Halfords Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
18% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Halfords - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Halfords

Halfords

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“POOR SERVICE AND COMMUNICATION”

Written on: 03/03/2015 by phartley (1 review written)

I never write reviews but felt that the last 2 visits to my local Halfords Autocentre were so poor that it was vital to write a review in the hope that service standards and communication can improve. I run my own driving school so I know how important good performance has to be. Last August I needed the wheel alignment adjusting and the handbrake tension tightened. They did the job but the alignment was so poor that I had to put opposite lock on to drive in a straight line and had to take… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful service”

Written on: 03/03/2015 by sanil (1 review written)

I did my service at Halfords Autocenter in High Road, Ilford, London. Please avoid this garage as they are cheats and they don't check anything even the brakes and I ended up in visiting another garage to fix my brakes 1 months after I changed my brake pads. They used the cheapest pads and it was loose fitted, causing the brake drum got damaged and was making squeeky noice. Another rip off is that they charged me £25 for Fully Synthetic oil change but they used cheap normal oil. I don't… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“No new radio”

Written on: 01/03/2015 by Muhammad279 (1 review written)

I bought a radio and speakers for my car and got an appointment to have the equipment installed. On the day I drove 45 minutes to the store only to be told they coulldn't install because it was raining. Given new appointment. Drove down in sparking sunshine. Wrong equiment had been supplied and ordered, no installation possible because three drops of rain had fallen on an otherwise dry day. Staff was underequipped, e.g. no pens were supplied to staff, they were uneducated about the products and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“avoid the BRIDGEND depot (south wales)”

Written on: 24/02/2015 by alancee (1 review written)

Must be the worst customer service i have ever experienced anywhere in the world ! halfords bridgend (south wales) booked in my car for re-test and was told by the manager it would be 1 hour on a sat morning ,so booked the time off work , arrived to a halfords employee (damien) who was simply dis-intrested and vague to say the least , i confirmed 1 hour work , went away and came back 3 hours later and car had not been moved ? spoke to damien and was more intrested in a private phone call ?,was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Click & Collect overcharging”

Written on: 19/02/2015 by Plank902 (2 reviews written)

Recently I reserved 4 individually packed spark plugs on the halfords website to collect in store. When I arrived at the store I was told the individually packed spark plugs were not available. My only option was to purchase a 4 pack of the exact same item for twice the total price. Halfords were not willing to honour the price I was promised online nor did they try and resolve my official complaint. Please keep in mind when reserving items on the Halford's website that you may be charged more… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Extremely Helpful Staff”

Written on: 19/02/2015 by stelnica (1 review written)

I ecently purchased a bicycle fro Halfords and took it to the Torre (Torquay) store for it's free 6 week service. I was delighted with how easy the process was. The Duty Manager couldn't have been more helpful. My wife has now ordered a bicycle as well! Thank you for your help… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“service and mot”

Written on: 15/02/2015 by htrigg (1 review written)

Booked my ford KA in for a interim service plus mot; after 2hrs got a phone call telling me my car had leaked brake fluid all over the garage floor from the rear brake cylinder and i needed new brake shoes drum and cylinder and it would cost £290 I told them not to do the work, the assistant was taken back cause i didn't want the work done told him just to finish the service and mot off. After another 3hrs went to collect the car to find out it had passed its mot (how if its leaking brake… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Untrustworthy liars”

Written on: 14/02/2015 by GFUNK20 (12 reviews written)

Halfords Loughborough! I was booked in for a service (booked online) turned up handed keys over went for lunch with family across the road my car in full view of were I parked it, 2 and a half hours later car hadn't moved, when I returned back I questioned the assistant as to why my car hadn't moved despite a 1.00pm appointment he told me it had been half completed they just had to move the car back to car park as they had "an emergency" I politly pointed out my car had not been moved I've been… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Complete joke - rely on naive drivers”

Written on: 10/02/2015 by lb1991 (1 review written)

Took my car for a clutch inspection. I thought that it was free, so why not? I got a call back telling me the following: - The clutch needed replacing - All 4 tyres were at legal limit - Brake fluid needed replacing - Anti-freeze needed replacing This came to about £477 in all. I had topped up the brake fluid just a week before. I wasn't prepared to pay that price, but at the same time I wanted to keep my car. So I took it to another garage owned by a man who does repairs to vans for the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Untrustworthy”

Written on: 08/02/2015

I took my car for a free brake test. This was advertised as comprehensive, including front pads, rear shoes, handbrake linkages and calipers. I was told all my brakes were fine and given the measurements of the front and rear pads/shoes. However, there was play in the front arms so I agreed £150 to have that done. While there I noticed an advert for a service and MOT for £99. To cut a long story short, I ended up with a bill for £580 which included numerous additives and special oil. The… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely dreadful ”

Written on: 02/02/2015 by McIntyreyo1980 (1 review written)

So I had my MOT carried out today at one of the Halfords garages. I had my car checked a week ago by my partner, who is a mechanic. He told me the only issue would be the fact my front passenger tyre was getting slightly worn, HOWEVER it was above the legal limit and would pass. So I took my car to Halfords and dropped it off. An hour later I got a call stating that the car had failed on the basis that the rear break pads were worn and one wasn't working at all. As well as this my rear centre… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Halfords Autocentre, Portsmouth”

Written on: 02/02/2015 by TarynShepherd236 (1 review written)

Sadly a bad experience at the Halfords Autocentre at Fratton, Portsmouth today (31st Jan 2015) Booked an interim service and oil change and suddenly received a phone call telling me the brake pads and discs needed replacement. Didn't take up advice as the car is fitted with wear sensors and no lights were on the dash. Now comes the important part, please check your vehicle when you collect it. After I drove the car home I decided to wash it, I dis covered damage to a wheelnut and marks on the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish for tyres”

Written on: 01/02/2015 by gunit20021 (1 review written)

Order a mid range set of tyres on line, got fitted a set of never heard of makes that were after googling the worst efficieny & wet grip rating out there. Eventually found the same at some other no name website £60 than the ones I paid for. Complained and was told they'd order the correct ones and let me know when I could get the correct ones fitted, that was 4 days ago and about a dozen phone calls from me & they still can't tell me when the corect tyres will be available. They could have… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“brand new engine”

Written on: 31/01/2015 by StevefromSandon (1 review written)

Had a new engine fitted in Coventry, for four days did not call the warranty company, I had to pay for car hire, when I had a problem with the engine after 2 months was told I had to go back to them or warranty void, then told there was a mileage limit , when asked where this information is written, I was told it is our policy. Why do I have to return to them for service etc, even on a new car I can go where I please, I feel totally frustrated by their attitude. I was told call your… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Tried to rip me off!! avoid”

Written on: 31/01/2015 by Monroehm260 (1 review written)

Took my car into have work done on the brakes quoted me £440. Took my car back off them and told them to forget it. The man in the reception area got all sarcastic because I was not prepaired to be ripped off by them. Great customer service I don't think. Eventually got the same work done privately for £100. Tells you all you need to know doesn't it?… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Efficient and fast ”

Written on: 30/01/2015 by RowanGriffen39 (3 reviews written)

I called the store and asked about the right spray paint colour code I needed for my car. The staff member who answered my call was very courteous. He told me the shade I needed was not in their shelf, so it had to be mixed. It only took a few minutes, so I did not wait for a long time. He also gave me some advice on how to properly apply the paint. Great service! … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible service and very unprofessional ”

Written on: 29/01/2015 by Glennq1982 (1 review written)

I had a service carried out early January but could not believe how unprofessional the so called mechanics are, they tested the brakes on a seat Leon by driving / screeching back and forth in the test centre ,were messing around by the ramp whilst another was trying to put a car on it and then tried claiming that my headlights were out of alignment and it would cost £20 to correct it,I refusrd and subsequently found out Is the easiest trick in the book, renault checked them the following day… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Great Friendly Service ”

Written on: 28/01/2015 by AdenWhite38 (3 reviews written)

Everytime I visit Halfords, I always expect to receive a fast friendly service and I get it all the time. Their products are what the company claims to be. The staff is also helpful and friendly. Someone is always ready to help you when you step inside their office. One of the things I love about the company is the prices of their products. It’s reasonably priced, so if even if you’re on a budget, you can always get what you need from Halfords. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“ON THE 26/01/14 TOOK MY BMW 320D FOR A MOT AND SERVICE...”

Written on: 27/01/2015 by Estrella246 (1 review written)

ON THE 26/01/14 TOOK MY BMW 320D FOR A MOT AND SERVICE GOT INVOICE FOR THE MOT IT HAD REQUIRED REAR BRAKE PADS CONDITION AMBER COST £125.72 THEN I SAID TO MY SELF THESE CARS HAVE SENSORS ON THEM I DO NOT NEED TO CHANGE THEM SO I LEFT THEM ONE YEAR LATER I BOOKED THE MOT AGAIN AND I WAS SHOCKED AT THE INVOICE THE SAME THING HAPPENED BUT THIS TIME IT HAD THE FRONT BRAKE PADS AND REAR PADS AND MY TYRES N/S FRONT EDGE WORN O/S FRONT EDGE WORN N/S REAR TYRE WORN TO LEGAL LIMIT MY LOCAL GARAGE… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Good Customer Service ”

Written on: 27/01/2015 by EmilioHensen95 (3 reviews written)

Halfords has loads of negative reviews on this site, but my experience with them has been nice. I noticed rust forming underneath the paint of my tool cabinets and upon a closer look, I found out that the inside interior hadn’t been completely painted. According to Halfords, the tool cabinet has a lifetime guarantee as long as it was not misused, but they would have to inspect it. I expected a simple brush off, but the staff replaced my cabinet with a new one! Great customer service! … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview