Halfords Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
628
18% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Halfords - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Halfords

Halfords

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“Scare tactics and over inflated quotes”

Written on: 27/05/2015 by Donovanez135 (1 review written)

I bought a new (to me) car and decided to take it to Halfords for a service. They flagged up a number of "urgent" issues with the suspension, engine and brakes. They implied the car was unsafe and wouldn't pass an MOT. They quoted over £1200 to get the car back up to scratch. I thought this did not sound right so I went elsewhere for a second opinion. The second garage said the car was 'sound' and only needed the front brakes at a cost of £200. They could find none of the other faults… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful Overpriced and Lazy”

Written on: 21/05/2015 by RuthKelly487 (1 review written)

After booking my car in online clearly describing I needed my two front tyres taking off and re-sealing as air was escaping from the rims of the wheels and a new cambelt was required, I took my car into Halfords in Altrincham and was told they would call me as soon as it was ready to collect. I dropped the car off at 9am and by 4pm decided to see what was going on, only to be told what needed to be done to my car. So in other words.........my car had sat there all day and they hadn't done a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible”

Written on: 18/05/2015 by Justineq368 (1 review written)

Halfords Auto centre Stafford Lichfield road, where do I start, I had my car in January 2014 Halfords foxed my radiator no problems very pleased, so decided to take my car there from now on, in October 2014 my catalytic converter failed and track rod ends and brakes needed replacing, they fitted a duff catalytic converter and replaced my brakes and put no copper slip on them so they squealed badly, and 3 months later my track rod ends are knocking once again. In January 2015 my cat fails once… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“A warm and friendly welcome,from an excellent garage.”

Written on: 15/05/2015 by Jaliyahm211 (1 review written)

My daughter and I get our cars mot'd at halfords and find their service excellent.When you go inside,you are given a warm and friendly welcome,that's says a lot in this day and age, I would definately recommend this garage,If your looking for a new garage to take your car to.Use Halfords trostre park Llanelli… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“poor at best”

Written on: 14/05/2015 by yiBarr356 (1 review written)

Took my car in for service, MOT and wheel alignment, picked the car up, and the service indicator light was still on, the service book wasn't even stamped and the wheel was still out of alignment. Asked if they had actually touched my car and was told the had just forgot to do all those things! WOW!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“MOT”

Written on: 08/05/2015 by Pughdz172 (1 review written)

I took my car for an MOT to Halfords in Yeovil, Somerset, as they were only the local business who could do it at short notice. Mechanically I knew the car was sound, although I was a bit concerned about some rust of the OS sills. Anyway, i dropped my car off there and returned two hours later to be told the car had failed its MOT, with the rust of the sills as the main culprit, but also track rod ends, roll bars, brakes, and a few other items. He also handed me a 3 page list of advisories. Yes… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“DVD player broken rude staff”

Written on: 04/05/2015 by Griffin-Altwa37 (1 review written)

Brought a nextbase DVD player for my daughter to watch on long trips in the car at first was brilliant she loved watching her peppa pig etc but after a month does not stop skipping and stopping a nightmare because now she keeps asking daddy I want peppa pig every 2 minutes!! Anyway took it back in too shop gravesend where the man at till was very rude saying nothing can be done he will have to send it off but thinks that my daughter probably had done something to it,which is impossible as it is… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Cost of fitting bulbs ”

Written on: 28/04/2015 by Connie12 (1 review written)

It's disgusting that you cost more to fit a bulb than what it is to purchase one. I needed two brake lights and one main beam bulbs fitted so I went to halfords. It cost me £17 to have them fitted and only £15 to buy. You need to look at your costings because you are ripping off the customers. I will be looking for someone else to fit them in future. I used to be able to do it myself but now I'm disabled I can't replace them myself and having to pay more for fitting than the cost of the bulb… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“rudeness of a member of staff”

Written on: 25/04/2015 by SethDoherty291 (1 review written)

Had a major service done a few weeks ago, contacted Halfords autocentre today as have a grinding noise when breaking, they man on the phone stated he was too busy today could I bring it in another day for a free brake check , I said there was 3 appointments on there website for this afternoon and he said there might be but I'm busy, then said if I could get the car to him he would have a look at some point but need to leave it all day, I said not to worry as this was not possible as there was a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“car service”

Written on: 19/04/2015 by Pattni (1 review written)

Halfords Intermittent service schedule states 49 items to be checked. No written list of items checked is provided for customer and inspite of various written communication and acknowledged by Halfords of receipt of my email I have no proof thus I have no trust that their listed items were actioned...... avoid or seek legal document for peace of mind… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“employee stealing work?”

Written on: 12/04/2015 by Beck1 (1 review written)

i recently visited the Salisbury branch of Halfords to purchase some service items for my car. The employee that i was dealing with told me he could get the parts cheaper than Halfords sold them for and also he was a trained Mercedes mechanic and could do the service for me for a reasonable price. I declined his offer and just paid for my service items and left. I felt that if this person could stab his employer in the back, what kind of mechanic could he be? not very trustworthy i guess. It… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Never ever visit them.”

Written on: 09/04/2015 by schozab (2 reviews written)

My car's coolant hose/pipe went off from one side during my journey (Around mid March 2015), since i was covered by AA for repairs if AA cannot fix it at the spot, so they dropped my car off to Halfords Northbridge Road, Doncaster, South Yorkshire DN5 9AN. Next day i visited Halfords to get more details (like how long will it take, anything else effected etc), i instructed them especially to check head gasket which might have got effected because of overheating as a result. Each day during… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor attitude”

Written on: 09/04/2015 by Brice118 (1 review written)

On the website the opening hours showed from 0800 but the door was locked at 8.30.. I queried this and was told they opened at 0830. I sad that I needed a replacement part for my car and for an estimate of the cost for this and fitting. The attitude of the person behind the desk was very offhand, unhelpful and off putting. He said I could leave the car there for the day, they were very busy and couldn't say when they could fit it in . I have used halfords in cheltenham and been really impressed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“I'm glad I didn't listen to these reviews.”

Written on: 08/04/2015 by davesoton (1 review written)

I nearly cancelled my service at the Autocentre in Millbrook after reading the reviews yesterday. I'm glad I didn't, the service was excellent as was the price. I dropped the car off 2 hours before my appointment, it was completed within 3 hours. I checked the car for certain things such as the greasing of doors, fluid checks etc and all had been completed. The staff were friendly, not the usual grunting I'm used too from garages. Looking at the reviews below this may be the exception… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Mask and swag bag!”

Written on: 07/04/2015 by Pieman1980 (1 review written)

Took my car for an mot failed on all pads and discs! Hmm strange heard that before somewhere on here! Tyres where all just above legal limit hmm strange that rings a bell too! Quote given for replace all discs and and pads was £1132 lol then another £300 for 3 new tyres! Shocked I decided to snatch the keys out there hands and go to another mot station to find it passed with 2 advisorys front pads close to legal limit and 1 tyre slightly balding! Halfords are just a bunch of robbing so and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“car battery”

Written on: 02/04/2015 by Jorge209 (1 review written)

Needed a new battery for my car the sales assistant said would I like to have it fitted for £10 as he started to replace the battery I could see was clueless broke one of clips that holds on the battery cover I ended up showing and telling him how to do the job… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Disappointing”

Written on: 31/03/2015 by modfather1985 (1 review written)

Took my car in as I had previously spoken with a member of staff about my washer not working. I am very inexperienced in these matters and explained the situation and was told that 'changing the motor will fix it' as that is usually the problem. When I finally got to the autocentre some time after, the price I was quoted was wrong but in fairness upheld. I was also told that it could be a number of different problems and to actually check would mean doing a diagnostic and then fixing the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“DONT EVEN THINK ABOUT HALFORDS”

Written on: 27/03/2015 by Staffordjv404 (1 review written)

HALFORDS ARE NOT HONEST, NO THEY ARE VERY DISHONEST , CHEATING MERCHANT , RIPPING OF People THEY QUOTED £350 for an alternator for my renault in halfords SCARBOROUGH, GET MY CAR IN AS I GOT RECOVERED BY AA AFTER A BREAKDOWN AND AS SOON AS THEY KNEW I HAVE AN INSURANCE TO COVER MY BREAKDOWN THEN THEY WANTED £750 FOR THE REPAIR AND THEY TRAPPED ME AS THEY KNEW THAT THE INSURANCE COVER WILL BE INVALID IF I GO TO A SECOND GARAGE AND AFTER WASTING TOO MUCH TIME ON ARGUMENTS THEY DISCOUNTED £100… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“absolutely usless”

Written on: 27/03/2015 by dike (1 review written)

Catford auto centre. book my nissan in..My car sat outside the whole day no inspection even carried out..i made 2 call to the idiot's and on both occasions told me my car would be finished ..ended up just ccollecting my car with no wrk done..no rebook just we are busy..pls dont take your cars there… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Car Battery Replacement- Outstanding Service!”

Written on: 26/03/2015 by welshwebber (1 review written)

I had my car battery replaced at the Balham High Road branch today. They were excellent. The fitting was carried out quickly, they were kind enough to explain what they were doing- I felt as though the service went above and beyond what one might expect for a £10 charge. My experience of Halfords Balham has now been excellent based on several different visits for different reasons- keep up the good work guys!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview