Halfords Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
619
18% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Halfords - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Halfords

Halfords

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“car service”

Written on: 19/04/2015 by Pattni (1 review written)

Halfords Intermittent service schedule states 49 items to be checked. No written list of items checked is provided for customer and inspite of various written communication and acknowledged by Halfords of receipt of my email I have no proof thus I have no trust that their listed items were actioned...... avoid or seek legal document for peace of mind… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“employee stealing work?”

Written on: 12/04/2015 by Beck1 (1 review written)

i recently visited the Salisbury branch of Halfords to purchase some service items for my car. The employee that i was dealing with told me he could get the parts cheaper than Halfords sold them for and also he was a trained Mercedes mechanic and could do the service for me for a reasonable price. I declined his offer and just paid for my service items and left. I felt that if this person could stab his employer in the back, what kind of mechanic could he be? not very trustworthy i guess. It… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Never ever visit them.”

Written on: 09/04/2015 by schozab (2 reviews written)

My car's coolant hose/pipe went off from one side during my journey (Around mid March 2015), since i was covered by AA for repairs if AA cannot fix it at the spot, so they dropped my car off to Halfords Northbridge Road, Doncaster, South Yorkshire DN5 9AN. Next day i visited Halfords to get more details (like how long will it take, anything else effected etc), i instructed them especially to check head gasket which might have got effected because of overheating as a result. Each day during… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor attitude”

Written on: 09/04/2015 by Brice118 (1 review written)

On the website the opening hours showed from 0800 but the door was locked at 8.30.. I queried this and was told they opened at 0830. I sad that I needed a replacement part for my car and for an estimate of the cost for this and fitting. The attitude of the person behind the desk was very offhand, unhelpful and off putting. He said I could leave the car there for the day, they were very busy and couldn't say when they could fit it in . I have used halfords in cheltenham and been really impressed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“I'm glad I didn't listen to these reviews.”

Written on: 08/04/2015 by davesoton (1 review written)

I nearly cancelled my service at the Autocentre in Millbrook after reading the reviews yesterday. I'm glad I didn't, the service was excellent as was the price. I dropped the car off 2 hours before my appointment, it was completed within 3 hours. I checked the car for certain things such as the greasing of doors, fluid checks etc and all had been completed. The staff were friendly, not the usual grunting I'm used too from garages. Looking at the reviews below this may be the exception… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Mask and swag bag!”

Written on: 07/04/2015 by Pieman1980 (1 review written)

Took my car for an mot failed on all pads and discs! Hmm strange heard that before somewhere on here! Tyres where all just above legal limit hmm strange that rings a bell too! Quote given for replace all discs and and pads was £1132 lol then another £300 for 3 new tyres! Shocked I decided to snatch the keys out there hands and go to another mot station to find it passed with 2 advisorys front pads close to legal limit and 1 tyre slightly balding! Halfords are just a bunch of robbing so and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“car battery”

Written on: 02/04/2015 by Jorge209 (1 review written)

Needed a new battery for my car the sales assistant said would I like to have it fitted for £10 as he started to replace the battery I could see was clueless broke one of clips that holds on the battery cover I ended up showing and telling him how to do the job… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Disappointing”

Written on: 31/03/2015 by modfather1985 (1 review written)

Took my car in as I had previously spoken with a member of staff about my washer not working. I am very inexperienced in these matters and explained the situation and was told that 'changing the motor will fix it' as that is usually the problem. When I finally got to the autocentre some time after, the price I was quoted was wrong but in fairness upheld. I was also told that it could be a number of different problems and to actually check would mean doing a diagnostic and then fixing the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“DONT EVEN THINK ABOUT HALFORDS”

Written on: 27/03/2015 by Staffordjv404 (1 review written)

HALFORDS ARE NOT HONEST, NO THEY ARE VERY DISHONEST , CHEATING MERCHANT , RIPPING OF People THEY QUOTED £350 for an alternator for my renault in halfords SCARBOROUGH, GET MY CAR IN AS I GOT RECOVERED BY AA AFTER A BREAKDOWN AND AS SOON AS THEY KNEW I HAVE AN INSURANCE TO COVER MY BREAKDOWN THEN THEY WANTED £750 FOR THE REPAIR AND THEY TRAPPED ME AS THEY KNEW THAT THE INSURANCE COVER WILL BE INVALID IF I GO TO A SECOND GARAGE AND AFTER WASTING TOO MUCH TIME ON ARGUMENTS THEY DISCOUNTED £100… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“absolutely usless”

Written on: 27/03/2015 by dike (1 review written)

Catford auto centre. book my nissan in..My car sat outside the whole day no inspection even carried out..i made 2 call to the idiot's and on both occasions told me my car would be finished ..ended up just ccollecting my car with no wrk done..no rebook just we are busy..pls dont take your cars there… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Car Battery Replacement- Outstanding Service!”

Written on: 26/03/2015 by welshwebber (1 review written)

I had my car battery replaced at the Balham High Road branch today. They were excellent. The fitting was carried out quickly, they were kind enough to explain what they were doing- I felt as though the service went above and beyond what one might expect for a £10 charge. My experience of Halfords Balham has now been excellent based on several different visits for different reasons- keep up the good work guys!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“they don't have a clue what are they doing”

Written on: 25/03/2015 by AndyStoe (1 review written)

I've service my car for last 4 years with them. first time they put to much oil in the engine about 1 inch over the max limit on the stick. 2 and 3th time the same even that I've told them not to, after 3th service they change the coolant from pink one to blue(ignoring that in the cars manual it said not to change it because the blue one is corrosive) I've drive to London and one of the hose pipes from radiator start liking and lost all the coolant so i had to pay a company to get my car back… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Halfords autocentre Stirling MOT”

Written on: 24/03/2015 by macphee70 (5 reviews written)

Visited this garage for an MOT, they failed the cars they say it needs new wiper and new brake pads and discs. It certainly didn't need new wiper when it was presented for the test but it clearly did after the test once they had ripped them for about 6 inches at either end. They then had the cheek to ask £19 to replace them. They also advised changing pads they were only changed just over a year ago and failed to miss two advisory items. I don't trust the MOT failure I have and am now… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“excellent”

Written on: 23/03/2015 by Maximillian256 (1 review written)

Slough Mill Street Halfords are fanastic.They were offered appointment and completed work on time perfectly. I recommend Halfords and have a plan to undertake my future car maintenance at Slough Mill Street Halfords… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude receptionist and depot manager at the ipswich branch”

Written on: 21/03/2015 by Not-a-happy-chap (1 review written)

my wife phoned the Commercial road branch in Ipswich to book both our cars in for a service, unfortunately the lady who answered the phone had a broad Polish / Romanian type accent and my wife was finding it hard to understand her, so she asked to speak to an English person, with this the lady went ballistic at my wife calling her a racist!, and threatened her with the police! I thought racism was to hate a race!, not being unable to understand a person's accent and asking to speak to someone… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Fantasticmrfox's Response to Not-a-happy-chap's Review

Written on: 24/03/2015

I'm very sorry you had this poor level of service please come on down to brook street in Colchester and I will be happy to help you

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Truthwriter's Response to Not-a-happy-chap's Review

Written on: 05/04/2015

I am shocked by these reviews. I have been an ipswich branch customer for 5 years, servicing 2 cars and have found the level of service is excellent. I found the new receptionist whom is american/mexican to be extremely helpful, I think her English is very good and have found she cant do enough for you. I believe her addition in a very male dominated envirinment works well and As a female customer I particularly appreciate the addition of some gender and experience diversity. I also found she was empathetic in explaining things in a way i could understand and has an accent that was a joy to listen to. I should imagine that it must be very upsetting and insulting, to be asked to speak to someone whom talks English, and believe that the posters comment that whe was polish/romanian shows some inherent racism. I am disappointed that Halfords havent shown suppot for the receptionist whom is obviously good at her job and whom in my experience, enhances an already high level of service. As for the comment from Colchester branch, all i can say is i used to use them but now travel to ipswich which is further because the level of service is so much better. I would definetely give the Ipswich branch 5 stars, dont be put of by this obviously personal and biased review, take not from someone whom has used them long term, a good level of service deserves support.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Fantasticmrfox's Response to Not-a-happy-chap's Review

Written on: 24/03/2015

I'm very sorry to hear you've had this level of service Sir ...this really does frustrate me why there's no form of good communication between customer and manager ..the person on the phone should not have acted that way by any means .
We use halfords in Colchester brook street where I assure you the service there is second to none , Martin the manager at that centre has great customer service skills as I recently had an mot there just last week and failed on something very minor and he really helped me to make me aware of forth coming repairs I need in the future ...There are some good centres out there I wouldn't be put off just because of this .

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Not Helpful”

Written on: 09/03/2015

Was looking for a dog crate for the boot of my car and found one online that looked perfect couldn't really use a stock checker as using a mobile device, went in to the Doncaster branch and saw the price point but no stock, Managed to find a guy walking past and asked for some help to be told, "let me just sort the queue out first" there were three people already at the till.. I then had to go find him as he was stood talking to a colleague regarding the police or something non work related… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Had a confirmed booking and the centre was CLOSED!!”

Written on: 08/03/2015 by Kendra264 (1 review written)

Had a confirmed MOT appointment with Halfords in their Sutton (Wealdstone road) centre for 13:45. Shockingly I found the centre to be closed once I reached there (13:30). More shockingly there was no responses to the calls I made to the reception, customer care and other numbers I could get my hands on. Shockingly unprofessional and unreliable company. Never going Halfords again!! … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent service ”

Written on: 07/03/2015 by ReynaRamos87 (1 review written)

Now my car actually failed it's MoT in a big way but the service I received from the guys at halfords auto centre in winwick alban was exceptional. They kept me posted they helped me get it started they were sympathetic with me and I couldn't sing their praises any more, one guy in particular was an absolute credit . I will be taking my new car there and would highly reccomend… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Damaged my alloys and didn't ballance the wheels ”

Written on: 06/03/2015 by Simmonsbu78 (1 review written)

Had 4 new tyres fitted at the Newark branch. This resulted in 4 damaged alloys , each alloy had been cut into by the tyre machine. The cuts were all the way around the wheel on all 4. I went back to say what have you done to be told it was muck, the manager tried to run it off with a cloth which it didn't as they were deep cuts in the alloys. I ended up having all four wheels refurb at halfords expense. But then there's more. I commute on the motorway to and from work and to my horror I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“POOR SERVICE AND COMMUNICATION”

Written on: 03/03/2015 by phartley (1 review written)

I never write reviews but felt that the last 2 visits to my local Halfords Autocentre were so poor that it was vital to write a review in the hope that service standards and communication can improve. I run my own driving school so I know how important good performance has to be. Last August I needed the wheel alignment adjusting and the handbrake tension tightened. They did the job but the alignment was so poor that I had to put opposite lock on to drive in a straight line and had to take… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview