Motocaddy S1 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.1 / 5
77
26% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Motocaddy S1 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Motocaddy S1

Motocaddy S1
Motocaddy S1
Motocaddy S1
Motocaddy S1

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“Useless control switch”

Written on: 28/07/2015 by FocusofAndover (1 review written)

Purchased March 2014. M1Pro had to be returned after 3 weeks; faulty control switch, noisy gearbox and a screeching, annoying, electronic noise. All were repaired under guarantee. Faulty control switch remains. Going in to service agent next week for rectification. Three additional mods are to be installed. Pros: Trolley is strongly constructed; Folds small; easy to erect, but a bit of a chore; Cons: Switch is useless and unfit for purpose. Trolley will suddenly go off which is a nuisance; it's… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Battery rubbish”

Written on: 21/07/2015 by Mickyphelps1064 (1 review written)

Told at American Golf that Powercaddy are on the way out and Motorcaddy are the best. Have five golfing friends with Powercaddy and no issues with batteries and getting years of use. My battery failed at 5 months and now 18 months. Never ever will I purchase Motorcaddy again. Absolute garbage… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Warranty cop out. Beware.”

Written on: 09/07/2015

This is the response I got from Motocaddy after battery lasted 5 months and replacement 9 months. It shows that their warranty is worth very little. Thank you for your email, I am sorry to read that you have experienced 2 Failed batteries. We would have replaced your first battery for you free of charge under the warranty that was provided for 12 months from the date of purchase. Your battery warranty expired the 20/04/15. Your battery is now 3 months out of warranty and unfortunately we… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible battery and bad customer care”

Written on: 03/06/2015 by DunstableDownsGolfer (1 review written)

First Lead battery lasted 4 months and was replaced. Second battery then lasted 3 months. After less than 20 rounds the THIRD battery failed . Now comes the gem. Motocaddy refuse to replace this as now 13 months after initial purcchase. This tells you all you need to know about Motocaddy battery and their attitude to customer service! No more Motocaddy products ofr me I'm afraid. Caddy car itself is OK - but switch is easy to trip accidebntally as others have said… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“motorcaddy s1 pro ”

Written on: 01/06/2015 by handystandy (1 review written)

Yet another weekend of the trolley upside down in a bunker you only have to brush past the control switch to activate it which you cant help doing by the shear nature of where its positioned also, the automatic distance control is such a work up to set it really is garbage, (same switch trying to do 5 different functions) your never comfortable that the trolley will stop! I just give up using it my advice is don't even put yourself through it you will spend enough time recovering your clubs… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Very annoying switch and battery performance poor”

Written on: 23/05/2015 by 179Carlson (1 review written)

I had a Powakaddy for 12 years and was persuaded by the guy in golf shop to buy a Motocaddy S1 last year when I decided to buy a new trolley. It has two failings in my eyes. Firstly, the switch. It is very , very annoying. It is so easy to accidentally bump it, either with your body or with a club handle as you pull it from your the bag. Your trolley then moves off , at the last speed used. I have had several near misses where I have had to chase after my trolley as it headed towards… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor engineering ,no it's wear and tear ,they say.”

Written on: 15/12/2014 by Thornton51 (1 review written)

The 1st 2years ok except moisture in the speed indicator. Next the axle snapped at the point where the drilled a hole through it, had to replace at my expense . Now at 4years old the wires have broken due to the constant folding / unfolding of the frame . This they say is normal wear and tear. I would suggest it is poor engineering where little knowledge or thought has been given to the product. I complained and was told ''never heard of the occurrence before''. Think before you buy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't expect this trolley last.”

Written on: 09/08/2013 by Jackyboy44 (2 reviews written)

This is the worst trolley I have ever had and the worst after sales service. The main support shaft broke and was replaced under guarantee. The battery cover just rotted & perished but at 2 years old Motocaddy didn't want to know. The rubber wheels come away from the actual plastic wheel so the wheels drive but the tyres just slip round and round. Like other club members I now have the tyres held on with screws, a common fault. I contacted Motocaddy and was told that as the trolley is over 2… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Motocaddy S1 needs a new battery every 13 months”

Written on: 05/08/2013

Bought as a present in December 2009 but not used until April 2010. Does about 60 rounds a year. Original battery lasted 13 months. bought a replacement. That lasted 13 months. After an argument, sent the whole trolley back and was given a new replacement battery. That has now lasted 13 months and we are wondering whether to buy a 4th battery in just over 3 years! Guess how long the battery warranty is - 12 months! Might be worth having with the Lithium battery but the standard (Panasonic)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lindyloo61's Comment

Written on: 15/11/2013

I am having the same problem with my s1.my trolley is just over 2 years old am on my second battery,after complaining to retailer before the guarantee was up and was told he tried it out on other peoples trolley and there was no problem!..I took it to another retailer after the guarantee was up and he said he would fone Motocaddy and was told guarantee was up so tough luck!..He offered to replace battery at cost price...new battery 10 months old and trolley struggling to go up hill at the 17th hole on my course..red light coming on...Would not recommend!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Junk”

Written on: 22/05/2013 by dixonk (1 review written)

This won't last 12 holes let alone 18 holes. There is not a soul I golf with that would give this a good review after seeing how frustrated I am after a round of golf. Since I have purchased this item it has failed on several occasions with the first fail at just over one month after I purchased it. The entire unit malfunctioned. It it got stuck on the highest speed and would not stop until the battery was unplugged. It was sent back to the manufacturer and has never been the same. It will… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Motocaddy Accessory Station”

Written on: 30/04/2013

I had to attach my umbrella to the accessory station for the first time when I unfortunately discovered how poor the quality of the Motocaddy accessory station's construction was. The securing bolts pulled the locking nuts through the plastic due the weight of the umbrella, resulting in the accessory station hanging off the arm of the trolley for the rest of the game. Not fit for purpose!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Easily the best around”

Written on: 09/03/2013

Had an S1 for over 5 years, wife has an S1 with lithium battery, in its 3rd season. Both trolleys never let you down, are easy to set up and yet are solid build. Everyone I know rates Motocaddy over Powacaddy / Hillbilly and has experienced less faults.Lots of people at our club love the Motacaddy. Cannot understand low scoring reviews. Must be that people with bad experiences are more likely to post reviews. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Expensive . Poor quality”

Written on: 28/11/2012 by specopa1 (1 review written)

had a Motor Caddy s3 for 14 months. In that time the left hand wheel keeps coming loose and the unit pulls to the left. The switch poteniometer works intermittently and will not switch on and when switch on is hard to switch off. Very distracting when trying to play a round of golf. The black painted finish is rubbing off in many areas. All in all poor value. Will definately not be buying Motor Caddy again. Advertising hype does not match reality. Buyer beware… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Motocaddy electric golf trolleys”

Written on: 11/11/2012

Hi there, As an authorised motocaddy service agent covering the Yorkshire area I can safely say that these are the best trolleys on the market, I used to work in golf retail before I became a service agent, and we used to sell 7-8 motocaddy per 1 of the other brands, their after sales service is second to none as well. The company cannot be recommended highly enough. Check out my website for info Paulbuchananetr.co.uk… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dixonk's Comment

Written on: 22/05/2013

This item is a FAIL!!!!! SAVE YOUR Money

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Senrap's Comment

Written on: 28/06/2015

Yup, injured myself whilst chasing after the bloody trolly after it careered off on it's own! Thanks Motocaddy

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Battery life poor - will not operate for the full 18 holes”

Written on: 22/09/2012 by Unhappygolfer (1 review written)

I unfortunately misplaced the purchase receipt for my Motorcaddy S1 within the first 12 months of ownership and so when the battery started to deteriorate, the supplier thought that it was outside the warranty period and neither of did anything about contacting the manufacturer. I just chose to push the thing round the last few holes and put it down to experience, especially when the retailer didn't really show any sign of customer care. Then, low and behold, I found the receipt and that it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dixonk's Response to Unhappygolfer's Review

Written on: 22/05/2013

I could not agree with you more. The exact same scenario happened with me...exact same. This is a huge FAIL!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“motocaddy s1 lithium golf trolley”

Written on: 08/08/2012 by Oscarmarti (1 review written)

i have owned a motocaddy s1 with a lithium battery for 16 months after 12 months i sent the trolley back under warranty because they state that a completely flat battery will charge in under 5 hours mine was taking 7 they sent it back having replaced a circuit board it is still taking 7 hours to charge i have been on to motocaddy again and they are not interested saying its ok for a lithium battery to take up to 8 hours ,3 hours longer than they advertise as far as i can see their warranty is… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Motorcaddie S1 didgital”

Written on: 06/07/2012 by PaulDan (1 review written)

I bought the S1 two years ago, the trolley has never let me down, the battery is still going strong, it will do over 40 holes, not bad for a 18 hole unit.If you follow the manufactures instructions on charging it will keep going. The trolley is quite slow up the hills, however when it gets on the level you have to reduce the speed down to setting 6/7. Lots of my club members have purchased the S1/S3 trollies since my started going round the course with mine. lots of comments from admiring… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Hyena's Response to PaulDan's Review

Written on: 18/08/2013

Yes, I agree that the wheels are the "Achilles heel" of this trolley. After 6 months the tread had virtually gone and the drive wheel slips and slides all over the place, even in dry conditions. The slide also reduces battery run significantly so pushed to last 18 holes.The Powacaddy provides pneumatic tyres-a MUST in my opinion, and a good reason to buy that over the Motocaddy.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Problems with S1 and quality of service”

Written on: 01/05/2012 by ianb281 (1 review written)

My S1 is 2 years old. I have had a series of problems associated with the On/Off switch and Control Box. It has taken three visits to their HQ near Stansted Airport to get it fixed. They seem qick to diagnose and replace parts without thoroughly investigating the cause of the problem in the first place and then fail to test the repair adequately to make sure that the fault has been eradicated. I have also found that the motor and gearbox is not well supported and has a tendency to work… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dixonk's Response to ianb281's Review

Written on: 22/05/2013

I completely agree. This product is junk!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“I have had my S1 for about a month now, on buying it...”

Written on: 23/05/2011

I have had my S1 for about a month now, on buying it from a well known retailer (American Golf)I brought it home (20 miles from the shop)and assembled it and charged the battery to find out it did not work. On having to go back to the shop the assistant could not get it to work so they gave me another one.I have played 5/6 rounds of Golf and so far it has not let me down. The S1 looks nice and is solid but what a lot of messing with the battery. On my old Power caddy I came home from a round of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 28/06/2011

What are you talking about...the motocaddy manual says to use trickle charge?!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Speed control went after only a few weeks. Returned...”

Written on: 16/05/2011

Speed control went after only a few weeks. Returned via distributor for repair. When motocaddy returned, unfortunately I did not check it prior to going to golf (obviously they didn't check it either) only to find motocaddy would only go in reverse! Returned yet again for repair. Now battery has lost power and I had to return everything once again to motocaddy - nearly three weeks later have been advised they will replace battery, but will not guarantee it. However, if I want to pay for a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview