Pets at Home Reviews - www.petsathome.com

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.9 / 5
486
24% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Pets at Home www.petsathome.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Pets at Home www.petsathome.com

Pets at Home www.petsathome.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Refused to sell pets to me”

Written on: 03/09/2015 by ArnavSandoval (1 review written)

I telephoned Pets at Home to see if they had a male and female Rats, they said they only had females in stock so i decided to buy one. When i travelled to the shop they refused to sell me one Rat, they said they could only be sold in pairs even though there was a sign that £10 each. After i was refused to be sold a Rat, i ask to purchase a Gerbil instead, they asked me what cage i had, i told them that i have a wooden vivarium and they refused to sell me a Gerbil because they said it will chew… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“abusive staff”

Written on: 01/09/2015 by mandy1029 (1 review written)

We went in to buy a bearded dragon. We are regular customers but this time we were treated terrible by the staff!! They tried to make out that we didn't know nothing (like they havnt been on watch dog. and asked "have you got all you other animals, i don't see them anymore", as if were going to bring all our animals in store all the time. I asked why and she said well we see people with there animals then they havnt got them anymore . They were very rude and made my daughter very upset, very… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“dog grooming”

Written on: 01/09/2015 by dollykins (1 review written)

first attempt to get my dogs groomed at Sydenham they couldn't find my booking,second time this morning,9am appointment,noone there,finally after sitting there with my dogs for 40 minutes im told the girl is on her way in if I would like to wait and rebook,a total sham,totally unprofessional will not be returning… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Cruel grooming”

Written on: 31/08/2015 by Lilahq305 (1 review written)

I have just left the worcester store. Nothing can convince me that dog grooming is anything less than cruel. Twice I have seen staff, two at a time, tugging and pulling through a small fretful dogs fur and blow drying it, whilst it's tethered and wriggling helplessly. The first time I saw a young man dragging the animal irritably back to its position. On both occasions the staff are talking over the animal with little time for comforting or paying attention to it. Sometimes they walk… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Sold us 2 guienea pigs with ring worm”

Written on: 31/08/2015 by Guthriecr1966 (1 review written)

Appalling, sold us to guinea pigs who just over a week later came down the ring worn! On ringing the store was told others had it & when I said dis they not think they just have rang us to inform us was told "they don't have to" on vets advise returned the guinea pigs which obviously really upset my 8 year old daughter! Disgusting & still trying to get my money back for the hutch!!!! Do not buy pets from here!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“FANTASTIC IN STORE SERVICE LEICESTER”

Written on: 30/08/2015

I am very pleased with pets at home. There was a problem with the online order through no fault of there's, It was Parcelforce who was to blame , But the way it was handled by one particular young man who works at Leicester St Georges pets at home was fantastic . This young man is a credit to your team. He was very polite and resolved this matter in an appropriate , understanding manner. We was very pleased with the service provided at Leicester pets at home and feel we should mention this… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“dog grooming service”

Written on: 22/08/2015 by sandyone (1 review written)

Whilst visiting my local Pets at home branch in Scunthorpe I asked for a price list for dog grooming I was told that the grooming department was a separate concern from the main store so I made my way down to the back of the shop to the grooming parlour where I was greeted by a miserable faced member of staff I asked if she had a price list and was told no we cant do that because there are different breeds of dog.Okay fine so I told her the dog was a small terrier to which she replied that the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“GROOMERS”

Written on: 13/08/2015 by qiHenderson55 (1 review written)

Caught a groomer screaming at someone's beloved dog. NOT GOOD, ONLY GIVEN 1 STAR BECAUSE I HAD TO… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rip off prices and awful customer care.”

Written on: 12/08/2015 by AinsleyMcNulty (1 review written)

Went to the back door as we phoned saying our dog had kennel cough. The vet came out and 30 seconds later confirms this and asked us to go and collect a prescription at the front. There we were given a bill for "consultancy fee" dispensing fees, and of course the medicine. Over £100. A week later we needed more medicine and were told we would need to pay a further load of fees. When I told them I only wanted the same prescription again they said we will ask the vet if this is allowed and call… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Sold us sick pets ”

Written on: 12/08/2015 by Konner178 (1 review written)

I got 2 genuine pigs last year from pets at home Widnes an they was brilliant had no problems an the staff was lovely . 1 year later I thought I would get 2 more genuine pigs I went to the Widnes store but they had no boys in at that time an that a what I wanted cause my other 2 was boys. So we went to the Warrington store an they had loads so we picked 2 baby onea. 1 was 8 weeks and 1 was 12 the lady said that one in the cage had a cold an they took him away but the rest seem fine I took 2… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Hugo needed help”

Written on: 08/08/2015 by HugoTheDog (1 review written)

Following a horrendous groom, we needed desperate help. My Tibetan terrier Hugo was in a right state and still matted. We phoned Pets at Home (Consett) and explained the situation and they booked us in immediately in 2 days time, hours later they called back and said they would be happy to squeeze him in that day. They did a fantastic job and were lovely and friendly, going out of there way to help. The service and staff were amazing and they treat Hugo like a little prince. Truly 100%… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Bearded Dragon ”

Written on: 08/08/2015 by ChloeBarrett (1 review written)

I bought a bearded dragon about 3 months ago from your store in Bradford, I was told she was fine and healthy no problems at all with her. I was also told she was about 5 month old when actually she was only around 3 month old! After 3 months of having Bella and noticing no growth, always looking very lethargic and just all around ill, I changed her diet twice and still nothing. My boy however I did NOT purchase from Pets at Home, I bought from a small business is absolutely fine, no problems… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“shocking groomer!!!”

Written on: 29/07/2015 by Ellismu59 (1 review written)

My sister took her yorkshire terrier to be groomed at the drumchapel glasgow branch. The dog is ten months old and since its the dogs second groom she asked the groomer if she could trim her dog even though he was slightly matted mainly on top of his head and underneath. She was told the groomer would try her best as she was working on her own. On return two hours later as advised by the groomer to my sisters shock her dog had one leg shaved plus the nape of his neck shaved into the skin and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND BUYING FISH FROM HERE!!!”

Written on: 29/07/2015 by Emeryz287 (1 review written)

We went to Pets At Home in Wishaw to get some fish. We were originally just going to get 6, but ended up with 9. The woman recommended getting 4 Mollies and 5 Danios. We asked if they would get along well together in the same tank. The woman said 'yes they will get along great together.' So we got the fish the woman recommended. 4 days later 2 of our Mollies had disappeared. We thought it was just a coincidence. We went back to Pets At Home in Wishaw and got 2 more Mollies. We hadn't even got… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dollykins's Comment

Written on: 01/09/2015

Totall agree I have bought fish twice from pets at home and they died within days,got them from a pet shop no problems

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Customer service”

Written on: 26/07/2015 by Petowner24 (1 review written)

I visited St Andrews dock store in Hull today. My husband and I took our rescue terrier for a new harness. I called for assistance as my little dog was very nervous. A young man  was our assistant and I have say he could not have done more for us. He was observant and had a quiet manner about him and could see that our dog was nervous. He had good knowledge of he products to choose from and even went to the trouble of making adjustments to a harness after we had chosen one. Did not feel… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Our dog was injured , traumatised and his coat damaged.”

Written on: 24/07/2015

Approximately four months ago we took our lovely golden retriever to be groomed at the Trafford shop. He had been there before and seemed to have enjoyed the experience. However, the visit 4 months ago left his coat damage and our lovely gentle retriever traumatised . He was left frightened and distressed and our vet confirmed that the cut under his front paw would be very painful. On complaint to the manager we discovered that she had actually been the one who cut him, her response was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“TERRIBLE ADVICE!!”

Written on: 20/07/2015 by LouiseH71 (1 review written)

We regularly visit Pets at Home to buy food etc for our dogs and cats and have always been satisfied with the customer service and products purchased. However, this option has changed having visited their store in Grantham. We wanted to buy a fish tank to keep Black Moor in and as we have never kept fish before we asked a staff member for advice. The lady was very helpful and told us that we could keep 2 fish in a 25l tank and therefore we purchased the tank, decorations and 3 real aquarium… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Excellent Service. ”

Written on: 16/07/2015 by Gezz54 (1 review written)

My experience of Pets at home has been very positive. I have visited five different shops and have always been happy with the service, knowledge of staff and condition of pets on display. I have visited on site vet and got very helpful advice. I have adopted three hamsters to date and have been very happy with their condition and care. All in All Very Happy … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“two customers in the thamesmead store no one available ”

Written on: 08/07/2015 by Clarkxe176 (1 review written)

two customers in the thamesmead store no one available to help. Person at the till unconcerned with my plight no wonder the store was empty… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rats kept in poor conditions & expensive, poor quality...”

Written on: 03/07/2015 by BraydenMonahan329 (1 review written)

My local branch has always done a poor job at keeping their rats. I rarely go in store, but the other day I did have to pop in order to pick up some Carefresh litter and two bags of rat food. As always I stop to look at the rats and was relieved to find that the staff have, after so many years, finally listened to the complaints and have put the rats on Carefresh bedding rather than shavings. Unfortunately this is the only upside. The rats have minimal toys, are kept in tiny tanks (which… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview