Pets at Home Reviews - www.petsathome.com

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.9 / 5
660
24% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Pets at Home www.petsathome.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Pets at Home www.petsathome.com

Pets at Home www.petsathome.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Grooming dpgs”

Written on: 24/02/2017 by 26Andersen (1 review written)

Had my dear Cockapoo 10 month old pup groomed /cut and bathed at Plymouth store 6 weeks ago. She is a very feisty pup and i thought she would play up and would be her first and last time. I was absolutely astounded when i picked her up a couple of hours later she looked and smelt gorgeous and the assistant who done the cut and bathing was very patient and kind towards her for this first cut experience. Went back again last week and my feisty pup didn't hesitate to go straight in and have the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Not recommended”

Written on: 19/02/2017 by Dianehip (1 review written)

I have taken my dog a couple of times to the Leicester branch. I found the girls very unfriendly and not kind with my dog. He looked good and she had done a good job on his trim but I could tell he was nervous about going a second time. My dog is very friendly and responds well to people. At 11 years old he has some arthritis in his back legs and would find in uncomfortable stand I got for a long time. I explained this, but was given a lecture by the groomer when U collected him. The girls seem… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking appalling grooming”

Written on: 17/02/2017 by Leogemscarlatti (1 review written)

On Thursday February 9th we took our prized 16 month old Blenheim Cavalier King Charles Spaniel to the Pets At Home Groom Room at Crayford, Kent. When we collected him, he was in a dreadful state from having had an extremely appalling cut and with a severe graze and cut on his genitalia. These people purport to be professional groomers. They are charlatans and should be exposed as such… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible!”

Written on: 05/02/2017

Sold me a guinea pig with visible ringworm patches on his nose (I didn't know it was ringworm then). It was in Brislington in Bristol. I treated him for 3 weeks, giving him medicines twice daily and had to disinfect everything at home. He also had mites. 2 months later decided to get a second younger guinea pig as one felt lonely. 2 days after purchase it became ill passing it to the older one. Both had antiobiotics treatment for 2 weeks, twice daily. One week later a younger one was diagnosed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Always Good”

Written on: 05/02/2017 by Sophieh416 (1 review written)

I am very pleased with the Rushden store. Pets have always had clean homes and looked healthy. The store is well stocked and the staff helpful and my dog loves the attention. The groom room is fantastic!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“ELTHAM GROOM ROOM TERRIBLE!”

Written on: 02/02/2017 by Pattersonpn379 (1 review written)

Booked my dog for the first time at the groom room in Eltham, took her home and have to say it was the most terrible cut she's ever had! Red raw around her face and very sore eyes, incredibly uneven all over, nails wasn't clipped, no clippers used, didn't smell like she'd been bathed either. To be honest it looked like a 5 year old had cut her with a blunt pair of scissors!! Did call and complain - manager was very rude and said she doesn't think i am telling the truth as shes never had a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rabbits”

Written on: 02/02/2017

They sell small baby rabbits to people without asking any questions about whether the people can cope if the rabbits become very big. Also, they do not give any advice about the expenses involved in having to buy a large hutch. No advice about the expense involved in having to have these over-sexed animals neutered. They also microchip them - causing permanent loss of fur from the back of the rabbit's neck. This also prevents the owners from releasing the rabbits into the wild. Some, may think… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dead Fish”

Written on: 24/01/2017 by Webster441 (1 review written)

Called into the Bury St Edmunds branch of Pets At Home yesterday while I had a few minutes to wait for my lift. Bit surprised on the number of tropical fish tanks that held dead, or dying fish. I thought P@H had a policy of checking their tanks evrty hslf hour ? Obviously not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“TERRIBLE”

Written on: 23/01/2017 by HarleyMorse495 (1 review written)

Took my ex show cocker for groom and ask for her to have a neat show trim,feel they have not got a clue what I meant, as when I went to collect her she looked as though she had been flying. Took her in with a very smooth coat only to come out looking like lord knows what. I presume they had used a blaster dryer on her. Plus she seemed quite distressed. Now I only have at least eight weeks to get her back to looking like a normal dog. Oh and by the way, was charged for being 10mins late… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not buy fish here!”

Written on: 12/01/2017 by EvaDavis (1 review written)

Don't buy fish here. Sales man was very keen to sell me 4 fish to put in a 12ltr tank. I had no prior knowledge to fish keeping this was a total impulse buy. I should not have been sold 4 fish for a 12ltr tank. Well 6 weeks down the line I've spent so much money on a bigger tank, filter etc to keep the 4 fish alive. Also the four fish they sold me are schooling fish and need to be kept in bigger groups. So went back to get 2 more as they were clearly stressed, was lectured by the sales girl… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't know the first thing about hamsters ”

Written on: 07/01/2017 by McPherson303 (1 review written)

Staff were unable to determine the gender of the hamsters i wanted to buy and only could tell me they "will be the same". Staff told me I could not keep two Russian dwarf hamsters in a 100x50cm cage because they would "get lost in it" which is rubbish because my cage is the ideal size. pets at home cages are mostly too small. The small pets at home wheels under 6.5 inches are too small for dwarf hamsters even though they are advertised as suitable. I wish I didn't ever have to shop here but due… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Groom Room, Beckton”

Written on: 05/01/2017

My review is for the Groom Room within Pets At Home, Beckton. It used to be staffed by groomers that really knew their job, and I used to take my Bichon every 6 weeks to be groomed. Unfortunately, my dog's regular groomer left and since then it's been very hit or miss with regards to grooming standards. My recent experience, just before Christmas, has prompted this review. Before grooming started, the groomer did an examination of the dog and pointed out that my dog had small matts in the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Groom Room, StoneFerry Road, Hull & customer Services BAD”

Written on: 04/01/2017 by gillh150265 (1 review written)

This review relates to both the groom room and customer services afterwards i have VIP membership for my dog and wanted to have her groomed, i had received special offers so i contacted the groom room and booked her in for later the same day for a full groom. I was also advised she would get her teeth cleaned and claws clipped as part of the VIP package. When i dropped her off and mentioned about whether they would actually be able to clip her fur or hand strip due to her coat i was advised… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Very Poor Customer Service”

Written on: 15/12/2016

As I came to pay for my purchase at my local Sprucefield store, I was asked by the female assistant if I would like to give a donation to their CHRISTMAS DINNER!!! Why can the staff not pay for their own dinner and give the money to an animal charity, where it can be put to good use. Rather than them out eating and drinking. DISGUSTED… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tifa87's Comment

Written on: 02/02/2017

Hey, I feel you have misunderstood. They raise money for a Charity to give Christmas dinners for dogs. They ask every customer.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Great knowledge of tropical fish ”

Written on: 14/12/2016 by Fishfeet2 (1 review written)

I have made two purchases from Pets at Home in Clitheroe . On each occasion the staff have been outstanding ! I have purchased fish over the past six years from other pet stores . Pets at Home were the only store to ask the following Size of tank Type of fish in the tank When water was last changed Fish and plants I have bought have proved to be outstanding… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dont go vets”

Written on: 07/12/2016 by Lola71 (1 review written)

Took bunny to have teeth filed. No proper comunication..bunny had two heart failures on op table. Picked him up to be told he could have brain damage ..charged us £140. Not caring,not proffesional,not bothered! We then had go to on call vet who sadley had to put bunny to sleep .another £100! Would NEVER go to pets at home vet again!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rip off”

Written on: 22/11/2016 by jintty (1 review written)

Pets at home, are supposed to be catering for animal lovers , which we are all. So why are they more expensive, than our local Morrisons , or stores .Example 30 puppy pads Pets at home = £12. 100 puppy pads £12.99.Every bit same quality ,, If not better ,At end of day .we are getting Ripped Off ... by our local Pets At Home ,What are youre views… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Don't listen to customer”

Written on: 21/11/2016 by Flores115 (1 review written)

took my westie to be washed and cut. Told them what I wanted and they don't take no notice. Only good thing he is not scruffy anymore… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Terrible manager”

Written on: 09/11/2016

I was visiting the stockport pets at home when a very pleasant young lady offered to help me then a male member of staff came we were disgusting my problem when a manager came over her response was go to a vet without having the full details she then continued to disrespect her staff. I was talking with the young girl when the same manager came up again and shouted at her this girl had finished her shift but the time to stay and help me. I am bitterly disappointed with this manager she should… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rip off central ”

Written on: 07/11/2016 by Ashleigh1987 (1 review written)

All I'm going to say about Vets at home is if you have money to throw away this is the place for you..... Instead of going into great detail as this would take a lot of time and effort I'll just write this and you will understand ''Hi what's wrong with your dog then' Me - think she has a urine infection Vet - ok well I'll need to test the urine sample that's £25 then I'll check her bloods (another) £120 oh and the fact I asked YOU what's wrong with her the consultation will be another… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview