Halfords Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
782
17.4% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Halfords - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Halfords

Halfords

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“A complete shambles ”

Written on: 21/06/2017 by ahWade1976 (1 review written)

Absolutely disgusted with this garage; they got my booking wrong, did not fix the problem, phoned in sick the next day and then my vehicle wouldn't start as they had left the ignition on all night and drained the battery. They need to sort out their staffing issues; those that were there the next day felt overwhelmed and stressed. They did their best, but with the complete absence of paperwork there was nothing they could do to help me… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Wouldnt recomend them to my worst Enemy!”

Written on: 06/05/2017 by haHolman1987 (1 review written)

Popped in to get an MOT done due to my normal Garages MOT bay being upgraded. It failed, that didn't surprise me as something popped on the NS control arm on the way to the test. The replaced the arm for what they told me was a Ford part, it wasn't, it was some rubbish aftermarket part. They also didn't torque up the bolts correctly leaving the front bolt dangerously loose. To top it off they added an advisory to my MOT based on nothing at all, it now looks like there is a problem when there… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Hopeless & Incompetent”

Written on: 16/04/2017 by Figueroazj355 (1 review written)

My son's car was recently booked in for an MOT at Solihull's 'Lode Lane' branch, and what a complete shambles it turned out to be. When the car was duly dropped off I was told it would be about an hour and I would get a phone call when ready. After two hours of kicking my heels, with no phone message whatsoever, I went back to collect my car and was shocked to be told the MOT hadn't been done! The excuse was that because I had not given them a remote control key, the tester was unable to get… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Great Service!”

Written on: 13/04/2017 by Suetpud (1 review written)

Went to get a new rear bulb for my car and it was sorted out and fitted within a few moments. Oh - I can't mention any names but the great service was provided by M, whose name rhymes with cat!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Great can do attitude”

Written on: 20/03/2017 by JaniyaDrake (1 review written)

I had a broken tail light went in yesterday. Not in stock but they ordered it. Came the same day. I went to get it this morning and asked if they could fit it. Cost me £5 and 5 mins . Thank you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Cambelt Replacement - Caveat Emptor”

Written on: 19/03/2017 by nsmckaprice (0 reviews written)

My letter to Halfords and their reply ------------------------------------------- I have just had my Cambelt replaced by a local independent mechanic. On completing the work he phoned to tell me that on the Cambelt he was replacing “the diesel injection pump was 1 tooth out on the timing belt”. This of course means nothing to me but presumably does to you. This previous Cambelt was fitted by Halfords Autocentre Canterbury in August 2011 (see enclosed documentation). Various concerns… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“THANK YOU HALFORDS”

Written on: 02/03/2017 by TrippMerritt (1 review written)

My car failed an MOT inspection at a well known company in Liverpool for various reasons. The vehicle has a full service history and hasn't had any previous problems. Puzzled by the MOT result I arranged to have further checks made at my local garage and at HALFORDS. Having established that there were no faults on my vehicle I booked MOT at HALFORDS rather than allow an MOT retest by the garage that had failed it. At the time HALFORDS were carrying out MOT inspection on my vehicle, HALFORDS… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“avoid”

Written on: 27/02/2017

my Vauxhall had broken down so aa took my car to Halfords Bradford, they did the work that aa had advised them but after a week I get the car back and if it wasn't winter and needed the heat on in the car I wouldn't have know it wasn't working so I took the car back to Halfords and they took it in and I picked up next day and they tried to blame me for it not working and told me the heating will start to work after 5 days well it hasn't so I took it back also tell them that the problem I had in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“mot ”

Written on: 26/02/2017 by 168Hay (1 review written)

took my car for a mot at enfield DO NOT USE fail it rear brakes and headlight beam to high was quoted over £340 for repairs took to independent garage who cleanded the and unseized the shoes and did the headlight beam £30 i will never use these rip of people again also said rear suspension corroded but nothing wrong with it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Very very bad service”

Written on: 20/02/2017 by Herndonvs3 (1 review written)

I booked my vehicle online into Newbury branch for an MOT at 4pm. I arrived on time and was told there was no MOT tester after 4pm. I drove 19 miles each way to get MOT done. They had both my mobile number and home number but could not be bothered either ringing me or phoning to say the MOT could not be done. The guy on the desk would not say sorry on behalf of his company. I was told it was a "Hard office" problem… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Lost me as a customer. For good.”

Written on: 19/02/2017 by deVance1981 (1 review written)

I've asked for change of oil on my SAAB. I asked what time would be convenient for them, they said bring the car 9am. When I brought the car 5 min before 9, it transpired they have no idea when my car would be ready. "when the car is ready we will call you" was no good for me. I explained that I expected to wait for the change of oil for an hour or so as I had other things to do and because I was told to bring the car at 9am I planned to use the car during the day. They said this is not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgraceful Service”

Written on: 11/02/2017 by 292White (1 review written)

I took my car to Halfords for a free brake check. They didn't ring me to let me know the result. I rang them 10 mins before the garage shut and they guy stated that he'd ring me back in five minutes with a quote. I heard nothing. I rang the next day and they quoted me £280 to change the right brake disc and pad. I rang ATS and they quoted me £160 to change both the left and right brake pads and discs as one should not be done without the other - as this is dangerous and could cause you to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Ew”

Written on: 11/02/2017 by Samirg78 (1 review written)

I was heartbroken to find the hammer I purchased was actually a screwdriver… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Cant avoid damage to Alloys Lacquer Seal apparantly”

Written on: 07/02/2017

One month before going to Halfords to have all 4 tyres on my Range Rover Sport renewed I had the Alloys completely refurbished to a high standard, they looked fabulous. On picking up my car from Halfords, all 4 alloy wheels were damaged to some degree or other, the front two particularly bad. When confronting the manager " couldn't possible be there fault, can we have his bosses name..NO" anything but helpful or customer friendly. When complaining to Halfords response was "I have reviewed the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dreadful service at Halfords in Wakefield”

Written on: 04/02/2017 by hillyjr (2 reviews written)

For some years used this garage and I trusted them to give me a good service, how wrong could I be. I am in my 60's and know nothing but the very basic when it come to my car. So when they told me I needed some welding and leaking w a t e r which needed attention, I was quoted over £500, and agreed, the work was done in 2015. So in 2016 when I was told welding was needed again and at the suggestion of my son I got a second opinion. I took the car to Spencer and Broadhead. When they put… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dreadful service at Halfords in Wakefield”

Written on: 04/02/2017 by hillyjr (2 reviews written)

For some years used this garage and I trusted them to give me a good service, how wrong could I be. I am in my 60's and know nothing but the very basic when it come to my car. So when they told me I needed some welding and leaking w a t e r which needed attention, I was quoted over £500, and agreed, the work was done in 2015. So in 2016 when I was told welding was needed again and at the suggestion of my son I got a second opinion. I took the car to Spencer and Broadhead. When they put… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Poor service”

Written on: 25/01/2017 by mrdinshaw (1 review written)

Took my car to Swansea branch for repairs, which cost nearly £500. Washed my car a few days later and find all the wheel arch covers missing and marks on the paintwork from brake fluid. Won't be going back to them… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“MOT failure that should of passed.”

Written on: 23/01/2017 by TonyButterworth (1 review written)

I went for mot at Halfords Speke Liverpool. They failed it on n/s/r reflector missing, & o/s door mirror indicator repeater in-op. I rang vosa they told me if rear lamp is reflective Which it is, pass & advise reflector missing, and if front lamp raps around wing which it does pass & advise repeater. Went back Halfords testing station. Still would not pass. Not happy keep clear of Halfords Speke. Car is 59 plate Skoda Octavia… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Woeful service at Halfords Cheadle”

Written on: 16/01/2017

Ordered a cycle to work bike through Halfords. Someone from the store called me while they were building the bike to explain that there was a scratch on the bike that they would repair and offer me £90 off as compensation. This was acceptable to me until I actually got to the store to see that the 'scratch' was actually multiple deep gouges along the top tube (not saleable in my opinion). I rejected a bike and they prepared another one for the next day. Went back to see the bike that they… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“new tyre and tube ”

Written on: 15/01/2017 by loot007 (1 review written)

Iv use Halfords for my family's bikes 8 times in 12 months.it about £1 min to change a inner tube or tyer (not cheap) but wouldn't sell mw new nuts for wheels as the only come if I buy the rims ??? REALLY YOU LET YOURSELVES DOWN ,I'LL BE CHANGING MYSELF FROM NOW ON ,OUT OF PRINCIPLE… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview