Wasted half an hour for him to book the in again . After service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude”

Written on: 03/07/2016 by BrandonNoble (1 review written)

poor service. Rude unhelpful manager. How you keep your job is beyond me… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“service is terrible in halfords hounslow centre”

Written on: 01/07/2016 by Rahulbabbar93 (1 review written)

Last month i gave my car for service in halfords hounslow centre .. First of all service is very horrible nd they dont have good staff in hounslow halfords ..they charged me £400 for no reason then after they din't do any service even they dint fillup the coolant after service i got so many problems in my car ... Before service it was very nice ..i am very disappointed of their service ..i wasted my money and spoiled my car… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Great Customer Service Oldham”

Written on: 26/06/2016

Needed oil and window wash; young lady was extremely helpful, nothing too much trouble; even offered to put oil and window wash in for me. Great Customer Service would recommend… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“just want to say how impressed in your sales person...”

Written on: 26/06/2016 by bfPittman128 (1 review written)

just want to say how impressed in your sales person MATTY so helpful & professional me is ....kind regards....happy customer… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad customer service”

Written on: 18/06/2016 by wcNicholson437 (1 review written)

We went to farnborough halfords to buy a bicycle. I wanted to see one of the bicycle which was locked I went to search staff but the both of the guy was busy in the till. We waited for 45minutes so, even I waited in que then I just saw another staff coming to ask he asked one of the guy who was first in que he needs to fix something. That's totally fine and even I said him if he can just unlock one of the bicycle. But he was just waiting standing for his colleague to finish. I felt there… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sambora79's Comment

Written on: 24/06/2016

There is a reason for some bikes being locked up........ They are higher value usually and no one in their right mind would unlock and handover a bike if they can't spend the immediate time with them. Personally, due to how badly the review was written I would say you just like leaving negative reviews on large companies. Anyone with any sense wouldn't take note of your comments......... Retail is difficult especially when the customers outweigh in numbers the available members of staff. I wouldn't even get as far as the 45 minute wait, you can view details online and you would of seen the bike in the flesh so what's the issue? Click and collect available online so no excuses to losing a sale because you couldn't place an order. Just a moaner on a mission!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Free pads for life sorry but you needs new discs all round”

Written on: 17/06/2016 by PaulaJorgensen101 (1 review written)

Now I know why they are known as "Halfrauds". I had a service with the Chelmsford branch 2 years ago in which they allegedly changed the pads and discs all round and for this alone charged me £500. Don't worry you now have a pads for life guarantee they said. Two years on I took my car to the Romford branch as my front pads were thin. I asked them to replace them for free. They insisted on a "free brake test". Two hours later they called me to tell me that I needed pads and discs all around… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Robnelon4889's Comment

Written on: 19/06/2016

got the same experience with halfrauds in hyde. DON'T DON'T go to any halfrauds. i did the same and went to my local garage instead.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview