Halfords Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
694
18% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Halfords - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Halfords

Halfords

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Horrific and shouldn't be allowed near a wheelbarrow ”

Written on: 10/02/2016 by ShylaSnow (1 review written)

I would not allow halfords now anywhere near my bike, let alone my car again. They assumed that they could pull the wool over my eyes claiming that I needed new brakes at a cost of £700 in order to get an mot. As it turned out it had already passed its mot and they were merely fishing for more work. They also claimed that the lightbulb, fitted by their other store earlier in the day wasn't working so charged me for that as well. I will never set foot in halfords again. They lied to me and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Paint mixing service”

Written on: 10/02/2016 by PiperMcConnell (1 review written)

Required paint touchup for my little Mercedes A class.Spoke to 'Bal'@ halfords Oldbury,he got my paint code and made my paint in minutes.Advised me on related items to complete job,then showed me how best to to minor touchup repairs.Brilliant service Oldbury & big Thank You to Bal… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Communication and service terrible”

Written on: 07/02/2016 by Gunner24 (1 review written)

I made the mistake of having a puncture and using Guildford auto centre to fit my new tyres. I dropped the car off at 08.00 am and by 15.00 hrs the following day, the tyres had still not been fitted, this is despite using their online booking system. I had to ring them several times for an update, no communication or customer service by them at all. Then to add insult to injury, I found that Kwik Fit could do the job in one day and for a lot cheaper for the same tyres! … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Can i have a price please......”

Written on: 07/02/2016 by bbDuffy268 (1 review written)

would never go near these people, service over last couple of months shocking tried 4 times to get a price for some work to my sons car, tried both autocentres in Warrington never got a call back from both thanks for wasting my time… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Halfords tried to get me to pay for work that wasn't...”

Written on: 06/02/2016 by ouMacLeod83 (1 review written)

I booked my Mini into Halfords Autocentre in Acton for an MOT. Once finished I was told that my car had failed the MOT on two areas. Firstly a missing Wheel Arch Trim which had been stolen from my car and secondly because of a faulty TPMS. I was advised to have the wheel arch trim replaced which i agreed to. I was then told that I would need to replace all four of my standard tyres with run flat tyres in order to pass the MOT. I questioned why this wasn't the case the year before but was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“lights out good help”

Written on: 29/01/2016 by Braden1976 (1 review written)

we were really happy with the help we had, in cannock after problems with front lights,of car will go back again,keep up the good work well done… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“mot”

Written on: 25/01/2016 by haybob86 (1 review written)

As a young woman who has been wripped off in the past with my previous car which in the end was better scraping as had had enough I decided to go to halfords in aintree.Had the mot done and shock absorber leaking and needed replacing when the man explained to me this was usualy down to bumps in the road or mounting the kerb,all made sense as to get onto my drive I would daily mount the kerb. The work could not be carried out till the following Monday as they were so busy .they reassured me if I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“absolutely useless!!”

Written on: 20/01/2016 by laceyh (1 review written)

Awful service and clearly have not got a clue, sittingbourne auto centre "fixed my brakes" whilst doing mot..only they didnt fit the shoes properly destroying the drum, adjusters, sensors, shoes...shoes and drums completely jammed lots of damage and high cost...NEVER EVER USE THIS COMPANY!!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“web order (mountain bike)”

Written on: 19/01/2016 by Myah474 (1 review written)

Ordered a bike online payment taken within 30 mins of transaction. email from halfords within hour saying order on system. following morning had email order invoice saying payment taken and delivery date on or before 13 Jan 2016. no further contact since so on the 13th Jan called customer service who said first time no record of any order! second time found it but was through an approved partner so they would chase them. no reply so i cancelled order. they said refund would take 7-10 days to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“What free winter check? ”

Written on: 15/01/2016 by Barnesuo234 (1 review written)

Second time I've booked a winter check, received a confirmation email, drove there and was met with a look of utter confusion by their staff; Or told they're not sure when they fit me in today, tomorrow or any other day! Same happened today when I called- booked for 4pm and told they MIGHT be able to fit me in at 5:30. Don't you just hate it when companies offer services without following through?… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Shoddy service”

Written on: 14/01/2016 by Joeelmes (1 review written)

On my first time using them i had one tyre fitted to my Peugeot 107. I used an online company called cartyres.com. Even though I had booked my time slot for the tyre to be fitted I had to wait about 1hr 30mins for it to be done. After driving home I found the handling of the car wasn't great so when I got home I wanted to move the tyre from the front to the back. All I had to remove the wheel was the spare wheel socket wrench. I found 3 of the bolts on the wheel, which I had just had the new… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful Service at Hemel Hempstead Autocentre”

Written on: 12/01/2016 by Sstevemca (1 review written)

My son took his car in for a service & MOT at 8.30 in the morning. We were told it would take 4 hours. A day later we still don't have the car back. Awful service - avoid at all costs… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Massive rip off”

Written on: 06/01/2016

AVOID Halfords Autocentre Coventry at all costs. When I needed new brake pads and discs I was quoted £130 by the lady on the phone but when they had my car they quoted £480! They refused to give me a break down of costs of parts and labour saying that they don't give quotes over the phone so I had got it wrong and had a 'couldn't give a damn'attitude. I took my car to a local independent garage who did it for £290 and who were helpful and polite. Wouldn't recommend Halfords Autocentre. They… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“major service at autocentre ashford”

Written on: 17/12/2015 by c180 (1 review written)

On the 23rd November I booked a major service on my c180 mercedes, at the autocentre in Ashford Kent. It also needed front brake discs and a thermostat,total cost was £527.69 which I thought a little excessive,but I paid up. The following day the engine management light came on,so I took it back and they said it was because the airbox was left off when they started it, they told me they had reset it and it would be fine, the light came back on before i got out of the car park! I went back in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“ don't know what they are doing or just can't be bothered”

Written on: 14/12/2015 by WayneCraig (1 review written)

It was a Sunday afternoon and I went Halfords in Coventry as my car notified me that there was a "parking light failure" I wen to Halfords to purchase the bulb and get it fitted. The lady at the till said she would get someone to check which bulb it was. She told me to pull into the fitting area and someone would check. Her colleague came over to the car and told me that the light was working then he said oh no its not then he said it's working again. He then told me that there was a fault… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Nothing but lies ”

Written on: 14/12/2015 by Guthrie172 (1 review written)

I took my wife's car in because she had a puncture. If I had taken the advice I was given the bill would have been over £1000. They told me all 4 tyres were defective due to crazing. The power steering pump pipe was leaking, the rear diff had no oil in and could pack up anytime. It needed a new battery as the car did not turn over quickly enough when it was started and indicated the battery was on its way out. Little did they know it was only 4 months old. The car has a full service history… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Another service above and beyond the call of duty”

Written on: 13/12/2015 by tkReid392 (1 review written)

For the second time we have received amazing and helpful personal service from the team at Cheapside in Brighton. We arrived needing a missing bolt and left in a few minutes with a complimentary fix. Friendly folks, great customer relations. Will recommend this branch to everyone… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Pickup MOT”

Written on: 11/12/2015 by Potteruq251 (1 review written)

For some reason my pickup was showing on the system as a class 7 vehicle, for this reason my local garage could not test it. After speaking to the "manager" at my local Halfords MOT station, and reading the details stated on the website I took my pickup for MOT here, they state both class 4 & 7 vehicles are not an issue and can be tested. The vehicle was booked in for 16:00 and I was asked to be a little early - no problem! Arrived 15:45, waited around until 16:30!! To have the "manager" come… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“MOT rip off ”

Written on: 03/12/2015 by Lorrainebevan (1 review written)

My son is 21 and at Uni in York , he took his car for an MOT into Halfords as we thought he would be looked after as it was his first experience . They kept the car for most of the day and failed the MOT due to a 'corroded ' brake pipe and was told to expect to pay £500 to fix it to pass the MOT . He came home For the weekend and my husband wire wooled the 'rust' off the supposed corroded pipe and took it for an MOT to a local garage where it passed after a minor adjustment to a different… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgraceful Service from Hafords”

Written on: 03/12/2015

I would like to apologise firstly to the reader for the length of my review, but I think that it is important that you consider my experience before choosing Halfords to attempt any work on your vehicle. Before I start, I think that it would also be prudent for the reader to carefully look this article on how Halfords have been fined £47,000 by the Office of Fair Trading for missing 11 out of 20 faults on a defective car. In case my review is not clear enough, my advice to you is: DO NOT USE… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview