Pets at Home Reviews - www.petsathome.com

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.0 / 5
28% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Pets at Home www.petsathome.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Pets at Home www.petsathome.com

Pets at Home www.petsathome.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“pets at home ”

Written on: 28/09/2014 by Buckleyrf14 (1 review written)

i wouldnt recommend pets at home to my worst enermythey are rude and unhelpful we attempted to buy a 8 week old lionhead bunnie for are daughter twice on the same day but they argued selling her to us because wedidnt buy a bigenough cage from there store the hutch was going to be in the garden wth a run but they wanted us to buy a dearer one that looked smaller so wouldnt sell us the rabbit untill we did so we went to a great store and bout a double tiered beautifulcage for less and went back… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rats”

Written on: 26/09/2014 by laststand (1 review written)

My grandson purchased 2 rats from the shop in St Austell, having to wait nearly 3/4 hour for the member of staff to get them out of the tank, he was scared to pick them up. I think that if you work with animals you should not be scared of them. Also he advised him that he thinks they are two males and 5 months old but was not sure on either. If you are employed to work with animals you should be able to answer any questions and care for there well being. He was more interested in his friends… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Pets at home online delivery - customer service at its...”

Written on: 13/09/2014 by Myuill77 (1 review written)

Pets at home don't care about their customers. That is the impression that I get having come into contact with their customer service department after trying to buy some pet food using their "next day delivery" service. I'm still waiting and it's been three days since I placed the order. Complete apathy, and no communication between pets at home and parcel force. Terrible experience all round. I'll never buy anything from them again. Customer service at its worst… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent service by Vicki gypsy lane luton”

Written on: 12/09/2014 by JazmineHays (1 review written)

Hello, we visited the gypsy lane pets at home store about a month ago, I am partially disabled and I would like to give credit to a salesgirl called Vicki who over the last month has repeatedly fetched and carried items for me to look at cheerfully returned them to the shelf when I did not like them. Then bought ms other things I was looking for back and forth till I had what I was happy with, , she set up a large crate for me to look at because I was concerned i wouldn't like it, suggested… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Cats grooming.”

Written on: 11/09/2014 by efBriggs105 (1 review written)

I have two Ragdoll cats who require regular grooming. Speke, Liverpool store really helpful with advice and excellent service. I will be regular customer… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor animal health”

Written on: 10/09/2014

It's disgusting how many dead fish you see in the tanks in Pets At Home. In 9/10 of the tanks there are dead fish...even worse there are ones that have rotten (shows that the tanks are rarelt cleaned). I also saw a programme where it said that Pets At Home have given so many people ill pets and in some cases untamed ones. If they sorted this out my rating would be a hell of a lot higher because they sell good products… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“poor animals”

Written on: 09/09/2014 by pnMiranda227 (1 review written)

i used to buy my small furries supplies from the isle of wight newport branch.but now i shop elsewhere.that store should be closed down.all the staff sacked them poor small furries rescued. the small furries are kept in horrendous conditions.everything is overpriced,the staff are all cocky,with aggressive attitudes,them poor small furries shouldn't have to suffer like that,something should be done.they sold me a pair of guinea pigs,claimed they were healthy.they lied!cost me a lot of money at… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“poor animals”

Written on: 09/09/2014 by pnMiranda227 (1 review written)

i used to buy my small furries supplies from the isle of wight newport branch.but now i shop elsewhere.that store should be closed down.all the staff sacked them poor small furries rescued. the small furries are kept in horrendous conditions.everything is overpriced,the staff are all cocky,with aggressive attitudes,them poor small furries shouldn't have to suffer like that,something should be done.they sold me a pair of guinea pigs,claimed they were healthy.they lied!cost me a lot of money at… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“i used to buy my small furries supplies from the isle...”

Written on: 09/09/2014 by pnMiranda227 (1 review written)

i used to buy my small furries supplies from the isle of wight newport branch.but now i shop elsewhere.that store should be closed down.all the staff sacked them poor small furries rescued. the small furries are kept in horrendous conditions.everything is overpriced,the staff are all cocky,with aggressive attitudes,them poor small furries shouldn't have to suffer like that,something should be done.they sold me a pair of guinea pigs,claimed they were healthy.they lied!cost me a lot of money at… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“i used to buy my small furries supplies from the isle...”

Written on: 09/09/2014 by pnMiranda227 (1 review written)

i used to buy my small furries supplies from the isle of wight newport branch.but now i shop elsewhere.that store should be closed down.all the staff sacked them poor small furries rescued. the small furries are kept in horrendous conditions.everything is overpriced,the staff are all cocky,with aggressive attitudes,them poor small furries shouldn't have to suffer like that,something should be done.they sold me a pair of guinea pigs,claimed they were healthy.they lied!cost me a lot of money at… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dotty1571's Comment

Written on: 26/09/2014

They have wiped out my tropical fish tank with a desiese called camallanus worms look it up and see how nasty it is ,I'm in the process of complaining I have had to throw everything away and start again .ive go a 85 litre tank

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“crappy staff! Poorly treated animals..!!!!! False...”

Written on: 08/09/2014 by loveyourpets (1 review written)

The staff do not know he first things about animals. I bought 2 guinea pigs from them and had to take 1 back because it had massive hair loss and scabs on her back I had to take back the other one and insisted it got checked out by the vet which they did and it was proven it was all clear. Walking around the shop the animals look poorly treated, their environment looks disgusting! Some animals don't look to healthy in the cage they look sick and they don't even give them a second look!. The… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Incenced”

Written on: 01/09/2014 by FrederickWhitehead (1 review written)

I am absolutely disgusted with the so called company policy of this store. Do they seriously think that by putting in pathetic rules it safeguards their already poor quality animals. For one, to be told that I cannot take a picture of an animal to send to my partner to possibly purchase, is this to hide the inferior state of their animals and poor quality of their housing. Secondly to be told I cannot purchase the animal because I mentioned that my partner bred guinea pigs, oh no not the breed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not buy fish from here!”

Written on: 28/08/2014 by 78Goodman (1 review written)

Twice now we have bought tropical fish from Pets at Home in Aberdeen, and both times, within 3-4 days the fish die. Tested my water & it's fine, bought other fish from A1 Aquatics and they are all still living. Pets at Home was over priced compared to A1, staff were also more knowledgeable and helpful at A1. Avoid Pets at Home if you are buying fish, can't really comment on anything else as we have no other pets… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Grooming”

Written on: 28/08/2014 by SheaMcKay484 (1 review written)

The staff brushed washed dried both of my dogs ,they do not like being left by me ,and came back early ,they where very happy with the staff ,they where looked after very well indeed and really well groomed ,dry and happy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Pregnant hamster!”

Written on: 26/08/2014 by mlb99 (1 review written)

This was my first time of buying a hamster from Pets at Home (Bromsgrove), and when I looked at the available hamsters, all of them seemed healthy and well cared for. I chose a female syrian, and was told she was 4-5 months old (usually they are around 8 weeks). However, I had already decided that I wanted her, so I bought her anyway. Taking her home was a nightmare - they had put her in 2 boxes for 'security' but the boxes that she was in were made of a thin cardboard, and despite the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Great service”

Written on: 26/08/2014 by Nunez1976 (1 review written)

We were served by an advisor at castle marina nottingham , he was so professional it was a pleasure to be served by him,my daugher bought a guinea pig cage in weymouth but waited to get home to by our guinea pig, he made sure we had purchased everything we needed , and realised our guine pig was going to be spoilt, he made sure we understood what the animal needed and if it would be safe thank you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dead Fish”

Written on: 25/08/2014 by 292Burgess (1 review written)

Complaints about store in Birstall and Dewsbury. West Yorkshire Have bought numerous fish over the past year... All of which have died.. Done lots of water tests, taken it to the store for them to check it.., still the fish have died.... Worse when we have kept one of his own.. Very healthly and bought two more to keep him company. One died within 24hrs.. The other a few days later.., they have now given my fish a disease which has killed him Inspite of treatment.... NEVER AGAIN will we buy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dotty1571's Comment

Written on: 26/09/2014

I purchased 4 fish from there ,they gave my tank camallanus worms (look it up) it's wiped my tank out I've even had to throw my gravel away ,all my ornements and I have got to start all over again ,I have got a 85 litre tank so it's a big job ,I tried medicine off the internet but by the time you see the worms its to late

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“How hard is it to buy a snail !”

Written on: 24/08/2014

Has the world gone crazy ? I wanted to buy some snails for my fish tank. Sounds easy ? Not at Pets at Home ! First you have to find an assistant. Second they make you answer a load of personal questions. Apparently not for marketing use I was assured by the assistant. It's so she can check me against the RSPB database of animal abusers. I questioned this... After all I only want a couple of snails for my kids fish tank. And I kid you not... It's in case, and I quote "you put them in a blender… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“PETS AT HOME AYR”

Written on: 21/08/2014 by David23162 (1 review written)

GREAT SERVICE FROM GREAT STAFF AND WERE OVER THE MOON WITH OUR WEE LOP RABBIT WHO WE SAW 3 DAYS BEFORE, THE LEVEL OF COMMITMENT TO THE ANIMALS WAS SUPERIOR AND LOOK FORWARD TO GOING BACK… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“NEVER AGAIN!!!!!”

Written on: 19/08/2014 by kgYork178 (1 review written)

first of all they didnt give us the free health check and first vaccination voucher which they claim to give in the blackheath branch. Then after 3 days we were then back up the vets as our rabbit wasnt eating and found out that she had a ruptured gut. They then offered us a refund or to pick another rabbit which we did as we stupidly thought that that was a one off experiance. Little did we woke up to yet another dead rabbit after 4 days with a ruptured gut!! We found out that they sell there… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview