Halfords Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
18% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Halfords - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Halfords

Halfords

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“DONT EVEN THINK ABOUT HALFORDS”

Written on: 27/03/2015 by Staffordjv404 (1 review written)

HALFORDS ARE NOT HONEST, NO THEY ARE VERY DISHONEST , CHEATING MERCHANT , RIPPING OF People THEY QUOTED £350 for an alternator for my renault in halfords SCARBOROUGH, GET MY CAR IN AS I GOT RECOVERED BY AA AFTER A BREAKDOWN AND AS SOON AS THEY KNEW I HAVE AN INSURANCE TO COVER MY BREAKDOWN THEN THEY WANTED £750 FOR THE REPAIR AND THEY TRAPPED ME AS THEY KNEW THAT THE INSURANCE COVER WILL BE INVALID IF I GO TO A SECOND GARAGE AND AFTER WASTING TOO MUCH TIME ON ARGUMENTS THEY DISCOUNTED £100… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“absolutely usless”

Written on: 27/03/2015 by dike (1 review written)

Catford auto centre. book my nissan in..My car sat outside the whole day no inspection even carried out..i made 2 call to the idiot's and on both occasions told me my car would be finished ..ended up just ccollecting my car with no wrk done..no rebook just we are busy..pls dont take your cars there… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“they don't have a clue what are they doing”

Written on: 25/03/2015 by AndyStoe (1 review written)

I've service my car for last 4 years with them. first time they put to much oil in the engine about 1 inch over the max limit on the stick. 2 and 3th time the same even that I've told them not to, after 3th service they change the coolant from pink one to blue(ignoring that in the cars manual it said not to change it because the blue one is corrosive) I've drive to London and one of the hose pipes from radiator start liking and lost all the coolant so i had to pay a company to get my car back… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Halfords autocentre Stirling MOT”

Written on: 24/03/2015 by macphee70 (5 reviews written)

Visited this garage for an MOT, they failed the cars they say it needs new wiper and new brake pads and discs. It certainly didn't need new wiper when it was presented for the test but it clearly did after the test once they had ripped them for about 6 inches at either end. They then had the cheek to ask £19 to replace them. They also advised changing pads they were only changed just over a year ago and failed to miss two advisory items. I don't trust the MOT failure I have and am now… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“excellent”

Written on: 23/03/2015 by Maximillian256 (1 review written)

Slough Mill Street Halfords are fanastic.They were offered appointment and completed work on time perfectly. I recommend Halfords and have a plan to undertake my future car maintenance at Slough Mill Street Halfords… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude receptionist and depot manager at the ipswich branch”

Written on: 21/03/2015 by Not-a-happy-chap (1 review written)

my wife phoned the Commercial road branch in Ipswich to book both our cars in for a service, unfortunately the lady who answered the phone had a broad Polish / Romanian type accent and my wife was finding it hard to understand her, so she asked to speak to an English person, with this the lady went ballistic at my wife calling her a racist!, and threatened her with the police! I thought racism was to hate a race!, not being unable to understand a person's accent and asking to speak to someone… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Fantasticmrfox's Response to Not-a-happy-chap's Review

Written on: 24/03/2015

I'm very sorry you had this poor level of service please come on down to brook street in Colchester and I will be happy to help you

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Fantasticmrfox's Response to Not-a-happy-chap's Review

Written on: 24/03/2015

I'm very sorry to hear you've had this level of service Sir ...this really does frustrate me why there's no form of good communication between customer and manager ..the person on the phone should not have acted that way by any means .
We use halfords in Colchester brook street where I assure you the service there is second to none , Martin the manager at that centre has great customer service skills as I recently had an mot there just last week and failed on something very minor and he really helped me to make me aware of forth coming repairs I need in the future ...There are some good centres out there I wouldn't be put off just because of this .

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Not Helpful”

Written on: 09/03/2015

Was looking for a dog crate for the boot of my car and found one online that looked perfect couldn't really use a stock checker as using a mobile device, went in to the Doncaster branch and saw the price point but no stock, Managed to find a guy walking past and asked for some help to be told, "let me just sort the queue out first" there were three people already at the till.. I then had to go find him as he was stood talking to a colleague regarding the police or something non work related… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Had a confirmed booking and the centre was CLOSED!!”

Written on: 08/03/2015 by Kendra264 (1 review written)

Had a confirmed MOT appointment with Halfords in their Sutton (Wealdstone road) centre for 13:45. Shockingly I found the centre to be closed once I reached there (13:30). More shockingly there was no responses to the calls I made to the reception, customer care and other numbers I could get my hands on. Shockingly unprofessional and unreliable company. Never going Halfords again!! … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent service ”

Written on: 07/03/2015 by ReynaRamos87 (1 review written)

Now my car actually failed it's MoT in a big way but the service I received from the guys at halfords auto centre in winwick alban was exceptional. They kept me posted they helped me get it started they were sympathetic with me and I couldn't sing their praises any more, one guy in particular was an absolute credit . I will be taking my new car there and would highly reccomend… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Damaged my alloys and didn't ballance the wheels ”

Written on: 06/03/2015 by Simmonsbu78 (1 review written)

Had 4 new tyres fitted at the Newark branch. This resulted in 4 damaged alloys , each alloy had been cut into by the tyre machine. The cuts were all the way around the wheel on all 4. I went back to say what have you done to be told it was muck, the manager tried to run it off with a cloth which it didn't as they were deep cuts in the alloys. I ended up having all four wheels refurb at halfords expense. But then there's more. I commute on the motorway to and from work and to my horror I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“POOR SERVICE AND COMMUNICATION”

Written on: 03/03/2015 by phartley (1 review written)

I never write reviews but felt that the last 2 visits to my local Halfords Autocentre were so poor that it was vital to write a review in the hope that service standards and communication can improve. I run my own driving school so I know how important good performance has to be. Last August I needed the wheel alignment adjusting and the handbrake tension tightened. They did the job but the alignment was so poor that I had to put opposite lock on to drive in a straight line and had to take… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful service”

Written on: 03/03/2015 by sanil (1 review written)

I did my service at Halfords Autocenter in High Road, Ilford, London. Please avoid this garage as they are cheats and they don't check anything even the brakes and I ended up in visiting another garage to fix my brakes 1 months after I changed my brake pads. They used the cheapest pads and it was loose fitted, causing the brake drum got damaged and was making squeeky noice. Another rip off is that they charged me £25 for Fully Synthetic oil change but they used cheap normal oil. I don't… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“No new radio”

Written on: 01/03/2015 by Muhammad279 (1 review written)

I bought a radio and speakers for my car and got an appointment to have the equipment installed. On the day I drove 45 minutes to the store only to be told they coulldn't install because it was raining. Given new appointment. Drove down in sparking sunshine. Wrong equiment had been supplied and ordered, no installation possible because three drops of rain had fallen on an otherwise dry day. Staff was underequipped, e.g. no pens were supplied to staff, they were uneducated about the products and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“avoid the BRIDGEND depot (south wales)”

Written on: 24/02/2015 by alancee (1 review written)

Must be the worst customer service i have ever experienced anywhere in the world ! halfords bridgend (south wales) booked in my car for re-test and was told by the manager it would be 1 hour on a sat morning ,so booked the time off work , arrived to a halfords employee (damien) who was simply dis-intrested and vague to say the least , i confirmed 1 hour work , went away and came back 3 hours later and car had not been moved ? spoke to damien and was more intrested in a private phone call ?,was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Click & Collect overcharging”

Written on: 19/02/2015 by Plank902 (2 reviews written)

Recently I reserved 4 individually packed spark plugs on the halfords website to collect in store. When I arrived at the store I was told the individually packed spark plugs were not available. My only option was to purchase a 4 pack of the exact same item for twice the total price. Halfords were not willing to honour the price I was promised online nor did they try and resolve my official complaint. Please keep in mind when reserving items on the Halford's website that you may be charged more… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Extremely Helpful Staff”

Written on: 19/02/2015 by stelnica (1 review written)

I ecently purchased a bicycle fro Halfords and took it to the Torre (Torquay) store for it's free 6 week service. I was delighted with how easy the process was. The Duty Manager couldn't have been more helpful. My wife has now ordered a bicycle as well! Thank you for your help… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“service and mot”

Written on: 15/02/2015 by htrigg (1 review written)

Booked my ford KA in for a interim service plus mot; after 2hrs got a phone call telling me my car had leaked brake fluid all over the garage floor from the rear brake cylinder and i needed new brake shoes drum and cylinder and it would cost £290 I told them not to do the work, the assistant was taken back cause i didn't want the work done told him just to finish the service and mot off. After another 3hrs went to collect the car to find out it had passed its mot (how if its leaking brake… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Untrustworthy liars”

Written on: 14/02/2015 by GFUNK20 (12 reviews written)

Halfords Loughborough! I was booked in for a service (booked online) turned up handed keys over went for lunch with family across the road my car in full view of were I parked it, 2 and a half hours later car hadn't moved, when I returned back I questioned the assistant as to why my car hadn't moved despite a 1.00pm appointment he told me it had been half completed they just had to move the car back to car park as they had "an emergency" I politly pointed out my car had not been moved I've been… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Complete joke - rely on naive drivers”

Written on: 10/02/2015 by lb1991 (1 review written)

Took my car for a clutch inspection. I thought that it was free, so why not? I got a call back telling me the following: - The clutch needed replacing - All 4 tyres were at legal limit - Brake fluid needed replacing - Anti-freeze needed replacing This came to about £477 in all. I had topped up the brake fluid just a week before. I wasn't prepared to pay that price, but at the same time I wanted to keep my car. So I took it to another garage owned by a man who does repairs to vans for the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Untrustworthy”

Written on: 08/02/2015

I took my car for a free brake test. This was advertised as comprehensive, including front pads, rear shoes, handbrake linkages and calipers. I was told all my brakes were fine and given the measurements of the front and rear pads/shoes. However, there was play in the front arms so I agreed £150 to have that done. While there I noticed an advert for a service and MOT for £99. To cut a long story short, I ended up with a bill for £580 which included numerous additives and special oil. The… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview