Halfords Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
764
17% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Halfords - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Halfords

Halfords

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Woeful service at Halfords Cheadle”

Written on: 16/01/2017

Ordered a cycle to work bike through Halfords. Someone from the store called me while they were building the bike to explain that there was a scratch on the bike that they would repair and offer me £90 off as compensation. This was acceptable to me until I actually got to the store to see that the 'scratch' was actually multiple deep gouges along the top tube (not saleable in my opinion). I rejected a bike and they prepared another one for the next day. Went back to see the bike that they… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“new tyre and tube ”

Written on: 15/01/2017 by loot007 (1 review written)

Iv use Halfords for my family's bikes 8 times in 12 months.it about £1 min to change a inner tube or tyer (not cheap) but wouldn't sell mw new nuts for wheels as the only come if I buy the rims ??? REALLY YOU LET YOURSELVES DOWN ,I'LL BE CHANGING MYSELF FROM NOW ON ,OUT OF PRINCIPLE… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“MOT failure - Charging for parts and work not required”

Written on: 04/01/2017 by FrankButcher (1 review written)

I had my car booked in for an MOT at the Southampton Queensway centre on the 3rd Jan 2017. The car was failed on three points, a slit tyre, seat belt buckle not working and parking brake imbalanced. Halfords quoted me a minimum price of £460 to replace parts and investigate the brake issue. For the belt buckle I asked for a breakdown of the costings, the response didn't fill me with any confidence so when i was given a silly price for a tyre I told them I would simply collect my car without… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Snapped nut during repair and glued back in.. ”

Written on: 01/01/2017

Used Manchester service centre to replace alternator. Cost over £400. 18 months later alternator fails again. 12000 miles or 12 month warranty. Took it to local garage and they found a snapped bolt that had been stuck back in with silicone. Avoid halfords auto centres at all costs… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Unexplained Damage to the Vehicle”

Written on: 19/12/2016 by KylaOrtega1973 (1 review written)

The rear nearside panel of my vehicle was dented while in the care of Halfords Autocentre for a full service. There was no damage to the vehicle prior to dropping it off (the car was very dirty and so I cleaned the rear light clusters that morning). Unfortunately, I did not inspect the vehicle on site after the service but drove it straight home (without incident) and only noticed the damage when unloading the car. There is a horizontal creased dent with a residual yellow paint mark… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Advised to have work done which wasn't required”

Written on: 15/12/2016

Took my car to have a full service and to also check my breaks and pads. Whilst my car was on the ramp I received a phone call to advise me that my drums where at an amber status and needed replacing asap. Asked how much this was going to cost. 'It's not going to be cheap, couple of drums and labour, £350ish' I asked, so what about my disks and pads, are they okay. To which he replied 'yes they are fine'. I told him I didn't want him to do the work, just to do the full service. Called my local… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Money Taken from my account”

Written on: 07/12/2016 by ujOrtega281 (1 review written)

I had my car MOT'd on 15th November, at the branch in Hemel Hempstead. it just about passed as my brakes were very worn. I had them replaced at an independent dealer, as the cost comparison was over £100.00. The staff at the branch were very friendly and it didn't take very long to complete. My problem started after the service. Halfords debited £29.99 from my account on 30th November, after having my MOT done on 15th November, which I paid £35.00. After various emails they have agreed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“ATTROCIOUS SERVICE FROM AN UNTRAINED 2HOURS DELAY.”

Written on: 04/12/2016 by Strickland259 (1 review written)

I was very disappointed by the very poor level of skill displayed by Halfords staff ,I had to wait two hours in very cold conditions for work which should have been completed on my arrival. No apology was offered and it was not clear why there had been delay. No service invoice was provided owing to a fault in the system. I brought the car in at 9,00am Saturday and they carried out MOT at around 11.00 so on my arrival back at the garage at 4.00 pm it was on the ramp . The guy responsible for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“faulty stereo ”

Written on: 29/11/2016 by StephenBowden (1 review written)

Manager of halfords bury was very helpful. As soon as I told her that I had a problem she told me bring in my receipt and they would do an exchange. The day I took my receipt in the stereo was changed in the hour excellent service would definitely recommend thank you to the staff at halfords bury greater Manchester… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Winter Health Check”

Written on: 29/11/2016 by Pagedj86 (1 review written)

Halford's in Loughborough provided me with excellent support and advice when the engine oil light in my car started flashing. His reassurance and advice managed to resolve such issues very promptly. His recommendation of a FREE car winter check was extremely beneficial on the following Saturday and I feel much more confident that my car is fit for surviving the winter!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mesit's Comment

Written on: 05/01/2017

hello!

how long they took for the health check?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Tyre fitting experience”

Written on: 26/11/2016 by Peacock409 (1 review written)

Visited Halfords Aberdeen (Torry) 02/11/16 to have four Pirelli Zottozero winters fitted to my BMW 4 Series F33 435d XDrive, the staff was friendly and a cup of coffee can't say anything bad about that, as a by the way my order was placed via ASDA tyres website, they were cheapest by far found £719 BMW was double the price for same tyres and fitted!! Anyways... So car was completed and paid and then I left the fitting centre, car felt ok after fitting however pressures was not set as per… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“The worst garage I have ever been to”

Written on: 12/11/2016 by Dunlap193 (1 review written)

I made an online booking through Halfords webpage in order to change the two front tyres and making a wheel alignment. After leaving the car there I received a phone call to inform me that they could not remove the wheels because the wheel nuts were overtightened and for this reason they had to carry out extra-work with a cost of 150 pounds. When I arrived to the Paisley Autocentre to pick up my car there was some damage to both front alloy wheels. There were some scratches in the wheel… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Incompetent MOT inspection”

Written on: 09/11/2016 by iamgav71 (2 reviews written)

4 days after Halfords Chichester passing my car for the MOT I had complete brake failure due to badly corroded brake pipes. The car car should not have passed and can only be explained by total incompetence. Halfords will not accept responsibility despite the RAC report stating the reason for brake failure. Avoid Halfords if you value you and your family's safety… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Locking Nut lost and counting the cost”

Written on: 07/11/2016 by IrisHouston245 (1 review written)

I had my car MOT done at Halfords Autocentre Huddersfield but NEVER again. The first year they found over £400 of work to do on it, changed all the tyres and it was returned with a brake light not working and a screaming noise from the front wheel. I took it back and they said they had fixed it and put the locking wheel nut key back in the tray under passenger seat where I always keep it. Last year managed to find over £700 of work (car is 2004 model, used very little and fully serviced) but… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Just avoid, particularly the Runcorn West Lane branch.”

Written on: 06/11/2016 by zqWheeler292 (1 review written)

Had a brand new clutch fitted approximately one year ago. Less than a month out of warranty it completely failed leaving me stranded on a dual carriageway. Garage would not honour any sort of replacement or compensation. I understand guarantees by their nature are limited but for a major part to completely fail is ridiculous. By not at least meeting me half way for a new clutch they have lost all my future custom. I will never use their garages again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Useless tyre website sizing and waste of time”

Written on: 05/11/2016 by Keeganon90 (1 review written)

Entered correct registration of 2016 Ford Fiesta.. recommended tyres came back.. ordered them.. 100 pounds for 2 front tyres to be fitted at Newbury Service Centre.. left work early for 4.30pm fitting only to be told after 1 hour the tyres were wrong size for the car and no apology and 4 days before I get my money back... digusting service!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't trust Halfords autocentre in Borehamwood! ...”

Written on: 03/11/2016 by bmWyatt344 (1 review written)

Don't trust Halfords autocentre in Borehamwood!  customer service is even worse. Went the for an MOT and FULL SERVICE. I have received a call from the manager so I went to pick up my car. When I got home I got a bit suspicious so I've opened my bonnet only to find out my oil dip stick has been left out so there was oil everywhere (never mind wiped it and I have pushed the oil dip stick in). Had a second look and I found out my plastic cover on the engine had been left unscrewed! I got even… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Halfords put my children at risk of harm”

Written on: 13/10/2016 by OwenAllen89 (1 review written)

I had all my brakes changed before my holiday because I wanted to make sure my car was safe for my family. Two days into the holiday, I noticed a rattling noise. The noise worsened, so we ended up not going anywhere much. Drove back home really slowly, and the noise scared my children and me. Took the car to my local garage. The brake caliper was completely unbolted, just hanging there on the rim; Halfords' fitter hadn't bolted it in properly. This could have caused a serious accident… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Unhappycanary's Comment

Written on: 14/10/2016

I am not surprised at this at all. My car went into Halfords two months ago without any problems and came out with many. They broke the breather pipe and then PASSED it on the MOT (DVSA will be interested). To this day toxic carbon monoxide fumes are still coming in my car as a result of their breakage. Two days after being in the garage with them smoke started coming from under the bonnet due to the breather pipe and the RAC were called out who did a temporary fix. Five days after being with them I was driving along when the power steering suddenly went which, like with the above review, could have caused a serious accident. The car was taken to a nearby third party garage and had to be left overnight bringing loads of hassle, lost work and not to mention another large bill. Halfords didn't give two hoots btw.

The lesson learned is don't go back and advise others to do the same. I'm already £1000 down due to Halfords misconduct and that will increase as I haven't yet been in a position to pay for the breather pipe they criminally or negligently damaged.

I have written to the Halfords CEO Jill McDonald and the directors about the damage, customer (non)service and pointed out the carbon monoxide risk but showing their utter contempt for pesky customers they have ignored the matter.

The sheer number of similar complaints about Halfords Autocentres online leads me to think they are not fit & proper to be touching cars i.e. a potentially dangerous machine and their lack of accountability indicates something rotten going on.

I would recommend the above incident re brakes is reported to local trading standards, if nothing else they will at least record for intelligence gathering purposes. Write to your local MP to bring their attention to your appalling and upsetting experience with Halfords. Consider a County Court claim to get your money back. And I am wondering whether Halfords should be reported to the BBC's Watchdog programme to raise awareness?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“just a joke ”

Written on: 10/10/2016 by Johnnie668 (1 review written)

Booked in tracking and balance at Sutton. waited two hours then they said couldn't do the tracking as rubber perished - went to ats - they done right away for less money too. also said Halfords put the wheels the wrong way round as they are directional. service here is socking. I could go on about what I saw whilst there. treating customers cars with no respect at all. they were over revving and wheel spinning customers cars. totally inexperienced and lack of care or common courtesy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“awful service @Enfield branch”

Written on: 07/10/2016 by ClarissaMunn250 (1 review written)

Shop front staff was helpful and efficient, but the guys- fitters- how awful they were, unfriendly, abrupt, no customer service provided, and appeared annoyed that they have to fix/install parts for customer's car. I've never had such rude service, in fact there was no service- not worth the charge for fitting. Took so long waiting for them to come and fix it even though staff at till called them several times. These fitters avoided doing any work. Halfords need to improve their staff and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview