Motocaddy S1 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
29% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Motocaddy S1 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Motocaddy S1

Motocaddy S1
Motocaddy S1
Motocaddy S1
Motocaddy S1

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆
Motocaddy S1

“Don't expect this trolley last.”

Written on: 09/08/2013 by Jackyboy44 (2 reviews written)

This is the worst trolley I have ever had and the worst after sales service. The main support shaft broke and was replaced under guarantee. The battery cover just rotted & perished but at 2 years old Motocaddy didn't want to know. The rubber wheels come away from the actual plastic wheel so the wheels drive but the tyres just slip round and round. Like other club members I now have the tyres held on with screws, a common fault. I contacted Motocaddy and was told that as the trolley is over 2… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Motocaddy S1

“Motocaddy S1 needs a new battery every 13 months”

Written on: 05/08/2013

Bought as a present in December 2009 but not used until April 2010. Does about 60 rounds a year. Original battery lasted 13 months. bought a replacement. That lasted 13 months. After an argument, sent the whole trolley back and was given a new replacement battery. That has now lasted 13 months and we are wondering whether to buy a 4th battery in just over 3 years! Guess how long the battery warranty is - 12 months! Might be worth having with the Lithium battery but the standard (Panasonic)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lindyloo61's Comment

Written on: 15/11/2013

I am having the same problem with my s1.my trolley is just over 2 years old am on my second battery,after complaining to retailer before the guarantee was up and was told he tried it out on other peoples trolley and there was no problem!..I took it to another retailer after the guarantee was up and he said he would fone Motocaddy and was told guarantee was up so tough luck!..He offered to replace battery at cost price...new battery 10 months old and trolley struggling to go up hill at the 17th hole on my course..red light coming on...Would not recommend!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆
Motocaddy S1

“Junk”

Written on: 22/05/2013 by dixonk (1 review written)

This won't last 12 holes let alone 18 holes. There is not a soul I golf with that would give this a good review after seeing how frustrated I am after a round of golf. Since I have purchased this item it has failed on several occasions with the first fail at just over one month after I purchased it. The entire unit malfunctioned. It it got stuck on the highest speed and would not stop until the battery was unplugged. It was sent back to the manufacturer and has never been the same. It will… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Motocaddy S1

“Motocaddy Accessory Station”

Written on: 30/04/2013

I had to attach my umbrella to the accessory station for the first time when I unfortunately discovered how poor the quality of the Motocaddy accessory station's construction was. The securing bolts pulled the locking nuts through the plastic due the weight of the umbrella, resulting in the accessory station hanging off the arm of the trolley for the rest of the game. Not fit for purpose!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★
Motocaddy S1

“Easily the best around”

Written on: 09/03/2013

Had an S1 for over 5 years, wife has an S1 with lithium battery, in its 3rd season. Both trolleys never let you down, are easy to set up and yet are solid build. Everyone I know rates Motocaddy over Powacaddy / Hillbilly and has experienced less faults.Lots of people at our club love the Motacaddy. Cannot understand low scoring reviews. Must be that people with bad experiences are more likely to post reviews. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Motocaddy S1

“Expensive . Poor quality”

Written on: 28/11/2012 by specopa1 (1 review written)

had a Motor Caddy s3 for 14 months. In that time the left hand wheel keeps coming loose and the unit pulls to the left. The switch poteniometer works intermittently and will not switch on and when switch on is hard to switch off. Very distracting when trying to play a round of golf. The black painted finish is rubbing off in many areas. All in all poor value. Will definately not be buying Motor Caddy again. Advertising hype does not match reality. Buyer beware… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★
Motocaddy S1

“Motocaddy electric golf trolleys”

Written on: 11/11/2012

Hi there, As an authorised motocaddy service agent covering the Yorkshire area I can safely say that these are the best trolleys on the market, I used to work in golf retail before I became a service agent, and we used to sell 7-8 motocaddy per 1 of the other brands, their after sales service is second to none as well. The company cannot be recommended highly enough. Check out my website for info Paulbuchananetr.co.uk… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dixonk's Comment

Written on: 22/05/2013

This item is a FAIL!!!!! SAVE YOUR Money

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆
Motocaddy S1

“Battery life poor - will not operate for the full 18 holes”

Written on: 22/09/2012 by Unhappygolfer (1 review written)

I unfortunately misplaced the purchase receipt for my Motorcaddy S1 within the first 12 months of ownership and so when the battery started to deteriorate, the supplier thought that it was outside the warranty period and neither of did anything about contacting the manufacturer. I just chose to push the thing round the last few holes and put it down to experience, especially when the retailer didn't really show any sign of customer care. Then, low and behold, I found the receipt and that it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dixonk's Response to Unhappygolfer's Review

Written on: 22/05/2013

I could not agree with you more. The exact same scenario happened with me...exact same. This is a huge FAIL!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆
Motocaddy S1

“motocaddy s1 lithium golf trolley”

Written on: 08/08/2012 by Oscarmarti (1 review written)

i have owned a motocaddy s1 with a lithium battery for 16 months after 12 months i sent the trolley back under warranty because they state that a completely flat battery will charge in under 5 hours mine was taking 7 they sent it back having replaced a circuit board it is still taking 7 hours to charge i have been on to motocaddy again and they are not interested saying its ok for a lithium battery to take up to 8 hours ,3 hours longer than they advertise as far as i can see their warranty is… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆
Motocaddy S1

“Motorcaddie S1 didgital”

Written on: 06/07/2012 by PaulDan (1 review written)

I bought the S1 two years ago, the trolley has never let me down, the battery is still going strong, it will do over 40 holes, not bad for a 18 hole unit.If you follow the manufactures instructions on charging it will keep going. The trolley is quite slow up the hills, however when it gets on the level you have to reduce the speed down to setting 6/7. Lots of my club members have purchased the S1/S3 trollies since my started going round the course with mine. lots of comments from admiring… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Hyena's Response to PaulDan's Review

Written on: 18/08/2013

Yes, I agree that the wheels are the "Achilles heel" of this trolley. After 6 months the tread had virtually gone and the drive wheel slips and slides all over the place, even in dry conditions. The slide also reduces battery run significantly so pushed to last 18 holes.The Powacaddy provides pneumatic tyres-a MUST in my opinion, and a good reason to buy that over the Motocaddy.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆
Motocaddy S1

“Problems with S1 and quality of service”

Written on: 01/05/2012 by ianb281 (1 review written)

My S1 is 2 years old. I have had a series of problems associated with the On/Off switch and Control Box. It has taken three visits to their HQ near Stansted Airport to get it fixed. They seem qick to diagnose and replace parts without thoroughly investigating the cause of the problem in the first place and then fail to test the repair adequately to make sure that the fault has been eradicated. I have also found that the motor and gearbox is not well supported and has a tendency to work… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dixonk's Response to ianb281's Review

Written on: 22/05/2013

I completely agree. This product is junk!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆
Motocaddy S1

“I have had my S1 for about a month now, on buying it...”

Written on: 23/05/2011

I have had my S1 for about a month now, on buying it from a well known retailer (American Golf)I brought it home (20 miles from the shop)and assembled it and charged the battery to find out it did not work. On having to go back to the shop the assistant could not get it to work so they gave me another one.I have played 5/6 rounds of Golf and so far it has not let me down. The S1 looks nice and is solid but what a lot of messing with the battery. On my old Power caddy I came home from a round of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 28/06/2011

What are you talking about...the motocaddy manual says to use trickle charge?!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆
Motocaddy S1

“Speed control went after only a few weeks. Returned...”

Written on: 16/05/2011

Speed control went after only a few weeks. Returned via distributor for repair. When motocaddy returned, unfortunately I did not check it prior to going to golf (obviously they didn't check it either) only to find motocaddy would only go in reverse! Returned yet again for repair. Now battery has lost power and I had to return everything once again to motocaddy - nearly three weeks later have been advised they will replace battery, but will not guarantee it. However, if I want to pay for a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Motocaddy S1

“My S3 has none 34 rounds since new, in that time the...”

Written on: 16/05/2011

My S3 has none 34 rounds since new, in that time the freewheel clutches have failed 3 times. on the last occasion the local agent says the failure is due to the gearbox filling with water due to the trolley being driven through a puddle.Have sent a report to Motocaddy UK but they have replied that I should refer the problem to " my distributor " they only deal with problems in the UK. Without the problems would have been a reasonably buy.
If their gearboxes can fill with water this should be… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Motocaddy S1

“My Husband bought me a Motor caddy electric buggy for...”

Written on: 15/02/2011

My Husband bought me a Motor caddy electric buggy for christmas 2010
I have used it for 8 months only as the charger did'nt turn off and cooked the battery also did damage to laundry bench top. I had it sitting on a piece of cardboard. Could'nt do anything about it as the company the retailer purchased it from has gone out of business I am so disapointed as it will make my golf season very expensive for 2011… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★
Motocaddy S1

“Hi all, ”

Written on: 23/01/2011

Hi all,

I have the original S1 and it has been a great trolley, I am still on the original 18 hole battery, and it still makes 24 holes on my course 6200 yds, but I do condition it(run it flat) every couple of charges. I think the pot is just fading so will replace soon but this is just £10 direct from Motocaddy. As it has been so good I have just purchased a new S1 digital trolley for my son with a 36 hole battery, all being well they will runs for a few years yet… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 13/01/2012

Good news - I have just ordered a new S1 with Lithium battery (expensive) but hope it will also be satisfactory.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆
Motocaddy S1

“good looking buggy & light easy folding not happy with...”

Written on: 30/12/2010

good looking buggy & light easy folding not happy with the seat very wobbly & set at wrong angle could have a swivel front wheel very disappointed with last two parts this is first impression will let you know after a couple of weeks

DAPHNE
Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆
Motocaddy S1

“Actually like the Motocaddy but after one month the...”

Written on: 23/12/2010

Actually like the Motocaddy but after one month the speed is stuck on one setting. I keep e-mailing Motocaddy Australia, Uk and USA and no one will return my messages. Fortunately the dealer I bought it from is getting me a new controller but he is having problems getting one. I would not recommend this cart. There are probably other carts that are just as good but with better custoemr service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★
Motocaddy S1

“Reading other reviews on the S1 I think that the...”

Written on: 23/11/2010

Reading other reviews on the S1 I think that the owners are a bit rough on their trolley.I have had mine for 2 years and play at least twice a week and have had no trouble.SDtill same battery and axle. Maybe the thing is to look afterit… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 13/07/2011

I agree. I have had my Motocaddy S1 for two and a half years and have had absolutely no problems at all although I think the 18 hole battery is just about coming to the end of its life. I previously had an MGI and had all sorts of problems. When I contacted Motocaddy with a query about changing to a lithium battery the response from UK was swift, courteous and extremely helpful. I couldn't be happier. One small thing is that you do have to be careful when selecting a club from your bag not to accidently push the red go button or you may find yourself chasing your buggy down the fairway.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆
Motocaddy S1

“ Motocaddy The center of gravity is wrong, cannot...”

Written on: 12/09/2010 by paulnfisher (1 review written)

Motocaddy The center of gravity is wrong, cannot handle a slope of 1 in 6 The on off button operation is very sensitive, also the rotary action.
I have designed a mod for this and advised motocaddy,but they advise me they have received no complaints.
Every member in my club who have purchased this trolley have had the same problem and visiting clubs members make the same case
Finally it is potentially dangerous.
For example, without be aware, you a club out of your bag and in doing so you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Armstrongnet's Response to paulnfisher's Review

Written on: 30/11/2010

I found this review very helpful because... i have the same problem with my MC I have spoken with them (Email) but they see nothing wrong with the switch / speed adjuster , you just have to breathe on it and it changes ,and you end up pushing or being taken for a ride down the fairway
<br/>- good trolley , rubbish controls - ratind 3 /10
<br/>david armstrong
<br/>david(at)armstrongnet.co.uk
<br/>i would like to know the fix paul did

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Armstrongnet's Response to paulnfisher's Review

Written on: 29/06/2012

paul what mod did you do on the switch??

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to paulnfisher's Review

Written on: 27/06/2012

I find going down hill with minimum speed 1 setting my new Motocaddy S1 Pro trolley wants to pull me downhill fast and that aggravates my sore knee more. There is no brake as far as I can see. It also runs downhill on its own forward and backwards when button is in the off position so I have to turn the trolley 90 degrees to the slope. Design could be better.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to paulnfisher's Review

Written on: 21/08/2011

I bought my motocaddy S1 in may and have been in touch by phone and email I was told to take my clubs out of the side of the bag.I was playing on Friday with in an open comp and one of my the opposition players past me something and caught the button up went the speed and away went the trolley. My husband has been trying to fix it for me but other than putting a switch on nothing. Anne . w.wilkinson137@btinternet.com

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mgf1L's Response to paulnfisher's Review

Written on: 26/01/2011

I found this review very helpful because...I too have a Motocaddy S1 and suffer the same problem with the ultra-sensitive switch and the fact that the trolley quite often falls backwards whenever I negotiate a fairly average incline, and I am using the Motocaddy cartbag !!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 5 Comments
overview