Pets at Home Reviews - www.petsathome.com

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.9 / 5
577
24% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Pets at Home www.petsathome.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Pets at Home www.petsathome.com

Pets at Home www.petsathome.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling customer service”

Written on: 28/04/2016 by Nix172172 (1 review written)

The Sheffield store (Wadsley Bridge) cancelled our order without having the courtesy to inform us. The customer service was non existent. We will never shop there again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Will not return”

Written on: 24/04/2016 by Laurynp17 (1 review written)

Took dog to North Shields store to get nails clipped. They said only front paws needed doing. This took 2 minutes and they charged £8.00. Paid £5.00 5 weeks ago!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Fab as always”

Written on: 23/04/2016 by AnnetteA (1 review written)

The Groom Room Easbourne. Maximus and Archie, our shihtzus had their 10 weekly groom yesterday. They look fabulous as always!Grooms them beautifully. Thank you girls so much. Wouldn't go anywhere else!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Staff need trained”

Written on: 22/04/2016 by KelsieSanchez (1 review written)

Over the past four months we have bought two rats and a rabbit from the store in Edinburgh. After being checked by the staff, we were told first of all that the rats were male. But once we got them home it became clear that they were females. Really obvious to the fact that females have nipples and males don't. As rats are known for being one of the easiest pets to sex, we found this a really weak performance from the staff which work with these animals each day. But whatever, we moved on and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“never again!!”

Written on: 20/04/2016 by duParsons337 (1 review written)

We took our old English sheep dog to be bathed and trimmed last week to the wellingborough store groom room. Never again!! He came back with odd length ears, odd lengths of fur on each of his legs and not only no style but has been almost shaved! He also has lots of uneven 'tatty' bits all over. We have had to even everything out ourselves as could not bear to take him back there. We have never paid more than £45 to have him groomed, Petsathome charged us a whopping £68!!!!!. Our beautiful… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“4 FISH DIED IN A WEEK”

Written on: 16/04/2016

I recently bought fish from pets at home and i questioned them about if my tank was big enough and the right temperature for the fish and they said yes no problem and sold me the fish straight away.The woman had no knowledge about fish what so ever as she sold me baby bala sharks and said my tank was big enough.. now looking on google the sharks can grown bigger than my tank! and they sold me 3 of them! I did everything they told me to do with the fish and 4 died almost straight away! i have… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“premium rate phone line”

Written on: 14/04/2016 by cruiseman007 (2 reviews written)

Personally I try never to use any companies which use premium rate phone lines for customer contact. I wish others would do the same. Why should we pay a fee just to enquire about stock availability. Bad decision pets at home. You've lost me as a customer… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Amazing staff”

Written on: 13/04/2016 by EnzoColeman (1 review written)

The groom room crayford Very friendly staff, whenever I take my dog into them they spend time with me asking what I would like done, then check that my dog is up to date with jabs, and also if there is any other problems at all. The smell is the groom room is absolutely LUSH, and my dog comes out very happy and smelling beautiful , would highly recommend. I really feel the staff ( Leanne) gets to know each and everyone of the dogs, … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Life savers”

Written on: 02/04/2016 by Cassieratbagwillibobs (1 review written)

Thanks to Thorne Rd, Doncaster store for excellent customer service yet again. My golden retriever, Cassie, is 15 years old and was once again struggling with her food. PAH again helped and advised about diet, exchanged unopened food for different food and Cassie is now enjoying her passion in life - FOOD :-). Thanks to you all - and a big sloppy kiss from Cassie Ratbag Willibobs xxxxx… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cruiseman007's Response to Cassieratbagwillibobs's Review

Written on: 16/04/2016

My vet gave me the names of 3 makes of dog food for my border terrier dog who has a yiest intolerance. I didn't want to phone PAH to enquire about their stock of these because they use a premium rate phone line, so I visited the nearest store - none of these in stock. Found and purchased immediately with an online site.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cassieratbagwillibobs's reply to Cruiseman007's Comment

Written on: 16/04/2016

Hi. My vet originally prescribed something different for Cassie, but it still didn't suit her. I'm glad you've found something for your furry friend, but if like mine your dog goes off it, or suddenly it doesn't suit anymore, go to a store and talk to somebody and they might be able to recommend something else suitable. Stay well furry friend.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst decision I have made in a long time....”

Written on: 30/03/2016 by JacquiJ2016 (1 review written)

GROOM ROOM I took my 16 week pup in to make an appointment and at that point I should have realised it wasn't the right thing to do. The woman on the reception was foreign and had difficulty understanding parts of the conversation, but worse she made no contact with my pup. I stupidly went back for the appointment my pups first grooming experience and was met by another member of staff who again never once made any contact with my pup. There was a dog already wanting to get groomed and it was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Teacherlou's Response to JacquiJ2016's Review

Written on: 31/03/2016

Quite agree ! Only ever took my dog there once they leave them wet and shivering for ages and its freezing in there he came back covered in cuts from the clippers never again.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Pets At Home Killed My Pet!!!”

Written on: 29/03/2016 by Ceta (1 review written)

My chinchilla got poisoned by a black rotten mouldy banana skin with a Fife sticker on it,it was concealed inside a large seagrass hideaway,I found the rotten mouldy banana skin on Friday evening,I took it to the store where I bought the seagrass hideaway and filled in a product complaint form,I was told someone would be in contact given the severity as my chinchilla wasn't eating or drinking anything and wouldn't take force feeding,some 2weeks later and nobody had contacted me and my… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Online dog food”

Written on: 28/03/2016 by Hayden298 (1 review written)

Ordered james wellbeloved junior, 15kg. More choice of flavours online and a bit cheaper. Delivery very quick , correspondence informing about delivery good (by e-mail & text). Will be using it again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Quality of information given was bad.”

Written on: 26/03/2016

I visited the store earlier on today and asked to buy one cold water fish, the staff member asked how big my tank was which I replied with 28 litres. He said he could not sell me the fish, I then questioned him as I have been to the store previously and bought 4 cold water fish whilst having a 23 litre tank and there was no question about. He then replied with 'I don't know why you was sold them'. I also mentioned that there was a dead fish in one of their tanks and he replied with 'I do not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“6 dead fish in the last week!!!!!!”

Written on: 26/03/2016 by 111Gallegos (1 review written)

Dead fish in near enough every tank shrimp on the floor animal fesses on the floor animal wee wee all on the floor animal food out of date with Ridiculous never again they should be put out of business for ever this is beyond the joke they should all just go bust or something as long as they go out of business eww beyond the joke it is not fair people who love animals going in and seeing them in distraught and even dead it broke my heart the end for pets at home we should all have a protest… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“On line order ”

Written on: 25/03/2016 by Plasticfloor1 (1 review written)

Order on line for next day delivery items never arrived was told to buy more food until it arrives… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“no knowlege of animals or how to treat customers”

Written on: 22/03/2016 by kwilk26 (1 review written)

We went to pets at home great Yarmouth a month ago, asked about dwarf hamsters, told them we didn't know much about them, the member of staff asked us which ones we liked the look of, so we showed him, he told us they were brothers from the same litter, so I asked if they would fight or get territorial as they are male? He said we should be fine as they are brothers, so of course, we assumed he knew his stuff and accepted this. Four weeks later we have had to put one in our old goldfish tank to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Groom room ”

Written on: 21/03/2016 by Kiki96 (1 review written)

Booked my pup in for a full treatment in the groom room. Wash, fur clipped, nails clipped ect This cost me £48 Two days after having her nails clipped my pup had caught her nail so bad that it had completely come off her toe but was still attached at the base. For this to have happened it must have been very tightly caught. This was not her dew claw but one of her toes on her back leg. This was extremely traumatising and painful. I had to take her to an emergency vet who had to inject her and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Buying pet fish and having them die less than a month.”

Written on: 21/03/2016 by LR-1999X (1 review written)

I have bought 5 fish from one of your stores in livingston and all of them died within a month. Considering they were temperate fish which really are tropical fish which i found out from an expert afterwards. They all caught white spot disease and i treated them almost for all of the time period that they were alive in my tank. For anyone buying fish from any pets at home store, DO NOT. The staff put in 3 different chemicals/treatmemts everyday in each fish tank to prevent any disease etc… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Destroyed my Pomeranian's coat! ”

Written on: 20/03/2016 by MacLean129 (1 review written)

I took my Pom to the groom room Stratford upon Avon, the manager had trimmed him once before, so I was confident. I heard him squealing continuously and rushed in. She had combed out all of his undercoat - his insulation, haphazardly cut all of his fur, and completely cut off his tail fur, which I had explicitly asked her not to touch! I asked for a tidy up. Mainly paws and ears, which hadn't been touched. I have been in contact with customer services manager, area manager, store manager etc… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Brilliant ”

Written on: 20/03/2016 by ZaraSutton246 (1 review written)

I went to the Idle store in Bradford.I was a little nervous taking my springer spaniel as it was his first time going for a hair cut. He wasn't keen on being brushed at home. The service was brilliant and he looked lovely. They did his ears and tail really well. He was like a different dog when I picked him up. I was also pleased that he didn't look scared when I went to get him too, he looked happy and was wagging his tail so I know they looked after him. I will definitely be be taking him… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview