Motor Depot Reviews - www.motordepot.co.uk

★★★☆☆
3.2 / 5
243
56% of users recommend this
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Motor Depot www.motordepot.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Motor Depot www.motordepot.co.uk

Motor Depot www.motordepot.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Not the best car buying experience I've ever had!”

Written on: 09/10/2017 by G16SDG (1 review written)

I would not recommend Motordepot Hessle because: 1 - The repairs which I agreed to be completed with the salesman who sold me the car were not undertaken when I collected the car; the salesman then arranged for the repairs to be undertaken whilst I waited for an hour (rushed through). 2 - The Sat Nav did not work; upon contacting my salesman, I was simply directed to the main dealer as the car is under warranty. I found this hugely unprofessional. 3 - The circa £150 fee states that the car… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Misleading customers”

Written on: 09/10/2017 by Cwgh (1 review written)

Purchased a car at the same time as my husband (now seperated) we both drove away in the cars that we had chosen and the cars were registered to the correct person the problem is that the paperwork for the finance was wrong. My finance paperwork had my husbands reg on and vice versa. This was higlighted at the time and the salesman told us not to worry and that it was all fine. All is not fine i legally should not have been able to drive away in the car i beleived was mine because the contract… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible! ”

Written on: 28/09/2017 by sarah55554 (1 review written)

Please don't buy from here do your research first!! They just buy scrappy Motability cars and try and sell them on without doing the correct checks! once you have signed on that line they will not help you out so many issues with the cars and they say "it's no longer their problem" be careful when buying from these dodgy traders!!… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor customer service”

Written on: 09/09/2017 by TheresaGarrison389 (1 review written)

I test drove the car before it was valated and serviced. I was told scratches would be removed. When I picked it up I found they had not been done but I had to collect it because I really needed a car. I complained but I have not had a response. Poor customer service all they are interested in is selling the car and the extras. As soon as I said I did not want the extras I was treated like a second class customer… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Very bad experience”

Written on: 05/09/2017 by babanatha (1 review written)

I bought 2 cars, I was told cars come with an year MOT and service. I had been suffering with numbers of problems since I bought cars. 2 of them were serious. First one of my car's MOT expired after few months and I was not aware, as I was told the next MOT ll be after one year, I had to stop the car for few weeks till I got MOT sorted. Second; I had a warning sign on my car "to change engine oil" even I drove for 6000 miles only and service was due after 10000 miles, I checked there was no… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Had to refund ”

Written on: 20/08/2017 by Bennett1992 (1 review written)

Left deposit on car which just arrived in £19800 was for mercedes cls in hessle . Couldn't test drive until next day as tyre flat , I had checked it out 1 owner full mercedes service history. Pointed out scratches on both bumpers and salesman said they would be all done . Test drive car not cleaned but did drive well , after a week went in to pay for car as I was going away on holiday and my son should pick the car up for me , had a look at paint work done and only sprayed parts you could see… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★☆☆

“service book stamped! Oil marked as checked. NOT!!”

Written on: 16/08/2017 by EARNIE12 (1 review written)

About 1.5 months after purchasing my A1 from Hull depot, I was driving along when my oil light came on saying "MINIMUM!" I returned home and left the car for a couple of hours then checked the oil level it was only just touching the very tip of the dipstick.. It took just under 2.5 litres to take it to the oil MAXIMUM mark!!(This can be proven by plugging a laptop in to the cars computer) Discusting!! I questioned upon purchasing the car, what the £199 was for, I was told it was all admin… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Misleading on line advertising ”

Written on: 28/07/2017 by xaEgan1946 (1 review written)

We purchased a fiesta in the past few days from Birmingham. Rishi our salesman was great . Very disappointing that their on line advertised price is not the price you pay. They add an extra £199 admin fee. Very misleading! Upon collection their finance manager when tackled explained it is optional and covers cost of hpi check, service and valet. On this occasion we were not given the option. Most car dealers include these costs in their advertised price- very misleading!! Having made the… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Very poor experience from salesman Mohammad.Recently...”

Written on: 18/07/2017 by tqFranklin55 (1 review written)

Very poor experience from salesman Mohammad.Recently bought one car from Motor Depot Birmingham.The tyre which was puncture, when we first viewed. He said that tyre already replaced with new when we bought after one week, and end up puncture on 3rd day and when taken to tyre shop we could see that was old one with one puncture already repaired and another 2 puncture from side end up with replacing new tyre. Paid 15k and why did you lied for a tyre ? Shame on you.when we pay that much money we… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Mis-sold Warranty”

Written on: 19/06/2017 by Bowman168 (1 review written)

Nearly three weeks ago I complained as I was Mia-sold the warranty.. was told I wouldn't have any repair costs for the next 2 years I had to get work done to it ... work on the car that shouldn't have parts like it for the age... can't understand why it was sold with such bad parts.... anyway I have still not heart back from anyone ... I think the aftersales service is a descrace... I think they are quick to sell but then not bother with you… Read Full Review

Motordepot's Comment

Written on: 17/07/2017

I'm sorry to hear feel you were mis-sold the warranty, and that you have had issues with the vehicle. If you would like to discuss these in more detail please contact the head office Customer Services team.

Kind Regards,


Customer Service

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad”

Written on: 14/06/2017 by uoCasey28 (1 review written)

I've been buying cars from Motor Depot for 15 years. To be honest never had much of a problem with any cars, but just recently bought a car with a problem with the brakes I booked it in and had to wait three weeks to get it seen to. When it finally went in they said it was heat damage and was not covered under warranty surprise, surprise any way cost £160 to get fixed, this was in February this year. This month (June)we was going on holiday so i thought I'd check the car out only to find I… Read Full Review

Motordepot's Comment

Written on: 17/07/2017

Good Afternoon,

Sorry to hear about the issues you have had with your car

I believe these issues have been looked into by both the Head office and Hessle teams. If you feel that there are still issues to address feel free to contact us.

Thanks

Reply to this comment

Bostero's Comment

Written on: 23/07/2017

I've been told that for warranty issues I could have it looked at and the work done by a local garage, given that it's over an hours drive to motor depot for me. Why would it take a month to have any warranty work done if this is what they offer?

Reply to this comment

Fire291's Comment

Written on: 04/09/2017

To be honest no, now there's an issue with the engine management light and the car cutting out, been in with yourselves for a week and had to get insured for another car while my car was getting looked at as you had no courtesy cars available. Cost me another £70 for spark plugs and coil, now it's still doing the same thing a week later only to ring up and for you to tell me it'll be four weeks before a courtesy car is available. Terrible service wish I'd never bought the car as it's making my life miserable and stressful at the moment

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★★★☆☆

“Bought a car from the grimsby store must say the car...”

Written on: 12/06/2017 by KatelynRitchie249 (1 review written)

Bought a car from the grimsby store must say the car is great and so was the sevice, although I am fumming that after 3 calls to the store since purchase to find out why ive still not got my second set off car keys and no one getting back to me even though they said they would is a joke ..having one set off keys is never good especialy if my only key gets lost Joke i've even given up chasing them .This should not happen… Read Full Review

Motordepot's Comment

Written on: 17/07/2017

Good Afternoon,

I'm sorry to hear you've had to chase the second key for your vehicle. Would you be able to contact us to let us know if this has now been received, if it hasn't we will chase it for you.

Thanks,

Customer Services

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Complete Joke ”

Written on: 12/06/2017 by Stacyp104 (1 review written)

I bought a BMW 1 series in April 2017, when I collected the car I was shown that it had scratches on and was told to get a pen to do these myself. The car was also covered in dust on collection. After a week I noticed that it was making a loud sound when pulling off and the air conditioning didn't work, then to top it off the warning lights kept coming on and going off, which I took photos of and filmed as evidence. I took the car back and they said they couldn't find any faults and re-gassed… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“2 cars and 2 major faults”

Written on: 27/05/2017 by Lesleyr1 (1 review written)

I purchased a Citroen DS3 from Motordepot Birmingham only to find there were a few minor problems with it and a major problem concerning the transmission. I contacted the depot several, in fact at least 20 times, by either telephone, email and even a handwritten letter. The customer services was atrocious (except for a couple of staff members) . Eventually because the service provided ( or not provided in my situation) was appalling, they allowed me to change my car to something different, for… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Customer service Needs to be improved ”

Written on: 04/04/2017

Happy with our car , but the car was missing it's service book , which they said the previous owner did not do the service and toyota has stopped doing service book now and only give a sheet of paper which was hard to believe. Apart from this rest of the dealings was fine. Thank you to the sales staff in Hessel & Birmingham for all the help and support… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Took to long ”

Written on: 22/02/2017 by SincereFlynn42 (1 review written)

Enquired about car about 6 wks ago put down deposit and arranged test drive which they cancelled saying car was not roadworthy I then told them I no longer wanted that model and changed to bigger car again waited about 2 weeks to arrange a test drive got there only to find out this car was not roadworthy either paid big deposit on the car even though I never test drived to arrange pick up which again car was not ready due to waiting for parts really unprofessional shouldn't list cars for sale… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Awful customer service”

Written on: 20/02/2017 by Jamief97 (1 review written)

Bought a car within half an hour (2nd January),got a call a week later stating there was a problem with the exhaust, so the car would be a week late. 2 weeks later, i have to phone up again and told the car will be another 3 weeks minimum (feb 8th). I ask to cancel my contract as i could not wait this long and was told i could get the deposit back, once again it has been over 2 weeks and i still have no deposit. Tried to contact the hessle depot 6 times and only got as far as reception, who… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Mitsubishi outlander phev ”

Written on: 04/02/2017 by Richardson126 (1 review written)

See the car on the Internet went in to grimsby branch.the salesmen there were very helpful.no pushy salesmen left to look at car and answerd all questions asked perfect through out will recommend them to other people… Read Full Review

Motordepot's Comment

Written on: 07/02/2017

Hi, thanks for taking the time to write this review. we're pleased the team at Grimsby looked after you. Don't forget you can get a night away on us every time you recommend a friend who buys a car from Motordepot.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“UN trustworthy and rude”

Written on: 01/02/2017 by 100Lane (1 review written)

found a nice car which we both liked so arranged a test drive the next day as it was in the middle of the show room ,went back and all went well discussed payment methods etc ,went home after test drive and confirmed i would call in the morning with my decision ?.. phoned at two minutes after 9 to ask about the mot situation and warranty period after the conversation i confirmed i would purchase the car and make full payment the next day .. we returned home about 7-30 that night to a… Read Full Review

Motordepot's Comment

Written on: 07/02/2017

Hi, your customer adviser should have explained during the viewing process that a small deposit would be required to take the car off sale at the earliest opportunity to avoid situations such as you experienced.
If that didn't happen or if you wish to discuss your comments in more detail then please contact our customer service manager by calling our Hull showroom.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Great job”

Written on: 27/01/2017 by BrianglynLewis (1 review written)

Very pleased with our new car,excellent job done by all the team in hessle. Recommended to a friend they got a new car,and because we recommended them we both get hotel stay away!! HAPPY DAYS!! Will also be going back again without hesitation. THANK YOU!!!… Read Full Review

Motordepot's Response to BrianglynLewis's Review

Written on: 07/02/2017

Hi, thanks for taking the time to write this review. we're pleased the team at Hessle looked after you and you were able to take advantage of our referral scheme .

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview